Andrew Loh

“Will he ever stop bashing Singapore?” – screamed a big bold headline in a New Paper report in October 2007. It was in reference to the secretary-general of the Singapore Democratic Party, Dr Chee Soon Juan. Dr Chee was accused of “bashing Singapore” for questioning then-Deputy Prime Minister S Jayakumar at the International Bar Association symposium here.

Indeed, in past years, opposition politicians have been accused of and criticized for being less than loyal to the country, especially when they speak overseas. It is a criticism which government ministers and the local media have played up to the full.

So, when Minister Mentor (MM) Lee Kuan Yew did the same in an interview with National Geographic in July 2009, one would have to ask the same question of the MM: “Will you ever stop bashing Singaporeans?” The question should also be directed at People’s Action Party Members of Parliament as well, such as Mr Sam Tan and Mr Charles Chong. (More of that later.)

The MM, in his National Geographic interview, effectively compared Singaporeans to animals when he said, “No, I think the spurs are not stuck on your hinds. They are part of the herd, why-go-faster?” He was answering a question about Singaporeans’ seeming lack of drive. And in quintessential MM arrogance, he went on, “We tell them look they have got to work harder or they’ll become stupid.” He added, “Singaporeans are champion grumblers.”

This is, of course, not the first time that the MM has disparaged Singaporeans but what made this latest instance more disconcerting is that he chose to do so in an interview with a foreign publication. It makes one wonder if the MM, living on his laurels, has become so arrogant that he does not feel there would be any political consequences to this.

More importantly, is the MM painting a picture of Singaporeans as a defective people to the world?

This is not the first time that the MM has used the word “stupid” when speaking of Singaporeans.

In his 1983 National Day Rally speech, when he was Prime Minister, MM Lee said, “If you don’t include your women graduates in your breeding pool and leave them on the shelf, you would end up a more stupid society…So what happens? There will be less bright people to support dumb people in the next generation. That’s a problem.”

But that is not the worst of it. In the 1997 book, The Man And His Ideas, he was quoted as having said, “Mine is a very matter-of-fact approach to the problem. If you can select a population and they’re educated and they’re properly brought up, then you don’t have to use too much of the stick because they would already have been trained. It’s like with dogs. You train it in a proper way from small. It will know that it’s got to leave, go outside to pee and to defecate. No, we are not that kind of society. We had to train adult dogs who even today deliberately urinate in the lifts.”

And more recently, his comment about Singaporeans wanting more opposition or alternative voices in Parliament, that “the cure for all this talk is really a good dose of incompetent government” again brought to the fore the thinking behind the man, his attitude towards Singaporeans. He warned that “your security will be at risk and our women will become maids in other people’s countries, foreign workers.”

Grumblers. Animals. Stupid. Dogs. Maids.

There is no politician in the world who would get away with calling his own citizens these. Yet, by the looks of it, MM Lee’s remarks over the years have not met with much outcry. It is a serious problem if Singaporeans are so mellowed or disempowered to the point of being nonchalant to such disparagement – even if it is from a founding father of modern Singapore.

Where is our pride?

Yet, it seems that the MM is not the only one whose arrogant ways have taken root. Memorably, People’s Action Party MPs too have displayed signs of such conceitedness and contempt of their fellow Singaporeans.

MP for Pasir Ris-Punggol GRC, Mr Charles Chong, termed Singaporeans “lesser mortals” earlier this year (2009), when commenting on the civil servant who spent some S$45,000 in a cooking class while on holiday in France. “This may naturally lead to unhappiness and even envy especially during difficult times,” Mr Chong said.

In a similar vein, another PAP MP, Mr Sam Tan, accused Singaporeans of being “molly-coddled”. “A boy who is mollycoddled is a very different person from the one who is physically tough and takes spills without fear and whining,” Mr Tan was quoted by the Straits Times as having said.

It is worrying that the ridicule of Singaporeans come from the highest office-holders in the land as well. In his 2002 National Day Rally speech, then-Prime Minister Goh Chok Tong weighed in on the brain drain issue. “Fair-weather Singaporeans will run away whenever the country runs into stormy weather. I call them ‘quitters’”, he said bluntly.

Perhaps our leaders are trying to spur Singaporeans to greater heights by these remarks. Perhaps they’re trying to jolt Singaporeans into a realization of our vulnerabilities. While that may be good, one would question if disparaging Singaporeans is the best way to do so.

If one looks at the praises these very same Members of Parliament heap on themselves, the contrast is especially startling. Basically, government ministers and MPs are in quite a different league from ordinary “mere mortals”.

Here are some examples of self-praise by those in government:

Teo Chee Hean:

“The government is a special government… Singapore is helped along by afirst-class, excellent, efficient, uncorrupted public service.” (CNA)

Irene Ng:

“Singapore is governed by extraordinary men willing to make personal sacrifices” (CNA)

Lee Hsien Loong:

“Singaporeans know we have done the right thing. The participants agree, too, and nobody alleges any hanky panky. There are proper procedures and due diligence. Who else can do that in the world?” (CNA)

Lee Hsien Loong:

“They are most impressed by how we have maintained the vigour and quality of our government, without becoming complacent after so many years in power. They want to learn how our system has stayed clean, and our ministers and officials honest.” (AsiaOne)

Yaacob Ibrahim:

“Frankly speaking, you cannot find another civil service quite like it. It’s an ecosystem. … Look at other countries — how the civil service is corrupt, inept, inefficient. Ours is on the ball. They get the job done.” (CNA)

Lee Kuan Yew:

“To make the transformation from what we were in 1959 or 1965, to what we are requires an extraordinary government with extraordinary government officers to support it.” (AsiaOne)

A world of difference from “stupid”, “dogs”, “maids”, “mere mortals”. A great affective divide indeed.

While these unkind remarks on Singaporeans have always been limited to within Singapore itself, MM Lee’s latest comments reported by National Geographic is something new. We have a senior minister in government making the most unkind remarks about the people he governs in an interview with a foreign publication.

All Singaporeans should reject such remarks. But even if one agrees with the points raised by the MM through his comments, one should question if a senior government minister should make such remarks to foreigners or foreign publications.

After all, isn’t this exactly what the government itself had criticized opposition politicians for  allegedly doing? Did not our government-controlled media label such opposition politicians as “traitors”?

Indeed, from all the callous remarks about Singaporeans throughout the years, one should ask of the Minister Mentor and his fellow party MPs, “Praise yourself all you want but will you ever stop bashing Singaporeans?”

The consequence is a serious one, make no mistake. It results in a divide between the people and those who govern them. A nation is not built by its leaders making its people feel small.

On the contrary, nations are destroyed that way.

——

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

Tags:

127 Responses to “Bashing Singaporeans – PAP gets in on the act”

1. @ 19) gg on December 31st, 2009 8.55 am :

I agree .. we should act on the above and engage our MPs instead of letting them rest on their laurels.

@ 39) Singaporean on December 31st, 2009 11.28 am :

It’s a myth that 66.6% of Singaporeans voted for the PAP. The majority of the different seats/GRCs were walkovers – and why was that? Because of the insanely unjust system in place at the moment; the gerrymandering, the elections department being under the PMs office, the control on the MSM by the incumbent etc.etc. That’s why opposition parties have it so hard trying to get their ideas of what they feel is best for Singapore across imo.

2. mice is nice 31 December 2009

A Tan

post #35 on December 31st, 2009 11.13 am

////And if thinking abt making -ve comments abt MM. Ever tot that if you want him to fade away, juz ignore him?////

the fact that he is still so politically active indicates how impossible that is. do pests like mozzies just “fade away” when you ignore them?

////He could, like a Seth Lord, gain strength from -ve vibes.////

truth, or he could just create those -ve vibes. its just so easy, he could well be the seed of it…

3. sefergfe 31 December 2009

MP for Pasir Ris-Punggol GRC, Mr Charles Chong, termed Singaporeans “lesser mortals” earlier this year (2009), when commenting on the civil servant who spent some S$45,000 in a cooking class while on holiday in France. “This may naturally lead to unhappiness and even envy especially during difficult times,” Mr Chong said.

these words by the mp is really tooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo much.

4. Singaporean 31 December 2009

50) Knuts on December 31st, 2009 3.26 pm

I know it is not true that 66.6% of Singaporeans voted for the PAP.

That’s why I was careful to say “the 66.6% of voters”.

5. mice is nice 31 December 2009

Singaporean

post #53 on December 31st, 2009 5.17 pm

adding to the confusion of the “66.6% of Singaporeans voted for the PAP”, how many were PR turned S’porean just to enjoy the benefits that being a S’porean offer. maybe a further breakdown of those numbers would be an eye-openner!! :)

yeah, numbers dun tell the whole story.

6. commentator 31 December 2009

MM Lee will stop bashing Singaporeans only when Singaporeans stop being bashful.

7. sweeney 38 31 December 2009

So, now we are termed as “they”, lesser mortals” lazy. stupid, et cetra, et cetra.

Good, on Election Day, we will excercise our stupidity by voting for the Opposition..

You are all very corrupted and we cannot afford to continue paying millions!!

8. f**kthe pap 31 December 2009

pap, after the prolong years in power, has forgotten its root. pap has forgotten singapore is a democratic society, where voting still count.

pap though that as long as the extermal powers are “settled with”, the native singporean will not be such a threat.

pap make china happy by importing huge number of chinese immigrants and pumping money into china. pap make the america by making investment into their shares.
    DON’T YOU ALL THInK THIS IS CALLED “BRIBE”.

singaporean, stand up and united and proved lky that by forgeting its root, and also playing dirty tricks. he has to pay a price.

9. Triple Threat 31 December 2009

PAP = Politicians are Prostitutes. Sorry for this bad label, but aren’t they political prostitutes who prostitute their flawed beliefs? :)

10. Anonymous 31 December 2009

Maybe he should ask himself what kind of offspring did his son produced with his first wife which committed suicide before condemning the offspring of non-graduates as stupid.

11. thinktok 31 December 2009

If MM does not love and respect Singaporeans who will? He spend his whole life dedicated to building up this Island with our forefathers. While a small handful may try to make it out that PAP is evil etc, the truth is that it is not the case. 66% is 66%! You can go and insinuate as much as you want.

I was jealous that our friend is going to be offered a new flat under HDB ‘SERS’. She is going to get a new flat nearer the Tiong Bahru MRT station and on top of it she will get about $30K being the difference of the valuation. Definitely she and her neighbours are not going to agree with you.

Be responsible and be fair. MM is saying the truth and the truth hurts.

I always thank God for having LKY come our way.

12. Mollycoddled Mere Mortal Combat 31 December 2009

Thank you Andrew for putting effort into this article which is a wonderful read.

All mere mortals encouraged to read and pass it along via any means u like.

Happy 2010 to Andrew and TOC and contributing writers like Mr Leong, Mr Tan Kin Lian, Donaldson the editor and all the unsung heroes.

Looking forward to More Good Articles!

13. Seah Fock Song 31 December 2009

59) thinktok on December 31st, 2009 7.51 pm
    “If MM does not love and respect Singaporeans who will? He spend his whole life dedicated to building up this Island with our forefathers. While a small handful may try to make it out that PAP is evil etc, the truth is that it is not the case. 66% is 66%! …”

66.6% of WHAT ?

the so-called 66.6% does not represent those denied of voting due to walkovers.

I challenge you to debate on this. if you are able to , that is.

wahahaha!

14. 59) thinktok

66% consist of walkover…so that 66% isn’t 66%….but of course, 66% is also what LHL and team score in their GRC…

and of course, a frog in a well will be thankful for the well….for me, i am thankful of ALL our forefathers, and those who came before us…now only LKY

15. I wonder how many of those readers here actually voted for PAP during the last election?

16. Seah Fock Song 31 December 2009

are people allowed to say who they voted for before or in future?
    i am just a naive person, so i no no wan. u know better meh?

17. Kan_Cheong Spider 31 December 2009

A lot of pple are not aware of MM Lee’s speech abt the lazy singaporeans as this is not reported in the MSM. Hope this is not just a protracted effect. Pls help to spread the words through email or what have you.

More Singaporeans must be aware and informed. And not be taken for a ride.

18. referring to 59) thinktok:

1. Try become a director, manager, supervisor and operator at the same time and run the factory by yourself. I think you are talking cock, to assume Singapore is built by Lee Kuan Yew himself alone.

2. Go and find out which minister in PAP pilot the HDB programme.

3. Go find out which foreign economy advisor from UN came down to Singapore to propose building Proper public housing, recommend advancing our port management, suggest bring in foreign investor to build factory and as a matter of fact Shell was brought in by him.

4. Find out who are the eariler pioneers and business men who chip in money to bring education and medical facility.

Then we come and talk about Lee Kuan Yew contribution to Singapore. I used to believe his only credit was to drive out the communist and bring stability to the country so that Singapore can properly develop. But after the UK achieve was disclosed, he is clearly the one that created the chaos to put himself into power.

So my question which I alway ask idiot (because you are beyond ignorant) people like you. If LKY know Singapore will become what it has became today, will he propose merger with Malaysia? Question 2, if we are still part of Malaysia today, what will Singapore become? Who cry when Malaysia ask Singapore to fuck off. The person you have been asking God to bless everyday! Idiot!

19. thinktok
    please read all the comments in TOC, and tell me your so called handful of people that disagree with LKY and PAP is correct? I suggest you count these comments one by one with your fingers and if not enough, use you feet also.

Thinktok my ass, you don’t even use your bloody brain! They are dried up just like the recent display in Singapore sciene centre of the human bodies. That is what your brain good for. Yes, carry on praying, you need that, see if GOD answer your call.

20. All these articles MUST be refreshed in the next election. We want all our generation of Singaporeans to know that we are not a dog or slaves of any kind to the PAP. A govt is elected by the people to protect and help them. Unfortunately PAP is too rich over the people that it can openly betray us and become Singapore traitor in front of foreigners without the slightest hurt on their own feelings.

I will never ever regard Lee Kuan Yew as founder of Singapore. He has already lost all his and PAP moral to govt this country. If he can criticised or imprisoned the builder of this country, he can do the same to many of our generations of Singaporeans who have yet to be borned. I pity foreigners who became a citizen and now branded as new dog-in-the making.

The year 2010 is a good year for reflection and my resolution is to ensure PAP is voted out so that Singaporeans can live a more normal and human life.

21. he is just bashing PAP.

What has it got to do with Singapore?

22. [#14 Pimps and Prostitutes]

Good observation.

No way can any of our leaders be juxtaposed against the likes or Abraham Lincoln or Mahatma Gandhi. Lincoln and Gandhi – even though long dead – belong to a totally different class, many notches above any papy member, alive or dead.

Siffice to say, some people become senile when they grow old, but the senility of some people deteriorates severely by the day, as we can see.

People who have reached a stage of senility are clearly unfit to continue in a position of authority, because they may start saying things that hurt not only themselves but others as well. Senility usually leads to some kind of dementia eventually.

23. sweeney 38 31 December 2009

Before the clock strikes 12 midnight, may I take this opportunity
    to thank Andrew and his team for job well done, for 2009.

Wishing all at TOC a Blessed and Happy New Year..2010!!

24. Shitty Times 1 January 2010

65) Kan_Cheong Spider on December 31st, 2009 8.41 pm

Mr Lee: “Well, we’ve got ethnic Chinese and ethnic Indians here. The settled ones have become less hard-driving and hard-striving and we’ve got recent migrants, they are hungry, they’re determined to succeed having uprooted themselves and they’re doing better.”

Q: “Is that okay? Is that fine, I mean?”

Mr Lee: “No it worries the old citizens. They say look this is fierce competition, my children won’t be getting the scholarships because they’re doing well in schools, they push their children very hard. In fact, they need no pushing. They come here from China with no English language and they know that without English, they won’t get along. So there are many cases of boys and girls aged 12, 13 who come into our secondary schools and by the time, they finish the schools, they top the class in English.”

Q: “That’s interesting, it’s like my grandparents came to New York. When they came in, they don’t speak English and they did great. They just really tried hard and made a life for themselves and I think after a number of generations, it’s very difficult to keep that kind of drive up.”

Mr Lee: “Of course, of course.”

Q: “Do you think that’s inevitable or do you think that people just get lazy or what?”

Mr Lee: “No, I think the spurs are not stuck on your hinds. They are part of the herd, why-go-faster? But when you’re lagging behind, you must go faster to catch up with the herd. I’m quite sure that there are children of the migrants who strive arduously. When they grow up in the same schools as the Singaporeans, the same playing fields, same environment and they begin to adopt Singaporean habits in the ways of living and thinking. So I’m quite sure they’d become like us. Well, because we’re shrinking in our population, our fertility ratio is about 1.29.

http://www.todayonline.com/Singapore/EDC091231-0000175/Part-1—Transcript-of-Mr-Lee-Kuan-Yews-interview-with-National-Geographic

Not sure if the remarks were edited.

25. I love Singapore 1 January 2010

Happy New Year Singapore.

May 2010 be a year of change.

26. Don’t be surprise the PAP will send in the troops to bash Singapore if they lose an election! That’s the reason for giving the SAF regulars high pay to win support and give them a stake in the survival of PAP in an election! However, they may have misjudge the fact that SAF is a citizen army consists mainly of NSFs and NSmen. Which NSFs or NSmen will want to bash their family, friends, colleagues and potential employers for PAP?

27. LKY’s legacy as a great leader — shrewd, crafty, wily, a take-no-prisoners commander who believes that one has to be tough to survive and win at all costs — is in danger of being destroyed by his ill-conceived remarks of late.
    One feels he is no longer in step with society although one might argue that he has helped shape the type of society that we have today in Singapore. But really, have things changed that much? it is still a dog-eat-dog world where only the strongest and smartest survive, the money-grubbers among us will assert. But many among the new breed of Singaporean also yearn for a society that has developed beyond the primitive sink-or-swim struggles of the jungle.
    One fears that LKY no longer has the wherewithal to take Singapore to the next stage, to be a prosperous nation that cares for ALL its people. Sticking spurs into the hides of the slow, the old, the infirm and the challenged among us is a callous attitude that has no place in any society.
    One fears that the NG correspondent in his apparent efforts to be ingratiating in the presence of LKY has actually got the great man to lower his guard and make those self-destructing remarks. Those words will hurt even the most thick-skinned among us.
    In any case, those remarks merely confirm what many Singaporeans believe — that at 86, it surely is time for LKY to retire gracefully.

28. Zefly (aka Joshua Chiang) 1 January 2010

Gracefully, gracelessly, doesn’t matter how. As long as he retires.

29. sbkaslan 1 January 2010

C’mon Guys, out of respect lets give this man a break! He has done more for our country than all of us put together….

We have all taken our poke at him and have said our piece…. and in several instances have expressed their emotions and frustrations…. for now what I am seeing are more regurgitations of the same views and themes! A handful are getting a wee bit too personal in their condemnations…. not nice!

Its New Year, the way forward is to know when to stop. I am sure MM Lee meant well….

I have my gripes too… but there are folks amongst us, much worse off than me (and perhaps you)…all we have to do is to look around us and be grateful for what we have got! —–Meaning: time stop “bitching! and do something”

30. Zefly (aka Joshua Chiang) 1 January 2010

Yeah! Let’s help the poor folks remove the spurs in their hides!

31. Clement Tan 1 January 2010

“it is still a dog-eat-dog world where only the strongest and smartest survive”

Not true. It is a who has the best guanxi who thrive. Singapore was never a free market economy like USA.

32. andrew leung 1 January 2010

77) sbkaslan on January 1st, 2010 10.52 am
    “C’mon Guys, out of respect lets give this man a break! He has done more for our country than all of us put together….”

He is a brilliant schemer, must give him credit for that. Please don’t glorify him. He has no pity on you or his opponents. He believes that man is an animal, to be trained for his purposes. That our country is a society, and that we will always need the PAP and must listen to them or else we will perish. They don’t tolerate any dissent or disobedience, and they like to fine you and imprison you.

33. angry_one 1 January 2010

I for one agree with the MM. The spurs are not stuck into the hide….. to remove the PAP from power forever. The people are too lethargic, apathetic and tolerant. They need continued abuse and punishment to wake up to the idea that they must fight for their freedom for be made extinct forever.

34. Singaporean 1 January 2010

///for now what I am seeing are more regurgitations of the same views and themes!///

More regurgitations do not it any more truer or any more false. However, more for the former will be better as it gets internalized.

///all we have to do is to look around us and be grateful for what we have got! —–Meaning: time stop “bitching! and do something///

Perhaps more of those programs on the poor situations in the region or third world countries aired in the mainstream media to show how fortunate we are – the time tested modus operandi.

35. i wonder how does the general population would fight for freedom if they dont even know what basic freedom means?

Or human rights for that matter.

To fight for something we must first understand what we are fighting for.

36. 77) sbkaslan

Just like red-man ask thinktok to use his brain, you need to use yours too…

“C’mon Guys, out of respect lets give this man a break! He has done more for our country than all of us put together….”

Don’t give a man more credit then he deserve…do you think he is god or what? doing more then all of us put together? hey, do you think his single person’s output exceed the rest of s’porean’s total output? wake up man….

and read all the above post, and study your history. Singapore is not built up by one man…there are other pioneers who have done work that make a bigger impact….and to people like u, it is always LKY…maybe to people like u and thinktok, u will also praise LKY and say he is the one who think up of the MRT system for singapore…

37. #singaporean 82.

If we want to be compared with, i would appreciate their MO to compare us with say first world country, not developing country in middle africa.

38. Zefly (aka Joshua Chiang) 1 January 2010

“Perhaps more of those programs on the poor situations in the region or third world countries aired in the mainstream media to show how fortunate we are – the time tested modus operandi. ”

Which is the poorer country? The ones where the people may not have a lot but are contented, or the ones where some people have a lot and yet want more, but not want to lift up the rest of the population, instead blaming their exploitation on their lack of hunger for success?

We can save Mediacorp the money of filming in Third World countries. Instead just go to the parks around the city at night. Talk to the people sleeping on the benches (and getting woken up and chased away every other hour). Tell them how fortunate they are.

39. RED-man 1 January 2010

Sbkaslan:

be more specific, by asking the people here to stop bitching around and start doing something. What do you mean?

Let’s be realistic, before PAP was formed, do you know where LKY and his commodrates (make no mistake, at that time of Singapore it is communist whether you like it or not because majority Chinese come from China) meet for discussion? For your info, it is his house basement. Until if I remember correctly, Goh Keng Siew suggested that it is better to form a politicial party to have such discussion to avoid arrest by the ISD.

Now back to present, unless you expect all the people here to join the politic and not get paid to feed their family, I think you are very much empty up there like thinktok! Moreover, all the contributors here are doing his/her part as a citizen by telling the people (except those that like to lick the ass of LKY and his PAP) to vote wisely. To spread the truth and words.

We are know the power of Internet, how it turn the Malaysia ruling party panic! And start to listen and work abit harder. So, are the people here not doing the country a favour?! Or maybe you want us to lick the boots of LKY and PAP and continue to give them more money without knowing what the hack they do with it? Or whether they deserve to be paid that much?!

Finally, to thinktok and people like you. TOC is only providing a platform for discussion! They are doing a favour to Singapore to keep people like us from doing thing like writting hate massage of LKY and PAP (that is old school) on the toilet door to ask the moron like you and thinktok to wake up your idea. The course of where the discussion is heading has nothing to do with them. So don’t anyhow accuse TOC of that! Use your bloody brain, if I may request! Thanks! In this new year, I think many of us would hope to see PAP halfed in the coming election.

40. Bashing…..Who will be bashed?

Last election on May 2006.
    The full term will be May 2011 which is about 16 months from now.
    But PAP usually will not wait till full term. (Too rush & too risky)

Budget on Feb.
    Youth Olympics on Aug.
    World Cup on June.
    Casinos are anybody guess (but the Casinos have been under intense pressure by the s’pore govt to open soon…..especially the Gambling departments)

This year election is likely to take place. (Year of Tiger)
    (Date & Time will depend MM Lee’s fortune tellers, bomohs, Fengshui Masters, etc)

Singapore come first for Govt: PM (Straits Times, 1 Jan 2010)
    Monetary Authority Of S’pore forecast of 5.5% this year. (How to justify this figure?)

When such bull-shit news start coming on MSM, PAP gloves are off.

However, there are more Questions than answers from PAP.

1) Mini-bonds, Lehman Brothers have not settle yet.
    2) Temasek Holdings + GIC + Town Council + others Losses.
    3) CPF is nothing but mere figures.
    4) Tonnes & tonnes of Foreigners flying in. Getting PR is as easy as drawing money from ATMs.
    5) High costs of everthings (Singapore Power, HDB which PAP cannot make money, these have been privatised without any approval from the people).
    6) Incompetence ministers (but with hugh salary).
    7) Recession is still ongoing but MSM will not tell.
    8) The poor will become pooerer.
    9) GST to be increased again after election.
    etc, etc

With new age of internet, will be PAP nightmares.

Bashing…..Who will be bashed?

Stay Tune.

41. spirited-centred 1 January 2010

Now they want to divide and rule between new citizens and Singaporeans by assassinating the characters of Singaporeans to woo the new citizens.
    At the same time belatedly they try very hard to favour Singaporeans with the new initiative increasing the school fees of PRs and foreigners students and the U-Save for Singaporeans only but with the intent of forcing PRs and foreigners to become new citizens so as to increasing new PAP’s voters pool to counter-act the groundswell of disenchantment of Singaporeans against their current performance.
    Singaporeans must stand firm against their underhand tactics and stuck “the sharp spurs on their hind” to kick them to work harder for us Singaporeans.

42. extraordinarygovernor 1 January 2010

off course the pap is RUINED by extraordinary government
    who else can ruined singapoor from father to son through imcompetent daughter in law?
    and best of all still get away with it
    without gettin sacked/disciplined caned or jailed?
    so you singapoorium peasants should be ASHAMED to let the holy trinity to get away with it!!!
    if this is not singapore bashin
    what is?

~sigh~

43. extraordinarygovernor 1 January 2010

by the way……………
    which idiot 66% singapoorium would PAY singapore THIRTY dollar$ just to mingle/party @ last night marina welcomin the grand new year 2010?

all aroun the world..the citizens grouped and reoiced 2 the stroke of midnight to welcome the NEW year for FREE!
    onlLEE in singapoor would any idiot pay a sum of $THIRTY DOLLAR$ just to get near all the mubbled jumblur mediacorps ….
    luckiLEE the tickets wasn’t hot @ all…
    gurmit singh was tryin very very hard to sell the tickets from 9pm till the last minutes..machiam machiamed a pimp tryin to flock his disease stricken veneral diseaed infected streetwalkers in johore road………………..

WELL DONE SINGAPORE…for makin it to numero UNO and placed us on a laughin map the ONLY country in the whole wide world to DEMAND payment for a new year eve getogether bangoff BASHIN party…..

44. the pigs @ parliament are self serving bumps… lazy bumps.

45. limpbiskit Seng Wong Kan 1 January 2010

All that we say here may not lead to anything.
    There is only 1 thing we can do that certainly WILL have Effect.
    and that is the only thing i can think of.

46. tiredsingaporean 1 January 2010

In his 1983 National Day Rally speech, when he was Prime Minister, MM Lee said, “If you don’t include your women graduates in your breeding pool and leave them on the shelf, you would end up a more stupid society…So what happens? There will be less bright people to support dumb people in the next generation. That’s a problem.”

After putting up all their support to have this ole man in power for more than 40 years, funny thing in return he is now saying that singaporeans are just stupid and dumb? except for his own familees??? hey! this is truely an insult to the singaporeans indeed.

47. New Era 1 January 2010

Enough of insults already.

Time for change is now.

Remember that whatever they give you now, they will take it back 10 times over after the elections.

Don’t be fooled and don’t be sorry. Vote for change.

48. [#98 New Era]

How right you are.

I am with you all the way on this.

49. I think i like Irene Ng’s quote the best.

/Singapore is governed by extraordinary men willing to make personal sacrifices/

Indirectly or directly saying, the rest of singapore is averse to make personal sacrifices for the sake of greater good. Nice one.

I have a feeling she think the current salary is not high enough. Therefore those ‘personal sacrifices’ is not equally compensated with those millions salaries?

50. Singaporean 1 January 2010

/// instead blaming their exploitation on their lack of hunger for success?///

Does anyone believe this totally anymore. They give good logic but do not always count on it to give you the right picture of the underlying reality that their logic is supposed to explain.

Of course there are genuine cases of people who lack hunger for success. However, how do we know if it is so difficult to isolate the attributing factors that are now overshadowed by the larger unintended consequential effects from some policies.

///Instead just go to the parks around the city at night. Talk to the people sleeping on the benches (and getting woken up and chased away every other hour). Tell them how fortunate they are.///

Maybe they will do it once they are able to rope in some willing participating bodies (either public organizations or NGOs) to take care with the provision of food and shelter in order to give you a nice ending story on how fortunate they still are in this country.