Monday, November 2, 2009 7:32
PAP MPs disinterested in bread-and-butter issues?
In Quotes • 663 views • 16 Comments
“I want to show you this clip of Low Thia Kiang speaking during the debate on the critical issue of CPF reform in Singapore. I put up this clip not to show the standout performance of MP Low on the issue of CPF reform but the empty seats behind him. I don’t know who those MPs are but they were too busy to turn up when such an important issue was discussed in parliament.”
Lucky Singaporean, on the criteria of a good MP
16 Comments
You sure or NOT
Heckcare
Being a MP. Possibly the best part-time job in the world.
leesjuanpat
Bring back a relevant point, MP LTK spoke with earnest the unconstitutional way the Govt. or for that matter PAP withhold our CPF money and force everyone to buy a life long annuity.
LTK’s prosposal to set up an old age trust fund for older senior citizens who are penniless and cannot care for themselves is condultative and commendable. This fund will come to be very useful for the older folks.
The government’s contention on CPF minimum sum and saving for old age is just an excuse to legally confiscate our hard earned CPF money. Many of us will not be able to live long enough to enjoy our very own money.
Has the government any legal rights to withold it and deprived the citizens reaching retirement to wait another 7 to 10 years to withdraw by instalment
our own CPF money?
Where is the justice to such practice? The very government we voted in and the
sweeping law and legislation imposed acrossed the board on every citizens reaching retirement age.
Many cannot live long enough to see and enjoy our own CPF. We need JUSTICE !!
Wee SK
Don’t worry, we will see them more often from here onwards. With the GE looming soon, there will be more blocks parties, etc. You might actually know who your MP is after all these years. What happens after GE is another matter but I think we should be able to draw our conclusions.
btan
If voters are still blind and do not see how opposition MPs are working hard for us while PAP MPs are skivving, then you are truely asleep.
Wake up now and vote for opposition MPs who will work hard for us, not PAP MPs who will be more interested in their own businesses than the welfare of Singaporeans.
Wake up now.
Online Shmonline
Well, now that they’ve given themselves till Feb 2012 to increase the vote bank of foreign citizens (this can only make sense in Singapore) and bribe us with petty, worthless gifts that will not give us back our pride and independence, all of us have to work doubly hard to kick the PAP’s behind when push comes to shove and elections are in our faces.
Don’t get distracted,
don’t get fooled,
do your duty for yourself, your family and your fellow man
(yes, the one who goes to the coffee shop, not the one given directorships in all the inter-related GLCs and earning $13k per month for part time work).
Cheers!
New Era
I guess it is true that PAP MPs are very busy with their other work. Most of them hold directorships in many listed companies.
In any case, it makes no difference whether they sit in parliament or not, if you ask me. They never seem to speak up for the people.
Yang
You guys in the past vote them in! Who to blame? I think the best way is to get full-time MP serving us. If not, don’t expect too much because they got better things to do.
Reversed Socialist Citizen
The PAP MPs are not there to speak for the people but to defend and protect the PAP and to lend undisputed loyalty to the Old Man and his Son, and family.
For that they are rewarded with a part-time MP job will full allowances, many directorships, and some holding key ministerial posts or executive posts in Temasek, GIC or GLCs and being paid millions of dollars every year at taxpayers’ expense.
They are also put in place with the various grass-root organisations under the People’s Association to monitor the people and to serve as a form of control upon the citizens in conjunction with the ISD, the Police Force, the Civil Defence Force and the SAF.
Singapore is a Police State of Reversed Socialism controlled by One Man, very similar to Nazi Germany controlled by Hitler, except there are no physical atrocities. That is what I have seen so far.
Right or not, it is up to you to analyse and conclude for yourself.
Dude
I see almost full house when they debate about their pay increment.
mike
its a dead parliament as far as i am concerned for i dont even watch at all.
oleagedpensioner
this 1 you cannot blamed the 82 pap mps….they were too far busy countin the numbers of zeros in their cpf savin simply because no matter how ntuc minister lim sia suayed add all his zeroS..its still aq zero so he roped in the 81 other mps to help him count lor….
who is low tk? just an mp in siowkeng with 8 white cardboard elephants nia….
mice is nice
i think for most folks:
MP = Mouth Piece (save for a few good 1s…)
since most MPs voice is the same as that 1 final voice that speaks…
mice can talk
Singapore is unique; therefore Singapore MPs are also unique.
The speak uniquely and behave uniquely and draws uniquely extraordinary high salaries, e.g. PM’s pay is 5 times that of the President of the US.
While they never even make a squeak for the people when the people’s salaries are being suppressed for so many years. So, do they really represent the people or represent themselves?
Heavenknow
the current ruling party has lost its moral ground to govern this ‘city” for its citizens.
may the day its arrive, the judiciary and law society held by honourable men n women to remove all unjust laws, and return its democratic right for its citizens….
You sure or NOT
An imaginary scenario right after next election.
1. GST up from 7 to 10%
2. Review and up Ministers’ pay by 25% due to “good performance during recession”
3. HDB prices would reflect “market rate” means recession is over, so the price would go up further north, which means most people cannot afford anymore and would need two generation to pay ie Japan style.
4. ERP gantries KPE and many other gantries would go into operation, making Singapore roads the most expensive.
5. Announcement of seat warmer PM.
6. Import of extra 1.5M foreigners to make total population to 6.5M
7. Taxi fares be further adjusted, COE would rise further since new cars numbers are going down.
8. New workforce slogan – cheap, cheaper and cheapest ie. Singaporean wages and plan to suffer, torment and surrender.

Most of the PAP MPs are big shots outside, holding very senior positions, and perhaps a lot of directorships which makes them extremely busy people. Most of the meet PAP sessions are done by the grass advisors. Even the photos posted, they are digitally altered to reflect the different festive seasons. What the party wants from them is undivided loyalty, thats all.
If you expect to see your MP, thats only during election time, they will come around and shake your hands.