Non-residents can access the Skybridge, which straddles the 50th floor of the buildings, by paying S$5 per person.
Channelnewsasia, on the opening of the Skybridge at the Pinnacle@Duxton
Non-residents can access the Skybridge, which straddles the 50th floor of the buildings, by paying S$5 per person.
Channelnewsasia, on the opening of the Skybridge at the Pinnacle@Duxton
Doesn’t make sense at all :
(1) Public housing is built using public funds, why restrict access to the public ?
(2) Even visitors and friends (non-residents) to the sky garden @ The Sail/ The Icon pte condos are not required to pay any money at all, then why impose fees on public housing ?
(3) If it is to control the crowd, then why don’t just issue a quota per day and entry on first come first serve basis?
SkyBridge is not even a theme park, lol. even S’pore Botanic Gardens is free entry, S’poreans should not just pay-&-pay & spoil the already greedy HDB.
people who pay money to be in public space will soon pay just to step out of their homes, just wait & see… :?
there you see, they can just do anything to make you people pay them, its just rediculous.
The HDB & Town council is trying to tell the general public that this is our version of Four Season Hotel . You must be prepare to pay for parking, entrance fees, toilet usage etc.
For a family of four, it will cost a damm S$ 20( excluding parking fee ) to see some boring view at the Pinnacle @ Duxton.
Town council getting greedy …http://zerotc.blogspot.com/
Is there a collection booth at the entrance of each staircase to collect the fees? Wonder how many staff manning each booth. Better to put ERP gantries.
Hopefully, the admin cost far outweighs the revenue collected.
Silly idea in the first place. Just pure greed.
Agree with mice is nice that they will soon charge Singaporeans for walking on the footpaths.
I strongly urge fellow Singaporeans not to waste your hard earned money on this. The money will probably go towards paying for the parties that they will throw for the foreigners. And probably for the English lessons as well.
Hope they can give discounts for the elderly etc.
Maybe HDB and NPB can create more roof top gardens to make more money and create more jobs.
better have a zoo up there! and the whole bunch of monkeys in white can take turn to entertain!
7) andrew leung
If they create jobs, It will only go to foreigners. Please don’t be so naive.
wat is there to see ?
9) doctorwho on January 2nd, 2010 7.10 am
wat is there to see ?
The rooftop of other buildings. LOL.
10) Change is coming
The rooftop of other buildings. LOL.
muhahahaha, got to have topless babes or “live action” on rooftop to make it worth the trip.
they are desperate for monies.
They are naive to think that Singaporeans have nothing better to do.
5 dollars is the price of a meal.
Maybe the many homeless in Singapore can pay $5 and stay on the skybridge?
isnt this a HDB block? Why would HDB charge non-resident $5 for free-viewing? totally unfair! freedom of movement is controlled!
Why trying to earn small money like $5?
Just need to seal up the big leaking hole in the $ pipe from Aunt Ho Jinx!
I might as well come out with another $2 and see a good movie in air-conditioned comfort than pay $5 to ‘fry’ under the hot sun for 15 to 20 mins.
Greed has overcome these people, that they can’t think rationally anymore.
S&C charges for a 4 room there is close to $100 per month. Occupants simply do not know why they have to pay more than the average 4-rooms.
Is it to boost the TC’s reserves further?
why need to pay.
we are all singaporean.
should toc start a petition to ask them to waive off the $5?
the $5 singaporean pay will go to who?
They want to make $ from every single avenue, they are crazy about $$$ despite having millions already.
They want to build a garden up there, but afraid too many people using it. Then might as well don’t build it at all or closed it down.
This is typical example of fanciful idea by those scholar policy makers, but lack practical sense.
i wouldn’t even pay $0.50cents to go up…
onlee a STUPID singapoor scholar would be greedy and naived to come up with such ideas?
what is next?
maybe implant an erp ca$h card into OUR hdb jubuans everytime we needs to take a crap?
but than again..havin said all that the above…
gurmit sink did tried to pimp very very hard to get more idiot$ to pay $THIRTY singapoor dollar$ just to party/mingled @ the marina bay new year eve bash…
No wonder PAP will win elections after elections.Kiasu and kiasi Singaporeans are
willing to pay and pay.
Perhaps they are trying to restrict the number of people on the roof. If it gets too crowded up there, who knows if the building will still hold up.
Oh, I can get free access to better greenery and gardens in CONDOS, maybe with an escorting resident. I can even use some of the condos’ facilities for free.
Take your $5 charge and shove it up your rectum, HDB.
This is a further reflection of what mainstream society is becoming. It’s not about competitiveness or striving hard, it’s diverging towards greed and selfishness.
I don’t have any problems with the charges. If you are not happy just don’t go and see, as already mentioned what’s the big deal, nothing to see you can’t see from most tall buildings.
The point is the residents deserve some privacy. How would you like inquisitive people hanging around your neighbourhood all the time? It is not about hdb making money (for once, i have no problems with this hdb policy) . A nominal charge will help to protect the residents interest ( I’m not a resident there). I know some people will argue that the policy would imply imposing a charge on all hdb common spaces. That argument is not sustainable, because in the case of skypark you access it via lifts not open space parks like the rest of hdb. Resident’s interest will be compromised if curious throngs of people jam up the lifts to take a look everyday. So a small charge will help to regulate the crowds not just at the park but in the common lifts, and hence help give the residents some privacy.
zero
Even the Pertonas Twin Tower in Kl does not charge. They just want you to come early.
What a joke.$5 I rather eat chicken rice.
Aiyah $5 is dirt cheap compared to that of the future Mausoleum of the God of No Mercy
to the clueless people its not about the price of the charge, the question is why (need to pay)? are public spaces not already covered in S&C charges by Town Council?
if $5 is very cheap i do not see why locals cannot give service staff that same amount in the form of tips, that will surely be a positive impact on rising the service levels. or is it that some people just like to rub it in on others they are wealthy?
what’s next, people who are so wealthy they will not pick up notes that slip out of their wallets? and say “its just $** only, its nothing compared to the retirement funds lost in toxic investments”….?
29) prettyplace on January 2nd, 2010 2.06 pm
Even the Pertonas Twin Tower in Kl does not charge. They just want you to come early.
What a joke.$5 I rather eat chicken rice.
They need to collect back as much $$$$ as they can to cover up those millions losses of the people’s SC&C charges which they lost in those gambling thingy, don’t you people notice they still very silent about it till today, no body, no one dare to come out and admit their wrongdoing.
[i]31) mice is nice on January 2nd, 2010 4.33 pm to the clueless people its not about the price of the charge, the question is why (need to pay)? are public spaces not already covered in S&C charges by Town Council?
who incharge of tanjongpagar GRC?
the answer is there
no need to poll the audiences for a lifeline again
You think this is just the beginning of PayAndPay for Singapore property build using tax-money ? Wait till the Trio Tower casino in Marina Bay open for business, and you will have to pay $10 to stay on top of these stupid tombstone building. Better jump down the building and become a ghost to haunt those MIWs then to pay entry money .
Who gives a shit to a 50-storey view of Singapore? On a HDB flat somemore. The point blocks in Marine Parade have better views.
who the smart one masterminded the $5 scheme?
Not enough by increasing the GST, they need this so that they can increase their pay…. then they will reason that the money collected will go to charity, the poor & needy but in actual fact, it goes to their big fat pockets while the poor Singaporeans will continue to suffer…. sigh…
maybe hdb realiesd that they’ve sold the flats at too low price to the initial batch. hence thought of this ‘brilliant’ idea to recoup.
using the $5 as an excuse to restrict the crowd is so lame.
whoinchargeoftanjongpagarGRC
post #33 on January 2nd, 2010 6.49 pm
good question, when there is money or credit to be had, guy “A” steps into the limelight, but when things go wrong its another dude’s responsibility…
I still dont understand why people don’t appreciate that the residents of theblocks need privacy. It’s not open space, it has to be accesed via LIFTS. Residens will be inconvenienced on daily basis by curious visitors jamming up the lifts. do not forget, a 50 storey building demand different kind of LIFT technology. Frequent usages do the lifts no good. Personlly i have always an eerie feeling going up a high speed lift for 50 storey buildings. It’s not a nice feeling. Queeing up waiting for a stuck lift on the 40th level and otherr non residents hogging the lfits, it;s not fair to the residents. This is not like a local open area space, please be fair.
I am not a resident but we have to spare a thought for the residents. Any one who don’t like to pay , then don’t go period, the whole idea is to create some barriers.
As typical of the govenment they are extremely poor in PR. What is a good thing can be emphasised in the correct way. In fact, they should emphasis that the money collected will be DONATED TO CHARITY or else go back 100% to reduce the resident’s Town Council charges, because it is logical to use the money to reduce the maintenance of the lifts which are more heavily used due to non resident’s traffic. If the goverhment had said all these things no one needs to complain. Stupid civil servants, do the right thing still get hantam by everyone. They have no idea of what PR is all about.
zero
http://www.pinnacleduxton.com.sg/skybridge_public.php
To access the 50th storey skybridge, members of the public have to pay $5 per person per entry. The charge is imposed to help defray the operation cost of the access system.
Opening Hours -
The 50th storey skybridge is open to the public from 9 a.m. to 10 p.m. daily, except during special events such as National Day fireworks where balloting will be conducted.
Quota –
To minimise disamenities, only 200 members of public can access the 50th storey skybridge per day. In addition, at any one time, only 100 members of the public will be allowed on the skybridge. The quota is subject to review.
Once the quota of 200 is met for the day, i.e. 200 members of the public have visited the skybridge, no further access by the public will be allowed on the same day.
Wah who is the smart fellow who came out with these ideas?
i know the one who came out with this will surely visit TOC to see what people comment about the idea.
that why i am here to plead with you.
you are very smart to come out with this idea.
but if you can just set the quota or rules without the $5 fee then you will be prefect.
remember you are working for singaporean.
not working for the government, no matter who is the government, pap, sdp, wp, rp, pp………
please have a kind heart please waive off the $5 for all singaporean.
like this also boleh make money? c’mon this is gangster behaviour
zero
post #40 on January 3rd, 2010 10.59 am
eh, even the suspension bridge at MacRitchie is free, with a guard to ensure there is no overcrowding. a HDB in prime district will always have a higher human traffic than a far off location like Ponggol. just like the residents above Chinatown foodcentre, there are always pros-&-cons to any location. that is why no one should just buy any HDB unit & “dun be choosey”.
like all things new, the novelty will wear off once the hype has subsided. as for privacy issues, dun be too quick to lay the blame on the curious crowd. because people living on the street level have it worse.
////Any one who don’t like to pay , then don’t go period, the whole idea is to create some barriers.////
that is some lame excuse to milk money from the public. so should our govt put up human ERP at Changi Airport, in Orchard Rd that are full of people weekdays & weekends alike?
HDB is not a charity organisation, just like town councils, collect alot of money just for the sake of hoarding it. is it any wonder why economy not doing well? mmoney that stay still loose value, the money would have increased GDP if its circulated to boost local spending.
////Stupid civil servants, do the right thing still get hantam by everyone. They have no idea of what PR is all about.////
wah, you say they do things right, but you still call them stupid ah?
Mice is nice, yr mail 44 refers,
I said before, the duxton plain is not like other open spaces on ground level or like macritchie bridge. Such kind of open spaces do not require maintenance. To reach the skybridge on the other hand you hve to go to high speed lift and compete in cram space with residents. Residents pay a premium to purchase duxton and we need to respect their right of use of the lifts. What happens on chinese new year or holidays, especially. It is not fair that numerous members of the public especially on public holidays flock to use the lifts to go to view the scene, take photos, etc.., it is not fair to the residents’ right of use of the lifts. If the skypark is on ground level they of course they should not be charges.. Please examine this and consider it as a special case.
Your analogy to use ERP at changi airport and orchard road is also puzzling. Changi airport in fact encourages crowds, it brings business. Orchard road too. The more the merrier, the shop owners love us all!!. But crowds in the skypark and people jamming up the lifts for a free view, it is a negative factor if you are a resident. There is nothing positive about it if you are the one waiting for the lift with a pregnant wife waiting to go back to the 50th storey quickly.
As i said the $5 is reasonable, if you don’t want to pay don’t go, there is nothing much you see that you can;t see from many other tall buildings here.
The government has to show proof that the money is genuinely use to defray the maintenance charges of skypark (landscape and watering) and the high speed lifts, otherwise i would join in the condemnation wagon of the charge. The government has to show that no matter how small the charges collected each year, it has to be included in the formula for the maintenance charges of the residents.
The only gripe i have about this system is that we just have to take their word for it , no auditing, we don’t know. That is why i said the government is silly, because they can do things more positively. If i were them i would announce that at the end of each quarter, all money collected from skypark will be published on internet and at the end of each year, the percentage reduction in maintenance fees for residents will also be posted. That’s what i mean when i said the govt is doing the right thing yet very stupid in the PR aspect, so always kena hantam left right centre for nothing.
zero
Soon when the 2 IRs opened, those that lost everything and want to go P@D to jump down must leave at least $5 in their pocket…
zero
post #45 on January 3rd, 2010 6.27 pm
the skybridge is currently unique because its the 1st of such a feature in a public housing project. no doubt the cost of it is cery high, hence, much talked about. its a novelty, as with all novelty, as time passes, interset will wane. i do not see a charge levied on users who go to the other above ground greenery at the 40-storey Toa Payoh estate. it was in a sense unique too.
a) its my opinion that most HDB homes are rather premium, cheap perhaps for the top 20% of our society?
b) as i stated above people who wish to slate their curiousity need not pay to go the above ground greenery at Toa Payoh.
c) residents have the right to use the lift, but its quite a sloppy excuse for such territorial behaviour.
d) any building with proper planning would have taken into account the number of occupants + a **% for allowance. high speed lifts are used for a reason. 1 cannot expect the lift to be always empty & waiting with doors open for you. ithink you need to be a little more patient, rather than to expect zero waiting times.
e) has the $5 charge been adequately explained? by whom, the govt, HDB or Town Council? Town Councils operate on a “dun ask, dun tell” basis, IMPO (that is how the public got wind of the losses). HDB operate on a “ask, i also dun tell” basis. lol…
f) eh, when you say govt, you refering to which department? HDB or Town Council?
actually quoting your example of toa payoh sky park, i would even go the extra mile, it doesn’t bother me if they charge also $5 for curious onlookers. The caveat is that they the town council must show proof that it goes towards the cost of reducing the maintenance fees. I do not want to see the money collected go into national treasury end up as part of someobody’s $200,000 salary. That is all i want to say. As long as the money goes back to the citizens, i am happy. It is a individual’s choice, if you want pay, if you think no big deal then don’t pay and leave the residents alone and give them the privacy they deserve. Really it is no big deal anyway, except maybe the occasional crowd on new year day of public holiday perhaps. Although i am not a resident, i feel that if i am a resident, i would dislike throngs of people coming to the place on new year day jamming the lifts and i would be quite happy to have my maintenance fees reduced – in which case i could actually encourage friends to pay a visit…
zero.
zero
post #48 on January 4th, 2010 6.48 pm
well, as with most money collected it normally ends up fattening someone’s (already fat) wallet. i highly doubt it will end up helping the residents to defray the S&C charges, though i hope i am wrong.
yes, i refuse to pay just to slate my curiousity because i do not wish to be part of the “oops i just fatten the fat cat’s wallet” crowd if the money is not channelled back to the S&C funds.
eh, i am sure with the vantage point a crowd will naturely go to place on NDP, New Year’s Eve or F1 Race or any major public event to get the best shot. because digital photography has gone mainstream & our population increase. that is the case not exclusive to residents of Duxton but most highrise HDB blocks. yeah, Lunar New Year is near, Chinatown residents will just have to live with photographers who may wish to capture the crowd from above- & maybe just right outside some resident’s home.
please dun overhype (my opinion lah) people jamming the lifts, its rather extreme.
oh well, its your opinion anyway. so let’s disagree to agree on some of the finer nitty-gritty stuff.