Quotes - Written on Saturday, November 21, 2009 9:21 - 18 Comments

Refused the right to take empty seat – because he’s a male

On Wednesday, I boarded one of the new SMRT buses. When a passenger vacated a seat and I was about to occupy it, the woman next to it objected, saying she could not “allow” me to sit next to her as I am a male and my body would “touch” her.

Kartik Jayaraman, Today

1. S’pore govt refused to sanction NGO rep’s presence at AICHR launch
  2. Why so many empty seats at Budget Debate?
  3. Bus rides are unpleasant nowadays
  4. Driver skips stop but is unapologetic
  5. We deliver “exceptional value to the public” – SMRT

18 Comments

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

John Michael Connor
Nov 21, 2009 10:06

The question i would ask is the passenger who sat next to the woman,was it male or female?If the roles were reversed,if a male was seated,a female passenger wanted to sit beside him,if he had refused just because he’s a guy,he would not like to be “touched” by a female,how would she react or throw tantrums?

As a fare-paying passenger,you have every right to sit wherever you want to,if that’s how the woman reacts,just ignore her,test it by seating next to her,no need to argue,or find another seat where you feel comfortable,i know how you feel,any other guy in your situation will feel the same way too!

PS : This is Singapore we are talking about,unless if the govt decides to implement all male & all female ONLY bus & MRT transportation,that would be seen as sexist & ridiculous,this is the 21st century,live & let live!

Idiosinguppo
Nov 21, 2009 10:25

I am sure the seats are not wid enough. Cannot really blame ladies, who are by biology more sensitive than men. Maybe the man is too big size ?

I am not sure has any Reader at in a MRT type of train overseas in an angmoh lan to be able to tell if SMRT seats are smaller for Asian sizes. Singapore also have many ang mohs. The seats should be angmoh size given youths are all bigger than ever even if asian.

babu
Nov 21, 2009 10:27

Why did a man spent so much effort to write something as TRIVIAL as not getting a seat ?

In the 1st place the MSM published it?

babu
Nov 21, 2009 10:27

I meant why in the 1st place the MSM published a trivial little tiny matter that we should not sweat about it?

A&E
Nov 21, 2009 10:58

Aiyah, the lady prolly not educated enough in sex education lah. Everyone knows you cannot get pregnant from skin-to-skin contact.

You oni get pregnant if you kiss with tongue.

Just a misunderstanding lah.

CelluloidReality
Nov 21, 2009 11:08

It’s good to know that ignorance is alive and well. Poor lady, she needs to get out more.

Triple Threat
Nov 21, 2009 11:23

It’s not a tiny matter. Take a closer look – it actually reflects the kind of shallow and suspicious mindset that is with our youths nowadays. And it’s a sad thing.

KacangPutih
Nov 21, 2009 11:47

Yeah, ask that lady to say that to a doctor from woodbridge hospital and she’ll be granted direct admission beating all the long ques from at polyclinics.

XIIIblackcat
Nov 21, 2009 12:07

HAHA!

First time hearing this occurring in Singapore! Hilarious! As a guy, my manifesto is – the lady is always right, and don’t argue with them.

If she says ‘no’ than be it. Just continue standing. Arguing with women can be a real pain, and more often that not preventing the argument is always better.

tukoahpek
Nov 21, 2009 13:55

i would had asked her in a LOUD tone..
do you owned this bus? what make you assumed i am goin to touch your BUST? as though you have any? last but not least..try gettin a boyfriend who owned a proton saga…now FART off…

tukoahpek
Nov 21, 2009 14:05

part II
this was a realive story happenned to ME few months ago…
i was havin dinner with a china lady in choom choom hawker centre..we looked aroun for empty seats couldn’t find any..we sat right by the wall machiam machiam a tuck shop style..the lady hawker who was restin told us there is an empty 4×1 table just 2 table away…we sat down come 1 chiobu who i assumed was the drink vendor…she told me this table was taken?
i told her..even a blindman can feel if a table is empty its empty…
she replied i chooped it with my tissue.. i replied what tissues are you mubblin?
she shouted that i BULLIED her..she will tell her hubby to deal with me..
20 seconds later the hubby appear..i told him YOUR wife want you to deal with me..so what are YOU goin to do about it? the poor hubby just mentioned i ordered my own food ley..i replied one more time..so you are not goin to protect your WIFE honour?
the wife lanlan start sworin..i told her you are just a FUCKIn bitch..this ain’t no golden wall hawker centre..tissue choopin ain’t permitted HERE..you want to try to slap me instead? she sTART SWORIN AGAIN..HER HUBBY stopped HER for he know i am a RETIREDGANGSTER …..
i shook his hand and says.. tonight i don’t think you are goin to get a nokie nokie..thats for sured..have a nice dinner whatever left..bon apetite…
my china lady companion was terrified..she mubbled singapoor got liddat mey?

tiredsingaporean
Nov 21, 2009 15:11

maybe the lady was told since young by her mother that she would be pregnant if any man touches her, wow! she probably still living in the stone age era.

blackfeline
Nov 21, 2009 17:29

in UAE…i had taken the local buses before…several front seats are designated for women…generally almost all guys knw they are not supposed to sit there even if they are not taken..could the alleged person in this incident be someone from that part of the world or simply trying to enforce her rights here? In any case…quite disturbing…

Enigmatic
Nov 21, 2009 17:34

Haha ! ! maybe she was siao then and still trying to tell you that she s not only feminine but also feminist lol…..

Jobless
Nov 21, 2009 22:08

She is not crazy. This is the result of flooding our tiny island with cheap foreign labour. Many of these women come from countries with conservative cultures. Where men and women are separated. It happens even in some regions of India.

This is now becoming very common. As each foreigner brings his or her own quirky lifestyle here, things will become worse.

leesjuanpat
Nov 22, 2009 9:47

To this kind of anti-social woman, just request the bus captain to stop the bus
and kindly ask her to alight and take a taxi. What a snob !!

macam macam
Nov 22, 2009 13:26

this female passenger must be damn ugly

lizzy
Nov 24, 2009 10:48

my guess is that the lady has some prejudice against indian guys… felt insecure and unsafe, so she said that.

not that it justifies her reasoning or action.

Leave a Reply

Comment

theonlinecitizen on Facebook

Uncategorized - Jan 15, 2010 10:12 - 126 Comments

It is affordable – Mah Bow Tan

More In Uncategorized