The GST should not be introduced in haste in a Third World country like ours.
DR A. SOORIAN, on Malaysia’s introduction of the GST
- Malaysia: whose God?
- S’pore and Malaysia should aim for maximum engagement
- S’pore 3rd world democracy, Malaysia 3rd world mentality
- Youth leaders from S’pore & Malaysia condemn attacks on Malaysian churches
- TOC’s focus on Malaysia

That’s right. Malaysia is still a 3rd World country because there is not a big middle class as a proportion of the whole population, unlike tiny urban Singapore.
Therefore what works very well here, eg GST, meritocracy, pro foreign talent, 98% seats for PAP, etc may not work in Malaysia, although they like to be called “Malaysia boleh”.
Maybe boleh for the wrong reasons. Hahaha!
Is TOC monitoring Malaysian politics and society. I look forward to more articles from our neighboring countries.
malaysia semua bolehed
apa gst?
if introduce gst..kopi money also hav to include gst….
# 1) Tak Boleh
An imbecile son is the prime minister. A totally incompetent daughter-in-law who fritters away our reserves, including our CPF savings as if there is no tomorrow. And an 86-year old aids and abets all these atrocities while claiming to be honest and incorruptible through his castrated propaganda rag…. You call this meritocracy? My foot.
Dr A doesn’t quite understand the GST does he? It doesn’t cascade, thats the difference. 2) He doesn’t travel much either does he? Singapore has a GST rate of 7%, our Asean neighbours as high as 10%
We should stop comparing with Singapore as Malaysia is not and never likely will be Singapore (thank God). Comapre like with like, look at at Thailand, Indonesia and Vietnam, all of whom have a GST type tax and all at a higher rate than the propsed 4% in Malaysia. My god, even Laos has itself a new GST (VAT) starting next week!