TOC’s Ravi Philemon, Andrew Loh and a friend, Lisa Li, paid a visit to the homeless people at Sembawang Park on 30 December. Here is the story of Mr Sunny Murugaya whom they met there.

Lisa Li

He speaks with the air of a grassroots leader showing you around his constituency. The regular visitor waves at him. A young man, unasked, brings him a cup of water. This is Mr Sunny Murugaya, 74, former member of the Barisan Socialis party, also one of the many homeless people now living in Sembawang Park.

“I’m fine” he tells you. “I’m an old man. What about the other families with children?”

They are the ones he is most concerned about. He refuses the gift of biscuits and canned food, and makes a sweeping gesture to the people sitting in the small concrete huts, and to the rows of tents behind. “Give it to the others. They have children.”

He is depressed, he says, but you see more fiery spirit than depression as he passionately speaks of what the government should be doing for the people there. “The government is rich! How come they can develop here, develop there, donate to other countries, but got no money to help these people?”

Build a block of flats for these people, he says, they need to stay in a proper place, their children need to go to school with no distraction, there are even pregnant women here! “How come they go to see the MP, but no use, they are still living here!”

He tells you about his Barisan Socialis days, when he would help Dr Lee Siew Choh as a coordinator, recruiting new members. He speaks of J.B. Jeyaretnam asking him to join the Workers’ Party. “But I couldn’t,” he smiles. “JBJ and I were good friends, but we did not have the same aims. I was more anti-government than him.”

But all that was in the past. Then, he was married, and worked as a 24-hour security guard. Now,  he is separated from his wife and, semi-paralysed from a stroke in March this year, his job is gone. Still, he is able to make some money for himself by scouring factories in Jurong in search of people who want flats, and then passing their contact details onto housing agents. You just need to make the effort, he says.

Later, he reveals that the social worker at Changi General Hospital wanted to put him in an old folks’ home for free, but he refused. “I am still active; I don’t want to be tied down. I want my freedom, I can take care of myself,” he declares. This, perhaps, is why he constantly directs your attention to the other homeless families at Sembawang Park who do not even have such an offer. He tells you that many others are trying to get help, jobs and shelter, but to no avail.

“Tell the government what I suggested,” he urges. “This is not political; this is just feedback, just basic human rights!”

It is nearly ten o’clock at night at Sembawang Park; the air is filled with the chatter of friends celebrating the New Year with barbequed chicken wings, music, drinks. Right next to the barbeque pits is a small concrete hut where Mr Sunny lays out newspapers and cloth, preparing for bed.

In his own words

Let me ask you, how much money does the government have? 350 billion dollars in assets! How come they can develop here, develop there, but got no money to help these people?

I give you a suggestion, please go and tell the government. Why don’t they build a block of flats and let these people stay there? 1-room, temporary, doesn’t matter. These people have no money, they are depressed.. help them get a job. The government can donate to other countries — how come they cannot afford to help their own people? Don’t you think this is like a refugee camp? This is not political, this is just feedback, just basic human rights.

I have never gone to see the MP to ask for help. There are so many families here with children, some women are pregnant; they go and see the MP but no use — they are still living here. I’m only an old man — why would they help me when they don’t help the families with children? They need to stay in a proper place, so their kids can go to school properly, no distractions. Why doesn’t the government do that, you tell me.

You know, my friends say that in Malaysia and Indonesia, when people cannot pay, the government does not cut off the water supply. Here in Singapore, when you cannot pay, the government cuts your water supply, maybe send warrant for arrest, then if you still don’t pay, you go to jail or the government may take back your flat… So many families here are like that. Nowhere to go. What to do? Swim across the sea to Malaysia? For what? This is my country.

Actually last time I was in the Barisan Socialis. You know Dr Lee Siew Choh? I was with him. I was a coordinator and helped to recruit new members. JBJ also asked me to join his party, because he knew my capabilities, but I said no. We were good friends, but I could not join his political party.. We did not have the same aims; I’m more anti-government.

But all that was last time. I had a job as a 24-hour security guard, used to be married. Now I’m separated from my wife. In March this year while I was at work. I took my shower at 2 am and then I had a stroke and fell down. I called my boss and told him, I’m taking a taxi to the hospital. Actually at that time I could not really move, but what to do, I had to go there myself.

Now I cannot move my right side. When I walk, I need to drag my leg along with me. It’s like when a glass drops and cracks, you can try to put it together again, but it is not the same. When you are old, you cannot be young again. When you are sick, you cannot be 100% again anymore. So I cannot work there anymore.

But CGH was very good. They waived the hospital fees for me. The social welfare worker also wanted to put me in an old folks’ home but I don’t want to. I’m still active. I don’t want to be tied up.

Nowadays I can still make some money when I find people who need a flat, and I refer them to a housing agent. I just go to the factories in Jurong and ask around, or I ask the security guards. Just need to make the effort. I need to eat food, right?

Anyway, if you want to talk more to me, can. I am usually here at 8 or 9 every night. You want to take a photo of me, also can. I can face anybody, I am not worried. But I hope I will not live so long.. The earlier I die, the better.

1. United Singapore Democrats — a new political party
  2. Former RP chairman sets up new political party
  3. Party political films please, we’re the PAP!
  4. Victims of reverse tactical ploy or party political opportunists?
  5. Opposition party fined for selling party newspaper

If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. We thank you for your kind assistance. (All donors' information will be kept confidential)

76 Responses to “From political party member to homelessness”

1. Oxford Dude 2 January 2010

10) My Views on January 1st, 2010 5.14 pm

Without targeting at any specific person, why is it that we often heard members of the opposition parties getting into troubles but not those from the PAP?

Simple.. The PAP create trouble for them and then accused them of starting the trouble. This has always been PAP’s modus operandi, from Lim Chin Siong to the Marxist “Conspirators”. Recently, the Young PAP has been behind in closing down the 3-in-1 Kopitiam Delphiforum in order to prevent truth YPAP member Sear Hock Rong’s conflict of interest with the People’s Association from being proliferated online.

2. Akazukin 2 January 2010

Hi all, I am under mod-preview. My post won’t appear until it was approved. A few of my posts were already deleted by the editors. I have lost my enthusiasm to visit this website to make anymore ‘opposition’ post.

Generally, I support everyone that the government should build houses for the poor. You think I’m crazy? lol. What I’m trying to do is to write against the story. If the story is about cats, I will say cats are evil, it is associated with death and it brings bad luck, I have a friend with a new cat and he lost his job recently…etc. But in reality, I love cats. : p

To those who jump into conclusion that I only make 800 a month, I should go to Hell, or I am out of this world, please refrain from personal assaults.

I like how shan argued about the government have throw away our money in a poor investment, to counter my “we should not touch the people’s saving”. This is what I’m looking for. I was about to counter shan with evidence on how much the government have made from investments, until I saw the many personal attacks.

So please guys, chill. lol. I’m here to seek for fun, not to stir trouble. I know this post will get its approval. =)

**Moderating Editor: As long as you can contribute to the discussion and not ‘argue for the sake of arguing’, we will try to approve your comments.**

3. Citizen 2 January 2010

//why is it that we often heard members of the opposition parties getting into troubles but not those from the //

Simple test. Would you air loudly the misbehaviors or mistakes or wrongdoings of the people that you like and associate with more than the people you do not like so much. You may want to replace the former and latter with your family members (close friends) and enemies respectively.

4. Citizen 2 January 2010

//The problem is, many people are jealous of minister-level incomes.”

Not jealous . Just feel that it is not justifiable. No one can deny any public officers of their rightful keep in rendering public service (I stress public service). Do remember that there are transparent benchmark in the international scene (a lot coming from 1st world countries).

//Singaporeans should help each other, why don’t you let the homeless move in and live with you? why don’t you give $400 to the homless every month?//

Going by your logic, since most (if not all of us & I bet it includes you and me also) would not let the homeless move in and live with us, does it mean that Singaporeans should not help each other.

Do you sincerely think that a lot of average Singaporeans can afford to give away $400/- per month. If those who are telling us that there are billions in the reserves do not give out $400/- away to all the needy, what makes you think that people with much lesser capacities (some of whom may be complaining & facing problems themselves) can even do that.

//the government’s savings is the people’s tax for the country’s growth.//

You are trying too hard. No wonder our public housing board mentioned they made a loss.

//And that money is our tax money.//

Our tax money. Well said. Let us not even talk about OUR tax money (which seems to be a one way flow as far as my situation is concerned) but go into something closer to us, our CPF money. Now please tell us the withdrawal rules. Do you think it is OUR CPF money ? If so, why do we need a nanny to tell (command) us how and when we should withdraw it.

5. #14) My Views
    “You should live to see opposition win a GRC. ”

And to see investors winding down their businesses in Singapore as well???
    …………………………………………………………………………….

That’s was exactly what LKY & the MIW said before JBJ won Anson in1981. A few years later, Chaim took Potong Pasir. The economy didn’t collapse. In fact, Singapore prospered beyond the imagination of even the PAP. Our foreign reserves increased by ten-fold.

6. sgwatcher 2 January 2010

Edward, good point. Unfortunately, when propaganda gets spoken over and over again, it sticks to your mind. That is the power of propaganda and why it must be under controlled to make you stay in power.

7. rubbish in rubbish out 2 January 2010

Which is exactly my point…see 36).
    look at what happened to Japan…
    Ruling party got voted out after 54 years…Did you see Japan collapsing?

8. Political SalesMaN 2 January 2010

The reason why Japan is collapsing, threy have involve too much money outside Japan where Singapore copy the Japanese model. Try to be Ist class country.

9. i was at the not-long-ago rennovated tekka wet market cum hawker center recently.

i saw old chinese uncles and aunties wearing caps working there as table cleaners. clearing bowls and plates and cleaning the tables. One could easily spot them. They are different than the majority there. They look like citizens, chinese singaporeans who ‘retire’ to become low wage cleaners serving foreigners- amidst the huge crowd of customers comprised mainly of foreign workers, foreigners , indians and main land china chinese either tourists, PRs or FTs and FWs if not foodstall assistants.

Its become a place full of foreigners congesting the city. competing for rice bowls as well as competing to clean rice bowls.

by the way, a foodstall singaporean uncle laments that hundreds of plastic chillie / soy sauce containers (those small cups) have been disappearing and now they switch to disposable cups. more crimes?

dun take my word for it. visit Tekka foodstalls. Sad pathetic situation.

10. Clear eyed 3 January 2010

Yes, it is very common to see elderly Singaporeans clearing and cleaning up after foreigners in the food centres, MRT stations, shopping malls, etc. It makes me both sad and angry. In the first place they should not have to work to eke out a living in their twilight years. To be reduced to serving foreigners in their old age in their own homeland is adding salt to their injury. Is the Swiss standard of living and the Golden Age only for the greater mortals of the land and for foreigners?

11. lao monkey 3 January 2010

Die lah, those people staying in sembawang will be chase out of the park after this TOC article is out. that’s their pattern. then the public think gahmen have help them aredi…. sigh….
    Hope Singapore also do a tsunami at the next election. sweep those ‘good for nothing who enter by the back door’ out of palimen… old monkey day’s will be over soon …. hahahaha

12. Nee Soon was a hotbed of Barisan Socialis supporters.

WHo don’t TOC start to dig up the History of Nee Soon during the 60s?

I am sure, starting with Dr Poh, more and more ex-Barisan Socialis members will like to give a piece of their history.

It is something worthwhile for TOC to follow up.

13. Joel Low 3 January 2010

Well, I just received notice that my MP is doing his home visit again the next few days. 1st time since the last election. Think election is really coming this year. This time they are doing it earlier, before any GE announcement. Unfair I think.

Those of us who have a bit of intelligent and understanding knows what to do then.

Singapore need a change.

We need to know what we have been lied to and really how much our reserves have now. Law need to be independent of government’s interference. More resources and opportunities need to be channel to help our own Singaporean rather than foreigners. More direct helps needed for those who really needed them. Sack the useless SM and MM and all the other “M” who are wasting our monies. More Democracy.

14. Homegrown 4 January 2010

the money that some smart chaps lost recently is more than enough to build
    simple accomodations for our own poor citizens…and feed them.
    those banks from the rich nations don’t deserve or need our “kind” donations.
    ‘CHARITY BEGINS AT HOME” or has the gobalised world chage this dcitum.
    We must go and check it out with the smart PRSIDENT scholars.

15. Leon C. 10 January 2010

In the army, we were taught to leave no man behind. Slow-learners and “Saboh kings” alike. And as a country, we should also sincerely walk the talk. Provide for the less abled so they can grow and provide for the nation as a whole.
    Do not worry that the little money spent on the less privileged cannot be recovered. For the returns will be intangible. For people will be inspired to serve the nation wholeheartedly.
    Contrary to what the elites believed, we do not need millions to live a wholesome life. Sometimes its the simplest things in life that makes us happy. Things like living a dignified life with roof over the head and a home to go back to.
    I do not object to MPs making millions while the country men are well taken care of. But looking at the current state, I shall leave my readers with this…

“Nearly all men can stand adversity, but if you want to test a man’s character, give him power.”
    — Abraham Lincoln

16. reformed ah beng 10 January 2010

If opposition wins, the Singapore will be next Somalia? Or remerge with Malaysia? Come on lah, you still believe old, dirty, cheap LKY’s brainwash phrase that invented Singaporean to vote SDP and another opposition parties?

To some PAPpies who blame those homeless, wait till you get old and had to do dishwashing job and let FT snatched the prosperity of Singapore – and my Malaysian cousins still believe that Singapore is the most charitable country of the world. Pathetic!

17. My Views 15 January 2010

80% of Singaporeans are living comfortably in HDB apartments. Why, out of the blue, two persons from TOC and a friend came out with this story of homeless people in Sembawang Park?

My understanding was that several MPs, even ministers as well as grassroots members had visited that park on different occasions. Where were the so-called “homeless” campers? Oh, perhaps they had gone for scuba diving in the nearby sea when the ministers visited the park!

18. Oxford Dude 15 January 2010

66) My Views on January 15th, 2010 2.25 am

80% of Singaporeans are living comfortably in HDB apartments. Why, out of the blue, two persons from TOC and a friend came out with this story of homeless people in Sembawang Park?

Hi Spin Doctor aka My Views,

How are you? Is 20% a comfortable unemployment figure as long as 80% of the workforce is employed? Just wondering…

19. Tadjudin 1 February 2010

Please do inform Mr Murugaya that in Indonesia if people can not pay the water bill (electricity bill, or telephone bill) those utilities will also be cut-off. In Indonesia it is somewhat as bad cos the water quality is pretty poor and it’s price keeps rising (as to adjust to the inflation they said).

20. What has become and will become of Singapore? Are we in the process of replacing people while dispensing those we think are dispensable? Welfare, authority bodies, HDB, Please start earning your keeps and quick. Solve the problem. Talk no more – get to work

Thank you for bringing such news to light.

21. SingaporeMummy 10 February 2010

Akazukin

You must be one of those with iron rice bowl till 85 or over because no one knows if we will become jobless, lose our savings, become ill or disabled or lose our business.  Not only that, one thing is for sure, we will all get old and probably infirm.

You do not understand such a thing as ’safety net’ and you talk about all the big Govt matters.  When you mentioned will we be happy if the 2% GST goes to…. I actually thought at last you grow sense and asked if we will be happy if our 2% GST goes towards buying the other old man (the most famous one) and his family all the power and the wealth.  Before you go justifying for this other old man, unless there is transparency in reporting where our tax money goes to, nothing will convice me.

With all the millions in the Ministers pockets, they are most probably buying 3rd, 4th, 5th luxurious homes overseas.  There is no need for donation from anyone, no need for increase in taxes, no need for sacrificing other public services.  Just cut 1 percent from all Ministers pay and these people will have a block of flat.  Is that too much to ask?

22. anarchicraven...(im not rly anarchic haha) 11 February 2010

I have to agree with you SingaporeMummy. People are donating to charities ON TOP OF GST. Akazukin you obviously don’t understand that there are people who want to help. Honestly? I would rather some of the taxes I pay be used to help old men than go into the pockets of our beloved ministers. Face it. Singaporeans need to help ourselves. It would be great if the government could channel this, but it is not impossible throught charity organizations. Akazukin I hope you try contributing just a little of your money to those in need. Who knows? It could be more fulfilling than you think.

23. I hope the government is reading the people’s heart.
    Unless some of the comments are planted here for other purposes, they bring aches and sorrow for we are family with SURNAME Singaporean. when one of us fall or glorified, it will no doubt affect the family (country).  Our big brothers are those we appointed and look up as capable leaders who has been directing and managing the family. As long as the younger brother needs and wants help, which big brothers would condemn him to die especially when we are not a poor family.
    We spent tonnes on sports, on unfortunate investments (no condemnation here for there were good investments as well), failed policies etc. Cant we spent alittle time and money on what is happening to our less fortunate ones?  Unless investigations have been conducted and proven unreal?

Leave a Reply

-->
theonlinecitizen on Facebook