Report and photos by Wallace Woon

The black wall with its black dripping paint and chalk scribblings resemble the chaos of a classroom. Yet the message within the writings is hardly academic. Facts pointing towards the various injustices throughout countries in Asia cover most of the mural. Placed strategically at eye level is the haunting statement that  Singapore has the highest executions per capita for any country in the world.

In striking red and block lettering, the word “ALLEGATIONS” is written clearly in the centre of the mural. Yet the mural is restrained behind a glass panel, its ferocity contained within an echo box. Many shoppers walked by without so much as glancing at the mural and for those who do, nary a minute is wasted looking at the entirety of the piece.

Tickleart is located in CityLink at the juncture between the underground shopping complex and the Esplanade. Put together by Maruah, the art installation runs until 31 January.

37 Responses to “Haunting mural graces Citylink”

1. too bad.. 60% by and large are sheep-like.. can sheeps read??

2. Interesting mural.. and that the authorities allowed it. Perhaps as CJ indicated… most people in Singapore would probably not take notice and are in oblivion.

3. That looks great, but lol@many shoppers. Er, no.

4. mice is nice 18 December 2009

an ingenious design as a gift wrapper for you know who… :D

sometimes to be heard is an art in itself!

5. Bhavan Jaipragas 18 December 2009

Good stuff Wallace! Heard about this, must go down to Citylink to check it out myself.

6. Great work by the artist.

7. Unfortunately, the human traffic volume at that particular stretch isn’t very great. :)

Ya, Singapore has one of the highest per capita rate of capital punishment. So? Is it because we deliberately try to maintain such a high rate? Or is it because drug traffickers continue to break our laws, which are very clearly stated, and which they are warned very explicitly of?

Not our responsibility. Those criminals make their own choice, and put their … uhm … own necks on the line.

8. Or maybe these people do not know about the laws, especially if they are foreigners? Then how?

9. 9) Terence on December 18th, 2009 11.32 am

then die lor. They made a choice (even if it is a desperate one) to actively ruin other people’s life. They KNOW they are carrying drugs.

Why should I care about theirs?

10. because they are human beings.

11. 11) Terence on December 18th, 2009 1.31 pm

To me, that’s not good enough a reason. In fact, I don’t see how if it can even be labeled a ‘reason’ since it doesn’t really say anything.

12. ethics of care. equal treatment for all human beings. advantaging the disadvantaged. reallocation of opportunity to the poor. Not to mention disproportionate punishment. These are good reasons to me, based on principles of equal rights for all.

13. the miw are not going to be pleased with this.

haha

14. mice is nice 18 December 2009

Philip

post #8 on December 18th, 2009 11.03 am

////Not our responsibility. Those criminals make their own choice, and put their … uhm … own necks on the line.////

ooh, talking about responsibility, how come some public figures never seem to be held responsible for any blunters?

the list of blunders will need a larger mural!! :D

15. mice is nice 18 December 2009

Terence

post #9 on December 18th, 2009 11.32 am

////Or maybe these people do not know about the laws, especially if they are foreigners? Then how?////

there is no good reason why there should be a law for locals & another 1 for foreigners. such laws will only cause more resentment against foreigners.

are you turning this article into a “Save Yong Vui Kong” campaign? or is this article a guise for just that? lol…

as for “… highest per-capita execution rate in the world”, does it apply exclusively to the drug trafficking alone?

16. of course not. I’m just responding to some of the comments here. Refer to Philip’s comment please.

17. mice is nice 18 December 2009

Terence

post #17 on December 18th, 2009 4.10 pm

////of course not. I’m just responding to some of the comments here. Refer to Philip’s comment please.////

keke, not that your reason is totally baseless.

as the saying goes, the “devil is in the details”….

18. 13) Terence on December 18th, 2009 1.59 pm
    ethics of care.
    To vague.. not sure what to make of it

equal treatment for all human beings.
    yes… but this is not an act of being equal from my perspective. In fact, by sparing future persons who commit the same crime, you are technically being unequal to the people who were already hang for the same offence.

advantaging the disadvantaged. reallocation of opportunity to the poor.
    tbh, I can’t link these factors to the death penalty issue.

Not to mention disproportionate punishment.
    This is subjective. We’ll have to agree to disagree on what constitutes ‘proportionate’.

19. ethics of care — go wiki it. In essence, it talks about treating people as unique individuals, taking into account their circumstances, background etc. It is a form of situational ethics that calls for flexibility in the way we make ethical decisions.

equal treatment — but the past cannot be undone. what matters is what we can control.

advantaging the dis — if you consider how education is correlated to crime, then it might make sense. Consider how some people might not even know that the death penalty exists in Singapore for drug trafficking.

Disproportionate punishment — a life for a life? How many people have died because of drug consumption? How many drug consumers are drug addicts? Or are they casual users?

20. 20) Terence on December 18th, 2009 5.58 pm

ethics of care: can’t really understand what the wiki is trying to say. going by your definition, I still cannot see how flexibility is ‘against’ death penalty. If it is indeed flexible, you haven’t even began to argue why the side you say it flexed towards is the right side. i.e simply saying that this theory exists says nothing if you do not elaborate.

equal treatment — but the past cannot be undone. what matters is what we can control.
    let me try to make sense of your point… basically, it is equal treatment at one point in time? Then, I have nothing to say … because you (again) haven’t said anything. i.e how does ‘equal’ means death penalty to be wrong?

Consider how some people might not even know that the death penalty exists in Singapore for drug trafficking.
    irrelevant. The only ‘education’ I am interested in is whether they are fully cognizant of the effects of the crime they are committing. i.e what the drugs the carry are capable of.

Disproportionate punishment
    I already stated this one is too subjective, so I’ll not argue about this one.

21. mice is nice 19 December 2009

eh, going back to the topic of death penalty. its as much a legal issue as it is a moral 1.

i think most will agree that the serverity of any punishment is a tough subject to nail.

on “ethics of care”:
    its a double edge sword, on 1 side those who commit crimes will almost always want to tilt the law in their favour. on the other, those who want the law to deal harshly those who put their personal (or that of their loved 1s) well-being at risk, however big or small the risk.

on “equal treatment”:
    local laws apply to both locals & foreigners alike, rich or poor. laws have to be reviewed periodically to keep them relevent to society that is constantly evolving. eg. laws on terrorism. laws have to delicately balance the need for the safety & well-being of the public at large, while at the same time offer a chance for criminals to turn over a new leaf yet deter others from commiting the particular crime.

on “advantaging the disadvantaged”:
    this has to start right when the child is born, it has little to do with death penalties. it may be too late by then…

22. mice is nice 19 December 2009

Terence

post #20 on December 18th, 2009 5.58 pm

////Disproportionate punishment — a life for a life? How many people have died because of drug consumption? How many drug consumers are drug addicts? Or are they casual users?////

eh… must people die from drug use? drug abuse is drug abuse, there must be a zero-tolerance to the entire link in the supply of drugs.

whether the end users are addicted to the drug or are casual users is irrelevent. the law that deal with sex with underaged girls (willing or not) by adult men & the law that deals with the sales of cigarettes underaged smokers. in both crimes, no need to cause any death but the damage is not any less severe.

having people commit crimes year in year out however harsh the penalty may be is just the way humans are, not that the law is in-effective but by design (& despite years of evolution) maybe because human beings are imperfect?

23. lobo:

ethics of care: how this relates to death penalty is that there may be certain instances where the death penalty simply isn’t the right punishment, taking into consideration individual circumstances. What the ethics of care means for the death penalty means that judges should be allowed to decide whether the death penalty should be applied to the offender, after taking into account death penalty.

You may not agree with me on death penalty, but would you agree that mandatory death penalty is something that should be reconsidered?

equal treatment: the justice system inherently favours the educated, simply because the educated can either 1) avoid getting caught 2) or avoid the death penalty or 3) commit less crime. Therefore, the justice system should be reformed to take into account factors like education level, upbringing and other circumstances.

Awareness of death penalty: It is very relevant! If a person is not aware of the death penalty and brings in drugs but is sentenced to death, it is a matter of grave injustice. How can the DP be a deterrent if people are not aware?

24. mice is nice,

on equal treatment: would you agree that drug traffickers should then be given a chance to turn over a new leaf rather than be condemned to death straight away?

advantaging the disadvantaged: education is important, but so is a justice system that takes into account the lack of education, and the rule of law and punishment as a form of education through reformation.

On zero-tolerance: So should drug addicts be given the death penalty too, given that they are within the “supply chain” of drugs as you said. if there is no demand, there would be no supply right? Going by your logic, it seems that petty criminals deserve severe punishment for pushing cigarettes or engaging in other vices. How about the death penalty for cigarette importers?

There has never been conclusive evidence that the death penalty for drug trafficking is directly correlated to lower instances of drug consumption.

25. mice is nice 19 December 2009

Terence

post #26 on December 19th, 2009 2.36 pm

whether people should be given a chance will depend on their history, eg. were they repeat offenders or circumstances that lead them to commit such crimes that have mandatory death penalty. i do not believe abolishing death penalty will bring about that positive change.

the lack of education does not always correlate to crimes, some people do use their knowledge in their respective fields to commit crimes, i believe those some of such crimes fall under the scope of CPIB?

zero tolerance in the whole supply chain does not equate to death penalty for all. just as dangerous an example is health threats, humans cull livestock that are deemed infected to “play safe”, but does not put people “to sleep”. so similiarly, death penalty may or not apply to the addicts. i may not have explain in detail in my previous post, but by zero tolerance standards i do not mean death to the crimes mentioned. the punishment must still fit the crime.

////There has never been conclusive evidence that the death penalty for drug trafficking is directly correlated to lower instances of drug consumption.////

true, that is because the laws have been focusing selectively on the long chain in the drug trade. just like child prostitution, there is a need to send a firm message that on the demand side will be dealt with, they are not innocent party. when there is money to be made people will take risks & find ways to make the money. i wonder is it because on the demand side some are sions of influential people…

26. Democracy? 19 December 2009

justice or mercy?

27. mice is nice 20 December 2009

Fed up retiree

post #29 on December 20th, 2009 1.27 am

for your info, i wasn’t explaining local laws on mandatory death sentences. it was an (my) opinion piece with a tinge of idealism, realism to a rigid law.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

{my opinion piece not in response to any post but on the subject of Death Penalty}

i personally do not buy into the opinion that just because there are people who break a law that carries a mandatory death sentence year in year out means it has not been effective (or words to that effect, and therefore it should be abolished.

a good example is the ongoing technologies that enhances safety of vehicles, seatbelts & airbags (safety features) do not always save lives, but that does not mean they should not be installed. there are reckless drivers as there are people who will take risks.

“S’pore is believed have the highest per-capita execution rate in the world”

could it be that when S’pore open it doors too wide, it let the bad in as it tries to woe “talents” from abroad?

28. Fed up retiree 20 December 2009

There is a drug trade running all over the world like a web. What has been delivered here might not be distributed here but will then be transferred to another part of the world via other proxies from here.

A drug syndicate may send 20 mules through the custom on a particular day but gives a tip off to the custom on one selected and unaware scapegoat. Then that one will get arrested, 19 others will manage to get through.

MY QUESTION TO YOU:

Will you willingly accept to be hanged if you have been found with drugs in your bag? Remember, mandatory death penalty cares nothing about anything else.

29. mice is nice 20 December 2009

Fed up retiree

post #31 on December 20th, 2009 2.54 am

1stly, i do not support Mandatory Death Sentence, but if there is enough evidence that point to a hardcore repeat drug trafficker, he / she MAY well be sent to the gallows.

your example:
    ////A drug syndicate may send 20 mules through the custom on a particular day but gives a tip off to the custom on one selected and unaware scapegoat. Then that one will get arrested, 19 others will manage to get through.////

good question, then for so long the focus should shift to how checks should be conducted. this also raises a question as to which side of the customs should be held responsible, the departure or arrival side of the customs or both?

how such checks are conducted is more relevent in today’s security climate with the possibility of terrorists hiding bombs inside luggages pose.

as for your question (i will answer in 2 paragarphs):

well, of course i will not accept the death sentence with a smile on my face. i would really pity the families of the drug users. if i go (& die, lol…) the drug supply goes on with or without me. unless i am a drug kingpin then story different liao lah… :P

you posted a very good question. the police/customs officers assumes that if the drug/s is found in my possession is automatically assumes i am aware & am part of a drug syndicate. then there should be a more concerted effort with international police to combat the drug trade. that was how MSK was captured, right?

30. mice is nice 20 December 2009

Terence

post #32 on December 20th, 2009 2.58 am

eh, you seem more interested in gaining ground than discussing the merits (or the lack) of Mandatory Death Sentence. lol…

you seem more interested in winning…. i hope not though…

31. Fed up retiree 20 December 2009

Actually I also pity the family of the drug abusers. My third brother is one of them and has been in and out of rehab since he was in his late 20s. We hardly see him anymore, not because of him going in and out but because we have come to shun him over the years. Lately I have been reflecting on this and realised that when he came out, we rendered him no support of any kind after he went in for the third or fourth time. No family support to help him through, no financial support, no help… no whatever. That was why he went back to his old company of friends. In some ways, we have to be blamed there.

My brother was a very smart boy, did very well in school but our neighbourhood was full of people of the ‘fallen kind’. I managed to get scholarship to study in Scotland and the rest of the family were working hard to support themselves and my mother. So he was left to his own and fell to bad company. He knew the harmful effects of drugs but chose to go into it.

I may blame the drug peddlers at first but I realise that they are not totally to blame. When I came to know about the drug mule system, I have been against the mandatory death penalty ever since. I understand you have your reservations, I guess we all have in one way or other, in this one or other things that society brings.

This I agree with you: “more concerted effort with international police to combat the drug trade”.

But have yet to see actual co-operation between local and foreign police on anything. MSK, was he actually caught? <– this is the question my niece asked me often. Now I do start to wonder as age catches up with me and I am unable to sleep properly on a windy night like this.

By the way, I don't have email address. Why this website must have email address to comment?

32. Fed up retiree 20 December 2009

Actually I also pity the family of the drug abusers. My third brother is one of them and has been in and out of rehab since he was in his late 20s. We hardly see him anymore, not because of him going in and out but because we have come to shun him over the years. Lately I have been reflecting on this and realised that when he came out, we rendered him no support of any kind after he went in for the third or fourth time. No family support to help him through, no financial support, no help… no whatever. That was why he went back to his old company of friends. In some ways, we have to be blamed there.

My brother was a very smart boy, did very well in school but our neighbourhood was full of people of the ‘fallen kind’. I managed to get scholarship to study in Scotland and the rest of the family were working hard to support themselves and my mother. So he was left to his own and fell to bad company. He knew the harmful effects of drugs but chose to go into it.

I may blame the drug peddlers at first but I realise that they are not totally to blame. When I came to know about the drug mule system, I have been against the mandatory death penalty ever since. I understand you have your reservations, I guess we all have in one way or other, in this one or other things that society brings.

This I agree with you: “more concerted effort with international police to combat the drug trade”.

But have yet to see actual co-operation between local and foreign police on anything. MSK, was he actually caught? <– this is the question my niece asked me often. Now I do start to wonder as age catches up with me and I am unable to sleep properly on a windy night like this.

33. mice is nice 20 December 2009

Fed up retiree

post #34 on December 20th, 2009 5.11 am

thanks for sharing your personal story. perhaps doing drugs is a form of escapism from the harsh reality your 3rd brother faced, that is why despite the clammer for the Mandatory Death Sentence to be abolish. its my opinion that it will not solve a problem where the root cause needs to be dealt with.

yes, i agree that such a law is a quick fix to a much deeper issue with social, economic, educational implications. simply advocating for the Mandatory Death Sentence to be abolished, seemed like another quick fix.

////But have yet to see actual co-operation between local and foreign police on anything.////

neither am i in the know if any such international cooperation yielding any measure of success or do they even exist. i do not think S’pore actually supplies drugs, maybe more of a distribution point? there are less “grand” ways to combat the drug trade which will reduce the number of mules that support it.

34. There is a Chinese saying ‘jia jia you ben nan nien de jing’ (loosely translated as every family has their own sets of problems). I am sure most of us faces problems in our lives. I also stayed in a 3 room flat in my neighbourhood growing up. There are also people who I suspects took drugs or into bad companies. However, myself & my siblings never scummb to such vices. At a certain age, I was introduced by my friends to visit Catholic Churches to attend Mass & Services. After I started going to church, whenever I face any difficulties in my live, I will pray. Most of the times, things gets resolved. I am glad I had found my faith. I hope people can be strong & not be infuence by temptations so easily. It is important that parents have a strong faith in GOD & make your children go to church more often. It will help them to deal with life’s up’s & down’s when they grow up. (NOTE: I am not trying to preach here but sometimes religion can help).