Ravi Philemon

(Top: Meeting KPI target at whose expense?)
“I had no choice”, says Mr Muthu (not his real name), “I had to rent out my 3-room flat because I lost my job and could not pay even the minimum monthly payments to the bank”. He has got to pay the bank about $750 every month for the mortgage he still owes.
“I only have a room-rental agreement with my tenants”, says Mr Muthu. He says that if he makes a contractual agreement to rent out the whole flat, then he would have to pay higher 10% property tax (as compared to 4% for owner-occupied residences) which will eat into his real income from renting his flat.
Mr Muthu resorted to renting out his flat when the restaurant he was working at as an Assistant Manager decided to retrench him in May last year. He was unable to find another job which paid him close to his last earned salary while his wife who works as a sales assistant brings home less than a thousand dollars a month. The couple has to support three school-going children too.
Their circumstances led to Mr Muthu and his family to become part of the statistics of people sub-letting their HDB flats. Fortunately, his brother took them in. They now squeeze into a common room in his brother’s 5-room flat.
However, Mr Muthu laments, “In my brother’s house, my wife, children and I are second-class”. He pays his brother $600 as compensation, but claims that his brother often chides him and his children for running up the utilities costs. Tension among family members is quite evident. According to him, his children and his brother’s children (who used to be very close) do not even play together now.
“Now, we cannot even watch television together as a family. When there is no school and when we are not working, we go out and only come back home when it is time to sleep”, says Mr Muthu. What’s worse is, his brother has been threatening recently to put Mr Muthu’s family out due to a misunderstanding. “If that happens, I don’t know what I will do or where I will go”, he said.
Mr Muthu now works part-time as a security guard. He looks forward to the day he can go back to his own flat with his family. “If I can find a better paying job, I will go back. But I am almost 50 and the hospitality industry is looking for younger workers to be in management. I even tried the Integrated Resort but they were only recruiting housekeepers, waiters and cleaners. Looks like I have to live like this for some time”, grieves Mr Muthu.

This is the era of the son of LKY holding the reins.
Has he done a great job for Singapore? No. He sucks big time. Singaporean are worst off under his watch.
Will he go down in history as the worst PM of Singapore? I leave it to you to judge.
The old man is behind the scenes assisting. I am sure his son would often listen to him. To me, they have become too greedy, maybe in power for too long. Anyway, up to Singaporeans to decide… if they want to sleep in the parks, just need to pay fines. ha ha ha
The MSM tried to put a spin on this and wrote that most Singaporeans sub-let their flats because they were employed overseas but this couldn’t be further from the truth.
Many Singaporeans are forced to sub-let because they have lost their jobs to foreigners and this was how they could get some money. Thousands and thousands of Singaporeans are jobless and unable to support their families.
Many Singaporeans will not have enough savings for their old age. I spoke with many elderly Singaporeans and they said half in jest, that they would try living in ‘Changi bungalow’. There, you are provided with food and accomodation, and even your medical is taken care of. If the MIW win the next elections, KBW wants to send all the old people to Johor, where it is difficult for children to visit their parents. In ‘Changi bungalow’ your children can visit you often and they don’t have to pay anything unlike the thousands they have to pay for an old age home.
I guess if they don’t want to be a burden on their children, more elderly folks should consider moving into ‘Changi bungalow’ when their health fails.
High housing cost + long mortgages = high risk of default.
At least this guy has someone he can go to. For now he can still hang on to his home. Singapore has the most expensive public housing in the world.
It is not Mr. Muthu fault he can make the mortgage payment – such high default rates are build into the system, given the 25-30yr mortgages, Singaporean’s inability to save and unstable job environment…if it is not Muthu it is someone else.
During last few election, PAP promised Singaporean more good year, and yet 80% of young singaporean have to suffer 25 to 30 years housing loan, until 55 to 65 years old, CPF left nothing, it is more bad year in future at all. really being cheated
7) Never vote pap,
“During last few election, PAP promised Singaporean more good year”
Sorry for the pun, but they did keep their promise of bringing in goodyear, but he has left
I am in the same plight as Mr Muthu. Sold my flat & the cash proceeds were used to clear all the arrears. only to squeeze into a common room with my wife & kids in my mother’s place.
Elbowed out of the competition in the technical job market by the cheaply paid foreign technicians, working as a armed security guard only to earn a rock bottom basic pay & my OT pay makan by the complex contract guidelines set by the corporate foreign “talents”. Scraping through a contract bond with a low salary. Despite the corporation is so called “government owned.”
Marriage on the rocks due to rising expenses plus poor financial situation. Living life with empty eyes with nothing much to look forward to except the insurance claims when I kick the bucket,maybe it will relieve my poor suffering wife who have chosen the incapable man for years & my poor suffering kids born of the wrong father.
Good work LKY & the puppet son. The country has prospered. The investors & the foreign talents are here to stay. You are on your highway to achieving your goals. I may salute you in my uniform but you will never earn my respect. As long as I am alive, I will look forward to the day to spit at your grave together with the thousands of people whom you called citizens.
“During last few election, PAP promised Singaporean more good year, and yet 80% of young singaporean have to suffer 25 to 30 years housing loan, until 55 to 65 years old, CPF left nothing, it is more bad year in future at all. really being cheated”
Be reminded that two months of salary of minister is enough for them to buy a good HDB flat. No wonder the minister says that HDB flat is affordable !!!!!!!!!! Make sure you people remind them durling election rally. Hold the placard and banner high up with message “Thank PAP for affordable Housing which cost only 2 months of minister’s salary ! Long Live PAP !!”
Sad Singapore Story….
I know a family, the father worked in the Army as a regular for 22 years. They sold their 2nd flat arond 1998 and moved into another one, Cashed In, nonetheless.
Since he was still employed by the Army the HDB did not require much cash payment. Then he fell sick, the Army retrenched him and after afew years he died. (there was no insurance or whatever so the house did not go to the family with 4 children, oldest was only 17 when the father died.
The HDB flat was repossed after 2 years, of the father’s death…..now(in 2008) they all 5 of them, have to squeeze into a one room rental flat, provided by the HDB.
I don’t know how Singapore’s Public System or civil service works….i wonder at times…is it there to milk the public or assist them, especially the naive and ignorant ones. It is a pity, if you make 1 wromg move in this country…You Get Screwed Over, but it becomes an Honest Mistake when “they” do it.
Hi Teo CW….
Take it easy man….you don’t need to feel so down….sometimes, life feels shitty….but there will be better days ahead. Think positive.
Cheers
People like Muthu and me and others have to sub-let their HDB flat rooms to foreigners to make money and survive.
As I live in a four-room flat and that I am alone then I can rent out three rooms and I just sleep in the living room. I just collect the rental and it can be up to 350 Sing dollars per month for a room.
I am old and cannot get a job and so I keep the place clean and I am also the jaga of my little property.
I just wait to kick the bucket and I am nearly 70.
what is KBW?
Mr. Teo, hang in there brother. Good people will prevail. I’ll pray for that and that you will have good days soon.
13) Rurehe
If you look at it in another way, you are a landlord. Reaping passive income from your wise investment.
Time is the essence of life, use your time you have wisely, don’t just wait to kick the bucket.
9) Teo CW
////my poor suffering wife who have chosen the incapable man for years & my poor suffering kids born of the wrong father.////
the word “incapable” caught my attention.
instead of loading you with more “how shitty life is in SG stuff”, which is not gonna be helpful to you, I thought viewing this video may be more helpful for you
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cpc-t-Uwv1I&feature=related
Mr Teo, you are not alone there. Many Singaporeans are in fact being elbowed out of the job market. Many settling into jobs they are not even trained in school for and accepting lower wages. Unfortunately, this group is too small even though visible. The many foreigners turned citizens are expected to vote overwhelmingly for the PAP. We are the second class citizens and life will remain this way. Time for you to get real and accept change. The PAP subscribes to the notion- only the best survives via their widely popular meritocracy. Turn the table on them and take the challenge head on. The world is your playground Mr Teo.
11) prettyplace
//// (there was no insurance or whatever ////
HDB flats mortgagees are by compulsion, covered by CPF Home Protection Scheme which will pay up all outstanding loans upon death of the mortgagee.
////so the house did not go to the family with 4 children, oldest was only 17 when the father died.////
the wife?
about 5 years ago, i met a family who owned a small modest 4 room flat in tampinese, the hubby is the sole bread owner, he is a clockmaker/repairer (who in this day still used grandfather clock? let alone a analog watch…) they have 2 sons who was primary level.. they all sleep in 1 small room with the other 3 bein rented out in order to makes ends makes (dirtcheap as well) the 3 tenants who are workin buddies is the KING/Queen.. they dictate to the landlord who is boss who is the slave (ring a bell? sound liked pap ministers right)
today? the kids must be in secondary level i don’t know what happenned now for i fear if i visit them i endup as charity giver instead of adhoc worker…
this is life..leekuanyew you are THE man the DEVIL ..you will pay in THE END!!!
[i]HDB flats mortgagees are by compulsion, covered by CPF Home Protection Scheme which will pay up all outstanding loans upon death of the mortgagee.[/i]
is that true or you just hear hearsays?
how about another client of mine who husband died a few years back on brain tumour.
the wife who is a devoted housewife/mother of 3 children who USED to live in a double story maisonette in bedok reservoir was FORCE to vacate and sell the masionate when the husband died..HJDB says his insurance didn’t covered the hubby death..only the devoted housewife clause..
please be so smart to share ley?
ole yes today the survivin mom had to slog as an office staff (who was lucky to have a loban by 1 of her closed friend hubby who take her as an office assistant)
she now lived in a 3 room resale flat still payin a brand new mortgage leases..
21) lauleetherubbisheater
you should visit other sites besides TOC
CPF site for example
Q: What is Home Protection Scheme (HPS)?
A: The Home Protection Scheme (HPS) is a mortgage reducing insurance which insures CPF members and their families against losing their homes should members become physically / mentally incapacitated or pass away before their housing loans are paid up.
Q: I am using my CPF savings to pay my monthly housing instalments. Do I need to be insured under HPS?
A: Yes, you have to be insured under HPS if you are using your CPF savings to pay your monthly housing instalments on your HDB flat.
[i]22) KopitiamApek on November 10th, 2009 11.04 pm 21) lauleetherubbisheater
you should visit other sites besides TOC
CPF site for example
Q: What is Home Protection Scheme (HPS)?
A: The Home Protection Scheme (HPS) is a mortgage reducing insurance which insures CPF members and their families against losing their homes should members become physically / mentally incapacitated or pass away before their housing loans are paid up. [/i]
so how did HDB come out with this law disqualifyin her from ownin the maisonette 100%?
why would hdb insured in her name only when all this while she is a housewife?
unless you wants to say hdb make another honest mistakes when the departed husband all this while is the mortgage payer? but not covered by HDB insurance upon his demise?
yet here you are
still echonin laulee words on law/govern and rulins…
never even bothered to investigate nor assist the poor widow in fightin a case for her legal rights to live in that maisonette upon her hubby death? what does this REALlive example gotta do with TOC? you meant TOC is the insurance agent who sell insurance on hdb mortgacee behalf?
23) lauleetherubbisheater
I am having trouble following your train of thought in your discussion, which is quite baffling.
If you need to be right, then you are right.
[i]24) KopitiamApek on November 10th, 2009 11.25 pm 23) lauleetherubbisheater
I am having trouble following your train of thought in your discussion, which is quite baffling.
If you need to be right, then you are right. [/i]
why don’t you just echoed another ^HONEST^ mistakes
let moved on with our remainin lives
and remin the survivin widow to pay her mortgage on time
The loyalists and builders have been betrayed
They are broken-hearted and want to turn the table
The betrayer saw the impending sword
And turned the table before it can be turned
The betrayer seduced its own kind from far and wide
More betrayers to serve his evil quest
At first it looked like the wind blows in his favour
but it is not to be for long
For light brings brightness and cleaniness
So will darkness bring chaos and bloodshed
I do not fear for I will be long gone
When these little devils meet their true master
25) lauleetherubbisheater
for reply to your post 25, please refer to my post 24.
I am trying to play the devil’s advocate here.
1. Has Mr. Muthu negotiated with HDB to either defer or re-finance his housing loan at least until he has found a job? The MPs are there to help. As a matter of fact, it is their obligation as the representatives of the residents in their constituencies to help people like Mr. Muthu.
2. Mr. Muthu has tried to find another job which paid him close to his last earned salary. But can he try to settle for a job which does not pay him as much as he used to be paid? Even having an extra $1,000 more per month from a job, which does not pay him as much as he used to earn, is better than having no jobs at all.
3. When he was the Assistant Manager, has Mr. Muthu tried to identify his value to the company (or even to his industry) and think of how to improve himself to move up the food chain? In his entire worklife, he should be aware that there are bound to be downturns and has he make plans and explore his value to his company to ensure employability, or at least better his chances, when tough decisions are to be made by the management?
4. Together with my sister, we have spent nights with my parents in a room of a 3-room flat before. It was cramped, but it is not doubt a sweet memory because family bonds are made stronger. for Mr. Muthu’s case, though there are tenants in the same flat as well, the inconvenient times would only be during the morning rush hour and night time. Comparing this inconvenience to the friction when he is staying with his brother, which is a lesser devil?
Even though thankfully, I am currently employed and earning a decent salary, this does not prevent me from thinking and planning for myself, as well as my family when the worst happens. I would thus propose that full responsibility does not lie with the government to ensure that everyone has a job, but largely also on the individuals to remain flexible, think and plan for themselves to ensure survival. Only then Singaporeans can considered themselves matured and be recognised and be a formidable voice in our own country.