Wednesday, November 4, 2009 10:01

One reason why we should vote PAP

In TOC TV • 2,264 views • 16 Comments

Documented public reaction to then Prime Minister Goh Chok Tong’s comments in the 7 July 2003 issue of Time (Asia) magazine about homosexuals that “…some people are born that way. We are born this way and they are born that way, but they are like you and me.” He also stated that gays would now be allowed to serve in ’sensitive positions’ in the Civil Service.

1. TOC Blog Feature: 10 reasons why I cannot vote for the PAP in the next election
  2. The suspension of reason
  3. The treason of reason
  4. No convincing reason to believe that the MDP works
  5. Reason why prices for HDB flats keep going up – even during a recession

16 Comments

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

JW
Nov 4, 2009 11:47

I would love to vote for the PAP.

But the current crop of MPs, ministers and PAP being very much in famiLEE control means that the opposition is a better bet.

Singapore can’t sink any lower.

Utopia
Nov 4, 2009 12:01

I too will vote for PAP 100%, er…err…, I mean a vote of no confidence.

Star7
Nov 4, 2009 12:29

I would vote for the opposition even if they field in a monkey as a candidate.

Personally, a monkey would actually do BETTER by doing nothing.

Voting anyone from PAP in would result in more bullshit like the GST hike, more ERPs and of course, the manipulation of the CPF, which is OUR money. Coming from an elite background, they have absolutely NO idea what is happening on the ground.

For example, does Raymond Lim travel by public transport?

Plus, I’m sure a monkey would be cheaper and would not require MILLIONS to prevent corruption.

matin
Nov 4, 2009 13:03

‘i think it’s okay, because they are also human beings, they need to eat also’

beautifully said, sometimes everyday common sense is the best legal argument.

ErniesUrn
Nov 4, 2009 13:47

One reason to vote for PAP is when you have connections with or working for the government, that’s when you vote for PAP. Not like you really care about the well-being of other Singaporeans or the future of this country, but you care for your own rice bowl.

People from SPH, CPF, HDB, GIC, TH etc ..every tom dick ,harry or jane from any government instituition, all they have in their fearing hearts are rice bowls. Yes, these people only have one reason to vote PAP. RICE BOWLs.

I think there are more people with more reasons not to vote PAP. :)

XD
Nov 4, 2009 14:08

Are you sure that gays are still not being discriminated by the civil service?

What about this? Education ministry drops arts mentor: http://www.yawningbread.org/arch_2009/yax-1070.htm

Charles
Nov 4, 2009 14:37

It is an insult to suggest that PAP’s policy of hiring gays even in sensitive position in the public sector should be a reason to vote for the party. The bar should be set higher on what the party actually does rather than a propaganda stunt that has never materialised. 7 years later after Mr Goh’s comment, homosexuality remains a criminal offense in Singapore. The government has not enacted any anti-discrimination policies against gays in the workplace. Perhaps the title should be ‘one reason why we should NOT vote for the PAP’. What has changed for gays in Singapore? Seriously.

lobo76
Nov 4, 2009 15:43

Personally, I have one CONDITION if I were to vote for PAP.
They have to take public transport for the duration of their term in office.

btan
Nov 4, 2009 16:30

If every interest group vote for PAP just because PAP satisfy your interest, then you are truly myopic.

No real freedom can be gained by any single interest group when there is no true political freedom for all.

Only when there is political freedom, can laws and issues be freely debated without fear for reprisal. We have to get the basics right first.

Online Shmonline
Nov 4, 2009 17:07

@ 8) lobo76 on November 4th, 2009 3.43 pm

I’ll endorse your requirement only if if the successfully elected PAP folks have to take the MRT ride between 7 and 7.30am on any weekday. They can then enjoy the scent of our FT who’ve not had a wash. It’s so ripe (err, I mean really fragrant!) that I’m surprised the MRT carriages are not considered temporary disaster zones! :P

THAT makes me want to go to work late!! :D

American Tail
Nov 4, 2009 18:51

Am I sensing some kind of an undercurrent changes in TOC’s political alignment? Strange. Please explain Andrew’s exit.

As bloggers and online citizens of Singapore, we are very quick to pick up on hidden agendas if there were any.

macam macam
Nov 5, 2009 13:38

i vote pap for making me jobless for 11 years bonsai pap! i love you!

gemami
Nov 5, 2009 14:47

Hi lobo76,

Why vote the PAP MP and hopes that he takes the bus or MRT? Why not vote the other MP and know that he will take bus and MRT?

RED-man
Nov 6, 2009 13:45

10 reasons why you should not bite for PAP:

for start,

1. It means PAY and PAY until you die.
2. Poor social security nest.
3. Ever increasing living standard.
4. Your job likely to be replaced by a foreign workforce.
5. The next generation likely to pay 2 generation for HDB.
6. Your pay will never see the chances of increasing with inflation.
7. They have the bunch of useless high paid monkeys as ministers.
8. Internal Security Act.
9. FamilLee owned Singapore.
10. You will be forced to take MRT after taking the bus.

RED-man
Nov 6, 2009 13:47

Sorry, vote not bite

tiredsingaporean
Nov 6, 2009 14:33

I’ve heard over the radio recently that the union (govt again!) is helping those who suffers pay cut or something like that. Wonder how many of the affected citizens are being assisted or maybe just a handful of those selected ones to show how much they care for the people, another one of those plot to win over the confidence of the citizens I guess, election coming duh!

Leave a Reply

Comment

theonlinecitizen on Facebook