Well, it wasn’t hard to see this coming. But take heart, fellow citizens: despite our tiny size, we are at the forefront of one of the most damaging financial tsunamis about to hit the world in 2010.

Singapore Uncle Trader, “GIC at forefront of impending CRE disaster in America: Singapore boleh!”

Tags: ,

26 Responses to “GIC stands to lose S$800 million”

1. RED-man 10 January 2010

That is peanuts to aunty HO and the LEEs lah. Money had become invalid to these useless people.

2. RED-man 10 January 2010

Now I know old fart complaint Singaporean is stupid. Because he had choose the worst one to be his daughter in law.

Probably, his wife was so mad that it blown some of her blood vessel along the way. Way to go, LEEs!

3. RED-man 10 January 2010

2010 is a very agressive tiger. Maybe it is a good year for old fart to dig a deep Hole to hide himself forever for good.

4. Michael 10 January 2010

PAP, allow me to give you some suggestions to recoup the losses:

1) Increase S’porean retired age to 85 yo
    2) Increase GST to 15%
    3) Impose tax on motorists travelling across the causeway.
    4) Increase ERP to $5 per passing
    5) Sell HDB flats at even higher price
    6) Increase tax on luxury goods
    7) Increase your ministers’ salary so as to attract “better, faster” ministers to help solve the problems.

Enough?

5. mice is nice 10 January 2010

more of pay-&-pay (& pay more) in 2010?….

tiger year indeed, all hungry for citizens $$$!

lol…

6. patriot missile 10 January 2010

so all singaporeans will have to bear these losses? Can we cut their pay at least?

7. RED-man 10 January 2010

Yo patriot missile:

If they willing to cut their pay huh, you better quickly go and buy 4D. You better pray they don’t increase. Also yesterday paper said IR hotel room take up rate not so good. Their only life line also pijak lobang.

Think there wouldn’t be any election this year after all. Because PAP this year balls shrinked.

8. andrew leung 10 January 2010

GIC invests well over US$100 Billion internationally. $800 Million is peanuts.

9. OB marker 10 January 2010

who gave em’ the greenlight to invest? wat will s’porean gets if they are ‘successful’?will they be responsible for anything if a big loss is incurred?the social price are too steep for s’porean!!wat a sin-city!money face!!

10. Albino Lizard 10 January 2010

Wow, and its just a few days into January 2010!
    I was still Happy New Year’ing.

Will they delay the date further until the coast is clear and shiok shiok perfect time to hold it?

The longer it delays, the closer to heaven. The longer it delays, the more chance another thingie crops up.

Gong Xi Fatt Choy singaporeans in Advance!

11. Huminster 10 January 2010

http://www.nytimes.com/2009/09/10/nyregion/10stuy.html

Apparently, alarm bells starting farting all over since 09 sep 2009 , based on above news.

12. ohh…2010 is a good year! let the balls roll!

although it is bad, but i wish the force will build up into such a huge one, and i want to see how they cam SIAM

13. Chua Mui Loong 11 January 2010

Will they still get pay rise for non mediocre performance?

14. nick ong 11 January 2010

investment losses can be inevitable. this, i can accept.

however, to pay a bunch of idiots millions to loose so much, this I CANNOT ACCEPT!

and for these so-called millionaires to start talking cock, this, I LAGI CANNOT ACCEPT!

and for these talk cock millionaires to be paid millions thereafter, this, I TOTALLY, ABSOLUTELY CANNOT ACCEPT!

15. My Views 11 January 2010

Any investment involved certain level of risks. You can’t be winning all the times. If you could win 6 or 7 times out of 10, I think you are good.

We all know that Temasek and GIC have been performing very well; it is just that no organisation in this world can control market forces.

16. mice is nice 11 January 2010

My Views

post #14 on January 11th, 2010 2.22 am

sure can’t win all the time lah, every thing got risk, but when its not your own money you lost, you have to undertake the responsibility right? unless you are my good friend den dun say lah, but on a professional level, must be professional.

GIC = Gambler In Charge? :D

17. Oxford Dude 11 January 2010

14) My Views on January 11th, 2010 2.22 am

We all know that Temasek and GIC have been performing very well; it is just that no organisation in this world can control market forces.

Whose benchmark did you use? Because PAP says so?

18. Homegrown 11 January 2010

IT”S “THE SPURS IN THEIR HIDES” THAT CONSTANTLY SPUR THEM TO LOSE
    TAXPAYERS’ HARDEARNED DOLLARS THAT THEY SAY CANNOT BE USED TO HELP POOR CITIZENS….CITIZENS,IT’S TIME TO PUT SOME REAL “SPURS IN THEIR HIDES” SO THAT THEY REALLY WAKE UP FROM THEIR SLUMBER.
    TO MOST CITIZENS,ESPECIALLY THE RETRENCHED IT’S “MONEY NO ENOUGH” BUT TO THESE SMART PEOPLE,THEY SEEM TO HAVE TO MUCH MONEY IN THEIR HANDS TO THROW ALL OVER…HOW CLEVER?!!!
    URGH!!!!!…WHY DON’T THEY THROW SOME AT POOR AND STARVING CITIZENS….WE ARE NOT EVEN “SWITZERLAND”.

19. red_dot 11 January 2010

Wait you see…..
    2010 is going to be the mother-of-all CRASHES
    then we’ll see the smartest MIW will blame
    the rest of the world for the financial disaster!!

So sad Singaporeans have no say, cannot say
    and forever shutup! That’s why we are STUPID!!

Got the hint? We are all taken for a very long ride!
    Enough??

20. andrew leung 11 January 2010

There should be more transparency in the investment holdings of companies invested in by Temasek and GIC.

The above case sounds like a poor investment decision. They should have some press coverage to explain the negative performance. Unfortunately PAP is not accountable. They are holding Singapore’s money hostage.

The master money mind is Hairy Lee.

21. Sawdust 11 January 2010

Frankly the more they hide their “honest mistaks”, the more skeletons will surface. This is very unbelievably scary, if Singaporeans had no control and let nepotism rules, we will be doomed! Just like the merlion being struck by lightning and don’t know what hit it!

22. tiredsingaporean 11 January 2010

With all these losses keep surfacing one after another, wonder if there is anymore $$$ left in our reserve, maybe already depleted so badly that even if the ruling should collapse in the next election, die die they will find all means to cover up their asses or find some unlucky ass luck scapegoats within the cabinet to take the blame instead, or worse just blame it onto the people again lo….

23. Alan Wong 11 January 2010

Ho Ching is still the ONLY best CEO they can find ?

No other CEO in Singapore is better than our PM’s wife ?

The Temasek Board of Directors are still waiting for the old man to fart first before they dare to take action ?

24. aiyoyo,

there goes the cpf take out timeline liao

see NO touch/use?

aiyoyo

25. Yay! Let’s celebrate this wonderful news! S$800 million of our bloody hardworking money has gone to waste! Let’s keep voting for PAP! Let’s have our authoritarian government keep taxing us, its good for the sake of our developed nation!! Woot!! *Fireworks fire off*

26. Dear fellow Singaporeans, lets keep voting for PAP! High GST is good, higher flat prices is good, more foreigners taking our needed jobs is good! Wow what a great day for me here! VOTE PAP IN THE NEXT GE!