We also have a rule, I’m the exception to the rule, I’m 86… But I’m not doing the work; I’m just forecasting… The work is being done by younger people in their late 40s and 50s.

MM Lee Kuan Yew, on why younger politicians create better results for the country

71 Responses to “MM Lee: I am exception to the rule”

1. //37) OriginalResonance on December 12th, 2009 5.10 pm Nvm. I’ll elucidate my question for all of you. What will happen when a majority of the electorate votes for the opposition?

I will answer that:

The pigs @ parliament will work so hard to keep their million dollar salary and they will listen to the voters wishes.

the Gini index will narrow.

The ordinary folks will have more breathing space.

The streets will be safer and cleaner.

The civil service will have better uniform.

Creativity will show and people will have more children.

CPF will lower the minimum sum and TH and GIC will invest wisely.

Singaporeans will look better.

2. //OriginalResonance
    //“Why is CSJ still alive?

CSJ is alive because his parents gave birth to him.

He should not normally be expected to die as the life table for man suggest that he should be alive.

The life table however suggests that LKY have 1/2 chance of surviving another year.

Why do you think the pigs @ parliament are panicking?

3. Emperor LEE KUAN YEW. That’s a title maybe he has thought of for himself. SMM does not sound befitting someone who gloats about himself.

I wonder before he finally departs this life whether he will put inot place what he wants for his funeral. How many days of mourning and also how to mourn for him. And when he is buried remember not to put the coffin too deep cos he said he would rise up from the dead. I wonder how many days before he resurfaces again to ensure that his “COUNTRY” is run according to the gospel of Emperor

4. The time for change is now.

If we all unite and vote for change in the next GE, we will put on end to his nightmare that we have endured for the past 50 years.

Our children will only have pleasant dreams.

If not now, when?
    If not us, who?

5. Sounds like Emperor Qin and looking for an elixir to live and rule forever.

6. the skinny 12 December 2009

OriginalResonance:

What is stopping a powerful opposition from rising up? Perhaps we should examine the context of our political landscape. Is it even possible for the opposition to become strong? Is what is seen on the surface (ie. through the much derided MSM) all there is to the story? A systemic approach would be suitable in examining this issue rather than an episodic case-by-case study such as CSJ is a madman and so there is no strong opposition.

I refer to the chain of democratic choice as written by Andreas Schedler in the Journal of Democracy, 2002:

The chain of democratic choice consists of seven factors that contribute to democracy. The chain is as strong as its weakest link ie. the validity of democracy is only as strong as its weakest factor.

The factors are:

1. Empowerment: Delegation of real decision-making power to
    those who are elected.

2. Inclusion: Equal rights for all citizens to participate.

3. Insulation: Freedom to vote without intimidation.

4. Integrity: One person, one vote.

5. Irreversibility: The decisions of the electorate must be binding.

6. Free supply: Freedom of citizens to form, join and support
    parties, candidates, policies.

7. Free demand: Voters must be able to know what their choices are so they can form their preferences. Parties and candidates must have free and fair access to the public space.

We are all smart keyboard warriors here on TOC, so I leave everyone to ponder whether Singapore’s chain is strong or weak, and which ‘link’ in the chain fails us, if any.

Cheers.

7. 43) kiasu.n.kiasi on December 12th, 2009 6.36 pm

I’m keen to find out who wrote negative remarks and who worte the positive remarks on MM.. The ones that has see Singapore struggled and made it today are th eones who wrote the positives… Shame that the new generation didn’t know that they are enjoying the sweat and blood of their forefathers and keep thinking that what they are having is their entitlement. Wake up!!!

Yet another overly simplistic and generalized stereotype here. I am not saying that what we have here today is a given (and you can infer from here which generation i belong to), sure MM has brought and led us through magnificently but if you make comparisons between what the man says today compared to the political speeches and rallies he made in the past (and i didn’t read them from the mainstream newspapers but from academic records and research papers), the man has changed alot since his universitiy days of involvement in the Democratic Socialist Club and if you know about the history of PAP, their original party constitution was aligned more towards democratic socialism. Now when i look around myself today, i wonder, “what fracking democratic socialism are you talking about?” my healthcare subsidies are discriminated against what type of house i live in and the biggest joke is that even the parking charges for my car are given the same degree of bias. what type of government treats its citizens as stereotypically as ours?

8. mice is nice 13 December 2009

i am more interested to hear how MM Lee explain why he so special. bet if that is the headlines for tomorrow’s papers it will sell like hotcakes!!

:)

9. Oxford Dude 13 December 2009

MM Lee is indeed an exception to the rule, the rule of law in fact.

10. Only a Emperor will say that he is exception to a rule, any kind of rule because he and his choosen few and closet are exempted from and exceptional to the rule while the rest of demi-god, god and lesser mortals have to play by his rule.

In historical China, we have QIN Emperor who built Great Wall of China. Likewise in Singapore, we have SIN Emperor who built Corrupted Wall of SIN.

Long Live the Emperor of SIN !

11. man against the tank 13 December 2009

Of course he is exception to the rule….

If MM Lee is not exception to the rules,he should be picking up empty drink cans,cardboard ,busking and selling tissue in Orchard by now.
    not necessarily in that order.

WAKE UP FROM YOUR SLUMBER,people.

12. YODI on December 12th, 2009 12.52 pm

Perhaps he is looking for new organs to replace all in his body so that he can live longer.

Hmm, thats a good thought. One wonders why the organe transplant bill went through so fast. Maybe they had him in mind for a total organ transplant. Singapore is world famous for being the “First” in everything , perhaps we will be the first have a person who has had a total organ trnsplant for the entire body!
    Time will tell.

Yes, our MM loves golf. We hope he can benefit from organ transplant. We hope he will be given strong muscles — and a golfing brain — to enjoy the game despite being in the winter of his life. Who knows, we might yet see a Tiger Lee.
    That should keep him busy and happy. No need to meddle in affairs of state. As he said, he should really leave it to the younger guys. A round of golf should leave him suitably tired and in need of a good night’s sleep, all eight hours. No need to stay awake worrying about matters that he no longer can handle.
    No matter what he says.

13. macam macam 13 December 2009

so now he admit he is the emperor

14. leekuanyewtheemperor 13 December 2009

[i]) GABRIEL on December 13th, 2009 10.56 am YODI on December 12th, 2009 12.52 pm

Perhaps he is looking for new organs to replace all in his body so that he can live longer.

Hmm, thats a good thought. One wonders why the organe transplant bill went through so fast.
    [/i]

you all har? still sleepin behind times…his dna already frozen..he will replaced arnold swazzernigger 6 days…laulee will redna himself in 5 days..
    and yes he will uttered………..
    I BE BACK……………….

15. Seventh Son 13 December 2009

He thinks that he is the Nostadamus of politics and ecomonics.

16. LKY… forecasting… coming from a guy who just declared that his policies for Mandarin was wrong.

What a joke.

17. blackfeline 13 December 2009

his days are numbered! DEATH is an equaliser!

18. he who has the gold 13 December 2009

“I am exception to the rule”……..I believe exception to the law as well !

In a way Old Fart is right, afterall he makes the rules……so many obscene rules !

19. Friday, November 13, 2009
    Flash in the Pan
    Flash in the pan. It is common knowledge who was the smart-alec Singapore political leader who said these infamous words in describing Mr. Barack Obama before he was elected American President. Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew appeared to be disdainful about the prospects of a black American candidate becoming an American President and true to his highfalutin character he irresistably opened his big mouth to make his disparaging portrayal of Mr. Barack Obama. Any possible repercussion arising out of his cavalier utterance could not have been further from his mind. He was apparently rooting for the white candidate Mr. John McCain and was no different from the white American supremacists who considered the election of a black American President to be apocalyptic.

As a result, the victory of Mr. Barack Obama in the American presidential election could not but bring mortification to MM Lee. That President Obama was subsequently awarded the Nobel Peace Prize within a year of taking office added to MM Lee’s consternation. This was not the first time he opened his big mouth which brought embarrassment to the point of disaster. But all is not lost because MM Lee has a thick-skinned quality and can change like a chameleon. He calculated that he had to come to terms with the untenable problem sooner or later. The opportunity presented itself when he went to America to receive an award presented by the US-Asean Business Council end of October. He managed to wrangle a meeting with President Barack Obama the day after the award dinner.

That President Obama was magnanimous enough to condescend to see MM Lee warts and all could not have escaped his narrow outlook of black people. He was naturally astounded and overwhelmed when President Obama described him as “one of the legendary figures of Asia”. President Obama was very liberal with his accolade to people who had been disparaging in their behaviour towards him. And MM Lee may be forgiven if he had been mesmerised by the thought that President Obama had been incredibly forgiving. This must have been so exhilarating to him that he forgot himself and made his gaffe by calling on President Obama to engage in Asia in order to counter-balance the emerging economic and military might of China. This immediately evoked a colossal uproar from the Chinese people, especially their netizens, which looked like it was going to be prolonged. But Chinese leaders very judiciously mitigated the situation, not necessarily out of any consideration for MM Lee but more likely for the overall political interests.

Can the leopard change its spots? Can MM Lee be counted on to curb his tendency of making political gaffes in future? We may see a subsidence of indiscretions on his part for a time but there is no guarantee that there will not be a recrudescence of his gaffes. This is a problem which deserves a final solution by the PAP leadership. After all, he is drawing a whopping salary for doing a nominal job.

http://singaporerecalcitrant.blogspot.com/2009_11_01_archive.html

20. lefleche 14 December 2009

In other words Japan is a democracy, China is leaning towards democratic practices while Singapore remails an autocratic and nepotistic dynasty.

21. There is only one thing that works well in Singapore , thats government publicity about itself .