Wednesday, December 9, 2009 8:13

Transport subsidies for the disabled – passing the buck?

In Main Stories, Our Columnists, Top Story, Uniquely Spore • 1,684 views • 49 Comments

Exclusive coverage:
Starting from today (9 Dec), The Online Citizen will have exclusive coverage the United Nations Climate Change Conference (COP15) which is being held in Copenhagen, Denmark. The reports are by members of ECO Singapore, writing exclusively for The Online Citizen. Climate Change articles will be listed under TOC International.

Leong Sze Hian

The art of evading responsibility

I refer to the report “Renewed calls for public transport subsidies for the disabled” (CNA, Dec 3). It states that

“The Public Transport Council (PTC) said there are agencies which provide transport help, specifically for the disabled to get around conveniently. The National Council of Social Service, for example, administers the Land Transport Authority’s Cares Fund, which provides reimbursements to disabled persons for journeys to-and-fro home for employment or schooling purposes”.

On reading the above report, I was under the impression that the LTA has a fund to reimburse transport costs for the disabled.

However, when I read the LTA’s press release for its ‘LTA Cares’ fund, I realized that it was actually the staff of LTA who were committed to raise $120,000 per year, for three years, from 2007 to 2009.

So, it is not money that is coming from LTA.

Organisations providing essential public services are responsible for helping those in need. The current trend of passing the buck onto their staff, to raise funds in their personal capacity, is not healthy.

If this is allowed to continue, there may come a day when our Members of Parliament have to raise funds to help the poor, in the absence of funding from the Government!

Incidentally, LTA is the only winner of the President Social Service Award, formal group in 2006.

Using the 4% disability rate provided by the Singapore Disability Sports Council, there are about 150,000 disabled persons in Singapore, if we estimate the current population to be roughly less than 4 million.

“In Singapore, the number of actual disabled individuals is four per cent of its population and that is by the traditional approach, many of whom fall squarely within the main categories of physical impairment, vision impairment, hearing impairment and intellectual impairment”.

Does the $120,000 LTA Cares fund mean that less than a dollar per year is available to help per disabled person?

Since the fund is only for employment and schooling, what about those who need to travel for other reasons? Visiting friends and family, for instance.

As to the PTC denying that it administers any form of subsidy, while indicating that SBS Transit and SMRT are ‘exploring the possibility of concessionary travel for the disabled’, are they not passing the buck to the transport operators as well?

With the responsibility of providing subsidies being passed on from one public organisation to another in a constant chain of ‘arrows’, it is the disabled that are at the losing end. Can any public operator provide any detailed study they have done, in considering the implications and viability of providing some level of subsides?

SMRT especially, has no excuse in stinging on concessions when they register record profits almost year after year! Just look at the excuse they have issued yet again:

“SMRT said that any concessionary travel is effectively cross-subsidised by full-fare paying commuters. Hence, there is a need to exercise prudence in granting travel concessions”

Since it was also mentioned in the same article that the public has been mostly receptive of the idea of subsidised fares for the disabled, ‘exercising prudence’ for fear of angering the public seems more of an excuse to scrimp on essential public goods. Is it not obvious that subsidies for the disabled will be cross-subsidised by full-fare consumers, as is the case all over the world?

Though SMRT takes pride in being a good socially responsible corporate citizen (Corporate Social Responsibility), and has done many charitable activities, their day-to-day policies show otherwise.

Whilst I would like to commend the LTA staff for their efforts in raising funds for the LTA Cares fund, they are contributing to a systemic problem by being at the receiving end of the ‘buck’. It should be the responsibility of public organisations to assist the disabled in society, not private persons working in public organisations.

How can the decision-makers at the PTC, LTA and SMRT look squarely into the eyes of disabled persons, while dishing out the same excuses, almost every other year?

When we as a society become overly focused on profitability at the expense our compassion, we may lose a bit of what makes us human, in the first place!

1. The art of passing the buck
  2. 10 years – and still no public transport subsidy for disabled
  3. Disabled or not, we are Singaporeans
  4. Transport Ministry and PTC wash their hands off public transport subsidy for people with disability issue
  5. Don’t pass the buck to Ang Mo Kio residents

49 Comments

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

XP
Dec 9, 2009 10:25

and they’re making big profits every year.

how preposterous; a government-regulated corporation body, making record-high profits at the expense of giving disabled persons a hard time.

when you’re linked to the government, this isn’t charity anymore, it’s become an obligated responsibility.

Palpitation shockwave
Dec 9, 2009 10:30

The issue, in my view is also contributed by the people’s Apathetic attitude towards social issues.

Apathetic can be realised 2 ways:
1. consciously choose to be apathetic Behaviorally. These are not apathetic by nature. For some reasons, they choose to behave totally like an apathetic person. They voice up only in their dreams when they sleep talk.

2. born-apathetic hopeless case. Beyond hope of change.

Apathy affected the society. Look at all the articles in this blog. is apathy not a cause of the problem if not contributing to the problem? When people show disinterest in issues, how much progress can be made? unless it hurts their pockets like the Mini Bon cases.

lim
Dec 9, 2009 10:42

Basically, we need to effect CHANGE, and the only way is via our votes.. With competition for seat of power, I am sure that the one in power, be it pap or opposition, will fall over themselves to SERVE the people, unlike current situation where absolute power is invested in a single party (pap), and the people are serving the elites…

So citizens, do the right thing with your votes.. The idea is check and balance, and let the oppositions have the chance to grow..

helpless and disabled
Dec 9, 2009 10:55

#3 lim,

by Definition of Apathy, apathetic people will not even read social political blogs.
These cannot be reached.
You may disagree. But then the burden of proof will then be on you.

XP
Dec 9, 2009 11:58

and from what springs this apathy you speak of? in effect, it’s the ruling party’s clamp on the whole socio-political atmosphere that advocated, if not created this apathy.

if, for example, the media were to be allowed free reign and criticism against government officials or the policies they effect were to be allowed, and opposition parties be given to do as they wish, then i’m definite singaporeans would naturally become less apathetic.

as it is, the only place fit enough to be ‘democratic’ is the speaker’s corner.

tell me how would one expect the eradication of such a social phenomenon when citizens are confined to a small grass patch monitored by cctv cameras; how can you expect those that’re ‘apathetic behaviourally’ to come out of their shells when democracy in such a climate warrants hefty risks?

Tetty
Dec 9, 2009 12:23

Taiji quan(太极拳) at its best.

Its founder Zhang Sanfeng(张三丰) would be so proud.

eredication
Dec 9, 2009 12:25

It’s the usual case of political and social tai-chi very common to the chinese people. For instance, a complaint about noise in the hdb district can get tai-chi from the town council, to the police, to the NEA to the NGOs, to the LTA and blah blah blah.

Or a case of food poisoning can get tai-chi from police to AVA to NEA to NMP to grassroots community to HSA to CGH to even SPCA or Singtel.

Our own governmental organisations are so apathetic and always shirk responsibility. Sucks to be a commoner whose needs and concerns are seldom heard or addressed (except when it comes close to elections time)

Tan Cheng Hua
Dec 9, 2009 12:35

Now, as far as I know, disabled people, mostly, earn very little. I know of one person who earns about $150 a month. He has to take public transport and pay for his food as well. $150 hardly enables hi to barely survive even.

So, it’s astounding to me that the PTC, LTA, and operators do not want to give them subsidies.

I mean, come on, if we can spend S$10 million to “integrate” new citizens, surely we can spend a little to subsidise these less fortunate of our society.

Where’s the heart?

leslie
Dec 9, 2009 12:44

so let’s just assume that the daily subsidy per disabled person is S$3, which is hardly enough, especially if you are wheelchair bound and need help to move around by taxis.

you’re not just talking about visiting friends, but also visiting hospitals and clinics for your physiotherapy and check ups.

there are approximately 150,000 disabled persons in Singapore. multiply the $3 by 150,000 by 365 days and the total amount of subsidy that we need to set aside for transportation would be about S$1.65million.

Is that too much for us to ask of the government? Is that too much to ask from the transport companies, when we are spending so much more on “integrating” foreigners in our country?

Why not get each multi millionaire politician/minister to donate 20% of their salary to a fund for this? That should be sufficient.

amisingaporen
Dec 9, 2009 12:51

They have been cutting subsidies on almost every services,
health, education , housing etc that its almost like you are paying
taxes for nothing.
The Govt motto has since been ” You die your business”
They can afford to lose multibillions to help oversea banks and
institutions, but when its taking care of the welfare of the less
fortunate, they are stingy
Our MSMs make the heatlh minister sound so generous
when he says he considering using Medisave for our health screening.
Does it occur to him that we are also using OUR MONEY?

anakin
Dec 9, 2009 13:00

If you think this is a tai-chi, then try to organise a public gathering, even worse. One agency only, public licencing body under SPF, but u wait long long and finally a few days before event, they will say cannot without giving any reasons. But if PCF do it then its okay no red tape. So this bureacracy is designed to keep what gahmen does not want to do out without actually banning it. Like this disabled thing, they clearly do not want to spare the funds coz no profit mah so create red tape lah….anyone ask gahmen they can easily say we never say no mah….

lim
Dec 9, 2009 13:16

@4) helpless and disabled

I think we all know it is increasing tough leading lives in singapore, so even though some (or majority) of people don’t read social/political blogs, I am sure they would have come across uncles discussing issues in Kopi-tiam, markets, etc…

I am sure that they are experiencing the squeeze in mrts/buses, the increasing crowds in food courts, shopping centres..

So unless they are oblivious of what’s going on around them, I am sure that people are becoming pissed off with current leaders…

Anyway, we can only tell once the votes are cast… Whether we want more of the same, or CHANGE (at least an opportunity at CHANGE)..

DSFSFD
Dec 9, 2009 13:20

last sunday there is a charity show that raise over 3 million on channel U.

charity like this will help to the needy for their transport?

and the government will also give another 3 million to match the donations?

gemami
Dec 9, 2009 13:22

We have to be careful what we mean by disabled when arguing for or against an issue relating to disabilities. For example, most disabled commuters of public transport have to pay for their travels, while those who are visually sighted travel for free. So what makes the blind more worthy of such privilege over the others? Why can’t the hearing-impaired, or limb-amputee be accorded the same free-travel privilege?

In the coming years, we are going to see a higher population of newly disabled citizens and passengers. One does not need to be overly clever to know that a graying population brings with it a whole host of problems, one of which is restricted mobility. Old folks will require not only specially customized infrastructures but also special subsidies to allow them to travel from one point to another. Most importantly, it must not be at the expense of fellow commuters.

This is not the case at the moment. Our buses and trains have been customized to be handicap-friendly, but truly, at whose expense, if not the elderly fit commuter, who has to give up his/her seat to another who is now hampered by bodily movements.

So yes, I agree that there is an ongoing bucket-passing game, not limited to what Leong SH has expressed above, but also among the various ministries, that seem to cater to only what each ministry deems the right thing to do – without some sort of harmony, or synergy – to get the best integrated solution, so that the solution fits all across the board.

There are so many ministries in such a small country like Singapore that I don’t even know which ministry is administering to what. For example, the Ministry of Home Affairs and the Ministry of Community Development; what is it that each of these ministry is overseeing.

Example: I am a Malay citizen having problem with my unfriendly Indian neighbor. Who should I approach? HDB? Ministry of Home Affairs? Ministry of Community Development? or; Ministry for Muslim Affairs? No wonder it is so easy to pass the bucket so that at the end of the merry-go-round, one would be so tired to ask for help. Perhaps that’s what the labyrinth is meant to achieve – to render no help.

David
Dec 9, 2009 13:26

I hope everyone take this matter seriously. We will soon become old folks or handicap due to old age or sickness. This issue must be addressed soonest possible to help pre-65 Singaporeans in future. We must not allow PAP and their ministers to continue sitting in ivory towers collection profits from all these profiteering establishments thru various directorship or shareholders and forgot about this week policies and next year challenges to help many poor and needy. I will be voting in alternative parties to bring parliament back to its sense and passion.

Ohnani
Dec 9, 2009 13:30

The transport companies have their reasons for doing so you know.

I point you to certain facts gleaned from a cursory glance at their websites

For SMRT
23 January
SMRT net profit grew 7.6% to $41.2m for third quarter FY2009
24 April
FY2009 SMRT net profit grew 8.5% to $162.7m due to increased operating profit and government budget measures
31 July
SMRT delivers net profit of $48.2m for first quarter FY2010
30 October
SMRT reports net profit of $52.8m for second quarter FY2010

SBS Transit
Profit after tax
2004 – 49 mil
2005 – 51.5 mil
2006 – 56.1mil
2007 – 50 mil
2008 – 40.6 mil

I remember a speech by the Government on how we should not begrudge the little profit our transport companies make. Though i cannot seem to remember who said it..

As private companies, they are beholden to their shareholders. Any funds or subsidies given must in the end be accounted for to them.

Could it be that they actually want to spend a lot of money giving back to the community but cannot due to this accountability?

Temasek Holdings owns 54.5% of SMRT Corporation as at 3 June 2009.
I cannot find the figures for ComfortDelgro but it is believed to be higher than 50%
The rest of the shareholders are believed to be Government-Linked companies (GLCs). (Anyone with more concise figures feel free to correct me)

As we all know, Temasek Holdings is a private entity which the Singapore Government has NO CONTROL OVER WHATSOEVER. It is just an investment company WHOLELY OWNED by the Singapore Government. How can the Government tell it what to do?

So i believe our highly compassionate and caring government’s hands are tied in this case. They may want to subsidise but are unable to compel the shareholders (WHICH THEY OWN) to agree.

Sigh.

lim
Dec 9, 2009 13:56

@16)

Hope you are being sarcastic….

Well TH is private since it suits the govt to say so, but then govt can inject cash into TH.. Wonder where does govt get the cash from? Certainly not because govt generated “profits”, so it is from taxes collected, which is public fund..

sturmtruppen
Dec 9, 2009 14:14

I think Temasek Holdings is a feeder company of funds…

funds originally from taxes, GST, CPF etc etc…

Since Singapore Gov’t does not own it…thus this means Singapore Gov’t is just a middle man.

Looks like a black hole is own by somebody and this black hole i believe other return pittances or bits & pieces back to Singaporeans via PAP Singapore Gov’t…

The weird thing is the original money came from Singaporean citizens/PRs years and years ago were use to create TH, GIC, Public Transport coy etc etc…

And now Singaporeans have no say or stack in it….when the original money use were ours and our hard working self sacrificing fore fathers own…

Oh i forget….as some PAP ASSHOLE SAID of singaporeans….we are quitters, cannot think outside the box [No thanks to the singapore education system and propangande conditioning from young force down our throats], whiners…etc etc…

Many of our citizens have paid / sacrifice too much or gave up or pack up….we can only speak of the injustice in forums like TOC or others…

And we have lost loved ones and good friends who try their very best….but the odds and obstacles set up artificially via so called “leegalised” laws and compliant unthinking obedient drones to these un-ethical laws have made us hurt in heart, mind, body and soul….

For the unspoken, the lost and the true…i append the below…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yE-49Bm_DHI

PAP singapore gov’t is no longer the gov’t that truely cares for its own citizens. All because of an over-age man who refuses to let go….and who doesn’t recognize those who were with him that also contribute to making singapore what it is.

It is too painful. Too heart breaking. The humanity lost made by others who are self-serving and too foolish….all that glitters in the end will just turn into gold dust and for what…short term goals at the expense of humanity and its future generations.

Ω李
Dec 9, 2009 14:17

“As we all know, Temasek Holdings is a private entity which the Singapore Government has NO CONTROL OVER WHATSOEVER. It is just an investment company WHOLELY OWNED by the Singapore Government. How can the Government tell it what to do?”

In other words PM Lee cannot tell his wife how to run Temasek. Even it is into the ground.

popcorn
Dec 9, 2009 14:40

I am an elderly retiree who unfortunately am stricken with many health problems, and need many medical and physio appointments. When I requsted for an elevator (for only one side of overhead bridge to save costs) at the overhead crossing at Juncture 8 to get to the MRT Station, the office of the Meet the people
Sessions told me LTA has no space to build the electric escalator.
Why then there is a one person escalator built for the Far East Plaza pedestrian
bridge at Scotts Road. There is space constraint on this particular Road as well.
Sadly i could not afford a car, and have to struggle up and down the bridge with my painful arthritic body.
Tourists and younger shoppers matter more.

prettyplace
Dec 9, 2009 15:12

Bring in Competition in Parliment….then we can see changes…..

If competion can bring about better outcomes for consumers…and we Singaporeans are consumers of govt public goods…then we should allow competition to prevail in election and vote for oppositions.

It is silly not to provide free transport for the disabled. However, i have to agree with gemami…..who are these people, they have to be defined…..and given such a concession.
Perhaps the govt is scared to define, who these people are. They in fact might not even know how to define. I don’t see most of them qualified, anyway.

Such a minor problem and see how they work around it.

Ravi Philemon
Dec 9, 2009 15:28

gemami@14 & prettyplace@21: The disabled in Singapore are members of one society or another and a public transport subsidy for them can be easily administered through the DDR ID scheme: http://www.ncss.org.sg/social_service/DDR_FAQ.asp#a

sgcynic
Dec 9, 2009 16:37

“How can the decision-makers at the PTC, LTA and SMRT look squarely into the eyes of disabled persons, while dishing out the same excuses, almost every other year?”
From the TOC article “Transport Ministry and PTC wash their hands off public transport subsidy for people with disability issue”, we gather that these organizations don’t even want to meet the handicapped, much less look them in the eye.

“When we as a society become overly focused on profitability at the expense our compassion, we may lose a bit of what makes us human, in the first place!” I recalled NE line charges more because it cost more to build and is less profitable to run (not true anymore!). The argument by the government then was it would not be fair for passengers of the other line to cross-subsidize those using the NE line. In fact this policy is true for all government initiatives and organizations. End up they all make surpluses (profits) from the people and have fat reserves (e.g. Town Councils). This often harped policy of not cross-subsidizing breeds a calculative, selfish mindset. You practice such a rule if you follow cold hard economics and run a profit-seeking corporation. It should not be the case when we are talking about a country that cares for its people. Why cannot some departments that generate healthy surplus use that to offset other departments so that the burden to the people is alleviated? There should be no issue so long as the overall budget is balanced and healthy. What is the point of generating record surpluses only to lock them away for posterity and only to lose massively by punting in “long term investments”. Uniquely Singapore?

What Change?
Dec 9, 2009 17:16

I remember when the MRT was first put up, then transport minister Yeo Ning Hong said he’s rather the govt pay for disabled persons’ taxi rides than make the MRT disabled-accessible. More cost-effective, he said.

Yang
Dec 9, 2009 17:58

All of you vote for PAP in the past. So don’t complain because all of you will have to ” PAY AND PAY” till you broke. This is so simple.

Vote for the change if you want to change this system.

Nature to take its course
Dec 9, 2009 23:08

12) lim on December 9th, 2009 1.16 pm @4) helpless and disabled

“I am sure that they are experiencing the squeeze in mrts/buses, the increasing crowds in food courts, shopping centres..”

I look around, go around singapore. I look at the Expos. I look at the MRTs.
I realise that currently the infrastructure already very crowded. Maybe many locals have gotten used to it. Maybe many from 3rd worlds don’t mind. But we cannot run away from the fact that 1st worlds need to have 1st world standard.
How would overcrowding affect quality of life?

Is this the environment you aspire your child to live in?
Would their future be full of Pressure ? How much more intense than what we went through? Are all humans born the same? Can all take it? Is it their fault if they cannot take it? Who respect a loser in a rat race? If you fall behind, would anyone pitty you? Would people not blame you for not putting in enough effort even if you have done all you can? Are all born the same?

I also worry about apathetic mentality. i suspect apathetic people, those either by choice or by nature, would not have put effort to explain the complexities or complications of issues to their less educated elders who do not read due to illiteracy. Many old people happen to be the generation that ….

Would these even know what has happened or what is gonna come their way?

Happy new year in advance.

agongkia
Dec 9, 2009 23:41

24)What change?
You reminded me of someone who passed away last month.He was told to take a cab instead when he tried to take public transport for a medical appointment,even he has his wife with him to carry the wheel chair.Sad to see that the sick and disabled who are unable to work and yet need to pay for medical bills ,are seen as a burden nowadays. Not to mention subsidy.

Nathane Keyes
Dec 9, 2009 23:55

Its not surprising to me that singaporeans are questioning the system.
afterall more are educated than earlier generations.

I am not surprised that singaporeans are more demanding than before.

rightly so. The is said to be not a mediocre performance team.
By virtue of this, people tend to expect more. Again, i am not surprised.

vis-a-vis people who originate from 3rd worlds.

of course they like what they see. maciam like its a steal. a big bargain!
they luv it. they compare with maybe a 3rd world.

1st world capital cities all if not most have superb infrastructure and amenities and standards .

So, again i am not surprised many from 3rd world have good reviews.

At the same time, i am not surprised that native singaporeans who grew up with this country are questioning. Their standards grew in tandem with the country which reached 1st world standard led by what is called a non-Mediocre team of highest paid top grade civil servants.

So, its also to no surprise that many native citizens voice up criticisms of the system.

So, i expect that if more from 3rd worlds would flock here, replacing those who left, would it not lead to a situation where citiens criticise and expect less ( but not least) ?

I can only wonder.

I wonder what future awaits us to surprise us in 2010? What is to come our way?

ram
Dec 10, 2009 0:01

Cross subsidy already exists in Government. The high income earners are taxed higher, pay more taxes than they consume from the government. The difference is used to cross subsidise those who do not pay any taxes.

The reason given by SMRT for not cross-subsidising is lame. The general cummuting public does not object to concessionary travel for physically impaired. Why can’t SMRT listen to the customers and proceed with concessionary travel.

The real reason for not implementing concession travel is that it may affect their multi-million dollar salaries and bonuses.

Cheong Wing Lee
Dec 10, 2009 0:06

Most Singaporeans will find it hard to believe. In Vancouver, there is a transport company called The Handy Dart that provide transportation for the handicaps. The buses are equipped to handle wheel chairs patients as well. They will bring the handicaps from their homes to hospitals, supermarkets, friend’s houses and anywhere within city limits for a token fee of C$2.50. and back to their homes. They are better than public buses because the Handy Dart buses will come to your home at the appointed time and bring you directly to your destinations. No walking to bus stops or MRT stations and changing of buses.

For patients who are unable to get to hospitals for regular treatments like dialysis, rehab programs, etc. the government will reimburse the patients for the taxi fares.

I know of a friend who is waiting for a kidney transplant but live in a town hundreds of miles from Vancouver. When a kidney that matches his was found, he was flown immediately to Vancouver at government’s expense.

All seniors above the age of 65 travel for free on public transport, both buses and ferries. Some of these ferries fees cost almost C$100 one way.

That is 1st world status, compassion for the needy.

SM Goh predicted in his 1996 National Day speech that the Canadian welfare system will collapse and fail. It is now thirteen years after his prediction and the Canadian system is still functioning well and will be going on well after he is gone.

sgcynic
Dec 10, 2009 0:41

If I know the government will take care of me, I will not begrude higher taxes paid. However, not this government. Coincidentally soon after raising the GST to help the needy, they raise their own salary. I don’t care if we have billions of surplus, because I don’t feel I have a stake in it (though it’s mine and all Singaporeans). Heck, I’m sure we all feel that our CPF are not ours to hold and touch in years to come.

Lawrence
Dec 10, 2009 1:20

This revelation is refreshing. It’s no wonder the social service sector is often praised as the “many helping hands” model that prevents Singapore from becoming a welfare state. With many hands, it’s easier to pass the buck! Ingenious.

heaven got eyes
Dec 10, 2009 2:58

These people who refused to help the handicap …maybe they can’t feel how & why they should subsidise & help them … if they have family member who are handicap in some way then will they see the problem … so i hope more handicap cases happen to their family to open their eyes in their heart.

man against the tank
Dec 10, 2009 8:49

“If we are to build a cohesive society, then individuals must form lasting ties with their larger community. To feel passionately about Singapore is to care about more than just those things that directly affect our families, our friends, and ourselves. It is to be strongly committed to the well-being of our fellow Singaporeans, and to show compassion to those who are weaker than ourselves.”

- SM Goh Chok Tong in his National Day Rally Speech in 2001.

The Term ” ACTION SPEAKS LOUDER THAN WORDS” is very applicable here.
I guess the compassion and caring responsibility is for the peasants to bear…not the immortals.

Makan all-u-can glutton house
Dec 10, 2009 9:44

#29 Cheong Wing Lee ,
“SM Goh predicted in his 1996 National Day speech that the Canadian welfare system will collapse and fail. It is now thirteen years after his prediction and the Canadian system is still functioning well and will be going on well after he is gone”

Can someone ask goh during election speech?
What a refreshing revelation!

Can that p65 new citizen blogger respond to this?

commentator
Dec 10, 2009 11:31

I guess they have carefully instituted a “pass the buck” system for all types of complaints imaginable to all kinds of govt bodies. In the end, the last buck goes back to the end user.

jiangbao
Dec 10, 2009 11:39

its simple really, the decision makers are not interested in any of us or any other interest groups except themselves.

If they truely care, disabled should be charged at rates similar to students, how much incremental cost can they possibiliy incur? Even if they do incur cost, it hardly puts a dent into their PL or BS…

$$ vs A Good Name
Dec 10, 2009 12:02

I have a friend who did very well and secured himself a place amongst our Elites. A multi-millionaire now, he rubs shoulders with our top top guns, the well-connected, top civil servants,top GLC execs. I cannot mention names.

As we were formerly close friends, he still gives me face though we’re in different leagues now-for that I’m grateful. However, that opened up for me a rare peek into the mindset of many of these elites, I had a rare chance to even mingle with these powerful and rich , privy to their chatter. What disturbs me is their obsession with materialism. Money is not enough even for elites! Already multi-millionaires they are Very stingy with others-scrutinise every tiny expense religiously-very careful not to ‘waste’ any money on others. But for themselves they aren’t stingy at all; splash on the latest Jaguars, properties etc. Sounds familiar? And it gets worse:

I often hear them say ‘There’s an idiot born every minute’ . The common folk are looked upon as gullible easy meat and these elites really do enjoy crafting new devices to make money out of their ignorance. It’s like second nature or even a hobby for them. Of course I don’t know all elites and there should be upright ones around but there’s a lot more of ‘Lets-see-how-to-make-them-part-with-their-money’ types. This experience was a paradigm shift for me and I began to look at this world/system in a different light; it is skewed to prop up a few ultra-powerful and rich supported by the sweat and industry of the ‘guillible and ignorant’ masses. (Think frenzied idol fans outbidding each other with their limited savings-it makes the organisers and telcos Very Very Very rich. You have to vote more and more or else your idol will lose! they say as the money rolls in. Fanatical football fans, the average Joe paying more and more and more to make a few soccer stars and media giants Richer and Richer -No choice if you are loyal to your team right? Meanwhile these multi-millionaire beneficiaries are privately smiling and whispering among themselves ‘There’s an idiot born every minute’)

In and of itself, there’s nothing wrong with being rich. But getting rich by exploiting the vulnerable or the ignorant is immoral. Eventually I had to stay away from them and even my friend. There are things more important than money in life.

If any of the elite/policy-makers are reading this. Let me appeal to your conscience. No matter how much money and properties you have raked in throughout your life, all these monies and properties you possess will be gone the day we return to the dust. If you have gotten rich by taking advantage of the weak and ignorant then better pray there’s is no afterlife and Karma. Or if you believe in God, how would you answer your maker who will not be as gullible as the masses?

On the other hand a Good Name is forever for good things done in your life. Its the one thing that lasts forever, that remains, not money or properties. Wouldn’t it be nice to be remembered forever as a Champion for the Weak and Vulnerable rather than one who raked in millions at their expense?

LESSER MORTALS ALREADY TREATED LIKE ..............., WHAT MORE THE DISABLED
Dec 10, 2009 12:28

LESSER MORTALS ALREADY TREATED LIKE, WHAT MORE THE DISABLED

Remember how rhey trreated the 3 handicap/unemployed guy.

Clementi – LUP case
Jln Besar – brought to court by Town Council case
Boon Lay – MP dint reply email sent by social case

I think they see disabled ppl, thery auto close the case.

See the STOOPIG REPLY from SMRT below

http://www.todayonline.com/Voices/EDC091209-0000035/SMRT-staff-did-offer-help

Lift spoil n they let handicap man on wheelchair to go take the lift, then say their equipment cant carry his motor wheelchair up the stair.

BEST is title of reply –
SMRT staff did offer help

HELP TUAH HIM TO HOLLUND

Fredolick Bootes
Dec 10, 2009 23:53

Obama walk the talk.
A good leader.
At least he was kind enough to donate his nobel prize money to the needy. What mattered is he donated. period.

There are many rich who earned money legally but unethically or unimpressively or immorally. Have they donated like obama who earned so little compared to his responsibility for usa and the world? Basically, he is influential for the whole entire planet. USA is paying him peanuts for the value he brings.

Kudos to Obama.
Obama put evil gluttons to shame.

Disappointed Citizen
Dec 11, 2009 12:53

It’s really sad and a disgrace, as a Singaporean to know that CAN has been fighting for the transport concession for the poor & disabled for the last 10 long years- all in vain, in a so called First Class, First World Singapore!
The $million ministers, when they receive their pay cheques at the end of each month,ever wonder where the money comes from. It’s all from the taxpayers in
Singapore, incase they forget! Whilst they immerse in their happiness seeing so many zerooos in their CPF statements, one wonders whether they ever spare a thought for the poor & disabled out there struggling, trying to keep both their ends meet!
The poor & disabled have been crying out loud for the last 10 years. Is it a pure coincidence that no one in the PTC & LTA or MOT heard their cries for help??
It’s not as if the transport companies are running at a loss. They have been chalking up millions dollars of profit after tax year after year!!
The stupid excuse of full paying passengers cross subsidising the fares is totally out-of-date!!
The transport concession for the poor & disabled and for the senior citizens (full day) is long long overdue!
Those responsible fellow citizens sitting on the committee of PTC ,LTA & MOT
time to wake up and do something for your fellow unprivileged citizens. We all citizens will be grateful !!!

(

Percevale
Dec 11, 2009 13:26

How much subsidy do you want for transport for the disabled? Enough for bus, mrt or taxi?

get real Sg gahmen
Dec 11, 2009 13:26

For those who think transport subsidy is no big deal, let me share with you, a story.

I had recently moved into a 3-rm hdb. My neighbour’s an elderly 73-yr old with only one arm (she was a child victim of bombing during Jap occupation in S’pore).

This woman has an adult, 43-yr old, daughter with down syndrome. The daughter stays locked in, 24/7, all year round (except for the bi-monthly, polyclinic’s visit to get medication & haircut).

I thought the mother was cruel to do this, until I spoke to her.

She said, ” My daughter’s gullible and I am afraid she’ll just wander off with
a stranger or get knocked down by traffic as she doesn’ t even know how to cross a road safely”.

I asked why she doesn’t bring her daughter out for often?

“I wish I can. But I can’t afford to. Public transport is too expensive”.

Just imagine, public transport is a luxury. To date, only the visually handicapped, are given subsidies.

The household of 3 (mother, daughter & uncle) survives on a few hundred dollars a month (before deducting the essential power & water utilities).

So, is government subsidy too much to ask for towards a hope for better quality of life for the truly disadvantaged citizen?

Think it is disgusting to push the buck back to charity to fill in the gap!

Ravi Philemon
Dec 11, 2009 16:31

Dec 11, 2009 18:11

Disappointed Citizen,
[posting 40]

I suddenly realised, after reading your post, that the needy poor, unemployed n lowly paid handicap people etc,

- DONT PAY TAXES,
- SO THEY DONT CONTRIBUTE TO MP’s $17,000 .00 ALLOWANCE,
- SO THEY ALSO DONT CONTRIBUTE TO ‘U KNOW WHO’ $1,000,000.00 n MORE SALARY.

COULD THAT BE THE REASONS WHY THEY DONT GET ‘OFFICIAL’ HELP?

U see recent Bt Timah flood, tens of millions poured in to elevate it, all rich tax payers there.
“DONT PRAY PRAY”

Dec 11, 2009 18:47

Disappointed Citizen
-posting 40

What they really mean is, they make less profit
[if u read between the line of full paying cummuters subsidize the disabled.

Dec 11, 2009 18:54

THE IDEA TO APPLY SCHOOL KIDS FARE, FOR THE DISABLED, IS A GOOD IDEA.

No need have extra work on programming the computer software to create a ‘disabled person card’.

Just change the card heading to ‘PEOPLE WITH DISABILITY’ CARD.

My view
Dec 12, 2009 3:51

just my view, On one hand, our national TV charity programme broadcast numberous of times urging us with all kinds of remarks to be compassionate, generous, helpful, must have the gracious and heart to help the disabled, but yet our government regulated bodies proved otherwise, with the extra revenue earned from 1 million foreign communters, I am sure they are able to help the small number of disabled by not brushing off as communters pay for full fare.

jack & jill
Dec 12, 2009 4:40

Hello … they afraid if they start giving transport subside, there will be more handicap in singapore … then s’pore become welfare state … so don’t blame them … they also have their dilemma … guys, don’t worry … they don’t understand your thinking … i understand … keep up yr good work … by the way … don’t become handicap yourself…. especially here in this country …

Leave a Reply

Comment

theonlinecitizen on Facebook