By Gilbert Goh of Trasitioning.org
My fear is that if the ruling party calls a general election now they may lose a few more seats to the opposition based on the current environment. I have never met so many dissatisfied Singaporeans in my life.
1. Foreign workers
The issue of foreign workers is perhaps the biggest grouse of Singaporeans. The huge sudden influx of foreign workers into our tiny island state is too much for most locals to bear. Not only do they compete for employment opportunities with Singaporeans, they also drive down wages as manpower supply exceeds demand especially at the last recession.
Though the government has tried to placate Singaporeans by promising to slow down future intake of foreigners, the damage is already done and may cost the ruling People’s Action Party (PAP) a large number of votes.
2. Housing
Prices of HDB resale flats have risen significantly since the middle of last year even in the midst of a recession. This is largely thought to be influenced by the huge number of foreigners bidding for resale flats. Moreover, the build-to-order (BTO) programme is not really going as well as proclaimed. Newly-married couples have to wait for at least three years and the locations of new flats are also not that popular.
Singles above 35 years of age can buy HDB resale flats but the sky-high prices are seen by some to be inflated by immigrants with strong cash reserves. They also felt victimised as the housing policy is seen to favour married couples.
3. High cost of living vs stagnated salary scale
The high cost of living has affected the spending power of most Singaporeans, notably the poor and lower middle income earners. The past recession has forced many Singaporeans to take on lower-paying jobs. Many who are retrenched from their high paying jobs have lost the hope of ever attaining such good-salary jobs again. They feel that the country has regressed.
The inflationary rate has also outstripped whatever small gain in salary the average wage earner has made. Many are also unable to save enough for their retirement – a potential time bomb for the country.
4. Bias In Human Resource Practices
Many PMETs (Professionals, Managers, Executives and Technicians) in their 40s and 50s are not able to find jobs easily as employers continue to be biased against this age group. With younger, cheaper foreigners waiting in line, employers have the upper hand here, especially when the economy is still in its gradual upward trend. Many who are desperate take on low-end jobs such as cab drivers and security guards to make ends meet. People in this age group often carry the burden of unpaid hefty home mortgages and educational funding for their children. Under-employment seems to be a main issue with middle-aged professionals who are armed with coveted degrees and MBAs.
5. People everywhere
Trains are more crowded as foreigners enter our country by the hundreds of thousands. Every part of this little red dot is swarmed as Singaporeans avoid their usual weekend solace at the shopping malls and cinemas. They begin to camp in at home during the weekends, wallowing in their frustration. They may also explore migration opportunities in the search for a better life abroad.
With overseas voting available for the first time in the forthcoming election, it will not be surprising if many of such votes should go against the ruling party.
6. Stressful lifestyle
The Singaporean lifestyle is often associated with stress and boredom. People simply move from one stressful environment to another as they progress in life.
From being stressed out at school due to the achievement-oriented environment to work stress prevalent everywhere, the typical Singaporean has often complained of having no time to relax.
Too much time spent at work has also contributed to a high divorce rate, as many couples fail to find the time to cultivate their relationships. This have also resulted in a spike in juvenile delinquent crimes as the lone parent can not find the time and space to care for their children left alone at home.
7. Lack of welfarism
There is general agreement that the government is stingy in its many welfare programmes. Many lament that they have to pay high prices for healthcare services. The sandwiched generation has a lot to complain about here as they have to care for their young children and aged parents.
In the eyes of the typical Singaporean, it is better to die poor and dignified than depend on the government for hand outs. Many have also complained of the high–handed ways Community Developement Council (CDC) officers have handled their welfare applications.
8. Skyhigh ministerial pay
Much have being said about the high salaries our ministers command. Ministers are paid in the millions and this have not gone down well with the people, especially when their own salaries are being squeezed by the influx of foreigners.
Ministers are also perceived as distant power figures, unable to understand how people on the ground feel while they plot their policies up in their ivory towers.
How many ministers actually take the MRT to work and attempt to understand how the common people feel about the peak hour crowding they endure on their way to work daily?
9. Huge losses on our foreign reserves
Recent reports on the huge losses incurred by Temasek Holdings and Government of Singapore Investment Corporation (GIC) have also stirred up a lot of negative sentiment against the ruling party.
Its failure to be transparent in its investments have caused many Singaporeans to believe that there are things that the two investment bodies are hiding from the public. As monies in the foreign reserves belong to the citizens of this country, people will naturally react adversely when news breaks about huge losses incurred by the government’s two investment arms.
10. Push for change
People generally believe that change is needed in a stifling political environment that has long been dominated by a single ruling party for well over forty years.
The issue of foreigner workers may just be the main catalyst that push Singaporeans to demand for change. People are pragmatic and if their economic needs are not met, they may simply go for the jugular.
Forced out by foreigners in their work places and feeling second-class in their own country, Singaporeans may well throw caution to the wind and vote for an alternative.
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

[i]To sharkfinmoneylender, The PAP no doubt put up a Teochew speaking candidate against Mr Low Thia Kiang at Hou Gang in the last GE but it was for only a token fight.[/i]
don’t talk cork dont make excuse if you are stupid..you are reaLLEE stupid not a token stupidlity nerd…than again a stupid dog liked you is a plenty within the pap party…
K Das
Feb 27, 2010 18:14
PURE 100% unadulterated PAP Bulls.h.i.t propaganda disguised as personal opinion.
Oldest whoring trick in the pimp world.
Although I strongly feel that the PAP deserves to be kicked out of government, I fear that the majority of Singaporeans just don’t have the guts to vote for the opposition.
I intend to remind all my relatives and friends of the all the issues listed above and stress to them that the only way to take Singapore back from the PAP is to vote it out.
of course there are many moles watching the forums, toc, temasek review etc. they also tried to downplay opposition comments and ideas to ensure some balance. you must remember the old man at 88 still heads up a team of “imperial guards/isa” which is often used for political advances. the oldest methodology used by emperor to ensure their dynasty can live forever.
there will be a seat warmer like gct after lhl retired to be SM, he would take over SM lee position and head imperial guards and hold the strings for few more years until grandson lee is groomed and ready.
look carefully, this only happens in north korea or in ancient times right?
Thanks for the list, Gilbert! I think one overarching theme that covers all of these issues is – what does becoming a developed country mean?
Millions of Singaporeans poured in their hearts & souls over the last 50 years to build Singapore.
They are now ready to reap the fruit of their labour. But, what do they get?
Uncertainty over:
- their ability to retain their job & maintain their standard of living;
- their ability to cover their living expenses once they are unable to work because of old age or disability;
- the values they should retain: the gotong-royong & “bersopan santun” culture they grew up with or the aggressive “survival of the fittest” ethos of today’s Singapore;
- their children’s ability to progress as they did, or at the very least maintain the same lifestyle as their parents, and not regress;
- whether they should follow the government’s philosophy of “pragmatism”, when following it means the logical thing to do is migrate, making them a permanently migrating and rootless community.
Usually, development leads to stronger bonds between a nation and its citizens. This does not seem to have happened in Singapore.
Just an observation for TOC to take note of if it hasn’t noticed it yet.
There is one poster here who uses multiple nicks and uses very inflammable language and tone that borders on racism and creating anti-religious mischief. He is in no way contributing to the discussion except to give names to fellow like calling them dogs, and, also pouring scorn on one’s religious belief.
One of the nick he uses also contains vulgarity.
I can think of only one other poster with whom I have tangled with before. The language he uses and the style of writing is very strongly similar and I also believe this particular poster had had run-ins with other blogsites as well.
TOC ought to take note of ContraD*** and the sharkfin guy.
Just a note of advice.
There is no doubt in my mind the number of people who ever thought about wanting to hae change HAS Increased substantially thanks to the policies and HDB issues.
This one of the only few reasons why opposition will not win could be the Ability of the Opposition leaders to persuade high calibre citizens to join them.
As long as they continue to fail in this, PAP need not worry a thing, economic crisis, HDB issues, lack of info on how many citizens are hired, lack of transparency , the losses, the hikes etc.
As we can see, the Opposition only have themselves to blame. What have they done to convince the people they can Change singapore ? I see the Same Old Opposition and that is why i made my new year resolution to retire overseas within the next 5 years.
I have had enough of the life here as well as the Opposition’s lack of ability to win.
TOC ought to take note of ContraDickk and the sharkfin guy.
Just a note of advice.
If you had read thru the sharkfin postin you should hav known better afterall contra dick and sharkfinmoneylender did confirm they are 1…
Anyway I still write better than you as usual
Moderating Editor: We are definitely monitoring the situation. In the spirit of allowing discussion though, we will even let trolls comment as long as they contribute to the discussion. Thank you for your concern, we are heartened that readers like you care enough to point out the problems.
You forg0t to mentioned about the justice served to the minibonds forced sell to the retirees. If this is the way the government protects the citizens that voted for them… thanks, but NO thanks!
<b>Ganguli</b>
You forget that some new PAP ministers got into parliament more easily on the coattails of “heavy weight” ministers via the GRC system, which therefore favours the incumbent and their greater numbers. The opposition parties have no such advantage, whatever their calibre. The lure of ministerial salaries is therefore probably a much greater incentive to join the PAP than the opposition, even if that carrot is not explicitly dangled in the face of talented people. So, those talented people for whom money is a prime motivator will not want to join the opposition. If the opposition can in some way also indirectly use taxpayers money to incentivise party recruitment, I am sure lots more opposition members would emerge as well. But people who profess to serve, but would only do so if remunerated well beyond comfort level, are really dregs, no matter how talented, and worthless to the rest of society.
A&E ,
I agree with some of your points.
We cannot rely on the People commoner to help the society in this aspect.
Some will help eg. Alex Tan, GMS , TKL, Mr Leong, Andrew, Gerald, Ravi etc who have contributed. But these people are rare. too rare. Their number is insufficient to have big effect for the moment.
What i am saying is this : In a society like singapore’s, its all-man-for-himself self-preservation style. Mark Lee hires many foreigners to cut cost and earn as much as he can for his coffee shop business. Can we blame him? Some may, but if we look at this case closer, we cannot blame him. He is just a 1 example out of so many thousands and thousands of true blue singaporean bosses who prefer to higher foreigners. Thanks to the policies as well.
What i really mean is only the Opposition professionals, if you will, can help the 33.3% in their dream of having a more democratic society. No one outside politics can help them.
Many’s views are right. Young people unhappy with the way things are may think that there will be change. I have seen many elections and had felt the same as them before. But time and again, no change. Despite all the issues and concerns, there will be not much change.
I have long concluded that singaporeans are unique. no where else. only here. I do not believe that if same influx issues happen in other countries, their people will accept like our singaporeans.
Just find a place and migrate, like what i am trying to do now. But only if you feel as hopeless and helpless as i am and willing to come out of your comfort zone. I do not encourage migration but some may be in the same shoe as me.
I have no confidence that this is the kind of society i want to raise my kids in. Imagine, my child having to mingle with people of certain mentalities. Of course, not everyone is like that. But u get what i mean.
i rather suffer overseas and be find a new comfort zone.
Its De Ja Vu all over again!
People are thinking oh this time PAP will lose big.
People also used to think the same, even more convinced , during the last 2 elections.
Stop Dreaming guys. I am no your side but have learnt how unique singaporeans are.
Despite every issues, its not possible to change mentalities.
Furthermore, our Opposition leaders are unable to rope in more candidates as highly qualified as the 2 RP ex-scholars. I do not believe they must be highly qualified. As long as decent and good IQ and EQ I am willing to vote for them. But without enough of these, as i said before, even if 49% of votes from the people go to opposition it could still result in 2 seats in parliament.
To me, the situation singapore has been in and is now in is very sad. Its the worse situation i witness in my entire life here.
But i do not under-estimate the power of the uniqueness. There will be no change and i have to enjoy another 5 more good years. World Cup and all.
recall the song : “Go West, life is peaceful there ….Go West……”
Talents generally, in my honest opinion, will not serve the society through strengthening the opposition. History has proven this is true. They will work for whoever pays them handsomely. To be fair, a rare few may. But this is not enough to have significant effect.
While this seems cold, its how humans are. Only professional opposition politicians can help the society become more democratic. No one would stick their necks out. This is how the world is. This is human nature : 人不为己天诛地灭.
This election shall be a non event.
If anyone waits for credible opposition, you have fallen into PAP trap. They continue to buy up paper talents (not even with PAP funds but with taxpayers money) and psycho you that oppos do not have what it takes.
PAP has become the obstacle for Sg’s progress. So we first have to remove the obstacle, there WILL be credible people to fill the void once that is done.
Someone once told me that the only way to gain power in Malaysia in not through the opposition by through UMNO itself. Look at what is happening to Anwar, sidestepped, sidetracked and on his way to another prison term. Now that’s ‘fait accompli.’ And a valuable lesson to learn.
I believe that the same is true in Singapore, the only way to overthrow the government is from within the government. We are not taking about a coup d’état, but a slow transformation of mindsets and attitude. This can only happen if a. LKY kicks the bucket and b. LHL retires from politics and c. No other member of the Lee family is allowed to enter into Singapore politics.
There is a wealth of talent here and sadly, they are not in politics nor interested in it. The change can only come from within the PAP as the government machinery is to well entrenched to be dislodged by an opposition party. All it takes is a small group that is willing to see ride the distance for the better good. One small group with foresight and vision who will silently work their way up the ranks and slowly overthrow the ‘mindset’ of the current ruling elite.
There is no other way to change the politics of this country….sad but true. Let’s juts hope that somewhere inside the PAP, there are a few that have not been bought and are aware of what needs to be done.
//b
it’s time for a change… otherwise they will take it that everyone is happy with them and whatever grouses will be simply swept off the floor
if you are really unhappy about the way PAP has governed singapore, i say let it be known that you are unhappy.
Year in year out, we hear the old man saying that he has the mandate of the people to carry out their policies. Everytime he is faced with a difficult question from foreign reporters, when he cannot come up with a pluasible response, he has 2 standard responses - (1) he will go back to the old days when there is racial riots and say that since PAP came in, this has stopped or (2) he will point to the % results from the elections and say that opposition can stand for elections and try to topple PAP if they can.
Standard responses to evade tough questions from foreigners… thereafter he avoid answering those questions…
See ?? this is how he does it.. do we stand want his son and gang ??
think about it seriously
from the day JBJ died.., we promise that we will vote out PAP!!
enough is enough with mentor repeating history and fooling us!
now budget has been cut down.
the cost of living still sky high. lee ever said..,what goes up will never come down, that would be (GST! TAXES! TRANSPORT! RICE! FOOD! THEIR MINISTER PAY!
WHAT GOES DOWN IS WE SINGAPOREANS DAY BY DAY!
so singaporeans…,if you are fearful of the pap then you keep voting them hoping for a change and hoping this people will have the heart to help us!
vote them out!!!!!!!!!
Another 3 reasons why PAP will lose. 1st, most of the able PAP members who can and had contributed towards the current Singapore are nolonger around – People like Goh Keng Swee (and his team) who built Jurong Island, JTC, SIA, SAF, the our GLC etc, and Ong Teng Cheong who built HDB and MRT etc. Now we only have people like MM whose ability and real contribution is highly questionable. (Minus the packaging. Just read his 2 memoirs and try to sum up his contribution based on his own records.There is nothing much.)
2nd, as SM pointed out, we are now in a transformation that would be painful. Of course. We are moving from spending within our means to spending beyond our means. Just look at the budget deficit that is now becoming a norm in the last 4 budgets. Countries are similar to individual. When a individual go into debt and spend beyond his means, he will be bankrupt soon. And it is going to be painful when we become bankrupt. So, minus all the packaging, all of us intuitively understand that spending beyond our means will finally lead us to bankrupt.
3rd, we had lost our soul. To be human, there must a higher calling – regardless whether it is for family, religious, nation building etc – There must be some cause that each of us are prepared to die for. Now, we are all in for the money, regardless of in politics or others. Everything is a job. Try to squeeze as much pay out of the job as possible. Score points to get higher pay etc. So, despite our entire economy is smaller that companies like Siemen, or smaller than cities like Guangzhou etc, our ministers still think that they are underpaid and want more paid. Is this not proof that we had already lost it. Everyday when we look at our kids, we know that we would lose our next generation if we continue this path.
So, don’t believe that those that vote against the PAP are casting protest votes. Many voted against because they truthfully believe that nothing can be worst off than now. Any reset will be better.
worst lot have to be HR services!!
I personally believe that if the next election still shows 2 seats taken with no GRC down,
many more would migrate if not plan to migrate .
Imagine how traumatic these would feel , that despite all the issues and problems and unhappiness, NO CHANGE!
who in the world would believe this is possible? This sort of tolerance by the people?
name me 1 country as super as this one.
I take the simplest approach.
If PAP implement policy that benefit me or my family, vote PAP in.
Otherwise, vote PAP out.
If you think PAP will come after you cos you vote the opposition; haha, you must be one that have an inflated ego. Last election, 17% of the people voted opposition; and I didn’t hear any news about persecution/genocide?
One last thing to add, I hope those that going to vote PAP this coming election be mindful of all the screw-up; temasek and GIC billion losses and no accountability, Ministers million dollars salary, ever raising cost of living, CPF lockdown, relentless import and free scholarship for foreigners, Romania Ambassador hit-and-run, etc – so many till I lost count.
If you’re still not sure who to vote after all these had happened, I think the problem lies with yourself – not PAP nor Oppositions.
Actually, we don’t have to kick PAP out. I don’t think any opposition is ready to take over anyway, not with nothing under their belt, experience wise and not with them unable to work with each other hence no way in hell there will be a coalition government comprising of oppositions.
But we definitely need to remove PAP’s holy grail – the 2/3 majority that they currently abuse at our expense. This means we have to vote 29 members oppositions in. It’s huge task looking at history, coupled with ball less voters who only complain but in the end voted for PAP.
If I have to vote a monkey to deny PAP of their 2/3 majority, I will gladly do so.
Anyone who thinks that, after all these years, we should still give PAP the overhelming mandate they hope for is really gong kia !
Look around us and wake up to reality…
If Indonesia was not created Singapore & probably half of Malaysia would have been perished under the anger of Mothernature Tsunami years ago. Then we all won’t be here talking. We all must be greatful for that. To be alive to exist. But still people are fighting for power, money, women etc.
Look at the other world. West, Middle, North, South. Why look so far, look at our Ind’sia & M’sia. Everywhere got problem. All kind of problem.
The reason that our local people here feel bad about their nation is because of the G’ment’s greed for Money and Power in the world rank. The decision they make results in people comfining in their homeground with no escape. This is an undeniable fact. Only the rich people gets the sugar. What abt the normal and poor people? If this is the Justice of the world, can’t we change it? If this is a coporate world can’t we change it to a real world?
They could have acheived all this in a positive way if they don’t have that Greed and take care of the locals 1st. Since they failed to do that in a earlier stage they are worried now.
Whatever the G’ment or ruling party does or decide there must be aware of onething. Life in this world is not permanent it is a test of humans how we are. One day all of us have to answer to God. There is no escape.
PAP got turnouts as strong as this one or not?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SdgdDVfhPxI&feature=player_embedded
Dumb and Dumber,
It’s not about prosecution/genocide that Singaporeans afraid of if they voting for opposition.If it really happen, no mainstream media here will carry such report.MostLEE and especiaLEE like the old folks had a mindset that the special branch will knock at the door at night to make an arrest.As for the younger one,especiaLEE again in the civil service. afraid of loosing their jobs as there serial number printed behind the vote cast card which they believe their indentity can be detected.
At every nook and cranny on the web (I’ve lost count of how many), there’s a blog/news/commentary site that has a huge deluge of comments and articles expressing profound dissatisfaction for how Singaporeans have been marginalized by their own government. It is actually quite amazing (and refreshing) to see democracy at work in the periphery of sanctioned circles. People are standing up and expressing their discontentment and I daresay the PAP internet police must have a hard time reporting this back to their superiors. Once upon a time there was usenet, where debates raged on and on. But they were the same old regular posters that kept the arguments alive. Now I see that everybody is participating in the different sites and nobody is realy hiding anymore.
The world is getting smaller and bigger at the same time and Singaporeans are beginning to realize that the spectre of persecution is only an illusion that has been perpetuated by the PAP. They cannot arrest everybody and there is now way they can contain the truth anymore.
If the PAP is voted back into power yet again at the next GE, then it can only be because there’s a huge voting scam that has been in place all these years. The writing is on the proverbial wall…. and there’s no hiding from truth.
//b
when you get your upgrading who pay? although they claimed subsidy, but in honestly, bulk of the money is from us and they also made money.
now you cannot afford hdb, how?
foreigners taking over your job, blame productivity… how?
when you lose your job, who will take care of you? the government or your wife/parents?
everything going up, how?
after you vote, what did you get? if you dont vote, what will you get? so i dont understand why people who criticise the gov, and still vote for them. singaporeans need to understand that you gain nothing from them with voting or not voting, we work very hard for everything we have today. gst credits will be repaid with hikes in all neccessities, so money given will be recouped back.
We are not government scholars or elites or their friends who are given iron rice bowls, high positions and lots of bonuses to support the power base. We are just their pawns that they need to convince during election time.
Moderating Editor: We are definitely monitoring the situation. In the spirit of allowing discussion though, we will even let trolls comment as long as they contribute to the discussion. Thank you for your concern, we are heartened that readers like you care enough to point out the problems.
i absolutly hav nothin to hide… a man a REAL man must take responsibility for what he post and feels..that the livin spirit/challenge i seek no less
for this i thanked your moderatin team for all the HARDWORKs i placed before you
as for multinickins..only the few here will know what a man gotta do 1 must do in order to be heard…
the last 2 elections so many thousands clapped and cheered in WP rallies.
These many thousands have proven they are not afraid to be seen supporting Opposition.
So, i think this FEAR is Over Rated.
Quoted in the Economist … Lee Kuan Yew, Singapore’s founding father and still its “minister mentor” has maintained that ambitious migrants help to keep citizens on their toes. In an interview given to National Geographic last July he said that if native Singaporeans lag behind “hungry” foreigners because “the spurs are not stuck on [their] hinds”, that is not the state’s problem to solve.
Hahaha… That’s what the Godfather really thinks of his ‘loyal + obedient’ Singaporeans! Nuf’ said no? If that is how the government sees us, then why should we vote them back in to power???
//b
No matter what we all say here will have definite no response or action taken because it’s politics. This website is seen and monitored by the government and intel officials. They will be seeing all these feedbacks from people just like the STOMP website.
People in Africa are dying for basic needs like food and water. Here officials are earning millions of dollars. WHOOW!. When money is shown in front of a face even the tiger can eat grass.
First of all the G’ment officials must simply love their local people. Without the “LOVE” element there is no point in election or voting. It’s all fake. How can they expect love in return?
During the early stage of lives, the Kings love their fellow people and take care of them. They will give their own lives to protect them. They will sacrifice themselves to make them prevail. Can any of the Officials, President or even the PM today be compared to them? No way! But at least 20% of their policy should be followed, should’nt it be.
Its very surprising but yet it’s understandable.
Surprising that they don’t even know the basic law of life in these so call modern city.
Understandable to see where the world is heading to.
I can really feel the difference now. Use to be a die hard supporter for PAP. Given both my only voting chances to them. But the last 5 yrs, the mere mentioning of PAP make my blood boils. I will never vote for them again until it had gone through a major overhaul of all the shitty ministers.
I urged all singaporean to vote the opposition in, regardless of whether they are capable or not.
Why?
1. Ruling party
The ruling party has been too successful. They have become too mercenary and rational in all decision making, losing touch with the people. All they been thinking has become irrelevant ( sometimes ruthless) to the common people. A defeat will give a blow to all those damn ruling elites to wake up their bloody ideas and come back to ground.
2. Opposition
The opposition has been whining and whining all these years, complaining of unfair treatment here and there. So, if we voted them in, let see how good they can performed, no more stupid excuses. Time to wake up their fxcking idea too, don’t you people heard of the famous quote “politics can never be clean”. Let me know which country practised that fair clean stuff, handing power easily to the opponents. Come on, they will send a death squad and bomb you in pieces.
Common people. Every year asking for red packet, cash handout. Complain here and complain there. Wanted to go strike but dare not. Everything also expect the gahment to settle for them. MRT too crowded ( can not take bus izzit) lah, no lift to doorstep lah , neighbour too noisy lah. this lah , that lah. Let see when there is really chaos in singapore, how all these sxckers going to handle. hehehe.
SO, what you all say, make everybody happy. ok? yeah…..
Howda.
Read this article by Seah Cheang Nee published in The Star, Malaysia.
I make no judgement but became quite scary after reading this article………..too many graduates becoming unemployed and the consequence of their votes that matter???
There’s something deeply unnatural when experimenting with people. SIngapore is a country, filled with living breathing citizens that vote a government into power. Singapore is not a company that employs its workers, they do not seek to be gainfully employed but rather work to earn a living and contribute to society, in every way.
When a government starts to mess with statistics and indulge in social engineering experiments, slyly and secretively, they are in essence violating the rights of their voters. The mess that Singapore is in right now is because of a series of executive decisions made by LKY and his back room boys. They think that they have the right to shape the lives of the people – by exercising control over them in ways we cannot even begin to imagine. This sleight of hand that they have practiced over the years, by implementing policies that subtly erode the power of the citizens, by housing them in ‘quarters’ by drafting the men into compulsory military service, by tying up their pension and making each and everyone slaves to their mortgages. These subtle forms of control (and there are many, many more psychological ones) have thus allow them to basically run the lives of the citizens without any real protest.
EVERYBODY toes the line! Its absolutely amazing how Singaporeans just seem to accept every misguided policy that have been shoved down their throats over the last 40 years. Sure that have been whinging and wining, but thats about all that happens. The illusion of the ISA and the secret police waiting in the shadows is enough to shut everybody up. I’m actually amazed at Malaysians, Thais an Indonesians who stand up and protest at the shenanigans of their governments. Despite their many misguided moments in Thailand and Indonesia, at least the have the cojones to stand up when it counts. In Malaysia, they take to the streets when required to do so. I’m not advocating riots but there’s nothing wrong with a peaceful demonstration of discontentment.
But hey… any gathering larger than 5 people for the any purpose without a permit is deemed illegal…
The law in Singapore says that permission is required for “any assembly or procession of 5 or more persons in any public road, public place or place of public resort intended –
(a) to demonstrate support for or opposition to the views or actions of any person;
(b) to publicise a cause or campaign; or
(c) to mark or commemorate any event.”
DUH? Are we living in 2010 or in a tin pot dictatorship banana republic in the 70′s??????
The point here is that we are paying for the misguided policies and experimentation with society that has been conducted over the years. They, The Lee’s have been playing with us and treating us like commodity, slaves, worker ants without the ability to think for ourselves. They have treated the country like their own private fiefdom, and done whatever they wished whenever they wished to do it. They think they have every right to do so because they have ‘singlehandedly’ transformed a fishing village ( http://theonlinecitizen.com/2009/11/was-singapore-just-a-fishing-village/) into a developed country!! Hahahaha… tell me another…
The writing is on the wall and it is time to send them a message. The real change may not happen anytime soon, but they have to know that their time is coming to an end….
//b.
to toni: nice article.
#1 rule of politics in singapore (and most developed countries): never alienate the middle class. How did PAP forget this? Complacency? Hubris?
to bedouin:
The great experiment of the last 5 years is to flood Singapore with cheap foreign graduates. This follows upon their long-established practice of using cheap foreign labour for construction workers and maids. PAP forgot this principle though:
If I didn’t study hard and cannot find a job when if grow up, then it’s my own fault.
If I study hard and get diploma and degree and still cannot find a job, then it must be the government’s fault!
Especially when you can experience the source of the problem on MRT everyday :D
bedouin:
“any gathering larger than 5 people for the any purpose without a permit is deemed illegal…”
Correct me if I am wrong. Now a single person can constitute “illegal assembly”.
Wah, next time think also cannot…. need permit even to think.
if usa can break the tradition and vote a black guy for the better, so can sgp people
Hi bedouin,
Very well said!
Yes, I cannot help but agree with some of the points mentioned in the article; that something is amiss here…
To Paparazzi,
It’s not about prosecution/genocide that Singaporeans afraid of if they voting for opposition.If it really happen, no mainstream media here will carry such report.
>> We’re not CSJ… there’s no point arresting even one of us nor make an example out of it without turning singapore into burma in the process – and that’s bad for business =less money into “pocket” and makes managing singapore even harder.
MostLEE and especiaLEE like the old folks had a mindset that the special branch will knock at the door at night to make an arrest.
>> The older generations with those mindset is dying off; and PAP knows it.
As for the younger one,especiaLEE again in the civil service. afraid of loosing their jobs as there serial number printed behind the vote cast card which they believe their indentity can be detected.
>> Haha… that’s another myth. And then these group of people got nothing to complain, isn’t it.
Anyway, in the civil service, only the supergrade needs to vote for the party; why? They don’t even need to tell you too… their interests are aligned… look at all the GLCs… which one is not align? Charles Goodyear = bye bye?
Anyway, if you’re a teacher, military officer… unless you are scholars/elites/affiliated ones (which I don’t even need to guess where their loyalty lies)… you think the government got so many top jobs left for you? Continue to hope… that’s what they want you to do… while bleeding you further….
OH MIGHTY LORD!
The people u created and gave a chance to live in this world don’t know what they are doing. All of them are playing politics. We innocent people are dying. We are helpless They don’t care about us, they don’t fear you. Wish you would send asteroids and wipe out every single lives. then create WORLD OF LIVES WITH LOVE ONLY(no money).
No matter how many Days it takes !!
No matter how many Months it takes !!
No matter how many Years it takes !!
THESES PEOPLE WILL ‘NEVER EVER’ CHANGE.
My pet peeve is that our MPs have totally forgotten that they are representatives of the people who voted them in.
When was the last time you heard an MP in Parliament say somethign like……
”my constituents want this” or “my constituents have expressed that they prefer xyz”?
Too often we listen to a lot of posturing, and I suspect scripted questions and answers designed to clarify and advocate pre-decided Govt policies.
Too many Sngaporeans have stopped listening.
@ Tua Sian Hokkien Pian – yeah. I for one would like to see Lee Bee Wah off. She is an act and everyone knows it
Wiser
I emphatize with with you but you need to understand that we are witnessing the Signs of the End Times. If you truly follow the BOOK (assuming you are “christian” since you love to call the Lord), we have already entered the Reign of Satan. This has to happen so that the Second Coming can occur. When God execute the next “Great Flood” via Fire this time to cleanse the world of evil before restoring it, it’s like reformatting your hard drive to remove all the virus. It’s way simpler to reformat and reload all your good programs than patching up infected software. Cheaper, faster better too!
In the occult circles, there are many portals of hell in this world and guess what, Singapore is one of them and is ruled by Belial (Asia ), one of the 4 crowned Princes of Hell.
Our civil service is penetrated by false x-tians, exposed through many recent events here. These are but false prophets. All these seem rather hopeless and daunting but if one keeps his own true faith and believe good will eventually triumph, we will be able to cast all these evil out soon enough with heaven’s help. But before your own “God, Buddha, Diety…etc” can help, you must help yourself.
VOTE wisely and VOTE Bravely! Vote OUt the darkness cloaked in white!
Hi nonsense,
I totally agree with you. I am a free thinker at the same time I cant deny those books, I don’t follow those books. cos no one knows for sure. (I use lord , god , creator, mightly, which will all come down one single meaning). Please I do not want this page to go into religion topic cos it will never ever end. We must pay respect to all religions. I just want all of us to realise that everything has a link. Even you and me. Everyone and everything here.
I am observing what is happening aroung the world and all parts & region of the world. I cannot omit this island from it. cause it has a big part play in the after effect. No one can denied it. S’pore is showing a big role model around the world. I am afraid for that. Its very good i am very proud of it, But they must also realise that other nations will be jealous and will try to bring it down someway.
The Question is can they maintain that standard for very long? Only a very good ruler can do that.
And since you have responded with true facts you should change your user name.
Wiser
No need to be a religious to know that there is a deep political darkness in Singapore. It is moving toward the evil ways of the Myanmar junta. Cosmic laws are a fact. Many overlap with science. What goes up must come down is explained as gravity in science. This yin yang principle applies to virtually everything in existence.
So even if one applies science, every action has an equal and opposite reaction. With so much evil accumulated by our legally corrupt MIW government, what do you think will eventually happen.
Sometimes when men cannot resolve evil, patience must be exercised to let the other forces work. In a circle of evil men, each will try to destroy the other for power. We do our part (VOTE wisely) and let their evil do theirs.