Nobody, no matter how prescient, no matter how clever, would have been able to predict that this is what is going to happen this year. All of us were caught off-guard…I did not expect the prices to go up. But the point is, are we able to respond to this change. And the answer is yes.

National Development Minister Mah Bow Tan

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

63 Responses to ““I did not expect prices to go up” – Mah Bow Tan”

1. Caught off guard? At the rate of $2-3million you tell your paymasters you were caught off guard? Like the rest of your gang you are NOT ALLOWED to be caught off guard. Mere mortals who are paid like mortals may use that excuse but not immortals like you.

I notice that you’re getting shorter as the days go by. The $millions getting too heavy for you?

2. Mah Bow Tan has shown what an incompetent MORON he is.!

3. theforgottongeneration 1 January 2010

“…But the point is, are we able to respond to this change. And the answer is yes.”

Isn’t this a recycled answer — used by WKS when MSK escaped. I believe the answer then was to build a new high-tech, super-security facility which is now empty cos M’sia still doesn’t want to hand MSK over.

An aside, MBT recently officiated opening of a fully solar powered building at BCA Academy. The payback is like 130, 230 or 305 years, depending on which news release one uses for calculation. Anyway MBT mentioned it as about 15 years on TV (understand usual solar installation payback is like 20-30 years).

So pls understand our bunch of million bucks MPs are just brain damaged and can only read prepared scripts with a straight face…

4. how can 1 January 2010

The government knows and plans in advance, leaving no chance. How can MBT claim that he has no knowledge? It is a combined effort from HDB, GLCs (property developers), evaluation (controlled by government) etc to control and push the property prices sky high. Reasons are clear, we lost so much money on investments and need to recoup plus they need to show good books before election. And finally the 2 integrated resorts would be here, they want to sustain and push for higher prices, so that they can make a big pile from foreigners.

Honestly, they dont care if we can afford or not, they just care about the bottomline. This government has imported 2M foreigners and fast treked many for PRs and citizenships. Do you think they do not harbour any intent? Are we this naive?

Looking at the election, there is big possibility of GRC losses and you can see the newspaper persuading Chiam to stay in PP. Do you really think they would not be unscrupulous enough to ensure some of these candidates maybe targeted to politically removed? If you remember clearly there was this indian guy from WP who was accused of lying during the submission of the form and after that Aljunied GRC was the narrowest margin loss. If you remember, our MAN in hot seat did say he will “fix”.

So we are all so gullible and naive to believe they are doing this because they dont know and they are for our own good? he he he Biggest joke.

5. mice is nice 1 January 2010

only people sleeping on the job say such things…..

6. honest mistake 18 January 2010

it was an honest mistake

AS OPPOSED TO?

a dishonest one of course, which would have happened if he buy real estate and now collect profit.

so lucky you singaporeans, they are honest and didn’t do that….. right? they didn’t right?

7. bring down the ridiculous price 23 March 2010

Honestly, we should let that maroon MBT know that we’re REALLY SICK of his lame excuse.
    The least MBT should do now is to take real and drastic actions on those subletting their hdb illegally. If he’s not even willing to do that, why should we believe he can do anything at all.

8. qwerty 26 July 2010

highest paid minster giving nonsense reply trying to fool us again…..if you are not clever enough ,den step down and you dont deserve the high pay.

9. son of opposition 8 August 2010

kenneth jeyaretnam came out to continue his father’s legacy.perhaps devan nair’s and ong teng cheong’s sons can also come out and right the wrongs the pap had done to their fathers respectively

10. Stupid Doo 12 September 2010

Mr MBT, Please use your brain to speak next time, you are acting more like a clown, the property has been raising for so long way before the financial crisis and you claim you cannot foresee, ARE YOU A JOKER? YOU ARE IN CHARGE OF NATIONAL DEVELOPMENT. PLEASE KNOW WHAT IS you job Scope. if you do not know how to do planning, PLEASE GO FOR UPGRADING…

TIME FOR CHANGE, SINGAPOREAN

11. For the Future of all singaporean, please do not vote for MBT and his team in the coming election…. If you still remember as for the life upgrading, in the past the government says its not viable, but now go all out for it,

For the sake of singapore future.. All the people if you feel you are not capable please dun stand for election and come out with those STUPID policy that will cause all singaporean to suffer.

12. HDB is not affordable housing for Singaporean anymore. I am single Singaporean, but do not qulify for BTO. So the only choice is I must rent the room. The resale flat price increases faster than our incomes. With current resale flat & COV, how can I afford to own the basic housing. I hope our HDB can do something.