Saturday, November 14, 2009 11:54
On bar fights and bystanders
In Quotes • 653 views • 29 Comments
For some reason, most of the people who are seated are conveniently asleep, reading the newspapers or engrossed on mobile devices. Nobody comes forward to offer their seat, even though everyone knows they probably ought to do so.
29 Comments
CJ
CBL
please say to your party head! there are so many poor people need financial help, your party act blur, there are so many people can’t afford public housing, your party insist it is still affordable, there are so little space for citizen, your party keep letting foreigner, the list goes….so please look at yourself first before you even open your smelly mouth!
Steven
To #1 and #2 Honestly, I think you are being silly and ignorant. This uncivilised behaviour has nothing to do with the government of Singapore. We should look at ourselves in the mirror at times instead of always pointing fingers at the government and blaming them for everything under the sun. I am not pro-PAP and has voted for the opposition in the last GE but clearly these remarks are childish and stupid.
Tommy Chan
to cbl and cj, both of you not making sense. dont spoil our good name in opposition. TOC is our platform to provide sensible opposing views. but we dont oppose for the sake of doing. this vikan is right to say singaporeans got lots to learn like voting for people who can speak for them bt yet every ge vote those ball carriers. even if PAP really the gangsters both of you need not be such motherf….
New Era
3) Steven & 4) Tommy Chan, please note that nothing in Singapore happens without the government playing a part. Singapore is a nanny or police state as the critics claims. The government controls every facet of its citizens life.
The MIW are in the unions, sports organizations, business, community organizations and just about everywhere. The reason the people are apathetic is because the MIW prefers it that way. They want the people to just focus on work. The want the people to be like hamsters in a hamster wheel, just working endlessly.
Anyway, things will change. The time for change is now. When the opposition comes into power, people will get to see the other side of Singapore. A Singapore where people will be free, relaxed, compassionate and understanding.
Why is it that people like yourselves and the Shitty Times always give credit to the MIW when things turn out well and blame Singaporeans when they do? Answer: Propaganda.
New Era
Anyway, P65 is a ghost town.
sgcynic
Date of P65 blog article is 15 Oct. Dead blog. Given 8 “authors” for the blog and the types of posts thus far, this shows the passion that the bloggers have. Confirmed that it’s just to get the P65 MPs off the hook of maintaining their blogsite.
3) Edward
4) Tommy Chan
Yes agree.
Post 1 and 2 believes they are helpless, passive victims of whatever happens in their life. And as such, it becomes real for them. So in that way you cannot blame them, for their life has become a reaction to situations rather than a creater of circumstances.
Whereas post 5) hopes that his life will magically change to his ideal the moment there is a change of govt. Again a passive victim state of mind.
Blaming others do not require us to take action. How comfortable.
curious citizen
@5 New Era
Agreed! But I think the government controls every facet of citizens’ life for a good reason; we tend to be complacent.
MIW are talented people from differing fields of industries and their experiences, knowledge and talent are simply indispensable in helping our everyday decision making.
Freedom is good if you are able to choose wisely the decisions that bog our very existence. Make one mistake and the whole deck of cards will fall. And if one is really wise, freedom to choose makes one hesitant to choose, thus it in fact binding our hands and making oneself enslaved by having so many choices to choose from.
The reason people are apathetic is simply the reason; they choose to be. Above it all, beyond good and evil, a state of understanding that good and bad are simply values of that help us understand the material world.
It could also be the case where people realise that they should not be complacent and have to watch out, just in case the action that they decide upon have far reaching effects that affects not just themselves but the people surrounding them.
There are those who are experienced this and are in shock, for the incident might have unfolded that is contrary to their understanding that in pristine Singapore, our city of Asian values can condone such violence. They are taken aback by the empirical evidence and are dumbfounded.
However, the unlikely probably, is that there are those who are nosy enough and would prefer to watch a “live” event of a street brawl.
How do I begin to understand “Why is it that people……… MIW when things turn out well and blame Singaporeans when they do?”
Curious
Let me share an incident.
At a bus stop in the city in the evening rush hour, a guy fainted and his friend was with him. Both were likely to be cleaners or something like that, I asked his friend if he need help, but he replied that his buddy always get this fainting spell, but I called 995 anyway. In the spate of 15minutes waiting for 995 to arrive, at least 10 other well dressed ofiice workers step in to render help to this person.
Many chose to miss their bus. A nice lady even asked if the rest can handle before she board her bus. A few stopped their cars, (on the bus lane !) to help.
There are manty wonderful people in this lovely island of ours. This was not the only instance I encountered.
Yamamoto
10) KopitiamApek
Apek, how about sharing more stories? There is one period that you seem to be missing here man, it is good to see you.
Well, let me share mine….on a bus to town, 1 guy occupy 2 seats in the back row…not to put stuff, but to stretch out his legs and use his laptop in comfort and when some elderlies board the bus, and wanted to sit down as they were eyeing it, but this young chap doesn’t even offer his seat, or at least shift his legs to free up one space…
there are the good, and the bad…
11) Yamamoto
To answer your first question why I was missing for a while, “moderated” is the answer. My posts were en bloc “under moderation” for a whole month.
Apparently some one cannot take my straight shooting answers : )
There are good and there are bad. Very true. Totally agree with you. To add there are also ugly.
Another incident I recalled was a mother in panic, frantically looking for her missing child at SGH near the Specialist Clinics. A whole army of people came to her help within seconds, -visitors, patients, one with arm slings, and a guy on crutches, nurses, doctors are even the cafetreia cleaner. That guy on a crutch coaxed the mother sit down to calm her down. Within minutes, a nurse brought in a crying boy to the relieve of the mother. It was such a touching scene.
On board a bus, an elderly lady lost her balance when the bus jerked, at least 4 other person in front of me tried to catch hold of her, but missed as there were too far from her. I was last in the line, and thankfully caught hold of her without myself falling.
We do right whenever we can and we will see the beauty of people around us.
There are of course rotten people, but we do not need to add to the numbers.
oldman
kopitiam, how about let try it and see how the respond??
#8) KopitiamApek on November 14th, 2009 7.03 pm
3) Edward
………………………………………………
I believe you quote the wrong name. No. 3 is Steven not Edward.
Like father like son.
Like government like citizens.
The government cannot claim all the credits and no mistakes. Fortunately, for Singapore there are more credits than mistakes. We have done well in our economy but we are far behind many countries in press and political freedom, social graces, sports and retirement benefits.
During the 2001 GE LHL publicly admitted the PAP will fix the opposition members if they exceed 10 of them in parliament. Isn’t the PAP responsible for these poor international rankings. On another occasion, LHL pointed out that Singaporeans are not smart when they join the longer queue at the Singapore passport counter instead of the much shorter queue at the ‘Other passoprts’ counter at the airport. Which party controls the government that educate its citizens for the past 50 years?
In yesterday ST, Dr Lee W L wrote ‘I do think giving yellow gerbera daisies for acts of “kindness” is a little hare-brained, ….’. No wonder Singapore is so backward in these areas when such activites are not encouraged by the privileged daughter.
14) Edward
oops, my apologies
13) oldman
I do not understand your point.
14) Edward
Are you living your life by instruction from these people? If not what Lee Wei Ling says has no bearing.They can say what they want to, it is your life.
11) Yamamoto
It is good to see you again too.
New Era
It’s time for change. Singapore is headed for disaster if we maintain the status quo.
The citizens are becoming apathetic while the island is being flooded by foreigners who are not committed to this country.
Time for change is now. I strongly urge the opposition parties to book the National Stadium for their rallies as they can expect crows of hundreds of thousands to come and show their support.
retiredgangster
[i]For some reason, most of the people who are seated are conveniently asleep, reading the newspapers or engrossed on mobile devices. Nobody comes forward to offer their seat, even though everyone knows they probably ought to do so. [/i]
wah! the author think we singapoorium what? fanstastic 6? when even the polis in shortpants would not take ACTION on barfights..they only tell LOSERs take it to a civil court…
you all har..think this is bollywood or hollywood?
do i looked liked c h o wyunfatt to you?
remembered the last action hero (that angmor) who dived into the singapoor river to save a damestress when she attempt a titanic reenactment few months back?
this ang mor garan hero was BILLED by the singapoor government when he was last checked by the local hospital..
in singapoor..if have gangfight..walked AWAY..you might be CHARGED for grevious bodily harmed under section 327… if the bad man you whacked got their skulls cracked open with your arukin streetfighter kick!!!
retiredgangster
[Nobody comes forward to offer their seat, even though everyone knows they probably ought to do so. [/i]
opps i missed this 1 by a mile.. let see i PAID the most expensive asian mrt rides with my ezlink ca$htopup card..i find a seat to rest my body..suddenly some1 come along.. i must give up my seat so that the other person can rest their buttocks comfortabLEE?
so far so good?
how many MPs/ministers travelled by the mrts? 1, 2 or 3?
ought to do so? on whose defitnitetion?
when the Mps/ministers who comes LATE for functions while our kids have to do prerehearsals in the hotsun on whatever occasion..sometime it even rained..
New Era
More…this Vikram is not getting anywhere. I don’t see how his viewpoints can be proven. What nonsense. The government is so used to blaming the citizens for EVERYTHING ! Saying the society must be inclusive and yet not doing it. Real Singaporeans do our part to be inclusive. I have met Singaporeans who can accept gay rights and people like me have a place here. My partner and me certainly need not depend on the goverment. In time to come, we can get married and it would not be strange. This is no thanks to the government but Singaporeans. So much for the 377A !
CJ
This crap
@ Steven
Nothing to do with the S’pore.govt.?
This uncivilised behaviour has everything to do with the govt! This shows clearly the total failure of the govt. education policy thr’ the years! Good social behaviour
must be cultivated from the very young age and most appropriately in the schools.
Since when and where did any school syllabus ‘emphasize’ on the importance of
social behaviour? The young of today is loaded with homeworks,tutorials,and all sorts of projects.
During the tenure of GCT as prime minister, he talked of making Singapore a ‘gracious society’. So many years passed, look at Singapore today, are we any way near ‘graciousness’?
Look at the public toilets in the coffeeshops- the govt. spent $million for the upgrading and renovations.The sad state of the toilets bear evidence of the social behaviour of Singaporeans and the blame is partly due to the govt.
What is the use of spending $millions for the upgrading and renovation when no follow-up actions were taken? They should have sent inspectors to inspect the toilets periodically and impose fine if and when necessary to deter the toilets being misused.
We talked of Swiss std. of living,we talked of more GOOD years,we talked of GOLDEN ERA years, Yes, we talked lots of CRAP, but the simple social behaviour we can’t even tackle-even with heavy fines!!
Gracious society? Swiss std. of living? Don’t make my toes laugh!!!
Playboy_Rick
Lets all not blame sporeans shall we…….whats the breakdown of true blue sporeans vs PRs/FTs/all the $hits
i reckon its at least 60/40 proportion. And that is an optimistic view. So lets not put all the blame on singaporeans.
New Era
22) New Era on November 15th, 2009 12.21 am
Please, this moniker has been taken. Try something else.
Thanks.
New Era
This is all a smokescreen. Singaporeans are unemployed, those that work earn meagre salaries and our elderly cannot retire but have to work until they kick the bucket and this guy Vikram is worried about people having to stand for 10 or 15 minutes.
These YPAP members are good at diverting our attention from more serious problems.
Steven
I think there are certains things which the government is responsible for. The influx of FT, high HDB flats, the high cost of living among others. To point fingers at the government because of the way we were educated or brought up, seems a convenient way to explain away our own bad behaviour. Our values are not driven just by the education system but through the lives of many significant others (i.e. teachers, parents and mentors etc), books that we read.
We should stop behaving like some teenager who blames the parents for everything while we fail to look into ourselves and rise above the cirumstances that we are in. Please grow up.
CJ
..think of the ‘Mirror Effect’, people…
remember the saying; “Like father like son… ”
where’s the GRACE from an administration that tells people to work till they die? And expect people to be nice & thoughtful???
a character of a people, reflects the same of its government…

What the hell.. it’s a No Free Lunch Society..
What do you expect???
This was indirectly cultivated by the administration!
Everyone for himself!
Go figure!