Andrew Loh
“I will let everyone know right now that I will not only post news reports but also my political opinions on my blog on the day before, and on the “cooling-off” day itself,” blogger and activist, Mr Seelan Palay says on his blog here. “I will post images and logos of the political parties and figures that I support and will blog about who I voted for and why,” he adds.
Mr Seelan, 25, has been involved in public protests for various causes since 2006, including the abolition of the death penalty and the Internal Security Act, demonstrating outside the Ministry of Manpower office in support of Burmese nationals, and conducting a one-man, 5-day hunger-strike at the Malaysian embassy calling for the release of the Hindraf detainees in that country.
He explains to The Online Citizen that his latest blog posting is not an act of defiance or protest. “What’s wrong with saying who I voted for? I am even using my real name. There is no reason why I shouldn’t blog about anything at anytime.”
He feels that the recommended “cooling-off” day or period made by Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong does not address the “fundamental issues” of what Mr Seelan calls “unjust laws and regulations”. PM Lee said he hoped that netizens will observe the “spirit” of the proposal. Citing the exclusion of the mainstream media or “news reports” from the proposed rule, Mr Seelan feels this is neither justified nor fair. “The mainstream media is controlled by the [PAP government].” He says he might have considered accepting the proposal if Singapore had a plurality of independent media and news outlets. Since this is not the case, bloggers and netizens should not be curbed in expressing their views online during the elections, he says.
PM Lee said he wanted the 24-hour “cooling-off” period so that voters would have time to calm down and be rational when they go to the polling booth to cast their votes. But to Mr Seelan, it is the People’s Action Party (PAP) which has been irrational all these years. He cites the detention and imprisonment of opposition members and the closing down of independent newspapers in Singapore as examples. “Why should I observe [something] coming from someone who is irrational? I am talking about the party he represents and the system [it] has put in place,” he says. “The entire election system is grounded on irrationality.”
What of the fear of public disorder from the highs of electioneering, as MP for Aljunied GRC, Mr Zainul Abidin, expressed in the Straits Times on 2 Dec? Mr Zainul had cited the 1997 incident in Cheng San GRC where he said opposition supporters nearly caused an incident of “public disorder” when the results were announced and the opposition Workers’ Party team had lost. “I don’t think one incident can be claimed as disorder,” Mr Seelan says. “This should not prevent bloggers and others from sharing their views.”
In the elections of 2006, the government had, just before the hustings, banned podcastings and said that while “individual bloggers can discuss politics, [they] have to register with the Media Development Agency if they persistently promote political views,” the then-Senior Minister of State for Information, Communications and the Arts, Balaji Sadasivan, was reported as having said. To Mr Seelan, however, such means of control do not work. “Instinctively and naturally,” he explains, “people will post what they think.” He noted that bloggers virtually ignored the ban on podcasting in 2006. “In a country which is so restricted, online is where we can actually speak our minds. We have this space to ourselves and even this they want to control.”
When asked why he is openly declaring that he will not observe the new rule, if and when it comes into effect, he explains that he wants to “set the tone”. While websites and blogs such as The Online Citizen, the Singapore Democractic Party, Temasek Review and Sgpolitics have given their views on the issue, no one has said if they will observe the 24-hour silence online, Mr Seelan says. “I urge all Singaporean bloggers to join me,” he appeals on his blog, “because we have a right to post and share our opinions, political or not, on our personal blogs at any time.”
- RP on Cooling-Off Period
- PM Lee proposes “24-hour cooling-off” period before Polling Day
- From blogger to politician – in Singapore?
- P65 blogger reveals he is Young PAP member
- Cooling-off…. into a deep freeze

Why is it that the internet can be controlled?
I thought it is a known thing to all in this world that attempts to control the internet can be difficult?
Assuming the internet is controlled this time, WHATcould be the Consquence(s) in Future?
Does it mean in future, Political blogs can also be Shut as and when it is deemed necessary in future for whatever reason that is deemed strong, by a group of people?
Is it that singapore has the power to control the internet?
Is there anyone who can effectively oppose and succeed in doing so such decisions if made ?
singapore is really unique.
Now everything is beginning to make sense. there was once this site what once enjoyed quite a big readership and keep shutting down every 2 weeks on the grounds someone was fixing their servers with DOS and DOSS attacks. They did it so frequently, that everyone for a while believed them. Why? Bc some one up there wanted to psycho all of us they had some machine that could compel us all to conform and like Seelan said, if we dont conform then, they will switch it on and fix us, the only problem is the cat is out of the bag, there is no such machine and as for that site, no one even trust them any longer, so how?
learn one lesson Mr high & mighty, blogosphere does not belong to you, it belongs to all of us, so what right do you even have to tell people what to do and not to do? You have no right. And as for your bogey man DOS and DOSS machine, we all know it is made up of paper mache.
aisay, Mrs Lee in the picture look so healthy wor.
Not sure what is the status of her health?
I wish her all the best.
Next time take some home cooked advice. If you want to fake a DOSS and DOS attack just like you want to confect a bogey man fairytale to scare kiddies to finish their cod liver oil, make sure you dont send sheep to do a wolves job and never delegated it to a three legged blog that is run by a bunch of numskulls. Once they get exposed all the trust is gone. And trust is a very difficult thing to rebuild, like a mirror once it is broken, it cannot be fixed back again.
basically, if pple cannot blog about it, we shouldn’t be allowed to go kopitham and discuss it as well. Singapore basically should shut down all power lines and phones lines so that people cannot talk to each other during this ‘cool down’ period.
personally, the cool down period may apply to the political parties, but it is too much if the common guy has to follow the rule as well.
Maybe we should all learn to blog, and start our own blogging sites on that very day. lol
@blindfolded : Who or what are you talking about? Forgive my ignorance :)
Its amazing that they can pass any bills they chose in the sense that even if the 2 opposition peopple’s representatives oppose they basically cannot block any bill from being passed.
Could policy be changed in future to have 7 million?
What policies could surface in future?
and surprise us?
What possibilities exist?
limited by the imagination?
why singaporeans like that?
I think TOC and the netizens should seek legal advice as to does the constitution allow for internet access on anyday and for that matter blogging?
Can the Law Society advice?
Singapore so many bombastic lawyers right?
How come they no speak about this?
Or am i missing something?
Law professors leh? These should know the answer right?
Why the cooling off still allows MSM political contents?
I very curious what do legal people think of this? What is their honest view on this?
I think the idea of internet control has its merits.
why not authorities designate or create a selection of blogs for people to legally be allowed to access? Like this bloggers no need worry as only those given the ‘coe’ to blog can blog and net users no need fear accidentally visit blogs deemed by a group of people as no so desirable?
for that matter, how about block all adult sites ? But this should be ideally impartial as in it should apply to all as in All.
i wonder how is this for idea?
glogger #9,
Are you living on Planet Earth? You have to look at the bigger picture of balanced coverage. The strong government grip on political coverage by mainstream media has to be balanced by the lack of internet control on political coverage in New Media. Only this way, voters can access to all schools of thoughts.
Oxford Dude, I think glogger is being sarcastic.
I got an idea!!
why not ban internet at home but have residents go to RC member flat or coridor have a booth pay $5 an hour to access sanitized websites and teach RC members how to moderate? If anyone posts undersirable messages, have the CCTV capture them and they cannot run as neighborhood police around the corner?
I think like this sure good internet for all. All sanitized and nothing undesirable.
But this idea i have not patent it. feel free to take as reference resource.
looking at the way singapore has progressed, the new policies and rules,
I think our future would be very bright in such a democracy.
i like to extend my congratulations to all singaporeans, apathetic or non.
injoy.
I FULLY SUPPORT THIS MOVEMENT
all bloggers and singaporean patriots should continue their daily PAP-bashings articles and comments. the “cooling off” day will be the day for all Singaporeans to go ONLINE and look at WHAT HAS PAP DONE!
theonlinecitizen or Mr Brown should broadcast a LIVE FORUM VIA THEIR WEBSITE ON COOLING OFF DAY!
LETS HEAT IT UP!
vote for Change, vote the PAP out!.
On “cooling” day….beware of the ISD…oops i meant ISPs
I think this 24 hours slience will back fire for the ruling party for sure! Ha..
It’s as good as saying no food for the day, when people are seriously hungry.
Netizens will definately scavage online politcal content on that day. Trust me ..i would too! So I won’t support this cooling off idea …
“24 hours cooling off day”.
This, is a Pathetic Joke, initiated by world 1st , 151th Clown!!
Must Vote for Change!!……….. Down with the PAP…..Yes We Can!!!
Disgusting ! Shameless…..IMBECILES!!!!!
I will ‘cool-off’ by writing an opinion on my blog with my real name.
Just remembered the story behind the mooncake…. On “Cooling-off period”, oppositions’ supports go door to door distributing “wedding cakes” with hidden messages. “VOTE OUT PAP!”
Erm, has the cooling off started?
No yet right?
But how come TR not accessible liao?
Is it just me or is it they gone on hybernation?
can someone double comfom comfom abit?
or am i missing something?
This cooling off period will not work on internet. They can’t even enforce it.
Just cross the causeway, get a prepaid 3G SIM card and blog on an anonymous blog.
lobo76 at 2.08pm has the most excellent suggestion. Everyone should start blogging on that day regarding the elections.
To DK, no need to blog anonymously. That is exactly what the MFs in power want us to be … afraid of them. Use your real name to show you do not fear them! Power to the People!
I can’t get into TR also.Some one please help?
The call for a 24 hour cooling-off period or ‘time-out’ makes more sense after a torrid sex session.
Perhaps the spineless leader is confused with the situation, which he has on many occasions.
It also does not help to have a dominant father and wife. LOL
I’m wondering if gahmen blog will be shut down or not, like George Yeo, Teo Ser Luck, etc, but i seriously doubt it. If GTC can shake hands with voters in a polling station in Cheng San on Polling Day, where no campaigning is allowed and he is not the candidate then they will weasel their way out of this one as well.
cant get into TR? Another round of wayang lah, what else is it. They keep on playing that broken record all the time just to scare all of us all. What do you expect from a blog that tries to play wolf? They have already lost so much credibility and it is surprising that they are still havent figured out how to shift gears and sing another tune. As for this cooling period. I personally dont mind abiding to it, but is this right across the board or does it just apply to the parties challenging the ruling party?
Can anyone enlighten me?
Wolf or Sheep? I got it in a LAN forum, but wifey linked me to this, there are loads more, but they seem to be in threads, forums etc
http://dotseng.wordpress.com/2009/11/28/the-form-function-that-is-temasek-review-â-chapter-813/
So all this shut down by TR is just a big fake. I have this theory., they are faking all this so that if it gets out of control, they will nuke everysite in blogosphere and that way no one will be surprised, so I will be posting my writes in a site in Belgium instead.
btw can someone pls clarify my last post on 27
“… we have a right to post and share our opinions, political or not, on our personal blogs at any time.”
Indeed and I agree. No one can stop me from writing any opinions about any political parties on my own blog as and when I feel like.
I find LHL 24hrs cool down rule ridiculous. LHL please do us Singaporean a favour before churning out another freaking rule which will worsen ur already bad reputation. Please stay out of politic, please help yourself to accumulate some positive merit. Anyway did you cool down before you throw this midiocre rule out of your mouth? Have you COOLEN DOWN? Have you??
cooling or no cooling down period is not as important as telling all your friends, neighbours, siblings, work colleagues not to be tricked again by those MIW and stand firm to boot all these liars out of govt. There are already too many lies being told to the people, too many propaganda, just too much unaccountability of all the wrongs they’ve done to the people of singapore all these 40+ years. The power lies in the hand of the true blue singaporeans who’s been trapped into our once beloved nation we called home, the capable ones has already left the country leaving behind all the poor and helpless innocent citizens struggling each day to make ends meet while the corrupted elites keep showering themselves with millions and millions at the expense of the citizens. There is no other solution anymore except to vote them out totally and change all things new now.
DK #21,
“This cooling off period will not work on internet. They can’t even enforce it.”
If the administration tries to enforce it, that will spell the end. The wording sounds like a gentlemen’s agreement, not a threat with dire consequences.
“In the elections of 2006, the government had, just before the hustings, banned podcastings and said that while “individual bloggers can discuss politics, [they] have to register with the Media Development Agency if they persistently promote political views,” the then-Senior Minister of State for Information, Communications and the Arts, Balaji Sadasivan, was reported as having said.”
TOC should have a politics’ golden moments hall of fame. This would go nicely in the “head in the sand” corridor.
P.S. I applaud the integrity of the posters who are willing to put their names to their opinions, but credibility ultimately rests with the opinions/arguments, not the blogger, lest anyone thinks putting your name on the line actually speaks to the truth of the opinion or argument.
Can ISPs be asked to block all home user accounts allowing only business accounts ?
Is it possible to have technical glitches?
Can blogs be shutdown?
I think this cool off has hit the bloggers badly.
wonder if this could force some bloggers be held accountable after the election is over? Could this form the reason for arrests?
Which country is like singapore? I mean i am ignorant.
i have totally no idea. how abt u?
Guys, PAP is in the losing game thus another cheap trick from them again. The reason for “cooling off” is to avoid what happened in Malaysia where alternative parties make a great success into parliament and forced the ruling party to change its arrogant mindset. Malaysians are generally feeling happy now with check n balance. LHL fear this will happen and we should not fear him.
A day of fear in exchange for lifetime sufferings is simply not worth it. Can you imagine all these years of complaining, grumbling and cursingl their politices and hoping for this election day to come? Should we let many who died along MRT track for nothing because they have lived miserably under PAP? Are we going to let it go in vain and renew the process of complaining again until another 5 years have passed. I may no longer have the energy to write my comments if PAP is given mandate again. I am exhausted and earnestly want big step of change in Singapore.
I will cast my sacred vote to any alternative parties old or young, and stay near the ballot stations to watch whether PAP ministers cheat by entering into the polling stations. My heart, as Singaporeans, is truly with Singaporeans and not PAP.
David #35,
“Should we let many who died along MRT track for nothing because they have lived miserably under PAP?”
“I will cast my sacred vote to any alternative parties old or young….”
Wah, so intense-stupid. If PAP did this to you they have to be punished for crimes against Brain.
The world has seen Opposition parties around the world took back control of their countries since 2006 to 2009.
Many if not most countries changed leadership.
Malaysia opposition won with much help from the bloggers and internet and technology.
Obama ditto.
I hope internet can be allowed to help our opposition win as well. I am sure its legal to support opposition for the glorious and nobel aspiration of bringing progress to the country. Eg. progress in its opposition representation for the people.
Maybe opposition leaders should visit foreign leaders asking them , if they have experienced before, how to tackle this situation.
I will tape a cross over my mouth on ‘Cooling Off Day’
Anyone wanna join me?
tape a lightning.. more appropriate
Why “cooling off period” is just only 1 day? Why not 1 hundred days or why not 100 years?
They can pass whatever law so why not 100 years for the “cooling off” period? Why border to wayang.
Hmmmmm let me offer a conspiracy theory here.
All the comments and suggestion is exactly what they are looking for.
The one day ‘cooling off’ period is just a bait for everyone to put forth suggestion on how to get past the restriction method they are now researching.
So …. 10 days or 100 days before election without warning they will just pull out all the stop to the internet censorship methods which they have perfected via your suggestions here today and ‘Wham’!.
We are all blind, deaf and mute without any indication or warning.
Hence win election!! Yeah! Another century of PAP.
how’s that?
An anouncement of “cooling day” from Timbuctoo on the other side of the earth DOES NOT make it law. It has to be made into law via parliamentary legislative process.
I doubt the Election Commission can acquiesce to such changes without parliamentary authority. It could be unlawful, otherwise, in any case.
Let’s see if they stoop that low of indignity in self-deprecating and public humiliating of conduct by actually initiating and rubber-stamping of this electoral law change legislation in Parliament.
The results could be a lot more spectacular of voting outcomes than what they bargain for.
FEAR i the part to the dark side. In this case we know who the dark side is. the present government. So have no fear of them Cooling off or not be BRAVE and vote them all out once and for all.
The FORCE will be with us. The force of truth and righteousness will prevailand we will win the battle that they now realise they are in danger of loosing.
Let us all stand united on the so call cooling of period. We will be hotter than ever and will vote the next day with renewed vigour for mor opposition to balance the force of ggod over evil. Feel the force. Use the force> the force is and will be strong with us on judgement day.
Personally, I don’t really get it. Singapore’s electorate comprises of mostly those born after 1965, Post-65ers as most want it to be known. … I doubt the 24-hour period before polling day would hardly make a difference to the opinions that have already been drawn from the campaignings.
Basically, LHL nees the “cooling off day” very badly.
You see, on the eve of the Voting Day,
his father will be harassing him from the top
his second wife will be harasing him from the bottom,
his two sets of children will be harassing him from left and right,
and his first wife (deceased) will be harassing him from behind.
So, actually he is proposing it for himself, to serve as an excuse to tell his father, wives and children off,
“Hey, please leave me alone …. er … remember, today is a cooling off day?”
On “cooling-off” day, the battle cry in certain media will PROBABLY have a cock-and-bull story with the clear theme message – UNITED WE STAND, DIVIDED WE FALL. Of course, silence as to united with who you know!
It will be denied as election campaigning on the cunning BUT IT IS COUNTERFEIT CURRENCY.
He needs the cooling off period so badly to win that he even had to set up a wolf site just to fake ddos & dos attacks so that if the whole network goes off line, none of us will suspect, it was them of all the while, now its back to square one, we know, we act and we are wiser, end of story
Internet is ubiquitous. It’s a known fact that you can’t control it. But they can police it.
They will be watching who, when, where and what.
Which effectively means that if the results of the election are not favourable, they can point fingers at someone, somewhere, somehow. And somebody might just have eat the “dead cat”
If results are favourable, that gives them credit to says that even with internet blogging, discussion etc the citizens are rational to make the right decision.
Surely a win win strategy.
How cunning!!!
Sounds like this one day cooling off is a crackdown to arrest all the bloggers and all those that ‘discuss political news’ lol, except the SPH of cos and you will see lamers that write to the forum and why I want to support the PAP lol