From the blog, yaevlejunce:

Now that I am of age to vote, I am unable to vote for the PAP in the coming election because there is such an urgent need to send across a strong signal through their very thick skulls that there is a problem in the way it’s running this country. I am not a member of the Opposition, and I do not want the Opposition to take over this country, but because there will always be too many sheep in Singapore anyway, we need every vote FOR the Opposition just to manage to produce a dent in the PAP’s smugly expected results. There will always be the apathetic, the boot-lickers, the cowardly, and the ignorant to ensure they win eventually anyway.

The difference we can make, however, is how much it wins by. Perhaps if it loses a GRC or two (and the GRC is a PAP invention), they will shake off their slumber and start ruling Singapore as a Republic, that is, for the public, for the People (rather than for personal interests).

Remember how LKY said he will send in the army if there ever is a “freak election” and the PAP is voted out of Parliament? In every other country, when the people vote out the ruling party, it is called a mandate. It is only in Singapore that such a vote is called a “freak election”. Also, whose Army is it anyway? Is it the Army of the people of Singapore – who have just voted out the PAP? Or is it the Army of the PAP?

Read the full blog post here.

—–

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

215 Responses to “TOC Blog Feature: 10 reasons why I cannot vote for the PAP in the next election”

1. (QUOTING) OriginalResonance on December 13th, 2009 4.58 pm

“Which is why when I asked for an example of a party that can replace PAP, everyone evaded the question.” (END QUOTE)

The reason why everyone evaded the question is because of the fear factor in Singapore more than the capabilities of the PAP.

We need the kind of people like Lim Hock Siew, Lim Chin Siong, Chia Thye Poh to replace the PAP. Look what happened to them? It is the deliberate actions of the PAP to fix the opposition for their continued power in the country. First it was jail, then it was defamation suits. And the PAP has continually attacked particular people who could be of a threat to them in the recent GEs.

For a start, we can vote some opposition members. We wouldn’t really miss some of the PAP MPs anyway since it is common knowledge that they hold other sources of income such as Directorship, Chairmanship, Advisory, Consultancy, etc to government-linked and government-related organisations or foreign MNCs. There are plenty of empty seats in parliament if you have noticed.

(QUOTE) They just wanna bash PAP to convince themselves that their failure is not their fault but the government’s. (END QUOTE)

The PAP has its fair share of blaming the people and to forces outside their control when things go wrong. And things have gone horribly wrong in the last 5 years. Any objective measure will indicate the failings of the PAP in the last 5 years. They will have to accept huge defeats in the next elections, cooling day or no cooling day.

2. curious citizen 13 December 2009

@79
    Since you are leaving in 4 months time, to stay on an island, (assuming your anarchic leanings) I bid you adieu. Have an enjoyable life, do not worry about Singapore, She is in able hands.

3. fischerman 13 December 2009

We can understand how singaporeans feel, what the PAP govt did for the past 40+ years, but what they did in the beginning of our country was a group of men who really want to see Singapore to succeed, they really want us to be dependent and making friends with superpowers.

Now this group of men, think that without them, Singapore will not survived. I strongly disagreed. Just like Japan which have a change of government, it been mths we have not hear of any adverse report coming out of the country, so the opp did well for these few mths.

Malaysia use to be rule by BN with big majority, now they do not have 2/3 majority, is the country still the same as before, yes it is.

Singapore will continue to move forward which ever govt is in place, cos we have friends all over who will support any govt elected by the people.

So the PAP is worried because of many change of govt all over the world, and they do not like to be LDP of Japan to go over to be the Opp. They want to rule till the earth died.

4. OriginalResonance ,

Again, could you live with such issues at the expense of your own conscience? A high quality of life is not solely dependent on money. Success should be measured based on the quality of the human condition which is determined by many factors that indirectly includes money. Forgive me for answering my own question, but no i would not live in ignorance of such issues even if i have all the money in the world and entitled to subsidized health care and education because i am not a selfish and uncaring person who ,for example, do not give a shit to what happens to a person who is sentenced to the gallows for importing a drug that is less harmful than cigarette and alcohol. The country will not progress if we are very accepting of the current flawed public policies. What the PAP needs to do is generally to be more liberal and (look at my top ten list). People pretty much hated the PAP because of most if not all of the issues i brought up.

I believe that the worker’s party is a more able and better government than the PAP. But we wouldn’t really know that unless we could give them an opportunity. I’ve heard some silly excuses from many PAP advocates that Singapore could not afford to vote for any opposition parties because the economy would sink and everyone would become poor and unemployed. LOL.

5. Bitter Singaporean 13 December 2009

47. I expect government-affiliated institutions to not indulge themselves with luxuries when other citizens have bread-butter problems:

When NTUC income unilaterally announced major cuts in its bonus for insurance-policy-holders, the MAS allowed this to happen. NTUC income claimed financial woes, but took HUNDREDS of agents to Australia for an exorbitant expense-paid holiday as they made the announcement earlier this year! Do they think about the widows and orphans when they dine fine with wine?

At first I could not believe NTUC Income to be capable of this, then I checked on the web and saw the NTUC CEO hugging 2 BIKINI girls and drinking champagne in Australia too.
    (i) ms-my.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=1550459&id=36541001838&ref=mf

(ii) ms-my.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=1549575&id=36541001838&ref=mf

6. Bitter Singaporean 13 December 2009

48. I expect the MAS to protect citizens financially too:

When thousands of investors lost their life savings in the mini-bond fiasco, where was the government? Unlike the Hong Kong government which had exerted pressure on its local banks to compensate a minimum sum to its minibond holders, the Singapore authorities chose to stay out of the matter.. MM even chided Singapore investors for “walking in with their eyes open” and therefore did not deserve a compensation. (from TemasekReview 1 Dec)

49. I have 1 more issue with the state Media Press. HOW can they publish photos of people suspected of crimes when they have not EVEN been convicted? Imagine the tarnishing to the poor suspect’s reputation if he were innocent! It is not as if the guy can sue ST and get $400,000 in defamation compensation.

7. Bitter Singaporean 13 December 2009

I can give you 50 reasons

1. I want to buy a house without paying a Cash-Over-Value of $100,000

2. I don’t want to be accused of being fussy if I don’t want to live on the first floor or basement bomb shelter, or ulu ulu places like Kusu Island

3. I don’t want keep hearing that flats are “affordable” when I really cannot afford flats.

4. I don’t want to see foreigners flood our condos, HDB estates, MRT trains, buses, schools, EVERYWHERE

5. I don’t want to know about how ministers are getting lots of landed and prime property both local and overseas when I have trouble getting a 3-room flat.

8. Bitter Singaporean 13 December 2009

6. I don’t want ministers who get multi-million dollar salaries when I do odd jobs and some months I don’t make more than $2,000.

Ministers in other countries may take bribes and embezzle. My ministers are smarter, they get more money claiming more MILLIONS in salary LEGALLY.

7. I don’t want to pay ERP just because foreigners’ cars are clogging my roads. Especially, when ERP do not solve congestion problems!!! We still have terrible traffic jams!

8. I don’t want to do NS and reservist to protect my country against foreign invaders when:
    (A) I don’t have a house to protect
    (B) I cannot afford to start a family to protect
    (C) I have to protect foreigners and their property with my life when they run away during war.
    (D) Foreigner PRs do not have to serve
    (E) I get paid worse than a Bangala worker. To think that National Service needed people donation’s in 1967, after a year, it gathered S$ 3 million from Singaporeans when we were all so poor.

9. I do not want to see PRs and New citizens flashing their blue and pink ICs on their national days.

10. I do not want to see the shamelessness of importing foreign athletes and claims that Singapore won when a foreigner won. Oh yes, we pay these foreigners millions of dollars so that Singapore can claim that it won. WOW!

9. Bitter Singaporean 13 December 2009

11. I do not want to hear jeering against the SG local soccer teams from foreigner spectators when we play against other countries IN OUR OWN COUNTRY!

12. I don’t want to pay 7% more for everything I buy in my whole life when the government gives my $200 in “compensation” handouts!

13. I want to see a local student being the top student. Not some China kid. Not hearing from ours kids that there is no point to work hard as some foreigner is going to squeeze them down inevitably.

14. When there is public curiosity, I expect my government (especially Law minister) to be transparent enough let us know about Temasek and HDB cost to build a flat, etc.

15. I want my country to be known as a COUNTRY. My country is NOT just a city like some idiot claims.

10. Bitter Singaporean 13 December 2009

16. I don’t want LHL’s son to be the next succeeding prime minister.

17. I don’t like how China suckered us in the Suzhou park initiative and we still have to kiss their assess.

18. I cannot understand why local siblings cannot buy flats when foreigner PR siblings can buy flats.

19. Singles are not allowed to buy flats before 35? Are singles supposed to be forced into marriage just because of this? By the time singles reach 35, the flat prices will be higher by $100,000 to $300,000. These singles worked very hard to scrimp and save only to see savings ERODED away by inflation!

20. I do not want to read the paper when it is pro-PAP and there is major censorship and selective publishing and late publishing for what cannot be hidden.

11. Bitter Singaporean 13 December 2009

21. I don’t want my life-savings to be belittled as the salt on the “peanuts”.

22. I don’t like it when my country’s reserves lost tens of billions of dollars and the PM’s wife can still head Temasek!

23. I want important national assets key to our security like power stations to BELONG to our country, not sold to foreigners.

24. I like to add hum to my mee siam by the way.

25. I want a president who actually DOES more. Not one which who I seek shakes hands, seldom speaks, does not even pardon and spare a 19-year-old kid his life. Not a president who kids confuse with Mas Selamat (Many kids who know Mas Selamat do not EVEN know Nathan)

12. Bitter Singaporean 13 December 2009

26. I don’t want to have my next national day parade at the silly riverside place….AGAIN! How long does it take to make a stadium? We are a country but we don’t even have a national stadium?? How about loaning Malaysia’s Merdeka Stadium for Singapore’s National day?

27. I want job security. A contract for 1 or 2 years, Then look for work again. The cycle repeats. We have to worry for our jobs and livelihoods on a daily basis. When we are over 40 years old, who want us anymore? I might as well join the army as sign on. But wait, that is contract TOO!

28. I don’t want the next generation to suffer like me in university. I had to work part-time to support my uni fees in NUS, while foreign students get free uni education thanks to MOE PLUS $500 allowance every month. After that, NUS still has the cheek to call me up and ask me to donate to NUS. Why they need money? They lost hundreds of millions of endowment in the financial crisis. I can still remember working and saving for 3 months before I could afford a 2nd hand laptop.

29. I want to protest in the streets to voice my discontent without being put to jail by the ISA act or made bankrupt. For goodness sake, I don’t even dare to accept Singtel’s offer of giving me free 6 months internet if I switch from Starhub to Singtel, because I am scared that my IP address and my name will be blacklisted by the government. (considering Singtel’s afflictions with the govt)

30. I want an opposition party in power. Any opposition is welcome. As educated and smart as my current and soon-to-be-ex ministers may be, I want people who CARE and LISTEN. Even if it is a guy who had graduated from kindergarten would be welcomed if he cares.

13. Bitter Singaporean 13 December 2009

31. Elites who have been born with a silver spoon, who never had trouble finding a job, who never had money difficulties, who never went hungry, who breezed through NS, do NOT deserve my respect nor should they be in the government. We need people who UNDERSTAND what it is like at the pits and bottom! Not some shortie who claims to understand hardship with a childhood living in 3-room flat but marries an angmoh and lives in a landed mansion.

32. I want a better electoral system! I don’t want WALK-OVERs again. Some of the seniors did not even get to vote ONCE in their whole lives. How is that democracy?

33. I want fairness. Is it a coincidence that certain estates under certain members of our government are especially well-cared for with upgrading etc incentives? Is this fair? Are residents of areas under the opposition similarly cared for? I quote a resident from Potong Pasir “the lifts here are so old and I can’t climb the flight of stairs to reach my place anymore.” I supposed the 60 year old aunty would be forced to vote for PAP to get new lifts.

34. I want a limit to the number of years the PM can hold office, so that as bad and as lousy as the PM is, we can at least have a chance to start afresh.

35. I want small quotas/ratios legislated for foreigners.

14. Bitter Singaporean 13 December 2009

36. I want foreigners to be restricted to less than 20% of our population instead of 36%.

37. Horsie actually said that foreigner PRs were under-represented in HDB flats. Pah! No more than 2 flats in a block should be sold to PRs! Otherwise, how can the many old uncles and aunties have pocket money for retirement by renting out flats?

38. I want their CPF contribution percent to be much higher and that their CPF to be forfeited if they leave SG.

39. I want higher income taxes and property taxes for foreigners.

40. I want NS for foreigners.

15. Bitter Singaporean 13 December 2009

41. Foreigners who bought HDB flats cannot be allowed to rent their flat out EVER!

42. I want the SGD to be moderated downwards! A higher SGD may benefit those who can afford to holiday overseas, those who are rich enough to send kids to overseas for studies, or PRs and foreigners when they remit money home. BUT overly high SGD deters investments into Singapore.

43. I want curbs on inflation. To that effect, we need to install restrictions on property speculation, raise reserve ratios in banks, and have more stringent criteria before loans are issued. AND OF COURSE, GST lower back to 3%

44. When foreign talent enters my country. I want these people to be REALLY foreign talent. I don’t want my country’s pink IC and PR to be handed out like toilet paper.

45. I want more heavily subsidized birth-delivery, child-care, pediatric health and education care to boost local numbers. If S.Korea can do it, why not us? The practice of replacement diminishing local numbers with foreigner number MUST STOP.

16. Bitter Singaporean 13 December 2009

46. Instead of always saying Singapore does not have enough talent, will the government spend more money and effort in education and grooming the young? Every time they say that there is not enough of certain type of people, the government will import these people in masses and hordes.

50. Anyone can give the 50th reason? Come on my fellow locals. If I can say so much, you can at least say something! Few thousand people viewing this article and so little comments?

17. Zefly (aka Joshua Chiang) 13 December 2009

I can’t give 50 reasons why I cannot vote for PAP.

But I can give one reason why i CANNOT vote opposition.

It’s called – Walkover.

18. justice is blind.

19. Human Being 13 December 2009

Bravo Bitter Singaporean. I think you’ve echoed what most Singaporeans want, albeit with more panache. Change is in the air and we should embrace it and live it.

OriginalResonance,claims to have taken control of his life by leaving, well to each his own, but leaving is not taking control, that’s giving up. But that’s your decision and that’s how you want to live your life.

I wish you all the best and hope whatever you seek. The people here seeks change.
    Any change is better than no change.

20. Clement Tan 13 December 2009

An open call to all opposition supporters:

I feel that this could be the very last chance to introduce permanent change to the monolithic political system of Singapore, one that has no checks or balances whatsover. Surely your future and the future of your children is worth the time spent volunteering for preparations for the next General Election during this coming holidays. I will be heading to the Opposition and registering at one of the parties and volunteering in whatever capacity I can. Thank you.

21. Thursday, December 10, 2009
    The Sobering View of an Ex-ISD Officer
    Those who are sobering readers of the political book Men In White cannot help but form an impression that the tome is a glorification of the narcissistic Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew. It is small wonder that some people and portals describe it as a propaganda book. It depicts Lee Kuan Yew to be a one-man crusader in his fight against the might of his so-called pro-communist foes. The authors fail to highlight Lee Kuan Yew’s more ignominous persona.

On the other hand the book Fajar Generation by an aggrieved group of former detainees connected with the old Malaya University Socialist Club is an antithesis and contains an incisive indictment of what they imply as the iniquities of a treacherous and inhuman Lee Kuan Yew. The authors, especially Dr. Poh Soo Kai and Tan Jing Quee. had apparently visited the British Archives in the United Kingdom and quoted extensively relevant extracts from the Archives to expose the so-called treachery and perfidy of Lee Kuan Yew in complicity with the British to push through the Malaysia plan. The book Fajar Generation is published in West Malaysia and surprisingly is available in some book stores in Singapore.

To debunk the subtle assertion in Men in White that Lee Kuan Yew had been able through his own industry to build up a mass base for his political ambition by simply agreeing to serve as legal adviser to pro-communist trade unions and other communist front organisations (CUF), it is obvious the authors are over-simplifying the issue. It was a well-known fact that Lim Chin Siong, the former general secretary of the powerful Singapore Factory & Shop Workers Union was the undisputed leader of the communist united front and controlled the mass base. Lee Kuan Yew could not have been unaware of this fact and knew that he had to depend on Lim Chin Siong and his mass base to advance his political ambition.

To give an example of the massive influence of Lim Chin Siong over his CUF members, the CUF used to hold anti-colonial mass meetings at the old Happy World Stadium which were invariably packed to capacity. It was an unforgettable experience to behold that Lim Chin Siong was given a standing ovation when he entered the stadium. Lee Kuan Yew would usually be tagging along holding his briefcase and this phenomenon could not have escaped the sharp attention of Lee Kuan Yew. He had no doubt kept this at the back of his mind for reference in his dealing with Lim Chin Siong in future. Lee was of the conviction that as long as Lim was a free man, Lim would be a great obstacle to his ambitious plan of capturing political power. So along came an unsuspecting benefector in the person of Chief Minister Lim Yew Hock who did Lee a great favour by detaining Lim Chin Siong and his fellow activists thus allowing the ambitious Lee Kuan Yew to inherit Lim Chin Siong’s mass base to advance his political ambition. The word gratitude is not to be found in Lee’s lexicon. In fact, it would have been a great joke if Lim’s detention had caused him any grief.
    Posted by Singapore Recalcitrant at 6:13 AM

http://singaporerecalcitrant.blogspot.com/2009/12/sobering-view-of-ex-isd-officer.html

22. #90, #97 New Era

Ah, I finally understood what you meant by repeatedly asking about IMF/WB meetings in 2006. I thought you are referring to the 2009 forum because that is the first time i heard of ‘freak elections’ and the ‘army’ through Catherine Lim’s question, and TOC covered it.

So, no, I am only referring to 2009 remarks– which i mistakenly attribute to your 2006 article because the description of the remarks are similar to what i heard this year.

My main point (which i still stand by) is this- having listened to his comments firsthand this year, i’ll say this year remarks should be situated in the context of discussing the elected presidency. What I have noticed is people’s understanding of the remarks got distorted this year because there was no context to it.

of course, having said that, i claim to have only listened to it this year and not in 2006. So, yes, you are right, i cannot say if the same remarks, context and distortion apply in 2006… and neither is that my main point. maybe you or someone else might know that better than me.

23. RW, I appreciate you honest in admitting what appears to be a genuine on your part.

On my part, I haven’t the faintest idea why he said what he did. But I do know that 2006 was the year that his son was contesting the GE for the first time as secretary general of PAP. They were generous in giving out goodies before the GE and his subordinates were openly predicting that LHL would lead his team to victory by winning 80% of the votes in Ang Mo Kio GRC.

As it turned out, LHL and his team almost lost to a team of newcomers from the WP. Papa, must have been very upset and in his first interview to an international media, made a vieled threat to Singaporeans.

24. #122 New Era

And thank you, for being magnanimous about my oversight.

It is not only what we discuss, but how we discuss issues- with candor, respect and honesty that makes SIngapore a better place. :)

25. theforgottongeneration 14 December 2009

@77) OriginalResonance on December 13th, 2009 9.12 pm

I will give you the courtesy of some credits if you are truly worried about the best for Singapore. Quitting just doesn’t seems the best way to do it though, but I always respect everyone has his/her own decisions – for good or bad.

However, assuming that everyone here is hell bent to do Singapore in is extremely….paranoid. I think a lot of the people here has/is serving NS & their reservist cycle — I certainly have and in a high risk, low life expectancy vocation too. Why would we then do Singapore in? What more, if you can’t see the intelligence of some folk here, then intelligence is your problem.

No, I think your ONLY concern is to preserve your status by some association with the ruling party. Get off your ivory tower, see the ground situation. There are people diluting their milk powder just to stretch their dollar in our “first- world-made-by-MIW environment”. After 50 years, we are still not a country nor nation, and we have to choose between 2 evils. Doesn’t sounds like good leadership for a country to me.

Anyway, take heart. Monkeys are probably not allowed to be registered as candidates in our elections. Sorry to disappoint the person suggesting “a bunch of monkeys” in the first place. Still, my cat is getting my vote….unless I see an elephant. Can vote that, right?

26. theforgottongeneration 14 December 2009

106) Bitter Singaporean on December 13th, 2009 10.53 pm
    to
    115) Bitter Singaporean on December 13th, 2009 11.04 pm

Gosh, are you on steriods? Anyway, my hat off and compliments.

27. //My Views

This is a joke.

When the financial crisis and 911 didn’t even cause the stock market to crash and just a normal democratic outcome will do that to singapore?

I would say that if the pigs lose one or 2 GRC, we should expect a lot of goodies from them for the next 5 years.

They will work super hard to keep their rice bowl.

They have been doing that to us.

They should have a taste of their own medicine.

Also, so if the stock market really fall, I will buy like crazy because it will double in no time.

In addition, I will not see any opposition throwing our monies into useless not to say dumb investments because none of the opposition has done that for the last 20 years.

Only the pigs have done that kind of negative value add to singaporeans.

I pity your shortsightedness.

28. //My Views

“What does Singapore have? Nothing, except a competent and honest government leading to political stability which in turn attracts investments! You shake that solid and core foundation which Singapore’s success rests upon, the whole nation collapses like a tonne of rock! Don’t ever try to make a mockery on this national survival fact!”

This is inane.

What core foundation?

GIC and TH lost so much monies with no accountability.

TH is issuing bonds now because it couldn’t find an investor.

GIC would have done the same but they managed to squeeze some monies out of CPF with the minimum sum.

LHL is the biggest curse we ever had.

The trio lost us so many monies, cost us so much monies and you consider that foundation.

WHAT a joke!

29. I had wanted to say LKY was the biggest curse but I think the wave of response will be too numerous.

LHL’s case is obvious.

He and his wife didn’t get any thing good done.

AND LKY is at least responsible for “forecasting” this to happen.

30. For those who claim they cannot vote, why not rent a place where there is real election and change your address to that place.

Then you can vote.

31. //Ah Siao

As if it is free to call the armies in after a democratic elections where the pigs lost?

LKY might die of a heart attack first.

Who else would be vicious enough to call the army.

What you say is happening whether you like it or not.

In fact, if it happens in 2012, you might be right (I don’t agree).

If it happens later, LKY has gone to hell. Who is there to call the army?

32. Anyway, it is the normal rules of capitalism, when the pigs suck, they have to be voted out.

That’s the rules they announced themselves.

IF they are that confident and it is that easy to call in the army, ask them to start the elections now.

They know they are in shit.

33. //Ω李

what some of the pigs policies?

All of their policies are responsible.

Up til the birth control campaign.

34. My Views 14 December 2009

Refer to
    Comment (15) by [anonymous] and
    Comment (41) by [AC] :

[ “Without the elected president and if there is a freak result, within two or three years, the army would have to come in and stop it” ]

It is obvious that you guys had quoted Mr. Lee Kuan Yew out of context.

Firstly, he was referring to a non-existing situation – without an Elected President. At that time, as well as now, Singapore has an Elected President.

Next, he was saying if the non-PAP government turned out to be squandering the country’s reserves within two or three years after the PAP handed over the power, the army would have to move in.

So, I am correct in my earlier comment that Mr. Lee Kuan Yew did not say he would send in the army if a freak election resulted in the PAP losing power. The MM is a man Singaporeans can trust. He is much wiser than all of us combined together.

35. //My Views

He has been the one mis-investing GIC’s monies and had to cover his ass.

He is a super thick skin actor.

36. if life is so good in Singapore, why wouldn’t we want offspring to share the happiness?

It is because life is shitty in Singapore for most people except the pigs in white, that most of us don’t reproduce.

We still try to have fun with the condom…

Not reproducing is the direct response to dictatorship.

37. it is the LKY’s forecasting that cause him to implement the 2 child policy.

We are paying the price of that (I think most people can count).

Add that with another 3.5 million a year and the crap lky sprout on tv.

38. theforgottongeneration 14 December 2009

@132) mon on December 14th, 2009 3.17 am

I have to agree somewhat with that. Some herein thinks or fears that a majority of Opposition will doom Singapore with screwed up policies. This of course is possible. However, it is fact that after our independence in mid-60′s, the stop-at-2 policy was implemented. This is one of the first national policies of the PAP — and where are we now with its effects? LOADS OF SHIT — one of lowest TFR, high foreigners influx, integration issues, need for maids, depressed wages, low productivity, inadequate entreprenuership, etc…..

So, sorry, the PAP has it share of big time F***-up policies when they took over the running of Singapore. It’s just that they are extremely effective at highlighting the good while sweep dirt under the carpet. So, yes, any alternate party voted in may have some hiccups with policies — and they should be held accountable — but it is quite high-handed to demand absolute competency from someone when the incumbent doesn’t even answer to any mistakes.

Ok, maybe the lately admit of mistake of how Chinese was taught is a softening — so what are the atonements? That policy did screw a few of my schoolmates over the years, that I am certain. Maybe that is what they learnt working with the Japs during WW2 — express some “remorse” over past atrocities, don’t blink an eye, maintain a stiff upper lip, and expects everyone to move on. Heah, scot-free, man.

39. what views you have 14 December 2009

133) My Views on December 14th, 2009 4.27 am
    “without an Elected President. At that time, as well as now, Singapore has an Elected President.”

aiyah, you must have known how the story of our first real elected president ended. for the next two rounds, there weren’t any election loh. so it is moot lah.

“saying if the non-XXX government turned out to be squandering the country’s reserves within two or three years after the XXX handed over the power, the army would have to move in.”

what burmese style hah ? you mean out of a sudden people in the army can be suddenly be so discerning and have better grasp on how our reserves are being spent better than those who apparently may have been voted in and having the mandate. what talk you lah. use your stupit brain lah.

people in the army’s only brain is to use force and use arms lah, that is why they are only good in taking instructions from someone higher in rank. you been in the army or not.

40. Singaporeans must be politically mature enough to know that we need to have a two party system in order for a healthy democracy going.

Why do we need a two party system? Well, why do we need quality assurance in all manufactured goods and services?

Having a second party check on PAP whenever it comes up with laws and policies ensures that the new laws and policies are properly debated and check. NCMPs and NMPs cannot do this because they have no voting power.

Even if you think PAP is doing a good job, which they are not in the past few years, we still have to have a second party (or group of parties) which is independent of the PAP party whip.

Remember the case of casinos and high ministerial salaries where even PAP MPs who opposed the bills cannot vote against it. Only the opposition, which there are only two now, can vote against such an unwise acts by the government. We need to vote more opposition MPs in so they can be an effective force to check on the government. You would not want to do a 20-man job yourself, so why are we letting 2 opposition MPs doing a 40-man job?

41. The Straits Times: MM Lee stated that HDB price Will Increase but remain affordable……(14 Dec’09)

If you vote for PAP, this is the Price you have to pay.
    Your whole life + CPF will just to pay for your house. At least a 5 Figure Duty Stamp Fees.

It is only an empty house. Not including renovation or any utilities bills.

If you choose this route of voting PAP, make sure you have enough $$$ for yourself or your family to buy a coffin.

42. To: 6) My Views, 83) RW and 95) New Era

Thank you for pointing to Catherine Lim’s blog. I have always like her writing and wisdom in thought. So LKY did not say he will send in the army if there ever is a “freak election” and the PAP is voted out of Parliament.

Below is cut and pasted from her blog site for all’s information.

AT YESTERDAY’S dialogue, writer Catherine Lim posed MM Lee this question: ‘Sir, in the event of a serious threat of a freak election, would you do the unthinkable, that is, send in the army?’ This is an edited extract from Mr Lee’s reply:

‘You look at our record and the moves we’ve made. Let me put it simply like this. First, we maintain a system which gives any opposition the opportunity to displace us peacefully. We allow the system: we’ve not interfered with the civil service, the judiciary, parliamentary procedures, the police and so on.

If you can win an election, so be it. If at some point we are not able to find a team which can equal an opposition team, on that day we deserve to be out. If we become corrupt, inefficient, can’t deliver, we’re out.

What if we have a freak election, as we may well have? Many voters say openly: ‘In my family, three of us voted for you but two voted against, just to let you know that we want an opposition voice.’ In that situation, you may have a freak result. That worries me.

So we’ve set in place a President with blocking powers. Any opposition that comes in will find that he cannot touch the reserves, otherwise you can promise the sky and spend the money. And all our hard-earned savings will go in five years.

Second, you cannot change the top officials without the President’s consent. Any raiding of the funds must be approved by the President who has a council of presidential advisers to advise him yes or no.

Now, why should we do all these if we expect to overturn an election?

We expect that if we are voted out, to stay out, and hope that within one term, that new government, incompetent and unable to deliver, will be out. And there’s enough core competencies and the funds to enable a fresh PAP government to revive the system.

I spent 15 years thinking about these safeguards and finally persuaded my younger colleagues that we needed these because they can’t guarantee that each time they will produce a better team than the opposition just because you’ve done so in the past.

I don’t see any problem in the next election, and probably the election after that. But if we don’t get a good team in the election after that and the opposition does get a good team together, we’re at risk.

One of the first lessons I learnt in politicswas from Harold Laski. He said if you don’t have a system that allows fundamental change by consent, you will have a revolution by violence. If we block all possibilities, we must expect violence. In that violence, eventually the army won’t shoot because you are in the wrong. That’s what happens in Africa, the army goes in and holds up the president and often shoots him.

If we had not these thoughts at the back of our minds, why do we do these things? Just to bluff the people? Doesn’t make sense. An army commander, air force or police, has to be approved by a committee and the President must agree. Why? Because we will appoint the commanders? No, because a stupid government will do the wrong things and when we return, we may find the whole machinery has collapsed, as often is the case. Simple.

43. macam macam 14 December 2009

c’mon guys we are just playing his game his snitches is everywhere remember he does not do the job he only forecast he no stupid dude

44. @12) My Views on December 13th, 2009 2.41 am

>>What does Singapore have? Nothing, except a competent and honest government.

Competent? Honest mistake for $380+ million payout to singtel? Mas Selemat escape? Mee Siam mai hum (which world did he live in that with his “talent”, he didn’t know that mee siam don’t come with hum)?

>> Capital flight! Business pull out!

Don’t think business will be in a big hurry to pull-out, they foreign investors will probably adopt a wait and see, and once they see that the oppositions are able to provide a stable environment and a happy local population, they won’t pull out and lose all the $ that they have invested here…

Did investors fled thailand when there are military coups?

45. @72) OriginalResonance on December 13th, 2009 8.54 pm

>>#66 and #69 To sum it up, what you’re essentially saying is that anyone should get a try-out as long as he opposes PAP. Then, we’ll assess his performance and decide on the appropriate action in the next election 5 years later.

One question for you? What were the track records for PAP when we just got our independence? Remember we gladly joined malaysia, and was forced to go it alone when malaysia kicked us out.. So, if the people of singapore were looking for track records, please tell us what pap provide in terms of track records?

46. @89) OriginalResonance on December 13th, 2009 9.45 pm

>>What else could it be? Complaining and casting their meagre votes against PAP won’t effect any significant change. Why not do something more constructive? By the looks of things, I suggest a lesson in logic 101.

If voting for CHANGE is not taking charge of our lives, then what is? Quitting/leaving is?

47. Singaporeans have been brainwashed to believe that the opposition is not credible. In recent years I have found the oppositions’ platforms to be very attractive. They speak up for the economically left behind. They are against unaccountability and opaqueness in how our finances have been being managed. I don’t need my MP to be a degree holder. I don’t want a candidate who is a doctor or lawyer. I’ve had enough of those.

48. @My Views

You were saying that the Elder Lee have never made any comments about the Army being brought in, hence I bring up the article to provide an example and some perspective of the matter. Whether his remark is justifiable, or whether it is just a blatant attempt at fear mongering doomsday scenarios of an opposition victory, is a matter of opinion.

I find it ironic that while the Elder Lee is painting a picture of the opposition destroying Singapore’s reserves, the largest blows to our reserves in the last 2 decades occurred under his watch under his team while operating under a cloak of secrecy.

Were there sufficient due diligence, and were the investments reckless? We will never know the true answer, because our Finance minister have already stated that the people’s wish to know is not enough reason for disclosure, even when matters are brought up in our Parliament itself.

This, amongst other reasons as given in the article, should serve as a wake up call to Singaporeans of the need for more checks and controls on our existing government – the reasons why we cannot vote for the PAP in the next election.

49. Bitter Singaporean summed up neatly what we Singapore born and bred citizens
    are unhappy about.
    Recently Govt ministers and civil servants are keeping very silent on letters published in the Straits Times on various topics e.g. about a writer questioning why strategic utlities Companies were sold to foreigners. We are not happy that every time we pump petrol into our cars, we are adding to the foreign exchange of another country. The Govt did not even bother to explain at all.
    In governing a country, especially a democratic country like Singapore, where its citizens are well travelled and highly educated, silence is not golden. i. e. politics is not conducted in silence. You need communications with the public. You need activity and noise. you can’t just presume things could be swept under the carpet, confidently presume things would die down themselves in time.
    Also Ministers seem more preoccupied with their image overseas, is it that necessary to keep on travelling round the world to promote something? All these trips are a drain on our country’s finances.

50. #Bitter Singaporean,

You’ve made my day, Bro!