It has been said that most Singaporeans do not know who their Members of Parliament (MP) are – unless and until they run into problems and see their MPs at the Meet-The-People sessions.

With the next General Election not that far away, how well do you know your MPs? For a start, do you know what they look like? Do you know their names and the wards they’re in charge of? For the ministers, do you know which ministries they head?

If you recognize your MPs, what immediately comes to your mind when you see their pictures or hear their names? Which issue/s do you associate with them?

Take this little quiz on each constituency and its MPs. See if you know the names and responsibilities (government departments and ministries they head) of those in the picture.

And please, do not Google them or ask your friends or family members for the answers.

Post your answers in the comment section.

At the end of the entire series of quizzes, tally your answers and see how many, out of the 84 MPs, you recognize and know.

Thanks!

We begin with these MPs. Which GRC or SMC do the 7 MPs in the billboard belong to, what are their names and what do you best associate each of them with?

Click on picture to enlarge.

67 Responses to “Pre-election test – Name the MPs (Quiz 1)”

1. Tan Cheng Hua 25 November 2009

No one talks about Ang Mo Kio hub? Quite happening leh. Can win PM votes or not?

2. The elections have no credibility…the GRC thing is unfair, and we dont even know most of the PAP MPs. It is like, putting your friend with no popularity as a team and let him become MP…

Restore the Single Ward style, make elections fair and ask a international common wealth country to be a judge….(dreaming)

3. to me, all of them kana sai…….

4. Oh, my dear who motivate the motivator, this is a game called “elimination”, since the miw have tch as the dpm now and, he is younger than lhl, so, sinaporeans have an experience minister of pm capablity in office, that’s to say, the pertaining coming general election, we can eliminate amk grc to the oppositions, because tch can lead the miw team without any hestiations! now you understand, my dear “unpretentous-man/woman”!

5. i know there is pm,
    table tennis lady,
    yeo chu kang mp,

6. STPBored 25 November 2009

The 7 people in the photos are
    Larry,curly,moe…larry,curly moe and Larry.

The 7 stooges.

7. Political SalesMaN 25 November 2009

After 56 of comment, no body said about to unseat these PaP ellistes. Make it one go! Cantonese said “Woh Siang Kew Kia” one go! Finish them off ibn solid!

8. Lam Pin Min (if spelt correctly) -
    Radin Mas CCMC’s Member before the GE, supposed to be MP for Radin Mas (rumours).
    Well, u know, things changed very fast.

9. My comment was deleted .
    I said due to so many more new citizens, the small rise in number of native citizens supporting the opposition would be insufficient to result in the opposition winning more seats.

I wonder why The Online Citizen silenced my voice?

I thought you said you taking a break?

10. MPs for ANG MO KIO GRC – From left: Lee Bee Wah, Seng Han Tong, Balaji Sadasivan, Lee Hsien Loong, Wee Siew Kim, Inderjit Singh and Lam Pin Min.

They are the fuggers who are my MPs. :P

11. Ong Seng Kan 25 November 2009

I would be really surprised if they do not change the team.

12. All I know is that there is LKY, his idiot son and 80 stooges of MPs in parliament and two brave opposition MPs fighting for the people who do not deserve them.

13. Karma went on Exile 25 November 2009

#62 btan,
    Its strange to me also that the opposition have been putting effort demanding for answers that are of public interest for all citizens and yet it is precisely the majority who consciously deny them wins for the last 50 years in a row.

This says a lot about these singaporeans.

I declare that i am not proud of them.

I was born here not because of a choice I made.

I cannot understand why majority singaporeans prefer not to have opposition strong enough to get us the answers of public interest.

There is simply no logic .

To those who, having read my comments, dislike/disagree with me for what i said,i tell you, don’t worry, i am trying hard to get out of your way. I am trying very hard to unplug from this system. Tahan a bit more of me.

peace

14. @63) Karma went on Exile on November 25th, 2009 10.13 pm

My answers were already posted in reply to Bryan Caplan’s article on why so few opposition were voted in.

http://theonlinecitizen.com/2009/11/two-paradoxes-of-singaporean-political-economy/#comments

The people who do not deserve opposition are those who keep criticising them for not doing more, saying they have no alternative ideas, etc…and at the same time complain about the PAP system.

There is a group of people who has been loyal supporters of opposition but unfortunately tyrannically suppressed by the ignorant and undeserving majority. Good examples are the majority opposition voters in Potong Pasir and Hougang. These people embody the true spirit of Singapore : brave, incorruptible and resilient.

15. you think i got nothing better to do than know them… get out of my elite uncaring face … i can only remember the old man & lady that have to go pick cardboard for a living cos somebody out there refuses to take care of them … after they have no economical value ..no social benefits … i don’t want to be like them … helpless … I will work hard … to leave this sick place.

16. iain’tnobloomintourist 27 November 2009

[i]Oh Holy on November 24th, 2009 5.45 pm i dont think it wise for opposition to go for AMK. How do we know he won’t cheat? [/i]

that you need not worry
    our prince the prime minister is an ^HONEST^ man which is why he needs to be paid world highest..well beside himself..his father and his cousin in law as well
    in his amk wards there are many many gangster wild dogs which come under the nice name of RC…technicalLEE they can cheat by changin the ballot boxes
    other countries have done it..hollywoods have screened it…bollywoods even have coconuts leaves inside the ballot boxes as well…
    you see..if amk loss..imagined all the RCs would be ^FIRED^ umemployed as well..where else are they gonna have free textbooks/parkin coupons?