Foreign workers dormitory at Lim Chu Kang cemetery

Andrew Loh / Pictures by Damien Chng

Member of Parliament, Ms Irene Ng, asked the Minister for National Development, Mr Mah Bow Tan on 21 October 2008: “Can I ask the Minister whether he agrees that as a decent society, it is our duty to provide the foreign workers in our midst decent and humane housing, so that they can come here and earn an honest wage and not feel like modern-day slave in Singapore?”

In his reply, the minister said, “I think it is important for us to provide proper housing for all our workers, not just from the point of view of humanity, as Ms Ng put it, but also because there are basic standards of fire safety and basic standards of health and sanitation that we need to take into account.”

In light of the above assurances by the minister, it came as a shock to us to see an 8-block, self-contained dormitory situated at the Lim Chu Kang cemetery. It houses 12,000 workers. Called Murai Lodge 1 and Murai Lodge 2, it is tucked away between the Muslim and Chinese burial grounds and the chicken farm.

When The Online Citizen visited the premises, most of the workers were at work. We walked around Murai Lodge 2 and found that there was a canteen there with several stalls, one selling Myanmarese food, and a barber shop and a provision shop. We did not enter the dormitory itself as it was guarded by security guards.

The Online Citizen then contacted the Urban Redevelopment Authority and the Building and Construction Authority. After acknowledging our initial emails and promising to reply to our queries, we have yet to receive any replies from the two departments after a week.

The location of the Lim Chu Kang dormitory smacks of a policy of social isolation for these foreign workers. While one can understand the shortage of space in Singapore to provide housing for these workers, one wonders if siting their living quarters, in an isolated area of Singapore and within a cemetery, with little amenities and with the nearest bus stop some 5 km away, is a “humane” solution which Ms Ng mentioned and which Mr Mah had agreed is a consideration for the government.

“Even if the workers are not superstitious, it sends them a clear signal on where their social position is in our country,” Jolovan Wham, Executive Director of Humanitarian Organisation for Migration Economics (HOME), told the Straits Times (ST). The ST had reported the building of the Murai Lodge dormitory in March 2008 – before it was built.

The government seems to be more concerned about the welfare of new immigrants rather than those of migrant workers.

The Online Citizen has highlighted numerous cases of the atrocious living conditions of these migrant workers, including some who were made to live in cargo containers for months. While the government recently announced a $10 million “integration fund” for new immigrants to “get locals and new immigrants to expand their social circles to include each other”, it seems to have adopted a policy of isolation when it comes to foreign workers, despite telling Singaporeans how important foreign workers are to our economy.

Aren’t these migrant workers just as important as new immigrants? And if so, shouldn’t they be part of this “integration” project? Why leave them among the dead – literally? Is this humane?

In April 2009, Manpower Minister, Mr Gan Kim Yong, when opening the Avery Lodge dormitory, said:

“There have been cases of employers who decided to cut down on the provision of proper housing so as to reduce operating costs. Some do not provide proper sanitation or ventilation, while some squeeze more than the allowed number of people in a room. This is unacceptable.”

One would think that the minister would agree that having a dormitory, literally within a cemetery, is also unacceptable.

The Online Citizen had hoped to have permission from the authorities to visit the inside of the Murai Lodge dormitory and speak to the workers.

But it seems the authorities are keeping mum.

—-

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

83 Responses to “Social isolation – left among the dead”

1. “If I may ask, what is the most appropriate recommendation when it comes to the issue of FW accomodation?”

What better way to have these dormitories situated beside/inside Ministers, LKY, Istana, and presidents’ vicinity ? I recall those place they stay in are all very large spacious area, with many empty land ! What a waste ! Shouldn’t all these clowns be responsible for the issues created ? Why must always be the citizens and the dead be the one paying for the planning of those coffers ? In addition, there will be stringent security, police, Gurkhas guarding those clowns’ housing anyway. Since the clowns think that having many foreigners don’t create issue, then let foreigners live near them then. Whose known, LKY, and MIW might just enjoy staying with those foreigners !

The clowns can never understand the issues they cause until they are experienced themselves.

2. samanthaLoh 2 November 2009

Actually, we should all be examining the crux of the issue, i.e. why there seems to be an incessant influx of FWs.

It will be too easy to finger point at the govt for resorting to collecting levies of FWs as a form of revenue. I sincerely doubt the gravity of this rationale.

The incessant need to acquire a bigger, better house has resulted in an upward spiral of demand in residential properties. Developers need to ride on this demand wave and to offer as much supply at the highest prices as possible, resulting in a continuous slew of condo launches. Question is who is going to built these condos? Singaporeans ? And with more condo properties come the issue of maintenance, and who is going to clean & maintain the condo compound ? Singaporeans again ?

3. SS Stirrer 2 November 2009

Guys

for those of you who think its not proper to house them next to a cemetery, please ask the govt to locate them next to your hdb block.

Lets be honest. no one wants them in their neighbourhood. you think the value of your property will increase if you have them? ask the Ministers to have them housed in their Bukit Timah, River Valley etc areas.

4. i agree. where are you going to house them? no one wants them in their neighborhood. People just keep shouting that the government is at fault! put them in their homes! Just not near mine!

Seriously, where Would you house them? Wat are the other viable alternatives? Housing them at worksites? letting them live in filth?

I agree with #52. I think we have let in too many for SG’s capacity to house them. We need them, but the numbers may be getting unmanageable. The Social cost is too high.

5. angry_one 2 November 2009

Seriously, i would have no problems living next to a cemetery. In fact, i hope it’s a big one with no tall buildings surrounding it, giving me a great view of the surrounding nature. I’d rather live there than live in a place surrounded by noisy, crammed HDB blocks.

6. traviaman 2 November 2009

what do you expect these FW to stay?? be your neighbours??? face it, singaporeans do not like to stay with them… ITS A FACT!
    At least they do have a proper place to sleep…so what is beside the cemetery….and pls, stop comparing singaporeans to all these FW……i dont like it!!!

7. DuraiKiller 2 November 2009

The problem can be solved, it just up to them if they keep on focus on huge profit return, GDP and answerable to shareholders with no passionate on those middle, low, jobless & elderly citizens. They got to imposed minimun wages said S$1600 in SG ensure every singaporeans got job. I strongly believed with minimun wages policy more singaporeans are willing to take up offer even is manually labour intensive therefore boots up local moral & own domestic market. By doing so more singaporeans would have job therefore less rely on foreigners. Beside government got to bring down the cost of living here (GST, medical, education, housing,PUB, transportation included taxi, removed property tax & TV License Tax etc), and allow every members to claim tax on elder parents rather present policy only allow one member of the family to claim, therefore everybody got more money saving for retirement & not burden their next generation where present majorities elderly were paid too low and old become a huge burden this present generation where we are suffering now.

8. We should send back foreigner construction worker to solve the problem. They did no benefit to people. Allowed me to explain.

They lower construction cost, but that saving do not benefit us. We get more and more expensive housing each year and government earn more and more and brag about more market subsidies.

And scandalous monies government earned was given to Ho Ching to bet in wall street. Ho Ching a serial failure since micro-polis, global crossing, Shin Corp, Merryll, Barclay…etc.

And also to those idiot in GIC that cannot outperform S&P.

If FWs are gone, companies would have to raise wages to attract locals. And eventually it will be attractive enough that locals jump onboard.

And PAP would need to sell land at lower price, effectively transferring our monies back to us. It will reduce Ho Ching’s purse when she visit wall street casino.

Good for everyone.

Then PAP would not have excuse to accuse our young people lazy and choosy….etc

Can you see that readers? PAP is really the problem.

9. squidsquid 2 November 2009

the dead cannot even have peace…..

10. A few points.

The main issue to me should not be about the location of housing near the cemeteries and columbariums but whether the conditions inside meet the kind of standards we would allow ourselves as citizens to be subjected to.

This isn’t an issue of space but whether standards of health, safety and sanitation are met.

Now, to preempt the retort about whether I myself would personally mind staying in such a place, I will say this:

1. Half of my NS life was spent in the vicinity of cemeteries and columbariums. Also, I have had to walk through them as part of my training.

2. I studied for 4 years in a school located right beside a columbarium. Our teacher would bring us to the columbarium to explore and learn.

Now, there is the matter of sensitivity. I am unsure about the cultural implications for the foreign workers living in these dormitories situated beside the cemeteries and columbariums. If there are indeed cultural and religious implications, then we should accord them respect and not house them there. Where, of course is another question.

Another thing, I don’t think it is just about the fact that the dorm is located near cemeteries and columbariums but for far away it is from everywhere else. That place is really quite ulu. I know. I just did my reservist there. Even walked pass the place.

Mental thought experiment” What if we built the dorm near the tombs located near Macritchie. There are a lot of private terrace, semi-detacheds and bungalows there. Would be being beside dead people be an issue if the dorm was on prime land?

11. Hi Ian,

You sounded like a sensible person to me though I suspect you lack a sense of realism. You ask a question and attempted with greyish answers, i.e. you did not answer your own question.

You asked yourself if you would personally mind staying in such a place, you bring in your NS life and your school life. The fact is, would you, together with your family,. young and old, stay in such a place, as a home? Even if you said yes and know, I reckon both the answers are half hearted. I confessed, mine will also be the same as yours.

Personally, I feel there are better places than within a cemetery. I am no saint and I do not know where exactly is good. I am only an ordinary Singaporean, not earning the pay like the almighty ministers, whom are wise and learned. My guess is that there aren’t enough consideration placed on this issue during the planning stage. Can a group of wise men in the various authorities not brainstormed enough to derive a better decision on the final location? What were the key considerations? We really have no means to get the answers.

12. Tan Cheng Hua 2 November 2009

Ian Timothy,

“The main issue to me should not be about the location of housing near the cemeteries and columbariums but whether the conditions inside meet the kind of standards we would allow ourselves as citizens to be subjected to.”

So, if the dormitory was situated in a desert or in the middle of the jungle, it is ok as long as “the conditions inside meet the kind of standards we would allow ourselves as citizens to be subjected to”? What utter nonsense. Would any Singaporean buy a house if it was situated in such an area? Would you allow your children to grow up in such an area?

You talk about having lived among cemeteries and all but you have missed an important point – you and all S’poreans have a choice in this. The foreign workers do not. Why?

1. The low pay they receive barely is enough to keep them alive.

2. The moment they’re brought into S’pore, they have no choice in where they are made to live. So, we see them being housed in containers, in shophouses crammed together, in worksites which are sub-standard, etc.

For a first world country and one which repeatedly boasts of being a compassionate society, housing workers in a cemetery is by no means humane. Not by any stretch of the imagination.

For all of us S’poreans, we have a choice of where we want to live.

These foreign workers have choices thrusted upon them.

13. I think we need to balance idealism with pragmatism here.

On one hand, which Singaporean would honestly want to stay in a dorm next to a graveyard? On the other hand, are there any alternatives for these FWs? Is housing these dorms next to HDB estates a source of more social unrest and disenchantment with the government?

If there are no alternatives, then the next natural question would be: Why is there no more space? Is it due to over development? I think when you think of it this way, it is quite clear where the source of the problem lies… it is a policy issue really, and has a lot to do with the government.

Ian made a valid point: What are the cultural implications for the FWs staying there? Is it a strong sentiment? And if they don’t mind at all, then I have no reason to object really.

14. 62) tender on November 2nd, 2009 5.03 pm
    The fact is, would you, together with your family,. young and old, stay in such a place, as a home? Even if you said yes and know, I reckon both the answers are half hearted. I confessed, mine will also be the same as yours.

The fact is, you should be asking Ian if he might stay in such a place if he was WORKING OVERSEAS for a finite period of time. why would you bring in ‘family’ at all?? totally apple and orange.

15. “Ian made a valid point: What are the cultural implications for the FWs staying there? Is it a strong sentiment? And if they don’t mind at all, then I have no reason to object really.”

Rather than saying if they don’t mind at all (seriously you asking the foreigners who are openly exploited by employers ), the question is “Do they even have a choice to raise objection ? “

16. ““Ian made a valid point: What are the cultural implications for the FWs staying there? Is it a strong sentiment? And if they don’t mind at all, then I have no reason to object really.””

Isn’t it like asking the citizen if they mind having CPF Life when they don’t even have a choice of whether to have it or not ? Don’t even need to object and dis-object.

17. Tan Cheng Hua 3 November 2009

“And if they don’t mind at all, then I have no reason to object really.”

Terence, that is a cop-out. There are almost a million of them. And for sure, some of that million will not mind. But does that make it right? I think we have to be bigger than that, more compassionate than that.

As you said, the problem is the policy. Without first ensuring that there is infrastructure enough to cater to these foreigners, the govt has opened its doors to them – a million of them. That’s an astounding number.

And without the infrastructure, we house them wherever we can find space, even in containers in ulu, mosquito-infested places and in cemeteries. It is sad to me to hear things like, “As long as the conditions inside are ok…” and “As long as the workers are ok with it…”

The simple principle we should live by is this: Do not do to others what you do not wish others to do to you.

And by this, none of us would live in ulu, mosquito-infested areas, or in cemeteries or in containers.

No?

18. agongkia 3 November 2009

The Deads are the person who should complain .Human being built their dormitory near their resting place.Create noises,took photoes and put them in the net,talk how bad staying near their castles….They are not only disturbed,but also face a security threat.They are also worry that one night,someone one will carry a changkol and start digging and took away their gold bracelet etc. from their bodies .Can they complain to URA why is there no sookoority guard on duty?Pls let them Rest in Peace.
    What is wrong sleeping near a cemetery.Not everyone has a chance.Show more concern on our singaporean who sleep in the parks,open area etc who risk being picpocket or robbed,face the authority’s spotcheck etc…Many homeless citizen need your attention.The FWs dun mind staying there.Get the fact right.

19. Xmasislandpimp 3 November 2009

as the sayins goes…
    a house is better than no roof @ all whether its near a cemetry or the cte highway
    try workin in a foreign country and suddenly find out that you cannot even afford the weekly/monthly rentals….
    last but not least..try rentin a room which housed 4 bunkmates in a shophouse upstairs which have 4 bedroom makin a total of 16 roomates in 1 sharin 1 mini kitchen and 1 jumbuan…
    rental wise? only $200/month nia…has anybody ever wait in line just to brush your teeth..have a crap before startin work?

20. patriot 3 November 2009

Agongkia #69;

“Show more concern on our singaporean who sleep in the parks,open area etc who risk being picpocket or robbed,face the authority’s spotcheck etc…Many homeless citizen need your attention”, unquote.

A good call my friend !

The foreign workers that i know are all very resilient, able to adapt to any environment and are real survivors. They are not softies neither are they very demanding.

By the way, graveyards were preferred over temples by travellers in the olden days in China and i surmise it was/is because the deads do not molest, rape, rob, cheat, exploit and bully the living beings.

patriot

21. agongkia 3 November 2009

72)patriot
    Enjoy seeing you here.Thanks for reading and sharing.

I just feel that Human has their so call rights.The Dead should also have their right..The Dead are also past singaporean who had contributed in one way or another.They deserve to rest in peace.They do not mind and do not complain about human moving in to become their neighbour but that does not mean Human has their Rights to despise them by feeling down graded or low class to stay near them.
    And hope no one uses this excuse to expedite the closure of these graves instead of the relocating the dormitories elsewhere and start building flats or condos..Spare some thoughts for our Deads.Some deads just love to be buried and not cremated becos there is a saying”Lu Thoo Wee Arn”and not “Sze Wu Chang shen chze Tee”

22. PaceMaster 2 January 2010

Hello fellow Singaporeans, I really hope that you are really reading this. There are reasons why such dormitories are built in certain areas. This is to deter those foreign workers from commiting offences against the locals. An example is that, those FW’s would sit under the void deck especially on Saturdays, drinking beer, leaving empty beer bottles, urinating at the corner of the void deck and/or disturbing house maids. I had heard of aldultery happening before. This is why it is built in, at the far end of the cluster of Muslim, Christian and Chinese cemeteries, the dormitories are isolated. The nearest housing estate and shops are in Jurong West, at least 5km away. It’s good that they are built far from our area.

Only those in the enforcement line would agree with me. There are always bad guys among the good guys.

Anyway, they are humans just like us. They won’t commit criminal activities unless they are being paid by locals(syndicate). See that??

23. goondu 28 July 2010

If we are referring to crime like adultry, then how come there are still illegal “pros” to cater for such workers?
    Be it next door or on a lonely island, crime will always be where there is human. It is only whether it is low or high.

Foreigners are allowing companies to lower our labour market rates. Companies prefer foreigners to Singaporeans becos the foreigners do not mind working for low wages. One of the reason is that they come into Singapore to work and transfer the money back to their country where upon the currency exchange rate, it well worth the effort.

Gar ment used to say Singaporeans must learn to adapt and be willing to work for lower wages, especially during the recession. Then how come the MPs dun lower their salaries? MPs not Singaporean aH? Companies nowadays use the low wages,when employing,to tell us that our salary request is too high. There is always a few black sheeps around but i believe most Singaporeans ask for reasonable pay, in accordance to the living standard we are living in.

In my opinion, to solve all this FW accomodation, wages and problems. Just kick most of them out and let the locals do the job. Flooding SG with FW is making locals so irritated, angry and dun forget, when they bring in FWs, they have to house them and look after them. Just becos of the top wanting to earn more moni, the locals have to suffer. WTH… Before FWs were flooding sg, most jobs were held by locals so who says Singaporeans are not willing to work?

24. Personally, I have no problem staying near a cemetary, even with my family and kids, should I have one. I don’t think there should be any negative sentiments about living near the dead, unless one has to deal with strong taboos regarding such things. The main points are really 1) Were the workers consulted at all about it? This is rather unlikely, because from what I remember about dorms, once it goes up, you get various workers circulating through it, so that is a problem.
    2) The keep them far away and out of sight mentality alot of us have. They do rather vital work here, and I think its rather rude to place them in the middle of nowhere. Also does not speak very well of those of us who would rather not have to see or face them. I do like the suggestions of putting them in the high value areas, ahah. I mean, if the govt people are supposed to be leaders of the nation, then they should lead by example when it comes to this issue of housing foreign workers, no? ;)
    And if prime property were to devalue as a result, well, thats just good news for everyone struggling with the cost of HDB flats, cos when prime value drops, all should follow suit to some degree, correct? Ahhh, if only.

25. Someone brought up the idea of instituting a minimum wage syste. I’m actually all for it, because I believe if the jobs were to pay something that would actually be acceptable for surviving, and possibly living comfortable enough, in Singapore, more people would gravitate to such lines of work. Meaning less foreign workers, as they would supplement an existing workforce, instead of being the workforce, which would then lead to employers being able to provide better facilities. This reasoning comes about from the fact that since there is less of them to provide for, there is no need to squeeze them together in such terrible conditions. Conditions that can be said to be only a step or two above squalid in some places.
    Of course, this is a hypothesis. Even if they were to finally introduce a minimum wage system into industries that needed it(there are a few, just talking contruction here for now) and a scenario like the one I oulined happened, there is nothing much stopping employers from still treating the foreign workers the same way.

26. issac 28 July 2010

I believe there is a need to put yourself in the shoes of the workers. For most of them, they are not going to stay in Singapore for good. They are just here to earn their share and go back to their families. We could say that they should be given better accomodations, but that also reflects higher cost to the employers which in turn have to either decrease workers hired or the workers’ salary. Given their meagre wages in the first place, which of these foreign workers will want to take lesser money home just for more comfort? Even if the goverment implement laws and policies which gives them better accomodations, the workers will find ways to squeeze more people into the room just to save on the rent. Therefore, very simple and basic amenities or hygenic conditions may just be what the workers want.