The Judge agreed with the Prosecution that distributing flyers in a group of 5 or more persons criticising the PAP Government’s policies is an offence.
wah kao..if liked that sit in kopitiams is also illegal if we ptui @ the pap government ^GOOD EARS ahead^ policies…..
wah men i says pap government is damned good….every ministers is on the BALLS
especialLEE @ every month 9th… collectin $100,000 salarie$ ONTHEDOT!!!
Distributing flyers In a group of 5 or more persons is an offence?
What if the PAP members or supporters were to go around distributing flyers in support of the PAP’s policies in a group of 5 persons or more?
What if the RC members were to go around distributing flyers in a group of 5 persons or more?
Distributing flyers criticising the PAP Government’s policies is an offence?
Since when Singapore’s laws make it an offence to criticise the Government’s policies?
If criticising the Government’s policies becomes an offencem according this “Jugde”, then not even an MP, NMP or NCMP can be allowed to criticise the Government policies, whether in Parliament or in the Public.
Is this the rule of law or rule by law?
I doubt it is even in the statutes that criticism of the government is an offense. If such a law exists, then it is unconstitutional. If the district judge found the SDP trio guilty of distributing pamphlets criticising the PAP government without a permit, then he should be wrong in law.
In fact, the Sedition Act (Cap 290) has a provision to protect precisely such criticism, viz.
3(2) Notwithstanding subsection (1), any act, speech, words, publication or other thing shall NOT (emphasis added) be deemed to be seditious by reason only that it has a tendency —
(a) to show that the Government has been misled or mistaken in any of its measures;
(b) to point out errors or defects in the Government or the Constitution as by law established or in legislation or in the administration of justice with a view to the remedying of such errors or defects;
(c) to persuade the citizens of Singapore or the residents in Singapore to attempt to procure by lawful means the alteration of any matter in Singapore; or
(d) to point out, with a view to their removal, any matters producing or having a tendency to produce feelings of ill-will and enmity between different races or classes of the population of Singapore,
if such act, speech, words, publication or other thing has not otherwise in fact a seditious tendency.
Criticising the emperor during the reign of dynasties was an offence.
There was this probability of losing one’s head.
Fast forward and we have a Spore govt which behaves in a similar manner.
This govt takes criticism as criticism against the “emperor” or his famiLee,
so it is an offence.
Nevertheless should we be grateful because at most we will not lose our heads but just our pants ?
Our government AKA PAP sucks. All that self-praise about its own competency on governing its people. Bullshit. Now sue me.
Criticism is futile considering how pragmatic Singaporeans are. Tell them not the truth. Tell them how much (money) there is. You wanna win the elections? Simple. Bribe Singaporeans. Give them 100m lift upgrading and progress packages and the like. Who gives a damn about freedom of speech or injustice in Singapore?
http://www.straitstimes.com/STForum/Story/STIStory_468308.html
for those that have a short memory…
Our state religion is money.
Case of a misjudged judge – cannot help being disarrayed and blurred when thrusted in such precarious decision making situation of passing judgement that will cerainly crack his rice bowl : either you die or I survive lah – pathetically pathetic lah ….. ….ooop ! better you all die lah hor….
Very soon, criticising the PAP government’s policy in the cyberspace will be an offence.
The heat is on. Temperature is rising. GE is close at hand.
PAP is afraid to loose. So, another rule implemented to suppress
the freedom of speech, movements and minds of true blue Singaporeans.
Where is democracy?? Or, is there??
Another blow for the PAP indeed, at the rate they are going , I think it will be a matter of time before they become extinct……
Did the Judge also agreed that distributing flyers in a group of 5 or more persons criticising the SDP’s policies is an offence too?
Would the Judge would agree a group of 5 or more persons praising the PAP policies is an offence too?
Too many multi million dollars.
What kind of judge is this ? 3rd class , 3rd world judge, criticising judge is it an offence ?
Would the Judge would agree a group of 5 or more persons praising the PAP policies is an offence too?
No, you will get a medal….. just ask Hyflux.
Is it a crime if ministers criticise opposition figures ?
Pui!
OriginalResonance on December 20th, 2009 3.33 pm
“Give them 100m lift upgrading and progress packages and the like.”
Yes, you can. And suffer 100 years more of hell after. It’s part of the package. Take your pick.
This is truely Animal Farm in real life…some pigs are more equal than others.
getting absurd. This is Division 1?
#10 Facethefact
If criticising the government online becomes an offence, armchair critics like us will just have to take it to the real world out there.
#6 says: ((Criticism is futile considering how pragmatic Singaporeans are. Tell them not the truth. Tell them how much (money) there is. You wanna win the elections? Simple. Bribe Singaporeans. Give them 100m lift upgrading and progress packages and the like. Who gives a damn about freedom of speech or injustice in Singapore?))
If what you say is the reality, why then the PAP controls everything, including the MSM, the electoral process, the judiciary, the police, etc.
If elections can be won by bribing Singaporeans, why must conducting elections be in the hands of the PAP and not with an independent elections commission?
If elections can be won by bribing Singaporeans, why deprive 50 percent of the constituencies uncontested on nomination day?
If elections can be won by bribing Singaporeans, why insist on out-of-this-world deposits ($13,500) from candidates?
If elections can be won by bribing Singaporeans, why have the GRC fraud?
If elections can be won by bribing Singaporeans, why introduce “cooling-off” period that does not apply to government controlled media headed by a former deputy prime minister and staffed by ex-ISD operatives?
If elections can be won by bribing Singaporeans, why criminalise opposition politicians’ activities through a compliant judiciary?
If elections can be won…….
The SDP should make a press release of this case to international media. It can be headline news.
What a freaking joke, “criticising the govt is an offence” !
The best remedy to a govt that ridicules its citizens is a freak election result.
Should that happen, a new law could be introduced to make it an offence for those who have acted stupidly against the interest of citizens…….
I think the Judge should also make a ruling that “praising the govt in groups of five or more should bear the same offence”.
Can’t believe this country can make such an ruling.
Should be recorded in Singapore history books as “One of the best laughs” in 2009
Singapore has become one of the most backward countries in the World.
Now we see corruption is not necessarily taking money. Corruption is action done for self interest including under coercion. If the judge does not agree with the prosecution, he will be out of a job, not just losing his job as judge but any decent high paying job (he will be condemned). So can a system like this ever be clean? No corruption my foot!
Does the ruling means that distribution of anti-govt flyers is NOT an offence by a group of 4 and less persons?
Do not complaint if you are Singaporean. This is what you have accepted for the last 40 years. Abuses of power are everywhere but are just covered up. Abuse of power is a form of corruption indeed.
We badly need change.
Time for Change is now.
I won’t be complaining anymore. I will be votting them out.
The Ministry of Law …seriously needs an overhaul.
National Geographic must update their data to include Singapore as a country with kangaroos. Except ours feed on money and belong to one old fart.
Obscene laws n self serving governance begets obscene response and votes.
I must say criticising impulsively, twisting facts and worse of all showing the whole world how ignorant (stronger word: stupid) he himself is – is a terrible disgrace to our Nation. Others in the world envies where we are and the peace and wealth we possess and starts laughing at such people… If you like to vote for people that act like hooligans and see a parliament session exchanging punches, I give you an advise. Migrate and get lost from Singapore!
So SPH distributing paid “flyers” at ever corner of Singapore, and some articles, especially those written by the sisters, criticising alternative parties are not offence? I kangaroo two heads – object to one and approve to the other – that is precisely why Shamugan denied to 200 international strong lawyers.
Hi, does anyone know where I can read the judgement? It looks interesting and I’ll like to see what the flyers actually said.
If you find kangaroos obscene… then you would find LKY telling Japanese to follow Singapore’s lead more obscene:
Best part is a few years ago, LKY was telling s’poreans that Japanese are superior … much better than Americans in so many ways…. the organised crime even help the public when earthquake strike.
So, never really believe lky… even if he sings praises of you, he can kick your ass later.
stop whining. do something about it when you can.
“getting absurd. This is Division 1?”
Have no doubt that this is Division 1 Kangaroo Government. How else can you find kangaroo who can blatantly screw you because they can and they like.
Why TOC not yet cover the story of Seah Hoch Rong’s alleged involvement in business awarded by PA as a member of YPAP when you are covering the RP member under investig?
[i] LKY was telling s’poreans that Japanese are superior … much better than Americans in so many ways…. the organised crime even help the public when earthquake strike.
So, never really believe lky… even if he sings praises of you, he can kick your ass later.[/i]
true what.. he didn’t lied.. he did worked for the japanese durin world war II what
imagined how did he managed get to BOW when he is so tall?
especialLEE to short as s nipponese kempatai officers….
to 35) and 39) , good observations indeed !
It is true the Japanese are in many ways superior to the Americans.
But I have a hunch the Japanese themselves believe Sporeans are supreme.
What ever organised crimes that they have for centuries can never beat Leegalised crimes.
Therein lies the possible reason why the old man has been invited over and over again by the Japanese to share his wisdom.
No matter what, the Japanese have yet to master Leegalised crimes.
Therefore could it be the old man has Spore in mind to remain forever supreme?
the fact that this question, “Criticising the government is an offence?”, is asked worries me and i worry for the so-called 1st world citizens of a what is known as a democracy.
to me, its clear that of course they can be criticised. Its whether it is based on valid information where validity depends on accessibility to info.
Herein lies another big concern for citizens. The police (prosecutors) can make such an arrest shows who’s side they are on. We truly live very dangerously in Spore where the police is not independenat at all, where the law is what someone writes on a piece of paper and where the judiciary is at the mercy of one person or group of persons.
kiasu.n.kiasi @32
Your post: “I must say criticising impulsively, twisting facts and worse of all showing the whole world how ignorant (stronger word: stupid) he himself is…”
- It seems you know the details of this case, like the judge. Can you please inform netizens your argument of why you think CSJ was criticising impulsively, twisting facts…….”
Your post: “Others in the world envies where we are and the peace and wealth we possess and starts laughing at such people… ”
- Who are the ‘others in the world”?? Who’s peace and who’s wealth? We? I don’t think so especially the wealth. As for peace, citizens pay a heavy price for it in Spore. We are not even allowed to show our anger to MPs who abuse their power – you get locked away forever.
Your post: “If you like to vote for people that act like hooligans and see a parliament session exchanging punches…”
- If you like to vote for people that act like Kings & Princes and lord over you and see a parliament of ‘yes’ men & women,….
Your post: “I give you an advise. Migrate and get lost from Singapore!”
- I give you an advise, go back to kindergarten or check yourself in at IMH. Thats why those who migrated are the intelligent ones who are able to make it. In case you do not know, you cannot go to Switzerland to be a cleaner.
“The Judge agreed with the Prosecution that distributing flyers in a group of 5 or more persons criticising the PAP Government’s policies is an offence.”
Weird? What kind of a Judge agreed that criticising PAP Government’s policies is an offence? PAP big shot or big balls?
Such ridiculous Judge, hell basement 18 got reservation for u.
The judge agreed with the PAP. Period!
For what I understand how the law is uphold in Singapore is a monopoly of the government, and there was never a seperation between the law and the state. Well, please feel free to provide more insights if you feel otherwise.
Isn’t there any International Human Rights Body that we could sent a petition up to?
Things are getting out of hand and if left uncheck, we will definitely suffer…Eric How is a good example of a danger to a continuing legacy.
I don’t really mind if we hit world headlines with this petition…at least , we Ordinary Citizens can show the world we are not always “Meek”.
Enough is enough.
Singapore is becoming more and more like Alice in Wonderland, with the old man being the Madhatter.
Can we say that some of the ruling party members are gay? Is this considered critical of the government body? Will I be put in jail?
muahahahahahaha…. its finally happened! We are now officially living in a banana republic! The tin pot dictator has now decided that we cannot criticize the government, which means its policies, its ministers and every statement crapped out a PAP politician’s mouth… and in a group of 5. Muahahahaha… how about a forum of 40 people? Does the same apply here?
What a friggin joke of a country!
//b.
Magistrates and judges will also need to hang on to their jobs and careers.
We are unlike the USA where the judiciary is independent of the executive body and congress.