Sunday, December 27, 2009 16:03

Lee Kuan Yew had suggested “instigating riots and disorder” to crush opposition

In Main Stories, Top Story • 6,639 views • 78 Comments

From Martyn See’s blog, Singpore Rebel:

Below is an excerpt from the newly-published The Fajar Generation.

The Barisan Sosialis was then the strongest political force in Singapore and its leadership united and staunchly anti-colonial in their outlook. That was the reason for the alarm. That it believed in democracy and constitutional struggle and was expected to win in any free and fair election was the reason for repressive action. The PAP was afraid of the odium that would go with repression while the colonial power was still around, afraid of going the Lim Yew Hock way. But the PAP leadership desired repression to save itself; thus its neurotic behaviour.

In a conversation with Selkirk, on 28 July 1961, at time of the formation of the Barisan Sosialis, Moore reported Lee Kuan Yew’s tactics in the following terms:

He went on to suggest that in order to avoid the Communists taking over, he would create a situation in which the UK Commissioner would be forced to suspend the Constitution. This might be done either by the Singapore Government inviting a Russian trade mission to Singapore thus forcing a constitutional crisis, or by instigating riots and disorder, requiring the intervention of British troops. I did, however, form the impression that he was quite certain he would lose a general election and was seriously toying with the thought of forcing British intervention in order to prevent his political enemies from forming a government (CO 1030/1149, p. 95, para 3).

Read the full post on Martyn’s blog.

1. Homosexuality as a “disorder”: classification denies potential trainee teaching position
  2. PAP will win next two elections: Lee Kuan Yew
  3. Where to, opposition?
  4. Singapore beyond Lee Kuan Yew
  5. “Democracy need not involve the presence of an opposition,” says PAP member

78 Comments

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Aaron
Dec 27, 2009 17:48

“in order to avoid the Communists taking over,”

This statement might explain, thought it will not forgive, the reason why he suggested it.

Nick Ong
Dec 27, 2009 17:58

1961? what do we expect? legal rights? from who? tactics and techniques. that is the way i see it.

oldfox
Dec 27, 2009 18:30

lkm is a old fox. just look at those pair of eyeshe has, like wolf,

seebeng
Dec 27, 2009 18:31

What about the 22 professionals and social workers arrested in 1987 and labeled as Marxist conspirators by Lee Kuan Yew? Were these people out to use “violence to overthrow” the PAP? If these are Marxists, then those arrested on 2 Feb 1963 were communists.

Diablo Inferno Tak Boleh!
Dec 27, 2009 18:38

What a Revelation!

tide
Dec 27, 2009 18:44

Time will revealed the truth…slowly the skeleton in the closet will see the light of day.
No mattter how much praise one sings to you to feed your ego…There will always be a dark side of the moon.

lockeliberal
Dec 27, 2009 18:47

I would suggest that people read ‘ My Side of History” by Chin Peng to find out the other side of history. That both sides were locked in a life and death struggle for the streets and for political power

Locke

Topspin
Dec 27, 2009 19:01

LKY should have himself arrested since he is the source of the instigation.

How much more suffering will he and his people cause in Singapore is really unknown.

south china sea
Dec 27, 2009 19:36

time will also reveal the truths as to who was really behind the ethnic riots of the 1960s.

Donaldson
Dec 27, 2009 19:39

7) lockeliberal on December 27th, 2009 6.47 pm

That both sides were locked in a life and death struggle for the streets and for political power

This is what real politics is. Everything else is just wayang.

cat
Dec 27, 2009 19:42

We were always told to avoid confrontation but LKY had actually thought about instigating riots to crush the opposition to his own benefit.

What a joke! He is shown to be a real snake.

We have been paying him 3 million a year. what for?

Tesla
Dec 27, 2009 19:53

And he is still alive after almost 50 years? The ‘opposition’ is either too dumb or too inept, possibly both.

lockeliberal
Dec 27, 2009 19:54

Donald

Some of the comments here refuse to see the other side of the equation, that the communist yes real communist of the 1960’s were very much in control of the unions and strikes of the day. Again not because LKY says so, but because Chin Peng himself admitted as much in his own autobiograohy.

So both sides wanted ti use strikes to crush the other. Lets not kid ourselves the communist were not saints in any way, neither was LKY but heck calling LKY the devil and Chin Peng a saint is a bit to extreme as well.

Locke

ZL
Dec 27, 2009 20:18

For those who are interested.
http://www.sginsight.com/xjp/index.php?id=3327

Donaldson
Dec 27, 2009 20:34

Hi lockeliberal,

In Singapore, PAP sues their opposition opponents bankrupt. Actually, this is quite a common practise in the USA where Republican politicians, supporters and activists sue their Democrat counterparts, and vice versa. I actually think many Singaporeans are too mild to handle such disdain.

Fiona Chan Bai Lan
Dec 27, 2009 20:47

what if the commies were actually to practice the current China model and not the extreme old model?

well, we will never know.

Su Kum Vong
Dec 27, 2009 20:50

What is the reason behind “The 77-year-old doctor wants to tell his side of the singapore story before its too late.” ?

What does he really mean by ‘before its too late’?

Too late for what ? Who?

soulfly
Dec 27, 2009 21:37

my taiwanese friend sent me this link, containing six parts commeting my city state early politic, economics etcs.

interestingly part 4-6 mentioning that our economics model, FT policy, IR copying from taiwan.

what interest me from my taiwan friend that our singapore FT policy different from them – that is taiwan foreign talent policy is to invite their own talented peoples from different parts of the world to return to their proud country to contribute to its present economics relevancy and politic vibrancy ie. economics drive politic not politic drives economics.

really kudos to my taiwanese friend knowing their personal democratic rights.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LEYjcn_HMc4&feature=related

Nick Ong
Dec 27, 2009 21:40

i have no doubts abt chin peng or lky or lim yew hock or lim chin siong ….

all are out for a political cause with a personal agenda.

the circumstances at that time are totally different from what we see now.

if we are going to say lky was wrong and lim chin siong was right and vice versa, then this debate will not end.

it is simply the survival of the fittest, whichever way, whatever way u use.

i have no idea why all this political shit that is being published so frequently recently and i dun like it because it is causing a divide among my fellow citizens.

all i can say is modern singapore was founded and built by singaporeans and their forefathers, NOT by 1 individual hero.

Oxford Dude
Dec 27, 2009 22:03

19) Nick Ong on December 27th, 2009 9.40 pm

i have no idea why all this political shit that is being published so frequently recently and i dun like it because it is causing a divide among my fellow citizens.

Division? This sounds like a slippery slope towards squashing dissent.

Losers
Dec 27, 2009 22:13

There is no corruption in Singapore, and no nepotism. Its just god’s miracle that all the talent is found in one family. Not only that but the male species from the family have super sperm which can even make a ordinary woman into the world’s third most powerful woman. Ain’t that god’s miracle and dogs have three legs

popcorn
Dec 27, 2009 22:57

Like many Singaporeans of the older generation, I have lived through the chaotic
era of the sixties where the Socialists or Communists are enamoured by the Cultural Revolution of China, and made life very difficult then, instigating riots and
strikes at bus companies and factories. Teachers of chinese schools like The
Chinese High now called Hwa Chong Institution brainwashed their students to
take part in above activities, and many students even sneaked to China to join the
Red Guards in the revolution there. My husband was one such zealous student and had to be dragged home before he could board the ship to China.
History seems to be repeating itself in today’s younger Singaporeans in their idealism about these former political detainees.
We have to be objective to separate facts from fiction-telling.

doctorwho
Dec 27, 2009 23:32

#popcorn, i only see Lee family running this country, from MM, PM, GLC ….
Are the PAP the communists of yesterday?

lockeliberal
Dec 27, 2009 23:47

Donaldson

You know that comparison is not apt and not true in anyway. I would suggest we get back to the topic and era at hand. Were the communist of that era real or imaginary ? Were they responsible for instigating strikes or not ?

Locke

prettyplace
Dec 28, 2009 0:18

I think the key lies in asking America….if there was support given to Singapore….where, when , to whom….

mid 60’s was turbulent…and the commi threat was the greatest…..did anyone use or take advantage of this….

I think we are only looking at the tip of the iceburg….perhaps in time….USA might shed more light.

We only know what info we have access to. Period.
Dec 28, 2009 0:20

So, what i mean is, no one really knows ALL the Truths given the fact that we only have access to info that we can get our hand on – We Do Not know for sure what are ALL the Truths.

Clear eyed
Dec 28, 2009 0:56

The more dark secrets about the Hatchet Man are revealed, the greater my revulsion for him. If all the skeletons in the cupboard are finally exposed for all to see, I think our country will need more than one day of cooling off for the citizens to recover from the shock.

wat?
Dec 28, 2009 2:37

remember that he didn’t give a straight answer to Catherine Lee.. even recently. that shows you what may happen in the near future.

张三丰
Dec 28, 2009 6:16

@popcorn,
get your facts straight before you come and bull here.

The “Cultural Revolution” started in 1966. one year after Singapore independence.

Those bus companies and students strikes were in the 1950s, how are they related?

And if you want to find any resemblance of history with the current PAP ruled Singapore, it will be more like……..eh sorry , cannot find one …….cos Singapore is Unique…… it even pay $3 mil a year for a senile old man just to do forecasting….. even Kim Jong Il also no fight…..

hopeless
Dec 28, 2009 8:34

president also cannot vote… singapore where got democracy…….

rajesh
Dec 28, 2009 9:32

Those who lack real mental strength will use force or trap to use force to tackle.It may be right now since singapore story is of success in lot of perspective.It is easy to cut down a tree but the goodness it provided prevail so too the concept of people who died for good cause .

seebeng
Dec 28, 2009 10:29

#31 ((It may be right now since singapore story is of success in lot of perspective.It is easy to cut down a tree but the goodness it provided prevail so too the concept of people who died for good cause ))

What success? The economy is in a tailspin with GDP contraction of close to 10 per cent. A senile old man who is drawing close to $4 million has put his incompetent son as prime minister and his inept daughter-in-law to squander away our reserves and hard-earned CPF savings.

Foreigners offering cheap labour are flooding the place to boost the economic numbers so that the PAP parasites could continue to help themselves to millions of dollars in what they call salary while our workers have to struggle with great stress and uncertainty.

kempataipolisman
Dec 28, 2009 10:54

laulee already sold his soul/country durin the nipponese invasion of singapoor
he blast into a courtroom with his 7 bodyguards @ belinda ang court hearin without bein charged while ms ang can charged a few fellos for wearin a kangoroo t-shirts..last but not least leekuanyew would crushed 200,000 students just to save himself and some foreign talent aliens
what else is leekuanyew not capable of? beside commandeerin an sia 747 jumbo into his private air ambulance within 72 hours and flies for FREE?

kempataipolisman
Dec 28, 2009 10:59

[i]We have to be objective to separate facts from fiction-telling[/i]
and now leekuanyew asked/command you all to learn mandarin speakin and invest in china
is this a fiction as well?
so who is tellin the truth here?
limsiasuayed AGAIN?

Loyola
Dec 28, 2009 11:30

Communism is dead and crushed, for all that it’s worth, I’m pleased that it did.

Without a stable foundation, democracy cannot be sustainable in the long term.

rajesh
Dec 28, 2009 11:48

1)What success?
Success means better than others as far a country is concerned.It is true singapore has grown.
To meet that end who ever devised the plan done it in a way that is not truly ethical.
2)Foreigners offering cheap labour are flooding the place to boost the economic numbers so that the PAP parasites could continue to help themselves to millions of dollars in what they call salary while our workers have to struggle with great stress and uncertainty.?

Human resource singapore was good before lee khan yew took the charge.but he feared good talented people will take over,so another game plotted.Now singapore really lack talent and they struggle to meet the end by bringing foriegner.It is difficult to digest but truth is why this country is here is really effort of foriegner here in 1940 and 1950s who used there brain and latter they where made to run.

Zefly (aka Joshua Chiang)
Dec 28, 2009 12:03

I think david marshall turned many times over in his grave liao.

seebeng
Dec 28, 2009 15:29

Reply to #36

Singapore was the first country in the region to enter into a severe recession following the financial/economic crisis of 2008 that has its origin in the US. Yes, Singapore has grown to fatten the bank accounts and assets of Lee Kuan Yew and his family, his relatives, cronies and hangers-on.

The numerous GLCs and TLCs operate as a place for plum jobs for these societal parasites while the vast majority of our workers, uncertain of job security and tenure of labour, are left high and dry at the mercy of mainly foreign MNCs that are here to maximize their profits at the expense of our hapless workers.

Foreigners came in the 1940s and 1950s when Singapore was a British Crown Colony from where the colonialists exploited the resources of Malaya to sustain their empire.

The colonialists did not bother with the social, educational, cultural, economic and other needs of those who came to a place called Singapore island that was not a country then.

By the way, Lee Kuan Yew has recently said Singapore is not a country. And one his echo boys K Shanmugam, the minister for Law in emperor Lee’s court, for his part said Singapore is not a nation. So, what are we now?

seebeng
Dec 28, 2009 15:31

Reply to #36

Singapore was the first country in the region to enter into a severe recession following the financial/economic crisis of 2008 that has its origin in the US. Yes, Singapore has grown to fatten the bank accounts and assets of Lee Kuan Yew and his family, his relatives, cronies and hangers-on.

The numerous GLCs and TLCs operate as a place for plum jobs for these societal parasites while the vast majority of our workers, uncertain of job security and tenure of labour, are left high and dry at the mercy of mainly foreign MNCs that are here to maximize their profits at the expense of our hapless workers.

Foreigners came in the 1940s and 1950s when Singapore was a British Crown Colony from where the colonialists exploited the resources of Malaya to sustain their empire.

The colonialists did not bother with the social, educational, cultural, economic and other needs of those who came to a place called Singapore island that was not a country then.

By the way, Lee Kuan Yew has recently said Singapore is not a country. And one of his echo boys K Shanmugam, the minister for Law in emperor Lee’s court, for his part said Singapore is not a nation. So, what are we now?

inside a bully is a coward
Dec 28, 2009 16:35

If only Lee Kuan Yew had suggested “instigating riots and disorder” to crush opposition during the Jap occupation of Spore instead of working for them……LOL

So when it comes to the crunch, it is either take flight or work for the enemy.
And inside Spore’s biggest Bully is a coward.
Not my type of inspiration for nation building.
Also explains why we are not a nation after 50 years.

jiangbao
Dec 28, 2009 17:03

Odd, they went to crush the singapore communist only to invite the tens of thousands if not already in the hundreds of thousands Northern communist into our country. Does this mean the communist win finally?

cat
Dec 28, 2009 17:45

//jiangbao

Yeah, that’s the irony.

I guess LKY is not concern with communism. He is only concern whether he is the one calling the shots.

Thank goodness, that will be ending soon.

cat
Dec 28, 2009 17:58

If you follow the sequence of events according to this doctor, you will realise that it is a common pattern exhibited by LKY.

He always pretend to be on your side initially.

Then slowly without you realising he milks you. or eat you up.

Also, it is foolish to expose your identity when you are critical to his policies.

It is a ploy set up by him so that the exposed personnel can be shot down or locked up using ISD easily.

Don’t believe him about open-ness. He never was.

It is better to be like Victor Hugo shooting at Napoleon the third from England and only return when the dictator crashed.

Oh Holy
Dec 28, 2009 18:02

@41

lol, so true, now we have 1/6 of the population that is now communist here lol.

lockeliberal
Dec 28, 2009 19:18

In defense of POP corn, lets not kid ourselves the communists were behind many of the strikes in the fifties and sixties and that was before the cultural revolution, and thats according to Chin Peng’s own words not the PAP

Locke

Hahaha
Dec 28, 2009 20:03

I just saw this on YouTube. Wow. Thanks to the internet and the faithful followers of history for the truth of the skeletons in someone’s closet.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CpJi_1f3uKw

Neutral
Dec 28, 2009 20:08

Come one guys – dun bluff yourself. As one author say, Politics is about struggle for power. That’s it.

No one regardless wheher opposition or ruling party is a saint!
Please…

WORM
Dec 28, 2009 22:09

Cans Of Worms Being Opened……….!

Wanna open up more cans of worms….? than go to below link…….

http://www.singazine.com/

Happy man
Dec 29, 2009 0:39

Someone’s ‘ Legacy ‘ is going down the drain after building it up for 40+ yrs …. just glad it happen. Continue the good work old man…. just love it….

Seelan Palay
Dec 29, 2009 1:02

I will see to it that all the brutal and inhuman torture that was meted out to Singaporeans under ISA detention is made known to all future generations.

I call on everyone to join in and expose Lee Kuan Yew as the political coward that he always has been.

Complaint against TOC made to S’pore Police | The Online Citizen
Dec 29, 2009 1:06

winstoncheng
Dec 29, 2009 1:17

Hey Popcorn,

I was born in the late 50s.. And I was frequently hospitalized for asthma attacks. I remembered my Dad carrying me to SGH for Emergency Treatment (Love you Dad forever). I remembered being warded at the children ward and the nurse telling my Mum to contribute whatever she can afford, detergent, bread etc to help the hospital which was NOT charging us a cent. This was when we were under British rule.

I remembered S.I.T homes which now still exist and prized in Bukit Merah, Tiong Bahru and Whompoa etc. This too, a British initiative.

I remembered Singaporeans, though living a simple life but feeling contented and thus happy acknowledging that their Fathers had made the right bet on the British Government.

Fast forward, how do we feel now about being independent? You seek the answer in your heart (I do not need hear your reply).

RED-man
Dec 29, 2009 1:18

Hi #48) WORM:

Here is my answer to SZ on his topic on “Egoism in New Media ”

Hi SZ

No offences, there is a logic I can’t understand after reading your articles.

If TOC is capitalizing on XiaXue blog, then what would SZ follow-up on both of the above-mentioned articles become? Are you too capitalizing?

Moreover, I think you got the whole point wrong. TOC by itself have already attract alot of hits (and if you follow-up carefully on their content, you would know why).

Don’t forget, you are part of the New Media, Egoism? Your this articles sound like one.

loupgarou
Dec 29, 2009 2:24

when i first came across this article title on my rss reader, i totally skipped it. it was “its old news” , “nothing new, its same old same old story”…
and didn’t bother to read it
~~
then i read about that janet wee email, and lo and behold, the streisand effect took place, so I actually read the article..

seditious? big fcking deal, i think the typical singaporean is so disillusioned by the govt and totally apathetic,

can’t be bothered.

jiangbao
Dec 29, 2009 9:16

1/6 of the population is communist, and this is not red scare. I really don know what is. And to think America was worried about Red scare in the 60s… we are just living our lives with 1 in every 6 communist traitors preparing to take over our lives, jobs, money and country opss city…

so does this also mean chinese communist are not as dangerous and singapore communist that even 1 singapore communist needs to be imprisioned while hundred of thousands of chinese communist roam the streets, toilets, hotel rooms and what not?

Kolkernutthan
Dec 29, 2009 9:19

if , theoretically discussing only, if there is a change of gonmin,
would the new gonmin be able to use the same power to …… ?

if so, is that not scary?

so, what does this tell us ?

Dumb and dumber
Dec 29, 2009 10:10

To 56) Kolkernutthan on December 29th, 2009 9.19 am

if , theoretically discussing only, if there is a change of gonmin,
would the new gonmin be able to use the same power to …… ?

>> Yes, if you give them full endorsement; which explains why multiple political parties in the Parliament are always better than a single party dominating. It’s the same concept of business; for consumers, competition is good, and monopoly is bad. It’s just a simply theory, which the dominant party will try to advise you otherwise, as it is against their interests.

so, what does this tell us ?
>> Take responsibility. It’s every citizens’ responsibility to take back what belongs to ours and our children as stated in the constitution.
if so, is that not scary?
>> Imagine the ignorance of the voters not able to see such a simple truth. Isn’t it more scary that these people are brainwashed so easily?

Oh Holy
Dec 29, 2009 10:39

Singapore shouldnt fight for independent and will be better under British Rule until 2010. If we have our independence in the year 2010 instead, we would have saved ourselves 60B a year on budget.

Imagine this, after 5 years, we would have 300B, more than GIC and TH holding combined lol.

Not only that, thousands of lives lost and ruined during national service will also be saved and our creativeness will even exceed that of HK and China.

It is so wasteful to pour so much good money to the elites, instead of helping the poor.

Michael
Dec 29, 2009 11:34

Victor – King
Loser – Bandit

The King writes the official history! Nothing to argue about.

What should be done is to vote in more opposition into parliament to check the gov. That is the most practical action to do!

rajesh
Dec 29, 2009 12:40

38/39
So, what are we now?
Identity crisis looms?So too singapore identity.It is a brand to do business.Use it .People are good ,but system create this crisis.this even lee kuan yew cannot answer.fake identity is failed identity.

sturmtruppen
Dec 29, 2009 17:10

Some so called lobang screw other people to get ahead elites or some clown who never serve NS believe they are intelligent because of paper qualitifcations [uniquely in singapore] or their grades they get from burning plenty of midnight oil.

The problem is this is not a measure of true intelligence…especially when one DOES not have the wisdom to go with it or the ability or capability to learn real intelligent experiences from the real world.

One should learn from others mistake or from the past always then learn it one self.

Haiz

sturmtruppen
Dec 29, 2009 17:11

Some so called lobang screw other people to get ahead elites or some clown who never serve NS believe they are intelligent or because of paper qualitifcations [uniquely in singapore] or their grades they get from burning plenty of midnight oil.

The problem is this is not a measure of true intelligence…especially when one DOES not have the wisdom to go with it or the ability or capability to learn real intelligent experiences from the real world.

One should learn from others mistake or from the past always then learn it one self.

Haiz

fae
Dec 29, 2009 17:48

The commentor lockeliberal is a WP member. Do the comments he makes to this topic reflect his party’s stand?

lockeliberal
Dec 29, 2009 19:29

Dear Fae

Actually it reflects my own views. I do not believe the party I belong to has a view point of events in the 1960’s

Do try reading My Side of History by Chin Peng

Locke

247learning
Dec 30, 2009 11:54

Politics is never pretty and clean.. its the “capability” of the party who is able to win the seats. Losers are losers no point whining now and talk abt what tactics were used. (Btw would Dr Poh share the dirty tactics used by his party ?? ). Its politics hello!! Its the same for office politics !! Anyway .. whoever takes charge it is better than the communists !!!

fae
Dec 30, 2009 15:55

Dear Locke,

Thank you for clarifying, I hope that not all the other views you express on local online forums are not your party’s (WP’s) views as well.

Do try reading more as well, although there is no way for you to know for sure if what you are reading is the whole truth anyway.

lockeliberal
Dec 30, 2009 17:35

Dear Fae

Actually I have read academics accounts of the 1960’s as well as Chin Peng’s own revealing autobiography. Firstly as an active forum member of sorts sometimes my own personal views do not agreed with the party’s. That said I am but a lowly member and would prefer to be viewed as an individual not a party member

The truth is somewhere in between the glorified justifications to history of all concerned participants, including Chin Peng, LKY, and the Fajar Generation.

I am concerned however with an inherent tendency of comments here to just treat LKY’s remarks as the devil and not to view them in the context of that time period.

Firstly the communist threat was real not the imagined bunch of jokers from the mid eighties. The threat might have died down by 1959 pre Baling as admitted to by Chin Peng but hence the Baling Talks, but even he viewed the decision to take up a political struggle as one borne of military necessity and he always wanted to keep the military struggle as a final point of return Secondly mid sixties as soon as he rearmed and was refinanced with CCP help he was more than happy to return to an armed struggle, ( again his words )

Secondly, Cold Store much maligned by all concerned was admitted by Chin Peng to have wiped out the communist underground in 1961( Chin Pengs words and I will supply chapter verse and paragraph if u wish )

Thirdly the Communist Underground was composed of both Communist Party Members and active supporters who knew who they were supporting but not members. In reply to a question whether LCS was a communist or supported communist activities in the sixties dear old Chin Peng replied that He was NOT A COMMUNIST party member. You will notice that similar reply was given by Dr Lim. As an example someone who knowingly ended up in China helping the MCP in revolutionary broadcasts was not even an MCP member.

I may believe that LKY was machivellian to the core but neither do I believe the Barisan of the sixties were angels, only marxists or socialist, not influenced by the MCP etc etc etc after reading Chin Pengs own words.

Locke

rajesh
Dec 30, 2009 18:10

Even at crisis time US government and government all over use tax payer money to keep alive the capital market.If communism failed if it doesnot know economy,capitalism failed both in economy front and ecology front .So what we need to preserve is made more dangerous by people who have capitalist attitude(greed not need promote growth).So when earth die all will and those who have communist attitude(need approach)fail first followed by those with greedy approach.(capitalism).

Clement Tan
Jan 1, 2010 8:47

Better keep quiet about Communism – our northern neighbour has quite a few MPs who are very sympathetic to Communism and its local commander in chief Chin Peng.

But hey whatever, all in the name of “racial” solidarity, even if Chin Peng would be found of guilty of war crimes in a fair trial today, who the PAP government graciously invited to the illustrious NUS for a seminar.

The Malaysian government had been extraordinarily gracious, I would strung him up in a public square which is no less than he deserves.

Clement Tan
Jan 1, 2010 9:07

Mr Locke, when you read someone’s autobiography, it is not a unbiased historical retelling of events, you have to take that person’s account with a grain of salt. Whether or not Barisan Socalis had any ties with MCP on a personal level or a party level, it is beside the point. It was the fear that the common goal of BS was to have a socialist state aligned with the now defunct Soviet Union or the CCP of China back then and a staunchly anti-American state.

A lot of new voters today are too young to remember the Soviet Union, thus are too naive and thus believe the propaganda of an dead ideology waiting to make a comeback, notwithstanding the only socialist states today are Cuba and North Korea.

If PAP wishes to smear all Opposition as Communist, just point out they invited Chin Peng over for a talk in NUS.

Clement Tan
Jan 1, 2010 9:23

“I guess LKY is not concern with communism. He is only concern whether he is the one calling the shots.”

Precisely. Remember he is the same person who was working for the Japanese in WWII. Funny how all the Mediacorp “historical” productions never featured a young LKY, soon to be leader of Singapore.

lockeliberal
Jan 1, 2010 13:15

Dear Clement

The Young Voters of today have to remember the context of yesterday and take the actions and words of yesterday by yesterdays context and not todays.

How real was the fear and how closely tied was the Barisan of Old with the MCP in the fifties and sixties ? That was the question I was asking myself and trying to answer to myself and my answer was THEY were in BED knowingly to a large extent. and historically it WAS NOT A PAP SMEAR .

The insane marxist conspiracy of the eighties was a smear but no not the mid fifities and sixties

If you disbelieve what LKY said then read what Chin Peng had to say, I believe that at some point in time by reading both sides of history , one gets a clearer view.

Locke

Locke

Clement Tan
Jan 1, 2010 18:13

I dont believe anything a communist terrorist has to say, I would find it hard to believe it is anything but a whitewash or downplaying of his responsibility of atrocities in Malaysia.

Please read my posts carefully. I cannot state my political viewpoint more clearly.

Clement Tan
Jan 1, 2010 18:16

In the same vein, I will not read an autobiography from Osama Bin Laden.

lockeliberal
Jan 1, 2010 20:01

Dear Clement

So what exactly do u believe with regards to the Barisan Socialist, LKY and well the MCP of the sixties ? So if you do not believe anything a communist has to say, would you believe everything that LKY has to say about the communist ?

Locke

Rajesh
Jan 1, 2010 22:41

Intolerance is bad attitude.Mirage of reality can be torn down by analysis.Nothing big has happened anyway to tell something is wrong while exploring history of singapore.

Clement Tan
Jan 2, 2010 9:25

“So if you do not believe anything a communist has to say, would you believe everything that LKY has to say about the communist ?”

Neither. I am not a historian, I cannot devote time and resources doing interviews to sift through to get to the truth. Even now, some parties have spun Chin’s Peng surrender into a “Peace Accord” and celebrated as a 20th anniversary of reconciliation (when there is none since the commander in chief is still alive and has never been “rehabilitated” like former East German leaders), not a collapse of Communism worldwide and the absolute defeat of Malaysian Communism. Reminds me of the movie “Goodbye Lenin”.

The point being if Chin Peng had won his revolution, I am pretty sure someone with a track record of surrendering would have reconverted back into a socialist singing the Socialist Anthem once again to preserve his power.

Rajesh
Jan 2, 2010 9:43

socialism in us and socialism to all is humanity in itself and those who tried to establish that are genius since that is most difficult task a brain can ever do.for that no one need any explanation.

Leave a Reply

Comment

theonlinecitizen on Facebook