Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

77 Responses to “And the winner of the 2009 MM Award is…”

1. mice is nice 27 December 2009

Nick Ong

post #50 on December 27th, 2009 4.04 pm

////eh… by the way hor, since he got the most prestigious award, got plaque for him or not har?////

so easy, just print page or save as HTML doc in his home PC or laptop! :P

its cheaper, better, faster. can laminate & frame in his office & home! :)

2. Lawrence 27 December 2009

Singapore is indeed “unique”. We even redefined labour movement where employers and political government sleep in the same bed as workers. Is this what we really want? A nation with no other dreams than to be herded like docile lambs to maintain our kiasu economy.

3. Please read my earlier comment at no 19.

Honourably name him as Mr ” Never Trust U Cheapskate ” man –

since he preaches and advocates cheap labour ………..uniquely cheapskate

to the core hor.

4. Nick Ong 27 December 2009

51) mice is nice on December 27th, 2009 4.43 pm

so easy, just print page or save as HTML doc in his home PC or laptop! :P

its cheaper, better, faster. can laminate & frame in his office & home! :)

:D :D

5. Nick Ong 27 December 2009

45) Band of Brothers on December 27th, 2009 1.16 pm

I would certainly like to hear his helicopter cheap speech for wining the 2009 MM awards. He is so deserving for such honour from TOC award 2009.

skarly he use ‘booomz’

6. kaomangai 27 December 2009

Some tributes for our MM recipient: -

1. He is denying a village somewhere of an idiot.

2. He would be out of his depth in a parking lot puddle.

3. He has reached rock bottom and now he has started to dig.

4. He will have a lot of people following him but only out of curiosity.

5. When he opens his mouth, it seems that it is only to change feet.

6. If he were any more stupid, he’d have to be watered twice a week.

7. If you stand close enough to him, you can hear the oceans.

8. He has set low standards and consistently fail to achieve them.

9. If you gave him a penny for his thoughts, you’d get change.

10. Gates are down, lights are flashing, but the train isn’t coming.

11. He should go far, and the sooner he starts the better.

12. Some drink from the fountain of knowledge, he only gargled.

7. PAP RC member 27 December 2009

My congratulations to Lim Swee Say for winning 2009′s Foot In the Mouth accolade. This lifetime achievement award stands him in good stead to clinch other online honours.

Chosen for his Everyman image and style of speaking, Swee Say has superseded the PAP leadership’s wildest expectation. He has exceeded, gone beyond, surpassed his Everyman role, way beyond, and has now perfected the art of AUTOMATICALLY shooting himself in his foot everything he opens his mouth.

The latest gossip after this award is that most Singaporeans will vote for him because he speaks and talks like us. Very Singlish mah, very likeable and non- elitist what ! A leader who can spiak like that !

8. Cheaper, better, faster…

Can can… let’s load up the plane with foreign talents who are able to be more efficient as ministers and retrench the whole Parliament. Lim Swee Say will definitely be supportive of that since we can hire them at a lower salary.

Right?

Hehehee…

9. Sick and tired 28 December 2009

OMG! What in the world was that?!

And he’s paid millions?!

No wonder so many foreigners are attracted to S’pore

No standard also can earn so much money.

10. LastLaugh 28 December 2009

Lim Swee Say is everything you expect of a clown. The face, the way he speaks,
    the expressions, the stupidity of his quotes….. in other words, he is a natural.
    … ideal to be in the undertaking business, dispensing jokes to customers.

I would have enjoyed the entertainment Lim Swee Say brings to politics and would not give a hoot he is in the PMO, if not for the fact he is collecting $Millions from public funds.

Somehow I have this gut feel the old fart is well aware his son is spineless, looks dumb, has a sexual gait, unconvincing in his speech, low on confidence…..
    and therefore it becomes imperative to put morons next to the son……
    …..strategically to make son look better in comparison ?

Come to think of it, I don’t think we have seen the best of Lim Swee Say,
    which can come about only if he is given the chance to head each ministry in turn. Can you imagine all the things Lim Swee Say will say to the public ?

11. Shake head 28 December 2009

Do people expect mafia employees to say nice things that are rational and meaningful to the people subjected to their operation? If they do, they are out and in the first place, good people won’t join mafias. Thats why we get all of them spilling absolute garbage (talent or not) that can even be offensive to the public.

12. In one of my science class during my school years long time ago, one science teacher said that “”

13. contd.#62…Light travels faster than sound. That is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak.

14. jiangbao 28 December 2009

And I thought Mah would win this by the mile.

15. My Views 29 December 2009

News of the day, 29 Dec 2009 :

“AFTER a year of being on the defensive, the labour movement now wants to go on the offensive.

On Tuesday, labour chief Lim Swee Say gave a bullish outlook for the job market in the coming year, saying the National Trades Union Congress (NTUC) wants to get Singapore back to full employment next year as well as ramp up efforts for groups like the PMETs (professionals, managers, executives and technicians), who have been severely hit in this downturn.

‘This year was the year of the defensive play – save jobs and keep retrenchment down,’ he said.

‘The year 2010 is going to be the year of the offensive play. We are going all out to score goals, to pursue higher economic growth, to pursue stronger job creation, to lower the unemployment rate and at the same time, increase the employment rate.’

Mr Lim’s target is for an overall unemployment rate of under 3 per cent, a full employment level Singapore has enjoyed for most of the past 10 years. In fact, the unemployment rate in 2007 was 2.1 per cent.

As for boosting employment, he sought not just to draw groups like women and older workers back to work, but also make better use of PMETs. ”

Now you guys got to eat your harsh words!

It is a sensible strategy : when the world’s economy has gone sour, companies are cutting costs to survive – thus a strategy of defensive is the most approriate option. And when the economy recovers, an offensive strategy is the cleverest of all.

Sounds so logical and yet such a common sense easily get loss when the population starts to push blames.

16. //My Views

Lim Swee Say is logical what a joke!

The increase in employment comes at the expense of a erosion of pay.

If labour is less costly, the demand will be higher.

So, what is so significant? He basically lower the pay of the locals through the introduction of FT?

What achievement is there to speak of?

Rubbish.

17. //My Views

//Mr Lim’s target is for an overall unemployment rate of under 3 per cent, a full employment level Singapore has enjoyed for most of the past 10 years. In fact, the unemployment rate in 2007 was 2.1 per cent.

//As for boosting employment, he sought not just to draw groups like women and older workers back to work, but also make better use of PMETs. ”

//Now you guys got to eat your harsh words!

It is his job. He is being paid very well for it. He is like a job agent.

We still have to see if he doesn’t deliver.

18. robin hood 29 December 2009

“Sounds so logical and yet such a common sense easily get loss when the population starts to push blames.”

even robin hood robbed for a logical reason – to help the poor.

19. shamemudgameismyname 29 December 2009

[i]As for boosting employment, he sought not just to draw groups like women and older workers back to work, but also make better use of PMETs. ”

Now you guys got to eat your harsh words!
    [/i]

you meant your grandparents would be engineers onced again?
    wow!
    congratulation
    which department…
    sanitary..or waste diposal sections?

20. mice is nice 29 December 2009

My Views

post #65 on December 29th, 2009 2.46 pm

////Sounds so logical and yet such a common sense easily get loss when the population starts to push blames.////

that is a big problem, people who think that textbook formula will always work out in reality.

the textbook cannot foresee potential problems like recession, no wonder S’pore also kenna hit. so logical, lol…

the bottomline, reality is not constrained by logic & common sense! :D

21. Refer to No. 35 My Views on December 27th, 2009 4.34 am

I agree that rude unnecessary name calling is not to be condoned.
    In such respect, the title of “Minister Moron” is also not a good idea to start a thread, indeed if anything, it paves the way for rude posts.

I guess TOC is tryng to ape western society where you can make joke about the President and the President himself has a good laugh over it. That is really class, but as you implicated, Asians are too serious and they don’t know how to laugh at themselves. But yes, i agree that we have to be sensible and not go overboard in mudslinging.

Now let me try to understand you, anon poster name of MYVIEW. You said, “No loyal citizen or people with self-respect would tolerate people belittling their own leaders! ”

You are saying effectively that as a good citizen of Singapore we shall never belittle any government officer? And conversely, one who belittles any government officers are DISLOYAL citizens. (which means i think 99% of TOC bloggers are disloyal citizens)

I find your proposal unrealistic and somewhat naive.

Respect has to be earned. People in high office are paid high salaries, so in return, we want to see intelligence, wit, class, finesse, vibes, and style in the way they conduct themselves. Here we have someone who keeps saying wrong things (President Bush used to be the subject of great jokes even, so is his vice presidnet) which make people laugh or worry. I cannot imagine how his unimpressive pronunciation, speech and style would be accepted by other observers of the utube video in the international community. If i am a european i would be wondering, my god, do singaporeans speak like that? What terrible delivery. As a singaporean i feel ashamed to be associated with such a poor speaker on international media (utube).

If anything, we are not belittling the honorable LSS. On the contrary, he is belittling us in front of the world. Because he is considered as top-dog, Ministerial calibre, worker par excellence, by his bosses. As a consequence, the rest of the world would think all singaporeans are of such standards in terms of speech, oratorical, leadership qualities since the video is a tiny window on singapore for which others judge Singaporeans – and thereby belittle us.

You also mentioned, about Singapore’s most-admirable model of tripartism. Could you tell me exactly, what recent activities were done which command such deep admiration and respect? I very much would like to repent and learn how to be a good loyal citizen from you, sir.

zero

22. very logical 30 December 2009

“Sounds so logical and yet such a common sense easily get loss when the population starts to push blames.”

ya lah, electricity prices going up again. sounds so logical again. now they said that the rise was entirely due to oil prices. back to logic this time.

23. Nick Ong 30 December 2009

by the way hor, anyone saw the new harvey norman advertisement? the cartoon bugger like the mm award winner (LSS) hor? with that stupid looking hair

24. My Views 1 January 2010

In many other countries, workers went on strike whenever negotiations with management broke down. Look at what happened in Korea, France, UK and Australia – the public and customers ended up being the ones suffering the most. Airports flooded with passengers for days, sea ports jammed with containers waiting for urgent delivery, cars and shops along the streets being burnt down, people injured and killed …. Goodness! Madness!

You don’t see these unionised riots and murders in Singapore. Why? Here is the open secret which other countries can only admire but unable to replicate : Singapore’s unique model of tripartism.

25. mice is nice 1 January 2010

My Views

post #74 on January 1st, 2010 5.47 pm

eh, so what good does this tripartism do for the employees, the working masses? please highlight some would you?

thanks in advance.

26. for comments @35 and 71 and 74

As MyView didnt further comment on my mail 71 regarding the issue of “No loyal citizen or people with self-respect would tolerate people belittling their own leaders! ” , so, i presume that he/she would agree that good loyal citizens doesn’t mean a citizen who shuts up and say nothing when things are not right and when people in power are not displaying skills commensurate with their appointments.

On the contrary, a good loyal citizen is one who speaks up. If one sees a multimillion dollar top caliber (supposedly) bungle up to the extent as demonstrated in the original TOC blog post, there is nothing wrong for citizens to criticise it, are we so apathetic and blind that we have to say, forgive him. I’ll do that, if only his paycheck didn’t come from my monthly income taxes payments MYVIEW would do well to apologise for implicating that those who discredit the nation’s leaders are disloyal citizens.

MYVIEWS also said that tripartism is the secret of peaceful environment in Singapore, WRONG again. Tripartism is supposed to mean excellent cooperation between independent entities of government, union, and employer. In singapore the government is 100% controlling the union with a minister holding the reins on the trade union. In singapore if you dare so much as to start a strike you go to jail. That’s why we have peace, because nobody wants to lose his job, and worse still end up in jail. Worst still, any worker or citizen can be locked up for 20 years without trial, if you happen to cross path in a way which allows “them” to do you in. The peaceful environment, much as i appreciate it, is nothing to do with “model of tripartism”. It is because of draconian laws. It is also because of the singapore culture build up from primary school days where we are taught to be robotic obedient digits with no heads. Ironically this is the greates obstacle we face in politics, economic and social revival in the land.

Regarding those scenario of strikes etc. i think basically you are saying it results in human suffering. Those are visible sufferings. Did it occur to you that there are invisible sufferings? Do you know how much suffering a person can get if deprived of the right to speak something reasonable? Have you experienced it? Have you ever been unfairly treated and then tied with arms round your hands and gagged on the mouth?

A rich man can only see the visible sufferings on tv, the strikes once in a while. Yet there are those who has to do with suffering his entire life, because of certain unreasonable rules in our society. Which suffering is worse, a couple of days strike or endless daily suffering?

If we have to trade in one week of strikes, in exchange for an equitable society where people are happy, parents feel proud to bring up children in this land of hours, people truly respect their leaders the way they manage problems, i would anytime go for the society which would tolerate occasional strikes to resolve mutual problems. Strikes is just a bargaining process, In doesnt last. After a few days peaceful settlement is reached. What’s the problem? It is short sighted to say that strikes are bad, just as it is wrong to say, fire is bad.

Above all things we want justice, and fairplay in this land we call our home.

zero

27. suresh 11 May 2011

SORRY MR LIM
    YOU WILL BE THE NEXT MINISTER TARGETED BY OPPOSITION AND I DO NOT THINK WE NEED A LABOUR MINISTER ADMINISTER TRIPARTITE SYSTEM.

IF YOU LOOK AT THE MEANING OF TRIPARTITE SYSTEM, GOVERNMENT, TRADE UNION, AND EMPLOYERS. IT IS ONLY IN SINGAPORE THE LABOUR MINISTER IS RUNNING THE TRADE UNION. THIS IS JOKE……. WE GOT TO LET THE PAP KNOW THIS MUST CHANGE AND TRADE UNION MUST BE GIVEN FREEDOM TO EXERCISE WORKERS RIGHT’S RATHER THAN MAKING IT PAP CONTROLLED UNION.

MR LIM…….. FUTHERMORE…. HE REQUESTED FOR RETIREMENT BEFORE THE ELECTION…….. HE INTEND TO STEP DOWN AT AGE 62 (NEXT ELECTION)….. BG LEE RESPONDED BY SAYING HE WILL DECIDE WHEN ONE WILL STAY OR GO…… I MUST SAY THE PEOPLE WILL DECIDE WHO WILL BE GIVEN THE POWER TO STAY OR LEAVE.

AS PER MR LIM REQUEST… I HAVE STARTED MY CAMPAIGN AGAINST MR LIM AND HE WILL BE VOTED OUT AS MINISTER IN 5 YEARS TIME, MY REASON FOR HIM TO LEAVE IS ” DO NOT NEED A LABOUR MINISTER TO RUN THE TRADE UNION MOVEMENT”
    I CALLING ALL MY FRIENDS WHO SHARE MY VIEWS AND PLEASE MAKE THE MESSAGE KNOWN TO THE POPULATION AT LARGE AND THE TRADE UNION MOVEMENT NEEDS IS FREEDOM AND WORKERS ARE THE BACKBONE OF OUR NATION, I ACCUSE THE PAP HAVE CRIPPLED THE MOVEMENT AND MAKE IT AS PAP MOUTH PIECE AND MY FRIENDS, CHANGE THE SYSTEM….. IF PAP SINCERELY SUPPORT TRANSFORMATION… THIS IS WHAT THEY SHOULD DO FIRST……. IF NOT IT IS JUST WATCHING A TRANSFORMERS MOVIE ….. NO MEANING…..

PLEASE FORWARD MY MESSAGE TO AS MANY FRIENDS, MAKE KNOWN THEM, WE DO NOT NEED A LABOUR CHIEF FROM GOVERNMENT TO RUN THE LABOUR MOVEMENT…. LABOUR MOVEMENT IS ABLE TO LEAD ON ITS ON RIGHT…. WITHOUT THE ASSISTANCE FROM GOVERNMENT….

LASTLY…. I CALLING FOR MR LIM SWEE SAY TO VOTED OUT IN 5 YEARS TIME, THE COUNT DOWN STARTS NOW…. CHEERS