Andrew Loh, Top Story - Written on Monday, November 23, 2009 1:05 - 71 Comments

Singapore Police Force – stretched and fatigued

Andrew Loh

Government admits Home Team is stretched but what has been done so far?

The Singapore Police Force (SPF) has its work cut out for it, looking at the way things are going. While Singapore’s crime rate remains low, at 684 cases per 100,000 population in 2008, there are reasons to be concerned.

“[The] fundamental question which MHA is exploring is whether we can continue to operate with the current level of resources,” Law Minister and Second Minister for Home Affairs, Mr K Shanmugam, told Parliament in 2008. “Our Home Team officers at the front line are stretched and strained over a high alert that started since end 2001.  The total number of overtime hours ICA ground officers at the checkpoints have to put in every month to cope with the volume of work varies between 23,000 and 28,000 overtime hours.”

The MHA then commissioned a “Human Factors” study on operational fatigue on the officers of the Home Team.

Workers’ Party chairman, Ms Sylvia Lim, again highlighted the issue in May this year in Parliament. Without counting the added demands of having the casinos, she said, “this study confirmed work overload and understaffing in several areas, even before the casinos are functional.”

According to Mr Shanmugam, “the volume and scope of work have greatly expanded, with increased population, tourist arrivals and more international events which require higher security coverage.” (Parliament, 2008.)

In a speech to the New York State Bar Association Rule of Law Plenary Session in October 2009, he said Singapore had 247 police officers per 100,000 people. In New York it was 420 per 100,000. But Singapore had a lower crime rate than New York – 684 per 100,000 population to New York’s 2,400. “Low crime rate is achieved with a leaner police force,” Mr Shanmugam said.

While the minister may be correct in saying that we have a leaner police force, he should be concerned about the toll this may take on the individual police officer as the workload increases. Indeed, in his 2008 parliamentary speech, Mr Shanmugam recognized this. “In general, the growths in population and traffic at the checkpoints have outstripped manpower growth in the Home Team.” he said. “Apart from the sheer volume increase, the Home Team has also had to deal with new areas, such as in casino regulation and counter terrorism. Terminal 3 and the Budget Terminal have added to the demands. Security coverage for major events, such as the IMF/ World Bank Annual Meeting in 2006 and the ASEAN Summit in 2007 has also been very taxing.”

With the opening of the two Integrated Resorts (IRs) and the new International Cruise Terminal at Marina South, the Singapore Tourism Board has forecast 17 million visitors to the island by 2015, a substantial increase from the projected 9 to 9.5 million in 2009. Singapore hosts the Youth Olympics Games next year and the yearly Formula One Race. Add to the list the annual National Day Parade, the year-end holiday seasons, large scale events like the recent Apec meeting, along with the presence of almost two million foreigners currently working in Singapore, the SPF faces significant manpower challenges going forward.

The police also have to deal with social problems such as the significant rise in the number of loansharks cases this year (13,771 from Jan to Sept 2009, more than the previous three years), Internet crimes, transnational criminal syndicates, one of the highest prison population in the world (Singapore ranked 73 out of 218 countries – 12, 349 as at mid-2008) – and the ever-present threat of terrorist activities.

The upcoming opening of the casinos at the two IRs alone “will demand tremendous resources towards meeting criminal activity of an unprecedented nature in Singapore,” Ms Lim said. “It is foreseeable that police would need to have heavy presence both inside and outside the casinos, both in uniform and plainclothes, to battle the problems caused by foreign gangs, prostitution, illegal money-lending, money-laundering, casino fraud, robberies and thefts, among others.”

To this end, the Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) has set up the Casino Investigation Branch and is beefing up the Marina Neighbourhood Police Centre to specifically deal with criminal activities in the Marina area.  All these require manpower and not just leveraging on the latest technological advancements to develop operational capabilities. Thus one of the main challenges faced by the SPF is that of recruitment. Ironically, the better the economy, the more police officers resign from the Home Team.

“Another pressure on manpower in the Home Team,” the Law Minister said, “is that in recent years, there have been more resignations, due to the economic boom.” He ascribed this to better pay packages in the private sector. In November 2008, the SPF went on a recruitment drive to attract 1,000 officers for its five departments – Immigration & Checkpoints Authority (ICA), the Singapore Police Force (SPF), the Singapore Civil Defence Force (SCDF), the Singapore Prisons Service (SPS) and the Central Narcotics Bureau (CNB). But with the recession “effectively” ending, according to a recent statement by the Ministry of Trade and Industry, will the SPF face a similar situation of attrition in the new year as the economy picks up?

Also of concern is the potential corruption among police officers. Mr Shanmugam, according to a Channelnewsasia report, said he expected “an increase in corruption cases when [the] two casinos open here in 2010”. However, he is confident that the authorities will be able to deal with these. “[As] a system, as a police force, they’re very highly regarded and I believe systems are in place to ensure they’ll continue to be so,” he said.

Still, it is left to be seen how all these challenges will affect the morale of the individuals who keep our streets safe. At the moment, the minister should look into the fatigue factor of individual officers and address this.

The Ministry of Home Affairs was given a budget of S$3 billion for 2009. With the numerous challenges it will face in the new year and beyond, perhaps it is prudent to see if this is sufficient. Having a lean police force and a low crime rate may be something to crow about to others but we should not be complacent or arrogant when it comes to the safety and security of our citizens and our nation.

“We can expect a greater degree of complexity and uncertainty in maintaining social cohesion and preserving safety and security in Singapore in the years to come,” said Police Commissioner Koh Boon Hui in 2008. “We shall be a police force that will be nothing less than A Force for the Nation, One that Inspires the World.” (SPF website)

A police force that is stretched and fatigued is no inspiration to anyone – much less a force for the nation.

Perhaps Mr Shanmugam should update Singaporeans on what has been done to improve officers’ well-being on the job since his speech in Parliament in 2008 – besides having commissioned a study to look into it.

—–

Picture from Nation Master.

——

1. Sharp rise in illegal loans: Singapore police
  2. The man who stretched the political machinery
  3. In S’pore, a husband can force his wife to have sex…
  4. Why proper oversight of police powers is important
  5. Police seemed ignorant about law governing indoor forums

71 Comments

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

reiredgansterstill@LARGE
Nov 23, 2009 2:21

meanin what? trimmed it down to save cost? how about stopped all this polis matas to protect the mps/ministers..
let them hire the aetos/cisco malaysian foreign talents rentapolis matas instead?
and yes please billed it to THEM personally not under ah kong accounts…
this will leaved the real matas polis to do real men jobs..
you know those kind you see in hollywoods movies..howlin sirens/shootout with robbers or illegal immigrant and illeagled dvd sellers…
when was the LAST time have you all seen matas ridin bicycles patrollin your heartlands in kelvaar suites and counterstriked helmets? even the civil defence firefighters looked fierce and awesome…

Ian Choo
Nov 23, 2009 2:47

Why don’t they just transfer for NSF resources to the police force?
I’m sure new generations of NSFs would rather serve in the Home Team than in the SAF.

MataMan
Nov 23, 2009 2:49

I think making the FTs especially those that benefitted greatly and graduated from our local public unis should be conscripted for 1 year with the home team agencies. That would sensitize them and at least make them more humble to the native Singaporeans who live right next to them. 1 year with the home team is no big deal compared to 2 yrs in army for our guys. I’m not asking for much. we all know how how shack and terok working with SAF is.

Wong Can Work
Nov 23, 2009 4:34

What to expect from a Multi-Millionaire Minister who can only sing but can’t even keep Singapore’s Most-Wanted Terrorist safe in Whitley Road Detention Centre while under the custody of the ISD? Collecting so obscene monthly pay from the poor taxpayers’ money, yet refused to take full responsibility for Mas Selamat’s escape.

For the sake of our country, without getting paid a single cent, I shall provide the Ministry of Home Affairs with some practical solutions:

1. Implement NS for women to serve in the Police Force for the purpose of:

a. Providing security at important installations, such as air ports and sea ports.
b. Serving as administrative staff for police paper works,
c. Providing surveillance at the Integrated Resorts and likely trouble areas.
d. Assisting the police patrols as a back-up force.

2. Make all foreigners who take up any scholarship from Singapore government or private sector to serve for one year, after their graduation, for the purpose of:

a. Assisting the Neighbourhood Police in their office work.
b. Doing research and field investigations.
c. Performing surveillance in MRT stations, Bus Terminals, etc.
d. Backing up the female police who are doing surveillance at the IRs.
e. Going on patrols on bicycles in HDB estates.
f. Helping in computer works.

3. Take in retired SAF Officers and NCOs to reinforce the existing Police Force. After a period of orientation traning, they should be able to perform the following tasks:

a. Serving as body guards to VIPs.
b. Serving as security personnel at important meetings and conferences.
c. Assisting in the investigation of certain crimes.
d. Conducting surveillance at probable crime scenes.
e. Protecting key installations.

4. Outsource some of the less important jobs to private security companies.

5. Engage private security personnel to beef up or reinforce the Police whenever there is a big even such as the recent APEC and the previous IMF Meetings.

6. Stop wasting man-hours and efforts of the Police doing stupid things such as harassing speakers and protesters at the Speakers’ Corner, and also doing surveillance of Opposition Political Parties leaders and members.

7. Employ more Gurkha police or redesign and expand the existing Gurkha Contingent’s role, tasks and responsibilities.

New Era
Nov 23, 2009 4:55

If you consider working adults, then Singaporeans comprise only 1 in 4 residents here. Yet we have to shoulder all the responsibilites with the foreigners get to enjoy all the benefits.

“Jobs for foreigners, NSF for Singaporeans.”

That about sums up the tragic situation of being Singaporean.

Take the present charity drive of “Weareone” target at Singaporeans. Many Singaporeans are unemployed and those that are working are earning meagre salaries (excluding elite civil servants). All foreigners are gainfully employed or they would not be here. Yet poor Singaporeans are constantly exhorted to donate while wealthy PRs send their loot back to their home country to build mansions. Where is the justice?

Are there still so many Singaporeans so blind that they cannot see what is going on here? This is the biggest hoax in the 21st century. WAKE UP my fellow Singaporeans and vote for Change.

inhumanelaw
Nov 23, 2009 5:52

The solution couldn’t be any simpler,

Cut down the strength of SAF by transferring more of our boys to SPF for NS, where they can be put into better use.

Cut down the amount paid to ministers and transfer them to the police income so as to provide more incentive to work.

Cut down the extreme high number of influx of foreigners so that the number of police per 100,000 population increases.

Jonah
Nov 23, 2009 7:22

@inhumanelaw

I agree with yours solution to allocate more nsf to the police force. That will serve a better purpose than than to add another ns unit to the already-enough pool.

Jonah
Nov 23, 2009 7:26

@inhumanelaw

I agree with yours solution to allocate more nsf to the police force. We already have so many NS units that the loss of some would not cause significant damage to our war readiness.NSF policemen address a more relevant problem and additions of them and solve the under-stuffed issue.

A Tan
Nov 23, 2009 8:21

Recruit more Gurkhas!

They are FTs we can depend on.

BTW don’t need to worry abt them being used in a “freak election” to overthrow elected govmin. Their commander is a serving officer in the British army. The Gurkhas don’t take orders from locals.

I don’t see any UK government allowing their officer to order his troops to arrest, shoot Singaporeans who constitutionally kick out PAP.

CJ
Nov 23, 2009 8:49

You mean ONLY the Police Force? Their solution : FT
What about shortage of Doctors? Their solution : FT
Shortage of Teachers? Their solution : FT
Shortage of Bus Drivers? Their solution : FT
Shortage of Soldiers? Their solution : FT
etc etc.. the list can be endless.

But WHY?? ………. Low Salaries.
Why can’t locals take Low Salaries?? …. High Living Costs – and still escalating…

Whose fault??? …. who else???

Seow
Nov 23, 2009 9:29

I hope this does not lead to increasing taxes. I am sure part of the Defence budget can be transfered to MHA. Some readers proposed the excellent idea of using more NSF.

Prophet Kongming
Nov 23, 2009 10:02

Cut defence spending and pay of SAF regulars and transfer the funds to the Home Team to recruit more manpower. Terrorist threat is more real and immediate compared to external military threat.

Boo
Nov 23, 2009 10:13

S’pore crime rate is not as low as the official statistics indicate. Many acts which would have been classifed as CRIMEs in other developed countries are not classified as such in S’pore. For example, I can beat you up and I would not have committed a crime (what SPF calls “non-seizable offense”)……..unless of course if you are a member of the PAP.

My friend was rob several years ago near Jurong East MRT station and she went to report the crime to the neighbourhood police post. To her shock, the duty officer told her that it is pointless to report it as they will not be able to catch the robber!!! So this officially went unreported.

Don’t be fooled by statistics.

Brendan
Nov 23, 2009 10:20

Prophet Kongming on November 23rd, 2009 10.02 am

“Cut defence spending and pay of SAF regulars…..”

Why REGULARS?? Are you discriminating against our NSF and NS Men as “incapable”??

leesjuanpat
Nov 23, 2009 10:22

The law of nature needs a balance. Singapore has come of age with all the high profile happenings and conventions which Andrew mentioned. Youth Olympics is around the corner.

Shanmugan was a lawyer. What does he know about security and wide scale protection of S’pore? Ministers are paid to talk their way through after gathering some idea of a relevant topic.

And the most silly talk was from our smart Mah Boro who is a laughing stock in the HDB announcement.

Yes! Spore is considered safe and crime rates are low. But we cannot compromise this to tax on the workoad of our Home Team. Many may be stressed out and can be a negative recupercussion to their well- being.

Compare to the highly paid ministers, our Home Team’s rank and file are paid pittance, hence when economy picks up many will look for greener pasture and less
stressful job. Ordinary citizens are hard-pressed to counter the rising cost of living without much help fom the gahmen but more tax.

And from next January, Property tax is going up. It will be another blow to the struggling citizens. What is a one-off rebate compared to a life long perennial increase across the board. Does the gahmen has a heart?

So, the Home Team can wait for the study which was commissioned to come to a solution for their well-being (of the whole force,) to see happier workload and favorable conditions of work.

We wish the Home Team well. The protector of our S’pore.

New Era
Nov 23, 2009 10:30

6) inhumanelaw on November 23rd, 2009 5.52 am

I would even go so far as to suggest that we have a professional army and transfer all conscripts to the police.

Those who know something of warfare question how our army can fight when we have so many foreigners in our midist. What would the 70,000 filipino men in Singapore do if we were, for argument sake, happen to be in conflict with the Philippines. Our men would not be here to defend the helpless women and children. The same is true if we had a conflict with Vietnam, Burma or China.

I agree with them that it is ridiculous to spend billions of dollars on defence when the enemies are living amongst us.

Better to strengthen our police force as crime is expected to increase exponentially when the casinos open.

Online Shmonline
Nov 23, 2009 11:19

Who’s actually in charge of the Gurkhas?

Peter Tan
Nov 23, 2009 12:54

“But Singapore had a lower crime rate than New York – 684 per 100,000 population to New York’s 2,400″

Don’t trust this numbers, my friends and relatives were discouraged from making police report. My relative was punched by a stranger in a public football field and the police ask him to file a magistrate complaint etc. How can lay people have the resources to do all these?

The police don’t take up your case easily, that is why the numbers look good.

This is the biggest problem in Singapore now. PM Lee is trained in mathematics and he only cares about the by numbers/ statistics. We have now a group of ministers that are totally detached from ground issues

popcorn
Nov 23, 2009 12:56

When you go to Hongkong you could get help from policemen on patrol.
Here in Singapore, the uniformed men are in airconditioned offices and in aircon
police cars cruising round, not offering much help when needed.
They have become faceless in the quest for saving costs, except in banks where they are bored stiff.

David
Nov 23, 2009 13:09

Singapore police force should spend more times upholding the safety of Singaporeans rather than underutilizing the resources to protect the MPs. Silvia Lim has already pointed out long ago that our resources are too stretched due to influx of foreigners only to be turned on a deaf ears by PAP. Now they realised the side effect of their arrogant policies. This is called leader with no foresight. Vote them out in the coming election,

You sure or NOT
Nov 23, 2009 13:16

I walked into Paya Lebar Police station, only 2 police on duty but the building is so huge, it could contain at least 100 policemen easily. There is no security at the entrance, anyone can walk in.

All this outsourcing and manpower reduction on critical security scopes are worrying me. What happen if Mat Alamak overcomes this 2 poor souls (saw them taking their own sweet time, no sense of sensitivity of surroundings) in this BIG STATION, it would be the biggest joke of the century.

tiredsingaporean
Nov 23, 2009 13:21

20) David on November 23rd, 2009 1.09 pm
Singapore police force should spend more times upholding the safety of Singaporeans rather than underutilizing the resources to protect the MPs

Nah! not correct, they are supposed to spend more times protecting the ruling party from tobbling down soon.

Toolang
Nov 23, 2009 14:41

21) You sure or NOT on November 23rd, 2009 1.16 pm

Where is Paya Lebar Police Station? I want to take photographs of the huge building built for 2 policemen only.

les
Nov 23, 2009 15:10

i live in Joo Chiat, near to where our esteemed multi millionaire president resides.

he just built a nice tatched roof pagoda next to an empty plot of land in his landed property in ceylon road.

outside, you have a gurkha guard post.

when, mr president wants to go out, you will see about a dozen traffic police officers waiting dilligently outside his house. when president is on the road, the traffic police officers will be deployed – one batch as advance party to close off the roads and make sure his mercedes benz gets a smooth ride and then followed by about six traffic police officers escorting him all over, creating a din, and causing traffic to come to a crawl.

in front of the istana, you see four policemen, two army boys in Number 1 at the guard post, plus several other policemen directing traffic, etc.

i think that some of these traffic policemen would be better off being deployed to more useful places like the highways to catch speeding trucks, and the some of the police officers at the istana deployed to more useful assignments like catching the prostitutes in joo chiat (a stone’s throw away from our esteemed president’s house!)

Teo CW
Nov 23, 2009 15:17

The police force here is paid uncompetitive salaries hence the pathetic recruitment efforts.

Therefore the Auxiliary Police Force is formed, to take over those “Shit Job” which “wastes manpower” such as foreign worker management, guarding building compounds of Statutory Boards.

Now the APF is privatized, besides the normal Stat Board duties, they are competing with the other security firms & they came out with stupid schemes like low basic pay & conditions like no less than 44 hours a week etc. & the work hours which the APF clock can come up to over 80 hours a week.

These rip off schemes turns of the locals.To make up for the manpower loss, now you have foreigners guarding the prisons & the subordinate court. You also see foreigners guarding the banks & escorting valuables such as ATM Cash boxes. & there are uncles in the 50s & 60s guarding the Istana, Parliament House & residences of the VIPs.

This is called Security indeed. I call Complacency.

You sure or NOT
Nov 23, 2009 15:17

23) Toolang on November 23rd, 2009 2.41 pm

It is along Paya Lebar Road and Ubi Ave 2, opposite A-Z Building, called the Geylang Neighbourhood Police Centre. Huge building but deserted, only 2 inside.

Alex the peasant boy
Nov 23, 2009 15:57

Many of us would think that the Police are really lazy & bo-chup bunch of people, well, I don’t think we are wrong. However, I feel that it’s not as simple as that & it applies to the SAF too. It’s not easy to get someone that is willing to serve the country & able to accept low pay at the same time. If I am in the Police & am performing well in my job, I would expect myself to rise through the ranks; hopefully to be some Inspector one day. Alas… due to my education, the highest I could get is a Sergeant & some scholar will just come in after graduating to be my boss!! He, without any experience & know-how, will just come in & sit the nice air-conditioned office while my partner & I would have to brave the rain & take care the dirty business on the street.

My scholar boss would make more than me & probably be some big-shot in no time, while I still need to attend to fights & home violence!! How would you feel & would you still have the passion for police work anymore? I think most humans will just pass time & collect his salary; why do extra when the credits will go to the scholar? It’s the same in the SAF; some scholar comes in & he’s a captain, within a few years, he will be a major & he could screw up trainings but cos he’s a White Horse, he will never be punished! So how could our NS boys be proud of the uniform they don when the bosses that know nuts are being paid better & yet, do lesser?

Sounds familiar? It’s like this in all Government agencies, nobody wanna shake the tree & nobody would wanna take responsibilities…….. I know I would rather sit there & wait for my bonus!

Mata mata
Nov 23, 2009 16:16

Whilst we are at it, kindly tell us how much man-power has been utilised to hunt
down the limping man, who eventually escaped to J.B.( not forgetting the commercial loss due to the inconvenience and the massive traffic jams at both sides of Tuas and Woodlands)
The futile operation went on for quite a long period of time. Little wonder the MIB
are all stretched, fatigued and exhausted! Occupational hazard?

By the power of Hum
Nov 23, 2009 16:28

Sylvia lim comes with a police officer experience.
I also remembered she ever asked in parliament if the SPF is stretched. That time i forgot if anyone replied directly with a yes or no.
So, with this admission, i think it proves her assessment of the spf is correct in that respect.

i wonder why was more police not recruited?
How long has this problem been?

I impression of spf is …. ooops, i shall not say.

Charles Chee Boi Bai
Nov 23, 2009 16:34

“While Singapore’s crime rate remains low, at 684 cases per 100,000 population in 2008, there are reasons to be concerned”

But does this crime rate include all reported cases?
Or only cases which closed?
Or only cases dealt with by the Magistrate court or higher?

I ask because I ever showed evidence the SPF about a vandalism case and they did not even look at the video. Instead they ask me to find out the IC number, occupation and name of the vandal suspect and then file a case with the Magistrate court.

I was flabbergasted and have not proceeded due to the burden on me , the victim.

So, I like to ask those who knows this system, is this case part of the statistics.

Prophet Kongming
Nov 23, 2009 16:40

#14 Brendan,

It is not that the NSF and NSmen are not as capable as the regulars. I’m suggesting that the defence spending and pay of the SAF regulars be cut so that the funds can be transferred to the Home Team to recruit more people. The SAF regulars are given a much higher pay than the police regulars. However, the SPF are performing real operations and contribute much more to the security and safety of Singaporeans compared to the SAF regulars, who most of the time, paper-talk only – “Zi Shang Tang Bin”.

Old, Jobless And Poor
Nov 23, 2009 17:55

This is the result of cut cost at all costs policy. Is this maximum productivity with minimum resources so that KPIs will be good and more bonuses for the top people.
Indeed, we hardly see any police patrol either along the expressways or in housing estates. This is not the case years ago where we have regular police patrol.
Well, low crime does not mean no crime and I hope things will be put right soon. The easy escape of Mas Selamat and the recent incident that required 23 days for the Police to notify the NOK of a deceased Indonesian man indicates how stretched the Home Team must be. Is this complacency or ineffeciency ?

angry_one
Nov 23, 2009 18:23

I remember when i was still in primary school, i met this policeman on patrol who stopped me and asked “Where are you going? Are you afraid of us? You don’t have to because you didn’t commit a crime.” They actually care for the neighbourhood.

I’ll be hard pressed to find such concern in the policemen today. This is probably due to severe disenchantment on their part. They don’t see the country as belonging to them; they know they can’t rise to the top if they work hard; and the justice system doesn’t deserve any respect.

cheaper, better & faster
Nov 23, 2009 19:39

Does the calling for Cheaper, better, faster apply here.

Stretched and fatigued ? I thought they implemented 1-man assembly and technological stuff like on-line application to make things easier ? Very funny leh, last time when such things were not there, not so much problem ? Or many problems that we did not come to know ?

Talking about stretched and fatigued, they may want to resign and join the private sector to sample the true meaning of the words.

“Apart from the sheer volume increase, the Home Team has also had to deal with new areas, such as in casino regulation and counter terrorism. Terminal 3 and the Budget Terminal have added to the demands. Security coverage for major events, such as the IMF/ World Bank Annual Meeting in 2006 and the ASEAN Summit in 2007 has also been very taxing.”

Why all the noise ? Is there is a net incremental value from such activities (on a regular basis and not one-off) vis-a-vis added personnel cost on any proposed expanded home team & the inherent tangible & intagible externalities ????

Krong Mungee
Nov 23, 2009 20:30

Oh yeah, #32 is right that the MSK escape was too easy. Even a limping man could escape that time.

I reminded me how Disappointed, Ashamed as a citizen I felt.

It was totally unnecessary that escaped to begin with.

singapore’s security reputation was definitely badly affected in the eyes of the international community as well as citizens , residents and expats if not the investors and businessmen.

wong, I wonder what has changed since then?

David
Nov 23, 2009 20:44

Ho Jinx has lost so much monies that we are so stretched for not having enough funds to recruit more policemen, Her husband aimless import of foreigners add more to the dilemma. Do we want this country (or city) ruined by husband & wife Leegime?

Illuminati
Nov 23, 2009 21:18

Having said that, I feel that we should be more appreciative of the people who are currently serving our society as part of the Police Force. Sometimes I feel that we take them for granted, and there are many times as a society we inculcate the culture of blame rather than conflict-resolution.

agongkia
Nov 23, 2009 21:34

Stretched and fatigued meh?We actually need not have so many MIB if we can have someone who is productive and capable of management n deployment.
There are too many unnecessary task and unit being created.Those in uniform at the MRT will only frighten the small kids.To deal with terrorist or criminals,choose those dedicated ,observant and responsible regular to be in plainclothes.No need to have so many MIB to tell the terrorist or picpockets that they are around.1 team of plainclothes can be as effective as at least 10 team of uniformed officers.The young plainclothe officers can look out for their target and at the same time can see Swee Char Bo and handsome man,do you think they will resign for the private sector to be a security officer with no power,even you pay them more?Most left not becos of salary but other factors.
If really need to have uniform officers at MRT,let the Division NPC officers do it whenever there is enough manpower.Many NPCOs are as efficient as those so claimed specially trained.
Should talk productivity.Not 3 or 4 patrol cars with 8 kungfu trained MIB armed with T baton,revolver ,bullet ,handcuff,taser,radioset etc to handle one small family dispute .

Anonymous
Nov 23, 2009 22:25

They spend so much on armed forces that they forgot about the police force. I do not know what real threat is there out there other than the PAP’s pro Zionist foreign policy.

SG Girl Next Door
Nov 23, 2009 23:51

Years ago I was very keen to join the police force. So I did some research like going to job fairs to talk to the staff at career booth. The female inpsectors encouraged me to join. I went to the neighbourhood police post to talk to the supervisor. He too encouraged me to join as there are a lack of females in the force. I talked to a couple of friends who were then in the force. They told me if I haven’t got a degree, its a lot of work, long hours and low pay. Promotion is also slow. Most regretted once signed on. Even when you got your degree while you were in the force, you won’t get promoted. It is better to apply as a graduate to get the rank. So one of them actually resigned to concentuate on his degree course.
Hence I didn’t join cos I had not got my degree then.

agongkia
Nov 24, 2009 6:47

40)SG Girl next Door
It is lucky not to have you as a P O becos you are easily influenced..Police Officers ,like any civil servants should not take promotion and salary too seriously.You should think of giving your best to serve the Nation.If you only think of salary,rank,less work or short hour,then you are not fit to be one.Your friend who told you that if you haven’t got a degree,its alot of work,long hours and low pay and promotion is slow etc etc should resign from the Force immediately because she is not fit to be one.
Remember:Civil Servant are servant of the people.Even the humble President of Korea Lee Myung Bak said that.Always serve with pride ,integrity and honesty.

XiiAoGeNgEnX
Nov 24, 2009 9:23

Just a short video clip about how Americans are struggling with their own immigration-integration problems.

Enjoy! :)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d9rh3gcgcxw

Bay Yam Seng
Nov 24, 2009 9:37

#42, thanks dude.
i cried watching it. it struck a cord in me. :(

patriot
Nov 24, 2009 10:05

To: Agongkia #41:

Factually and pragmatically speaking; this is SINgapore and there is no President Lee Myung Bak or the like of him in our leaders.

Our youths have been and are being brought up by pragmatic and materialistic leadership for almost half a century and imbued with all their ethos and cultures. Our SG Girl next door and her friends are only being realistic, real and sincere in her candid disclosure in pursuing her career. On a deeper reading she and her friends are also telling us to work smart and not work hard and be fools. Her friends have yet to tell her it is who you know that gets one the promotion and sayang from superiors and not the hardworks, especially when one is poor in curry flavouring his/her bosses.

Get real my friend, the ideal state of affairs You have in mind has long been overwhelmed by moneyism, cronyism, pragmatism and fame seeking.

patriot

niagara
Nov 24, 2009 12:52

many might not be aware of this, but truth is, in every NPC, with the exception of units like CID, secom and the likes, 50% of each NPC comprises of NSF personnel.

and yep, SG girl next door is actually right, you made the correct choice of not joining. many of us left after our 5 years contract. only those who’s been there knows what it is really like inside there.

niagara
Nov 24, 2009 12:56

and those who talked about budget and all that, are you actually aware that a bulk of the defense budget goes to SAF? a small percentage goes to the home team, and SPF is one of the many forces representing the HOME team.

RuiKen
Nov 24, 2009 14:48

ICA officers work overtime…very pitiful issit???

Lemee guess what they do. Bring in even more foreigners?!

At least they still have a job. Their “work” has helped put locals jobless. Thanks for letting the foreigners flood us. Thanks a lot.

Should I pity them? Should we?

I to JB, come back, buy 1 pack of cigarettes on myself, they want to fine me few hundred dollars. I say it is only 1 pack for myself. She (the indian ICA) says it is at her discretion to fine me or not. WOW.

With ICA to help us, who needs enemies.

Matilah_Singapura
Nov 24, 2009 14:59

It is not surprising to note that most opinion form the monds of over-paid civil serpants is laced with bullshit.

Firstly, police “resources” wouldn’t be so stretched if the coppers didn’t spend their time and budget going after “political dissidents”, and in the process become a tool to oppress peaceful people just trying to VOICE THEIR OPINION and EXPRESS THEMSELVES –* peacefully *.

I am no fan of left-wing politics — a label I place on the SDP, for example — but using the cops and the courts to go after the SDP, it’s members and “fellow travelers” (of which I’m not one) wastes money. It also disgraces the police and courts by reducing them to mere TOOLS of the political class — which in the long run (hopefully you’ve noticed) is exceedingly BAD for the freedom and liberty of the people.

About crime:

There are too many “crimes” on the books. Sure, murder, rape, robbery and fraud should be outlawed under any decent penal code, but this medieval penal code is more suited to a neurotic emperor of the 10th century than it is to a so-called “modern” 1st world nation.

Loan sharking should not be a crime. Neither should gay butt, oral, clit-to-clit sex (as a male — great to watch and fantasize over). Other “crimes” which should go are “illegal” gambling. Why should it be illegal to gamble? Don’t get me started on drugs… S’pore is legally MURDERING too many people for drug “offenses”. These are all VICTIMLESS crimes — in a sense that the so-called “victims” are voluntary participants in the various enterprises as opposed to the * involuntary participation * in real crimes which have real victims: murder, rape, extortion, kidnapping, theft fraud.

And now folks the “knee jerk” reaction to the IR. Solution: get the IR owners to act in their own best interest by allowing them to PAY for their own security. Privately-owned casinos in the world’s gambling capitals have awesome, better-than-military-spec security. And they all do it IN THEIR OWN SELF INTEREST.

If the police and the courts were bled-out of the political influences, that would be a start. In fact all these “victimless crimes” emanated from the minds of people in the political elite.

Do you think these folks know what’s best for you, when most of them DON’T EVEN KNOW most of you. Yet, they willing extort money, property and rights from you on the INSANE presumption that they “know best”.

Are The Sheeple crazy? I think so. Quick, call the cops

market2garden
Nov 24, 2009 15:19

Perhaps the security aspect (internally and externally) is little bit out of balance …. the need to formulate the right balance for TOTAL DEFENCE..

What Change?
Nov 24, 2009 16:06

Whose dumb idea was it to call the police force the Home Team? Makes it sound like some football team, not a law enforcement agency.

alex tan
Nov 24, 2009 17:07

the bigger threats today are tilted towards internal security or policing instead of an external one or warfare.

if Singaporeans are not ready to accept the abolishment of National Service, maybe we can consider having our boys have their service under the Police Department or be police-trained instead of soldiering.

currently, our combat experience are mainly from peacekeeping duties in UN at troubled nations. perhaps its time to phase out the army and focus on the terrorists.

Online Shmonline
Nov 24, 2009 18:18

Just thought of a scary scenario.

With the actual people in the SPF doing the work not necessarily being the same as the scholars who fly through the system, should I be worried that resentment and jealousy may pervade the rank and file.

If the lower ranks do not have a similar opportunity to rise up through the ranks because of our govt’s obsession with all things on paper, how else can they do well for themselves?

When our blue rank and file see the graduates pulled into the SPF and pushed through the ranks and earning the corresponding salary scales simply because they have qualification and didn’t mess with anyone important on the way up, what would they think?

Would they imagine they don’t have a way to get such a better life too?

I’m trying to imagine a scenario where illegal corruption (as opposed to the legal kind in the form of high salaries for public appointments and discounts for purchasing properties) begins to become a possible alternative that is considered seriously.

Sure, the punishment for corruption is severe, but is the noose preventing drug traffickers? Perhaps I’ve only begun to notice it recently but quite a few instances of bribery and corruption making the papers. Once the casinos come up, what’s to stop loansharking and money laundering from really hitting the big time, making connections in all the right places…who knows where it’ll stop. Who knows if it’s not already bought out the top people in preparation for the big time?

I don’t want scholars in charge if these same scholars won’t actually serve without the high salary. Because someone else may always offer a higher payoff (can anyone say Yeo Cheow Tong?).

I’m a little cynical. If this may happen to our top dogs in the SPF, what’s to prevent this from happening in our esteemed PAP?? Oh wait, too late! :)

http://www.yeocheowtong.com/

guy_plain
Nov 24, 2009 20:16

#23 Toolang & #26You sure or NOT

The Geylang Neighbourhood Police Centre used to house Geylang NPC and G Division HQ. G Division HQ has since moved to Bedok North where it now shares the premise with Bedok North NPC.

Hence it would make it Geylang NPC seemed luxurious (or rather empty) compared to other standalone purpose-built NPC.

Food for thoughts.

guy_plain
Nov 24, 2009 20:29

#52 Online Shmonline

I believe the government not only EMPHASIZES on paper qualification but on age too.

Even if you have the proper qualification, I doubt they would accept you once you are over 35. Try to apply for any of the government positions – Police, Prisons, SCDF , etc and see if they bother to reply.

So when they advertised for XXX number for government jobs, these are meant for the younger population. Anyone above 35 applying for this entry level job, is deemed to have been handicapped (as though they are missing a limb or two).

If you watch reality tv – LAPD recruitment programme (sometime 2 years back) it shows the Los Angeles Police Academy churning out recruits as old as 48 years old. And as long as they passed the numerous tests (physically, classroom, etc), these recruits become real policeman even at the ripe age of 48.

Food for thoughts.

New Era
Nov 24, 2009 22:09

There appears to be an increase in corruption amongst those serving in the SPF. Could it be that they are seriously underpaid.

http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_458391.html

Brendan
Nov 24, 2009 22:47

@New Era

“There appears to be an increase in corruption amongst those serving in the SPF. Could it be that they are seriously underpaid.”

NO! NO! NO! If it’s true, it’s casiNO!!!

agongkia
Nov 25, 2009 0:12

44)Patriot
I can agree.But this Gila Pangkat and higher pay idea to me have to be put aside if one is sincere to serve the Nation and not merely joining for status or high pay.
Or it will end up with highly paid civil servant with poor citizen suffering .

WP ’s Ms Silvia and those highlighting of overloading and understaff again is not a bad sign.It appear to me that they are justifying for a pay rise .So what so bad about joining the Home Team?Forget about the Pangkat.Go n sign up for the iron rice bowl tomorrow.Sleep oso can get pay

SG Girl Next Door
Nov 25, 2009 3:10

To: Patriot #44 and Niagara#45

Thank you for your understanding. Perhaps Agongkia #41 is currently a civil servant, serving our nation loyally despite not getting his promotion and pay raise for years. I salute to him.

My point is which working adult does not want promotion that comes with pay increment? Its a form of recognition of one’s (good) work performance. Can one accepts a salary that was 5 years ago (assumming that person has been with the company for 5 years and has performed well in his/her work)? Get real. Cost of living has been rising every year. One needs increased in pay to substain a living (perhaps some savings too). For those who are supporting their aged parents (who also have medical problems), they must also make sure that they have savings for their parents’ yearly (some half yearly) check ups and medication costs.

And Patriot #44, your comment about those who curry favor to get their promotions; I’d seen quite alot in the private sector. It happens everywhere. I believe in sticking to my principles and integrity. Once I turned down an ex-superior request to present a different set of invoice figures to our overseas product principal. I also turned down a job that requires me to bring in foreigners into our job market. The commission (if my clients accepts them) is pretty good. My reason? I don’t believe one (be it blue collar or white collar) should pay large amount of agent fees to work in another country. Whereas a friend of mine (has also asked me to join her in bringing domestic helpers here) had said: “Who cares? If you don’t want to earn this kind of good money, many others may”. I told her I don’t wish to earn this kind of money.

BlindMan
Nov 25, 2009 9:06

The answer to our solution is to get the PR’s and new Citizens to form a reserve team or do reservist for a 10 year cycle…… This will make them feel integrated with our society, since JOBS are being taken by lots of foreigners and PR’s and New Citizens……example the BUS service, lots of PRC folks that can’t speak English are being hired to be part of OUR world CLASS transport service…..Their contribution SPEAKS volumes

Matilah_Singapura
Nov 25, 2009 11:38

re: “TOTAL DEFENCE”

Let’s examine that idea — what does that mean? Is it possible? Of course not. There is too much uncertainty in the universe for any individual, group, country or celestial object (like a planet for instance) to be TOTALLY defended against “threat”.

But that doesn’t mean the choice is to simply ignore risks of dangers that might be lurking.

Bear in mind too that “defence” like any good or service requires resources. It is impossible if not unwise to blow ALL or a large portion of your resources on any one thing — in this case — TOTAL defense. Furthermore, how do you think life would be living under * the illusion * of some constant invisible “threat”? BTW, govts get much of their power that way — they scare The Sheeple into believing that some “all powerful evil deadly and apocalyptic threat” exsists and that The Government is * the only * agency with the wherewithal and “special knowledge” to protect The Sheeple and the country, and whatever freedom or sanity they have not yet lost.

I believe in SELF DEFENSE. Just as you don’t expect the cops to “protect” your home from invasion — you buy and install good locks and security, it is an extension of this basic idea applied to The Self. Therefore I support *LEGAL* GUN OWNERSHIP. If the citizen can prove to his community that he is of sound mind and good judgment, then no one should prevent him from owning a firearm.

However I doubt if my idea will ever catch on. Which is why I live in a country where I can legally own firearm, and I have a choice of shooting ranges to go and blast my lethal babies, killing as many paper targets thus satisfying my own inner hero’s inflated sense of “self-focused justice”, hoping to impress as many women as possible (for sex of course) with my machismo.

“An Armed Society Is A POLITE Society”, so wrote Robert A. Heinlein — a cracking sci-fi writer responsible for works like Starship Troopers and The Puppet Masters. Heinlein never trusted the government or any (so-called) “authority”.

New Era
Nov 25, 2009 15:35

I suggest that we bring in cheap labour to build up the ranks of the SPF. The very low salary being offered is discouraging many young men and women from joining the SPF and those that are in are easily giving in to temptation.

http://www.todayonline.com/Singapore/EDC091125-0000102/Three-accused-of-bribing,-cheating

SM Goh
Nov 26, 2009 11:33

I agree that there are too many NSFs not doing anything contructive in their respective army units, most times they are just idling in their bunks. Even the ‘Lobos’ who are storemen and clerks can be found work in the Police force, since the physical demands are somewhat different.

That way we can reduce the ever-increasing budget allocation to the SAF and allocate some of it to the MHA. With the rest of the money we can pay the US to have an aircraft carrier or two parked in our waters, to deter any potential aggressor.

The aircraft carriers and their crew (about 5,000 each) can then help boost the ship repair, consumer and service sectors of the economy.

An ideal 3-way solution!

The fact Of Life
Nov 26, 2009 11:59

What a Joke! The SPF streched?? For the amount of salary that they are recieving for the type of work they are doing?? Their so called crime rates are a baby’s play compare to their counterparts in Australia.. here, its the real deal! Gangs, guns, drugs, rapes, murders etc.. how many of those happened in Singapore? Many of their so called crimes are just petty in nature because they are backed by tough laws. eg. death penalty for drug trafficking. Look, the SPF needs the help of Pula Tekong army BATTALION jus to catch some suspects terrorist! What a joke.. its like killing an ant with a sledge hammer.

In addition, my friend who is working for the police coast guard tells me how they rotated their shilfs during work to sleep and play BIG 2… No wonder they say that a frog only thinks of the world as big as the well it lived in. Tell our overpaid goverment to send the SPF out to joint mission with the real police and i’ll beg you that the will be come begging home!

Spuaknel Columbine
Nov 26, 2009 14:43

Can kind singaporeans with the knowledge about the crime statistics in terms of how they are calculated give a simple Y/N reply to the question raised by readers asking :

Cases where complainants are asked to file Magistrate complaint all not included in crime statistics?

Y/ N?

patriot
Nov 26, 2009 15:03

Hi SG Girl:

patriot was and is like You in that we believe in a very unconventional form of damage control on ourselves and that is we respect our upbringings by abstaining from money that will make us feel uneasy, if not guilty.
I feel i owe myself a duty to do as little damage to others as possible by making my livings simple and avoid creative means to earn a living. Be warned, i am a pauper although most of the time i am a happy guy at 6 decades old. Seldom do i feel sad because my pockets are empty, seems that i am lucky to have many friends who are ever ready to host me when i am high and dry. Okay, not to deviate too far, let’s talk about our men in blue.

It is not just the Policemen that are stretched, let’s us us look at most Singaporean workers, be they your family members, friends, colleagues or neighbours, which one of them are not exploited??? The greatest damages as a result of being stretched, manipulated and exploited are domestic quarrels, marriage/family breakdowns and physical, mental illness. Most, if not all, suffer emotional upsets over work and unfortunately most cannot avoid cross carrying their unhappiness from workplace to home and vice-versa causing multi-fold damages.

If the men in blue deserve sympathy, i like to say other than our lords, all other Singaporeans are pityful.

Allow me to implore readers to take a closer look at the cleaners, security guards, odd job labourers and other menial workers and see if they do not suffer more than others. Those who are SMRT and NEL Train commuters, please tell if those security guards You see are capable of crime deterrents, not to mention their duty is supposed to be capable of detering terrorism. I weep in my heart each time i see those old folks at work.

patriot

Sekani Dorbai
Nov 26, 2009 22:37

Can any MP ask minister WKS if cases in which complainants were asked to file magistrate complaint but they did not do so recorded as part of the statistics of crime rate?

Old, Jobless And Poor
Nov 27, 2009 17:23

I remember they use to boast so much about the NPP (Neighbourhood Police Post) scheme. Nowadays, it looks like NPP will die a natural death sooner or later. Most NPPs in housing estates are either closed or operates only during certain hours. I thought we have highly paid scholars who can plan 20 years ahead. But the SPF is now streched to its limit. Surely this is poor planning by people involved in HR planning or what is now known as.. Talent Management. Perhaps, we should get even more FT to help in the planning and management of talent in SPF.

ima
Nov 27, 2009 18:17

I think ppl dun realize why locals refuse to join or drop out of the SPF. Coz it;s being managed by stupid scholars who have ZERO management skills and tekan the SPF groundsmen to meet their target/goals.

I think management really need to be changed. Invest to educate ur long-serving groundsmen to be the the management instead. Give them the oppo to take up uni courses etc…. and make them the future leaders in SPF. Rather than get stupid scholars who don’t even know how to tie their own shoelaces and only know how to wipe their bosses ass.

tiredsingaporean
Nov 27, 2009 19:05

58) SG Girl Next Door on November 25th, 2009 3.10 am

My point is which working adult does not want promotion that comes with pay increment? Its a form of recognition of one’s (good) work performance.

Yeah right, I got $100 increament in 3 years changing my position 5 times just to throw me into those area which other so called engineers cannot fulfilled. The only thing I was told that I am one of the very handful ones that has this increament. The funny thing is that the so called engineers got promoted twice with increament within the same year. The world is so screwed up these days that employers prefer to promote those who are able to do what they are being told to, expecially the illegal ones. Where has justice gone to these days.

Alex Har
Nov 28, 2009 18:53

To ameliorate the problems, I understand that police force is practicing outsourcing.

I hear from friends that CISCO is even deployed to police the prostitutes and gambling activities in Geylang …. and I guess these projects are up for bidding on a commercial basis.

Ultimately the police force will make money purely by outsourcing its work to commercial companies… especially those with foreign joint venture partners.

What a neat and intelligent way. Only the best brains can conjure this.

hanafi mohd
Dec 3, 2009 1:33

apathy is the word of the day.

you see… so many of us here all speak of this topic, and at the end of it, we resign to our fate, we resign to the helplessness we all feel and say, “that’s just how it is.” our fellow police officers are like us in this respect as well. they are also normal working class citizens at the end of the day, worrying about the same issues a civilian faces, and feeling that same helplessness.

we just carry on with our lives then, letting this matter drift as we latch on to the next big thing to debate about, whatever it is that happens to be the next headline news. nobody does anything, and i myself am guilty of this, because i don’t believe i can change anything either.

but that’s also the reason why then it will be the same people in the govt who get to make the same decisions over and over again, and by then these decision-makers are also either tired/helpless/have no more new ideas on how to effect changes to improve the situation. they, too, resign to the fact that whatever new policies they try to implement, not much change will occur.

it is not their fault, nor the white collar management of SPF, nor the blue collar beat cops individually. there is no need to point our fingers at anyone in order to make ourselves feel better. it is just the tired, confused state of our singapore society. we live in the postmodern world rife with apathy.

Leave a Reply

Comment

theonlinecitizen on Facebook

Uncategorized - Jan 15, 2010 10:12 - 126 Comments

It is affordable – Mah Bow Tan

More In Uncategorized