Tuesday, December 1, 2009 22:27
“Cheaper, better, faster” may just break the camel’s back
In Main Stories, Our Columnists, Top Story, Uncle Leong, Uniquely Spore • 3,324 views • 59 Comments
Latest:
The High Court has granted Yong Vui Kong’s application for a stay of his execution. Yong was scheduled to be hanged this Friday, 4 Dec. His appeal to the Court of Appeal will now be heard next Tuesday. TOC will have a report on today’s hearing soon.
Leong Sze Hian
The MOM’s latest report, without the media spin, is worrying. The race to the bottom, in terms of lowering wages, is disconcerting and could be the last straw that breaks the backs of working Singaporeans.
I refer to the reports, “Falling productivity an issue” and “5.9% residents jobless” (ST, Nov 30).
The median income for all employed residents dipped by 1.2 per cent from $2,450 in 2008 to $2,420 in 2009.
Here are some interesting data from the Ministry of Manpower report, which were not highlighted by the newspaper.
On page 16, the report states:“Part-timers also posted higher median income of $620 compared with $600 a year ago.”
Part-timers’ median income in 1999 was $600. So, the increase for the last 10 years was only $20, or an annual increase of only 0.3 per cent, without adjusting for inflation. And it is important to consider that a possible reason for the $20 increase may be that a part-timer is now defined as one working 35 hours or less, instead of 30 hours.
On page 20, the report states that in June 2009, 26 per cent of unemployed professionals, managers, executives and technicians (PMETs) had been looking for work for at least 25 weeks.
It also noted that this figure was higher than the 23 per cent figure for workers in production and related sectors, and 20 per cent for clerical, sales and service workers.
In the 40-and-above age group, the proportion of unemployed PMETs who had been jobhunting for at least 25 weeks was even higher – at 36 per cent. This is well above that of clerical, sales and service workers (27 per cent), and production and related (24 per cent) workers.
To what extent has our liberal foreign worker policy contributed to this? And are those 40-and-above being discriminated against at the workplace? Why are they, particularly, finding it hard to get jobs?
The report also noted that the unemployment rate for cleaners, labourers and related workers was the highest across all sectors in June 2009 at 8.3 per cent, followed by service and sales workers at 7.9 per cent, and clerical workers at 7.4 per cent. All these rates were described in the report as “significantly above average”.
Could this be due to competition from foreign workers in these lower-skilled, lower-paid jobs?
The report says, on page 24, that there has been an increase in the number of “residents outside the labour force who were not looking for work because they believed their job search would be in vain.”
The number of these “discouraged workers” has reached 11,000 in June 2009, up from 7,500 a year ago. They now form 0.6 per cent of the resident labour force inclusive of discouraged workers, rising from 0.4 per cent last year.

Perhaps you have noticed that the elderly toilet cleaners at Changi airport have mostly been replaced by younger foreign workers. The same seems to be the case at food courts, where table cleaning duties were once the domain of elderly workers.
I understand that these phenomena are due to foreign workers being willing to work for even lower wages and longer hours.
A cleaner who used to be paid about $800 a few years ago, is now typically paid about $650.
I know of a 60-year-old lady working as a kitchen supervisor for about eight years, earning about $1,300 a month.
Since her company was acquired by a listed company, she has been told that she has to work overtime without overtime pay, because she could be easily replaced by a foreigner working for $800 a month. She also has to work for four hours on her off-days without pay, as that is considered “volunteer work”.
Although the above are anecdotal evidence, the fact that productivity continues to decline may provide some clues to our labour problems.
As an illustration, every foreign worker we bring in may contribute to an increase in our gross domestic product. However, the influx of lower-skilled, lower-paid foreign workers may also cause lower-paid Singaporean workers’ salary to decline.
Along with declining income, rising costs of living, longer working hours and so on, morale and work attitudes may also suffer.
Thus, is it any wonder that productivity has been declining, while labour and business unit costs have been rising?
Linking ministers’ pay to GDP growth may also have contributed to the importing of low-skilled foreign labour to grow the economy.
The rhetoric to focus on productivity through re-training and skills upgrading over the years has clearly failed, particularly for lower-income workers.
The latest call to be “cheaper, faster and better” may be the last straw that breaks the proverbial camel’s back of Singaporean workers.
Asking workers to work longer and faster while receiving the same or lower pay is not the solution.
The current trend of out-sourcing, hiring contract workers and tendering for the cheapest may only continue to exacerbate our productivity problem.
As if declining wages, wage cuts, shorter work weeks, compulsory leave, lower or zero bonus, weren’t bad enough, resident unemployment was 5.9 per cent in June, on a non-seasonally adjusted basis, with 116,300 unemployed residents.
The unemployment rate for Singaporeans may be worse, as PRs who cannot find employment may leave the country, whilst most unemployed Singaporeans may not have this option.
Why is there no breakdown of the unemployment rate for citizens and PRs?
With the number of children applying for the Straits Times Pocket Money Fund reaching an all-time high of 11,642, the number of financially-stressed Singaporeans appears to be growing. This is in spite of reports claiming that the median income has stabilised for those in employment after rising significantly over the two preceding years, and MOM’s report that the employment rate for prime working-age men in Singapore, despite a decline, remained higher than in many developed and Asian economies.
Despite all the above, we are giving out visas for foreigners to come to Singapore to seek employment, whereas most countries would require a foreigner to get a job before he or she can be issued a visa.
But of course, a foreigner who is here looking for a job, competing with Singaporeans, may also contribute to an increase in the GDP, as he or she has to spend money everyday!
By the way, Singapore has clinched another world number one title in the meantime: “…the employment rate of older workers above the age of 55 stayed at a high of 57.2 per cent – a record that was reached a year before. In fact, Singapore has the highest rate of older men working globally” (“Older workers maintain high job rate despite overall decline in employment”, CNA, Nov 30).
—–
59 Comments
Yamamoto
Ryvyan
Thanks for the report. The numbers are really worrying.
shibuyume
I think to a certain extent this is an interesting article, notwithstanding.
I think it’s time to form a policy committee or a task force, to recommend actual policy changes and numbers and figures so that if we need a change, we know what to change and how to change.
for e.g., we need to be less liberal with foreign workers visas. how many should we give out a year, what should be the criteria? what should other policy changes be to ensure that the loopholes are not exploited?
it’s election year this year, I think somebody with the right numbers and figures and policy-making can make a difference.
Poay
Bala returns and tells it all -
IC
Its just a short term fix to what is fundamentally a structural unemployment problem. It just rolls the problem to the future, when we’ll have to “cheaper” again. And then they’ll try to devalue the currency for yet another short term fix. Just reel in the property market man – that’s where the problem is really at in competitiveness.
Oops! Government and elite hands are in the cookie jar on that one…cannnot….Guess we’ll have to find another way to pass the buck off to the small guy again then.
thumos
have minimum wage policy and this problem of undercutting will be non-existent.
IC
I believe the term in modern day is “living wage”. If employers can’t run a profitable business whilst adhering to “living wage”, they probably shouldn’t be in that business anyway.
bb
(Sgpolitics.net) There is a productivity revolution sweeping the world and Singapore is not part of it: WHY?: http://www.sgpolitics.net/?p=3674
samanthaLoh
This article carries so much breadth, depth and realism than the simplistic “upturn the downturn” drive. Thanks for the effort in research !
We Are One?
That’s why GDP numbers should never be taken as an indicator for the progess of Singapore’s and Singaporeans’ well being.
Our elites are plain idiots, and they only care about pegging their Salary to top 6% of private sector’s and GDP growth.
We should just let them go back to the private sector in the next GE.
xl
Situation become like that. What kind of scenario for current 20s & 30s upon reaching age 40+ in the years ahead?
GDP alone is flawed:
- work long hrs to stay afloat & fall sick. See Dr.
gdp expands.
- See Dr, Buy medicine
gdp expands
- Very sick & die. Buy coffin
gdp expands
Cancer cells that grow but kill other healthy cells are good so long as it grows aka expands.
Cancer type of growth is good??
Tan Cheng Hua
“Part-timers’ median income in 1999 was $600. So, the increase for the last 10 years was only $20.”
That says it all, really.
And how many times were ministers salaries increased in the last 10 years?
And by how much?
Millions.
The current Cabinet alone nets about S$45 million each year.
Correct me if I am wrong. I don’t think I am.
X
They expect Singaporeans to be on par with the foreigners, yet how can this be? The very fundamental logic of having citizens vie for jobs with not their own people, but some Chinese national or Indian prodigy is flawed. What’s the point of having a government when our needs are ignored?
Sure, I agree that fts are crucial in pushing our economic profile, but is welcoming them to the extent of not having some sort of linguistic test, or employability analysis really necessary?
They are driving old folks from their jobs, quite akin to snatching ricebowls, directly or otherwise.
JW
The PAP government promised more good years, Swiss standard of living and the riches globalisation will bring.
Now we Singaporeans are work harder than ever but get less pay. We took a pay-cut and reduction in out CPF but when the good times came the CPF was not raised to pre-crisis level as promised.Housing has gone up and the ministers and those in high position have paid themselves more and more.
Its time to stop listening to their lies. They are behaving like a bunch of thieves, robbing the working people, ganging up with property tycoons and bankers to fleece the people by uping property prices and keeping the interest rate at an all time low.
Let’s vote the PAP out
It is a real joke! 57.2 % of age above 55 workers stayed highest globally. VERY IMPRESSIVE! What is 57.2% in terms of numbers? And How is it compared with the FWs employed here. Please give us the numbers.
Everyone knows that the jobs at foodcourts, cleaners and as wriiten, in changi airport are occupied by FWs. So is it something to crow about with 57.2% employed? If the government did not open the floodgate to the FWs, most S’poreans above 55 years will find employment with a higher salary and normal 8 hrs work. 90& is more impressive!
For 10 years, an increase of $20/- on the pay of workers! And with only one parliametary sitting after 2006 elections, all the ministers pay were increased by 60% of their salary into millions. Do we Singaporean need to say more??
Where is the quality of life for All S’poreans and for that matter older citizens subsisting on such survival? And the $20/- increased was due to the 5hrs more of working from 30 hrs per week for part-timers. Hahaha! the COL all those years must have remained constant !!??
YES! work cheaper, faster , better with CHEAP foreign labour at the expense of the very livelihood of the citizens.
Why is Singapore falling back though moving forwards?? Is our policy-makers only comcern is the GDP to put more money into their own coffers?? Where were the vision of a Swiss standard of living boasted by our very own goh ‘choke’ tong?
and vivian balakrishnan’s “no Singaporeans will go hungry!! Who cannot talk? We do not need million dollar ministers to talk rubbish.
The right time to remain silence sometimes is the best answer.
I really ‘love’ LSS (lim swee say) for his rhetorics of working ‘cheaper, better and faster’. Why don’t he himself show by example?
GOOD TALK, GOOD LIFE, GOOD PAY, I will reborn to be a minister of S’pore if I cannot attain Nirvana !
GDP growth, peace and harmony
The PAP has the mandate (98% seats) to do what they think is best for Singapore.
Of course best for Singapore not necessarily mean also best for some individuals. But doesn’t really matter .
Most important is the mandate for them will not be affected at future elections and GDP will continue to grow and there is peace and harmony too.
This has been so for 40 over years. Why not for the next 20 to 40 years?
Sawdust
This report is so true that it makes me sick to the stomach! What is there to pride that Singapore is “corruption free”. My foot! Paying these idiots millions creates corruption in all other places! Lesser mortals are just struggling to survive under exploited circumstances. How are we going to see daylight under these suppressions? Just can’t wait for the the next GE!
David
Most concerned government in the world would be very worried to see such unhealthy statistic showing in their country. Unfortunately, our government seems oblivion and continnue to think what they did is the best for the people( or rather for themselves). As if Ho Jin lossing billions of our reserves is still not bad enough, the govt took revenge on the people to up the GDP, in any cruel methods so as to achieve higher ill-gotten bonuses & salaries for themselves when the time comes. It is a suicide policies and Singapore will sink further if PAP continue to put their weight on the people relentlessly.
Shocked!
Yesterday report mentioned that this christmas season is rather quiet and the shop owners are not seeing much business. So what has influx of foreigners contributed to the economy? During this time of the year, if Singaporeans have job they would be spending on our economy during this festive time. I am not surprised a lot of money earmed by foreigners would have remitted home leaving Singapore dry. So, is this a foresight policies or BACKSIDE policy? It doesn’t take a genius to see the underlying problems here.
jonlatio
[The median income for all employed residents dipped by 1.2 per cent from $2,450 in 2008 to $2,420 in 2009.
The employment rate of older workers above the age of 55 stayed at a high of 57.2 per cent – a record that was reached a year before. In fact, Singapore has the highest rate of older men working globally”]
Concerns about unaffordabilty of housing, shrugged off.
Concerns about widening income gap and cost of living, shrugged off.
Concerns about jobs and unemployment, shrugged off.
Where were the good years we were promised? Were is the Swiss standard of living we were promised?
All I know is that i’ve had enough of this very bitter taste in my mouth. I used to be a fence sitter,but I woke up 3yrs ago and I’ve come down that fence.
Lee
The local MSMs would never break down and analyse the data like
Leong Sze Han did. If they could spin it, the would
No wonder they always emphasize of GDP growth
Clearly we all need to send a signal to the MIW this coming GE
for a change of course and direction.
Its about time
Do the MIW care, they are the higest paid in the world. Their son’s and daughters get scholarships and will be assured a well paying job. Even if they have one foot in the grave , they will still get paid for a specially created job or become some adviser or board member. The people are getting screwed and if by now they do not know that , than they deserve worst.
We need cheaper, faster and better MPs and Ministers. And we do not need grossly overpaid old man dishing out “word of wisdom” which no one cares for as most are far too worried about putting food on the table and their children through school. The only once getting excited are people are being paid too much money to run a country which is going down the slippery slope because the people have lost their voice to demand that politicians serve the people and not themselves and cronies and family. Compare the statistics provided on the report with that on the Mps and Ministers and see how much their have been helping themselves to.
New Era
I am voting for Change. I am voting for a Singapore without the MIW.
Enuf said.
What Change?
Wih the West going under, the new wave of cheap foreign workers will be white trash who can afford a plane ticket to Singapore.
A Singapore Citizen
Since PAP want to keep Singapore competitive by keeping our wages low, they should also cut defence spending and wages of the SAF regulars and reduce GST and income taxes, so that we the citizens can survive in our country we are called to defend!
Laughing AngMoh
“24) What Change? on December 2nd, 2009 11.30 am
Wih the West going under, the new wave of cheap foreign workers will be white trash who can afford a plane ticket to Singapore. ”
West going under? This article just proves you sould sweep in front of your own door before claiming SG is that much better off than the West. I would like to see the first European coming down here, leaving behind the government pension plans, health care, democracy and free education to spend a stressful. expensive life trying to eek out a job amongst stressed and xenophobic Singaporeans.. lol.
Oh and before you keep on blaming cheap imported labor, look at yourself and the over 200.000 maids that clean your houses and educate your kids. Their salaries are less than the tax you pay your government.
But I guess it is a lot more comfortable wining and spitting venom behind a computer screen than to take up your responsibility as a citizen and go out there and kick out those that are really ripping SG off every hour of every day. If you keep on blaming the water instead of the one who opens the taps, you will be flooded for a long time to come.
And… luckily we westerners are not as biased and racist about Singaporeans joining us over here in search of a better future for themselves and their families.
Think about that before you continue your couch-crusades. With Singaporeans like you, the PAP is assured of decades of free reign, and deep down inside you know it.
zero
Laughing Angmoh Dec 2, 12.14pm is not totally wrong to condemn the posters in my opinion. Reading through the two dozen posts, i see nothing but meaningless personal attacks and sweeping nonsensical statements such as white caucasian countries going down all the way. I agree with Laughing Angmoh that it is this kind of trash and misguided conjectures, that guarantee the PAP victory in the next elections.
When we debate, we must debate objectively, scientifically. I am also not much inspired by Mr Leong’s original article. He talks of productivity falling with the incoming foreign labour. Does it not occur to him that productivity is measured by the amount of money you pay to get a certain job done? In this sense having foreign workers do the same job will increase productivity – by definition – all other things being equal such as the number of workers employed. Much as we do not like the sheer numbers descending on us, we cannot say that the cheap labour sabotages productivity, unless productivity is measured differently. We have to be objective. You can say the cheap labour sabotages local jobs, that is correct and you can criticise this policy on such ground.
Next, many posts here there and everywhere, complain about the foreign labour cleaning the tables in our food courts. IIt seems singaporeans are just couch potatoes and complain complain complain. Just like what the angmoh said. maybe he is PAP man not angmoh, no one knows, but he talks sense. When we have older people doing the cleaning job, the same singaporean will complain that we ill-treat the old folks so that they have to slog to death to make ends meet, not able to retire comfortably. When we have foreign labour doing it, the same singaporean complain that they take away the old folks job. What do you complainers want? Young men 25 years old to wipe the tables in the food courts? It is absolutely ridiculous, blaming the government in damn if you do, damn if you don’t fashion.
Be realistic and make a reasonable proposal. Even if you vote in 10 opposition members, what do you want them to do, send back all the foreign workers and get back singaporean old folks to wipe the tables, and then complain again that the old folks no money to rest and retire? All childish complains, in my opinion.
Zero
snaker
Come here, let pappie give you a little crumb and you go stand guard …
Bark at everything that moves, unless you see Men dressed in white, or should it be White Man …
Lines seems to be so blur now…. Men-in-White, White Man (a.k.a. colonial masters)
Oh Holy
@12) Tan Cheng Hua
The current Cabinet alone nets about S$45 million each year.
Correct me if I am wrong. I don’t think I am
Slightly wrong actually, we have more than 10 senior ministers earning 3.3mil now, so is 33mil, you add in the number of ministers and the MP…..(We have MM, SM, PM also) and 98% of the PAP that earns more than 1mil to 3mil. Their benefits, allowances and months of bonuses make it more than 200mil for sure. If you count in MM Lee position as Chairman, and the number of high posts in the GIC, and Temasek, the maintenance cost alone are billions….
Even before they do something for Singapore, we have spend billions already just to maintenance their position. That ’s gross.
I no stupid
Actually I feel very sad to see the remark: “…the employment rate of older workers above the age of 55 stayed at a high of 57.2 per cent – a record that was reached a year before. In fact, Singapore has the highest rate of older men working globally”. It shows that we Singaporean when grow old, we will still have to work. There is no time for us to retire and enjoy our fruits we grown. Just sad lah….
Ching Chong Chang
Mr Leong, good article!
I visited a SME industrial area.
When i changed car battery, I see the boss’ china workers only.
When i visit a arts and craft workshop, all I see are mainly foriegn workers.
Of course wages will be depressed like this.
employers cannot survive without foreign labor.
Or is it an excuse for more profit?
Or is it their inability to sustain or capture the market?
zero
Again i see the usual complain of the minister’s high salaries. I agree it is too high, for sure.What can we do to reduce the minister’s salaries? What can we do? What can we do? This is the burning question we have to ask ourselves.
Vote in an oppostion? Name me one opposition leader who will say, if i am elected, i will SLASH all the ministers salary by half or more. I will tell you they will not say that. Tomorrow, if PAP is voted out, and 20 opposition members get in, do you think they will SLASH their own salaries by 80%? This is a chance in a lifetime to get rich instantly. It’s time to enjoy the high salary, any opposition guy goes in, happy man. There are no good people in this land any more. Give up! Go jump into the sea, this land is finished, kaput, not even a country, no hope.
Perhaps i humbly ask, you Singapore ministers reading this post – kindly forgo your 13th month pay (do you need $150,000 which is the low estimate of your monthly salary..) and release the grand total billion dollars send it to lego bricks community chest, nkf, SINDHA, et all. It has to come from the heart and it has to be initiated from the top as this is monkey see monkey do society.
Zero
Say no to nonsense
To Zero… dun talk nonsense la…
For one… do you know that NCMP like Slyvia Lim and previously, Steve Chia, has been getting allowance of lesser than 3k a month? What are they fight for?
People like Slyvia Lim, with her credentials, can easily join the PAP setup. Why did she chose to do otherwise?
Another example, did you know Dr Lily Neo of PAP donate all her salary increment to charity?
The reason… there are many people with other kind of aspiration… other kind of conviction… money is part of the equation definitely… but not the whole equation.
Perhaps people like you do not really understand such a concept?
The root of this issue… is that too many people of the current setup might be of similar mindset as our dear Zero.
Hence, in order to change, isnt it quite obvious?
Get in more people from different setup, ensure more transparency and responsibilties, have more meaningful debate… in short, people with other set of ideologies.
Oh Holy
if u donate to charity, u get 2.5 times of income tax debate , do u know why? If u donate alot, u get name as a golden donater lol…rich men will rather donate. cos of the x2.5 times of income tax debate.
Hoot
#26 Laughing Angmoh makes sense, we need to take more responsibility of our lives and not delegate them to maids, foreign labor, talents and the gahmen. We need to free ourselves from our own iron cages as much as the velvet grip of the gahmen. Otherwise we truly deserve the gahmen that we r getting now, one that prescribes the boundaries and very conditions of Singaporean life.
What A Joke
32) zero on December 2nd, 2009 3.04 pm
Zero, I can see you working hard for your political masters but let me tell you that your efforts will be in vain.
Singaporeans have made up our minds. We are fully aware of the issues and we are certainly fully aware of the costs to ourselves and our love ones if we continue to be run by a one-party government.
Looking back at the last elections and the growing discontent among the electorate now, I am confident that the opposition will win at least 3 or 4 GRCs and probably all of the single wards.
In an era when every, Tan, Ahmad and Kumar has easy access to the internet, the old tried and tested shameless dirty tricks we saw in the previous elections will not work.
The Time for Change is here.
PS. No one reads the Shitty Times anymore. Not only is it full of propaganda BS but it is also environmentally unfriendly. Thousands of trees are destroyed everyday to print the Shitty Times. Not only that, but the habitat of many endangered species are destroyed as well. I have stopped buying the Shitty Times to save the world we live in. I hope you stop buying it too.
btan
@32) zero on December 2nd, 2009 3.04 pm
This is what I am reading from you.
“Again, I see the usual complains of the water being too warm. I agree it is too warm and in fact, it seems boiling. But what can we do to cool the water? What can we do? What can we do? This is the boiling question we have to ask ourselves.
Vote in opposition? Name me one opposition leader that will say, I will turn down the fires under the cauldron so the water will stop boiling. I will tell you they will not say that. If they are elected, they will continue to boil us frogs until everyone single one is cooked, just like the PAP did.
I sincerely appeal to all ministers to stop boiling us even though you guys enjoy your frog legs!”
You are just one such frog who still have not seen or refuse to see that you are slowly, eventually, being boiled, until it is too late.
zero
Actually i do not work for political masters. This is absolutely incorrect deduction. I disagree with the incumbent government in numerous issues. I disagree with their crazy salary policies which make us the laughing stock of the whole world.
However, I also do not like to be manipulated by any tom dick and harry who stir up this issue and gets votes and then afterwards he is completely helpless to do anything about the high salaries. I do not recall the two oppostion fellas making any complains when the govt want to increase their salaries.
It is fine to make noise over this issue, but if no action is do-able, and not part of the opposition manifesto for change, we have to be careful of people who take advantage and then hook on get in parliament and live happy ever after. I would rather spoil my vote than to be cheated again, first by the pap then by the opposition.
Why don;t we do a practical thing. Write a petition – appeal to the Prime Minister to please lead by example and reduce the entire cabinet’s salary because this is daylight robbery of the taxpayer’s money, every day, every month. It is equally ridiculous that retired former PMs continue to hog on to the cash each month and even drawing a few more times than Barack Obama.
We need more Sylvia Lim and Lily Neo to lead by example.
Zero
Apathy Really
This may sound like i am digressing from topic.
But the problem is really Apathy not anything else.
Get rid of Apathy and all will fall into place.
Yang
To Zero. Don’t be so navie. You think the present PAP leaders will read your letter. Wait long long. If they have the compassion for the people. They will act without been told. That’s the kind leadership that we want to see, not waiting for us to make noise that act on it. So call elite????
WeeKiat
“Could this be due to competition from foreign workers in these lower-skilled, lower-paid jobs?”
Yes! Yes! Yes! I am an NUS grad and I am forced away from jobs too, unless I am willing to take $2.2k.
Thanks to Foreigners Action Party.
TanAhTeck
41) WeeKiat
I understand your anguish. My HDB is FULL of foreigners now, so is my workplace.
Is this my country? I ask myself.
Economist
To 42) TanAhTeck:
“Is this my country?”
Technically we are not a country according to Law minister. We are only a city.
That is why it is perfectly alright for foreigners to just come in freely with almost non-existent restrictions.
where's my cheese?
I really Dread to think about my future if there is still no Change and the turnout still does not tally with the results.
My heart has been Broken, Shattered and Crushed 2 times in the last 2 elections when the Turnout did not Tally with result.
I not sure how to take it this time round if still no Change.
Its living hell for me with the current situation where the opposition is basically not able to stop any thing from being passed.
I feel like a Helpless citizen.
quitter
@WeeKiat
can understand how you feeling. graduating from the local uni soon
and the job market is badddd. few companies hiring unless
you want work in the govt.
TOO many talented foreginers in uni that average Joe like us going to suffer
even with a degree.
Komenos
Ya, I seriously hate the amount of “talents” they are bringing into Singapore. I’m a 19 year old student and I still have friends who believe that PAP is still the best choice for Singapore despite the evidence that I show to them.
On the other hand, I’ve friends who have “awaken” and start to question what the government is doing is correct. Sometimes I really feel like shouting get the hell out of here FTs in areas like train etc.
Anyway, PAP should really get this correct. If next time you say someone is a talent, make sure they’re talented.
Economist
46) Komenos
If I am in the govt, I would import MORE foreigners regardless whether they are talent or not.
1) I would have more people who would vote for my party.
2) More foreigner PRs -> Higher HDB prices (COV is $100k now)-> (i)Locals who cannot afford flat have their family line die with them, hence less pesky new generation of poor & rebellious (ii) Those who can afford flat bought at high market will be too scared to vote against my party, in fear that their flat prices would fall -> My party holds on to POWER.
zero
we wont know what will the Opposition candidates will do if they are voted in power but what we do know is what will happen if we vote in the PAP.
it will be very naive for Singaporeans to think the PAP will be satisfied with their millionaire salaries.
i wouldnt be surprised if the PAP Ministers raise their salaries by another million after the next GE if they get voted in simply because there are no “credible” or “capable” Opposition worth voting for.
we will forever be trapped in the vicious cycle of helplessness should we vote the PAP in again. they have not been listening for the past 44 years, whats another 5 years to them? complain all you like, “get out of my uncaring elite face” will be their reply(in the form of feigning ignorance) to you.
i urge all Singaporeans to go for anything-but-PAP.
vote for Change, vote the PAP out
loop
Look what happen to Dubai World. They had been living on borrowed money all this while. Anyone knows if Dubai is going to survive this crisis? I’m sure they can but they will have to sell off their assets at a steep discount. Just realised that a small private bank with a Singapore office (formerly under AIG) has Dubai Investor. Oops! They are going to lose all their clients.
lim
@zero
Frankly, the opposition should be given a chance. With only 2 opp MPs in parliament, when it comes to voting on policies, what do you think will be the majority votes?
Do you like the compulsory CPF Life scheme? Do you seriously believe you will live many years beyond 85… I don’t like it, but I have no say. As far as I am concern, the only way is to have a balance in power. Deny the ruling party 2/3 majority, so that they cannot just bulldoze it thro’ parliament.
True, the oppositions are untested, but it is just like having children, can you guarantee that your children will be born healthy, free from defects, and achieve great things in life? So, if you can’t, then don’t have children, right?
Dulai Peanot
I not sure why Singaporeans, so-called highly educated and 1st world, choose to have a weak Opposition presence in parliament where effectively, the ruling party can get any of its bills passed If it really wants to. Correct the me if I wrong.
After decades, I still find this a Mystery.
Almost maciam like ILLOGICAL to me.
Yang
Taking about Dubai World. Just wait and see wthether the GIC will reveal more losses in this investment. I think we will have shocking christmas present for everyone.
Teo CW
The current employment situation is a manifestation of modern slavery. I can only pray & hope that this will catch the attention of worldwide human rights organizations & boycott trading with Singapore. & this will hit the incompetent elites where it hurt most. Their pockets.
Compassionate
Stop moaning brudders.. why talk about Vivian Balakrishnan, Lim Swee Say etc?
when you have a chance to vote, what do you do? you vote them in. YOu get what you deserve. Have the courage to change things instead of just moaning about it.
Soon, foreigners will be taking your votes as they become citizens. Soon your real salary will be lower than it was 15 years ago. (it already is lower than it was 10 yrs ago.
More good years ??? we are such fools. easily cowed.
Followers of NATO Leaders
I agree that we Singapore should be cheaper, better and faster. BUT let us start with all our leaders first. Beginning with our President, the Prime Minister, the MM, the SMs, and especially NTUC Chief Minister-without-Portfolio Lim Swee Say, the very loud mouth guy who uttered the words: Cheaper, Better and Faster.
If our leaders, and especial Lim Swee Say, cannot do it, then they should just
SHUT UP and SIT DOWN!
As we can obviously see in the example of MM Lee. When he becomes older, he became Highly Expensive, Not As Good As Before, and Very Much Slower. Yet, nobody, not even his own son nor Lim Swee Say dares to even utter a word of criticism about him. Why???
Why should we common citizens do the biddings of those who themselves are not willing or not able to do the things they want us to do?
Pragmatism, my foot! NATO is the correct word to use!
Online Shmonline
why are my cooments still under moderation since Dec 2?
ACACIA
55) When Lim SS uttered those words I thought what a stupid statement from an intelligent guy. But on second thoughts, they’re not so smart after all. My goodness we have all these people runnning our country and making statements like these, what are they thinking? My vote goes to the opposition.
Miek
You believe in the government’s bullshit on Cheaper, Better, Faster?
Let me say one thing, Good things ain’t cheap, Cheap things aint good! You pay peanuts, you get cheap rotten stuff.
Miek
Lim Swee Say says, ” Cheaper, Better, Faster”!
Talk is cheap, my grandmother can also say mumble out these words if she is paid $150,000.00 per month.

Well….as long as it increase GDP, anything goes right….that’s MIW?!