Monday, December 28, 2009 12:36

Complaint against TOC made to S’pore Police

In Main Stories • 7,958 views • 150 Comments

The following is an email by a certain “Janet Wee’ which was sent to the Singapore Police Force and copied to The Online Citizen. Her email is also addressed to several other people, including MM Lee Kuan Yew, the Attorney-General, Mr Jeremy Au Yeong of the Straits Times, Google, among others.

We publish Ms Wee’s email in full here without edit.

Hi Singapore Police Force,

I will like to bring to your attention a seditious article by a well-known anti-government blog – The Online Citizen published yesterday which was aggregated on Google News:

http://theonlinecitizen.com/2009/12/lee-kuan-yew-had-suggested-instigating-riots-and-disorder-to-crush-opposition/

The title of the article is: “Lee Kuan Yew had suggested “instigating riots and disorder” to crush
opposition”

The article contains seditious remarks about Mr Lee which are unproven and accuse Mr Lee of creating social unrest in Singapore in order to achieve his political motives.

As Google News has a wide readership, the damage done to Mr Lee’s image and reputation is great.

I have already written to Google News to take down the article, but they have refused to do so. Hence I have no choice but to lodge a complaint to you.

The Online Citizen is hosted by a web server company in Utah, Bluehost.com. You can write in to them to take down the site for infringing the terms of service.

The Managing Editor of The Online Citizen is Mr Leong Sze Hian, a Financial advisor known to be very critical of the Singapore government. Another opposition leader involved are Mr Tan Kin Lian and
Mr Kenneth Jeyaretnam of the Reform Party.

Please investigate the matter as we cannot allow our leaders to be defamed publicly by these bloggers.

This email has been forwarded to Mr Lee and the AG Chambers for their attention.

Yours Sincerely,

Janet Wee

——

1. Letter of complaint against TOC on Today
  2. CCTVs in Hong Lim – Police replies to TOC’s queries
  3. Police seemed ignorant about law governing indoor forums
  4. Police rejects permit for outdoor protest by S’pore student
  5. TOC Breaking News: Police allow SDP march to Parliament

150 Comments

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Zefly (aka Joshua Chiang)
Dec 28, 2009 13:02

I wonder if Ms Janet Wee knows that she can be counter-sued for defaming TOC’s reputation.. unless she can prove the sources of the articles are wrong.

Oxford Dude
Dec 28, 2009 13:14

Janet Wee should be liable for civil defamation. TOC, sue her! Clearly, she hasn’t read the recently declassified British records on Lee Kuan Yew’s activities from the 1950s to 1960s.

ObviousMan
Dec 28, 2009 13:14

We should thank Janet Wee for publicising TOC and the book “The Fajar Generation”. If the mainstream media reports this as news, the book is on its way to be a best-seller.

The source of her distress appears to be Philip Moore’s quote in the book. Well, someone can sue him (assuming he is still alive, that is).

Moe Gan Thai
Dec 28, 2009 13:15

This is the prelude to closing down all blogs that are critical of the govt. before the GE

How Sure?
Dec 28, 2009 13:19

Janet Wee has written the complaint to advance her career/self interest without doubt.

whutdabuck
Dec 28, 2009 13:25

“damage done to Mr Lee’s image and reputation”

lol rofl lmao

sweeney 38
Dec 28, 2009 13:31

Who is Janet Wee??

la nausée
Dec 28, 2009 13:40

The most amusing thing about Ms. Wee’s e-mail is her seeming eagerness to show that she could not have accessed the evil, “anti-government” TOC website on her own accord… rather, she came across it through the perfectly innocuous medium of Google News.

I wonder, too, whether Ms. Wee realized that TOC was excerpting from Martyn See’s blog, which in turn excerpted from a published book available through a Singapore distributor. (I probably shouldn’t mention its name, lest I give her, or any one equally daft, any ideas.)

As for Ms. Wee’s allegation that the article was seditious, it beggars belief that a historical account of an event which occurred some 50 years ago during the era of colonial self-government could possibly “excite disaffection” against the present-day Government.

Spiegel
Dec 28, 2009 13:41

It seems to be a common name, but I’d be damned if it turns out to be the one listed here.

http://www.linkedin.com/pub/dir/Janet/Wee/?trk=ppro_find_others

Yang
Dec 28, 2009 13:44

Hello brothers and sisters, true colour going to show by the PAP. They are just to prepare to strike us before the coming election. So be prepare for more, this is just the start of the showdown.

Oxford Dude
Dec 28, 2009 13:48

According to LinkedIn, there are 2Janet Wee(s) working for Singapore Press Holdings. One is working as ST’s Marketing Director, the other is working as SPH’s Marketing Director.

tide
Dec 28, 2009 13:48

8) Spiegel on December 28th, 2009 1.41 pm

It seems to be a common name, but I’d be damned if it turns out to be the one listed here.

http://www.linkedin.com/pub/dir/Janet/Wee/?trk=ppro_find_others

hahahhahahha good one Spiegel…i wouldn’t be surprised if it is.

Lee Con You
Dec 28, 2009 13:51

Oh, so what’s going to happen next? Shut TOC down? Sue the editors? Operation Cold Store?

“The article contains seditious remarks about Mr Lee which are unproven and accuse Mr Lee of creating social unrest in Singapore in order to achieve his political motives.”

The article contains facts. Facts are valid and proven. Duh.

zero
Dec 28, 2009 13:52

huh, this is a strange post out of nowhere. there are literally hundreds of blog posts of people giving their private opinions of issues as well as opinions of politicians, every day. the police will be really busy after receiving Ms Wee’s tip. and i think they might need to employ more staff to catch all these defamers, bloggers, casual commentators, wise cracks, rude bloggers, and send them to prison for 23 years ++. Great job, solve the unemployment problem partially.

wow
Dec 28, 2009 13:54

I think the whole world should see this email.

so that we can be laughed at, again.

justkaypoh
Dec 28, 2009 14:02

the original posts can’t be accessed, censored?

prettyplace
Dec 28, 2009 14:07

Janet Wee, I do not think LKY needs your advise.

….as if LKY does not know how to sue….he is a champion from past…..and we have living examples.

Anyways, I am sure TOC did all the neccesary checks.

wat?
Dec 28, 2009 14:09

“Hi Singapore Police Force”

wat a way to start a serious letter.

complain to spf
Dec 28, 2009 14:11

I will also like to complain to spf abt sph for not publishing national geographic interview of LKY, when they have been publishing every interview of LKY. this is doing a disservice to loyal readers of msm.

shamemudgameismyname
Dec 28, 2009 14:18

[i]The following is an email by a certain “Janet Wee’ which was sent to the Singapore Police Force and copied to The Online Citizen
The title of the article is: “Lee Kuan Yew had suggested “instigating riots and disorder” to crush
opposition”

The article contains seditious remarks about Mr Lee which are unproven and accuse Mr Lee of creating social unrest in Singapore in order to achieve his political motives.
[/i]

i see.. when we have court issues..we must deposit $20,000 in order to have a court hearin no matter what cases we want to brin to justice
in the name of leekuanyew..you just summoned the SINGapore polis force to take actions..even when we are bleedin from our head while kannaed based in a public carpark…the singaPOOr polis force will not take such actions against asny bullies
wow! who is payin the singaPOOR polis force? ms janet wee or leekuanyew’s payroll?
~sigh~

Cold Sore
Dec 28, 2009 14:25

1 shot implicate all the key people?
The date has not even been announced.

Cold Sore
Dec 28, 2009 14:29

Blessing in disguise could be , hopefully, more youths get to know about the contents in the book.

Joke
Dec 28, 2009 14:42

Janet Wee’s email reminds me of primary school kids:

“Teacher, teacher, he steal my pencil.”

seah chock rong
Dec 28, 2009 14:46

does she run any business?

Dumb and dumber
Dec 28, 2009 14:47

Opening the closet and let the skeleton sees the day? Unlikely.

Singaporean
Dec 28, 2009 15:03

Hi TOC Admin,

Since you have received the same email from Janet Wee by cc, you obviously have her email address.

Can you please ask her if it is all right for us readers to email her with our responses to her letter of complaint ?

Many thanks.

DK
Dec 28, 2009 15:05

I’m impressed that Ms Janet Wee even provide the webhost to the police.

Ng E-Jay
Dec 28, 2009 15:14

Janet Wee sounds cute, but how do we know she is the real deal? On the internet, anyone can use a fake name.

Kan_Cheong spider
Dec 28, 2009 15:17

Janet Wee … another internet super zero.

Owned.

SYN
Dec 28, 2009 15:18

Why Jeremy Au Yeong? Or why only Jeremy Au Yeong of ST?

What about Today, CNA, Mediacorp, CNN, AFP, BBC, IHT, NYT, OKTO? Hummm…..

Yaakob
Dec 28, 2009 15:20

Janet Wee is soo childish, the MM himself never even bother. Why should she? If the Singapore Police Force investigate her claims, the SPF is just wasting time as the report is not defamation at all. The onus is on Janet to show that it is defamatory not the TOC since she claim so, she have to prove it. Accusing is easy. Substantiate it.

shamemudgameismyname
Dec 28, 2009 15:49

[i]Janet Wee sounds cute, but how do we know she is the real deal? On the internet, anyone can use a fake name[/i]
actualLEE in realive she is weesuemen/min
the daughter of the other wee who is or might be the mp of some techgheehuat grc community central
1 thinggie for sured she ain’t related to the dearly departed presidental wee
or else the poor presidental might turned over his graveyard just to protect his wee kinships…

Tesla
Dec 28, 2009 15:51

calling SPF is a waste of time, shld just get ISD to round up all these terrorists!

Political SalesMaN
Dec 28, 2009 15:56

Janet Wee was trying to prosituting herself so to be Singpaore No 1 MaMa-San

Political SalesMaN
Dec 28, 2009 16:01

I know her Father real name call Wee Can Fatt !

Spiegel
Dec 28, 2009 16:07

31) Tesla on December 28th, 2009 3.51 pm
calling SPF is a waste of time, shld just get ISD to round up all these terrorists!

So Tesla, are you an advocate of Couthon and Robespierre’s Law of 22 Prairial then?

http://chnm.gmu.edu/revolution/d/439/

If so, be careful what you wish for…the revolution, like Saturn, devours its own children.

ahhyuuseeriyears
Dec 28, 2009 16:11

hi janet wee.

if you are reading this. i feel sorry for you. anyone reading your email will be hard-pressed to take you seriously.

you should broadcast this “complaint” in a video form and we will viral it all over youtube. so we can see your face, and tourists coming to singapore will be able to recognize you also and get your autograph for your “heroic” email.

pfft i’ve never seen someone idolising mr lee so feverisly before.

my whole body is so sore from laughing. but thank you for curing my monday blues.

Jackson Tan
Dec 28, 2009 17:23

The Online Citizen is hosted by a web server company in Utah, Bluehost.com. You can write in to them to take down the site for infringing the terms of service.

I’m somewhat amused by this paragraph. Disregarding her assumption that the hosting service’s terms of services forbids “damage done to Mr Lee’s image and reputation”, she asked the police to serve the take-down notice instead of contacting them herself (like what she did with Google News). She assumed that the SPF has amazing global powers.

blackfeline
Dec 28, 2009 17:30

another fruitcake on the loose…we shall stand united!

Merobok
Dec 28, 2009 17:34

Janet, you have done a good job! Probably in 2010 you will receive an award on our National Day!

Singaporean
Dec 28, 2009 17:34

Janet Wee sounds like one of those powderful RC clerks who find it such a joy to lord over the citizenry just because of some perceived connection with the rulling party.

Oh Holy
Dec 28, 2009 17:46

Wow, I wonder how she got Lee email, must be his friend or close supporter for sure.

Come on, let us all know Lee email, so we can ask talk to him personally hoho.

Actually i was expecting this. There are two obvious trolls here that disagree with the majority of us here. And I mean, disagree with practically everything.

Lee Con You
Dec 28, 2009 17:48

“26) Singaporean on December 28th, 2009 3.03 pm

Hi TOC Admin,

Since you have received the same email from Janet Wee by cc, you obviously have her email address.

Can you please ask her if it is all right for us readers to email her with our responses to her letter of complaint ?

Many thanks. ”

Probably a fake name, plus fake email to. Therefore, credibility = Zero.

wakeupearly
Dec 28, 2009 17:59

Do I smell GE very soon in 2010? Seems like a lot of PAP supporters are now on a high & running aimlessly to call everyone a cyber terrorist if we disagree with their views. Even a small disagreement causes them to go into a very excitable state.

Is this fair play? No wonder the world press dubbed us as an authoritarian state, yes, becos of you PAPs.

Oh, BTW, while this hysterical Janet Wee is still at it, she might also think about sueing the whole of the electorate who will vote against the PAP & especially what LKY represents: a dictator & nothing more.

Janet Wee, having PMS perhaps. Chill out girl, down girl, down.

younger01
Dec 28, 2009 18:01

She’s such a disgrace to Singaporeans.lol. No wait… she is quite representative of Singaporeans!!! !!!

cat
Dec 28, 2009 18:03

Yeah, look at the phrasing of the email, I think the police officer who got it first, must be laughing at the email.

I wonder what LKY is thinking when he reads it.

It seems more provocative to him than to TOC.

Yang
Dec 28, 2009 18:07

Hi all. This is just the begining the tactics used by the PAP government to scare all of us. More to come guys, stand firm on our ground and fight for the truth justices.

mice is nice
Dec 28, 2009 18:09

well, well, let’s all see if the law is realLee on the PAP’s side this time!! :P

interested
Dec 28, 2009 18:13

well done, janet wee! i like to see what happens to your complaint,

leesjuanpat
Dec 28, 2009 18:28

Do someone knows who this Janet wee is? She really got the audacity to sue TOC.
Who are her backers? She may not be that brave to do it on her on.
Can be a conspiracy of sort.

TOC can counter-sue her.

jiangbao
Dec 28, 2009 18:28

I think we better siam.. what if SPF starts tracking our ISP.. Operation Coldstore or whatever they call it this days…

SPF will always back their boss. I will always back mine so long they pay me salary.

bigger balls to roll
Dec 28, 2009 18:30

be carefullllll !!!

your increasing popularity & readership is becoming more & more of a force to be reckoned with ……

the authority may be very very very very very busy. this lady ain’t know she may be setting for more bigger balls to roll ……..

mice is nice
Dec 28, 2009 18:39

anti-govt = anti-PAP?

PAP = govt?

aygee
Dec 28, 2009 18:46

In line with what Joke said Comment #23,

I think when Janet wrote to Google, Google’s response was:

“You not happy is it? go report police lor…”

commentator
Dec 28, 2009 18:53

Is Janet Wee related somehow to LKY? If all she wants is attention, her wish has been fulfilled.

Alan Wong
Dec 28, 2009 19:02

So now thanks to Janet Wee, we now know that maybe LKY is an unscrupulous politician who will not hesitate to resort to whatever it takes to achieve his ends.

So the millions that he now receives yearly is not without its doubts ?

civil suit lah
Dec 28, 2009 19:03

should be civil suit lah by the actual party aggrieved lah. so wrong address lah. garment does not get involved in civil matters lah. so do not waste public funds lah. if you are so free, get power of attorney from aggrieved party and do it on his behalf lah.

John Tan
Dec 28, 2009 19:03

LKY and all Ministers’ emails are public information available at http://www.sgdi.gov.sg but they get filtered by their personal assistants.

Triple Threat
Dec 28, 2009 19:12

This is what happens when citizens of Singapore are so brainwashed and misled by the social studies textbooks that they first read during their primary and secondary educations. And continues to be brainwashed and misled by the pathetic STooges’ media when they become as adults.

Their minds have become so narrow that they are intolerate of “government-unfriendly” websites. They are just as equally shallow and rigid as our leaders. Like the Chinese saying goes, “Bad parents will produce bad children” – In Singapore, the bad government produces bad citizens.

How to help Singaporeans where they self-deprived themselves of any help? How to help Janet Wee? -_-”

btan
Dec 28, 2009 19:44

And that’s why PAP are still in power, too many Janet Wees around.

cat
Dec 28, 2009 19:52

It would be funny if Janet Wee’s email got LKY so angry that it drove him to a heart attack and dealth subsequently.

Janet Wee will be dispised by all PAP supporters.

XIIIblackcat
Dec 28, 2009 20:01

“Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt.”

Neutral
Dec 28, 2009 20:03

Hi TOC,

Please ensure you get your facts right before publishing any articles. This is my reminder to you all from Day 1. As in politics, anything goes for people to stay in power. There is no right or worng. Every country people do the same thing. Then let the citizens decide which is right or wrong.

Else you may be sue, and no one will dare to save you here.

Please ensure responsible reporting.

south china sea
Dec 28, 2009 20:14

half of singaporeans are janet wees

they will call for any means necessary to silence or fix the opposition.

singapore has never been as divided as it is today….

GE2010/11 will be the thriller worth waiting for….

LoL
Dec 28, 2009 20:17

54) aygee on December 28th, 2009 6.46 pm

Actually, I think google will first laugh at it, and when they recover *which takes a long time* they will send one of those standard reply letters to this Wee…

But i need to thank wee! you gave me a good laugh….and will you mind posting your comment here? we will love to hear from you.

VBN
Dec 28, 2009 20:44

aiyoh if these are the type of PAP supporter that keep Papa in powerr… lolll i worry for my country.

nonsense
Dec 28, 2009 20:55

This clearly/sadly shows the level of lowest bootlicking present in UGLY Singapore. And why is there even any doubt that such absurd BS happens here or that tyranny is alive and well all along? We should be all past that now in wisdom.

Our ONLY action now is VOTE FOR CHANGE! Nothing maters!

TOC, please try not to get taken down as you are the portal to the ground. Stay strong.

Janet Wee or whatever name you hide behind, my middle finger to instigate you. Not happy it’s too big for your puny little hole-in-the-brain, go to your PAPa Police again then. Zzz

PS: TOC, can you start an article on why IRAS can just anyhow start a new property tax for HDB flats??? I was just going thru my TV licence and discovered a sudden additional increase of more than $200 on top of the already annual $110 TV licence!!! Really NONSENCE!!! This is daylight robbery!!!

Really believe they are now using all ways to recoup the $100Billion loss by Temasek &GiC……MIW post christmas sale->Ka Ching! Ka Ching!

DISGUSTING !!! Puke-Pui !!!
Seriously, this vile administration MUST GO !!!!!!!-asap ! :P

Goh Chock Song
Dec 28, 2009 21:37

if she cannot prove her allegations, and TOC decides to counter sue for defamation, i would be ready to donate money to help TOC legal proceedings.
I am sure many here would do the same.

TOC and TR and Martyn See are our last hope.
JBJ no more.
Chiam is older than before.

What would singapore be without these talents?

So, i would stand behind our heroes.
Standing behind them is standing up for myself.

winstoncheng
Dec 28, 2009 22:16

I think Goggle probably had asked the janitor to send a simple short reply to this moron.

KNN
Dec 28, 2009 22:25

Janet Wee… lodge an official report Janet if you want to start an investigation. An NP299.

Here’s the link… http://www.spf.gov.sg/epc/ePCLinks.html

What has the govt done for you that you want to defend them? You are very childish…. anyway this is interesting. Let’s see what happens.

mice is nice
Dec 28, 2009 22:34

its people like Janet Wee who cannot deal with constructive (but at times harsh) criticism who hinder progress, be it personal growth, in people to people relationships, in progressive companies & countries.

when feedback is not forthcoming, do not then blame the masses for not taking ownership of the country. nobody improve themselves by listening to sugar coated words.

Abdul Salim Harun
Dec 28, 2009 22:49

“Please investigate the matter as we cannot allow our leaders to be defamed publicly by these bloggers”

Who Is our leaders? LKY is NOT MY LEADER! Like that, i shall make a police report against LKY for caling Dr Chee a gangster! I dont like my leader to be defame you know…

Common JAnet Wee, go and get a life… Are you lonely and desperate for attention that you have to stoop so low to do this??? Please, look at the mirror and reflect on yourself….

Joddy
Dec 28, 2009 22:49

Is this Janet the “alter-ego” of his sissy son? The “akua” that sashayed upon arrival at cuba airport?

andrew leung
Dec 28, 2009 23:01

The Fajar Generation should sue MM instead.

ronin
Dec 28, 2009 23:21

This Janet Wee is trying to suck up to MIW to get derive some personal benefits.

Alpha
Dec 28, 2009 23:28

Janet Wee’s letter is taunting MM Lee to sue TOC if the article is not true.

XP
Dec 28, 2009 23:56

this is certainly quite interesting; i’d love to see how it all spins from here, for better or otherwise.

if anything, i wouldn’t regard ms wee with defamatory- or sometime obvious here, scurrilous- remarks. to report something like this to the police force, to reveal (if her credibility were to be postulated true) her identity, to… to borrow an idiom… to ‘grasp at straws’ as it were to this community, and go as far as to cc the mail over to the peeps at toc for a dissection by the hornets in the nests- it takes something more than a girl.

it takes balls.

can you begin to fathom what a brave act it is? although most wouldn’t find it commendable at a personal level, ya’ll have to hand it to her.

you’re on a roll janet, keep goin’.

Greaseistheword
Dec 29, 2009 0:03

How does Janet Wee know that The Online Citizen is hosted by a web server company in Utah, Bluehost.com? She must be of somebody powerful.

Instead of writing to the Singapore Police Force, she should write in to RSAF. She should get our RSAF pilots on training over there to shoot down the web server.

There goes the final finale of TOC. No more criticisms, no more bad mouths, no more gossips and no more cyber terrorists!

Lee Kuan U
Dec 29, 2009 0:04

Thank you, Janet Wee.

I will get the Singapore Foolish Force to start an operation code name Cold Storage to round up all these netizens and look them up at NTUC FairPrice and Sheng Siong supermarket.

I really need to round up as many opposition supporters as possible before next GE so that my boy boy can win.

Fear NOT
Dec 29, 2009 0:09

#73 Joddy, you are so right. He sashays! I was told that the media is not allowed to take long shots of him but medium shots lest he be seen sashaying down the red carpet. His wife wears the pants in the house, so I heard.

Moe Gan Thai
Dec 29, 2009 0:10

Who is this Lee Kuan Yew ?? He is a racist . Remember the Malayan govt under Tunku wanted to catch him under ISA. He is a bad leader,sorry not a leader at all. He used force to crush JBJ, Chee Soon Juan, Francis Seow, Tang Liang Hong and many more….

The prophet
Dec 29, 2009 0:21

MIW will not do anything ones lah … taking action against TOC makes them PUBLIC ENEMY …. election coming … they already in bad shape … if got brain they will not take action … just fire some blank shots …

Hahaha … come girl … come here … lick my toes….

Human Being
Dec 29, 2009 0:41

Comic relief for this week. Thanks Janet Wee or whoever you are. Hope to hear the next one. Maybe how Sang Nila Utama is actually a foreign talent. Wait a minute he is one.

RED-man
Dec 29, 2009 0:43

Don’t think this is a serious complaint:

1. The way Janet Wee constructed the language.

2. You need real identity for the Singapore Police Force to take it seriously.
3. How many people have LKY and other ministers email?

- Conclusions -

1. This complaint sounds like coming from a childish person, alot of wishful thinking.

2. If the Singapore Police Force entertain email like this, don’t think they can handle the logistic.

3. What makes you think Harry will look at this email? There is probably a secretary filtering all the unwanted emails anyway.

4. And becareful Janet Wee (or whoever you are, you might be Singapore Police Force target instead) for plank.

Seelan Palay
Dec 29, 2009 0:44

I have reproduced the letter on my blog and have written to urge others to do the same: http://seelanpalay.blogspot.com/2009/12/complaint-against-toc-made-to-spore.html

Let her make a police complaint against all of us.

ahtong
Dec 29, 2009 1:08

It is obvious to me that Ms. Janet Wee cannot even tell the difference between sedition and defamation.

tzh
Dec 29, 2009 1:47

A bootlicker. Very much like the MIW. Perhaps Ms Janet Wee here might be one of the MIW, who claim that they are “whiter than white”

Seelan Palay
Dec 29, 2009 2:05

2 things to take note of:

1. Is Janet Wee the Marketing Director at Singapore Press Holdings? > http://www.linkedin.com/pub/dir/Janet/Wee/?trk=ppro_find_others

2. Comment by DK:
27) DK on December 28th, 2009 3.05 pm
I’m impressed that Ms Janet Wee even provide the webhost to the police.

Susan
Dec 29, 2009 2:28

Hi! Janet!
Keep it up! I love your courage and loyalty to MM and our Government.
Ignore the nasty comments. These so called Singaporeans should live in a third world country to understand how fortunate they are.
God Bless!

ahhyuuseeriyears
Dec 29, 2009 2:36

90) Susan

“If you noticed that all comments comes with a nickname – Probably from the same person using various nicknames!”

LOL are YOU janet????

RED-man
Dec 29, 2009 2:49

Hi ahhyuuseeriyears

sure sound like the childish janet to me. living in her own dreamy world, and probably someone in and out of the MPH (mad people hospital). Hahaha

Hi susan,

Maybe you also want to think those facebook TOC members probably is just one person pretended to be many. Wow, you must be have invented the rocket with the IQ of 20. LOL

mice is nice
Dec 29, 2009 2:52

Susan

post #89 on December 29th, 2009 2.28 am

////Hi! Janet!
Keep it up! I love your courage and loyalty to MM and our Government.
Ignore the nasty comments. These so called Singaporeans should live in a third world country to understand how fortunate they are.
God Bless!////

idol worship at its worst. lol….

S’pore is sliding to the 3rd world with such people at the top.

let’s just follow the trail leading to that:
- moderate expectations
- cheaper, better, faster

oh well, some people are cheap, just ask for quotation… sold! :P

1st world sheep…. :D

RED-man
Dec 29, 2009 3:11

Susan

In case you didn’t know that our Law Minister K Shanmugam tell the world that we are not a country.

IQ the same as yours. Hahaha

RED-man
Dec 29, 2009 3:14

If we are not a country, so how to be even 3rd world, Susan?

nonsense
Dec 29, 2009 3:57

Typo: 2 years ago, Gillette Mach III blades….

Pimps And Prostitutes
Dec 29, 2009 7:43

Janet Wee said she had “no choice” but to lodge a complaint. Hmmmm… Sounds like someone had put a gun to her forehead and said, “You better complain or I will shoot!!!”

Yet even in such a situation, everyone still has a choice. We can choose to live or choose to die.

The only people who have “no choice” are those who live in walkover GRCs during the General Erections. The rest of us can choose to vote for “More Greed Years” or to vote for CHANGE!

citizen
Dec 29, 2009 8:28

Hahaha see her opening address “Hi Singapore Police Force”, shouldn’t it be ‘Dear Sir/Madam”?So cute. If she can write to the SPF, can someone write to the CPIB to request them to check on a certain grassroots leader whose business activities does not sound right?

hopeless
Dec 29, 2009 8:29

third world country is good, more happier there…. don’t believe go see for yourself….

Albingo
Dec 29, 2009 9:15

If there is a change, would the new gonmin be able to retain the right to use cold sore?

mad93
Dec 29, 2009 9:34

She has third-world mentality for the time being, TOC is a anti-government blog? She is blind, all i read form the articles here are the TRUTH.

New Era
Dec 29, 2009 9:52

100) hopeless on December 29th, 2009 8.29 am

You are absolutely right. Third world countries showing 2010 World Cup on free-to-air. Here in first world Singapore, fans might have to pay more than $150.

Can I volunteer to go to third world country first.

Utopia
Dec 29, 2009 10:03

Who is Janet Wee anyway ? Dare to lodge a serious mis-report against TOC but don’t dare to show her face ? It is important we know who she is because she may be a patient from IMH. Will police waste their time to entertain patient from IMH or a unknown source ?

GABRIEL
Dec 29, 2009 10:44

Susan, Susan: Your use of God Bless reveals where you come from (most other people, including Singaporeans, use God Bless You). I can understand why you feel Singapore is paradise — lots of food, clean environment, transport availability, jobs which are attractive to Third World newcomers, like you probably are, availability of medical and educational amenities, etc. The thing is, most Singaporeans have moved on over the years to higher thinking. We now want, for example, the freedom to discuss issues openly, with sensitivity and morality. We need to ensure that our society grows into something more than having just the ability to put food into our bellies and entertain our minds with the drivel that you see on on the TV daily. This is not being ungrateful, this is how human beings develop into wanting more than the satisfaction of basic animal needs. Constructive and critical thinking is what provides the impetus for a country and its people to grow, in all senses of the word. In a decade’s time you also may want more than food and TV. Your better-educated children will most likely demand more, if you continue to live in Singapore. But who knows, you probably will be thinking of moving on to the US or Canada or Australia, the next land of your dreams.

Tang Li
Dec 29, 2009 10:46

Why do people feel the need to get people sued on behalf of MM when his ability to sue people on his own is well tried and tested? Seriously, we all know that MM and his team trawl blogs as well as the main stream media on a daily basis so why does Ms Janet Wee feel compelled to do the job they’re already doing.

Don’t you think that MM and his legal team would have sent Google and TOC a lawyer’s letter by now if he felt that there was anything in the article that could seriously damage his reputation?

Personally, it would be an honour to be sued by MM. It would show that the site has finally hit the big time and he takes what is said on the site very seriously.

rwkc
Dec 29, 2009 10:52

Is Janet Wee another running dog of the papies?

We have heard enough of the govt’s announcement of its right of reply, and it was only recently when we were reminded of this by the Law Minister. But the mainstream media in Singapore, from our observation, has only praises for the papy govt. So the papies’ right of reply remains what it has been, a matter of principle.

Well, here’s a chance for the papies to show their mettle – respond to the post, if what Janet Wee says is true.

How about it, papies?

Some, or many [or all?], of us here are waiting to kick your asses in the next GE.

lee
Dec 29, 2009 11:04

When you are in a position of power and wealth, there will be no
shortage of sycophants, bootlickers, apple polishers, charlatans
worshipping at your feet.
MM Lee would have abudant of these surrounding him and I am sure
he would only value genuine supporters.
Janet Wee, if you are reading in, there is no need for your action
because I am sure if MM felt his reputation is impugned,
he would have taken action without you doing his bidding

XP
Dec 29, 2009 11:11

84) RED-man on December 29th, 2009 12.43 am

i agree with you.

maybe ms wee’s true intentions were to vent some of ‘em “civil anger” (acquired from years in the civil service; hint, hint) and send the guys at spf a load of sarcasm… or she’s having some post-christmas fun by pulling what she considers a humorous prank.

either way, nobody’ll take this seriously.

one might want to note that this letter has reached 3,816 views at last count… very popular, even by web standards. was it fame that prompted ms wee to do what she did?

anakin
Dec 29, 2009 11:16

Aiyoh, why the ruckus, just another fake name and the lack of seriousness and rationality of the letter shows it to be without any substance at all. Hardly even worth a mention never mind a response…….

Political SalesMaN
Dec 29, 2009 11:17

@ Susan are U & Janet prosituting to be Sinapore MA-MA-San.
Janet Father name is “Wee Can Fatt”
Should your Father name call “Soh Can Wee”.

TT dubai
Dec 29, 2009 11:30

Why bother about a PAP bi*ch? So obvious it is PAP trick to scare and warn TOC “one step further & you’ll end up bankcrupt & jailed!”

Pimps And Prostitutes
Dec 29, 2009 11:30

rwkc: Is Janet Wee another running dog of the papies?

——

Not dog, Janet is female.

Political SalesMaN
Dec 29, 2009 11:36

Dear commentor, after reading of all the srewing on Janet. I have come to conclusion that she was cute to give extra work for the police force. Our security personnel was paid a fat salary. Even can’t arrest a Terrorist.

XP
Dec 29, 2009 11:40

111) anakin on December 29th, 2009 11.16 am

you need a sense of humour, really. can you not see that this is but a farcical joke?

Political SalesMaN
Dec 29, 2009 12:25

What’s God, PAP Minister can tell U they are God. We want wind , we have wing, We want rain we have rain. They think they’re mighty than God.

Mic O Mic
Dec 29, 2009 12:27

“seditious remarks about Mr Lee”

I don’t think the word was meant to be used in this manner.

ikanrajah
Dec 29, 2009 12:50

Another NKF fiasco in the making? Trying to threaten and browbeat? And swallow spit in the end?

C’mon, Janet Wee, the Old Man may be having his last and best laugh when he admits “Yes! I have been doing that! And I won’t hesitate to do it again if the need arises! Viva politics! viva Machiavelli!”

justkaypoh
Dec 29, 2009 13:27

TOC,

since you guys have her email, why don’t you all reply Janet Wee’s email to ask her to substantiate her claims and publish the emails for us to read (be entertained) ?

PG
Dec 29, 2009 13:49

Here we go again , Asian governments are incapable of putting up with critisism etc , and always resort to defamation . Is’nt it part of being a real politician to always be criticised and yet still do a good job .
Singapore is a laughing stock for the world .

shamemudgameismyname
Dec 29, 2009 15:26

[i]Please ensure responsible reporting. [/i]
and without a DOUBT
leekuanyew didn’t worked for the japanese durin the occupations
what did YOUR grandparents worked as durin that era? a kempatai polis bootlickers perhaps?
and ole yeah leekuanyew didn’t mummbled he would scarfied 200,000 students just to save himself & YOU if the tiannmien square incident would to happen in singapore?

angry man
Dec 29, 2009 17:12

By doing this..probably J.Wee no need to pay income tax for the rest of her lives!!!
Good try from her.

LOTO
Dec 29, 2009 20:22

Must make a police report against LKY for suggesting to instigate riots and disorder to crush the opposition. Intent is more than enough to throw him in jail.

Enigmatic
Dec 29, 2009 21:21

Allo Allo !! U is the Janet and John from my pampli skool reading book right – teacher rings rings tells me John cry cry like siao tee tee on the floor now bcos he no see you now.. John mama wan to piak piak U bcos U is the kaypoh kaypoh hor – so quickyly go home now – so John cee U will stand up to greet U liao… Mata mata is the dun care leh.

janel wee should be slapped
Dec 29, 2009 22:08

who is this Janet wee? who does she think she is? Must hve very low IQ?
has she any proof? she should be sued for defamation of those good people she trying to shut out. TOC has provided alot of insightful analysis of issues and news, some news are more real and true that the standard gov window-dressing talk.

its disgusting that we tax payers are paying millions to a self-elected MM to insult us. we should all take a slipper and slap his bludy face for insulting us and also slap this Janet bitch for insulting our intelligence.

doctorwho
Dec 29, 2009 23:39

Hi Singapore Mental Force @IMH,

I will like to bring to your attention to a particular Ms Janet Wee, who may have shown signs of super high anxiety, making a mountain out of a mole hill, and most worrying of all, being a kpo.

Please kindly look into this matter, before her conditions deteriorate further.

Your sincerely,
Ex-IMH inmate

A&E
Dec 30, 2009 0:03

The sum effect of this email by “Janet” is more grist to the mill for those who think netizens and bloggers are an angry bunch of name-callers. If the article was seditious, the government will take action, if it were defamatory, LKY will sue. If this “Janet” had any nous at all, she would have realised that, so why did “she” bother to write in at all, and in a manner that seems to indicate “she” thinks criticising LKY is seditious? Except for the seriousness of the issues in contention, “she” is apparently behaving like any staunch Zoe Tay / Fann Wong fan would have done in response to the criticism of his idol, for crying out loud.

Let’s not have our passions so easily inflamed. This is further justification for the “cooling off day” and the irrationality of opposition supporters.

Increase
Dec 30, 2009 0:13

The General Elections is coming .
This Janet wee are telling the on line citizen.
And Singaporean.
You all must vote for Pap.

We Singaporean not a small kids lah.
We SINGAPOREAN knows what is going on for the past 3 years,
1. Increase in GST fr 3 to 5 to 7%
2. Increase in Public Transport SMRT, Taxi, buses.
3. Increase in Public Housing Prices HDB.
4. Increase in Minister Salary.
5. Increase in Tarriff PUB.
6. Increase in Groceries Prices.

So we need a change of gov. so that this new gov will look after all Singaporean in future. No matter their races Malay, Chinese, Indian and others the new gov will help these people.

The increase are so high, The cost of living for Singaporean have an impact on us.
So Singaporean please vote wisely.

elv
Dec 30, 2009 0:21

Can anyone recommend me a lawyer? I want to sue Janet Wee for stupidity. I’m also afraid of it being contagious and thus would like a court order for her house arrest.

David
Dec 30, 2009 2:00

I would take it as a good news for TOC if msm were to report on this. We need more readership and members traffic into this site so that people can be enlightened and not naive after reading what were written since the birth of TOC. Let’s hope the name TOC will be mentioned in msm to attract the whole population attentions. As such, there is no need to fear janet Wee, instead we need to thank for making us popular.

Bird Talk
Dec 30, 2009 7:47

Who actually has the ill intention?

Was it Mr. Philip Moore?
Or was it Mr. Lee Kuan Yew?

We wait and let the Singapore Police to determine the facts.

New Kids
Dec 30, 2009 7:58

This is good for our younger Singaporeans.
Rightly or wrongly, they must be exposed to part of our past Singapore’s history. They can never read these stuffs from any school textbooks in class.

Let the younger and future generation be the judge.

A Francis
Dec 30, 2009 8:17

Good or bad?
Janet is certainly a brave girl to instigate and test the tolerant level of the whole establishment from MM, AG to SPF.
As a born Singaporean, if she is, Janet certainly has the right to do so.

Has anyone done that b4 in Singapore (without the cyber world)?

Anonymous
Dec 30, 2009 9:49

It is mind-boggling to me. Has anyone sit back and calmly thought about this?

A mere EXPRESSION OF INFORMATION released from historical archive – even if disputed – a seditiou offence at law?

If it is, anyone reading the bibliography of Adolf Hitler in Germany, must be engaged in seditious act in Germany? Anyone reading or writing any comment even by way of MERE historical reference about the May 13 1969 tragedy also commits sedition in Malaysia including the Government’s television media portrayal of past history? Anyone writing about “Operation Coldstore” and “Operation Spectrum” in Singapore or any newsreader on national television network or print media or anyone reading those words in news print uttering those “repugnant” words of “Operation Coldstore” and “Operations Spectrum” commit sedition?

I am about to die from a heart attack soon. I am frightened that Changi Hotel might be overcrowded soon.

Maybe someone should call an ambulance soon!!!! HURRY UP!!!!.

I believe that sedition is about any conduct (not just passing reference to and expression of ) to incite ( “to urge” emotively ) violent overthrown of “democractically-elected” or “undemocratically-elected” political institutions such as advocating terrorism.

A writing reference of information is equal to “terrorism” amounting to “sedition”?
This one looks to me NOT like a “slippery slope” but a very steep and deep vertical cliff over the other side of extreme “irrational exuberance”

I think TOC just need to ask those power that be these question – IS THE EXPRESSION OF INFORMATION, not an emotional-driven incite to violent overthrow of establish order – seditious?

And, if so, is the IMAGINARY HYPOTHETICAL PROHIBITING BAN ON writing about Singapore history of overthrowing Japanese occupation an UNLAWFUL VIOLATION OF OUR CONSTITUTION FREEDOM OF SPEECH PROTECTION?

If we cannot CONSTITUTIONALLY write history, HOW IS OUR KIDS IN PRIMARY AND SECONDARY SCHOOL GOING TO LEARN ANYTHING ABOUT OUR HISTORY and relate it to our highfalutin pledge and our flag every school mornings?

Anyone wants to beat up the stupidity of my “seditious” thoughts here????

ALL ARE WELCOME.

mad93
Dec 30, 2009 10:39

I believe that we are protected under the paramount Constituition, this is a free country, freedom of speech is practiced all the time. Criticism to government is allowed as long it is constructive and is accepted by the general public.. This women have no idea about the power of the supreme Constituition. Maybe her life is painted dark for her in the future, sad reality isnt it? So she had no choice but to do something stupid and ridiculous to its very core by writing a letter to the SPF and complaint about the “seditious” remarks make by TOC which of course is untrue.

spirited-centred
Dec 30, 2009 11:53

When anybody conduct political activities such as selling party newspapers, conduct political forum and block visits may be considered seditious act as the political intention is to undermine the power of the current government. Right?

Elitist Face
Dec 30, 2009 14:44

Now which PAP kindergarten is she attending?
English not bad for a five-year old.

theforgottongeneration
Dec 31, 2009 14:10

Just another gimmick to ensure she gets her promotion and 6 months bonus this time round. Boy, desperate times really call for desperate actions. How much bootlicking can one really do?

I suggest TOC check their archives to see if any “Janet Wee” was likely disadvantaged by any posting in the past on this “well known anti-government blog.”

sefergfe
Dec 31, 2009 17:00

more people will read TOC, more people will know about TOC.

even might be known Internationally.

Web server company in Utah, Bluehost.com is in Usa right?

Usa human rights should be number 1 in the world.

Obama is a black. He surely know what is human right.

He is the elected president of USA, a democratic country.

They will never close down TOC.

They know what is real democarcy.

They know what is real human rights.

caned lah
Dec 31, 2009 19:14

“Janet is certainly a brave girl to instigate and test the tolerant level of the whole establishment from MM, AG to SPF.”

what rubbish lah. at the end of the day if some people are not so tolerant, who will get caned lah. definitely not you and that hornet gal.

thinktok
Dec 31, 2009 20:01

Some of the bloggers here seem jumpy. Janet Wee is just a silly dude exercising her right to post. You either agree with her or you disagree. No need to insinuate again.

TOC should remain neutral and allow the free flow of opinions.

death upon mankind
Jan 1, 2010 7:08

didnt Lee Kuan Yew said that singaporeans are champion grumblers?

sweeney 38
Jan 1, 2010 9:11

@140

It takes one to recognise one.

Lai CF
Jan 1, 2010 11:19

It is a long time since I last visited here.

In December, I read one of the posters’ posted Lee Kuan Yew infamous’s quotation..”never mind what you think, we know what is best for you….”..plus one more quotation.

Can anybody reproduces here?

I ahd been branded a “PAP runing dog” voer at http://www.deluxecoffeeclub.com previously, a “double-headed snake” at REACH….and now this latest “Janet Wee” incident over here.

It sets me thinking….is GE2011 coming within first half of this year?

There is a parallel incident over at REACH where I am active since 2003..and lo and behold, out of the blue, a ‘Roger Ho” suddenly branded me as “malcontents”, “ungrateful”, etc….and encouraging netizens to “brand together and drive anti-SIngapore malcontents like Lai CF out”.

This is the very first time that I ahd been so seriously attacked at FBU and REACH since I started posting in 2003.

Make me wonder why can’t PAP suporters let “sleeping dog lies” and start to reinsurrect that so-called CYperspace PAP Anti-Insurgency Squad.

Lai CF
Jan 1, 2010 12:07

Lee Kuan Yew, if I recalled correctly in a 1978 ND Rally Speech, is very much an admirer of strategic planning, quoting how Shell predicted the 1970s’ Oil Crisis adn SOny’s 50-Year Strategy Planning.

Never udnerestimated PAP as they are no slough in strategic Planning and SIngapore’s Future at that.
And that is why they keep winning GE after GE, simply by keeping HDB Heartlanders (90% of SIngaporeans living in ‘em) sweet and happy with “incentives and handouts”.

I beleive it is a slip of the old man’s tongue, iandvertently let slipped something best not spoken, and providing an insight in SIngapore’s strategic planning in this Age of terrorism.

And this may answer my puzzlement on why do they bought those Leopard Main Battle Tanks which are useless in jungle warfare, sittign duck from the air, and sittign duck against guerillas and mobile infantry in modern warfare…(guess I read too much of Tom CLancy’s novels).

Recalled Hungary 1956’s Uprising
Recalled Prague Spring 1968
recalled Isrealis invasion of Gaza.

That is, Leopard MBT is a vital component in defence and suppressing a sudden terrorist uprising as wella s armed insurgency.

Wil soembody re-post MM Lee speech on this “uprising and called in the Armed Forces” for our perusal again?

Recalled carefully between the lines.
He may meant that in case of a violent uprising to topple PAP Government…and not if Opposition wins the election in a non-violent democratic process.

That is how litigation suits begin if careful attention is not taken “to read between the lines” and you all took that lure of a honey-trap and jumped to conclusion publicly.

E.g.
Quesiton: How to defence SIngapore against armed insurgency and major terrorist attacks in an urban setting:

Answer: Buy Leopard MBT for counter-insurgency urban warfare.

of course, the above is a mere conjecture on my part as:

MM alleged slip of tongue + Leopard MBT = “How to counter internal armed insurgency”

Clement Tan
Jan 1, 2010 12:17

Leopard MBT with NSmen will not stop terrorists who will take hostages.

What “Age of Terrorism”…as if there wasn’t terrorism at any period of history.

How can PAP be a party of national security when it lets out a limping terrorist wannabe under supposedly close guard?

April Fool joke in December
Jan 2, 2010 7:41

This cannot be real. She even complained to Google! Is ‘LKY’ a registered trademark violated by TOC???

Anyway it is clear that some Singaporeans (maybe many) think that the world oeprates like Spore, that the system practised in Spore including ‘Asian values’ is the normal order of the day. They have not got a clue that this sort of govt and ‘Asian values’ are shocking to the outside world and Janet Wee’s complaint can only be possible from North Korea or China.

As if the Lees suing Wall street Journal and the Economic magazine editors are not harmful to Spore’s reputation enough, now even getting Google involved. At this rate, Spore will sink further.

Gilbert Goh
Jan 2, 2010 8:45

It just goes to show how popular and well supported LKY is.

The older generation still holds him in high regard becasue he turns Singapore from an unknown seaport to a economic advanced powerhouse.

I am unsure how the younger generation will view him though as they have not really know him well as a person – more like a tyrant supported by a PM son.

Those in their 30s-40s may support him if they belong to the higher middle income. They all gain from the government policies especially if they are doing business.

Those in the lower middle income may not support him as they all suffer a drop in disposable income during these past few years.

myveryveryBIGview
Jan 2, 2010 11:10

[i]E.g.
Quesiton: How to defence SIngapore against armed insurgency and major terrorist attacks in an urban setting:

Answer: Buy Leopard MBT for counter-insurgency urban warfare.[/i]

ello ello encil LAI….
you know or not?
we have the best navy fulLEE armed vessel protectin the lighthouse..instead of protectin we largared into an unarmed container ship and got 1/2 sunk…
now the navy advert is on again… iliked the singapore navy seal advert..wah garang..macho as well… yet mas salas manged to swim across johore in a manmade balloon bag…

aiyoyo
Jan 4, 2010 7:41

aiyoyo,

can this Jarnet help to solve unemployment rate in this red dot?

else, spend more time thinking 1st, before talk talk talk…

so many people no jobs, tummy hungry, need $ to pay

seems this Jarnet belly belly free…

aiyoyo

The Singapore Daily » Blog Archive » Weekly Roundup: Week 02
Jan 9, 2010 11:16

[...] Lee Kuan Yew had suggested “instigating riots and disorder” to crush opposition – TOC: Complaint against TOC made to S’pore Police [Thanks Seelan] – The Temasek Review: The ‘Janet Wee’ versus The Online Citizen [...]

Mr.P
Jan 12, 2010 2:45

Perhaps Janet Wee is another greenhorn lawyer, dreaming to get on board Lee & Lee?

Leave a Reply

Comment

theonlinecitizen on Facebook