From the blog, yaevlejunce:
Now that I am of age to vote, I am unable to vote for the PAP in the coming election because there is such an urgent need to send across a strong signal through their very thick skulls that there is a problem in the way it’s running this country. I am not a member of the Opposition, and I do not want the Opposition to take over this country, but because there will always be too many sheep in Singapore anyway, we need every vote FOR the Opposition just to manage to produce a dent in the PAP’s smugly expected results. There will always be the apathetic, the boot-lickers, the cowardly, and the ignorant to ensure they win eventually anyway.
The difference we can make, however, is how much it wins by. Perhaps if it loses a GRC or two (and the GRC is a PAP invention), they will shake off their slumber and start ruling Singapore as a Republic, that is, for the public, for the People (rather than for personal interests).
Remember how LKY said he will send in the army if there ever is a “freak election” and the PAP is voted out of Parliament? In every other country, when the people vote out the ruling party, it is called a mandate. It is only in Singapore that such a vote is called a “freak election”. Also, whose Army is it anyway? Is it the Army of the people of Singapore – who have just voted out the PAP? Or is it the Army of the PAP?
—–

Well…I wondered if you were given a choice to stay in a south east region country, which would you prefer?
Lets vote…..
1) Brunei,
2) Cambodia,
3) Indonesia,
4) Malaysia
5) Singapore
6) Thailand
7) Vietnam
first where is the evidence of “freak election”?
2nd the meaning of “freak election” means what?
do anyone know?
i am curious.
9) rizal on December 13th, 2009 2.13 am -
Can you actually tell good from bad; right from left? Serious lah.
Surely you’re not suggesting we follow in our northern and southern neighbours’ footsteps. Are you?
They’re hoping we join them since they can’t beat us.
Perhaps then there’ll be be abundance from heaven for equitable sharing.
Depends. If a person was born and bred in any of the above-mentioned countries he/she would prefer to stay long-term in your own home country, even for most of the elites.
Except for some citizens of 4) wanting to go to 5) for sociopolitical and economic reasons.
If there was an option for a Western country or an advanced country like Japan and SOUTH Korea, a lot of people would choose that instead.
In my opinion.
I’ll VOTE for the PAP any time.
We all know our neighbours wish our government to be voted out. Their hungry millions are getting restless lah after seeing what the PAP has done for the people of this resourceless, tiny, red dot over the years.
“Bad” example for our neighbours.
And I never doubted the “sincereity” of these anoynmous bloggers calling for the defeat of the PAP.
Me & Others NO so StuPiD lor.
The opposition deserves a chance to prove themselves. To the PAP, I say: “you have worked hard on these years – it’s time for you to take a well-deserved break!”
Life is good in Singapore. By importing many foreigners we have elevated ourselves to wealth and prestige our neighbors can only dream about.
Coming from another anonymous commenter, one can only hope that he himself is sincere.
//Clement Tan
Tell that to the mainland chinese.
This is only a stepping stone for them.
“Me & Others NO so StuPiD lor.”
ya lah, you stay that way and keep our neighbours at bay ok.
Me & Others also NO so StuPiD lor to believe your half-baked Ah Beng shit.
Just to make you wake up of how stupig you are, our neighbours just need to turn off the tap and maybe we will begin to fight among ourselves for the last few drops of water.
Don’t ever underestimate or look down on your own neighbours who will always be your neighbours whether you like it or not.
To “My Views”
The reasons why Spore has now got to resort to Casinos & Cheap Labour are precisely because of LKY & son and the whole PAP system governing the country.
Over the recent years, there has been libel cases against major International newspapers and magazines by LKY & son for defamation. They have offended some influential journalists out there. Once the word is out, it sends alarm bells in investors minds. If an investor is deciding between Hongkong and Spore, this very ‘small matter’ can be the deciding factor.
Rental or land use charges, a form of taxation by the ruling party, can also be a major put-off to investors. The PAP may be able to bully their own people into submission, but investors have a choice.
So my conclusion is the opposite of yours, vote out the PAP and we will have better chances of improving our economy along with a better quality of life.
Would the following policies appeal to Singaporeans:
1.Abolish conscription
2.Recognize gay marriage
3.Compulsory education to extend to secondary school level, remove all school subsidies, emphasis on humanities
4.Decriminalize drugs
5.Insular immigration policy
6.Abandon elections in favour of objective national testing
7.Deregulate media content; allow for absolute freedom of expression
8. Eliminate all taxes
9.Privatize healthcare
10.Privatize housing
11. Sterilize undesirables
Reply to #159
“Just to make you wake up of how stupig you are, our neighbours just need to turn off the tap and maybe we will begin to fight among ourselves for the last few drops of water.
Don’t ever underestimate or look down on your own neighbours who will always be your neighbours whether you like it or not. ”
Is that rizal? Don’t be shy lah.
Please don’t threaten your own country leh. We have NeWater & the Mirana Barrage water which you and your families are now using. Also the 2061 international water contract is legally binding. Otherwise I believe Malaysia would have turned off the tap a long time ago. Maybe, they also care for people like you so they kindly keep the water flowing. Right?
Hee!
we make choices in every stages of our lives:
- which secondary school to go to?
- to study poly or jc or clean toilet?
- what course to take in uni?
- choose the big boobs or cute girl?
do we get all success and happy endings everytime?
Of course no, but we know we have to choose and do something. Thats life, full of surprises, happy moments and little sad things.
No point to be in “wait and see” mode, thats mean let other people vote for the opposition or make spoil vote. If anything goes wrong, blame these groups of people and you yourself look “clean”.
Wake up and take the first step to make Singapore better, if not for yourself, do it for your friends, relatives or your kids.
“Would the following policies appeal to Singaporeans:
1. Abolish conscription”
Dare PAP put it this one reasonable non straw man proposition to a referendum?
I am all for privatizing HDBs, but with strict restrictions on sales to foreigners, or even via proxies.
“We have NeWater & the Mirana Barrage water which you and your families are now using. ”
I wonder if opening water treatment to individual private RO machines will be much more expensive than the economies of scales of Newater treatment plants. The costs incurred will be in testing on each machine on a routine basis.
“Sterilize undesirables”
The government has already done a bang up job on the undesirables called Singaporeans.
I really dont understand some people’s antipathy towards people of other races. I really don’t. Could it be a self-loathing at their own lack of identity?
By “undesirables” I’m referring to people with serious heritable diseases
OriginalResonance ,
You misinterpret what people have in mind to the extreme, and imply that two seemingly opposites could not co-exists. I’m just going to addressed some of the points.
1) Nobody is asking for absolute freedom of expression . You can have freedom of expression and regulated media at the same time in order to prevent children from seeing inappropriate scenes of obscenity , and the general public from watching programmes that would disrupt racial and religious harmony.
2) Personally, i have no problem with legalizing drugs that are less harmful than alcohol or cigarettes.
3) We have no right to tell gays & lesbians who they should marry.
4) To have subsidies on education is to put emphasis on humanities
5) Abolish MANDATORY conscription. Billions of dollars are wasted on people who do not wish to be in the army.
166) rizal on December 14th, 2009 11.10 pm -
2) Personally, i have no problem with legalizing drugs that are less harmful than alcohol or cigarettes.
# What sort of drugs then do you have in mind?
3) We have no right to tell gays & lesbians who they should marry.
#Are you serious? Show yourself for uttering this pronouncement and the ulamak will behead you for sure.
4) To have subsidies on education is to put emphasis on humanities
#If there were no subsidies we would be paying overseas rates or fees charged at private institutions in Singapore. And don’t forget our Malay students also get free education from primary to JC as well as ITE. They don’t pay school fees at all.
5) Abolish MANDATORY conscription. Billions of dollars are wasted on people who do not wish to be in the army.
#You must be a loco. We are not disturbed by others for 44 good years because we have a standing people’s army! Everyone knows our neighbourhood is not exactly a comfort zone. Remember one country invaded an unarmed E Timor in 1976, raped, looted and plundered, till the Australian army moved in. And some leaders in the neighbourhood simply love to brandish kris (dagger) to others and blow up defenceless girls. And their armies are NOT a multi-racial force if you are not blind to see. Anyway, we all support the Singapore Defence Force of national servicemen. Those who speak otherwise are foreigners or people with hidden agendas.
if PAP still continue to rule, there will be more pet shops ….. cos the people with brain will not want to have children to live in such a society …. it’s money money money … so their next alternative … buy a pet … cos not so expensive to raise … so invest in pet shop now …. better be fast if not NTUC will also start this business … anyway they alway go into business and compete with local businesses … why they don’t go overseas to compete? …. maybe local ‘bao chia’ … go oversea wait scare lose lah …
An eye opener! Love your article:) Didnt even know about the operation coldstorm etc.. cos it never appeared in our social studies books! I also cannot understand the justification (or lack of) of multi-million dollar salaries.
I think life in Singapore is good only if you have money. Else, life becomes miserable. I just wonder how the lower income earners are surviving- struggling, i believe. Its fast becoming (already is) a playground for the rich and famous. Whatever happened to the simple joys of a Singaporean life? Now its all about chasing for the gold.. forced tuition! supplementary lessons! CCAs bla bla.. go uni! get 1st class, get good job, make $$.. everythings $$$.
I just cant wait to get out of this place and the pathetic salary i have to work for in a color-bar environment with no, or little promotion!
rizal
I wasn’t addressing Singaporean’s “problems”. I was merely presenting my idea of utopia and see how you guys would react to it. Do you actually think I would ever bend backwards to pander to the whims of Singaporeans? Let it be known that I’m not an advocate of democracy. There’s a reason why I suggested that we do away with popularity contests or should I say, elections.
“1) Nobody is asking for absolute freedom of expression . You can have freedom of expression and regulated media at the same time in order to prevent children from seeing inappropriate scenes of obscenity , and the general public from watching programmes that would disrupt racial and religious harmony.”
I think race is an archaic concept and my emphasis on education will see to the eradication of it. However, I do realize that not many Singaporeans, at the moment, are smart enough to know that. But I’m gonna purge out the root of the problem anyway rather than to sweep it down the carpet. If individuals have a problem with other races, let them voice their displeasure, so that enlightened observers shall have the liberty to destroy their irrationality. Right now, we all seem to be co-existing harmoniously but are we integrated as one?
“3) We have no right to tell gays & lesbians who they should marry.”
Yes, we do just because governments ought to care about the well-being of society. What’s wrong with giving homosexuals equal rights anyway? LOL
“4) To have subsidies on education is to put emphasis on humanities”
Humanities are subjects that deal with human life as a whole e.g philosophy, anthropology, psychology etc. It’s not about being “humane” as you’ve insinuated. In my idealized society, there would be absolutely no taxes whatsoever. Governments derive their income from providing services in the security and education sectors. So why should they give discounts if they ought to provide a top class education, the bedrock of the nation? Say what you like about political systems like democracy, autocracy, communism, socialism, capitalism etc. the real influencing factor in society is education.
“# What sort of drugs then do you have in mind?”
Any drugs. People have the liberty to make choices, even if it hurt themselves. But I won’t allow them to. Because they would all be indoctrinated since young in schools to make certain choices skewed towards my ideals.
“#You must be a loco. We are not disturbed by others for 44 good years because we have a standing people’s army! Everyone knows our neighbourhood is not exactly a comfort zone. Remember one country invaded an unarmed E Timor in 1976, raped, looted and plundered, till the Australian army moved in. And some leaders in the neighbourhood simply love to brandish kris (dagger) to others and blow up defenceless girls. And their armies are NOT a multi-racial force if you are not blind to see. Anyway, we all support the Singapore Defence Force of national servicemen. Those who speak otherwise are foreigners or people with hidden agendas. ”
If you’ve served in the army, you would be able to tell the regulars from the nsf. The former do not whine as much. Because it’s just another job that they willingly COMMIT to. Note the emphasis on “commit”. It’s pure economics anyway. Conscription in peacetime hurts our economy. We would be better off if we just pay a certain segment of the population higher salaries to serve in the military and allow the rest to focus completely on their own endeavours. National slavery = chao keng, resentment, perfunctory efforts.
“There’s a reason why I suggested that we do away with popularity contests or should I say, elections.”
you are getting from bad to worth lah. no election, then who decides ? you hah or someone who knows how to use the hammer better ? suggestion somemore, i suggest you migrate to burma or north korea, plenty of opportunities to keep you satisfied.
“you are getting from bad to worth lah. no election, then who decides ? you hah or someone who knows how to use the hammer better ? suggestion somemore, i suggest you migrate to burma or north korea, plenty of opportunities to keep you satisfied. ”
Maybe you should read my posts before you embarrass yourself. I suggest you start with #161
“NeWater & the Mirana Barrage water”
ya loh, I knew people would say that lo how self-sufficient we are lo – as compared to 3cents for 1000 gallons of raw water lo and the wisdom of our older generation of leaders who knew what durian parties are all about.
“Also the 2061 international water contract is legally binding.”
so contractual lo ? we will be in more deep deep shit if we keep on behaving so legalistic lo.
“Maybe you should read my posts before you embarrass yourself. I suggest you start with #161″
aiyo, your posts are always well read lah. aiyoh. let me bring you back.
“Let it be known that I’m not an advocate of democracy. There’s a reason why I suggested that we do away with popularity contests or should I say, elections.”
not an advocate of democracy and should i say, elections. aiyoh, don’t tell me you mean various individual elections for each of the point you brought up in #161 lah.
anyway, we more flexible and change quite fast in the presence of good evidence and facts. don’t need to be embarrassed lah, sometimes we make mistakes and we learn lah – we are not god lah. have you heard of the word ‘exception to the rule’.
#175 one of the many sheeps produced by the Singapore system. I’m not gonna entertain you anymore if you fail to understand the concept of “objective national testing”. Is it any wonder that Singaporean students have one of the highest tests scores in the world and yet we’ve not produced a single nobel prize winner?
“#175 one of the many sheeps produced by the Singapore system.”
aiyoh, strangely and you beat me to this one, I thought about the same thing about you.
“objective national testing”
national ? and do you think we have quite a seizable foreign element here to skew your “objective national testing”.
“Is it any wonder that Singaporean students have one of the highest tests scores in the world and yet we’ve not produced a single nobel prize winner?”
n thank you very much for telling us. and hehe who is to blame. the educational system or us. hahahahahahah ?????????????
Believed me, would we be what we are now without LKY? if you ask me personally, I respect this guy, and in fact PAP, but I do have my reservation on the the younger Ministers or MPs, they are rather arrogant, but the policies that so far implemented are mainly for the citizens of Singapore.
Look at the so called recession, do we feel it? people are still rushing in for Condos, Food Courts & Shopping Malls so crowded…etc….
I am not a PAP supporter, but I felt that what are been provided for me is one of the better ones within this region. LoL
One & All,
No need long story. VOTE FOR PAP in the next GE………………………………………………..
AND GET SCREWED FOR THE NEXT FIVE YEARS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
When you say you cant vote for a party, you ought to be explaining why the party isnt worth voting for isnt it? I can concur with point 8, for it truly explains what PAP is lacking for governance. The rest of the arguments brought up however, could be mistakes that any ruling party can commit, not necessarily just PAP. Come on man, which government doesnt do cover-ups. While reading this, take it with a pinch of salt and use your analytical cognitive abilities.
I’m not saying the author isnt making sense. It’s just that all the arguments he presented aint reasons why PAP shouldnt be voted into governance. It’s more of what PAP has failed to do while in governance. Unless some other party can promise to do better and all the said-nonsense wouldnt occur, then honestly, this article cant really hold water.
“Look at the so called recession, do we feel it?”
you may not feel it lah. ask those who invested in those bond here bond there and insurance agents working for some big firm lo and those people who lost their jobs since lo and some men that you do not usually see in the void decks on normal weekdays in their casual wear are now doing so.
ask timasek lo whether they feel it lo. if they feel it, you think normal people don’t feel it leh. may you right, timasek don’t feel it bcos ah kong funds lah.
“people are still rushing in for Condos, Food Courts & Shopping Malls so crowded…etc….”
haha !!! oh this group people just like you lo who do not feel it lah.
@breaky
The Singapore we have today is definitely not the result of the efforts of a single man. The success of early Singapore is the result of a charismatic leader with a superb team. The architect behind the economic growth was Goh Keng Swee, the man behind the HDB story is Lim Kim San, and the man working the ground and casting the key vote that made LKY into the PM for the first time is Toh Chin Chye. In according proper respect to each contributor, we must also realize that the Elder Lee is not quite as all knowing and all capable as he is often made out to be.
I think that there are no other political party that I can trust to lead Singapore now. But the issue at hand is not the casting down of the PAP, but the voting of more opposition into the parliament to curb the arrogance and monitor the investments made with our precious reserves.
Just because we are doing better than our neighbors is no excuse for complacency – we should be asking ourselves : are we in a better position than we are 10-20 years ago? Reports have shown the middle and lower income families facing wage stagnation and regression while our leaders’ pay eclipse the highest paid leaders of the first world.
A extended monopoly of power breeds stagnation and decay – history stands testimony to this stark truth. For the sake of Singapore, for the sake of Singaporeans, and for the sake of the PAP even, we need to get more opposition into the Parliament.
Hi guys, just heard over the radio about the implementing a new rule comes next March, something regarding the set 24 mths maximum subscription limit for internet service, and if anyone breaks the 2 yrs contract would not be penalised. Wow, that’s exactly 24 mths to the next coming 2012 GE, not bad hah, how desperate one can really be. Suspect they might just completely shut down the internet communication and leaving you ppl with no choice but to except and relying on the MSM on whatever these MIW plans to tell you all the news they wish.
Time for quiz of the day: “”Three women were brought to the Singapore General Hospital, each in the same condition and needing a blood transfusion.
The first, a Southeast Asian was given the transfusion but died a few hours later.
The second, a South Asian was also given a transfusion but died a few days later.
What happened to the third woman, who’s an East Asian?”
184) OriginalResonance — the old man obviously know what’s going to happen in the future, they got it all planned out. what most singaporeans don’t realised is that they know they will always be few steps ahead.
but they underestimated one thing. well.. we will witness how all the magnificent events unfold in the near future right in front of everyone’s eyes. ;)
all i can say is that, you all are in for a rude awakening. they have done such a good job that by the time everyone can even grasp what is going on, it will be too little too late. :)
165) OriginalResonance on December 14th, 2009 10.17 pm
By “undesirables” I’m referring to people with serious heritable diseases
All hail Dr Mengele!
@186) Confused Citizen on December 16th, 2009 8.32 am
Don’t forgot Hitler too. Nor the intellectually disadvantaged under the Mother Graduate scheme. Wait, let’s not stop. What about the economically disadvantaged locals when competing with FT/FWs? In short, welcome to Pandora’s Box.
@171) OriginalResonance on December 15th, 2009 8.28 am
>>If you’ve served in the army, you would be able to tell the regulars from the nsf. The former do not whine as much. Because it’s just another job that they willingly COMMIT to. Note the emphasis on “commit”.
Do you know that saf regulars are CAREER SOLDIERS (yes, they are paid salaries, GDP bonus, 13 month AWS and other goodies), while NSF are doing national service (and they ARE NOT paid salaries, bonus, and other goodies, they are ONLY GIVEN NS allowances)
@180) Poloboy on December 15th, 2009 1.58 pm
Sure, if those mistakes are made by normal government, but do you know that pap government is not NORMAL.. pap claimed that they are TALENTS, and that they need to be paid SKY-HIGH salaries.
So, with such TALENT, and SKY-HIGH pay, then I (tax payers) expect NO MISTAKES (yup, not even 1, human or not)..
@184) OriginalResonance on December 15th, 2009 10.22 pm
>>Time for quiz of the day: “”Three women were brought to the Singapore General Hospital, each in the same condition and needing a blood transfusion.
The East Asian woman will die, sooner or later, everybody does.. :)
Just looking at the salary and the performance of the MPs to date.
It is time for a change. Not just doing it our of spite or malice but doing it for a new beginning.
I am contemplating moving to a non walkover GRC just to vote against the current government.
Some of the MP made many times the salary than Obama.
At least Obama has a Nobel Prize, what are boasting off?
“Do you know that saf regulars are CAREER SOLDIERS (yes, they are paid salaries, GDP bonus, 13 month AWS and other goodies), while NSF are doing national service (and they ARE NOT paid salaries, bonus, and other goodies, they are ONLY GIVEN NS allowances) ”
Which explains my call for the abolition of national slavery. What’s your point, really?
Refer to (12) by (My Views). Taiwan and Japan have natural resources? Japan was flatten during WWII. What natural resources do Japan have? She have to sent super tankers to ship oil from the Gulf states. If Japan have natural resources she would have won WWII. It was America trade embargo that led to Japan attacking other
Asian countries for natural resources. Taiwan have natural resources? Every year, at least one tyhpoon hit the eastern side of Taiwan. The only natural resources there is granites. Central Taiwan is made up of mountains. On the western side I am unable to see what natural resources Taiwan have that can help made a great impact on Taiwan economy. It is the hard working people of the two countries that make the great different. So is Singapore. So is Hongkong and South Korea. In the past people say China will be in chaos if chairman Mao pass away but China got better and better after Mao. Chairman Deng, Zhang Zeming and the present chairman Hu. Today China economy have surpass the four “Asian Tigers” and soon might overtake Japan as
asia economic superpower. Suppose if all the PAP MPs die at the same time of hard attack and all foreign investors pull out of Singapore and people like “My Views” migrate, our island state will not go down. There are other businessmen ready to take over the business. The same hardworking Singaporean workers will be around. It is a matter of whether they are given an equal opportunity.
sorry, it should be heart attack, not hard attack.
In the end, there are people who will still vote for PAP, such as:
http://www.bmw-sg.com/forums/lounge/37043-my-vote-counts-10-reasons-why-i-cannot-vote-pap-next-election.html
Dear OriginalResonance.
“In my idealized society, there would be absolutely no taxes whatsoever. Governments derive their income from providing services in the security and education sectors.”
I began wondering, if this in fact meant that, services offered and bought are those offered to the public. Which in fact would mean in your form of utopia, capital gains can be used to purchase public services. To avoid confusion, the gist of it would mean that you can use money to pay for the services of the security forces, you can pay for above and beyond services from the military. Are you in fact suggesting that you can pay them money to do e.g. a ritual cleansing of the “people with serious heritable diseases”? And afterward, pay the education sectors huge sums of money to “white wash” the incident?
But why stop there, there are exhaustive amounts of money spent in other public services too, e.g. The communication and arts sector, the finance department, the transport ministry. Are you in fact suggesting that the security and educational sectors bear the huge burden of forming the whole governmental budget? This would translate to a relatively high price for security and educational services. Wouldn’t this be the same as having taxes? Or for that matter in your utopia, the government only has 2 sectors, security and education.
To paraphrase you. “I believe that education is the real influencing factor in society”
To the uninitiated, this paraphrased sentence sums up what many would believe in on any given moment when it is uttered. But again, this is pure rhetoric. I do not think the education that you are going to advocate is going to have “humane” ideas as you had earlier stated. Humanities are subjects about the human life as a whole. And without the “humane” intention, are we going to be human?
“Because they would all be indoctrinated since young in schools to make certain choices skewed towards my ideals.”
This statement when read over a few times, seems to have been ripped out of the subject on sociology (another humanity subject i think). Or it could have just as easily been torn off a Hitler Youth guide book. What I would like to see is a nation wide program that would allow you to encode the people’s mind with the right decision making process. I would venture far enough to say, that they might even decide to vote the opposition, should that day come when you have your chance to indoctrinate the young.
Towards the issue of NSF vs Regulars, I have always thought of the difference between the two is the ranks. Mostly the ranks of NSF personnel are from recruit, pte, lcp, cpl, 3sg, 2sg, rarely 1sg, 2lta, lta and sometimes cpt. To differentiate them by the level of commitment is to make sweeping comments. Just as it is as easy to find a regular who whines as much as a NSF, you should not find it problematic to find a NSF who is more committed than a regular. Again not so easily brushed away as a problem that crops up due to economic reasons. Does paying a NSF more get you a more committed serviceman? Likewise does it mean that you can pay a regular less since he/she is already committed to the service of the country?
@196) curious citizen on December 17th, 2009 8.24 am
“…..Towards the issue of NSF vs Regulars,….”
Even till now, NO MINISTER has dared to address the issue of NS/Reservist done by true-Singaporeans and what economical status that brings to them after 2.5 + 13 years service.
I did more than 50% of my NS time in jungles and shit-holes, eating C-rations — really about 50% of 2.5 years. I have yet to meet a Regular with the same experience. Yup, NS is the original breeding ground for cheap labor.
“…Likewise does it mean that you can pay a regular less since he/she is already committed to the service of the country? …”
You are so kind not to mentioned another possibility — we may pay a person millions-buck salary but we only get zil of of that person. Ok, maybe a commitment “not to be corrupted” (whatever that means…).
“To avoid confusion, the gist of it would mean that you can use money to pay for the services of the security forces, you can pay for above and beyond services from the military. Are you in fact suggesting that you can pay them money to do e.g. a ritual cleansing of the “people with serious heritable diseases”? And afterward, pay the education sectors huge sums of money to “white wash” the incident?”
You pay to receive the service that the government provides, in their own terms. I understand your concerns but they would be duly addressed. You can’t just say that you’re willing to pay an astronomical sum to get the government to destroy your enemies. If you go to a private doctor, could you get him to administer lethal poison into your body and that you would pay any amount for such a service? No. Of course there would be a few corrupt quacks out there for you to choose from. But as per usual, I think education can rectify that.
“Or for that matter in your utopia, the government only has 2 sectors, security and education. ”
Yes indeed. Intellectuals shall have the freedom to act as they wish while feeling secure, knowing that the government can see to the chaos that would ensue from such near-anarchy.
“And without the “humane” intention, are we going to be human? ”
It’s a matter of semantics. To you, “humane” is to sanctify the race and treat every human being as a sacred entity. To me, “humane” is to serve the self-interests of individual men. The distinction is such that your ideology actively eschews harm on others while mine is rather ambivalent about it. Hurt people as you wish and make sure you can bear with the consequences. Savagery will only get one ousted from the fraternity. Which is why it’s moral to be nice, not because there is some great purpose like saving the world from hunger or something.
“This statement when read over a few times, seems to have been ripped out of the subject on sociology (another humanity subject i think). Or it could have just as easily been torn off a Hitler Youth guide book.”
Are you advocating that we do not teach babies anything and just leave them to their devices? Was it out of your own volition that you’ve decided to learn English? Or were you born in a society where English is the standard for communication? There’s always a positive slant to pejoratives, if you look hard enough that is.
“Just as it is as easy to find a regular who whines as much as a NSF, you should not find it problematic to find a NSF who is more committed than a regular. Does paying a NSF more get you a more committed serviceman? Likewise does it mean that you can pay a regular less since he/she is already committed to the service of the country? ”
It’s based on anecdotal evidence. It’s not hard science but it can be insightful nevertheless. Reason being that there is a confluence of factors in deciding what makes a person commit. Money is just one of them. It’s not the gratification that money provides that motivates regulars, at least not to me. It’s the idea that one is performing a profession as opposed to a liability of sorts. And money is one of the most salient indicators of the importance of a job. Pay good money and you will at least convince people of the prestige that military service brings.
“Does paying a NSF more get you a more committed serviceman? Likewise does it mean that you can pay a regular less since he/she is already committed to the service of the country? ”
Paying NSFs higher pay retroactively will probably not make them more committed. But advertising high salaries in the recruitment process will. It’s a matter of perspectives. Increasing NSF pay = “We shall be nicer to you from now on. Enjoy.” Advertising NS as a high paying full-time job = “We only accept elites. Are you up for the challenge?”