Andrew Loh observes some senior Singaporeans at work.
He smiled at me as he lifted the lid from the bin. Dressed in his green-coloured cleaner’s uniform, he would be in his 60s, I surmised. His head of white hair another sign of his seniority. He looks into the bin, replaces it and goes back to his workman’s trolley for a rag. He returns to clean up the cigarette ash on the tray on top of the bin.
As I watch him at that little corner of Terminal 3 (T3) at Changi Airport, I recall that he’s the same uncle who would be in the washroom each time I visited it. Perhaps today he’s been given another job to do – to clean and empty the bins around T3.
As he finishes his task at the bin and pushes his cart to the next bin, he stops to mop up a puddle of water on the floor.
When he is stationed at the washroom, his eyes would be glued to every person who entered it – until they leave. When I used the basin to wash my hands, he would be almost next to me, invariably. I do not know why he would ‘inspect’ me thus. That was what I felt and I have to admit that it made me uncomfortable at first. Later, however, I realized that perhaps he was only making sure the washroom, which undoubtedly he was in charge of, would be spick and span for everyone who uses it. Indeed, that washroom is just about the cleanest one I have visited in Singapore. Each toilet roll is in its place, the floor is dry and even shiny, and the washbasins are virtually sparkling.
The elderly gentleman should be proud of this – and we should be grateful that someone like him would take so much care of and spend so much time in that little men’s room.
He is not the only senior Singaporean working at the airport, of course. Down in Basement 2, you can find them at the foodcourt as well. I was having a meal one day and this elderly lady was doing her rounds cleaning tables and removing the used plates and utensils. I watched her silently as I ate my dinner. Slightly bent and with hands lined and wrinkled with age, she goes about carrying out her chores quietly, hardly looking up at the people around her. No one, as far as I can observe, says “thank you” to her for clearing their tables. When she came to my table, and I had already finished my meal, she took the tray with the bowl and chopsticks and stashed them away on her trolley. Out came a rag and in a moment the table was cleaned. “Thank you, auntie,” I said to her. She managed a little smile and said, in Mandarin, “Bu pi xie” (“No need to thank”).
Over at the newly revamped Tekka hawker centre at Little India, there are many of them, along with some women from China, cleaning tables. Each time I said ‘thank you’ to them, especially the local elderly ones, their faces would light up. I guess in a long day of cleaning tables, a small sign of appreciation from patrons goes a long way in making their jobs more enjoyable, perhaps.
It is an observable fact in Singapore that more and more of our elderly folks are working low-paying, manual jobs as cleaners and washers. While we may lament this fact, maybe what we should also focus on is how we as individuals can make these folks happy, even if it’s momentary.
Two words from us are all it takes – and it doesn’t take much to utter those two words.
The next time an elderly person comes and cleans your table, or tidies up the public washroom you used, do manage a “thank you”. After all, we all enjoy a clean table or a tidy washroom.
Saying “thank you” is not only basic courtesy but it is, truly, the very least we can do.
—–
Picture from http://vitamin-eng.blogspot.com
—–
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

Good observation! This simple expression of appreciation seems very much neglected, even to family, friends and colleagues. Just saying ‘thank you’ to anyone we interact on our daily routine brings a little sunshine. Thank you for the article. Smile!
I totally agree with you Andrew. There is a very strong deficiency in the level of ethics and courtesy in a lot of the locals, that a simple ‘thank you’ or a ‘please’ is beyond them, which reflects on the education system that the PAPies had instated here over the past few decades. WHAT A SHAME!!!
No. Two words are not enough. We want a government that takes good care of these elderlies, who are responsible for building sg to what it is — not LKY or the PAP. They should all be retired, given free food, free healthcare, and pensions.
This is why I like TOC. Bringing the real life stories to readers like us. Simple stories which reminds us of the important things in life.
Thank you.
And I will keep your advice in mind the next time I see an elderly S’porean serving us, cleaning our tables or our public restrooms.
I agree with you angry one. I shall elaborate tomorrow. Need to rush off now.
I work closely with building facilities management.
In one building, all the cleaners are local aunties. They may chitchat, talk about their grandchildren but when it comes to their work, they take real pride in ensuring everything is clean, spic and span.
Despite their age, they climb chairs, scrub hard and check little corners. Very little cleaning technology is made available and everything is clean simply because of hard scrubbing.
In another building, all the cleaners are Indian FT. They keep quiet, use the latest cleaning technology but there’s little pride in their work. They mop hard when ppl are around or they simply touch and go when no-one is observing.
End of day, we still get two clean buildings.
So where can’t we simply hire more aunties, upgrade their technology/skills and pay more instead of flooding with questionable FT?
Nice to see You so soon after getting to know that You left TOC just days ago.
I like to say that the reality in SIN is ‘Thank You’ is quite common for a job well done, BUT when elderlies are slow, unable to keep up with the demand(crowd) due to lack of working partners(employer cutting down on headcount), anger, expletive and colours are a lot more common than thank you.
Why are the elderlies, feeble old folks made to work as cleaners, security guards, trash collectors and other low paying menial jobs? We are all guilty in one way or another.
patriot
This is fundamentally a question about the social structure that singaporeans are brought up in. Be stingy with your thanks unless you make yourself look weak and demand more from others and less from yourself.
As a local who was brought up with more foreign ethics, there is a stark difference in attitudes and beliefs though its getting better over the years. Although a ‘thanks’ is freely given by me, I usually don’t expect expect the same from others but hey, you are what you are and I refuse to compromise by being at their level.
After reading the posts above, I wouldn’t blame the government about this. This is a matter where the heart is. Although I have to say, we have to be a more graceful society to progress our own culture and well-being for the sake of ourselves rather than to put up a show of dancing monkeys to entertain foreigners like what our government usually wants. Instill some real pride into carrying a red passport again because we the people feel less and less valued within our own homeland with each passing year. As subservient of a society we are, sooner or later, something and someone will break.
I think it’s sad that we need to be reminded daily of the words ‘thank you’. I was just having dessert at Chinatown and the auntie was clearing our joined tables, and asked if the (ridiculous amount of) untouched food was ours. I said no and struck up a small conversation that it was a lot to not touch at all, she smiled and replied. She was careful about not splashing the cloth she has to wipe down the table on our food, and I really appreciate that.
My dad is more respectful of the older generation than I am, chatting with them. I know he has helped them with pushing the cart (for those who collect cardboard boxes and cans for a living) and chatting with them, and I really think that he is the best
8) mr e.:
I don’t understand how saying ‘thank you’ and ‘excuse me’ is a form of weakness, but I do have friends who don’t do it. I don’t understand them, but I don’t judge them by saying I’d never stoop to their level. I think you’re also missing the point re: feeling less valued. I don’t think it was supposed to be as much a chagrined thought about how the older generation should have been taken care of, and not that we should stop blaming the government for our lack of graciousness?
#9:
I don’t understand why it is perceived as such amongst my local peers but I have been ridiculed for simple things like saying thank you or clearing trays by myself before. It is simply a difference in cultural assumptions. But even so, I will not ‘not’ say thanks to people who help me regardless of what other people say thus the ‘level’ comment.
I wasn’t really addressing the issue of valuing our greatest generation but just a social commentary on how words of appreciation is valued in Singapore. Its a sad thing when someone saying thank you to you is surprising as opposed to the norms of simple ignorance.
The government thing was more of a response to some of the earlier comments.
And someone says that we should still have to thank him for losing our millions in their TCs and after emailing all his TCs managment staff to avoid answering to the people that sends in their letters of complaints, this guy just disappeared in thin air, never heared anything from him since.
10) Mr. E
I am on the same page as you. : )
When we genuinely edify another fellow human being, only then do we feel the greatness of being alive in this beautiful world, and it is a beautiful world because we made it so by our positive perspective in our interactions with others and positive perspective in seeing with issues affecting us.
In contrast, a miserable person tend to make others as miserable as he is, and views all issues as if he is the victim and that the world is out to get him, and asd a result created himself a self fulfilling situation of a miserable world.
But it is the same one world.
I am a Singaporean expatriate living in Australia..and my colleagues are majority senior citizens..they enjoy good pay and family life as much ppl have already known…living and working with no stress at all and without any worries…and also…my neighbours are generally retired people and are enjoying their time with full of happines…U will seldom see them slog their sweat or working at the fast food rest or cafes or even washing/cleaning the toilets.Senior citizensare treated with full respect unlike our own senior citizens where jobs like security guards,all kind of cleaners’ jobs are waiting for them to apply..and worst…with much unappropriate less pay..I pity them….Its the young and elite ppl that the govt seems to cherish…more.
Thank you Andrew for writing this article. I totally agree that a simple gesture like saying `Thank You’ can go a long way.
The reason why the society is getting so heartless is because of the pressure cooker. It’s a chain reaction. The consumer today, for example is a very impatient and intolerant person. A slight defect in a product or a service falling short of expectation, he will not hestitate to pounce. This puts a lot of pressure on the companies which then pass it (the pressure) on to its employees and suppliers who pass it on to their employees and then their family members.
IF, we can just take one small step and be more patient, tolerant and kind to others, the chain-reaction can go the reverse way. So the next time you encounter a slow service or your faulty product is still not ready, tell the service staff `it’s ok, don’t worry about it’. Have a good day guys : )
13) Eddie
Great. But I am sure you are not saying that there is not a single poor old person in Australia who has to ” slog their sweat or working at the fast food rest or cafes or even washing/cleaning the toilets.”
Where I live, there are many old people, and not a single one of them is cleaning table or washing toilets. They are confortably retired. Do I then conclude that in whole Singapore not a single person ” slog their sweat or working at the fast food rest or cafes or even washing/cleaning the toilets.”
We see what we want to see.
There are beggers in the streets of Mumbai as well as there are in NY.
14) winstoncheng
We are either a product of the environment or the environment is the product of us.
Thanks for the kind complimentary words. I wrote the article at about midnight, when I was having trouble sleeping and was recalling those senior S’poreans I had encountered the last few days.
I am hoping to write about this bus-driver, about 50 years old, who’s the most courteous driver I have ever met. What a pleasure to ride on his bus everytime I meet him!
Although we may, as I said in the article, lament about the plight of our elderly, perhaps we should try and do our small part in making their lives a little better. It would such a shame if our elderly ended up being or feeling isolated and lonely in a city which is filled with people.
Each of us can do our small, little part in lightening up their day.
Lets leave the govt out of this one, ya?
Thru all my living years paying hefty taxes to the swines in white, I have never heard a slight whisper of “thank you” from them. In fact, we were told to be grateful to them for losing our monies thru investments.
we the citizens, must give due respect to our esteemed elderly doing toilet cleaning, sweep the floors, clearing tables, picking up cans and cardboard, tissue papers etc, after all, we will grow old as the years goes by, who know may be one of them is our relatives.
we must give great admiration to them that they are making a decent living by taking care our public places clean, neat and hygiene.
citizens, please don’t run away if our elderly approaching you to sell tissue papers, do our parts to help them in any small way we can, treat it like you buy 4D, toto etc, and give it to your office collegues for use. let us graciously give up our seats in mrt, buses for our elderly, pregnant woman, parents with children etc.
let us be proud of their past contribution in our beloved city, that we citizens are passionate and care for them, better than our Profit and Profit gahmen.
let us give our sincere saying from our heart “Thank you aunties or uncles whenever they approached us in their course of their works.
hope the days will come, heaven will strike by their own thunder on the million$ ministers of their failed policies and no moral ground of governing its cititzens especially for neglecting our elderly citizens.
19) Heavenknow
I was touched by what you wrote, with exception of the last para.
[i]15) KopitiamApek on November 10th, 2009 9.19 pm
We see what we want to see.
There are beggers in the streets of Mumbai as well as there are in NY. [/i]
do you see oleaged people sellin tissues in mumbai or in new york? how about perth? i been there a few times? maybe singaporean australian liked you don’t used tissues @ all? you used your face towel to wipe your ass after s h i tt i n g perhaps?
19) Heavenknow
you are consumed by anger in your words you write
17) Andrew Loh
Your last para is a freshing change.
Congrats! You may have finally broken out of your hate trap.
KopitiamApek,
What “hate trap”? I still do not like the PAP govt although I do not dislike all PAP MPs.
[i]Although we may, as I said in the article, lament about the plight of our elderly, perhaps we should try and do our small part in making their lives a little better. It would such a shame if our elderly ended up being or feeling isolated and lonely in a city which is filled with people.
Each of us can do our small, little part in lightening up their day.[/i]
every day where i go i talk to small fry liked the cleanin person whether in aircon or hawker centres..i alway greet them FIRST!..they alway reprocrite a smile in return for @ the very least they know i am not lookin DOWN on them…
remember! be humble..every hands you shale 1 day might dragged you out from a manhole you might fell in…don’t assumed you will never fall into a hole…
it seems that because of meritocracy policy, singaporean are build with the mentality to respect high class/rich/powerful people and look down on poor/low level. that is why when we see our boss, rich individual, ang mo etc, we appear to be very polite and envy of them. But when we see those people working in lowly jobs or looks shabby, we tend to either avoid them, pretend to never see them or look down of them.
This is the pathetic situation happening in Singapore, all thanks to who else? pappy policies of course.
24) Andrew Loh
/// I still do not like the PAP govt although I do not dislike all PAP MPs. ////
another refreshing balanced view
you are getting there !!
wei wei kopitiam ahpek even if you cannot REBUTT ion return don’t give me a thumb down score…
when i suaned you, i don’t even give you a negative thumb..
be a sport
be a gentleman
you typical kiasu/kiasee howlian singaporean..
yeah yah don’t pretend to act blurred deaf and dumb…
25) lauleetherubbisheater
You don’t look down on them, that’s great,
but why refer them as ” small fry “?
Isn’t that looking down on them too?
28) lauleetherubbisheater
you are quite paranoid to jump into that conclusion. But I think someone else out there must have agreed with me to have done that to you.
but take it easy, it is only a number, you are bigger than that, I am sure
A timely and gentle reminder for Singaporeans to be courteous despite the hardships imposed on us by the MIW. We must not sink to their level.
so in your owned words you would grade the toilet attendant as big boss?
same standard as leehsienlong perhaps?
no more thumb down on my scorecard?
even the bangala foreman would labelled our grandpas/grandmas who worked in the jumbuans as OEK!!!
[i]30) KopitiamApek on November 10th, 2009 11.20 pm 28) lauleetherubbisheater
you are quite paranoid to jump into that conclusion. But I think someone else out there must have agreed with me to have done that to you.
but take it easy, it is only a number, you are bigger than that, I am sure [/i]
you don’t think
you do not have the capablebility to think
just like our prince the prime minister
~period~
33) lauleetherubbisheater
~period~
is that the explanation for your mood?
32) lauleetherubbisheater
you are quite incomprehensable
I must admit you are an intellectual lifeform of another different dimension
[i] KopitiamApek on November 10th, 2009 11.28 pm 33) lauleetherubbisheater
~period~
is that the explanation for your mood? [/i]
try this for a size…shall we? yes yes you can polled this amon your 82 mps in parliament
leehsiehloong says somwhere if your oleaged parents is sufferin from terminal illness, we should let go and let them die so as to save medical cost..
but in his owned realive event..how come he still let his coma mother suffered beside sleepin in a fully 24/7 fully attended experienced senoir nurses
my parents both of them sufferred and die in pain..njo chance of even sleepin in a fully aicon intensive care unit not even for 1 night..
so do ~period~ answered your query in my mood?
[i]35) KopitiamApek on November 10th, 2009 11.31 pm 32) lauleetherubbisheater
you are quite incomprehensable
I must admit you are an intellectual lifeform of another different dimension [/i]
didn’t i mentioned before i am GIFTED with a 3rd eyed vision although i do not have the luxury of viewin down from a unmarked helicopter parkin in seletar airport..
it YOU who come from a different dimension.. i am just a longterm visit alien..
ole yes in my aliented world they used to call me yoda..no i don’t do yoga
It is very true that we are not a culture given in to expressing our gratitude in a loud and vocal manner. Very often than not, we prefer to keep them in our hearts and take for granted that they can be felt by the people who have touched our lives.
Allow me some space to relate a story or two to compliment the article. Many years ago, when I was at the crossroad of my life, I had wanted to cross over from one industry to another, to find a job that would be stable enough to provide for my family. I was 37 and no one was taking any chances with me until I stumbled upon one very kind-hearted gentleman who was willing to give me a chance. I was most grateful but did not saw it fit to express that gratitude even as I was showing it through the work I was doing. It was a few years later, when this gentleman left the department that I felt I should have done what I should have done – to tell him how much I had benefitted from his kindness. I am still in my job today, having risen through the ranks to be co-managing it now.
Recently, I had the unenviable task of having to release two of my elderly subordinates. Both have been with the company from as far back as 1952. When they had turned 62 years of age, they had their salary slashed by 10% as proposed by the government and supported by the union. The fear of losing their jobs did not allow them to cutback on their output to match the pay cuts. Instead they had to work harder to ensure employability. Workload-wise, with the continual expansion of the company, no added headcounts were catered for, which meant that the increasing workload had to be done by them all the same.
The past four to five years have seen me coming up with excuses upon excuses to keep them for as long as I could. They were still very productive and it made no sense to let them go. Still, the pressure was on me to let them go because it was felt that they were too old, unproductive and too expensive to keep. So, eventually I had to let them go but before I did that, I organized a sending-off party where everyone in the office could have a chance to not only say goodbye, but to also say something nice about them and how they had touch their lives. I did a video recording of what each wanted to say, used it to raise a sending-off fund and gave them something to remember by. They both cried as did everyone else. It was a bitter-sweet moment but one I will forever cherish.
One month later, when I was told that there was a vacant position from one of our partner vendors that needed to be filled, I did not hesitate to recommend both of them. The vendor immediately snapped one of them up, having seen first-hand how productive, energetic and capable this elder had been. Age was not a concern to this company and this elder is now happily employed again. He is 68.
There was concern over the other ‘uncle’ who remained jobless. We continued to keep in touch with him to make sure that he is getting by and that his health does not begin to deteriorate with having nothing to do and all alone at home. He is all of 73 years.
Just last week, while handling a new project, I immediately re-employed him, even if is on a temp contract.
This is just one example where the healthy, fit and able-bodied older worker has to be laid off because of his age. In the past few years, I have tried out many younger workers but none was able to match up to these old folks. Not one could replace the experience they had acquired over the course of their lifetime, knowing exactly what is required of them and most importantly, to do the job with pride and passion. I wouldn’t have replaced them for anything in the world if the decision is mine alone.
Now that my story has been told, who then should we put the blame on?
gemami at 38),
I hate you for causing the tear to flow uncontrollably from my eyes.
angry_one on November 10th, 2009 3.48 pm
“No. Two words are not enough. We want a government that takes good care of these elderlies, who are responsible for building sg to what it is — not LKY or the PAP. They should all be retired, given free food, free healthcare, and pensions. ”
I totally agree with you that the entire nation have a duty of care for the elderly by substantially increase the welfare and care provided. Of course, this should be mean tested so that someone with a yearly income or 3 million should not entitled to it.
We the wealth of the nation growing, with our needs to be seen as a more “cultured” society (sans the token free hugs and attending loyd webber’s newest hit”, we need to start with the real need of this elderly.
At the rate the government is heading, i fear that the economy rationalisation may one day lead to a disposal of them to a 3rd country (e.g. ship them to africa or indonesia) that services as a gigantic hospice for all elderly who can’t affort the living here.
To gemami (38)
Your kind acts will be remembered by all …
You know, if there are more kind souls like u, this place would be so much better to live in.
I really feel sad and angry at our so called FIRST CLASS government who make a mockery of our workers who slogged long hours for `peanuts’ and constantly
having to worry that they would be replaced if they are not..
Cheaper, better, faster
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sZRhJOjNiyM
By the way, i feel the same way as Depresso (39), was touced too but i am proud of you (not hate definitely) as a singaporean for treating those old uncles with dignity and respect !
“Now that my story has been told, who then should we put the blame on?”
Let me guess, it should begin with a letter G or M.
Dear Andrew Loh.
I would like to go one step farther in recommending TOC readers
to tip those stress out old ladies with some loose change ,the next time when we have lunch in food courts.Here is my experience when i was in Singapore last May.
I was having my lunch alone on a 2nd floor food court at IMM in
Jurong East.There was this family of four seating at the next table,apparently wanted
the lady cleaner to have a 2nd wipe on their table.They asked her in a very polite way but for some reason, this gloomy looking old lady was very agitated by their request
and told them off with a loud voice saying,”just wait a moment”in mandarin and right
after that she started mumbling to herself in Hokkien something in a line like’who do you think i am,a slave?’.I can concur with you observations in regards to those
low-paying cleaners who work their asses off just to have cleaner environment for
us to enjoy and we should understand their frustration.When it was her time to
clean the table where i was at,I,too like you,gave her a big thank you and gave a
a dollar coin in appreciation.She look at me with an amazement and give me a
hesitating smile and say Thank you in return.Just before i was about to move on,
she came to me and told me how kind i was and wished every lunch goers are
like me.You see,a smile,a big thank you and perhaps some loose change goes
a long way and that simple gesture can light up a person life.Thank you again.
I do two little things in my own little way to help the elderly people who work in low-paying jobs.
One, I make it a point to buy the little packets of tissue paper from the old people who peddle such stuff at food courts. My car is filled with these packets but what the heck, they will come in useful.
Two, I also buy a couple of fruits for the old cleaning lady in my office block, each time I see her eating her lunch.
These are just small gestures — and they are all I can afford to do, as I am not that much younger than these old people. But heck, as I tell ny kids, who knows, one day your old man might well be one of these old people — selling tissues and cleaning offices.
Better be kind to them, while I still can. hahha.
Woah HBK, Relak lah brudder. You sound like you are going to tear the whole place down – but never mind – I still like it. You tell it like it is.
Of late, there seem to be quite a lot of frustrated citizens beginning to make themselves heard. Let us not get too overly excited just because we are beginning to hear voices that sound like ours. Let us also not get excited when they don’t.
HBK, let us put your ramblings into perspective. We know our population is a graying one and that we need to look after the increasing number of old folks. But what are we doing toward this end? Let’s take a closer look.
1. On top of the list – we are bringing in more and more younger foreign workers who will not only contribute to our economy with their so-called talents but to also help replenish our declining birth rate. That’s why the so-called talents, that we had at first wanted to bring in, are now made up of dish-washers, cleaners and attendants.
2. Second on the list is infrastructure. As examples, take a look at our MRT trains and buses these days. Seats are being taken off in place of standing room to increase capacity.
Where are the old folks going to find seats? I often wonder why there are so many handicap-friendly buses. Is there something the government know that it is not telling? We should be making more space for old folks to move around conveniently. If the anticipation is a drastic increase in handicapped old folks – then something is not right, and we should be afraid.
3. Next is the number of overhead pedestrian bridges we are seeing all over the island. To pretend to care for the old folks and their safety, they build railings to prevent crossing instead of more zebra or traffic light crossings. Imagine you come down from a bus as a handicap old folk and having to wheel yourself a hundred to two hundred meters away to cross the road? Makes a mockery of the salary we are paying these clowns.
4. Jobs is next. You do not even have to be classified an old folk at the national level of 62 years. Once you hit 35, you are in trouble never mind if you are 62. Why should this government even consider reinstating the 10% paycut it had proposed for those hitting 62 years. Should not a good government be considering how to help these 62 year olds enjoy life and live the rewards for contributing to nation-building all their lives?
We have become a foolish people. It is time to wake up and see things for what they are. Wake up from our slumber and get real. Let us make this government see reality for what it is – not some notion it has up in their financially over-loaded heads.
We must ignore the fake courtesy campaign put up by the government to cultivate and internalise genuine courtesy within our very being. Saying thank you, loudly and clearly to those who serve us and host of other polite words will go a long way to make this place a gentle society. Remember courtesy also extends to family and friends as well.
We have to do this even though we’re under a pressure cooker environment genereated by the government. Otherwise, we only have ourselves to blame.
Hi HBK,
Your post is way off the topic in question but it does provide a very enlightening read. There are some very excellent and relevant points you have brought up. Very good food for thought.
You are right that the IT people we have been bringing in are not those who are so talented that they can help us rake in the millions, but those who are no better than the IT-trained Singaporean. Why do we need these to make life difficult for the Singaporean worker? There is only one answer – they are cheaper.
I like your solution approach in Example 1. This is what we ought to be doing the day we decided to bring in foreign talents. They must not be brought in to replace the citizen but to help the citizen grow to be as talented as them. This is the direction we should work toward so that we can set a time for ourselves to be able to stand on our own two feet. Why do we continue to depend on others to fish for us, is beyond comprehension. We will die the day we cannot afford to pay these people to fish for us.
Your second example pinpoints the flaw in our system. Many have already recognized this loophole but this government is too happy patting themselves on their own backs that they are now refusing to believe that stories like this is real.
Maybe I can go a step further to share what I see in and around my estate. There are so many grandfathers and grandmothers – both from India and China – looking after grandchildren while their parents go to work each day. Very often you will see only one of the parents working to support the rest in the family. How is this possible? One income supporting the stay of a spouse, grandparents and children. It might be interesting to go find out where their additional income come from.
Hi gemami,
They all fool the system and quietly make money…I am not sure if everyone is aware.
1) The get the subsidy for housing, they move in and rent out 2 common rooms right from the DAY ONE…, Which means Money is flowing in as rental Income. This is supposed to be illegal and clear violation of HDB Norms
2) They never give rental Agreement to any of the tenants..So In case of a Dispute the tenants are the loosers…
They cannot even go and complain to police..Because they have no PAPER WORK TO PROVE.
3) They never declare their Rental Income to IRAS and thereby never pay the Income Tax Applicable
4) Most of these guys also engage in doing Real Estate Agent business. Legally speaking when someone is working as full time employee of any organization he is not supposed to engage in any other full time or part time employment outside his current company. They are street smart..They secretly work as a Real Estate Agent and involve in Rental, Buying & Selling of HDB Houses.
They will have their wife (They wont even have a license) to work from home and make them hunt for houses for rental or sales using the Websites & Strait Time Paper..They do co-broking with other agents.
They will mainly target Foreign Workers from India mainly because these sheep’s will trust them of race.
NOW this is where the Game Starts. These people will have a license from ERA or Dennis Wee or whatever…they will never issue any of the receipts from the agency. Instead they will issue a normal receipt that you get in a local stationery shop…
Trust me these agents don’t even put their IC Number & name in the signature area…….STREET SMART
Again this income is not shown to the government. They will not pay any tax for it.
Lot of my friends have got cheated by these crooks.
DO YOU NOW SEE HOW THEY ARE CONTRIBUTING TO THE ECONOMY.???
WONDERFUL AND AMAZING RIGHT??
HBK
While Andrew loh was busying observing the reaction and responses of the cleaners/workers, i was going further a step. I was observing how many people actually says the 2 words or appreciations to the workers.
One word : Nil, zero, kosong, …….
( Just makes me wonder how many people here actually did that, talk is cheap…posts in forum is easy , pointing fingers at others also very convenient…haha)
[i]One word : Nil, zero, kosong, …….[/i]
are you callin me a LIAR?
i am goin to sue your pants OFF!!!
just because you cannot or don’t do it
you ASSUMED every contributors here talk shiok shake balls for fun?