Wednesday, December 23, 2009 13:03

“I kept quiet. Just weep. What else?”

In Main Stories, Top Story • 4,459 views • 169 Comments

Breaking News:
TOC has learned that Mr Balldev Naidu has been extradited to the United States. Mr Balldev, who is also a member of the Reform Party, is wanted by the US govt for alleged terrorist involvement. TOC understands that he was extradited last Friday. We will have a report on this soon.

There is this show on Channel 8 called Life Transformers in which they send pretty MediaCorp actresses to visit poor families with disabled children.

Transcripts taken from Singapore Mind’s blog.

“I’ve applied with the govt before. It always comes to nothing.” – Mother

“Where do you go to apply” – Christopher Lee

“The fourth floor of HDB inToa Payoh. I don’t understand much English. I only know it is the welfare department. Sometimes, they reject my applications. We go to them because we need help. Otherwise, why bother going to them or subject ourselves to humiliation? I wished I didn’t have to go there. They can be so rude. ” – Mother

“In what way?” – Actress..

They keep telling you to work. Its okay if I can find a job. But I may not find one that allows me to look after my children. We go to them only because we need help. They shouldn’t say ‘Look for a job. Don’t always expect help’ - Mother

“How did you reply” – Actress

“I kept quiet. Just weep. What else?” – Mother.

1. Singaporean extradited to the US on terrorism charges
  2. Reform Party hopeful that Balldev will be fully exonerated
  3. Parents suing their children?

169 Comments

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

alex tan
Dec 23, 2009 13:13

http://singaporemind.blogspot.com/:

“There is this show on Channel 8 called Life Transformers in which they send pretty MediaCorp actresses to visit poor families with disabled children. The contrast is startling – a heavenly creature from the stars comes down to visit a downtrodden struggling family in an act of charity. Plenty of emotional drama and tears…and shock on the faces of these actresses as they find out how hard life is for these poor folks.

In my blog, I sometimes receive comments about how the poor can get help from the govt. The govt controlled newspapers talk highly about the govt’s many helping hands approach as if many sources of help will start flowing readily to those in need to ease their pain. Here is a family that obviously needs help and are poor due to no fault of their own. They have 2 kids with disabilities and the father has difficulty finding a job. What does the govt do to them? Humiliate them when they ask for help and threaten to evict them from their rented flat due to arrears. The part about govt help starts at 6 minutes 23 seconds into the video.

So the govt helps these poor folks by telling them to look for a job. Having 2 disabled kids is not a sufficient criteria to qualify for help? That’s PAP govt help for you. So if you’re slightly better off but is struggling with, say, an autistic child, you can forget about getting any support from this govt.”

ErniesUrn
Dec 23, 2009 13:21

So why hasn’t the increase in GST of 2% not reached this lady yet? Since 2007 …where has the surplus in tax gone too?

Is this what Govt calls ..”welfare society will make people lazy? No …

No welfare will make people WEEP.

Do you think this auntie will vote for PAP again? NO WAY HOSE.

wat?
Dec 23, 2009 13:23

why can’t the author just say “quan yifeng” instead of “some pretty actress”. you can also say “handsome hunk” instead of “christopher lee”

alex tan
Dec 23, 2009 13:27

PAP Lim Swee Say’s solution to this poor mother would be “cheaper better faster”.

President Nathan $3.9 million
PAP PM $3.8 million
PAP MM and SM $3.5 million each
PAP ministers between $2 to $3.2 million
PAP ministers of state between $1.5 to $1.8 million.

didn’t we Singaporeans pay them to solve this problem and didnt they claim they eradicated poverty in Singapore?

this is saddening, and families like them are sprouted all over Singapore’s mature estates.
Unemployment benefits and Minimum Wage, anyone?

vote for Change, vote the PAP out

Lucky Tan
Dec 23, 2009 13:43

wat?,

Sorry, I didn’t know the name of the actress because I don’t really watch Channel 8 movies. Christopher Lee is more familiar- I remember him for his drunk driving and marriage to Fann Wong.

Read & Weep
Dec 23, 2009 13:57

## ErniesUrn on December 23rd, 2009 1.21 pm
So why hasn’t the increase in GST of 2% not reached this lady yet? Since 2007 …where has the surplus in tax gone too?

Our PM’s beloved wife Ho Jinx decided to help save the US Banks from bankruptcy.. by donating USD 40 bil to them.

(USD 90 bil if you include her f-i-l’s GIC donation of USD 50 bil)

That’s where it all went to..

Terence
Dec 23, 2009 14:15

i’m surprised such things are allowed to be said on Ch8. thought will kena censor?

ErniesUrn
Dec 23, 2009 14:28

7) Terence on December 23rd, 2009 2.15 pm

If they censor, nobody will ever watch MediaCorp Channel 8.

So indirectly, they are making money with this aunty’s story.

Show for what right? Transform for what right?

More lives will transformed for the better when you VOTE PAP OUT.

lefleche
Dec 23, 2009 14:29

This is a tragedy. it is a tragedy because the existence of such a category of people are denied to exist, or by the policies denied an existence.

when i was in Bangladesh on a community service trip, a singaporean nun working for Mother Theresa’s group recounted that among the poor in Bangladesh, Vietnam, and HK where she had worked before, the worst off are those in HK. while HK is the wealthiest among these, the most able to provide for them, the poor suffered the most there. Why? because in Vietnam and Bangladesh, it is not a ‘crime’ to be poor. but in wealthier societies, the rich dont wish to acknowledge the poor exist, and therefore by way of policies, deny them help because to the govt, the poor do not ‘exist’.

is this happening to SIngapore? That the poor are denied help because they are not supposed to be there?

DSFSFD
Dec 23, 2009 15:02

First i feel thankful that the tv air the mum said how she cannot get help from hdb 4th storey to be shown on national tv a good job.

if not i as a more lucky person, will not know when needy people need help, and they seek help, help is very very difficult to get.

second i feel it is also not too bad that country like australia, which i heard from people, tax very high, but needy people can really get money without working.

hope the hdb 4th storey has watch this clip and help the needy people.

or the online citizen can email them the show?

rubbish in rubbish out
Dec 23, 2009 15:03

President Nathan $3.9 million
PAP PM $3.8 million
PAP MM and SM $3.5 million each
PAP ministers between $2 to $3.2 million
PAP ministers of state between $1.5 to $1.8 million.

tears of this lady…Priceless

for everything else use VISA.

This is what the next commercial should be…

‘Look for a job. Don’t always expect help’
“Please, get out of my elite uncaring face.”
“shut up and sit down”

These are famous last words of the elite…

Sawdust
Dec 23, 2009 15:09

When we were in Lew Syn Pau’s constituency, during the meet the people session for a general upgrading, this “ya ya papaya” was in the first place not interested listen to the feedback from the effected residents. I remembered him telling the residents “If we were to consider all the feedbacks, then we will be very busy.” So we accepted whatever they shaft down our throats then.

Now in Woodlands for 10yrs, went to the MP twice for help for some legal matters. Never get see him personally both times. My issues were referred to the lawyers on duty, because the “MP was not capable to help in the legal matters”. I was told that if the MP was needed to write appeal letters to govt bodies, he could do that. So both times I was disappointed, because they did nothing to help me nor offer alternatives solutions. So I ended up settling the problems myself.

popcorn
Dec 23, 2009 15:24

It is not so much the poor circumstances that the family is in that touch our hearts, but the close relationship between parent and child, notwithstanding the grinding poverty. The father should at least help with the household chores like cleaning the home, instead of waiting for the wife to come home from work.
Why didn’t the transformer artists point out to the uncle.
Nevertheless it is shocking these people are treated like that by HDB, and where are the social and communinity staff – the poor mother has to work, look after two
mentally and physically sons, and perhaps a much older son, the husband.
How many more of such Singaporeans in the heartlands, while we are celebrating Christmas and Happy New Year.

lee
Dec 23, 2009 15:40

Now I really do believe the GST increase is to
help the Poor… ie the poor Ministers whose pay are
still miserable compare to the fatcat bankers, stockbrokers,
1st rate doctors, shrewd businessmen…………..

I am Angry!
Dec 23, 2009 15:50

Oh no, this is unacceptable; where has the 2% GST increase went? It just makes my blood boil when I saw the video; it’s no more whether Mrs Ow wanna have her lunch in the hawker ctr or Crystal Jade, it’s how she & her family cannot even afford a roof over their heads. How could HDB evict this family? Don’t these people, sitting in their comfortable state of the art office, have any heart or conscience? It’s sad enough that their sons need special attention & probably will need it long after the old couple passed on, but to deny this family any assistance is unforgivable!! To top it off, Mrs Ow was humiliated by those crap-rubbish of an officer in the Welfare Department!! That’s really kicking the person when he’s down & giving him a grin to boost!

It’s such a tragedy that such incidents are happening on our lovely shores & the worse part is non of us will ever get to hear it if not for this Chinese programme! I am disappointed with what our dear leaders are doing or not doing & those useless idiots sitting together with him in his office must share the responsibilities too. I cannot accept the dumb excuses that the Ows are just some freak incident cos I have seen the elderly fighting over soda cans in my hawker ctr every other day!

stan
Dec 23, 2009 15:53

They can rent the FT HDB flats at discounted rates. Why can’t they do so with this family…

ErniesUrn
Dec 23, 2009 15:54

Recently MM Lee said,

‘Never mind your Gini coefficient. If you don’t have a job you get zero against those with jobs. So our first priority is jobs for everybody,’

And what happens to someone like aunitie?

I don’t think MM Lee has the moral capacity to go to her house to pay her a visit or anything.

Hmmm but he did visit his roasted to toast burned MP. I guess he and his gang take care of themselves.

You want this type of politcians in your country? VOTE for CHANGE

wui
Dec 23, 2009 16:05

“Poverty is not a virus, a natural disaster, or an accident. It is man-made.

There are several kinds of poverty. Third- and first- world poverty are entirely different in character because of the great difference in their historical and economic settings.

First- world poverty is a relative matter, but no less painful for being so. In developed societies possession of the amenities of life – which includes not just objects like houses and cars, but also powers, like being able to go out to the cinema or a restaurant, and to take holidays abroad – is equivalent to status, to full membership of the community, to having a place and a voice. Without these things one is less than half a citizen, disempowered and sidelined.

One of the measures of a good society is how it treats the poor.” – A C Grayling.

Do we live in a good society?

manKhan
Dec 23, 2009 16:16

Let cut MM’s pay by 100K.. give it to this Aunty… MM wont even realise the pay cut i think..

When MM wakes up from the dead to help us when we in trouble, we give him a bigger increment….

Oh Holy
Dec 23, 2009 16:23

@19

Yes take away MM pay by 100k, he got too much money anyway. It hard to believe why MM needs so much money for? He can feed so many poor ppl with his salary. That 100k to a poor ppl is alot lol, to me is alot too lol.

Those leechers…

Neutral
Dec 23, 2009 16:31

Actually, after watching the show, I wanted to write in to the relevant agencies to ask them to help this family. But I guess TOC will already caught their attention given that it is closely monitored by the government.

I am not against any party. But the mere fact that there are many people in this country who have not enough to eat or feed their families, like Mdm OW, yet no help is being offer is very wrong. Increasing the pay of some people is as fast as a click on the mouse. Losing $40bil without any need for accountability is absolutely disgusting. CASE Letting hawkers arbitraliy increase 25% (50c) during inflation and now did not drop back after crops and oil prices drop will only kill more people… Are you the Government we once know?

Yet, arguing for a $30 (!!) increase to the social welfare fund to $330 is a long…. highly debatable issue in Parliament….

What has happened to this country, my dear friends?

Has the Government lost touch with the ground? You dun need to help us but please be kind and help these really needy people.

Do you need them to crumble, go on their knees or commit suicide before you deem them as “really need help”?

Please help them…. very sad…. my heart go out to them.

You guys have never being poor to understand how it is like. Or have you forgotten??

angry_one
Dec 23, 2009 16:36

I am always appalled by the snobbishness displayed by public servants at the counter when i need to get something done with some government agency. And these are just front counter staff. I don’t understand how and why do they think they have the right to talk to the people like this, as if we owe them a living and are their subordinates. Even my friends from 3rd world countries remark that our civil service is the worst, most unreasonable, and most inefficient they have encountered.

Andrew Loh
Dec 23, 2009 16:58

It makes you angry when you read news like this one: “$10m fund for integration”, while our disabled like this family are having their flats repossessed and the disabled have to beg for 10 years for subsidy for public transport and STILL get rejected.

Also, those on public assistance (the most vulnerable in our society – the aged, sick, handicapped, etc) have to fight tooth and nail for a mere $30 increase in their PA handouts.

While we ostentatiously abhor a “welfare state”, I would recommend these ministers and top civil servants look at families like the Ow family here, and the many poor and aged who’re struggling. Not wanting to become a “welfare state” is a stupid and lazy excuse to scrimp back on giving them more financial assistance. Especially when we can dish out millions and millions in “integration fund” and ministers salaries – all with no sweat off the govt’s back at all.

anti-mercenary-leaders
Dec 23, 2009 17:08

Singapore is a financially dangerous place to live. Once fate deals you a lousy hand you are off on your own. Looks pretty on the surface of things though.

“Everything works just fine” , as they always like to say about Singapore.

wui
Dec 23, 2009 17:12

The salary of our minister is really hard to accept.

I cringed if I were to think one day my staff of my small business come to me and ask me for a pay rise 5 times more than their counterparts in the same industry.

I pay them quite well as it is.

Imagine them telling me that only an exorbitant pay rise will stop them from stealing from the till! Goodness. It would have been hard to resist knocking on them on their heads demanding a more civil and moral rationality.

If I were to point out that they are being paid good money already in comparison to the industry for their position and ability, and that their reply would be that they could get higher salaries elsewhere in other industries. Then I would have surely fire them and allow them to pursue their self-worth vanity and better remuneration somewhere else.

They can point out all they want that their abilities help make big profits for the business which is for the community and they deserve a big cut, but I could also point out that the big profits are FOR the community and that there are many who are more than willing to take over their positions and jobs and are either equally capable or having the potential to be trained to do an even better job.

Lucky for me, I don’t have such staff with such ridiculous mentality. Unlucky for all of us though, and frustratingly, we do have such justifications from those running our country like a business. I don’t know about you my fellow countrymen, but I do feel like a commodity many a times.

3rdKlassCitizam
Dec 23, 2009 17:21

It is interesting to know whether GCT attempted to move an inch towards SWISS standard or not.

tsf
Dec 23, 2009 17:31

I wonder if our ministers, mps & top bureaucrats after watching this show or read about it. Do they feel guilty?
Sometimes I wonder, are my ministers or mps are human being or aliens.

noir
Dec 23, 2009 17:46

having read all comments, i’m dumbfounded. vote for change lah…..i did last GE

FaceTheFact
Dec 23, 2009 17:58

Did I hear wrongly that the mother said her elder son salary is $75/mth while his transportation costed him $120/mth?

Anyway, it is always very sad on seeing this.

How Sure?
Dec 23, 2009 18:03

A lot of my blue collar friends are OUT OF JOBs, all armed with degrees, more than 10 years in the industry. Some went to drive taxis, some still waiting for interviews after almost 6 months.

The CDC and whatever crab will only ask you to go for RE-TRAINING. Too many people in Singapore but TOO FEW JOBS.

Be a minister and have iron rice bowl and talk crab is best option.

Oh Holy
Dec 23, 2009 18:05

Now we all know why sg have 3000 charities body..cos the state does not want any burden.

Shake head
Dec 23, 2009 18:12

Alex Tan

I am very impressed by you esp knowing that you are very young and from an ordinary family background. I have lived for a reasonable period in a real first world and then realised all the shortcomings of Singapore. In other words, I realised that alot could be done to improve Spore after my exposure to the outside world.

The Spore Govt really knows how to abuse the words ‘welfare state’ to abstain from their responsibilty to the people. I can honestly say they do not even know the meaning of the words and the statutes that come with it. They just take it as free handouts to lazy people, period.

Utopia
Dec 23, 2009 18:16

“When we were in Lew Syn Pau’s constituency, during the meet the people session for a general upgrading, this “ya ya papaya” was in the first place not interested listen to the feedback from the effected residents.”

What can you expect from Lew Syn Pau, a PAP MP that is charged for corruption.

“Lew Syn Pau (simplified Chinese: ???; pinyin: Líu Xìnbao) was a former Member of Parliament in Singapore as a People’s Action Party politician. Since 2002, he has been President of the Singapore Manufacturers’ Association (SMA). In 2005, he was charged under the Companies Act for corruption, but was acquitted in August 2006. ”

I thought PAP MP is a extraordinary demi-god that will be tempted by conflict of interest ?

wakeupearly
Dec 23, 2009 18:17

And the PAP still open the floodgates for China workers to take up jobs from lowest skilled to highly skilled. Who wants to employ Spore citizens when China workers accept low wages which they remit home to China & create their nest eggs back there when the time comes to return to their homeland?

At the same time, PRs & non-citizens can open up their palms & ask for money from their schools if their kids face financial trouble in paying up school fees. This is the latest news after PAP announced that Spore citizens can enjoy double balloting for their Pr 1 kids. What is the point of this bonus balloting for Spore citizens when PRs & non-citizens can easily get financial handouts from the schools?

The Opposition need to stand united and collaborate as one united party otherwise on Nomination Day, PAP will be popping hundreds of champange bottles & again run rampage on you, whereas the PRs & non-citizens still get the goodies without the need to get hit by long term damages like us.

God, are you there, can you grant us the wish for the Opposition to stand united as one single party? If there is a God.

rubbish in rubbish out
Dec 23, 2009 18:28

Well, I wouldn’t be surprised if the mother get sued later for defamation by the fourth floor of HDB in Toa Payoh after this outcry…

or we may have MP and grassroots leaders delivering christmas Hampers , xboxes and nintendo Wii to her doorstep since it is election year…with front page coverage in straits times tomorrow…of course.

two possible scenario…

leesjuanpat
Dec 23, 2009 20:27

Incidentally. I watched the programme too. My eyes moisted. I really empathised with
this family’s encounter in life and yet they are very strong and positive. With great dignity to live on with two mentally handicapped boys.

I just wonder what will happen when the parents cannot work and are passed off when time comes. Will the social welfare then care of them or most probably the private charity organisation will do it.

The government will wash their hands cleaned.

Their HDB instalment accordingly to the mother was in arrears for many months and any time the HDB will chase them out. She was really crying. Everytime she spoke, her tears just flowed. My heart sank with her.

A first world Singapore, letting it’s citizen to suffer the indignity of life without state help and when she went and applied for welfare was chased away and asked her to go find a job. That counter staff ought to be sacked for showing no compassion at all.

I salute channel 8 for this programme ‘Life Transformers’ depicting the sorrow and neglect of the truely poor illiterate Singaporeans and help is always far far away. Real
bucreaucratic RED TAPE!!

DO THE AUTHORITIES HAVE A HEART TO GO SEARCHING FOR ALL THE VERY
POOR AND HELPLESS SINGAPOREANS AND DESTITUTES AND GIVE THEM A DECENT SHELTER AND 3 DECENT MEALS IF THEY REALLY CANNOT WORK DUE TO VARIOUS REASONS ARE DYING FOR HELP AND AT THEIR WITS END!!

HAVE MERCY FOR THEM, MILLIONAIRE MINISTERS. MBT please open up some vacant HDB for them to stay for free. I mean all the deserving cases.

Merry Christmas to the RICH PAP. Sad Christmas to the Singapore POOR.

SpongeBoob
Dec 23, 2009 20:55

This is the reason why we a small state of 3 million Singaporeans has more than 1000 VWOs. But this does not mean that all the unfortunate/ underprivileged will be assisted.

With so many VWOs going for limited government grants and public funds, and top it up with the layers of terms and conditions for approval of funding, even passionate social workers are sometimes dampened by their limitations.

We can claim that we are a developed or so-called first world nation, but if all the GDP generated through the blood and sweat of our citizens is being continuously hoarded away in GICs and reserves, what is the point of achieving a first world state? If citizens only see that they will work and work till they cannot work, what is life worth living in this advanced economy?

Tell me if we are worth all these.

commentator
Dec 23, 2009 20:58

8) ErniesUrn on December 23rd, 2009 2.28 pm

If they censor, nobody will ever watch MediaCorp Channel 8. So indirectly, they are making money with this aunty’s story.

Since Mediacorp is making money out of this aunty, shouldn’t she at least get some compensation for using her story? She should charge them 10% royalty fee or a five figure sum for using her story.

Anyway, never go to your MP or govt welfare deparement for help. They will add more problems than they solve – but not before humiliating you.

justice pao
Dec 23, 2009 21:02

Crooked, Lembeh, Pykia and Tali-Ponah crooks!

recent reader
Dec 23, 2009 21:31

the MP responsibility for the constituency should apply to the 10 MILLION integration fund for a grant to integrate this poor family and many like them to our society.

its just ridiculous no one account for the lies that there will be deficit and then what happen to the billion dollar surplus instead.

its just amazing and goes to show that the SPH mainstream papers does not pain a good picture of what really life is on the ground.

good job, TOC for providing the truth….
hopefully justice can be done soon….

first world? what a laughing stock to the read first world countries in the world. or even to our supposely lesser neighbours.

tan
Dec 23, 2009 21:57

This series was supposed to present the good humane sides of
Mediacorp stars (where some were previously viewed be be aloof eg
Qian Yifeng) by doing charitable work for the less fortunate.
Unfortunately, without intention,its become a major talking point
about what this Govt has become when its about about taking care of its
own citizens.
Any media or programme that doesn’t present this hypersensitive
Govt in good light would have sealed its fate.
You can bet your last dollar you would have seen the last of the
programme if it continues to do so whether intended or otherwise.

nonsense
Dec 23, 2009 22:10

PAP = Hungry Ghosts
Hungry Ghosts love number 7 so appear only in 7th month
Hungry Ghosts will therefore only appear if have 7 figured monthly salary
Hungry Ghosts=Insatiable
All this is nonsense
Ghosts is nonsense
Voting for Ghosts is nonsense
Since PAP = Ghosts
So voting again for PAP is nonsense.
Ghosts had 13th elections
13 = unlucky = time to change unlucky
Exorcise all these ghosts once and for all= COMPLETE HOUSECLEANING!!!
Let 14th election seal ghosts’ fate
14= sure die (Canto)

Anything IS BETTER than living with ghost!
Vote these muther-farkers OUT-PERMANENTLY
& bring tears of joy back to these “aunties”
Simple basic logic. ;)

Sawdust
Dec 23, 2009 22:28

33) Utopia,

You are so right.. So, is Lew Syn Pau the only tinted sample from the MIW? How many infamous ones which we had voted in before were corrupt?

The fate of Singapore is in the hands of the voters in the coming GE. We have PAST and PRESENT “corrupted” leaders, do we want to again give the key to crooks in the FUTURE? Before it’s too late, before they tell you to “get out of my elite face” or “shut up and sit down”, before we lower our dignity even further and “keep quiet and weep…..”

doctorwho
Dec 23, 2009 22:34

Since young, i came to hear some phrases but cannot understand why people are so crude to say that to our founding father. Later in life, i see more reasons why these words are so true ….

Lee Kong Yao kong ka qiao

Neutral
Dec 23, 2009 22:58

Refer to my comments at #21.

I must say that I am very affected by this story for the last 2 days…… Whatever we do, remember there is someone up there that will note your deed… It’s a matter of time. Really.

If you know of someone in a similar state, please help them inform your MP or VWOs so that they can get help. The banner that the town council put up for CDC is in English. How the hell these people know English???? 8 months bonus for CDC officer???… Well done!

Maybe the Govt could investigate and clarify how they have help (before the show of course)? Just like they clarify that the old lady who collect newspaper is actually quite well-off (got HDB flat and collect cardboards for interest etc)?

Let’s be fair.

New Era
Dec 23, 2009 23:13

SINGAPORE (Reuters) – A Singaporean bureaucrat who wrote about taking his family on an expensive cooking course in France has sparked ire from locals, with some accusing him of extravagance given the city-state is in recession. Tan Yong Soon, a senior official at Singapore’s Environment Ministry, learnt to truss chicken and cut vegetables at Le Cordon Bleu cookery school in Paris with his wife and son, and wrote about it in the Straits Times newspaper earlier this month. “Taking five weeks leave from work is not as difficult as one thinks. Most times when you are at the top, you think you are indispensable. But if you are a good leader who has built up a good team, it is possible,” Tan wrote in the newspaper. His article raised eyebrows given the five-week course for three at the prestigious French cooking school cost more than S$46,000 (US$30,930)…………..

Mr Tan Yong Soon is the current Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Environment and Water Resources

“We have to be realistic. There is a limit to how much re-training we can do for some workers, so we have to look overseas. Look at my generation, more than half of them didn’t even complete primary school education. What are we going to do? They are not going to conveniently die off…”

Mr. Bilahari Kausikan, Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (2006)

Don’t expect any sympathies from the MIW. Even their running dogs are quite arrogant and heartless.

Teo Hin Kiat
Dec 23, 2009 23:15

There will always be such unfortunate people WHERE EVER. Only fools believe such people don’t exist. Check out the large numbers of subway sleepers in NY, Detriot, etc. All these Americans have are the dirty clothes on their bodies.

It’s just the PROPORTION. In the UN declaration below more than 80% of its population are really bad, if not worse off than the family shown – http://www.ams.org/membership/develop.html

In Singapore, perhaps its about 1%.

If one could see – they still have a roof over their heads, food on the table, decent clothing on, etc.

We don’t deny such people need help. Otherwise the state-run TV would have have televised such miseries. Right? At the same time they must also help themselves because money cannot come from the taxpayers again in this resourceless country to chase the unproductive. Even a secondary school student knows eventually the ENTIRE nation can be consumed with growing numbers and the opium like the NEP macross the causeway takes effect. And we’ll ALL
be next to join the funeral list.

So, the message is clear. If it touches your hearts instead of writing political shit please do something to help. It would be good if you could also sustain your assistance in cash or kind.

To the taxpayers, likewise, if you could render some help please do so informally.

Thank you.

ApApA
Dec 23, 2009 23:28

Lao lee has reasons for getting such high salary. You think he so stupid and not informed of what their counterparts are getting? You think he doesn’t know at least 50% of Singaporeans not happy with their pay package?

He always has an agenda for every action. you know i know can already.

New Era
Dec 23, 2009 23:32

Teo Hin Kiat

Why is $10 million of taxpayers’ money being used to throw parties for foreigners?
And why probably another $10 million might be spent to give free English lessons to foreigners?

Instead of accepting your BS, most Singaporeans would be voting for Change in the next GE. That will be the best thing Singaporeans can do if they want to help the poor in this country.

Time for Change is now.

David
Dec 23, 2009 23:33

I think she also mentioned that she will no longer have a place to live and need to evacuate from her existing flat soon and Singapore govt deny her a place to stay..or something. When Yifeng asked her where she will put up and her husband said told them they will be sleeping at the void deck below their block.

commentator
Dec 23, 2009 23:47

It’s illegal to sleep at the void deck – as far as the PAP is concerned. Even if it’s legal, how can anyone sleep well at the void deck? Might as well sleep in front of the Istana or Parliament house.

Richard Tan
Dec 23, 2009 23:58

47) Teo Hin Kiat on December 23rd, 2009 11.15 pm

I’m happy there are such people like Mr Teo around who puts things in the right pespective. Apparently, some bloggers appear to be living in an earthly paradise. Maybe their travels haven’t taken them out to see homeless and starving people. Or maybe they have so easily fallen prey to the spinners . . .

Count our blessing Singaporeans because many out there either want to immigate here or Sink-us-Poor like them.

Last year, I stopped over in Calcutta, an Indian city, on my way to Katmandu. What I witnessed shocked me. The number of beggars. I mean real skin & bone beggars, all over, children, women, elderly . . . Starting from the airport! It was a pathetic sight. I met someone on the street and wondered why there were markings all over. What he told me really sadden me. When night falls thousands of familes will bed on the streets of Calcultta under the sky roof, come rain or shine. The markings are unto us addresses for the squatters.

Can it be so? India. An Asian economic gaint today. But if India is a developing country then the majority (abt 80% of the 1 000 000 000) are literally starving.

Don’t believe me. Go and check out how the majority of the people live in the more than 160 DEVELOPING COUNTRIES. They literally don’t know if there are going to some crumps for themselves TOMORROW!

To make sure that Singaporeans are not hookwinked, I think National Education should be broaden in the media to show realities elsewhere as well continually.

Some suspicious bloggers are calling for CHANGE. I wonder change for what -80% poor – 20% rich? Or all equally poor as in communism? If we choose to live by and in the marketplace learn also to live with some antbites. Though no one can rid the ants but Mopiko is still around to sooth the itch.

New Era
Dec 23, 2009 23:59

http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=153492722129

The wheels of Change are in motion. Nobody can stop it now.

RT?!
Dec 24, 2009 0:16

52) Richard Tan

Oh yes…a great comparison….comparing against the worse off to make yourself look good…isn’t that the case what some PEOPLE loves to do? it is no wonder…

but dear richie, what some people wants is changes in the heart…the current leaders are leaving in an ivory tower and the people under them are, nor surprisingly, similar to them

“Count our blessing Singaporeans because many out there either want to immigate here or Sink-us-Poor like them.”

Likewise, there will always be the people, whom people like *ahem* will call quitters who make a wise move to migrate elsewhere…oh btw richie, since you are saying this, have you take a look at the groups who want to migrate here? are they from a better off or worse off country? most are Not from the better off country…

Jobless
Dec 24, 2009 0:23

CDAC to sharpen focus to help 67,000 low-income Singaporeans
By Hetty Musfirah Abdul Khamid, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 19 December 2009 1909 hrs

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1025870/1/.html

Key findings: Singapore workforce survey 2009

-There were 5.9 per cent or 116,300 persons (non-seasonally adjusted) in the resident labour force who were unemployed in June 2009, significantly higher than 4 per cent or 76,200 a year ago. The rise was felt across all occupations and industries.

-The number of resident employees on term contracts rose 4.3 per cent to 197,200 in 2009, faster than the 0.8 per cent increase in permanent employees. Consequently, the share of resident employees on term contracts rose from 12.4 per cent in 2008 to 12.7 per cent in 2009, continuing the uptrend observed since the data were first collected in 2006.

http://www.asiaone.com/Business/News/Office/Story/A1Story20091130-183033.html

Why are there so many poor people in Singapore? 67,000 just for CDAC only. Probably just the tip of the iceberg. Together with the other self-help groups (SHGs) the number of poor could be as much as 120,000. Many others fall through the social safety net and don’t receive any help at all.

Why is it that 1 out of 5 working adult Singaporeans don’t have a permanent job while all the foreigners are gainfully employed?

Enough is enough. The time is ripe for change.

Upturner
Dec 24, 2009 0:38

>>It’s illegal to sleep at the void deck
Heck..they even make it iLEEgal to sleep in park bench or pitch tent @ beach

KNN…juz rec’d my bill for property tax/t.v licence…ya. thanks for contribution to nation buildg…PUI!

Jobless
Dec 24, 2009 0:43

CDAC to sharpen focus to help 67,000 low-income Singaporeans
By Hetty Musfirah Abdul Khamid, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 19 December 2009 1909 hrs

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1025870/1/.html

So many poor in Singapore!

sad sporean
Dec 24, 2009 1:09

I see the current government is good in branding.
Too much talking and i really dont see much action.
Sigh…many of the ministers dont really worth that much salary.
I would wish strong opposition stand for my constituency and this time i would try to cast a vote for them. I think its time to try for a change cos im really sick of this place. Worst still, i see the whole country is being eroded my past common culture, the lifestyle, the people (too many foreigners..whether professional or workers). The sight of them make me sick too…

BlindMan
Dec 24, 2009 1:28

Whats the root cause ?

Take it out in your next vote, and have more opposition candidates to have an equal balance.

It’s obvious where Singaporeans are heading with the current govt.

80-20 rule …………..do your part vote for a better change.

KC Chin
Dec 24, 2009 1:49

as a volunteer at an old folks home here, there are cases whereby some singaporeans themselves are to bear part of the blame.

i used to sob at such stories. however, being a volunteer for 19 years, the first i learnt is – listen to both sides before commenting.

i am neither pro nor anti government. sometimes i do detest the policies my government has put up, at times, i do applaud them for a job well done.

while you can comment about how lousy our government is, how corrupt they are, how high their salaries are, it is just coffeeshop talk, no action, no substance.

do put in the effort to spend time helping the needy instead.

Azmodeus
Dec 24, 2009 2:59

As unfortunate as it is.

The Singapore government’s stance on welfare had always been ‘everyone for himself’. Since Lily Neo’s disagreement with Vivian Balakrishnan over the value of the Public Assistance scheme, did we really see an improvement on the overall welfare value provided for the needy?

Do we really have the political and the moral will to enact the necessary legislation to help these people when our politicians are still under the illusion that ‘Many Helping Hands’ still work.

We can sadly say no to both, and that is the unfortunate fact.

cat
Dec 24, 2009 3:11

//ErniesUrn

it is a lame excuse by the govt on welfare.

Society has been very generous to these pigs MP.

And they need it the least.

It is not coincidental that the list of cockups just grow exponentially like this after their salary shot up.

They are the lazy ones.

Look at Thaksin: he gave loans to the poor farmers when everyone claimed they would spend it.

He knows the ground. He knows these people won’t do that.

The result: a production boom for famers who invested in the latest farming technologies.

Pretending to listen to experts is not leadership.

it is to make your own life easy for these pigs.

flying off soon
Dec 24, 2009 3:38

what to do? … major of us choose these monsters to lead us without using our brain. so we deserve it …. so if u all are numb & are still ok with these situation, by all means vote them in for another 5 yrs …. me shipping out soon …. so WTF i care about.

andrew leung
Dec 24, 2009 4:11

http://www.econ.hit-u.ac.jp/~kokyo/sympo-feb07/paper/asher-Tokyo.pdf

Assessment of Singapore’s Policy Responses to Ageing, Inequality, and Poverty – (International Conference on Social Policy in Asia, Tokyo, Feb 9-10, 2007)
Mukul G. Asher – Professor, LKY School of Public Policy
Amarendu Nandy – PhD student, LKY School of Public Policy.

Singapore has a limited public assistance program.
•Less than 5% of households in the low income group are beneficiaries of state funded systems; and only 0.07% of the population received public assistance in 2004.
•The amount of assistance is kept deliberately extremely low at around 5‐8% of per capita income.

Concluding Remarks
•Singapore has the fiscal, institutional, and organizational capacity to make rapid progress towards more adequate, efficient, and equitable multi‐tier system.
•But this will require fundamental changes in the political and social philosophy.

FaceTheFact
Dec 24, 2009 4:37

47) Teo Hin Kiat and 52) Richard Tan

Those beggar that both of your saw in the city are not genuine beggar or poor lah. Be street smart and understand more from their local.

fpc
Dec 24, 2009 5:23

the really lazy people are the pigs @ parliament

Wing Lee Cheong
Dec 24, 2009 7:35

The welfare systems between Singapore and Canada is a comparison between Hell and Heaven. The following is a testimony by an ex-Singaporean who has a special need child. This testimony will open the eyes of many Singaporeans who are fooled into believing Singapore has the one of the best welfare in the world:

Testimony:

In Singapore, one can go bankrupt if there is a major illness in the family and need to be hospitalized in the blood sucking hospitals. I say blood sucking I mean it. When my daughter went for a heart operation (congenital defect), we need to phone our relatives to combine blood donation back to the blood bank.

As we ward her, the P.A.P. really started showing its true meaning….PAY-AND-PAY. Because my daughter’s defect and other multiple illnesses were/are congenital, our life insurance agent group health would not cover! Wow! All hell broke loose. We did not have CPF medisafe bec. we were self-employed, then no insurance. I remember vividly standing at the registration counter of the SGH LIMITED.. since I did not have all the usual coverage, she asked for my credit card and got me to sign on the BLANK copy and told me they will charge me later. I was signing a “BLANK CHEQUE”! Can you imagine how heavy my heart was when I was walking back to admit my daughter! The ghostly question kept ponding on me: “How much? But my daughter is more important! But how much!? How Much!!!!?”

When she was born in Feb 1988 it was not privatized but 2 years later when she went for all these treatments and operations it was coincidently privatized by the PAP govt….damn. To me most of the doctors and facilities were the same before and after privatizing and yet the medical bill were like earth and hell difference. Why? We felt cheated by LKY.

Not long after we landed in Canada, we received a letter (I kept it till today so that I will show my great grandchildren later) from the University of Alberta Hospital. It gave us two full-days of schedule with all those professors and sepcialists…from heart, hearing, speech, ear etc..you name it we have it there…to check on my 3 year old Singapore-born daughter. Again (like the same scene in the SGH) on the day of the medical check-ups I went over to the registration desk. After the white receptionist helped me to fill up all the forms, I sheepishly asked her: “How much must I pay for all these professors and specialists check-up on my daughter?” Listen, listen listen to the answer, ready?: “Sir it is FREE. It is under Alberta Health Care.”
What!!? I could not believe her…I have not even paid my first Alberta Health Care premium (that time we need to pay about Can $100 per month for a family) and not a single cent of tax and yet we got FREE real professional check-ups for my daughter! I almost cried! The receptionist did not ask for my credit card. It was/is FREE!!!!!

Now just imagine as I was walking back to my wife and daughter from the registration desk…How light hearted I was. I did not need to ask “HOW MUCH!?” The Christian song “Jesus loves me this I know” played in my played in my heart and soul. All I can see was “my daughter was/is important and she was/is well taken care of by the Canadian government.” Same daughter, same illness but in a different country and heaven and hell difference. Lucky we immigrated to Canada. Lucky. Pure luck.

In the ward, as I look at my sweat daughter laying on the bed, I just wounder why not all Singaporeans immigrate out of the shit hole. They don’t know how much they had been cheated by LKY.

When I tell you how my special needs daughter are taken care of in school and now as an adult with handicap you will not believe it at all…or rather refuse to believe it. How can it be so good? Impossible.

At kindergrader her class had only 7 special needs kids but they were taken care of by a full-time teacher, an assistant and watch over by a nurse and a specialist for special needs kid!

Fast forward. On reaching 18, she is given a monthly inflation-indexed allowance of Sin $1,500 (C$1+S$1.3), free medical and drugs, free dentistry and glasses (Sin $ 400 every 2 yrs). She can enroll for all kinds of studies and even dance, swim or social dance … all paid for..yea FREE. Monthly bus is half price at Sin$45 per month …unlimted bus and train travel.

If she is out of job, the social service will immediately find her a suitable job. Now she works 1 to 2 days a week in the Dollar Shop to do stuffing and packing…earning about sin$400 per month…no tax and no crawl back as it too low an income. So total monthly allowance+income about Sin$2,000.

I always tell Singaporeans that it takes alot of courage to emigrate out of Singapore but it takes even more courage to live in Singapore!

Just imagine your child or grandchild living with a major congential defect and needs contant health care supervision like my daughter. Or your love ones is still in coma after 2 years.
What would it cost you? Let them die? Let your own son die? LKY and the ministers with their $million pay + bonus can probably afford it but can you? Watch the show “Money not enough part 2″ … the scene of the dying mother and the worry over her medical bill…you would say “NO lah this wound not happen to me lah.” What if it really happens? Commit suicide? Pray that your love ones (son and daughter) die fast?

Canada is not a perfect place but you know for sure that it is not Singapore where if you do not die in the hospital, you will die of shock by just looking at the hospital bill!

Open to the idea of emigrating out of Singapore. You can search for all the options but getting out of the shit hole is the best one. Look if you do made a BIG mistake after obtaining a Canadian or Australina citizenhip you can always to back to Singapore as FT…they treat you better…yea same person but being treated better just because you change your citizenship.

“Men cannot discover new horizons with loosing sight of the land.” Are you prepared to loose the sight of Singapore and the damn sight of Lee Kuan Yew contantly appearing in the Straits Times front page?

We are not taking about politics here, we are talking about happy laughter of our children and grandchildren playing in the snow. We are talking about focusing on how to have our children get well in the hospital without worrying over the hospital bills.

We are talking about giving ourselves our children’s children a choice of freedom. Straits Times might write ghost stories about Canadian crimes, drugs, school shootings…all bad nothing good…as a Cantonese saying: “Not worth a grain of rice”. But in reality we are at least 10,000 times bigger than the red dot., we have four seasons, we have fresh air, we do not need to drink shit water….most important WE ARE CANADIANS…damn proud CANADIANS!

“A mind is like parachute…it works best when OPEN”

The name of the writer is kept confidential to protect the rights of the child. This is a true case as I know the writer personally.

mad93
Dec 24, 2009 8:57

So this is truth came out from our fellow Singaporean, you see people PAP is a guilty blatant liar. The Govt won’t bother to help the poor families but instead the minister’s get high pay.

randomnessinmind
Dec 24, 2009 9:30

Note:

It’s not just the Canadians that are proud to be Canadians. Our India Indians and PRC friends are proud of their countries just as much. One fella just asked me why we Sinkies doesn’t seem like citizens of Singapore, for we don’t get any benefits, I told him it’s because we love our government, and the peace and quiet they gave us. So quiet they’d talk about nothing and just leave us to die.

Zefly (aka Joshua Chiang)
Dec 24, 2009 9:32

I’m so bloody sick of the BS rhetoric by people like RICHard Tan and Ten Eng Huat.

What’s the point of comparing with Calcutta? You might as well go tell the woman in the video, ‘Hey thank your lucky stars at least you have a roof over your head, now be grateful, stop asking for so much and go get a damn job!”

The question is not even if we have only 1% of people who are destitute. (and btw, there are 100,000 households earning less than $1000 a month – try feeding your family with income like that, then talk about your decent clothings and food)…

The question is not even if it is inevitable that some people will fall through the cracks.

The question is – what kind of country are we turning into if we can be so rich and yet so stingy with our wealth. What kind of country is it that believes spending 10 miliion to ‘integrate’ PRs is more important that using that money to help 80,000 households that can be considered to be in poverty? What kind of country are we living in that says the increase in GST is meant to help the poor, and yet at the front desk of our bureucracy, they are told to go help themselves first?

Stop this infantile thinking. Spending a little bit more to help those in need will not turn Singapore into a Calcutta.

jiangbao
Dec 24, 2009 9:48

Lew Syn Pau is still a director of many listed companies…. He is called Pau Ye is some quarters..

I am surprised that TCS allowed the show to go, i mean since it is obviously lambasting the govt and the MP of that area.

wait which area is she staying in?

where is the swiss standard
Dec 24, 2009 10:03

“Last year, I stopped over in Calcutta, an Indian city, on my way to Katmandu.”

oh not Switzerland on your way to Germany. Hey maintain some standard leh and keep our Swiss vision alive leh. We do have a lot of people drawing pay of higher than swiss standard leh.

how to do that leh if our country is getting more and more populated by more foreigners other than swiss.

“When night falls thousands of familes will bed on the streets of Calcultta under the sky roof, come rain or shine.”

our poor may get fined for pitching a tent in East Coast leh and will be made even poorer leh.

Dec 24, 2009 10:12

Apparently Rich Tan hasn’t been to Sembawang Park. I assure you, not everyone camping there is there for the sun, the sea and the sand.

ErniesUrn
Dec 24, 2009 10:16

Richard Tan and Ten Eng Huat.

In the future, when your children fail in life in Singapore , do you tell them..
“it’s okie. Calcutta people are much worse off, be lucky you are poor and out”?. I don’t think you would.

In the future, if your childre fail test after one another, do you tell them…
“It’s okie, children in Calcutta fare worse than you, so be lucky”? I don’t you would.

So people…Please don’t use this unbalance way of comparing. As a country we should focus on what makes our system more robost and society friendly, rather than comparing with less fortunate countries. There is no relation.

Richard Tan and Ten Eng Huat. I Shake head to you.

Lor 8 Toa Payoh
Dec 24, 2009 10:35

Come on people, for goodness sake, this is a MediaCorp television programme! They’ll do anything to get the ratings up and the advertising dollars in. Do you think Quan Yifeng and Christopher Lee cares a hoot about this group of the underclass? No bloody way! When the cameras stop rolling, the first thing they do is bolt the hell out of the stink hole they are in and go back to their comfortable condo or bungalow homes and SUVs. These people act for a living, so don’t be fooled by their display of compassion. It’s all fake.

And for the rest of you, let me ask you this : the next time some annonymous old lady comes to you at your hawker centre table asking you to buy her pack of tissue paper for $1, are you going to buy it straightaway without a thought? Or will you do some cost-benefit analysis, rationalising that it’s actually cheaper to buy a whole stack at NTUC for just $2.

Think about it people, before you start going all emotional.

lee
Dec 24, 2009 10:36

If any Minister, PAP MP , YPAP member or even their general
member reading, we need to hear your comment about this.
And please refrain from the usual ” We are not a
welfare country or there are many schemes to help them” crap

TantheSingaporean
Dec 24, 2009 10:44

As usual, there will always be apologists and bootlickers to the system
who will take the worse off scenerios like Calcutta to make ours look
like a bed of roses.
Why not take the better off examples like Switzerland or Scandinivian countries
to contrast?
MIW like to boast we are a developed nation , so why not take the latter
countries for comparision?
As the saying goes, you don’t need to blow out someone’s else candles
to make yours look brighter.

Dec 24, 2009 11:07

When I see old woman selling tissue paper, I don’t think of rational cost-based analysis that it’s cheaper to get tissue at NTUC.

I think of why the old woman is selling tissue paper when she should be enjoying her golden years.

Singaporean
Dec 24, 2009 11:20

Seriously , the govt have the money to help this unfortunate in our society, this is a genuine case and deserve welfare. The govt can spend 10 million for foreign “talent” to learn English, accumulated surplus for national budget , high payout to ministers . Why not then ?

Soulfly
Dec 24, 2009 12:05

Singapore a fine city in 1st world, externally look superficially good….. that this land is always filled with roads path with gold…… in the eyes of the foreigners…… new PRs…. New citizens…….

internally its foundation pillars are showing cracks all over in F1 to F9 (leong sze hian’s bk) …….employment, housing, transport, education, healthcare, cpf, retirement, charity not forgetting national security (ns) etcs…….

our esteemed MIW in their million$ paycheck still AssUme that the ground look….. good feel by its true bred citizens……. so be it……….nobody know, heaven know…….

Oh Holy
Dec 24, 2009 12:16

@67
It is touching, thanks for sharing.

Sg is so small and be a new Rome, small is good, u can revamp the system fast but Sg chooses to be anti-welfare…and choose to be the bad and ignores the cries of the poor, the unfortunate, and the disable.

Unfortunately, u know it, we all know it, that is why all the good guys r emigrating. It is because the PAP has such a hold on sg with their dirty politics, that even though 70% of the population wanted to vote them out, they will not get the chance. What sort of a country have sg become, that migrating becomes the only way out?

Sg is in such a sorry state…God blesses those that r sympathy to the Poor, Unfortunate and the Disable, and all the justice fighters.

KC Chin
Dec 24, 2009 12:33

i do disagree to some comments here.

while many simply love to blast the pap, do you have any suggestion? can u bring your suggestion forward? are u willing to take the first step?

if the answer is no and yet blasting like there is no tomorrow, then i must say, singapore is hopeless as we have a bunch of clowns commenting for the sake of commenting.

i have heard all kinds of suggestions in my years at the old folks home. again, the moment i ask: ‘can u take this forward?’ ….. 101 excuses from my work more important to i stay tooo far – when this person actually stays 4 streets away.

so, to singaporeans, if u can only talk and no action, then, just shut up.

to non-singaporeans, go back to your country if u are not happy here.

to pap, good luck

to opposition, another bunch of idiots who talk and no action.

in short, good luck to all my fellow singaporeans

Dec 24, 2009 12:39

I thought it’s people who created the problem in the first place that should solve the problem. If they refuse to do so, they become the problem. The solution is to remove the problem. What’s so difficult to understand?

Alex
Dec 24, 2009 12:40

78) Zefly (aka Joshua Chiang) on December 24th, 2009 11.07 am

When I see old woman selling tissue paper, I don’t think of rational cost-based analysis that it’s cheaper to get tissue at NTUC.

I think of why the old woman is selling tissue paper when she should be enjoying her golden years.

==========================================

So Joshua, will you buy tissue paper from the old lady, or will you continue to think why she is doing this?

Dec 24, 2009 12:49

Secondly Mr Chin,

While it may give you very nice feel-good factor to volunteer your time to help people, it still doesn’t give you the right to feel you are better than others because you took time out.

There are people out there spending time volunteering as you did, who happen to realize the long-term solution still rests in policy changes.

Making noise – or what you would call ‘blasting like tomorrow’ – is incidentally part of the solution.

Though hardly documented, there are incidences where such TOC reporting, and people’s cry of outrage actually produce some positive results for the affected people, be they poor Singaporeans or abused migrant workers.

In short, think before you speak.

ErniesUrn
Dec 24, 2009 12:52

Simply,

Just buy the tissue from old lady and then give her back the tissues.

Difficult meh?!?!

Still must think so many things?

How Sure?
Dec 24, 2009 12:52

The truth is the government only treats themselves the best – with multi millions, pension and whatever you can think of.

When it comes to citizens, we are just their pawns that can use to fulfill their own dreams. If you watch the movies, the slaves would eventually be unhappy with their master, so they imported millions of FT.

Their aim is to be in control and win at every election by working our our weaknesses and links.

Every aim to help is almost superficial or hypocritical or perhaps lip service ie looks good on paper but no real help. Forget about helping the poor, only a partial amount is being distributed, but the rest are kept in banks, investment funds, paying $600k peanuts and building posh buildings and raising the fees.

Dec 24, 2009 12:54

Alex, what do you think?

SpongeBoob
Dec 24, 2009 13:40

Tan Hin Kiat’s – “At the same time they must also help themselves because money cannot come from the taxpayers again in this resourceless country to chase the unproductive. Even a secondary school student knows eventually the ENTIRE nation can be consumed with growing numbers and the opium like the NEP macross the causeway takes effect. And we’ll ALL be next to join the funeral list.”

Richard’s Tan – “I’m happy there are such people like Mr Teo around who puts things in the right pespective. Apparently, some bloggers appear to be living in an earthly paradise. Maybe their travels haven’t taken them out to see homeless and starving people. Or maybe they have so easily fallen prey to the spinners . ”

Thank you both salaried cyber police for your ST style kinda of perspective. First on using tax payers’ money to help the poor. Sorry, government grants and public donations still come from the tax payers, right? Where else the hell they come from? Resourceless? Even Hong Kong fares better in returning the accumulated GDP back to community. Sometime I think the Sultan of Brunei is a bit more intelligent than our fat cats. He can buy anything he wishes, but at least he give lots of freebies to his citizens, so they are still happy with him sitting on gold-plated toilet bowls. They have oil, but it won’t last. Same goes that we have hundreds of billions of reserves, and of course it won’t last either. But the difference is that the Bruneians can enjoy the food of their labour, whereas we can only look at the numbers, and look at the fat cats enjoying their perks.

Talk about homeless and starving people. Yes, you can see them in all countries. No denial. But the difference is, we have the resources (again, will not last forever) to help this “small” percentage of society. But the top (fat) cats choose to label them “crutch” mentality. So, again and again, we are told that the reserves are meant for rainy days (sounds like the Animal Farm). While the leaders continue to pamper themselves like it’s end of the world.

Perhaps both of you should be volunteers in VWOs (I hate to say this over and over again). Then, perhaps you will have the dignity to forgo your pay as cyber police, and give your heart and soul to helping our fellow needy Singaporeans to a more dignified life in our FIRST WORLD nation.

Regards,
Social Service worker

Knowtheworld
Dec 24, 2009 13:42

Dear 67,
Thanks for your sharing. I believe in your story and I am grateful that you share it with Singaporeans here.

I like to also to share what I heard from a Thai Tour guide when I was touring Changmai just 2 weeks ago. For your info, Changmai is the hometown of Thaksin and he is very popular in Northern Thailand.

Tourguide asked us whether if we know why Thaksin is so popular with the poor in Thailand?

He explained:
1. Healthcare is almost free for all Thais. Thaksin started the policy that all Thais can go to hospital for any kind of treatment (surgery, cancer, dental and etc) by just paying 30 baht (less than $2).
2. He gave all villages in Thailand 1 million bath each to start business. Don’t know whether loan is to be returned or not.
3. All loans taken by farmers previously from bank/system will be interest-free for 3 years so as to improve farmers cash-flow.

These 3 policies make Thaksin a saviour for the poor. Even after Thaksin is ousted these 3 policiles remains in force today…

I am not a supporter of Thaksin (I am not sure of his business dealings) but I admire his heart for his poor countrymen.

I am no accountant or economist but I am wondering how can Thaksin /Thai government achieved this (healthcare for 30 baht)? Singapore garhem with at least $300 billion in reserve have to charge skyhigh medical fees. It is ever increasing every other 2 years…

What do I mean by skyhigh?
May daughter was admitted to KKH for 3 days stays in A ward (asthma). The fees is almost $1500. I opted for A class because I bought medical insurance with full rider. I did not pay a single cent in hospital charges but I pay high premium for the insurance.
What concern me is that every other year, our health ministry will say the medical cost is getting higher..Even $500 per day in a Aclass is still not sufficient for the hospital to make a good profit? Frankly speaking, my daughter do not receive special attention, it is still same no of nurse taking care of my daughter and the same medicine as claimed by the hospital. The main difference is the room.
Even hotel in Japan tokyo do not charge that high for accomodation. Also, KKH is always full to the brim. That means there is good business and it is almost 100% utilised and so where do the money goes to? Why is there a need to keep increasing medical cost? Is the medical cost really increasing or is it to increase the profit of the hospital?

Why in Canade treatment can be free as mentioned by 65 and why in Thailand only 30 babt for all treatment is possibe? This is really puzzling…

With regards to FI/ people coming to Singapore,

As far as I know, many are here to earn and retired back to their own countries. They are not here to be citizens. By just working here for 5 years, they are already earning more than what they can in their own countries in a lifetime. That is why they are willing to come here to work for a low salary. Low salary is by our Singapore standard because we Singaporeans have a high cost of living to pay. Therefore, evening with $1000 per month, it is almost impossible to survive and have saving for retirement. How about the China people who came here? What can $1000 do for them? Spend $500 a month and save $500 a month.
How can they survive with $500 a month?
1. No family usually. 2. Shared accomodation. 3. Eat frugal 4. Little entertainment.
After 5 years, saving = $500 x 12 X 5 = SGD30000 = RMB 150000.
Any idea what is RMB 150 000 to an average China peopel. Most probably they can be property or business owner when they go back to China (in 2 tier cities). I am very sure, they will not stay put in Singapore. They are not stupid.

So for those who agree that we need a lot of foreigners to do our job or to dilute the aging population, think again.
2 milions of them in Singapore is most unthinkable…Talk to a Australian, they will take we are crazy. Also, take a look at Australian Migration law. I dare say less than 20% of Singaporeans is qualified.

Teo Hin Kiat
Dec 24, 2009 13:45

Whether you live or die no one really cares in big cities like HK, NY, Tokyo, etc., in the DEVELOPED countries.

I’m heartened that there are so many concerned “citizens” at TR whom I’m sure will let action speak louder than words. Contribute your surplus cash or kind to the needy. Talking cock all day long will not help. Getting the likes of lawyers Rasif or Mohammed to be MPs and manage town council funds won’t either. Unless one is an outsider who wants to Sink-Us-Poor.

Absolute poverty. The State is really quite powerless, anywhere. The State can’t be seen to encourage and grow such people. Someone just commented about the Malaysian perpetual free handouts to Malays i.e. the Chinese there pays taxes, the Malays enjoy them The NEP in Malaysia was meant to be for only 15 years but UMNO now wants it indefinitely. Worse still, the Malay population, the wealth consumers, has doubled in a short span of 50 years today! With more than 300k non-Muslims migrating annually reported, the consequence is dire in the near future for Malaysia.

In HK, come early morning the city council vans will ply the streets to pick up the dead, frozen, elderly vagrants in the cold wintery season. This is routine. Nobody wants to talk abt it. HKongers are a pragmatic people. They know that you’ve to slog till you drop dead. The 6-million has no CPF or whatever subsidies from the State. To each his own. Lives at the bottom are cheap (anywhere). You work to feed yourself. You depend on yourself. Nobody OWES you a living. You don’t work you don’t eat. Guess it’s true everywhere. Right?

Before Deng Xiaoping China believed sharing in communism would eradicate poverty. It’s history, my fren. Today’s China bottom poor (300 million) live a wretched life. If you’re a girl and have some looks go prostitute yourself abroad. Men, use you muscles in manual construcion abroad for a pittance (lowest tender price equals lowest labour cost), from Dubai to Singapore. You see (this’ education for us). Beggars can’t be choosers. The Chinese knows there is NO free meal. You think Kenneth of the Reform Party can provide? Don’t tickle my toes. At his age, jobless, he had to resort to asking for the PAP SM Goh for a testimonial for a job (whatever the smokescreen).

Tokyo? I’ve been to Japan. Have you? Maybe some bloggers don’t travel. Its absolute poor. I mean the real poor with just cardbords as matressess. So, it isn’t Calcultta alone (and btw ALL Indian cities have substaintial needy people). Japan. Check out – http://www.globaled.org/japanproject/socialissuesproject/homeless/page2.html

Just be thankful (if your are a resident-Singaporean) for this PAP government managing this little red dot. The worst is yet to come if we don’t beat the international competition.

cbkia
Dec 24, 2009 14:03

What to do, stupid people vote for greedy government.

Singaporean
Dec 24, 2009 14:13

From SDP website:

“You go down New York, Broadway. You will see the beggars, people of the streets…Where are the beggars in Singapore? Show me.” – Lee Kuan Yew

“There are no homeless, destitute or starving people [in Singapore]…Poverty has been eradicated.” – Kishore Mahbubani, Singapore’s perm. rep. to the UN

From Dr Lily Neo Fan Club (FaceBook):
“How much do you want? Do you want three meals in a hawker centre, food court or restaurant? – Vivian Balakrishnan

Knowtheworld
Dec 24, 2009 14:15

Dear all,
Apologise typo error. I was refering to post 67 from Wing Lee Cheong.

It is not the first time I have heard good reports about Canade.
I have first hand conversation with a Taiwanese who migarted to Canade. He loved his Canade…he mentioned his wife gave birth for free in a Canadian hospital and the nurse actually visit them regularly for baby care.
He did not complain about the taxes he need to pay….

Singaporean
Dec 24, 2009 14:22

The purpose of the above quotes from the ruling elites goes to show how insulated they are from the real problems on the ground.

They are in denial.

Anon
Dec 24, 2009 14:29

Previously I commented on “Tilting the playing field in favour of lower income group?

Monday, 21 December 2009, 11:49 am | 1,940 views

Leong Sze Hian”

“23) Anon. on December 21st, 2009 9.19 pm

You guys should watch the Channel 8 programme that screens every Monday at 8pm. It’s about needy families which fall through the cracks. One wonders how these families remain undetected by our government yet can exist in sufficient numbers to be the subject-matter of an entire season of programming.

E.g. the current episode shows a family of 4 – 2 60+year old parents who are ill with 2 intellectually and physically disabled children. Their application for welfare assistance was rejected, rental flat at risk of being repossessed by HDB.

Govt welfare assistance is a joke.”

Now I will predict that there will be NO NEW SEASON OF LIFE TRANSFORMERS!

Dec 24, 2009 14:40

Life transformers. More than meets the eyes.

commentator
Dec 24, 2009 14:44

It would be bad enough if this plight had happened to a FT – and interviewed by a local born Singaporean. But now it is a Singaporean family’s plight being interviewed by 2 FTs! (although currently PRs). The FTs must be shaking their heads in “sympathy” and disdain at such a pitiable Singapore family! Shame on you, PAP!

John Potus
Dec 24, 2009 15:03

This preoccupation with trying to get foreigners to become citizens reminds me of a philandering husband I know.

In his obsession to get his mistress (foreigners) to marry him, he ill-treats his loving and devoted wife (citizens).

The mistress knows that if she got married, she would end up the same way as his wife. She plays hard to get and squeeze him for all the money that he has.

In all cases like this, the philandering husband ends up in a welfare home with nothing to his name because his wife and children have left him (emigrate) and his mistress took everything that he had.

Is this the fate that awaits Singapore?

SG Girl Next Door
Dec 24, 2009 15:04

Believe this is not just one poor family that couldn’t get assistance. Wonder how much of the increased GST really go the needy.

I watched the programme on tv. The couple is an example of responsible parents. The mother told the hosts that despite her two sons’ conditions, they still love them very much. It is the love that makes them work hard for their sons.

Seventh Son
Dec 24, 2009 15:07

Pap, I hope retribution comes not only to you but for generations to come.

Time for Change
Dec 24, 2009 15:13

We have to vote for change if we really love this country.

Only change will prevent this country from being destroyed by the MIW.

Only change will deliver us from this nightmare.

Only change will give us back our country from the foreigners flooding here.

Time for Change is now.

John Potus
Dec 24, 2009 15:17

Does anyone really believe that the mistress is entitled to the same rights as the wife?

cat
Dec 24, 2009 15:47

//Celina Ng

Tell me about it. It is also in Singapore just that it is Singaporeans who are being discriminated against.

Samantha
Dec 24, 2009 16:37

To OUR MILLION DOLLARS Ministers and Civil Servants,

If after watching and hearing the plight of this destitute family, you still have not shed a single tear and still not move, then I say please continute to ENJOY your year-end MILLION DOLLARS BONUS, please continute to ENJOY your cordon-bleu cooking class in Paris, please continue to reward yourselves shamelssly with MILLION DOLLARS salaries, please continue to live in District 9,10,11 good class bungalows, please continue to clothe yourselves in WHITE but live with a BLACK HEART, please continue to dine & wine in your pool side xmas parties, and please do all these knowing that somewhere in Toa Payoh is a family so helpless and desparate that they are prepared to live and sleep in the void deck.

New Era
Dec 24, 2009 16:44

Samantha,

I am sorry to say most Singapore would prefer they didn’t continue to be in power. But don’t worry they will continue to earn their multi-million dollars salaries as they have told us ad nauseam that they could earn much more if they were in the private sector.

Singaporeans will do them a favour this coming GE and send them packing to the private sector.

Online Shmonline
Dec 24, 2009 16:53

@ 96) Zefly (aka Joshua Chiang) on December 24th, 2009 2.40 pm

I wonder who are the robots in disguise?? :P

kill
Dec 24, 2009 17:03

Is time to slaughter some PAPAYA men. We do not have simple right as Singaporean. We cannot even TAX immigrants to bring benefits to our POORER and less fortunate Singaporean.
Just be patient. We need a change. We simply need one.

Senior citizen
Dec 24, 2009 17:06

I remember the $10m to be spent to integrate foreigners into Singapore. I now read about MOE asking schools to help financially strapped foreigner kids if they can’t pay the new school fees. But in our midst is this wretched family – owing rental to HDB, old couple having to care for 2 handicapped children. It is no one’s fault that they are in this predicamen but the least we could is to first help our own kind. It is so easy to say “go find a job”, but where are the employers?

Dr Syed Alwi
Dec 24, 2009 17:13

Dear People,

I hate to rain on your parade – but with 34 % FT in Singapore – you cannot even vote the PAP out ! The FT’s will vote for PAP out of gratitude !

Merry Christmas & Happy New Year
Dr Syed Alwi

Jason Chan
Dec 24, 2009 17:18

The prawn mee stall boss who’s willing to employ the mother and yet willing to fit her erractic schedule has a HEART more real than that of all the ministers combined.

You MIW, i suggest you save your million dollars salaries hard becoz come next GE, you’re gonna loose ALL THAT !

Online Shmonline
Dec 24, 2009 17:20

Alot of the opinions here are about the fact that our MIW govt does not want to encourage a welfare mentality because it will cause our needy to develop a crutch mentality.

A definition of ‘Crutch’ – A device used for assistance or support

Would it be safe to assume that our leaders (with their exorbitant salaries) have already developed such a dependence on their expected remuneration that they will fight tooth and nail (and lawyer and slander?) to ensure they continue with their comfortable lifestyle while the needy of Singapore have their needs disregarded by the very people who’re supposed to be helping them?

I vote that we change Member of Parliament (MP) to Member of the People (MP) because the former is becoming more and more irrelevant to Singapore while the latter are the kind of people we need helping our people.

Fingers crossed with my New Year wishes.
Vote for change.

Online Shmonline
Dec 24, 2009 17:31

btw, hat’s off to Prince William. I’m always for taking the time and effort to better understand your people. He just spent the night sleeping in an alleyway as London temperatures dropped to -4 degrees. Sure,he had security around the corner and all but this is definitely more than sitting in an office and being rude to those coming to you asking for help.

“Mr Obakin added that the prince was ‘determined’ to understand all the problems that homeless people face.”

My hat’s definitely off for that!

mice is nice
Dec 24, 2009 17:35

KC Chin

post #82 on December 24th, 2009 12.33 pm

////i do disagree to some comments here. ////

fine with me, no one agrees 100% of the time all the time.

////while many simply love to blast the pap, do you have any suggestion? can u bring your suggestion forward? are u willing to take the first step?////

when you ask such question you really miss the point…. :?

reason:
1) they are paid to foresee potential issues before the issues came to be,
2) they should not always expect people to spoonfeed them, they need to be proactive,
3) they are that highly paid for a reason, that is the 1st step people took to ensure the team put in place are the best of the best, 2nd to non. but they have disappointed on more than a few counts…

actually, i do have a very good suggestion: “vacate your seat/s, open yourself up to competition fair & square!” :D

slackers should not be given “free lunch” aka feedback & suggestions. :P

Singapore Short Stories
Dec 24, 2009 17:48

I seldom watch Mediacorp shows as I am too busy, however I would try to take time off to watch such programmes where real life Singaporeans in hardships share their problems and hurdles in life, as we don’t usually read about them in newspapers or encounter such needy families unless we do charity work.

I would like to wish Singaporeans a Merry Christmas and while celebrating, let us not forget the needy Singaporeans who need help and let us extend our hands, in whatever modest ways we can to help them..for Christmas is really a festival of giving and sharing!

sweeney 38
Dec 24, 2009 18:01

” The 2% GST increase, is to help the needy and the elderly”.

So said the Prime Minister, Lee Hsien Loong.

Where is the money collected? This is one of the genuine cases happening
at your doorsteps, who is in urgent need of help.
Where is the money , Prime Minister?

You lied!! …….. You lied!!………….. You and your bunch of greedy retards enrich
yourselves with the money. Why? You are not poor…. just simply, GREEDY!!!

Shame! Shame!! Shame!!

It’s about time we vote OUT THE PAP!!!

SpongeBoob
Dec 24, 2009 18:15

Teo Hin Kiat – “I’m heartened that there are so many concerned “citizens” at TR whom I’m sure will let action speak louder than words. Contribute your surplus cash or kind to the needy. Talking cock all day long will not help.”

Very typical statement by these paid cyber police. Very familiar tactics of cognitive psychology (Wason selection task) being employed to corner readers.

No point arguing with them. They will always drop in now and then to push their agenda. They are paid to do the job.

anon
Dec 24, 2009 19:20

“How much do you want? Do you want three meals in a hawker centre, food court or restaurant? – Vivian Balakrishnan

From the same mouth:

$10-million Community Integration Fund

Smartalex
Dec 24, 2009 20:43

Why can’t the people in the civil services have some compassion and talk nicely to these unfortunate group of people in Singapore. Nobody deserve to be treated in this manner especially in Singapore. If we could just cut down a bit on the government spending especially on defence and the superscale salaries, we could have spend it on these poor people to give them a better life. This would made Singapore a more caring and loving society.

We would not need to spend millions on usless people to think of policies to attract talented but money minded and selfish people to come here to work. Any talented people with loving and caring heart wil just willingly come here to work and contribute to made it an even better society.

finicky
Dec 24, 2009 20:52

New York which is bigger than the size of Singapore has 1 able mayor to manage a big city
We have how many mayors and cho boh lan mps (missing persons) who
come in thru the back door every election and fall asleep during parliament sessions. How much of human empathy have these ruling creeps muster.
If u recall the last session when there was a rebuff between 2 mps over
raising 30 dollars more for the less privilege where the answer was an argument
over 30 miserly dollars. However they can keep their mouth shut when they have
a couple of hundred thousand dollars salary raise.
Let have a change Vote the creeps out

Dec 24, 2009 20:56

“Teo Hin Kiat – “ Contribute your surplus cash or kind to the needy. Talking cock all day long will not help.”

Erm… WE ALL DID. All of us. Everytime we buy something the 2% increase in GST is supposed to BE USED TO HELP THE NEEDY.

You want to talk about Japan? Let’s talk. It was one of the success stories of Asia, no? That is until the 90s. What happened? Why did that happen? Who was in charge? For how long was the LDP in charge? (54 years btw) Was there ANY change at all in the policies besides cosmetic ones since like.. god knows when? What is the lesson we can learn here?

Or you want to wait until the Ghost of Xmas future to come and show you our future if we pursue the same relentless GDP at all cost goal?

Oh, btw, Merry Xmas.

Terence
Dec 24, 2009 21:52

This may sound arrogant but I usually expected sg government reaping failures from their policies, they may sound like good sound policies from reminiscences of Margaret Thatcher, but the value eventually cannibalised and its true meaning diluted by its own political reproduction.

If the original message is: “Stop relying on your government, we are not here to provide bread or beds!” The idea is the people should start relying on themselves and people they relate to, they need to become resourceful, they need to take up their own risks, they need to plan for their families themselves, they need to know how and when to retire… Then I see CPF, political education, blah this blah that, aspects of common life becomes governmental controlled.

Saturn Bitch
Dec 24, 2009 23:09

Alex Tan rocks!

mice is nice
Dec 24, 2009 23:47

Teo Hin Kiat

post #90 on December 24th, 2009 1.45 pm

////Beggars can’t be choosers…. The worst is yet to come if we don’t beat the international competition.////

ooh, these words mean sooo much don’t they? can you clue us in on what worse is to come? :P

you have to “source” the world over to find excuses, but you forgot S’pore is but a tiny Red Dote, little land mass, no natural resources to sell…. yes, we are indeed heading for national prostitution in the form of “cheaper, better, faster” labour.

hmmm, that makes Mr Lim SS & Mr Gan KY brothel owners? :)

////Just be thankful (if your are a resident-Singaporean) for this PAP government managing this little red dot.////

you got this wrong, PAP should be thankful they are managing this Red Dote because its as small as it can ever be, does not have any natural calamity (though there are quite a few man-made 1s :P ), & they are paid so much. so why can’t they do better?

An ex-malaysian
Dec 25, 2009 0:09

110) Dr Syed Alwi on December 24th, 2009 5.13 pm -

You are right. “Gratitude”.

No kris waving at its minorities.
No legislation of NEP for its majority.
No fighter jet engines secretly sold abroad.
No minorities migrating en bloc annually.
No language of the majority as the only official language.
No Buddhism as the national religion.
No monopoly of public sector jobs for the majority.
No state scholarships, licences, public housing, etc., reserved exclusively for the majority.
No joint private company with leader to procure foreign submarines.
No “kekuatan” battle cries from the majority to intimidate.
No developing country status for us.
No less than $48 000 per capital income for Singaporeans.
No more total dependent on water from Malaysia.
No mass import of Indonesian immigrants.
No sidelining the indigenous aborigines, the orang laut (asli), the Red Indians.
No monopoly of the military & police for the majority.
No detonating innocent & defenceless foreign beau.
No opposition party member thrown off the building.
No pro-majority indoctrination course to brainwash civil servants, undergraduates, etc.
More . . . . .

Yes, we can all agree with Dr Alwi that out of gratitude for the PAP for transforming this bare rock 44 years ago to now a 1st world multi-racial country! The pride & envy of the world. The only First World City State of Singapore on the planet. I’ve indeed made the right choice for me & my children.

May the good Lord continues to bless Singapore and her leaders.

Merry Xmas to all bloggers & to Dr Syed Alwi.

New Era
Dec 25, 2009 0:20

Change is coming to Singapore. Let us all rejoice.

Merry Christmas to all and to all a good night.

say say only
Dec 25, 2009 2:02

Vote them out ! !!!??? you people serious anot??? i don’t believe…. every election time also say say only. Result out ,they still win . I bet this time round also the same . say say only. Maybe we all scare the world will tumble if they lose. anyway, nice brain washing job done on us for the past yrs. u will win again…sigh

mice is nice
Dec 25, 2009 2:24

say say only

post #125 on December 25th, 2009 2.02 am

your reaction is understandable, but do note that not all get to vote. there will be those who so wish to vote really look forward for that chance this time round. ;)

Ryvyan
Dec 25, 2009 3:09

121) Terence on December 24th, 2009 9.52 pm

I’m agreeing with this so much, though I still feel there are aspects we CAN control. However, I’m currently of the opinion that leaving this place is really the best thing anyone can do. Maybe I suay or something, but I wish I have had more support in pursuing less conventional routes of education that may not be as easily accepted but not easily replaceable by F-”T”s.

Ryvyan
Dec 25, 2009 3:15

125) say say only on December 25th, 2009 2.02 am

Voting for change is to enable more voices in parliament; more persons outside of PAP doctrine to represent the people.

Even if they maintain their majority seats but with a significant decrease in overall support, that is a blow. I’m kind of hoping at that time, foreign media will pick up on that and laugh at the government.

Terence
Dec 25, 2009 3:34

Vote against the dominant party.

Even if the published results = skewed, real data can’t lie,
and they will feel the fury themselves.

Upturner
Dec 25, 2009 11:37

Aiyah honest mistake lah…the staff @ toa payoh probably VERY HELPFUL & spoken to her in a “MOTHERLY” manner.

========================================

“From what I understand, Madam Phua was being very motherly and very helpful inside the room with them” – MP Lim Hwee Hua

“Who are you? What are you doing? WHY ARE YOU NOT WORKING?”.

“I had to ask some pointed questions about his employment status to understand the root cause of the problem, so that I can be more effective in helping them” – Cynthia Phua

http://singaporemind.blogspot.com/2009/05/boy-arrested-for-slamming-chair-at-mp.html

Singaporean
Dec 25, 2009 11:41

///I’m heartened that there are so many concerned “citizens” at TR whom I’m sure will let action speak louder than words. Contribute your surplus cash or kind to the needy.///

I feel all of us, yes all of us, have already done that in the different forms of direct or indirect taxes. For average monthly household spending of sgd2,000/-, that is about sgd140/- worth of gst every month. This is only one of them. Feel free to expand on that if you can think of any.

There is this ikling that some mandated contribution may also indirectly go into the maintenance of your unnecessary service. Feel free to correct.

We do contribute in our own small way and yes some big way also. We are just concerned that there are certain things that do not seem to add up even without the loud words.

Loud words also mean to say that we do not wish to see our personal surplus cash, which may be very limited & average for any average family, does not further get cleverly transferred through well-crafted policies that still do not give solutions even after all the supporting hyped up logic – solutions which the IB with smugness seems to poke fun at & canvass from the noisy community.

GABRIEL
Dec 25, 2009 11:52

I am curious: Why did MediaCorp, a pro-PAP, pro-government, pro-establishment organisation air that programme? What was the objective? Don’t get me wrong — I salute the righteousness of the producer, the editor, the people conducting the interview, They did a great job, getting to the crux of the issue, highlighting the problems, showing the courage of a mother.
But what about the outcome? Did all hell break loose in the corridors of power after that the programme caught the public attention? Did the HDB tweak the ears of its insenstive staff, whose idotic advice would have earned him or her immediate dsmissal in most organisations? Did the MP get a rap on the knuckles for allowing his or her constitutent to sink into such depths of misery? Or will the fallout be contained by a bunch of statistics to show how poverty has indeed declined over the years? So, let’s not get too excited by a solitary case or two.
I look forward to the next episode.

SadSadPlace
Dec 25, 2009 12:00

In an extensive interview with the National Geographic, Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew continues to support the ruling party’s liberal immigration policies though he is aware that many Singaporeans are unhappy with the influx of immigrants.

“Over time, Singaporeans have become less hard-driving and hard-striving. This is …why it is a good thing that the nation has welcomed so many Chinese immigrants.” Lee was quoted saying.

Lee describes the country’s new subjects as “hungry,” with parents who “pushed the children very hard.”“If native Singaporeans are falling behind because the spurs are not stuck into the hide, that is their problem,” he quipped.

DSFSFD
Dec 25, 2009 12:11

I hope someone will do a write up on the 4th storey at hdb.

like who are they?

what they do?

what results have they give?

how much money they have use?

Honest Economist
Dec 25, 2009 13:39

Compare to Mr Job who received $1 for the past 12 years and the South Korea President that received no salary at all, how noble is our gov?

I will emigrate because I am sick of the money play of the PAP. I remember in the 80s, 90s when the people led a better life. Where, it is the norm for housewives not to work and still have sufficient. Nowadays, a noble dad is simple not enough. Everything from housing, education and transport is too expensive. A job retrenchment is like a death sentence. And what did our gov do to help them? Nothing at all. They will only say, it all due to bad economics and workers must upgrade themselves. They slapped themselves in the face recently when it was revealed that alot of the people that are jobless are not workers but PMETs.

Recently, DBS and many gov link foundations are doing donations to charities. Do you think they are doing real charities? They use donators money to get a tax rebate of x2.5 rate so that they have better profit margins not because they want to do a good deed. But it is a new scheme to use the public sympathy to avoid paying taxes, that is all. They used to donate 1mil to get 2.5mil rebate on taxes but now, they are too lazy to even donate 1mil. They want the public to donate that 1mil and they can save 2.5mil of their profit margins.

When my wife was studying in the Lee Guan Yee School of Public Policy, during an economic class, the lecturer taught that all humans are selfish. I can tell you, no other classes in the world taught like that. No wonder our gov is so selfish!

I also remember when they paid themselves hundreds of thousands and millions of dollars, while the rest of us are earning comparable low, they called their salaries peanuts. You call that amount peanuts? How dare you give only 330 dollar to those needy people every month after they had appealed so hard.

2B dollar divided by 2mil people, entitled everyone to 1000 dollars. Yet they only spent 1B or sing 200-400 on handouts when they lost 100B last year.

It doesnt take an economists to tell you that their gov budget of 60B last year is enough to feed how many poor and lessen the burden of the middle class who is shouldering the various taxes to feed this greedy gov.

In 5-10 years more, alot of the middle class would sink to just above poor and yet the gov will tell the world, they have flats, they r living comfortable.

Enough of lies, it guilty to earn such dirty money. Even an economist will feel guilty because sg is so uniquely special.

Tesla
Dec 25, 2009 14:34

She’s not trying hard enough, need to push those spurs into the hide even if they are disabled!

Knowtheworld
Dec 25, 2009 14:45

Dear all,
Merry Christmas….beside voicing your opinions, please share with others about TOC..about the issues discussed…the debates here.
The ieal: Let more Singaporeans know!

It is only with knowing that understanding can be achieved. With understanding then ACTION!

This is what I do daily: I logon on to TOC daily! I invite freinds to take a look at TOC..
If you are a young person, share these issues with your friends….
If you are working, share with your colleagues.
If you are in your golden years, share these with your children and relatives.
Engage them in small talk / chit chat. No need to convince but leave them with provocating questions…Many are suffering the same fate (as Singaporeans) but do not know what exactly is wrong and where to find answer.

I realize that there are too many Singaporeans that are ignorant about all these issues. I dare say even highly educated people are ignorant about what is happening and they thot the garhem is doing their best. I was like that a few years ago until I become a parent and is concerned with public policies/issues.

I disagree with one who said that here is only TALK and no action.
It is also wrong to think that one must have action or solution then can talk.
It is also not right to expect everyone to have the courage to raise these issues up with MPs or the ministers.

But we can help other Singaporeans to know…Reason: They need to know whether they like it or not…We are all on the same boat. Let do our part…

Cheers

ronin
Dec 25, 2009 16:01

Vivian will ask, “how much do you want? 3 meals at the foodcourt?”

DSFSFD
Dec 25, 2009 16:16

sengkang just open a new hawker centre.

it is call a hawker centre but the price is not hawker centre price.

it is still food court price.

so whats is the difference for poor people in sengkang to eat at food court and hawker centre?

why sengkang hawker centre price cannot be low like the a hawker centre in bedok?

because it is a private hawker centre, the rent is not cheap like those old hawker centre with much lower rental.

why do government opt to private a hawker centre? where rental cannot be keep low and in turn food sold to consumer also cannot keep low.

maybe sengkang got more rich people.

Nick Ong
Dec 25, 2009 18:21

i don’t understand.

when my auntie needed help from hdb, they offered her extended loan, some dunno what financial assistance, found her a job and rebate on her sp bill.

that was in 2008.

but how come this lady got nothing? double standard?

i do feel the authorities should do more.

Neutral
Dec 25, 2009 19:21

Refer to my comments at #21.

Hey guys, get a hold of yourself. Let’s devoid of emotions and address the issue.

The crux of the issue here is that people feel that the Govt is not doing enough to help these REAL NEEDY people. That’s it. Clearly we must be very clear what a Govt needs to do – not only grow the country economically but also take care of its people.

These people are no crutch mentality (or whatever you brand it). They really need help and are on the verge of breaking. If you Govt think that giving this group of people $30 more to public assistance fund is so….. difficult – we will like to encourage you to think again. Help them a bit more – $200 x 100,000 = $20mil more per year. What is $20mil compared to $40BIL someone lost within months?? The REAL needy.

And some writers is right – please do not compare. There is no need to compare. Just ask ourselves as Singaporeans is this the way you treat your citizens – some who have toiled to build the nation for half of their life. We are all well-travelled people to know what goes on in other First World country.

On the other hand, we encourage you to come out to clarify this issue, just like the propanganda video by one opp party on the picking cardboard lady. We will listen and judge. Let’s be fair.

In the end, guys, whether there is change or not is not important – cos believe me – there is someone up there that will REALLY come and Take You In if grievances are levelled by these people. Believe in retribution. If this is the best you think you can do, there is really nothing you need to worry and you will be bless.

I just want to repeat this – if there is someone that you know really need help, inform the fat cats (6 months bonus for helping to distribute money and helping the needy) at CDC or their MP. Just a phone call.

Thanks for your kind gesture. Bless you.

Neutral

commentator
Dec 25, 2009 20:00

I wonder how many more of such cases are out there. Even one case is an indication that the PAP is a complete failure as a govt.

oh holy
Dec 25, 2009 20:08

@144

Well, not as happening as when Ho Ching got the May Day award this year, it was super kelong when she got the award when she lost so much money. She did not fight for min wage like the opposition, did not fight against the banks like the ex-ntuc chief, lost her credibility in the NKF saga as sponsor etc. That already is the biggest complete failure and we got a PM who out of touch with reality, mee siam mia hum, and he truly believes that Singaporeans do not work 3rd shift and our cleaners are all foreigners Zzzzzzz

Uniquely Singapore indeed.

The Buffet Table
Dec 25, 2009 20:35

Thanks for sharing the video.

It’s definitely heart-wrenching to see how people fall through the cracks in our society. I guess we still have a long way to go before we can truly be a “Great Society”.

spirited-centred
Dec 25, 2009 22:54

All along the govt is very stingy with their money for the poor, giving the all too familiar excuse that helping the poor will make them non-resilient. But recently, at the 50 storeys HDB Duxton Place key issuing to new owners, all owners receive a very professional and expensive keys handing over kit that consists of a expensive bag, expensive key chains holder for 23 keys, many glossy printed materials including a professional printed glossy hard-copy political propaganda brochures depicting LKY Photos on top of supposedly written welcoming speech to new residents owner of 50 storeys Duxton Place on the second page, urging residents to use the RCs , CCs and PAP meeting-people-session branch around the area. On the next page showing the constituency map with all the 6 Tanjong Pagar Constituency MPs. This is the kind of money they are willing to spend for their own interest, who cares about the poor. They die is their own wrong-doings. I wonder who is footing the bills for the expensive kit, HDB or Tanjong Pagar Town Council.
Non-residents who wants to go up to the sky park on the 50 storeys have to pay for a $5 ticket just like Petronas Towersin KL. Who is collecting the money HDB or the Town Council? Their conservancy Charges also very high -$100 a month hor.

spirited-centred
Dec 25, 2009 23:01

I wonder where this family is staying, if they are staying in Hougang Aljunied constituency, they can go to see Yeo Guat Kwang. He put up his big photo banner asking people to see him if need help or financial assistance. Hope he can help this family and walk the big advertisement he put up.

tiredsingaporean
Dec 27, 2009 0:43

144) commentator on December 25th, 2009 8.00 pm I wonder how many more of such cases are out there. Even one case is an indication that the PAP is a complete failure as a govt.

I believe there are many other similar cases in singapore, only that these poor folks really do not know what to do to seek help and even if they do, tell me how many just how many of them really get the assistance they need? this is singapore today.

Nick Ong
Dec 27, 2009 0:44

sometimes, it is the authorities like hdb and town council that deserves whacking

my friend’s uncle, 62, single, working as a cleaner. kenna lup. he can’t afford so he opt out. kenna sweet talked into signing to opt in otherwise the whole block may not get lup.

then now asked to pay for the upgrading. he can’t pay in full so ask for installments. hdb allowed but interest charged. their reply is that it is a MUST to charge interest.

my qn is: earning 600 a mth, still paying his hdb loan with cpf and cash. he never once asked for financial assistance because his income, less cpf, house loan, sp bills etc, is just nice.

given his financial background, why charge interest for the lup when he is asking for installments? this man DID NOT ask for free! he is willing to pay but without interest, please. the lup bill is only 900 bucks!

asked mp to write letter, hdb still reject the request and insist he pay with interest.

now, what kind of system is this? it is not the $$$. i can pay for the interest. in fact i can help to pay for the whole 900 bucks.

but what pissed me off is is this the way HDB treat the lower income?

i simply just hate these people. everything also $. cleaner also cannot give way. and mind you, he is a singaporean. willing to spend 10 million to integrate new citizens but cannot waive interest for 900 bucks?! which is what, 30 bucks?

i do not see the logic.

nonsense
Dec 27, 2009 0:53

MIW= Demons= Period=End Of Discussion
Humans=Yang. Demons=Ying.
Humans cannot co-exist in Ying!
Return environment to Yang again.
Get rid of these blood sucking demons=Period!

Nick Ong
Dec 27, 2009 1:02

16) stan on December 23rd, 2009 3.53 pm

They can rent the FT HDB flats at discounted rates. Why can’t they do so with this family…

ARE U SURE???!!!! SINCE WHEN???!!!!

post the link here if any, i am going to write in to the forum!

who the hell these FTs are? subsidy means state paying. state paying means WE pay!

Michael
Dec 27, 2009 11:12

As I understand only Singaporean can rent subsidized HDB flat.

oh holy
Dec 27, 2009 13:15

@152

They already have no money, and cant afford to rent. If they sell their HDB now, what would happen to their children?

JH
Dec 28, 2009 11:45

It is indeed appalling to note that our governent constantly adopt the idealogy that the poor have only themselves to blame for not working hard enough. It must be understood that THOSE in power have a certain responsibility to those who lose out in the capitalistic race, be it due to defects or what have you. I firmly believe that present leaders are not doing enough for the disadvantaged in Singapore.

However, having failed in this aspect does not make our leaders greedy or corrupt or bad. One might question their supposed lost monies and the likes, but they did provide us with a high standard of living that enabled many of us to think of post-material wants.

What has truly happened, i opined, is that the present leadership has stagnated, due mainly to the lack of credible opponents. A lack of geniune debates in parliament has resulted in the wrong assumption of people’s needs on the ground. No longer do the constituencies identify with their leaders. An opposition is needed to keep the incumbants in check, but that is simply not happening – resulting in the stagnation. The NMPs do provide an alternative voice, but are too weak to make any substantial change.

What then can be done? i do believe the PAP is still the best party, as compared to the other parties we have in Singapore, to lead this country. however, they need a rude wake-up call, in the form of losing a few seats in parliament, this to reintroduce what the legislature is supposed to do – that of debating policies, only then can the views of the people be heard. And unless the opposition show more unity and credibility, instead of infighting and internal insurrection; my heart will want a different party to lead the country, but my head still tells me otherwise.

I Beg Your PAP
Dec 28, 2009 23:13

For anyone that is having illusions about our money minded PAP politicans, let me give one example.

Mr Wee Siew Kim has been an elected Member of Parliament (MP) for the Ang Mo Kio GRC since October 2001. Currently, he is Adviser to Jalan Kayu GROs.

Today, he is the Deputy CEO of Singapore Technologies Engineering Ltd (ST Engineering) overseeing the Aerospace and Marine sectors. Concurrently, he is the President of Defence Business of ST Engineering.

Mr Wee also chairs the Estate Improvement Committee, in addition to the Business Liaison Committee.

Does anyone knows how much he is earning a year holding multiple business and political posts? He is only one example of a businessman cum politician.

Does anyone have an illusion he is earning less than 5mil a year with 6-12 bonuses from the gov and the ST companies?

Assuming he is earning just a puny 5mil a year (even though we all know he earns in excess of 10m), so let us see,

There is 365 days in a year, and 5mil/365 = 13 690 per day. (Yes in a matter of days, he earns what most would earn in a single year. If he is the chairman of GIC, he would be earning tens of millions in a single year)

There are 24 hrs in a day, 13 690/24 = 570 every hour. (He earns 570 an hour when he took a nap).

Every minute, he would earn close to 10 dollar. (Yes, he do earn that much even if he goes to the wc).

The question is, why do we give billions of the taxpayers money to them when the money is suppose to help the poor? Arent they rich enough? Arent they corrupted enough that they are appointed as directors, CEO etc for various posts? Why up their pay further and the excuse is , they will go to the private sector if u do not up their pay? They wont, because as politicians, they are appointed luxurious, multiple posts.

The real question is, how do they find the time to serve the people? Where do we find them? You know, most MP do not even show up for the meet the people session Zzzzz.

Why cant they give one hour of their pay away to help the people? Even if you take away 6 months of their pay away to serve the hundreds and thousands of poor, they still have more than enough. And it is only one MP. There are 80+ MP and thousands of high paying civil servants! They are so flithy rich! And yes, they claimed they are paid peanuts.

YING RUI
Dec 29, 2009 2:46

Whilst I do empathised with the plight of this family, especially when the father is an acquaintance of my dad, and certainly agree that it would indeed have been a humiliating experience for the mother, if the event had taken place. But, I would like to remind readers that, there are always two sides to a coin and a fair comment should only be made when ALL facts relating to the situation have been presented.

It was stated in the interview that the mother went to the fourth floor of HDB in Toa Payoh to seek help but it was not mentioned specifically the help she was seeking for and whether she had indeed spoken to the HDB officer. As she is illiterate, she had assumed that was a welfare department she went to and she was sure she spoke to HDB officers.

Level 4 of the HDB Hub is actually a training centre. Could she have offered her problems to the wrong person and invited insensitive remarks?

It was not mentioned the nature of the welfare assistance she is seeking. Could she have requested for deferment of rental payment but was mistaken for seeking welfare assistance since she does not understand English and may not effectively convey across what she is seeking nor effectively explain to the officer(s) her family’s situation?

I do not have answers to any of the above.

But I am aware, by making sloppy comments about the administration of our Government without ascertaining the facts only leave much to desire and ineffectual in addressing the immediate concern of this family i.e. to solve their housing issue and other pressing needs.

And MEDIACORP will certainly agree with me that the purpose of producing this reality show is to highlight the plights of these needy and helpless and solicit CONSTRUCTIVE feedbacks from the public to solve their pressing issues and never intended as a platform to stir up political satire.

YING RUI
Dec 29, 2009 2:56

29) FaceTheFact on December 23rd, 2009 5.58 pm

Did I hear wrongly that the mother said her elder son salary is $75/mth while his transportation costed him $120/mth?

Anyway, it is always very sad on seeing this.
It’s true. My brother used to work in the same place as the elder son. He was earning $75/month while the tpt cost us $120/month. Because of this, my dad took him out and made him stayed at home for 5 years.

Result of this action?

Due to lack of society support, my brother lost his sanity and hurt himself by banging his head on the wall out of frustration. We have to live with his condition because of my dad’s action.

Do not see all situation liketh half-empty glass. The interaction with others did my brother well even though we were topping up the extra $45 and he earned CPF as well and has a little medisave but the most important thing was he was able to relate well to people then.

mice is nice
Dec 29, 2009 3:05

Ying Rui,

as the program is a MediaCorp production, the onus should be on them to prove that the events protrayed are not manupulated to “making sloppy comments about the administration of our Government without ascertaining the facts”.

Wing Lee Cheong
Dec 29, 2009 4:34

Whatever is said by Ying Rui @157, it does not hide the fact that Singapore’s welfare system does not measure up to 1st world status.

An ex-Singaporean who immigrated to Canada was discovered by her family doctor that she is visually impaired. She suffered from “tunnel version”. She can only see straight. All the years that she was working in Singapore, she was ridiculed as careless and clumsy. Nobody realized she was visually disabled.

Now in Canada, she is certified as “legally blind” and entitled to special care and treatment. Healthcare workers went to her place of work and home to check out the environment to make sure that the surrounding did not post any potential danger to her.

As for the case of the poor family featured by MediaCorp, the two special needs brothers would have been well taken care of by the welfare system in Canada and each be given a S$1,500 per month living assistance allowance. Please refer to the testimony by another ex-Singaporean in comment #67.

Critics will labelled the Canada system as stupid and wasteful. Being kind and caring show the integrity of a country which is why Canada with less than 1% of the world’s population contribute 10% of the world peacekeeping force. Is that also stupid and wasteful or taking millions for yourselves a better way of showing your true character?

leesjuanpat
Dec 29, 2009 10:36

#160, Wing Lee you said it all. There is a vast different to a person’s character to show compassion to the destitute, under-privleged or handicapped, than a person who has no human heart at all.

This reflection of life shows the MIW enriching their life with the citziens sweat and blood but will not bate an eyelid for even the most deserving case of poverty.

The first world status of Singapore belongs only to PAP and all their cronies. The true blue citizens ( those without any means of support will die a ‘death happier’ than living a life in hell.) That will be their only choice. But thank God! many ordinary good hearts will be their saviour.

DO WE STILL WANT A GOVERNMENT OF HEARTLESS MILLION PAID PAP
MEN WHO SQUANDERED AWAY BILLIONS OF THE CITIZENS’ TAX MONEY WHO
CANNOT LOOK AFTER ALL THE DESERVING POOR, PENNILESS OLD FOLKS
TO LIVE IN SIMPLE DIGNITY?/ GO STAY IN J. BARU OLD FOLKS HOME said khaw boon wan.

The truely poor, all are in dire need of the milk of human kindness and compassion. DO OUR PAP GOVERNMENT HAVE IT? $20 is too much for the people on the dole and was debated in parliament with Vivian B. dropped a bombshell. Is that what we want the young and insensitive ’smart alec’ to lead us?? Totally void of human touch!!

YING RUI
Dec 29, 2009 15:19

I refer to the comment made by “159) mice is nice on December 29th, 2009 3.05 am”.

Allow me to clarify my stand, the objective of the MEDIACORP production was to solicit constructive feedbacks from the public to solve the immediate issues of the family. It is definitely not that perogative of the producters to ascertain if the chain of events did actually happen.

I am seeking the understanding of the readers of The OnlineCitizen to provide tangible aids (i.e. if you know of any job that suits the mother, please pass it on) instead of passing sweeping remarks about the Government and stir up unnecessary emotions which I do not see it being constructive in addressing this family’s immediate needs.

If you do not agree with me, please convince the readers with tangible examples how the sweeping comments made regarding the Government has helped to IMPROVE the life of this family.

mice is nice
Dec 29, 2009 15:20

Wing Lee Cheong & leesjuanpat, i share your opinions in the 2 posts above.

leslie
Dec 29, 2009 15:57

this is the second season of Life Transformers, with Season 1 being the most watched non-Drama series on Channel 8 in 2008.

There were about 13 episiodes of that in the first seaon and likely another 13 episodes in this current one.

That makes 26 needy, extremely sad families that have fallen through the cracks.

Add to that, the English language version of Life transformers, called Renovaid on Channel 5 and you have about 40 families already highlighted.

This is not including the countless case studies you see in the charity shows that Mediacorp produces, plus 2 seasons of another Channel 8 series called Buzzing Cashier, and you have a case against how little has been done to help the poor in singapoer.

YING RUI
Dec 29, 2009 16:21

Yes, it can be quite sad, #165, to know of the statistics but I would prefer to see it as a crack in the current system in effectively reaching out to the needy and therefore, a pressing need for the Government to ensure the gap is stitched up so that lesser would fall through the crack.

mice is nice
Dec 29, 2009 16:22

YING RUI

post #162 on December 29th, 2009 3.19 pm

somehow i beg to differ, when programs are aired, the broadcaster has to ensure that the programs do not distort the situation. if that happens, it will not meet its objective to solicit constructive feedback to help “solve the immediate issues of the family”.

when credibility is found wanting, it does more harm than help such families. this article is a result of people who chance upon the TV program, i do not see why netizens should be held responsible for “passing sweeping remarks about the Government and stir up unnecessary emotions”. no such TV program, no article online, & no negative comments on govt agencies. also, is there such a thing as “unnecessary emotions”? figuratively speaking you are “barking up the wrong tree”.

perhaps the program serves to highlight the plight of the forgotten “few” in the relentless march of progress, all the swanky new buildings that dominate the skyline. as a (governing) system that oversees the masses, when the numbers seem to indicate that the numbers of people in society are falling through the cracks. the responsibility rests on those who are ultimately tasked to do just that. individuals going about helping people 1-by-1, the ideal way to deal with issues that are deeper is to find the source. most individuals do not have the financial capabilities, know-how, so on to much about it.

if the govt is listening, they have to be willing to REACH the people near the bottom, if not at the bottom already, get a good feel of the situation, then think of solution/s that will reverse such a trend. the sweeping comments that does not sound pleasant to some ears are but a result of the disconnect between the people who are left on their own when help is needed (but do not recieve it) and the ruling elites who are far removed from the challenges that the people face.

yes, i do not agree with your views in your posts above, but knowing people as they are, however imperfect, a system to help must be seen to do so while filtering out people who will find loopholes to exploit it.

jiangbao
Dec 30, 2009 11:30

Its simple really. Take the 10 Million dollars to be given to those damn communist and give it to those in need. we have about 27K of poor as defined by the govt, since the govt can count them, obviously they know who they are.

oddly that works out to be about $370 as well.

certainly not enough. how about entry tax into singapore. just like those casinos.

1000 or 10000 initial tax to those communist. ya that will help since we have like hundred of thousands of fifth columns in singapore.

obviously we cannot do that to those workers who work on our constructions, but 1000 or 10000 tax on those who take white collar jobs. I say hell yes.

sturmtruppen
Dec 30, 2009 18:51

To be blunt…

All the PAP followers and supporters who continue to ridicule the non-elite folks are basically desperately trying to maintain their current amount of excess monies, positions and benefits since they have the so called “mandate” supposely voted democratically via election [& we know it is all BS skew to their advantages...dun believe, dig deeper and all is there to see].

This so called PAP government of singapore is more interested in keeping the status quo to fatten themselves up obscenly more and more at the expense of local singaporeans.

Yup to quote from animal farm : “All animals are equal but some are more equal then others!”.

No HUMANE DECENCY at all. How one can still sleep when one is taking so much when one do so little is sick. One only deserve the amount one makes from one’s own toil and efforts….not sit back and collect on the hard work and sacrifices of others….a government is paid (via direct/indirect taxes) by the people…and the people expects the monies to be used properly…not for gambling or enriching one selves…you work for the people, not the people work for you….and you still believe the peoples of singapore really vote for you every election.

Only the ignorant, the blind and yes the evil ones can believe and made this to be so.

You are not decent human beings. As long as you continue this, future generatoins [including yours too] can only look forward to a bleak future…you may be able to avoid the bleak future using all the misgotten blood monies from singaporeans… but in the end mortality will stare at you and death itself will still take you into its grasp.

At your dying bed, instead of knowing you have done good and live a full life…you will realise you have done actual evil.

Sad.

YL
Feb 2, 2010 13:37

Is there a fund for helping those people? just asking.

Leave a Reply

Comment

theonlinecitizen on Facebook