Singapore Democrats

Ms Chee Siok Chin began serving her one-week jail sentence yesterday after District Judge Chng Lye Beng had found her guilty together with Mr Gandhi Ambalam and Dr Chee Soon Juan for distributing flyers without a permit.

A permit was required because, one, 5 or more persons were involved and, two, the police insist, the flyer was demonstrating “opposition to the actions of the Government.”

(Left: Woman Democrats of the SDP – Ms Chee Siok Chin is the first lady from the left.)

The Deputy Public Prosecutor had during the hearing emphasized that it was not the distribution of the flyers per se that was illegal but the content of the flyer which was critical of the policies of the Government was also illegal.

The police witnesses had testified during the trial that distibuting flyers was a common and normal activity. They could not say what offence the Defendants had committed. One even said that in his opinion, the SDP leaders were not committing an offence.

Furthermore, the licensing officer testified that distributing flyers for a commercial cause did not require a permit whereas one was needed if the cause was political. This, of course, is not true because the law (Miscellaneous Offences Act) does not make such a provision.

The Defendants also argued that the fact that the flyer criticised the Government was irrelevant to the charge.

Despite all these, Judge Chng sided with Prosecution and convicted Ms Chee, Mr Ambalam, and Dr Chee, sentencing them to the maximum fine of $1000, or one-week jail in default. (See here)

The three have appealed the conviction. Ms Chee has chosen to serve her sentence first but will continue with her appeal because it is important that the High Court renders its decision and grounds if it upholds the conviction.

Even as she begins serving her sentence, Ms Chee will be brought to court daily for the on-going hearing before District Judge Toh Yung Cheong for a separate charge for “attempting to take part in a procession” during the WB-IMF meeting in 2006.

Immediately after Mr Chng made his decision on 18 Dec 09, Ms Chee stood up and told him:

“I continue to say that what we did was not a crime. Criticising one’s government is a right guaranteed in a democratic society. By finding us guilty you are as good as saying that we do not have this right. By pronouncing us guilty you are also saying that Singapore is not a democratic society and that this government is an undemocratic one.”

This article was first published here.

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

76 Responses to “Jailed for distributing flyers critical of government policies”

1. Great closing statement from Chee Siok Chin!

Except that its not a government.. its a dictatorship!

2. Sawdust 5 January 2010

The person who killed someone in a hit and run went away scot free, but jail someone who distribute flyers.

3. Dumb and dumber 5 January 2010

Keep up the spirit. Singapore will need it, real soon.

4. tiredsingaporean 5 January 2010

this time round they will just throw you in prison for distributing flyers, next time when they are so desperate and losing their power grip, they might just shoot at sight, god knows!

5. The point is, political parties, royality don’t last forever. I think the government will go before she is crushed, irony, both sides know it! So wait and see.

6. If criticising the government on a flyer paper is illegal, it stands to reason that doing the same on a blog days…) IS ALSO MOST DEFINITELY ALSO ILLEGAL.

In the one case the reach could approximate 50 to 500 people if one is lucky walking along orchard road on a hot day handing it out to apathetic passerbys rushing to ION etc.
    In the other case the reach is easily 5,000 people in one or two days and the distributed material remains available on 24 hour basis by anyone keen to read.

Surely we have all sinned and fallen short of the glory of the LEEdership.

THE LAW HAS TO BE CONSISTENT. We, every bloody poster and writer on this blog who ever so much as said a statement criticise the government, MUST GO TO JAIL just as Chee Siok Chin, otherwise it is not fair to her. She has a right to say why don’t jail the other bloggers as well, she is distributing only to 500 the bloggers are distributing to 5000, maybe more, and the material remains on servers. The law has to be fair to one and all. This is nothing to do with politics.

zero

7. no tears, no fear 5 January 2010

One thing for sure, the consequences become greater for the ruling party each time they up the ante.
    It is shere stupidity when leaders underestimate the hatred for their system of governance.

8. Reality 5 January 2010

Because she has refused to crawl, the knucle dusters and hachets are at work. The master is not stupid to realise that theanimals know this but then the intention is to put the spur deep into one animal’s hide and make it crawl so that the rest behave. Submission and finally resignation is the ultimate goal. We can see that many animals have reached this stage and have lost their spirit. Eventually these animals become knucle duster and hachet wielding dogs protecting their master at all cost so that they will be feed , not with scraps but choice cuts of meat. That’s how you train mindless animals like us.

9. SadSadPlace 5 January 2010

“To preserve the freedom of the human mind… and freedom of the press, every spirit should be ready to devote itself to martyrdom; for as long as we may think as we will and speak as we think, the condition of man will proceed in improvement.”

Thomas Jefferson to William Green Munford, 1799.

10. Merobok 5 January 2010

How much more can they further do? At the most jail and jail them again and again? This is the most heroic act in the 21st century!

11. Shake head 5 January 2010

Many friends in the West have asked me if Spore is part of China. I laughed off their ignorance of Geography. Now I get it, its because the governments behave the same – total disregard to democracy in Government, human rights and the law.

12. Such unjust laws should not be laws that we, Singaporean citizens want from the government, PAP. We vote the government so they serve us. Obviously, we are serving to their purpose now. Even distributing flyers can result in getting jailed. One already knows that, election is coming, vote for change.

13. Let's Do It 5 January 2010

Just look at how desperate they are to silence the opposition.
    1 week jail for distributing flyers that are critical of the government!
    Meaning, in Singapore, nobody can criticise the gahmen.
    They put themselves on the same pedestal as the Almighty.
    And look at how our kangaroo judge can sell their souls to the devil, for the million dollar salary.
    How disgusting!
    My friends, Every Vote Counts.
    Make our voices be heard thru the polls.

14. flawed speech 5 January 2010

Sg is not anywhere near second world and third world countries such as Indonesia, Malaysia or even Thailand in terms of democracy. Wikipedia ranked us as hybrid regime, although we are often in self denial of the truth.

I think the law is just and fair when they dont involve politics or people in high positions. The amnesty group already did their survey and Singapore is ranked amongst the world lowest when it comes to democracy and also law cases involving politics.

There is practically nothing anyone can do. And for most people who complain and complain, in the end, they choose to have oppositions only in HG and PP. We have a cultivated a society of cowards and hypocrites.

What can the judge do? Would he risk his multi-million job? It is a closely knitted and close group of control over public servants at which democracy is of least importance but absolute control is mandatory.

The only space for most people who are unhappy is internet and you never know if this channel would be taken away.

15. There is no greater power in the universe than the need for freedom. Against that power, governments and tyrants and armies cannot stand.

Even if it takes 10 years or 100 years, we will be free.

16. doctorwho 5 January 2010

“The Deputy Public Prosecutor had during the hearing emphasized that it was not the distribution of the flyers per se that was illegal but the content of the flyer which was critical of the policies of the Government was also illegal.”

I don’t understand why this is illeegal?

Doesn’t providing feedback to the Government is a good thing? Nice feedback is welcome but bad feedback –> goto Jail? Where is Justice Bao?

For example, next time if i feedback the SIA onboard meals is very bad, i think SIA, being a big and good company, would try to take my feedback positively and improve her services. I wouldn’t i be afraid that i would be thrown out of the plane in mid-air for this bad feedback.

Come to think about it, if the policies or actions of the Government is unfair or unjust, how can we, the people of Singapore rectify it? Don’t tell me the only way is to wait for the next election. There has to be a better way!

17. disconnected 5 January 2010

“There is no policy too sensitive to question, and no subject so taboo that you cannot even mention it.”
    I wonder who’s the person who said that when interviewed by Charlie Rose
    And here we have the people from AGC and sub court disagreeing with
    him?

18. iamacommandobytrade 5 January 2010

[i]For example, next time if i feedback the SIA onboard meals is very bad, i think SIA, being a big and good company, would try to take my feedback positively and improve her services[/i]
    sia pilots did a goodamned service by flyin the flyin converted ambulance flyin in THE FIRST lady of instana from london heathrow…
    what did the head pilot got in returned?
    a revoke on his PR status and had his singapoor born daughter migrated to australia without a freewill choice….

19. i’m sorry, but what is the address of district court again?

100 singapore zoological gardens?

20. Jailing someone on a peaceful cause that is carried out every where in a free world reflects PAP stupidity.

What a waste in resources.

Of course, this pales in comparison with the amount lost by TH/GIC.

21. I too have seen ‘credible’ candidates from the PAP who sit in parliament and literally do nothing or say anything for Singaporeans. Many are opportunists who just want to network with the ruling party which is good for business. They only kid stupid Singaporeans like you. haha. Alamak, so shallow. Maybe need to criticize and give solutions also.

22. Sigh…

A total waste of tax payers money for an issue that serves no purpose at all.

Please instead use the money to pay for the sick and for the poor. Many are dying of terminal diseases and here we are witnessing a childish fight about a distributing a pamphlet. Judges and lawyers really got nothing better to do!

Really childish and lack of common sense. The more the government act against SDP, the more votes PAP will lose.

23. Reminds me of the book animal farm if you guys read it. sigh…

24. The only reason the opposition is ‘weak’ is because the incumbent has culled divergent views (via nearly every facet of society) in nearly every form or fashion since they came in to power in 1959 .. so keeping that in mind I respect folks who stand up for what they believe in, such as Ms. Chee – and bear in mind, she’s doing so in a peaceful and non-violent manner.

25. Democracy is dead.

26. Avg Joe 5 January 2010

Ms Chee I support you. Keep going.

I am scared of the PAP and live in fear of them. I don’t know what will happen to me or my family if I go against them. Otherwise I would join you.

If you have a scan of the flyer, pls scan and put it up. I will email to as many people as I can.

27. Hang Seng index (end year 2000) is 15000

Hang Seng index (end year 2009) is 22279.58

That represent an approximate growth rate of 4.9% per annum over the last 10 years.

I wonder how come our local companies are doing so badly in comparison with them. (STI grew about 2.7% per annum over the last decade)

even the Taiwan Index (TaiEx) fair a lot better than Singapore STI.

in spite of all the boastful talk but the Singapore Govt, S’pore companies are not improving or have not impressed the world in performance.

TaiEx (end year 2000): about 4740

TaiEx (end 2009): 8200

That resulted in a return of approximately 7%.

(add in the fact that Chen Sui Pian messed up the show for 8 years and they rank higher than Singapore in retirement monies)

PAP must have cocked up much worse than Chen Sui Pian.

28. The Game 6 January 2010

Ms Chee may be brave or stupid.
    Opposition may be genuine or opportunists.
    You might think talk is cheap or her dissent is important.

These are differing opinions, and it’s ok to disagree. But one fact in this whole incident is crystal clear and undeniable: Criticism of government policies CANNOT be a crime.

29. Karma Went on Exile and have not returned since 6 January 2010

Ms Chee, I also support you every step of the way.
    You may not know me,ong but i know you.
    I have been updated on your efforts to fight for our rights.
    You have suffered much and continues to suffer.
    But rest assured, you will see the sun rise once again.
    There is a ray of hope.
    Just keep healthy and stay strong mentally.
    As long as you can outlive.
    You will see the day.

I hope you will be rescued asap.

30. Winston Cheng 6 January 2010

Miss Chee, Mr Gandhi Ambalam and Dr. Chee, thank you for your sacrifice.

It is heartening to know that while the society at large is going the self-centered way, you, like J.B Jeyaratnam, Chiam See Tong, Low Thia Kiang, Sylvia Lim chose to follow your heart and serve Justice.

You know, it is funny that many people kiss ass, lie and betray their souls just so that they conform and earn that meagre status but still feel miserable, the people who are persecuted earn Peace and sleep with God’s blessings.

Just like a taxi driver who scheme for that few extra dollars, their inner joy cannot compare with the one who drove a poor dear old lady home for free. He may go home poorer than the crooked ones but his meals taste better and his sleep, sweeter.

I congratulate all who risk their personal loss by standing firm to their belief, for you are all blessed. True joy and peace comes from true love (for nature and humanity). It is from the heart and not the ass.

31. Try not paying your bills, and ignoring them, you go to jail too!!!!
    The government really looks small on the world stage, shame on us, a gracious society, they need to be gracious first!

32. Pay me or I Be Corrupt 6 January 2010

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=2619497&page=2

Yep, we have a topsy turvy judicial system whereby those who lost billions are not criminals while people who criticise those who lost billions are labelled criminals.

I doubt those international law organizations often mentioned by PAP that praise Singapore judicial system are real or they were given money.

33. As a woman, she has more guts than everybody who criticised her. I salute her.
    If this govt can allow a Romanian to escape after killing someone in this land and send Chee Siok Chin to prison for simply voicing out our displeasure. What message does our supreme court trying to convey – bullying the weak and protect the strong one? Is this the kind of message that our supreme court is trying to uphold that justice only apply selectively to protect the rich and no mercy to the poor and anti-pap people? I felt sad and utterly dissappointed that our court allows unfairness to exist, a sign that is is not an independent court.

34. mice is nice 6 January 2010

Ms Chee is more garang than our army’s elite troopers like commando or SOF.

female (local) version of GI Jane?

35. mice is nice 6 January 2010

i hate to say this, but i think the days Ms Chee is in prison are the days the elections (+ polling day) will be held?

who thinks so too?

36. Homegrown 6 January 2010

these flyers only circulate locally,must go to jail?
    like dat,how about minister who disgrace natives and therefore the NATION,INTERNATIONALLY…must go where?
    can the judge tell us?

37. To the PAP, especially after MM’s interview with National Geographic, it confirmed that the elites really look at Singaporeans as units and not as human beings. Yet we Singaporeans were the ones who graciously gave them the power to rule. In the end, the PAP use the same power to slap us, humiliate us and took away our dignity. What a sad state of affair for Singaporeans. I strongly believe most Singaporeans (excluding the ball lickers) are brave enough to vote against the PAP government in the next election if given the chance. The problem is the PAP use all kinds of tricks in the book to ensure that the oppositions are being disadvantaged. Bet you that any credible opposition will win any constituency against Lee Hsien Loong if it is a one-man-one vote system. LHL and cronies please be real!

38. April Fool joke in December 6 January 2010

Does the police know the law?

39. Jeremy Chua 6 January 2010

Let’s all go to jail then, since we (more than 5 of us) have been critical of government policies at some point in our lives.

40. I would like to repeat a point i made earlier, and also add in a couple of other comments. I was and still am, greatly disturbed by a point of law and not of politics, in this saga.

what i had said was that, If criticising the government on a flyer paper is illegal, it stands to reason that doing the same on a blog IS ALSO MOST DEFINITELY ALSO ILLEGAL. (there was a typo in the orginal post, now it is corrected). I also said that the reach for the latter case is easily 100 times more effective, therefore as a point of law, all bloggers who criticise the govt particularly along the lines of what THAT FLYER stated shall be jailed. (though i didnt read it). If same are not jailed, then the Police are lazy, because it is the role of the police to uphold the law. The Police is not interested in politics. They are paid to do the duty to uphold the law. If the Police don’t jail everybody who criticise the government or implement a plan do do so, the Police is lazy and fail in its duty.

I offer two further observations. the first. As a practical step to implement a matter of principle and to obey the law and be a good citizen, perhaps 200 persons (from SDP, from TOC, anywhere) could go to the police station today and confess “Sir, i have a report to make, i criticised the government. I DEMAND THAT YOU PUT ME IN JAIL”. By law the police must put all 200 to jail. This could create some news. But as the old story goes, “who will bell the cat”.. alas a brave soul is rare to find. Count me out… i admit i’m an armchair critic and a bloody coward (i just only have enough boldness to mark a Cross at some box in a ballot paper some day after cooling off, so to speak.)

The second point again is a point of Law again. I would have no problem with the arrest of Ms Chee, if the DPP said “she violated the law which stated that one person is an “assembly” and a permit is needed blah blah”. There is nothing to argue it is a point of law, we are good Singapore Citizens we shall always obey the law. BUT i feel cheated when the current charge is “you criticsed the government”. THE LAW HAS TO BE FAIR. LET THE JAILS BE FULL OF PEOPLE, LET THE LAW RUN ITS COURSE else it is unfair to Ms Chee.

Finally I state categorically that I am not a supporter of SDP. However i do not like self contradictory Laws because it creates great stress, not just for the hapless defendants, but also the police and administrators as well.

zero

In the one case the reach could approximate 50 to 500 people if one is lucky walking along orchard road on a hot day handing it out to apathetic passerbys rushing to ION etc.
    In the other case the reach is easily 5,000 people in one or two days and the distributed material remains available on 24 hour basis by anyone keen to read.

Surely we have all sinned and fallen short of the glory of the LEEdership.

THE LAW HAS TO BE CONSISTENT. We, every bloody poster and writer on this blog who ever so much as said a statement criticise the government, MUST GO TO JAIL just as Chee Siok Chin, otherwise it is not fair to her. She has a right to say why don’t jail the other bloggers as well, she is distributing only to 500 the bloggers are distributing to 5000, maybe more, and the material remains on servers. The law has to be fair to one and all. This is nothing to do with politics.

zero

41. Wait a minute, it wasn’t so long ago, that the press secretary of Law minister, Ms Chong Wan Yieng, said that criticism of policy is NOT a crime.

quote:
    “This is quite inaccurate. Engaging in robust criticism per se is not and has never been a crime or libellous in Singapore……There can be, and there is, vigorous debate on public policies. But if allegations of personal misconduct are made, then those who make such allegations have to prove the truth of their statements.”

Yet according to the DDP, the content which was critical of POLICIES of the govt is illegal.

So who is correct? Can the appeal be based on what the press sec of the Law minister said?

42. lobo76
    Well, if the Press Secretary to Law Minister did say that criticism of the government is not a crime, then the DPP has to be wrong in the case of Mschee.

However, from the academic point of view, it is not wrong to jail Ms Chee on account of the fact that she broke the law concerning “unlawful assembly includes one-man assembly”.

Personally, I am not interested in the reasonableness of this particular new law. But since indeed it was passed in Parliament, let us follow it and let DPP charge be amended to reflect the fact that Ms Chee trespass same. That is to say, DPP need to say sorry i messed up she violated law A not law B. It is all right to make a mistake, everybody makes mistakes at one time or another. We shall forgive them.

From a legal point of view, Law must be applied consistently and fairly. If what i am saying is not logical, then surely it is the responsibility of the Police to continue searching for all breakers of the law that criticism of the government is an offence. And send the culprits, every one of them in the blogs, to jail, otherwise they are lazy and not fulfilling their functions. Then the law will be just and fair within the framework in which it was defined.

zero

43. it is not smart to oppose or criticise the government unless one is very rich and has powerful backing.

44. andrew leung 6 January 2010

Perhaps SDP can do street surveys and collect email addresses then distribute their newsletters and e-flyers instead to those who are willing to receive their communication.

I hope TOC can reproduce the contents of the said flyer to let the readers understand what is being criticised. (unless it is also illegal to publish them online).

45. unfortuately for the all words and arguments against it, the government will just sit tight and let the one week past…

once this blows over, it will be in Ms chee’s record forever hat she has been imprisioned and people would have forgotten about the details of the case.

PAP is just going to ignore public comments no matter what form they take (blogs, forums, flyers, coffeeshop talk, etc) as long as they are in power. They do not care. They are only concerned about public’s opinions during election time and will then try out some little goodies or give some talk about .

Let us hope people will remember the past more during the polls.

46. Hongdulasze 6 January 2010

#41,
    “once this blows over, it will be in Ms chee’s record forever hat she has been imprisioned and people would have forgotten about the details of the case.”

erm…, can records be erased? I mean what if there is CHANG…E…..?

47. sefergfe 6 January 2010

thank you TOC for reporting this news.

i am not sure will we see this news in singapore newspapers?

48. Curious 6 January 2010

Hey TOC,
    Why are all the post by Great Asia being deleted?
    I thought it’s postings by idiots like him that make this place so interesting!

**Moderating Editor: Unfortunately, he/she was not contributing to the discussion but rather, instigating unnecessary argument through inflammatory remarks. More than 3 editors here independently felt this and thus we have decided to remove all of his/her postings and as well as those which actively engaged his/her ranting. In all, 30 posts have been removed from this thread and we seek your understanding on this matter, thank you.**

49. I think we have seen enough of INJUSTICE under pap rule.. IT IS TIME TO VOTE THEM OUT..

50. Band of Brothers 6 January 2010

Each day the PAP harass, penalise and jail the opposition, the country is taking 2 steps back from a democratic and developed country. So much for the Wayang First World status and impressive skyscrapers, deep within hidden a iron fist dictatorship.

If you take a moment to read the national pledge with your heart (now defund as only aspiration) you can clearly derive whether is there truely equality in Singapore.

SAD