Monday, December 7, 2009 15:49

S’poreans more able to afford larger flats?

In Main Stories • 2,976 views • 67 Comments

Leong Sze Hian

I REFER to the report, ‘Cool response to smaller HDB flats’ (Nov 27), which stated that there were much fewer applications for HDB two- and three-room flats, relative to larger flats.

The reasoning that this was due to more Singaporeans being able to afford larger flats may be flawed.

It may be due to the HDB’s income ceiling policy, which does not allow applicants with a household monthly income of more than $2,000 and $3,000 to buy two- and three-room flats respectively.

What this means is that those who earn more than $3,000 have to buy four-room or bigger units. So it is not just a matter of preference.

With rising new HDB flat prices over the years, many lower-income households may not be able to afford a two- or three-room flat. This may be why there were fewer applications for smaller flats than for larger ones.

The argument that HDB flats are affordable, because most flat owners do not use more than 30 per cent of their income to service their mortgage, may be fundamentally flawed as only those who can afford it will buy flats. Those who cannot may already have given up their flats.

The fact that median and lower incomes have been lagging further behind, relative to HDB prices as a multiple of income, may be the best indicator of affordability.

The statistic that 30,770 HDB loans were in arrears over three months as of September, may be the best indicator of affordability as a 7 per cent arrears rate for total HDB loan mortgages is a very high figure – meaning about one in 14 cannot pay.

What this figure and the low ‘1,350 HDB flats repossessed’ statistic may reflect, is that most in default would have sold in the open market at valuation plus cash-over-valuation to avoid HDB compulsory acquisition at only 90 per cent of valuation.

Those who are forced to sell would disappear from the ‘in arrears’ and not be reflected in the foreclosure statistics.

Finally, why are there no statistics on HDB bank loans in arrears and foreclosures?

The above letter was published in the Straits Times’ Forum Page on 7 Dec 2009.

—-

1. $2.8bil surplus a year, and can’t afford $300 a month for some destitute 85 year olds?
  2. Principles & pragmatism – can Singapore afford both?
  3. Prices of HDB flats – press censorship?
  4. Cost of building HDB flats – finally an answer?
  5. HDB flats – a precious resource for foreign workers?

67 Comments

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

noiseMaker
Dec 7, 2009 17:01

I think the government owe it to its citizens to open up their book honestly and objectively allowing our opposition and concern citizens to look into what is fundamentally wrong with the government argument.
Honestly I do not feel that the government is up to date on our current situation. What is wrong with being totally transparent and allowing the nation to take a peep into what cause our HDB to be in deficit. The total sum of the whole thing is rather complex for lay people to decisively understand the situation.
Of course, the government must make available all resources to the auditing otherwise it is only going to end up inconclusively and the blame that the government is hiding something will grow ever bigger.
Currently everything they say and our feeling does not tally.

lim
Dec 7, 2009 17:18

In the 80s, early 90s, an executive flat in Jurong costs around 160k, and people can afford it because:

1) employer’s CPF contribution was 20%.
2) Our salary actually increases over time.

But now, with sky high prices, and stagnant salary, cut in employer’s CPF contribution, one wonders how long one is going to take to repay the loan, not forgetting that it is now easier to lose one’s job and more difficult to get job once you are over 40, no thanks to PAP’s FT policy…

And all for a 99 year lease hold flat…

MJ
Dec 7, 2009 17:45

Tribute to the late Michael Jackson….
“…. ALL I WANT TO SAY IS THAT THEY DON’T REALLY CARE ABOUT US!”

So what do they really care? those shitty K.P.I. lor..

wat4stay
Dec 7, 2009 17:54

no lah, they don’t care about anything except for their own pockets…

notalone
Dec 7, 2009 18:40

YES we can, by taking up huge loans!

CJ
Dec 7, 2009 19:18

This statement kind of reminds me one of Mr Bean’s scene, in which he bought & sent Christmas cards to himself during Christmas…

Trash
Dec 7, 2009 19:22

Owning Bigger flats in NOT an asset but a liability………mindset change needed !

commentator
Dec 7, 2009 19:39

If we consider only those who could afford HDB flats in the sample size – of course HDB flats are affordable!

The most affordable way is to camp outside HDB’s office.

ialsowantotacklechinachineselass
Dec 7, 2009 19:58

to buy a resale 3 room flat already 1/2 broke 1/2 bankrupt
now want to buy a bigger hdb unit?
when my kaki who used to earn $3000/month is no longer earnin that figures
now he a 6 day week taxi driver with 3 children and a divored wife
he still owed a monthly $1400 arrears to hdb never paid more than 6 months
and his is a model b ^larger^ 4 room flat in tamPENIS….

XP
Dec 7, 2009 20:12

i feel that i must commend on your powers of observation; for most people would’ve just taken the report for what it was (myself included).

now that you’ve made some previously inconspicuous points obvious, there is no doubt about straits times’ press standards.

peony
Dec 7, 2009 20:36

I hope the government will be more flexible to the Singapore CITIZEN – Singles buying HDB flats (1-2 bedroom) singlely as long they can afford to pay…. and the SINGAPORE CITIZENS should have more privileges than the PRs.

Bosco LIm
Dec 7, 2009 20:38

We’re talikng about lobsters when the rich are eating ikan bilis.

Go to HK or any of the Japanee cities eg Tokyo, Osaka, etc.

The rich live in pigeon holes.

Only the superrich gets to live in slighter larger premises.

HK is 24-hr. I was touring the city a few years ago and I asked the salesgirl why were there perpetually so many people walking up and down the streets like Nathan Road.

Her asnwer shocked me. She said the majority of HK people shared their very tiny space in the highrise. One sleeps, the other walks below. And the price per unit area is these places is 5-6 times Singapore’s.

We’re blessed . . .

ram
Dec 7, 2009 20:52

“Statistics are like bikinis. What they reveal is suggestive, but what they conceal is vital.” Aaron Levenstein

On reading the ST article, I found nothing wrong with the statistics but thanks to LSH for stripping away the bikinis to reveal the real reasons for the low demand for 2 and 3 room HDB flats.

An interesting challenge to HDB is to remove the income ceiling of $2,000 and $3,000 for 2 room and 3 room HDB flats respectively. This will reveal the real demand for the smaller flats.

Humbina
Dec 7, 2009 21:25

Words can describe something in many ways.
In this world, there are always pros and cons.
If we only focus on the pros, we may think that there is no cons.
both pros and cons need to be presented else what do you call this?

Lee Loong Bia
Dec 7, 2009 21:34

Thanks to Mr Leong for pointing out something i never realised.
Its shocking to realise that the reasoning given for more Singaporeans being able to afford larger flats may be flawed.

I swear that i could not have discovered this possibility myself.

This article is great value to me.

I never knew that, due to their salary range , citizens cannot buy cheaper flat even if they choose to live humbler in terms of living in a smaller flat.

I am totally awakened now.

commentator
Dec 7, 2009 21:53

Lee Loong Bia,

If you are awakened by such “news”, you’ll be in for an utter shock if you come to know how much HDB is profiting from each unit / block. Their silence on the flats’ construction costs speaks volumes.

Lee Loong Bia
Dec 7, 2009 22:06

In that case, i hope more becomes aware of this article.

How much does a Flat cost to build?
Why is it said to be highly subsidised if not subtantially subsidised?
How can these Claims be Quantified clearly?
‘Being subsidised’ is a Qualitative description.

I vote Mr Leong to be the President if not the Accountant General.

Imagine what he can do if he is in power.

Sekarnis Doubai
Dec 7, 2009 22:25

I no understand why you people crave so much for new voices to speak up for you when there are 80 plus stedi bombastic talents who are highly paid part timers and full timers . Imagine, if their salaries risen to even more, how much more value we can get out of them.

so, no worry. There are already so many People Representatives to serve you the People.

pugdragon
Dec 7, 2009 23:28

Pity the children of this generation if they were produced by their parents partly due to greed for the baby bonus. They’re born among a huge population that saw the massive influx of foreigners & they will be competing with the huge population for not just housing, but everything else.

Higher population = higher demands = more expensive flats. Tough luck. I can only urge parents not to give in to the ruses of the baby bonus. Think if the baby can actually grow up to have a good life.

Rachel Chang Sah Kor
Dec 7, 2009 23:51

I am getting fed up.
All these questions raised are of public interest.
Yet, who can tell me they hve the answers already?

How much does a flat cost to build?
ya ya ya, different size and different location different pricing.

just reveal exact cost info for 1 particular flat.

We want to know. Sooner or later, we should know. Will we know?
i dunno. do you?

Fiona Chan Bai Bai
Dec 7, 2009 23:54

These questions have been going on far too long.

ACACIA
Dec 8, 2009 0:10

My neighbour works in the construction industry and his pervious co used to build HDB flats. The cost per unit, 2 rooms to ex. is about 60 K plus. The price of raw material hasn’t gone up much. This includes the carpark, driveways, playground. Don’t take the land cost into consideration, its right hand giving to left hand, basically zero value.
A extra room is about 2 – 3 K, for the upgrading program.

Economist
Dec 8, 2009 1:11

20) Rachel Chang Sah Ko

I understand you want to know the price of hdb flat.

I quote our Law Minister “‘People do want to know, there is curiosity, it is a matter of public interest. That is not sufficient reason to disclose information.”

Sorry Rachel. Talk to the PAP hand.

FTs
Dec 8, 2009 1:45

PAP is right. Flats are really affordable.

The monthly installment is nothing compared to the rent I need to pay to rent a flat in Singapore.

At least when I buy a HDB flat, I don’t have to waste money to support a flat belonging to a local. This ensures that Singaporeans do not become lazy and think they can make money by becoming landlords. PAP is helping foreigners and locals alike, so pls be grateful.

It is heartening to know more people have more money. At least, I can be assured that my flat can be sold easily for a good price, and I can retire comfortably at 50. Banks should ease lending so that local buyer can afford an even higher price for my flat. The loan should be totally repaid by at most 2 generations of repayment.

Lastly, I recommend that the 2-room and 3-room flats be rented out to poor locals. It is sad to see so many of without a job that they need to sell $2 lego bricks to survive. I bought a brick to help and to express my thanks that Singaporeans have given me something that they themselves do not even have–a job.

It is the same with homeless locals I see. I also thank them for giving me homes that they don’t even have. I drop coins into their tin cans and smile kindly.

Some locals may say that foreigners take jobs away from locals. This is NOT true. Like the government voted by Singaporeans often say: “Singaporeans (especially young people) are too fussy.” It is their fault that they do not accept salary less than $2000 and less. $2000 is a lot already. Fresh grad in shenzhen only get SGD$400-$500.

In conclusion, PAP is a good government. It is similar to GCT in so many ways. I am a Singapore Pink IC holder now and I will SURELY vote for PAP, so will the hordes of fellow countrymen who have gotten their pink ICs. Locals pls do not blame others if you cannot afford a flat and pls treasure your wonderful government.

Some of Malaysia PR friends say that soon SG will become the 14th state of Malaysia. They say LKY himself has said that SG needs to depend on Malaysia and he cried with SG left the federation.

I think it is more likely SG will become part of China like Taiwan and Tibet and Hongkong and Macau.

What do you think? ^_^

Anonymous Coward; Cult of the common sense
Dec 8, 2009 9:28

@FT

If that was trolling, you certainly made my day with the amount of sarcasm laced upon that little comment of yours.

lim
Dec 8, 2009 10:21

@24) FTs

>> This ensures that Singaporeans do not become lazy and think they can make money by becoming landlords.

Well just for your info, a lot of PRs/new citizens are renting whole flats and then subletting them to other foreigners, making money out of it, so any ideas how to prevent these PRs/New citizens from becoming lazy?

>> At least, I can be assured that my flat can be sold easily for a good price, and I can retire comfortably at 50.

Yes, you can sell at good price, and then retire back to PRC when you are 50..But since you have taken the pink IC, then expect to work until death, unless you have some backdoors to get back your PRC citizenship..

>> Locals pls do not blame others if you cannot afford a flat and pls treasure your wonderful government.

Well, we don’t blame others, just the foreigners. We will vote against our wonderful government, who takes care of foreigners rather than the people who voted them in.

So, you can afford a flat now, but you think your children will be able to afford, if prices continue going sky high? Hope the bubble burst.

>> I think it is more likely SG will become part of China like Taiwan and Tibet and Hongkong and Macau.

Fat hope, unless you think that the PAP ministers, after selling out singapore to china, can still draw their million $ salaries.

David
Dec 8, 2009 10:58

Now we know the standard of HDB spokesman. If they can smoke us with craps, their arguments about giving Hougang PAP advisors first hand informations on lift upgrading are equally flawed. Those currently leading and heading such stat boards, and giving false statistics, should have their heads roll.

mike
Dec 8, 2009 11:14

i am glad that i bought my EA for $211k more than 10 yrs ago. though i paid the levy of 20% for being upgrader, i am f***king pissed with it. but i still went ahead to upgrage so called ‘the high end of HDB flat’ for i knew that today’s price inflated situation would happened.

but i am not happy the way situation turned at present stage cos the government are doing nothing but bottomline…profits even though on the pretext of doing for the benefits of public. I DOUBT IT TOTALLY.

smallfly
Dec 8, 2009 11:35

My dearest Sze Hian, really appreciate your perseverance and determination in taking hdb to task, hdb has many, many undisclosed facts and figures that will indeed flabbergasted the public if exposed!

This idiotic mbt living in the miw’s “ivory tower/castle” with million-dollar of annual remuneration package, yet ignore the pleading of the citizens for an affordable-public-housing at a reasonable desire location. He can even sing praises that his childhood 3-room-flat is like a palace to him and “demands” Singaporeans to be contented with whatever unreasonable flats provided by the sole public housing agency fully funded by the taxpayer’s money.

A couple of years ago, there were “gossips” that this miw bmt is having more than 8 properties on hand, if this is truth, then, why shall Singaporeans settle-for/purchase-of undesirable public-housing-flats using their life-time saving with life-long mortgage/bank-loan, at the same time paying taxes in funding the lavish salary demanded/commanded by this bunch of ungrateful miw.

Finally, since bmt is so nostalgic about his formal 3-room-palace-flat, we, the citizens of Singapore, strongly urge him to dispose-off all the properties owned by him and relocate his family back to live in the so-call 3-room-palace-flat with the lower-income-ordinary-Singaporeans. Anyway, he can easily afford tens of 3-room-palace-flats with his annual millions of dollars salary without any mortgage/bank-loan, which ordinary-citizens have to slog for their whole-life to pay-off.

By the way can Singaporeans negotiate/object/reject/alter/change/challenge/etc “UNILATERAL UNFAIR” hdb’s rules/regulation/housing act/term and conditions/etc when “leasing” the unaffordable-public-housing which is fully funded using the taxpayer’s money? All low to lower-middle/middle income Singaporeans are in hdb’s mercy as they have no other alternative to have a cover over their heads besides than the unaffordable-public-housing, provided by hdb solely, unilateral!

Rachel Chang Sah Kor
Dec 8, 2009 11:40

23) Economist on December 8th, 2009 1.11 am

Now, i am really fed up. }: [

mike
Dec 8, 2009 11:46

#29,

i have heard the same thing and most of it are bunglaows.

smallfly
Dec 8, 2009 11:49

Oh! My dear FTs on dec 8, 2009, i opine that you are just an ingrat and nothing else, just a simple question to you, how you grow-up to your present adult-hood before coming to Singapore?

Since you are such a person with high level of dignity and integrity, why you deserted you home country and take-up Singapore citizenship? Without you steadfast-naive-country to provide you with food and clothing, do you think you can sing praises loudly on this autocratic pap government shamelessly!

Finally, you should thank your naive-home-country first for letting you to have the opportunity to grow-up to be an ingrate.

Shame on you, such an ingrate to your naive home!!!!!

Loo Bee Lu
Dec 8, 2009 11:50

Kudos to Mr Leong for speaking up for the Majority – HDB leaseholders.
Thanks for asking a question many have asked to no avail of answer for so long.
For this , I am eternally grateful.

FTs (Part II)
Dec 8, 2009 11:57

@26 Lim
>>>We will vote against our wonderful government, who takes care of foreigners rather than the people who voted them in

I am actually very optimistic for PAP in the coming elections. 66% locals. Now foreigners are 36%.

66% locals+
36%.foreigners(of which I assume 10% become citizens)+
hundreds of thousands of new citizenships

Hence I forecast that the PAP will win a landslide victory of at least 90%+

There are a lot of PRs in Hougang and Potong Pasir too. I implore PAP to go there and challenge the opposition to reclaim the relegate states.

You are only 1 person in the insignificant minority. Most locals WILL vote for PAP, because they know their flat prices will fall otherwise.

>>>Fat hope (of SIngapore belonging to Malaysia or China), unless you think that the PAP ministers, after selling out singapore to china, can still draw their million $ salaries.

Actually they don’t need to sell out Singapore. There are so many of us, we’ll outnumber you soon. Then, we’ll start a GCT part in SG and we’ll vote for the new party if necessary.

Also, personally, I do not think there is much military defense in SG. Soon local men will not want to defend SG anymore. They claim they cannot afford a flat and start a family. So it must mean they have nothing to protect. If they are over 40, they are not wanted as soldiers according to LHL.

The Japanese had an easy time taking over SG, I heard. But I think the next country to take over SG will have an even easier time.

Furthermore, it is not a bad thing to be part of China or Malaysia. Local men always complain about NS and how it is a big sacrifice. They won’t have to do NS or Reservist if SG becomes part of PRC or Malaysia. Locals should spring for joy if this happens.

- – - – - – -

As a small country, I think you people should be more humble. Don’t 夜郎自大. Many people in China call Japan 小岛国, so you can imagine what Singapore is referred to as. In case you cannot imagine, I heard many call SG the 小不点. It is a pun that means a toddler as well as a place which is not even a dot.

As a small country without even oil like Brunei, Singaporeans should 装成孙子. After all, Singapore must see big countries’ 脸色做人. Does SG dare to offend China? Or offend Malaysia considering SG is surrounded by Muslim countries?

面子是人家给的,自己丢的。i tried to explain but there are still so many who do not understand that Singaporean depends on foreigners. Foreigners contribute more than 40% of SG GDP. Without foreigners, locals have to pay more taxes, more expensive bus/train fares, etc. Without foreigners, SG is really not much, so locals must treat New citizens and PRs like VIP. PAP understands this. Even if I flash my pink IC at the next China national day parade, all of locals cannot make noise.

外国人给你们面子,叫你们一声“新加坡人”
外国人不给你们面子,你们p*都不是

我们说你行,你就行
我们说你不行,你就不行
我们说你不行,你就你行,你还是不行

The days of “there was a time when people said that Singapore could not make it, but we did” is past. PAP should spent more money education the next generation of locals to value foreigners and PRs. The guest is always right.

FTs (Part II)
Dec 8, 2009 12:12

32) smallfly

Pls no personal attacks. Just discussing here.

Pls don’t call yourself “smallfly”, although it is actually quite funny. I think you mean smallfry.

Oh and you spelled “Native” wrong…thrice.

Whats to come our way in 2010?
Dec 8, 2009 12:29

I am sad to learn that the property tax increase is applied to public housing and not private ones (yet) as mentioned in another Mr Leong’s article in the MSM.
Such a bad timing!
At least the private property tax should also be increased in tandem.
Why not?

Why the rich tax not increased now?

Never vote pap
Dec 8, 2009 12:41

Singaporean already been cheated. in early 1980 to 1990+, HDB 5 room flat’s area minimum are 125sq.ft and above, now all the 5 room area is only 110sq.ft. In fact, Singaporean are paying more money to buy smaller area flat at all. even executive falt. 4 room and 3 room etc

Depresso
Dec 8, 2009 12:57

I feel that by looking at the trend of the proportion of monthly income for mortgage servicing, coupled with the trend of loans in arrears for more than 3 months will be a good assessment to determine the affordability of the public housing. As it is expected that the proportion of monthly income for mortgage servicing for different income brackets is different, the trends can be done for different household income brackets, say below S$3,000, between S$3,001 to S$6,000, and between S$6,001 and S$8,000, etc.

commonsense until cannot
Dec 8, 2009 13:03

last time 5 room flat how much?
now time 5 room flat how much?

even if factor in inflation of 20 years, interest rate and raw material cost fluctuations, could the flats building cost have risen so much?
if not, how much really is the cost of building a flat?
given the amount of subsidy is known to hdb, can we the dwellers know how much is this amount?

from this we can get a clearer picture the build cost.

For so long I am amazed every day i wake up that singaporeans seem apathetic to know the cost. Some have asked but have majority of them asked? If so, would not the MP have raised this question again and again until the info is in the public domain?

what is there not to disclose? if can convince us, we shall no longer ask.

lim
Dec 8, 2009 13:19

@34) FTs (Part II)

>> am actually very optimistic for PAP in the coming elections. 66% locals. Now foreigners are 36%. Hence I forecast that the PAP will win a landslide victory of at least 90%+

Yes, 66% in 2006, but how things have changed… I bet the people in serangoon gardens who voted pap must be crying their hearts out.. My neighbour voted for pap in 2006 in amk grc, and when I talked to her 2 weeks ago, since was cursing pap and worries how her children will get jobs after graduation.. So, I think 66% will become lesser..

90% landslide victory? We can revisit this again after coming GE..

>> here are a lot of PRs in Hougang and Potong Pasir too. I implore PAP to go there and challenge the opposition to reclaim the relegate states.

Don’t think PRs can vote, unless they take up citizenships, so unless they are as stupid as you, otherwise why give up best of both countries…

>> Actually they don’t need to sell out Singapore. There are so many of us, we’ll outnumber you soon. Then, we’ll start a GCT part in SG and we’ll vote for the new party if necessary.

So you want to start a new opposition party and take over singapore.. HAHAHAHAHA.. Good luck…

>> Also, personally, I do not think there is much military defense in SG.

Well, you have become a citizen, but you obviously don’t know about our defense strategy.. The idea is to make any invaders PAY dearly, so that they will think very hard before attempting to invade singapore..

>> The Japanese had an easy time taking over SG, I heard.
Well, actually it took the Japanese more than 2 months to invade singapore, and they are real pissed that it took so long… Just to educate you, part of china was under Japanese rule for much longer (1930s – 1945) than the 3 years singapore was in Japanese hand..

>> As a small country, I think you people should be more humble.

Actually I am a very humble person, and I believe a lot of ordinary singaporeans are likewise, but I guess you mean the singaporean elites.. No argument on that..

>> Without foreigners, locals have to pay more taxes, more expensive bus/train fares, etc. Without foreigners, SG is really not much, so locals must treat New citizens and PRs like VIP. PAP understands this.

Without foreigners, I don’t think we need to pay sky high prices for 99 years hdb flats, and MRTs will not be that crowded.. PAP understands that it needs new slaves, because the current slaves are not producing enough, no thanks to their short-sighted 2 is enough policy..

So welcome to singapore, new slave…

mon
Dec 8, 2009 13:42

MBT is one of the worst night mare for Singapore.

He has done nothing but destroy values for the locals.

He is only interested in keeping his own books look good.

So to keep arrears low, he charge super high interests like the loan shark.

It is a national plague to have him.

A Tan
Dec 8, 2009 13:43

Gd point. Never tot of this.

smallfly
Dec 8, 2009 15:04

Oh! My dear “FTs on dec 08, 2009 at 12.12pm”, how can you hurt me by labeling/accusing me personal attacking you? In actual fact, I love you more than my “hubby”, can’t you hear my calling, my “sweet-heart”! By the way, I did spell the word correctly; please think deeper and harder, my darling! So ###naive### to have someone like *** as million-dollar minister that, also “implies~~infers” to have so many “steadfast” fts converted citizens! Million-cheers to China and Malaysia! Hahahaha…… Heeheeheeheeheehee……… Singapore a naive-country! I feel so “GREAT”!!!!

quitter
Dec 8, 2009 15:12

its amazing how ignorant 34) FTs (Part II) is.
yet it will be due to people like him that pap will win the next election again.
wait till the time he get screwed like the true blue sg, perhaps he will say
something else from now

OB marker
Dec 8, 2009 15:16

one word says it all: Greed. Greed makes hdb jump on the bandwagon to increase flats prices, crap to affordable prices,and realistic shits talk! When did the ruling party makes things cheap for citizen?THE only i can think of is primary school fees…anyone can come up with any cheap ‘products’ ??

Fongalis Triolis
Dec 8, 2009 15:57

39) commonsense until cannot on December 8th, 2009 1.03 pm

ya baby! if this is not evidence that majority dwellers are APATHETIC, then, i donche know what is.

what say u Mr Tan KL?

Teo Ming Bong
Dec 8, 2009 16:06

My observation of Apathy:

1. there are people whose eyes are actually open and bright. They know the issues. They are interested to know the answers as well. But for a certain reason, they Refrain from asking or even mentioning this in public or to anyone they meet. At most they talk to themselves in their sleep about this. They voice up in their sleep or to their mother, wife or mistress.

2. and then there is the ultimate Apathetics. These i classify as the supreme pathetic de apatheticos. Hopeless. They live in district called Oblivion. They dun even know what hit them.

DS
Dec 8, 2009 17:02

Let’s link this story to the increase in property tax.

MIW has “affirmed” that Singaporeans are getting richer by owning more 4 and 5 room flats so they can afford to increase taxes to milk more out of the middle income. The lowest income group are not affected and left alone cause they only have enough income for their basic necessities.

Even with “Rebates” next year for the 4-5 room holders, the increase in taxes is actually equals to a 100% increase in tax next year and another 50% increase the following year. So please don’t waste admin fees to transfer the rebate to us but just announce that the increase is 100% next year and another 50% for 4-5 room flat holders instead.

Lastly, since taxes should be paid by the owner of the property, and we are technically leasing the flats from HDB, shouldn’t IRAS collect tax from HDB instead?

DS
Dec 8, 2009 17:02

Let’s link this story to the increase in property tax.

MIW has “affirmed” that Singaporeans are getting richer by owning more 4 and 5 room flats so they can afford to increase taxes to milk more out of the middle income. The lowest income group are not affected and left alone cause they only have enough income for their basic necessities.

Even with “Rebates” next year for the 4-5 room holders, the increase in taxes is actually equals to a 100% increase in tax next year and another 50% increase the following year. So please don’t waste admin fees to transfer the rebate to us but just announce that the increase is 100% next year and another 50% for 4-5 room flat holders instead.

Lastly, since taxes should be paid by the owner of the property, and we are technically leasing the flats from HDB, shouldn’t IRAS collect tax from HDB instead?

Kimong
Dec 8, 2009 17:37

#47 DS,
“”MIW has “affirmed” that Singaporeans are getting richer by owning more 4 and 5 room flats so they can afford to increase taxes “”

Is it? But my friend own 1 x 4 room only what and he has not gotten richer.
So, does it mean the assumption did not consider my friend’s situation?

Is it fair?

how much price hikes due to rich PRs?
are citizens really richer? I mean the lower middle class.

How can it be when there have been pay cuts , freezes and retrenchments of even white collar workers?

Which is the guy who told you that?

DS
Dec 8, 2009 17:43

49) Kimong

My dear friend. MIW told us that.

If you look at the whole post, you will understand that i am actually standing on your side….

tiredsingaporean
Dec 8, 2009 21:13

Never believe anything that those MIW said, they are all big time liars and all they do to answer you with lots of twisted facts to confuse you, get it?

lefleche
Dec 8, 2009 21:22

Japan is a lot larger than just Tokyo or Osaka.

I was there last week and i asked a local abt property prices:

Bungalow in countryside (1 hr from city) nice scenery, big land. just quiet. good for retirees – SGD$200 000.

Bungalow in suburb (20-30 min) from city, medium land/small garden but still a nice 2 story house, can access city for jobs, entertainment, university etc – SGD 400 000.

my Jap friend almost fainted when i told him a Govt HDB flat at TPY 5 rm can cost as high as SGD580k. my wife is a property agent and thats what sellers ther are asking for.

in Japan, if u dont want to live in Tokyo or Osaka itself, u can stay in the suburbs. in SG, where can u go to escape the high prices? Pulau Ubin?

And my Bro-in-law lives in HK, and i have friends who live there too, cousins who work there etc. its not true that pple have to ‘take turns’ one sleep and one walk. thats rubbish. friends of mine who bought a condo right in city paid about SGD600k abt 4 yrs ago. they are middle class pple, hubby n wife both normal grad professional. not super rich, just middle class owning a condo like many here.

In fact, when i first graduated, a HK friend calculated for me, if i work in HK, i can probably save SGD2k even after rental and cost of living. If i work in SG, i save abt $500-700 a month and thats even staying with parents.

Also Jap expats tell me that living in SG is more expensive than tokyo. they rather shop in tokyo than Singapore. or for that matter, go to HK than shop in SG if they want to tour.

cost of housing in HK n Jap may seem high but their salaries are high too. so SG is definitely not better than Japan or HK.

all indicatiions point that its getting worst.

Forkinabors chuasaybays
Dec 8, 2009 22:30

1. HK vs SG FT policy. Are they the same? How many new citizens is HK having or gonna have compare with SG? How many Residents? Do they use resident statistics where statistic about eg. citizen employment rate is not clearly given?

2. HK vs SG salaries. Which is more?
3. Does HK have CPF where money is withdrawn a little at a time only even if reach 65? Is employer CPF contribution a part of labor cost to the employer?

A TV program showed an interview with a Belgium tourist shopping at orchard and she was asked if things there were cheap. She said yes compared to begium. Why compare singapore with Belgium? The standard of living are different. why compare apple with banana?

Why not compare orchard road price with Taipei price?

DavidSeeLeongKit
Dec 8, 2009 23:05

> PAP say: Pay Peanuts, and you will get Corrupt Monkeys!
S’poreans say: Pay Big Bananas, but still get Incompetent Chimpanzees !!!

> LKY say: Without million-dollar salaries, Singapore will sink into nothingness and your women will become maids!
S’poreans say: We should hire a Queen’s Counsel to sue him for defaming all the women in our lives i.e. our grandmother, mother, aunties, sisters, wife, daughters, female cousins, nieces !!!

> IN A NUTSHELL,

Singapore is a Little Red Dot island run by…
… self-proclaimed “First-World” Obscenely-Paid Muddle-headed Million Dollar Ministers and…
… self-proclaimed “First-Class” Over-Paid Bird-Brained Bureaucrats…

as well as a country of…
… obscenely-priced “pigeon-holes” [1000sf private condos] and…
… over-priced “bee-hives” [less than 1000sf HDB flats].

chua mui sai
Dec 9, 2009 10:12

singaporeans able to afford larger flats?
Of course!
Look at these singaporeans who bought $6,500,000.00 and $4,600,000.00 worth of properties respectively.

I am sure there is a good chance more have done it.

check this out! Report orignated from business times, 8 dec 2009.

http://www.temasekreview.com/2009/12/09/pap-mp-and-mcys-perm-sec-bought-units-at-luxury-condo-marina-bay-suites/comment-page-1/#comment-46813

Hong Kah GRC residents are blessed to have such a talent to sacrifice for them.
sacrifice like time lor.

smallfly
Dec 9, 2009 10:49

Finally, my dear self-proclaim, self-adsorbed, self-indulgent “FTs on dec 08, 2009, 12.12pm”, because I doubt you are really a FT–(just doubt only, it is not a personal attack, ok), just to share with you, a small-fly can fly, a small-fry can not fly, do you understand, my sweet-hear? As the great leader of china mr. deng mentioned before, if prc is to open its door to others elsewhere, it has to expect flies will infiltrate/fly-in to this “gigantic-holy-recluse/”hermitic”-land!

With the relentless and profuse “flying in” of FTs, steadfast Singaporeans liken to me, a small-fly, has “no other choice” but to “fly away”! By the way, I created the word, “hermitic”, myself, in-case you do not understand creativity and innovation, so, it is so hilarious and funny of you!!!! To me, you are just a hubris and nothing else!!!!!

Waiting for Nature to take its course of palpitation
Dec 9, 2009 10:51

I feel so helpless as a citizen stuck in this city.

more good years?

Oh Holy
Dec 9, 2009 11:59

in the 1990s, we have stopped building 2rm and 3rm flats. Cos we r much happier in the 90s and is can earn a decent living.

But look, what happens now? HDB is building studio , 2rm and 3rm flats now. The question is why?

It because we cant afford bigger flats not because we r opting for bigger flats. Shame on HDB for lying about figures again!

Why dont u compare to the 90s when we have 0 studio , 2rm and 3rm flats?

A 3rm flat costs the price of a small condo now in the 90s and except for the PAP guys, income have no risen…Zzzzz….shameful!

Oh Holy
Dec 9, 2009 12:58

I wondered how many ministers and MP are PR of other countries, with properties overseas now? They sounds like they r buzy making money than improving the general wealth of the population, judging by the taxes every few months.

Highest paid in the world and you cant even govern a small city well, leaving 1/10 of the population in dire straits and 1/2 of the population increasing unhappy and the elites have no loyalty towards Sg and her population.

Philip
Dec 9, 2009 23:32

I don’t know the statistics for this, but I can afford a larger flat, or even a condo, perhaps. But I don’t want to. I want to have plenty of cash left over for other stuff.

Ang Gu Nin
Dec 9, 2009 23:59

Can i say that there CAN NEVER EVER be a property bubble burst? Never as in Ever?

Oh Holy
Dec 10, 2009 11:04

@60 Philip

We dont know HDB statistics for sure, it all cooked up. But my statistics come from the Straits Times. 1 in 10 or 100,000 out of 1.1mil families are earning <1000 a month. Multipler it by x2 or x3, since a family consists of a pair or children. Some families, you know have 3 or 4 children too. But we can take x3 as an indication.

So we have 300,000 poor. Note that PR are included in the survey but in order to be a PR, u need more than the average poor for sure.

Now consider that we have 199,000 contact workers who do not have a permanent jobs in Sg….u can really see the sorry state of the poor.

I remember when Sg began to invite foreigners ministries to take our MRT, he was appalled by the sight of the dirty HDB flats and he thought of a scheme to upgrade the flats for those flats that are near the MRT, at a price of cos. But it actually a means to save his own face but the people ended up footing the so call 'Heavy Subsidy Prices' instead of paying it for free. Since it is for the outlook of Singapore, shouldn't the Gov pays it instead?

Hell No! They even taichi it to the people to foot the bills, killing two birds at a stone and then they used it as a means to threaten voters to get this upgrading because if their flats upgrade, the price of their HDB will increase, but of cos the price is set by HDB. Now, that is killing three birds at a stone.

The average poor had their money all squeezed by this sucky gov. And they are too sad to care.

Only we, the middle class must debate for them because, either we become uncaring or have a heart, because the minute we stop fighting for our fellow citizens, we lose our humanity too, and join the ranks of PAP, as money grabbing, selfish people.

Let us hope, we do not lose our hearts to these beasts who I dare to will, did not consider the well being of the people. Did they protest when their salary increased by 300% over the past 10 years?

Back in 1990, our Minister pay is only 300k, and now we is 1000%. Who bears the burden of these taxes? They can say they raise GST to help the poor but the poor become poorer becos of the GST and instead, they use the GST to fuel their salaries.

Our national budget increased from 40B to 60B last year. And they did not give an account for it. In fact 30B was unaccounted for.

Even our politician money cannot be declared under the law. Is this the gov that people with a good heart wants?

mike
Dec 10, 2009 16:32

#62,

i will vote for change. thats mean get them out.

ACACIA
Dec 11, 2009 18:30

A friend of mine moved to JB 2 weeks ago, near the second link but still works in Spore in his own business! He does not drive but take the City Link bus from JB to Jurong East. Renting a house in a new development with security for Sing 600 plus but gets a rental return from his condo here, sold his HDB, no point keeping and moved lock, stock and barrel there, quality of life is better, cheaper to live. Good luck to Singaporeans.

The Singapore Daily » Blog Archive » Weekly Roundup: Week 50
Dec 12, 2009 11:20

[...] Housing – TOC: S’poreans more able to afford larger flats? [...]

mrpeaceful
Dec 17, 2009 14:54

someone said ShenZhen grad earns about SGD400-500…

how come our Papa earn million? you know how much Obama earns? you know how much is PRC top guns salary?

Have very much less FTs, very much lower Papa salary then many things will become cheap…

Leave a Reply

Comment

theonlinecitizen on Facebook