Thursday, November 12, 2009 11:36
Political repression – S’pore govt responds to Canadian law firm
In Main Stories • 2,120 views • 67 Comments
The following are excerpts of the Singapore Government’s response to the “White Paper on the repression of political freedom in Singapore” by Canadian law firm, Amsterdam and Peroff.
You can view the full text of the response here.
——
We have received queries on the “White Paper on The Repression of Political Freedoms in Singapore: The Case of Opposition Leader Dr Chee Soon Juan” by Amsterdam & Peroff.
The Paper recycles the views and comments that Dr Chee Soon Juan has regularly expressed. Singaporeans have, however, repeatedly rejected Dr Chee, his politics and his party. In the 1997 General Elections, Dr Chee lost decisively, obtaining only 35% of the votes. In the 2001 General Elections, he obtained only 20% of the votes, the lowest of any candidate in the Elections, where there were over 100 candidates. These results were a clear indication of what the electorate thought of him and his policies. In the 2006 General Elections, Dr Chee’s party, the SDP, consistently polled the lowest votes in every constituency in which its candidates stood, and some of them were not far off from losing their deposits. There are others from the Opposition who are not only in the current Parliament but have also won several elections successively. These facts are not to be found in the Paper. Despite these facts, the Paper seeks to portray Dr Chee as the Leader of the Opposition in Singapore and a martyr.
——
Singapore has a written Constitution that is Supreme and which guarantees fundamental liberties such as the right to life or personal liberty, right to equal protection, freedom of speech, assembly and association, and freedom of religion. Such rights are not absolute. They need to be balanced against the interests of society as a whole. Just as much as the freedom of speech and freedom of assembly need to be protected, we believe that it is a fundamental human right of all our people to live in a safe and stable environment, free from violence and social disorder.
—–
All Singapore citizens, including Dr Chee and his supporters, are guaranteed under Article 14 of our Constitution the right to assemble peaceably and the right to form associations. The Constitution recognises that these rights are not absolute and allows for necessary restrictions in the interest of the security of Singapore or public order. Such legitimate restrictions are consistent with international instruments such as the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights and the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.
—-
The law of defamation is not unique to Singapore and as in other jurisdictions that value the rule of law, the purpose of such a law is not to stifle free speech and expression, but to protect debate from untrue and scurrilous personal attacks.
—-
There are 5,500 foreign newspapers and journals in circulation in Singapore. Many freely carry articles critical of Singapore. Singapore’s population is not only well-educated, it is internationally connected and highly wired. Household broadband penetration is at 115%. Singapore ranks amongst the top three connected cities in the world. The Singapore population is able to judge for itself the truth.
—-
It is pertinent to note that the Constitution of Singapore was amended to allow opposition politicians who have failed to win a seat at an election to hold seats in Parliament as “non-constituency” members. Opposition non-constituency members have not been reticent, inside or outside Parliament, in criticising Government policies and holding the Government to account. If the intention of Government leaders were to remove the opposition from Parliament by utilising defamation laws, the Constitution would not have been amended to ensure precisely the opposite effect.
—-
Singapore has grown and prospered because of its adherence to the rule of law and its robust legal framework. In a world of competing interests and priorities, Singaporeans must choose for themselves the kind of government they want, and the appropriate balance to be struck between societal interests and the individual. Singapore does not seek to prescribe or impose its values on others, but simply for an open dialogue on these issues untainted by misrepresentation. This response clarifies facts which the Paper chose to ignore.
67 Comments
Oh Holy
Pimps And Prostitutes
Apologies if this gets repeated. I submitted but the comment did not appear, so am submitting again…
[The Paper recycles the views and comments that Dr Chee Soon Juan has regularly expressed. Singaporeans have, however, repeatedly rejected Dr Chee, his politics and his party. In the 1997 General Elections, Dr Chee lost decisively, obtaining only 35% of the votes. In the 2001 General Elections, he obtained only 20% of the votes, the lowest of any candidate in the Elections, where there were over 100 candidates. These results were a clear indication of what the electorate thought of him and his policies.]
The reply recycles the views and comments that the PAP has regularly expressed.
Singaporeans are, however, increasingly rejecting MML Lee, PM Lee, their $,$$$,$$$ ministers, their politics and their party.
In the 2006 General Election, PM Lee got a big shock when he expected at least 80 percent of the votes in his GRC, but in the end received just 60+ percent. Although this was still an election win, it was a big loss of face that he polled lower than many of his fellow MPs.
In the next General Election, let’s see… The result may well be a clear indication of what the electorate think of the Lees and their policies.
Yamamoto
This is a quote from the movie 21….what is worse then a sore loser? someone who doesn’t admit that they have played it wrong
Moe Gan Thai
But the govt’s rebuttal does not include the fear and intimidations by the pap govt to discourage people from joining the oppositions and the role of msm to brainwash the voters….. and many many restrictions in free speech.
btan
The more PAP spins, the more others will see through their smoke and mirrors, the more they will be seen as not credible.
PAP has to think long and hard why it is difficult to get people to join the party. In the end, only those who feel they can profit themselves will join their party and that will sound the death knell. It had already begun.
Pritam Singh
Compared to previous responses from the government, this one is a marked improvement. It avoids the petty character assassination exercises of yesterday and deals with a different attitude/ideolody to freedom, which I believe is fair game.
Only one remark was out of sync…..”The Singapore population is able to judge for itself the truth.” This is highly debatable.
smallvoice585
If we were to read this Government reply objectively, there is little to fault its factual contents and its logic. But there are valid counterpoints.
1. It is a fact that Dr Chee and the SDP had performed miserably in recent GEs. We can infer that the electorate for some reason had rejected them.
Counterpoint: Were their poor results the consequence of Government persecution?
2. It is common sense that those fundamental liberties guaranteed by the constitution cannot be absolute because social stability and peace are over-riding priorities.
Counterpoint: But, are social stability and order worth their while if people are miserable feeling that their fundamental rights are over-suppressed?
3. The Law of Defamation is both legitimate and necessary.
Counterpoint: But, should it be applied relentlessly for political purposes?
4. The Government had indeed amended the constitution to allow for more non-PAP voices in Parliament.
Counterpoint: But, there is a suspicion there is selectivity and favoritism in this process.
So, things are not so clear-cut one way or the other. It is now up to the proponents on either side to make a more convincing case for their position.
i find it really strange or the people responding to the claims themselves are merely copying from a prepared text.
————-
Singapore has a written Constitution that is Supreme and which guarantees fundamental liberties such as the right to life or personal liberty, right to equal protection, freedom of speech, assembly and association, and freedom of religion. Such rights are not absolute.
————-
So on one hand, we have a constitution that is Supreme – which is;
1. highest in rank or authority; paramount; sovereign; chief.
2. of the highest quality, degree, character, importance, etc.: supreme courage.
3. greatest, utmost, or extreme: supreme disgust.
4. last or final; ultimate.
and on the other hand, that constitution still have conditions?
:)
papa
Wow, to write such a long and detailed response they must really be sensitive to and affected by the white paper. Perhaps because they are guilty? Haha..
gemami
I think the hustling for the next election has already started. Once the PAP is confident that it has covered all grounds will it announce the election date. After that, its opponents will have only nine days to undo the damage the PAP has done to them.
This is the time to make up your mind and take a stand. It is time to speak up for yourself.
Yamamoto
Yes, coming next GE, I hope PP will serve Sitoh his….
and fellow singaporeans will stand up and let our voice be hear….and i hope my GRC will be contested
BZZZZ! Wrong answer!
“1. It is a fact that Dr Chee and the SDP had performed miserably in recent GEs. We can infer that the electorate for some reason had rejected them.”
When you get so much mud-slinging, so many one-sided news, so many Summary Judgements awarded against him WITHOUT trail, can we actually concur that the electorate has rejected the man himself?
Or is it rather, the man that MSM has PAINTED him out to be?
THe White Paper dispute is PURE HOGWASH with LIES and TWISTED FACTS that only a man with the thickest skin can claim it to be true.
As Mohd Hisham has pointed out, the Constitution is the HIGHEST order of law, and all other laws against the Constitution is null and void.
Don’t tell me that such simple English is so difficult to understand?
Oh I forgot. Wong not only can’t sing, neither can he READ!
tiredsingaporean
The ruling party is now in deep shit cos the truth is out in the entire world.
Mc Cormic nite rider
I could not comprehend why IBA for its 72 page report is never sued by the magnificent Shanmugam or the LKY?
What a Mystery!
What a Puzzle!
Can IBA give ANNUAL reports annually?
kekeke?
nonsense
Our system and law has NEVER been true justice but what is usable by the ruling party to get what they want. This is as clear as the toilet water after every flush, yet many still wonder why the water is still murky with shit *. Zzzz.
Tip: Use concentrated bleach to cut out all grease. Normal flushing is not enough. ;)
Utopia
“I could not comprehend why IBA for its 72 page report is never sued by the magnificent Shanmugam or the LKY?”
Why should those kangaroos sue IBA when they are members of IBA ? Suing IBA could only means that Kangaroo’s members will be disqualified in IBA due to conflict of interest. Without IBA’s backing, Singapore may potentially be the next Atlantis.
tiredsingaporean
14) Mc Cormic nite rider on November 12th, 2009 10.04 pm I could not comprehend why IBA for its 72 page report is never sued by the magnificent Shanmugam or the LKY?
You think LKY dare to sue them? imagine a tiny egg hitting a whole hard rock, what would happen?
Marcus Teo
All is said and done I tried hard to look for “Sinkapoor” in this list of more than 150 countries where starvation is the norm amongst the majority in these countrries.
Strangely, I can’t find it. How come? We are resourceless, no economies of scale and just a tiny, red dot?
The PAP must be doing hella a bad job these 44 years for getting us into this grand list. They are darn stupid not to listen to these bloggers otherwise we would have been in the grand list 20 years ago.
Utopia
“All is said and done I tried hard to look for “Sinkapoor” in this list of more than 150 countries where starvation is the norm amongst the majority in these countrries.”
Is this the kind of stupid question you will ask of first world developed country ?
@Marcus Teo
If that was an attempt at sarcasm, I just want to say one word.
Fail.
We are talking about political repression here, not starvation.
So if the country doesn’t starve, political repression is okay?
Robox
To Marcus Teo on November 12th, 2009 10.29 pm:
Re: “I tried hard to look for “Sinkapoor” in this list of more than 150 countries where starvation is the norm amongst the majority in these countrries…Strangely, I can’t find it. How come?”
Where in White Paper do they even remotely allude to basic economic needs?
Maybe the American Mathematical Studies whose link you provided should also rank countries by their populations’ reading comprehension skills as well; you can be sure to find Singapore scraping the barrel – just as with media transparency rankings – and you will be singlehandedly responsible for dragging down Singapore’s national average scores.
Stick to the issues discussed at hand and stop doing a Lee kuan Yew to cause these issues to take a back seat and/or distract people from them.
Say what you may about protection of rights and blah … The laws are static articles written on paper but are subject to interpretation and judged on a case by case basis.
It would be naive to think any political party or government does not capitalise on this to boost their standing but it’s a matter of degree.
If amendments have to be made for whatever window dressing or space for opposition, they go to show that existing and previous laws have indeed been stifling.
You also have to take into consideration how the people feel, fear, believe and respond for these laws to be effective. Like clock work it operates in Singapore.
Debora Songi
Thanks to Readers comments, Now I Know how Influential is the IBA.
When all cannot, the IBA !
Marcus Teo
The END in mind please.
Check out the countries that are in deep shit today. Just too many voices who want to heard and acted upon – resulting in chaos and instability.
To Robox & his clones – Please rememeber you can’t have the cake and eat it. More so if you knew our vulnerabilites – tiny, no mineral resources, multiracial, etc.
Don’t go far. In my family of 4. Time out is always a problem. My wife wants to to to Orchard for shopping. My son wants to stay at home to surf the net. My daughter wants to go to the chalet. I want to play majong with my friends. Quarrel ensued. In the end everyone puts up a black face, no dinner, went to bed and start a blue tomorrow.
We’ve had 45 good years relative to many because we know the secret to diaster, the deadly poison which we won’t want to try out. China followed us and today it’s a force to reckon with amongst nations. Money speaks!
Frankly, if we (Singapore) was poor we will be looked down on, cast aside (i.e. our views are swept aside). Today it’s different, rigfht? Our MM is sought after by world leaders who would pay just to listen to his lecture and advice. APEC would not have beenheld here if we were Mauritiaus.
Think helicopter. We can’t have the cake and eat it. THis is no some big and resource rich ang moh cultured country.
P/S I read recently in one provice in India they beat up the MPs for speaking HIndi (national language of India) on stage. Think abt it.
Robox
Hi Debra Songi, if I may point out, this White Paper has not been issued by IBA but Canadian law firm Amsterdam and Peroff; Robert Amsterdam is also the lawyer who helps Dr Chee Soon Juan in his many court cases – just mentioning the latter fact because it is already a known fact.
But the true winner in all of this is Dr Chee himself. The PAP has finally been brought down to their knees by making this admission alone:
Re: “Singapore has a written Constitution that is Supreme…”
This is the very FIRST time that I have known the PAP government to explicitly quote the above constitutional clause But this is also for consumption by the international community.
The PAP government has NEVER before cared two hoots about the Constitution. In fact even the PAP government’s own current legal adviser, Walter Woon said so when he was an NMP:
Re: “‘We effectively don’t have a Constitution. We have a law that can easily changed by Parliament, and by the party in power because the party is Parliament. The changes themselves might not be controversial, but it is unsettling how flexible the Constitution is, unlike, say, in the United States.’
But all this have been pointed out in court repeatedly by Dr Chee in his many court cases. Thus, we are now find ourselves in the position in which Dr Chee – and not the PAP – sets the agenda, and the PAP has now been forced to come around to the same conclusions as him.
Victory definitely belongs to Dr Chee. Already.
No Chee-sy politics
one can’t blame PAP for the fact that majority of the citizens can’t vote. Why can’t the opposition organize themselves better and stand for contest at every election? then we can know with certainty what the electorate thinks.
as much as i do not fully agree with the PAP, i cannot convince myself to subscribe to the SDP’s tactics. Chee is not going to win my vote any time.
patriot
I wonder, just wonder
Why? Why? Why? The United Nation, the US of A(Champion of Human Rights)
and other Voluntary Human Rights Organizations have never censored the blatant political repressions in this INDEPENDENT CITY.
patriot
Mike Tysone
FACTS:
Since GE 2006, the PAP Government has consolidated its power grip upon Singaporeans with regards to political freedom in Singapore, despite the emergence of New Media.
The Private Security Industry Act 2007 outlaws investigative journalism on political figures and their family members.
The Public Order Act 2009 has not only made one-man protest illegal, but also boosts the arbitrary power of policemen.
The recent amendment to the Films Act also outlaws the filming of illegal activities such as outdoor political events without permits.
Films about alternative historical accounts of Singapore remain banned. Registered political websites still cannot post articles during General Election.
Local talent - pap supporter
‘The Singapore population is able to judge for itself the truth’
That is probably true. in the end, 66.6% voted (in the contested constitutency) for the lky regime.
who are these 66.6%?
What were in their minds when they voted for the lky regime?
how should they be convinced NOT to vote for the lky regime? (when lky die?)
how should the other parties attempt to take advantage of the redrawing of bourndaries? (by spilling the discontent effect over different parts and watching it grow?)
these are the issues that the other parties must address. if the alternative parties won many constitutencies in the next election, this testifies to their emergence as strong parties to challenge the lky regime in parliament (assuming the lky regime hold the majority), which is the next obstacle.
lim
The one and most important detail which is missed out in both Govt and foreign perspectives is that the rule of law should be determined neither by Govt or foreign entities but by the citizens of Singapore, its standards and perspectives.
For foreign orgs to ask foreign govts to whack Singapore’s economy so that change can be made is a dumb sledgehammer idea. For govt to dictate the rule of law without Singaporean input, merely on the standards of what a minority thinks is right, is equal folly.
Power to the people.
Ohnani
24) Marcus Teo on November 13th, 2009 10.40 am
What you have said is so true.
Wake up people! As long as economic benefits are given to us, who cares if we are politically oppressed?
“Check out the countries that are in deep shit today. Just too many voices who want to heard and acted upon – resulting in chaos and instability.”
So true. Chaos and instability comes from too many voices wanting to be heard.
Marcus provides a very apt example.
“Don’t go far. In my family of 4. Time out is always a problem. My wife wants to to to Orchard for shopping. My son wants to stay at home to surf the net. My daughter wants to go to the chalet. I want to play majong with my friends. Quarrel ensued. In the end everyone puts up a black face, no dinner, went to bed and start a blue tomorrow.”
What his family should have done is – assuming Marcus is the sole breadwinner and the rest get economic benefits from him – to listen to whatever Marcus wants them to do. In the end, He gets to play mahjong whenever he wants and the rest have to listen to him. No quarrel, no blackface, yes to dinner and a happy tomorrow because what other choice is presented to them? They can be unhappy inside but as long as Marcus provides for them they should not be ungrateful.
Even if Marcus conducts unfavorable policies like spend part of his salary in Geylang “integrating foreigners”. Or he starts bring the “foreigners” home, overcrowding his HDB, leading to less breathing space for his family.
Even if he forcibly takes part of the allowance he gives his children and saves it in a account promising a return rate of 2.5% then goes on to lose most of the money in risky investments.
His family should just listen to whatever he says and be happy doing it, even if they are resentful.
But that’s not to say they will remain resentful forever.
Because once Marcus can no longer give them economic benefits, it’s time for his resentful family to put him in a nursing home in Johor.
Utopia
“To Robox & his clones – Please rememeber you can’t have the cake and eat it. More so if you knew our vulnerabilites – tiny, no mineral resources, multiracial, etc.”
If you want to argue intelligently and sensibly, by all means, start reading http://trulysingapore.wordpress.com and you can see how much nonsensical argument you have regurgitate from the PAP.
Utopia
Ohnani, Marcus
are you only capable of regurgitating from the PAPPY ?
“As long as economic benefits are given to us, who cares if we are politically oppressed?”
Why can’t you eat both sides of cake ? Any reason why ? You can’t have economic benefits while politically open ? If you are been politically oppressed, will you be short-charged from the economic benefits ?
Marcus Teo
What’re the noises?
Leave the noises (campaigning) till the next GE. For now, let the ELECTED rule for the good of the country. The the matured victims (elecorates) can decide. Thst’s DEMOCRACY.
Even 2 heads can’t get along. Remember after a stint Chee & Chiam divorce. Today husbands & wives divorce like nothing.
We can’t do this governing a small, no resource country. Can we? Honestly?
WE have 4.5 million Singaporeans. If all want to put across and implement their own views and opinions we’ll haveheell. Or hell will break lose.
Recently my condo had an AGM. Only 19 owners out of 205 turned up. And we had hell. They were 4 factions having separate agendas and we can’t agree to go forward. So we have to shelf several projects and things began to stall and a couple of good professionals throw in the towel. Well we’re still sitting it out. Too much conflict and vested interest lah.
Reflect . . . . We are not tops bcause we are more guarded. Don’t be too smart and open pandora box for the top echelons can and will leave when the boat sinks.
Utopia
“Leave the noises (campaigning) till the next GE. For now, let the ELECTED rule for the good of the country. The the matured victims (elecorates) can decide. Thst’s DEMOCRACY.”
That is not DEMOCRACY. That is STUPIDITY you talking about.
Ohnani
To 33) Utopia on November 13th, 2009 2.04 pm
“are you only capable of regurgitating from the PAPPY?”
Then tell me Utopia,
(Me being a typical Singaporean who has exchanged political rights for economic benefits)
Who should i regurgitate from?
curious citizen
@31 Ohnanie.
There is fundamentally one problem with your idea.
All that exists is due to the effort of those who can give economic benefit to us, but are you trying to link marcus unable to provide anymore economic benefit with the leadership renewal system that the elite ruling class has in place?
If so, then there is a need to mention that the marcus has the abilities to be a greater mortal. ergo, mortality is now no more of an issue. The ruling party have been able to show that its leadership renewal is always on going.
if not, then are you trying to insinuate that the person in question has dubious ability to plan for his retirement, where said person can enjoy monthly payouts (CPF life that might stop if they are unable to pay), or to enjoy a certain standard of living (collecting cardboard to supplement income).
But otherwise, it would seem, that this does not conflict with the “Asian” values that we cherish so dearly in our society.
Curious
Utopia
Ohnani,
“Who should i regurgitate from?”
Do you even need to regurgitate from someone in the first place ?
Ohnani
38) Utopia on November 13th, 2009 3.11 pm
“Do you even need to regurgitate from someone in the first place?”
Is there something wrong with regurgitation? Isn’t imitation the best form of flattery?
Also if it were only truth being spoken why can’t i regurgitate it?
Like for example – I live and breathe everything my idol writes.
My idol is none other than the Doyenne of Objective Journalism – Chua Mui Hoong.
Now how can you disagree to that?
Ni
Dr Chee has my continued support.
Utopia
Ohnani,
that’s cool ! All your idols are top-favourites for regurgitation ! Wow… Chua sisters, LKY, MIW, … no wonder there is no case to argue anymore simply because there is no deny that they are really the best of the best. Keep it up ! You have bright future ahead.
nothoodwinked
Aren’t we guys lucky?
We are actually living in the land ruled BY law
with all our rights and freedoms guaranteed by
the Constitution.
We should be called the “Land of the Even More Free”
No wonder we have so many immigrants.
Forget about that good old US of A
Ohnani
Utopia,
Always a pleasure conversing with you as you really seem to understand what i
am referring to.
Each line you write indicative of your intellect and understanding.
Denial that our govt and it’s supporters are really the best of the best is just
Unbalanced thinking and we should as citizens all keep remembering the
Multitudinous achievements of the government which brought us here this very
Day and of course will continue bettering Singapore.
Ohnani
Utopia,
Always a pleasure conversing with you as you really seem to understand what i
Refer to.
Each line you write indicative of your intellect and understanding.
Denial that our govt and it’s supporters are really the best of the best is just
Unbalanced thinking and we should as citizens all keep remembering the
Multitudinous achievements of the government which brought us here this very
Day and of course will continue bettering Singapore.
curious citizen
am i seeing it correctly, if the 1st letter of each sentence is read vertically, it reads as U ARE ****
haha
sick
The Govt’s response is so laughable. La-da, la-da here, la-da, la-da there… like some cock and bull story. The style of writing as if done by a secondary school student, haha.
Our public servants are really hopeless! How to give a good impression like dat…?! What’s more coming from the Press Centre!
Strange for PAP government to claim that there are 100 candidates in 2001 GE and Dr Chee has scored the least. There are 100 candidates but many of them (PAP candidates) get ZERO VOTES because there were no contest at all. So how could Dr Chee be the one who get the lowest votes? ;)
How could 1 man protesting to be a threat to public security is beyond any reasonable sensible understanding of a normal man. PAP has NEVER approved any demonstration by any opposition parties or members. While Hong Kong with 500000 going on a protest march on the street without any incident of violence or trouble, least threat to public security, I wonder why PAP government would think that 1 man protesting could possibly post any public security that he should be arrested and charged.
The police in Hong Kong helps protest organizers to maintain law and order during the protest while Singapore police only here to deter and arrest protesters. This speaks volume about Singapore’s human rights record.
Goh Meng Seng
nonsense
Like the current US alien movie “The Fourth Encounter”, Singapore has reached the critical point in making political history.
1st Encounter :
- Singapore “hears” sightings of an “inhuman alien presence” in power.
2nd Encounter :
- Singapore gathers evidence of alien abuse (CPF freeze, high taxes, ever-rising Cost of Living, Temasek debacle, Mas Selamat Sabbatical..etc)
3rd Encounter :
- Singapore makes contact and engages alien power publicly; through New and Old media, and thru’ oppressed oppositions, to lodge protests.
4th Encounter :
- Alien power abducts the will of the people and launches an attack, by slowly bankrupting the population and implementing martial law.
5th Encounter :
- Death of a nation, country, city…er…no? Red dot?. Rise of a revolution- The Chronicles of pissed local talent +foreign labour against tyranny.
(Singapore edited version: Death of a Slowly wait long long bankrupt company-no sequel la cos no more funds!)
The Pointer Sisters
This is in response to the post number 24 about the miserable family experience.
In the example cited, to maximize aggregate satisfaction and time, each member of the family should pursue his or her own actions independent of the others.
What utility is there for Mother, Daughter and Son to accompany and watch Daddy play mahjong with his kakis? Mahjong is not a spectator sport. Daddy’s friends will be uncomfortable with 3 of his blood kin loitering around the table. They may even suspect that mother and the children are peering at their tiles and secretly sending coded messages to Daddy to give him an unfair advantage. Daddy’s standing among his friends will diminish as a result.
At one extreme, if Daddy invokes his traditional role as head of the family and coerces the family as postulated by Ohnani in post number 31, the level of collective unhappiness can only increase.
Assuming that Daddy plays regular overnight mahjong sessions, something has got to give. The long suffering wife and children may decide that enough is enough and walk out of the home. If the wife becomes mentally deranged due to prolonged sleep deprivation, out of resentment she may even start spiking Daddy’s food with arsenic or rat poison.
The true determinant of happiness is for the family to have quality time together. Quality implies that what matters is not so much the amount of time the members spend together but what they do with the limited time they have together. Let’s face it, in today’s society there will never be enough time even if there are 36 hours in a day. Happiness also requires a spirit of give and take – each family member must compromise a little to bring this about.
As a suggestion, on the mahjong-Orchard shopping-chalet-surf the net day, before starting out on each seperate activity, the family could have breakfast together where all members make it a point to communicate with one another instead of being pre-occupied by the newspaper or texting SMSes etc.
Popeye H
The Pointer Sisters on November 14th, 2009 2.12 am
Easier said than done. Right?
Look at Thailand – paralized. This is the real thing amongst Asians let alone the Japanese (homogenous people) who would let the winners govern smoothly till the next election or in the US where the winner in Black Obama govern and the Republicans stay low till the next election where the people can then decide if they have benifitted from the rule to continue with the Democracts. Only inferior people go round shopping for outside support to try and destro their own country lik the Mr Chee Bxx. You won’t find any opposition leaders from Europe or N America doing this kind of running dog business.
This is sportsmanship. There is no need to convince the people. They are matured and smart. In a democracy the people decide.
Oposition fearing losing their deposits also give walkovers by staying away from wards which they think they have no chance of winning at all.
Utopia
” You won’t find any opposition leaders from Europe or N America doing this kind of running dog business.”
Of course you won’t find opp leader doing that since the people and their law and culture already enable USA to have democracy and rule of Law. Why seek other foreigner country’s help if they can do it themselves ? If Singaporeans capable of doing it themselves, why the silence and anonymous when our clowns screw up big times ? You means that Singaporeans approve the honest mistakes of Pappy by their silence and apathy ?
Beside, some commenters just love talking and answering themselves using multiple nicks. Go GeyLang if you are lonely and pervert, not TOC.
Sumseng
How come no comments from the WP’s Low & Sylvia Lim; SPP’s Chiam; Viswa etc?
Ohnani
Utopia,
This is what i like about you
“Beside, some commenters just love talking and answering themselves using multiple nicks.”
How clairvoyant you are.
collada spukum
There is evidence to suggest that political system is not mutually inclusive of the economy.
HK, TW, SKorea are all one of the Asian Dragons. Their political systems are closer to western democracy than authoritarian democracy.
These countries are way way much much larger than singapore and thus that much more difficult to control and manage . Yet, they did it and achieveing great economic success.
Japan and China are super powers and yet they do not have authoritarian democracy since china is a communist country, correct me if wrong, while Japan can boast a vibrant democracy.
Can some one rebut me if democracy is mutually inclusive or exclusive of political system?
What if a country changes its political system towards western Democracy that even Reagan and Obama and Clinton can be proud of?
In my view, life goes on and could even be better. But one thingie is for sure. Economy should continue to run if not improve.
anyone who objects my views, simply rebut. Else i take it as silence means acceptance which many singaporeans practice quite a lot.
Tom Ho
Utopia on November 14th, 2009 12.47 pm -
“enable USA to have democracy and rule of Law”
Sure or not? Where is your economic & political depth. Don’t gleam the surface.
Question time – Who was the blowjob man given a second term of office?
Q2. Who puts people without a trial in Guantanamo?
Q3. Who behaves like a bully and invade without UN sanction from Iraq to Afganistan?:
Q4.
Q5.
I’ve more but I don’t think you have university brains to answer. So I’ll just shut up for now.
Please no rubbish. We’re intelligent readers.
Jeremia Au Yeng
CNA broadcast part 2 of the film “Truth about democracy” today.
The message I got from this film, imho, is that democracy is not all good.
I wonder why they showed it?
I am not saying there is propaganda . I am saying a question.
To clarify , there is surely no propagani.
But i assume u believe me.
Jeremia Au Yeng
since i do not think there’s anything wrong with the film, i searched and found this url showing the films:
http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=8001207403001272754#
Anonymous
History will be kind to us, for we intend to write it , so says mafia. It is and will always be “godly” laws that rule mafia kingdom on earth. Who believes them?
Amused
I find it amusing that the Singapore government actually took the effort to respond to the so called white paper. The white paper hardly registers on search engines to begin with. By taking such accusations so seriously, the government has unwittingly lent credence to the accuser. Perhaps this is done for domestic consumption. But sadly it will not work on the world stage and they knew it.
Mic O Mic
Singapore has a written Constitution that is Supreme and which guarantees fundamental liberties such as the right to life or personal liberty, right to equal protection, freedom of speech, assembly and association, and freedom of religion.
Explain that to Dr Lim Hock Siew and all the other political detainees.
Such rights are not absolute. They need to be balanced against the interests of society as a whole.
Oh I see ! so I guess it is in the interest of Singapore that we do not have a minimum wage system, while our public housing prices is pegged to the market. It is also in our interest to flood this place with foreign labour to keep our wages low…to keep the best cut of our flesh for foreign fat cats in Sentosa island while banishing all the rest to wonderful Sengkang.
Just as much as the freedom of speech and freedom of assembly need to be protected….when was the people’s freedom of speech and assembly protected ?I do see a lot of freedom of speech and assembly by the PAP and nothing else.
Animal farm – all animals are equal but some are more equal than others.
This may be a fact of life but we should always aim to make it better.
currypuff
Come-on Ohnani, just because Utopia couldn’t see your sarcasm doesn’t mean you should mock him. A gentle word to help him see the light would have been so much more amicable, and avoided this heated exchange, no? In the end, instead of rebutting the misguided points put up by Marcus Teo, the focus got shifted to a meaningless one-on-one between the two of you. Who I believe basically stand on the same side.
Anyway, from the -ve votes you’ve got, he/she is not the only one who misintepreted what you were trying to say.
Utopia, for your part, I suggest you do what some moderators of this site recommend. Before responding to a post, read it again, carefully. Some people like Ohnani like to use indirect free-kicks to score goals, instead of penalties.
In my case, after typing what I want to say, I usually take a break to do something else. Then I come back to read what I have typed, correct spellings and grammar, add points, subtract points, and generally refine my post before clicking “Submit”.
Troublesome but it will make your message so much clearer to other readers, and maybe even to yourself, compared to the one you initially typed in the heat of the moment. Give it a try.
P.S. Ohnani, would you consider changing your nick? It sounds so… obscene in a serious discussion board like this one. ;p
MatthewTan
Singapore – Constitution
Part IV Fundamental Liberties
Article 9 Liberty of the Person
(1) No person shall be deprived of his life or personal liberty save in accordance with law.
(2) Where a complaint is made to the High Court or any Judge thereof that a person is being unlawfully detained, the Court shall inquire into the complaint and, unless satisfied that the detention is lawful, shall order him to be produced before the Court and release him.
(3) Where a person is arrested, he shall be informed as soon as may be of the grounds of his arrest and shall be a!lowed to consult and be defended by a legal practitioner of his choice.
(4) Where a person is arrested and not released, he shall, without unreasonable delay, and in any case within 48 hours (excluding the time of any necessary journey), be produced before a magistrate and shall not be further detained in custody without the magistrate’s authority.
(5) Clauses (3) and (4) shall not apply to an enemy alien or to any person arrested for contempt of Parliament pursuant to a warrant issued under the hand of the Speaker.
(6) Nothing in this article shall invalidate any law
(a) in force before 16 Sep 1963 which authorizes the arrest and detention of any person in the interests of public safety, peace and good order; or
(b) relating to the misuse of drugs or intoxicating substances which authorizes the arrest and detention of any person for the purpose of treatment and rehabilitation, by reason of such law being inconsistent with clauses (3) and (4), and, in particular, nothing in this article shall affect the validity or operation of any such law before 10 March 1978.
MatthewTan
Singapore – Constitution
Part IV Fundamental Liberties
Article 9 Liberty of the Person
(1) …personal liberty save in accordance with law.
6) Nothing in this article shall invalidate any law
(a) in force before 16 Sep 1963 which authorizes the arrest and detention of any person in the interests of public safety, peace and good order; or
Realist
From the full reply
“The Paper mentions Chia Thye Poh, who was key member of the Communist Party Malaya (CPM) who advocated armed insurgency and violence”
Wow, from a sympatiser or left leaning, Mr Chia is now labelled as a key member fo the CPM. That he was a communist was never proven. Unfortunately dead man cannot challenge history re-written by the oppressors.
Soon we will discover a national hero, who worked for the Japanese while secretly organising anti-japanese activities. Just like Napoleans was the hero who fough Jones and Snowball was a traitor
Murky
Let the Press be truly privatized and the views uncensored. that will be the true measure of truth. Those who spread rumours can still be sued or challenged. But controlling the press is not gentleman in terms of freedom.
Sad
The fact that we r all here means that the papers are not free and won’t express our viewthoughts.
Amazing right, till now, no reporter comments about our super high HDB prices. Can you call it a free press? I wont be surprised if HDB hits 1mil and everyone is saying, only uniquely Singapore and the press praised the gov for such an excellent policy.

As though everyone in sg gets a chance to vote. So many PAP get elected without any one voting for them lol And Chee lost because of the boundary redrawing too and other dirty tricks.