Sunday, November 22, 2009 10:30

TOC Blog Feature: UK election vs S’pore election

In Uncategorized • 1,585 views • 34 Comments

Excerpts from the blog, Singapore Lighthouse:

I was listening to BBC sometime last week and was surprised that the newscaster announced that the UK election will be held in 2010 (I had forgotten if they mentioned any specific date). However with the advance of then Internet, I google the UK election 2010 and great wealth of related links appeared.

What makes me feel that the British, are more open about the election date as it can be found in their official website of the Electoral Commission.

UK Electoral Commision

A look at the “About Us” said a lot about the function of the Electoral Commission:

“We are an independent body set up by the UK Parliament. Our aim is integrity and public confidence in the democratic process.”

Singapore Election Department

I looked at OUR Election Department and saw this:

“The Elections Department of Singapore (ELD) is a department under the Prime Minister’s Office. It has the responsibility of planning and preparing for, and managing the conduct of Presidential and Parliamentary elections and of any national referendum in Singapore….”

Read the full post here.

1. TOC Blog Feature: 10 reasons why I cannot vote for the PAP in the next election
  2. Blog Feature: A word on the PAP and general elections
  3. Blog Feature: My dear Government, why do you treat me so?
  4. Blog Feature: Puzzling over portfolio
  5. TOC Blog Feature: Fogged lens

34 Comments

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Ah Siao
Nov 22, 2009 11:00

What do you expect?

Singapore is all but a dynasty run by a dictator. Singaporean is lucky to have one extra day of public holiday once every five years.

Election in Singapore is just wayang. Don’t expect the results matter. Nothing will be changed.

Ren
Nov 22, 2009 11:22

Change this shitty system, change this shitty gahmen, and change this shitty country into a REAL COUNTRY.

Master Hum senior executive
Nov 22, 2009 12:01

yes, agree with #1.
The opposition here are not Visible by much.
Its a strange opposition.

not that we do not need strong opposition.

These are 2 different things.

Torgina Vackina
Nov 22, 2009 12:30

As I write they are organizing in many activites in Hougang area. Many attendants look like very old people. Also seen many new citizens at dog show held in a park. There are many dogs in the park. They run around enthusiastically. loyal to their master. The hand that feeds them. Its like a dog show competition.
The event also is spreading message for people to be Kind. Kind to who?

so many activities.

This begs the question : is the election around the corner?
December school holidays is imho a suitable time.

Next year the economy is uncertain in my view given that no one knows if any major event in the world will occur. Any predictions i technically a guess.

Britain
Nov 22, 2009 13:38

The Singapore government always like to compare its credibility against country like Indonesia or Philippine etc. They are timid and afraid to compare against countries which are many times more liberal and open than Singapore such as Britain.

stupid
Nov 22, 2009 13:58

5) Britain on November 22nd, 2009 1.38 pm
also include singaporean

lefleche
Nov 22, 2009 14:29

Our government is increasingly aware of the fact that Singaporeans know how far they fall behind against first world countries whose system is for the people. In the past, LKY and PAP had to suscribe to democracy because otherwise the British would never have handed power to a govt that is not aligned with Britain’s own system and interests. If you are not democractic, the USA would also not support you in the tumultous 1960s. However, time has revealed the true nature of LKY’s govt – dynasty. the democratic charade is wearing thin even to its own people that is why now you hear the constant exhortation of a new doctrine: ‘ LKY’s ‘Asian democracy’ which does not need elections, free speech and human rghts as long as they get richer and richer.

this is a system completely devoid of soul and spirit. it makes a mockery of mankind because it suscribes people to have only a stomach but no brains and no heart. it is rediculous that he even said that China needs this kind of system. The Chinese is a great civilization with a great heart and a deep soul if anyone knows anything about their history. Singaporeans are no lesser.

Give us a political system that addresses the heart, soul and stomach. not just one that only feeds the stomach but numbs the heart and soul and hoodwinks the mind.

Albino Hum
Nov 22, 2009 18:07

Why are singaporeans not as Aware as they are today?
What was the cause and reasons for singaporeans to be so unaware if not softspoken if not apathetic?

To be fair, singaporeans are definitely very apathetic still but maybe there is slight improvement.

Is there an international Apathy Ranking organisation?
I suspect where singaporeans rank if there is such a list.
But i shall not say. Let you sum si si.

If singaporeans choose to have 1 party system , by definition there is no need to have Election or is there a need ?
i wonder.

Dexter
Nov 22, 2009 20:20

It sure is freer and fairer than Singapore’s!

Also, campaiging laws are less strict. For example any political party can obtain addresses and send you their campaign leaflets/messages etc through the post. I was pleasantly surprised when i received leaflets from the Tories and Labour earlier this year for the European and Local Council Elections…

reiredgansterstill@LARGE
Nov 22, 2009 21:09

[i]The event also is spreading message for people to be Kind. Kind to who?

so many activities.[/i]

this realLEE reallee pissed me off with the socalled lego bricks drive..1st i wondered what is the mission statements?
it got somethin to do with WEAREONE..where is the word WE or ONE..when the prime ministers and his DOGs couldn’t be bothered about our POOR peasants..
wah kao ntuc inc can certainLEE sink how our poor is so poor to be even buyin meals/school books/ectera ectera…
so they want US the poorer citizens to dig deeper?
so far so good?..now amon the realLEE realLEE poor/unemployed..how many still have cpf savins in their accounts? isn’t this is the RIGHT time for those cpf contributors to start utilisin their EMERGENCY savins FIRST? why do our government worrid about our 62 retirement aged when by the mid40s…so many of our peasants are already jobless and hungry? so what is the excuses for holdin THEIR cpf savins?..paperworks or what? if the government is scared of the abused system in which were created by the ministers themselves..how about usin the socalled cpf educations funds to start payin for the monthLEE school fees/books/uniforms whatever…
now another indian charity has just started…
so what next? the MUIS also start 1 as well?

Political SalesMaN
Nov 22, 2009 21:42

Britain: Always they compare the Election with indonesia & Philipine, Asian politics are stint. U can fine Voting Paper flying on the road in Jalan Besar. This has been over-rule by Election Office.

Sylvester Lim
Nov 22, 2009 22:46

Master Hum senior executive 12.01, & news about the activities of the opposition come from our world famous 133th? If that is so, then, tan ku ku okay,

System Analyst
Nov 22, 2009 23:04

Having a highly intelligent, smart, clever and crafty leader to lead a backward country, like the oft-referred fishing village of the 1950s Singapore, could be good for the people.

Having the same leader to lead a developed modern Singapore, where there is a lot of money in the national reserves, and where the people have become powerless, weak and subservient, is definitely not wise and not good for the people. Why?

Because such a situation gives the leader total control and power to do anything he wants and, therefore, inadvertently creates a domineering cannot-say-no type of leadership and a fellowship of opportunistic parasites pretending to serve the leader and the people but actually serving and enriching themselves, ironically with the expressed and active consent of the leader.

So, whatever system adopted, whether it is Westminster, Centralminister or Eastminister, is going to be tweaked and twisted, to suit those in power and not those without power. Therefore, how good a system is is totally dependent upon the true (not superficial) integrity, honesty and sincerity of the leader and his lieutenants. And in this money-speak world, such altruistic leaders are hard to come by. At the same time, there are many wolves in white sheep skins, merging themselves at every level of society, waiting for opportunities to make the kill.

The worst that can happen is when the leader himself sincerely and deeply believes that whatever he does is for the good of the people but in all practical reality the people are at the receiving end of the rod and the rot.

All systems are opened to break-downs, abuses and misuses. Therefore, there must be safety measures installed and instituted to ensure that break-downs, abuses and misuses do not occur too often and if occurred are immediately detected and remedied. And if the leadership is the one who is causing the break-downs, the abuses or the misuses, then he should be urgently removed without any regret. In order to be able to do that, the system must also have an independent third institution that has the power and authority to remove the leadership when the need arises. In other words, there are two layers of safety measures – one at the operational level and the other at the strategic level.

Using the votes of the majority alone to give full authority to the ruling party and the leadership to have full reign to do whatever they want is not only too simplistic and foolhardy but also totally irresponsible. This is what the Singapore System has become!

The Singapore System, therefore, needs a serious total revamp urgently, before it destroys itself and bring all the innocent people along with it.

tiredsingaporean
Nov 22, 2009 23:06

wonder if this coming election when the ruling party discover that they are really at the losing end just before the final result annoucement, they might just come up with their last resort that there are vote rigging involved and call off the entire election, who knows what these MIW cannot possibly do when they are being forced to step down, any possibility?

lefleche
Nov 23, 2009 0:46

if that happens, then it falls onto the army, who swore an oath to the constituiton to remove the govt and declare martial law until the rightfully voted party can assume power.

so it all depends on whether we have an army that serves the people or the emperor.

sometimes i shudder when i think that the army, which is the final arbiter of the stability would serve the Lee family above its oath to the people of singapore. but then again, history has shown that the army, being made up of people with feelings and thoughts may also turn their guns against their masters. after all this is a NS army. would the NSmen turn against their own friends and family members? this is unlike a vast country like china where soldiers were never posted to their own regions to ensure no sentiments if they need to do their job.

which way would the SAF turn?

rockafunkadeliks
Nov 23, 2009 8:45

It’s poignant how, as a Singapore citizen studying in the UK, the first vote I’ve cast is for the European parliamentary elections last June. Commonwealth citizens resident in the UK have the full right to vote in all UK and European elections – that includes Singaporeans.

I simply lament the fact that the election process in Singapore is less transparent than it is in first world countries.

rockafunked

education
Nov 23, 2009 9:40

Just wondering if today’s education in secondary schools have “politics” or “political system” as part of the curriculum. I feel that the youths of today are not all to be blamed for lack of interest and understanding because the subject of “politics” or “political systems” were not taught in school.

singapore boy
Nov 23, 2009 9:46

why have serial numbers on the ballots?
is it to trace your votes?

Where is the independent election people ?
All staffed by pro-PAP people ( all under PM office).

Who can ensure what they does are accordingly to Fair play rules?
The most votes win.

Oh Holy
Nov 23, 2009 10:23

In the 1960s, there is the Nanta and the free press, so people actually knows alot more stuff about the world and dared to speak freely. So are more democratic but now, even if we want to say something, it is not allowed.

Sun Rise
Nov 23, 2009 10:44

Reality

Appearance is not reality.
It’s pleasing, exciting
But also deceiving.

Elections, democratic
or otherwise, can
be rigged.

What is seen is not.
What is not seen,
works behind the scene.

The result conceived,
planned, executed
to military precision.

Check what is behind,
Who is behind.
Who does the dirty works?

Then the reality,
the vacuum
will be filled.

You understand,
but really
do you?

GABRIEL
Nov 23, 2009 12:02

#7 lefleche. Wow. Eloquently put.
#13 System analyst. Simply brilliant analysis.

Singapore is fast developing a political system that matches what is happening in many developing Third World countries. Freely elected government in newly emerging countries preach democratic principles and brotherhood for all men, at the start. They believe in altruism and strive to create a better life for their comrade citizens. LKY and his original team started out this way.
In time, Third World leaders tend to accumulate riches for themselves and are loathe to give up power. Another trend, in the guise of democracy, is the emergence of elitist groupings. They take turns to lead the country, enriching themselves in the process. For examples, look to the Philippines, Thailand, perhaps Taiwan. China looks in danger of going down the same path with the emergence of princelings in positions of high authority.
There are countries which are stuck with dictators who rule the country until they die, are ousted, or are assassinated. Zimbabwe’s Mugabe is one example. Some say Singapore is not much different in that we too are managed by a dictator. A benevolent one, the kinder ones among us would say..
In time, Singapore politics too might evolve into a situation in which we have two elitist groups, splinters of the original PAP. One might evolve into a true opposition party, like in Britain or the US. Or both elitist groups might take turns to plunder the country, as in the case of the Philippines.
The best leader is one who believes in the sanctity of a truly independent democratic voting system and one who believes that the mission of his or her short stay in office is to bring about a better life for his fellow citizens, who voted him or her into office for such purpose.
Singaporeans deserve such a leader.

You sure or NOT
Nov 23, 2009 15:22

21) GABRIEL on November 23rd, 2009 12.02 pm

what you say is true but issue is when and how? its only conjecture and our current party is pretty smart, smarter than many of the third world government. they know our weakness and exploit and in the end, win every election. so i guess our weakness is still the people who really like them, intimidate by fear to vote or can be bought with upgrading and gst credits. still people’s choice i guess when compared to the third party who did not have a choice to vote. so blame who?

winstoncheng
Nov 23, 2009 16:55

Gamblers, small or big time are the same in one aspect. They are compulsive. When the high rollers lose all that they have (on them), they would want to borrow for another shot to recoup their losses. Hence, the presence of big loan sharks. And we are not talking about the Geylang `Ah Longsan’ type but big triad operations from overseas. How they operate and the crimes they perpetrate will be beyond what our law enforcers are capable of handling. High powered triads under the guise of big time overseas businessmen will be a regular feature in our beloved `Clean’ city and more high powered people in office will be bought to protect their turfs. Good luck : )

Tua Liap Apple
Nov 23, 2009 17:00

In a 1 party dominant system, who can guarantee singapore’s future leader will not abuse power give so much power?

winstoncheng
Nov 23, 2009 17:35

Alamak, I submit my post to the wrong article. Early dementia. : (

JW
Nov 23, 2009 21:49

In one election Goh Chok Tong, Tony Tan and Lee Hsien Loong was found inside a Cheng San GRC polling station on Polling Day.

The Singapore judiciary found that they did not break any law.

It is obvious that the PAP government will do anything and everything to keep themselves in power.

Time to vote them out

tiredsingaporean
Nov 23, 2009 21:56

26) JW on November 23rd, 2009 9.49 pm In one election Goh Chok Tong, Tony Tan and Lee Hsien Loong was found inside a Cheng San GRC polling station on Polling Day.

The Singapore judiciary found that they did not break any law.

Its time to play very very dirty now, even though oppositions want to be gentleman, remember those MIW are well known for all their dirty tricks, be prepared to see more dirty underhanded, hitting below the belt actions by them soon in the coming election, just watch carefully and you will see the meaning of real dirty hands are like.

Politics Is Dirty
Nov 24, 2009 9:03

Politics is dirty, very very dirty. Politics means power. With power in hand, comes money, fame, position, name, status, perks, etc., etc., etc. Therefore, if you are already in power, would you willingly give up your power to a lesser person, or lesser group of people?

Any one who can conceive, plan, organise and execute “Economic Progress At All Costs” is probably more capable of conceiving, planning, organising and executing “Winning the General Election At All Costs” because the stake is even higher. If you cannot win the GE, then how can you achieve “Economic Progress At All Costs”?

What is the meaning of “At All Costs”?

In brief, it means “The End Justifies The Means”.

Therefore, all the means at your disposal, whether dirty, smelly, nauseating, disgusting, deplorable, despicable, unthinkable, unforgivable or not, shall and will be utilized to the fullest. Period.

Don’t believe? Just watch.

Realist
Nov 24, 2009 10:26

The control of the ELD is the single most important tool in retaining power.

Oh Holy
Nov 24, 2009 11:02

Unfortunately, guys, PAP is too strong etched to be boot out.

Have you all heard of a chinese saying? Never let the wolf in sheep clothing to get into your house. That deed was done 44 years ago and the wolf is here to stay now. There is nothing we can do even if majority of the singaporeans want to boot them now.

Year after year, we r forced to let inexperience PAP MP take the House yet they keep telling us, dont elect the opposition. It is pure double standards.

Our country is doomed already. Every month or few months, i heard of tax increases, how do the people be content? In the JY novel, Kangxi father told him, not to raise taxes and let the people have rest. But out gov keep increasing side taxes.

Take the recent ERP increases, they increase the ERP and yday, they announce they will temporary lower it since it is the school holidays. Every time, they increase it, it always just before the school holidays so that we wont feel it. Cos they will lower it soon after. And then when it takes effect, everyone will forget abt it, because another topic or tax will blog their minds like the new property tax.

Next year after the election, we have GST increase too right? Better buy the flat now, the GST alot leh.

David
Nov 24, 2009 11:21

Why didn’t our kangaroo and president question why the election is under our PM office when the PM, himself, is likely to be voted out in the election.

Dong Fang Zhi Foo
Nov 25, 2009 0:01

the singapore election , imho, will be a non-event.
IF there was no such influx but just a small little influx,
I suspect the size of opposition supporter would continue to grow.
Even now, i suspect it has grown.
But the key thing is the quantum.
This growth may not be as much as the influx, which it is my personal opinion , most if not all of these would support a particular party.

So, unfortunately , All Things Not Being constant.
The game has changed.

I get ready to migrate should the worst happen.

Chan Bing How
Nov 25, 2009 8:56

To All who do not support the idea of a stronger Opposition ,
I tell you this.

1. There was a time when the opposition support base grow consistently though slowly. Over the last 2 elections, they have grown without a doubt. Alas!!! the total population size has CHANGED!!! by virtue of the influx of new citizens. Percentage is based no the total. The though more native singaporeans have supported the idea of a stronger opposition to speak up for us, this changed the ball game altogether!

2. There is a good and valid reason and purpose for a strong representation of opposition in parliament. With this change, I think this dream will most likely be delayed by a decade at least.

3. Time and Time again the opposition failed despite the extremely strong turnout to cheer for them at rallies , even in rain and in mud.
The reality ALWAYS does not TALLY. Why?

So, to all of you who deny opposition the chance time and time again,
don’t worry, i will disappear from your country. Don’t need to hate me. I dislike the many with certain mentality here anyways. The people are responsible for Democracy by way of their votes. for 50 straight years, the opposition is denied despite all the reasons in the world for the need for a stronger opposition.
I suppose intellectual singaporeans prefer them to check on themselves.

Who among the non opposition supporters knows the aswers to Chiam’s HDB pricing? And what you do about it? I do not like this kind of mentality.

But as i said, don’t worry, I have seen how the game has changed. I will get rid of myself for you. I will migrate as soon as possible. I have given up all hope .

I leave you with another question:
1. How is singapore’s growth rate gonna be like? As rosey as the asian miracle days?

2. As more millions come in , how to create more jobs when even now, the number of unemployed citizens is at such a high level ?

3. enjoy the crowding?

ok, no need hate me. I will self unplug from this system and join the LOSERs aka Quitters. I have 1 consolation. My money.

Murky
Feb 19, 2010 9:37

HOW CAN THE ELECTIONS DEPARTMENT BE UNDER THE PURVIEW  OF THE RULING PARTY WHEN THE RULING PARTY ITSELF NEEDS TO SUBMIT FOR RE-ELECTION ??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

Leave a Reply

Comment

theonlinecitizen on Facebook