He explained that he would not be returning after all as he had been recalled from his post in Singapore.

Straits Times

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

44 Responses to “Romanian diplomat not returning to S’pore after all”

1. sefergfe 8 January 2010

expected.

so now singpaore will do what next?

2. Famous words 8 January 2010

“It has happened, what to do ? Let’s move on”

3. Excuses, recalled from post doesn’t mean he cannot
    come back in his PERSONAL capacity if he is so sure
    he is innocent.
    That is, if there is any ounce of decency left in him.
    He should not be left off the hook.
    So whats our MFA going to do about it?
    Or is it going to be another “What to do, it happened. Lets move on”?

4. blackfeline 8 January 2010

well…if he’s from gypsies background…im not the least surprised! Hope some rival clans will hunt him down!

5. it’s a honest mistake.
    I knock someone down. I go back my home country and you cannot do a thing coz I know the Singapore government would not do a thing to spoil the relationship with my country.

6. commentator 8 January 2010

If the accident victim is the PM’s son, I’m quite certain it will not be “what to do, it happened. Let’s move on”.

7. they are going to do nothing and hope we will all forget about it. if something big really happens, then they’ll claim credit.

what’s new, right?

8. jessica 8 January 2010

COWARD. I hope he get run over buy a car in Romania and die a tragic death.

9. it’s a rather straightforward thing that’s been made sticky.

was he named as a suspect or called down for investigation prior to his return? if so, he could have been stopped at the airport, couldn’t he?

usually for cases involving more than just the “ordinary” person, it’ll go up the ranks in the police and they’ll tend to take a longer time “investigating”, as there are far too many implications and “interests” to consider. now that ionescu’s on safe romanian soil, nobody can do anything about it.

i really hope that justice will be brought to the perpetrator of this sickening hit-and-run.

10. sefergfe 8 January 2010

If it is a big shot that is get run over.

We lesser mortals will also not say…

“It has happened, what to do ? Let’s move on”

We will still donate money to help fight all the way to the world international court.

Hope singapore government will help every mortal.

11. whoincharge 8 January 2010

and what was MY replies to melvin chang on the other thread?
    did i or did not not says the romainan diplomat would NOT be returnin @ all in any cost and that was more than 2 days ago!
    read below my repost

…………………………………….
    [i]76) whoincharge on January 7th, 2010 10.21 am [i]First of all, nobody said the diplomat is above the law, nor did the Singapore government imply anywhere that the diplomat will get away scot free. Therefore, the author’s statement “The sad and tragic truth: Dr Ionescu is above the law.” is not true[/i]

read my statement carefOOLEE in the other roman accident thread…
    i been all over the world WORKIN!
    till today i have yet to see a diplomat/aidedecharge/whatever bein to court for a hearin…
    you singapoorium are just behind a wall..you all know NOTHIN!…

VA:F [1.6.3_896]
    Rating: 0 (from 2 votes)
    77) whoincharge on January 7th, 2010 12.45 pm part II
    the wayan just began..this romanian diplomat guy would NOT need to return here to face anybody..his country ^VOUCHED^ that justice/investigation would be carried out
    in his native country romania under romanian law when the romanians were onced ruled by vampires who sucked blood for a livin and please do kindLEE take note..
    who are all this socalled diplomats? karkeelang…(owned people)…
    what is the punishment for a drunkdrivin hit N drunk in romania..would 1 inquired…
    gipsies are a plenty with bullockdriven carts….
    you tell me

VA:F [1.6.3_896]
    [/i]

12. HaHaHa, did I told all of you he is not going to return. If you are him, will you returned here to face music? The government will said move on, nothing can be done because we are just common citizens.

13. Colonel Faris Al Ghazi 8 January 2010

Someone should send a strong worded email to the Romanian embassy. Now Im wondering who can help investigate the matter when this Romanian coward is in Bucharest? Sending emails can solve the case ah? Will george Yeo visit him to facilitate the investigation since he’s our FOREIGN Minister?

14. Haha…even a backward country like Romania can step on us…
    what if this guy is a ambassador from USA, do we need to bend them and let them…………

15. Mr Brown Solomon 8 January 2010

I think hor…, i think we can do nothing about it, as usual.

16. bashed_singaporean 8 January 2010

Hello,

What do they(s’pore goverment) know?

They only know about “bashing Singaporean” in front of others.

Do they sympathise with us, now that our fellow people are being “hit (by foreigner) and run (back to his country)”?

Only know how to carry foreigners’ “balls” at the expense of Singaporean?

Do anyone agrees? We will all see what reply MFA is going to issue and how swiftly are they going to give S’poreans an answer.

17. jessica 8 January 2010

13) Colonel Faris Al Ghazi- “Will george Yeo visit him to facilitate the investigation since he’s our FOREIGN Minister?”

He already said on media that the matter will take its course. In other words, it is as good as saying that “it has a happened, it’s an honest mistake, let’s move on”

And when asked where is this C-O-W-A-R-D ? WKS will say something useless like “He is either in Romania or out of the country”

18. Plumber 8 January 2010

i think the govt normally would balance all stakeholders interest so chances nothing would be done.

19. sweeney 38 8 January 2010

“Singaporeans come first”, said the Prime Minister LHL.

Well, this is your opportunity to show us how you really, really care for us.
    Are you going to see justice done, or let this grave incident pass by?

Do we have justice in this country. Especially where we peasants are concerned?
    Do we have rule of law or, a one country two systems,?………one for
    the peasants and one for the elites
    Do you have the guts to do the right thing, by standing up to protect the
    rights of your people…the Singaporeans! Or, are you going to say, “well,
    what to do, what;s done is done, so lets move on”!

Remember, you are voted by the people, to serve the people.
    We expect you as a leader to perform your job to see justice done!!!

Should you decide otherwise and adopt a” lesser faire “attitude, please
    step down and …………….”GET LOST”.

20. JusticeToThePowerOfInfinity 8 January 2010

If Dr Ionescu is innocent as he claims, then he has no fears to appear in our courts. Or does he know something about our courts that we don’t know?

If he is really guilty of the offence, then he should do the right thing and come back to Singapore and face trial. In the first place, he should have got out of the car and help the victims. The dead one might still live if he has done that. And what a story he spinned. IMO, he is a big COWARD!

Let our Government bring justice to bear in this case.

21. Kelvin Lim 8 January 2010

That was exactly what harry houdini said when he pulled off his last disappearing trick, short end is this, we are left with the baby, so this is for George Yeo to sort out, he brought up “due process,” so lets see how is he going to get out of this hole now.

In the first place why was he even allowed to leave the country? Do you mean to say Romania has better health care facilities than Singapore? What nonsense is this!

22. Hello guys, we are too small to fight with big countries. Nothing we can do. He already left here, so just had to move on. Even our FM Yeo cannot do anything.

23. Kelvin Lim 8 January 2010

Diplomatic immunity does not mean a diplomat can commit a crime without regard to the law. In this particular case, we dont even have any information whether he was sober during incident? This first step was not even carried out dilligently, so when you talk about due process what are you really talking about?

Dont worry lah, in 6 months like the TR fake doss attack, it will just be forgotten. So they have to believe or really believe lah, whatever :(

But one thing is clear, the victims will have to live with this for the rest of their lives.

That is the saddest part.

24. RED-man 8 January 2010

This is going to cost PAP more vote lost in the next election. If not, it simply reflect tht Singaporean in general can’t be bothered about helping each other out.

25. A coward who fabricated all the stories and try to divert evidence by false reporting and wasting our Police resources. Invertebrate liar !!

26. Someone died..that is the most horrible thing. And it is, in all probabilities, due to the actions of this man. The badly made-up story, the alcohol, and now the running way all point to that. That he runs away is not wholly unexpected..but how did the government let him go? This government monitors the airports so closely, anyone who is a threat to them is usually not allowed out of the country but this man somehow got through the usually hawkish eyes of security at Changi? I don’t believe that at all. I think the Singapore government had no intention of charging him because they do not care about the people who were injured and grieving family of the one who died..well at least not enough for it to become an international incident. It is too much trouble and it is a foreigner, and since foreigners are the most important people to them, I think intentionally let him go so that when probed they can deny culpability….” what are we to do..he’s out of the country.”

I’ve always thought badly of the government but I never thought they would be so callous as to let a man who probably killed a citizen go free. My thoughts are with the families of the ones who were hurt by this.

27. He just made a mockery out of Singapore Police Force and the Gahment of Singapore…The least the gahment is to follow up on the”due process” and give the families of the victim an answer instead of still “under investigation”.
    By keeping quiet, it just show that this will be swept under the carpet too. I hope I get proven wrong.

28. Seriously hah, when will the rest of the sporns wake up from this matrix. I reckon those reading my comments are awake, what about the others?

29. somapah boy 8 January 2010

I am sad and feel sorry to the victim and his family.

On this driver ,could it be that it is the practice in Romania that a person can get drunk ,killed someone and can escape punishment as long as he can escape from the scene.
    Maybe this hit and run driver is influence by the saying In Rome do as the Roman do and think that this is Rome..
    From my judgement ,I believe the only way to make him return will be by using the 2 charbor who took photoes with him.I heard uncles with such appearence is likely to cause accident under the influence of alcohol and women.
    Pls learn a lesson from here.Don’t drink and drive.Practice safe driving and dun see Char Bor while driving.Aim for Zero accident in the coming year of the Tiger.
    Be responsible .

30. preston loon 9 January 2010

Not only foreign and local VIPs have special vehicle license plates.They also
    possess a special passport which allow them to go in and out of the any int. airport
    without any hindrances,like screening,lining-up or luggage check or question by
    airport security.That is the reason why this Romanian diplomat got away so easily.
    This special privilege applies to our local VIPs too.Can you imagine if Singapore
    is about to take over by force, by some foreign aggressors,where do those VIPs go.
    This is not far-fetched.Do you remember in the late 70s,when UK was under the
    reign of that Iron-lady,M.Thatcher.An Iranian gunman in the Iran embassy compound
    opened fire at a crowd protesting the Iran crisis.If i am correct,one person was killed.
    Ironically,he was protected under the diplomatic immunity protocol but was finally
    deported.Here is another one closer to home.During the world cup soccer in S.
    korea few years back,the son of Libya president was caught with a firearm in
    Changi airport while waiting for a transit to Korea.Because of that special pass,
    he was let go by Singapore custom.Let’s face it,we cannot go against all these
    political elitists.They already have their asses covered.

31. flawed speech 9 January 2010

As far as I am concerned, so many lousy policies were thrown but our oppositions have been very quiet or behaving meekly. Is it because in the past, LHL/SM had been bashing so hard that all our oppositions are fearful of repercussions?

The citizens have come out strongly against this grievance but what has opposition parties done so far? Look at the hdb prices.. look at the immigration policies.. look at this romanian crab. No one question on LHL slack economy forecast in next few years ie maybe 3 maybe 4 maybe 5. No one says much.. all we hear is PAP MPs telling us it is good for us and we should grateful.

We want to oppositions to speak us for citizens, not wait for elections to come. A lot of citizens are on the internet fighting for common citizens, fighting for rights, echoing their frustrations ie TOC forums, Asia1 forums and political blogs.

So what have oppositions DONE SO FAR? We have not seen any particular party or MP who came out strongly to question. How about holding protest and talks at the speakers corners?

Yeah you guys can mark me down but that is the truth my friends. If this is the state, how to win any/more seat?

32. Man on the streets are also human beings, we cannot take it just like that!

33. Most politicians are damn bloody liars!

34. aiyoyo

why this rome diplomat behave like this huh?

a diplomat leh!!!

alamak how is the tp going to close this case???

aiyoyo

35. gulliver giant 9 January 2010

‘//As far as I am concerned, so many lousy policies were thrown but our oppositions have been very quiet or behaving meekly.//

blame those who did not vote more in lah. oppositions say things, a lot more ppl in parliment may be laughing at them you know.

even say good things, will all be shown in the mainstream media or not ? behaving meekly, power in number lah. even if you are big gulliver’s giant, you will still be dwarfed by many little men. now go think.

r u from the IB here to divide and rule.

36. take cover first 9 January 2010

my take is that this Romanian weasel has to take cover first lah !
    must give some time for the ingenious ones in our govt system to prepare, right ?

when this weasel does come back to face investigations or even a court hearing, we can expect the kangaroos to give us their out of this world logic in finding him not guilty. does anyone forsee a different arrangement ?

37. How Lam Loong 9 January 2010

How long does it take in general for SPF to investigate cases like this?

38. Stupid Cops 9 January 2010

The ridiculous Singapore Police Farce can publicly admonish SingPost for what was a pretty creative, smart graffiti guerrilla-marketing campaign — saying all kinds of bull about wasting police resources, but (predictably) chickened out when it refused to chide — with a similarly terse-worded statement — the Romanians for wasting public resources.

What an organization ….Led by out-of-touch scholar yes-men and run on the ground by a bunch o- and n-level flunkies.

39. mice is nice 9 January 2010

next time if i encounter a car accident i make sure the culprit dun leave!

little wonder why some “3rd world” countries still practice village justice?…

40. size matters 17 January 2010

big country can bully smaller ones like singapoor

41. coed spice 13 February 2010

It’s another hit and run story. Expected that the old weasle will get out of the country as soon as he can. Typical traits. He will feign sickness and subsequently cook up other stories of how he was not involved and probably planning something with his accomplices in Romania now to buy witness or scapegoat . Finally, he becomes a “Romanian National Hero” after winning SPF and SG Govt.  Then, other foreign diplomats will also join in the “killing spree” and sing the song ” Wasn’t me – shaggy”. 

Come back to stand trial. Face it like a man ” unless you are ball-less’.
    Oh…do not worry. SG Govt won’t bite …..too hard. Probably a few stroke of rottan (100 times), “protect” you from harm from other Singaporeans in Changi and you may walk free after a few (million) years!  …..YFB!

42. doctorwho 13 February 2010

WKS, if the victims are some1 close to you, touch wood.  Would you let this romanian go?

43. Whycomplain? 24 February 2010

So what can we – Singaporean (the smaller self) do beside being obedient and law-abidding. We just have to bow to any entities that the gahment feel that it is important.  In a nutshell, the gahment needs to maintain ties with any foreign entities as long as they can bring benefits to the country (the bigger self). The economic values far above any other values and will serve as a major yardstick in any GE in Singapore (past and future).

I can only imagine if this accident happened in another country, or perhaps someone slightly more important being killed (eg. American, British etc.) in Singapore. But now it is only our neighboring friends being killed … the gahment will not jeopardised the good ties (I meant EU) given that the Romanian also know how to wayang abit.

We just have to be patient and see what will happen next. Hopefully justice can be geniunely served so that the death can finally rest. Dear Singaporean or those whom have given a “resounding” victory to the gahment GE after GE (including myself), kindly take this into considerations for the next GE.

44. voting for opp also will not change anything. utimately, sg is a small n resouceless country.