Letter to TOC by: Andrew Michael Teo

Hi,

I had just visited the Jobstreet website and I was astonished to see many of the jobs which can be performed by our very local PMETs are being DIRECTLY TO FOREIGNERS by DIRECT EMPLOYERS and Recruitment Agencies.

I have attached the link below:

http://job-search.jobstreet.com.sg/singapore/job-opening.php?location=70000&nationality=46&job-source=1&src=22
While there have been many employers complaining that Singaporeans are choosy and lazy and shun certain category of jobs, I do not understand why those jobs that were offered DIRECTLY to FOREIGNERS are not offered to our PMETs ?

Are we saying that, in the words of Minister of Law, “maybe our PMETs may not have the required skills” when those jobs that are being offered can truly be performed by our citizens?

I would sincerely appreciate if you could kindly investigate into these jobs offer. There are at least hundreds of them.

Screenshots of Jobstreet below:

Left: Jobs for foreigners, Right: Jobs for foreigners as categorised by nationality

49 Responses to “Jobstreet – Jobs for foreigners”

1. Stranger 5 February 2010

Why am I not surprised!

2. well, usually when these ads happens, the hiring head or HR dept is a foreigner.

The damage has been done. Even if MOM want to truly to do something about this, all these discrimination would simply go underground.

This is the result of liberal immigration policy. govt think that people from other countries would practice meritocracy like we do. I have seen so many cases where people are hired without much credentials.

Birds of same feathers flock together. That is how things work in reality.

3. anonymous 5 February 2010

This has been happening for a very long time discretely. Just ask any local IT guy what has happened to IT departments in many MNC’s and foreign companies in Singapore.

4. Marxlin 5 February 2010

Readers, should i upload pictures of job ads that are pro-foreigners if not foreigners-only?
    So many!

5. Jerome Chua Mui Looong 5 February 2010

Would this push citizens looking for job to leave the country and eventually migrate with their dissenting voices or feelings of dissentment? Would this then lead to more ‘Vacancies’ in sg for Influx? double-edged?

6. Many of these positions are for Global Foundaries, which absorbed Chartered Semicon which laid off hundreds of workers last year. These laid off workers, if they are local, shouldn’t be daft by voting Opposition in protest for losing out in the employment market. But the ones who manage to get a job in the new company (good luck at that) should remember this when the elections come around.

lol.

7. I think this report is too skewed.

JobStreet is a pte entity conducting their own business. If employers want certain specifications/work attitudes/mindsets that is hard to find locally,they’ll have to find talents from all over the world. Otherwise they can just advertise in ur SPH papers.

If all expats are to leave Singapore right now,you will probably flow back into recession and sink..
    Stop being so myopic.

While most of the real Singaporeans I meet on the streets are quite nice people, somehow most of the comments I read here disgusts me and leaves me a bad impression.

8. Helpless Zen 5 February 2010

I feel so HELPLESS!

9. Wahliao 5 February 2010

It’s true Singapore will collapse without expats. Who would build their condos? Who would look after their kids? Some Singaporean couples with babies don’t even know how to use diapers!

10. What’s wrong with foreigners? I’m a Singaporean, born and raised in Singapore, and I really don’t see why there’re so many people complaining about foreigners all the time.

WE ARE A SOCIETY OF IMMIGRANTS!!

Without an inflow of expatriate workers, Singapore will be a much poorer society because of it. These people do jobs Singaporeans don’t want to do, or cannot do. Singaporeans are given access to jobs at top MNCs because these companies are able to bring in their top talent into Singapore without much red tape, which means Singaporeans are given jobs as well in supporting roles, while those with the ability and necessary talent get promoted to management positions in the future.

Com’on guys. What do you really expect? We close off our society and keep all foreigners out? Will that create a Singaporean utopia where everyone will be happy? Will that help keep prices low? By the way, deflation is one sure sign of a society that’s stagnating and an economy that’s moving backwards. Falling prices isn’t neccesarily a good thing.

Foreigners add to the cultural fabric of Singapore. A society that doesn’t change is just doomed to failure. It’s only when there’s constant change that it can thrive.

11. Kevin,

I’ve gone through the ads. They were advertising for electronics engineers with expertise in micro-electronics. Allow me to reassure you that there are plenty of Singaporeans who have the necessary skills and experience. In fact, the semiconductor industry in Singapore has been contracting over the past several quarters and many Singaporean engineers in the industry were laid off.

12. Expat: it should be “…disgust me and leave me”. You should write in English properly if you want to be seen as a foreign talent.

You’re taking the very PAP stance of sliding the argument right to the other end of the spectrum. Please don’t do that. We’re wise to that kind of rhetoric.

As a Singaporean, I’m open to immigration, but in moderation. The government is voted in by the LOCALS, not the foreigners, and it should make sure the LOCALS should be taken care of first. By making sure jobs are available for them.

You don’t vote in a government, then allow it to tell you you suck, and that’s why foreigners are better at jobs in this country than you are.

13. tiredman 5 February 2010

With this kind of govt policies, companies are not willing train locals but to employ cheaper labours from other countries which have the skills and hence IMPORT UNEMPLOYMENT. Do you agree? So, Singapore govt is solving Singapore’s problem or try to help other countries to solve their unemployment problem when Singaporeans are having a hard time to find jobs in their own land?

14. Actually, there’s no such thing as an “EXPAT” here anymore. Most of these FT are just “Foreign Workers” working here, taking advantage of our liberal immigration policies and the fact that employers have chosen them over the locals becoz of their cheaper salaries, and not due to their special talent or whatsoever. To term them as EXPAT is overrating their worth.

15. The Jackal 5 February 2010

Julia,

Expats are those who are outstation here AND NOT those who are employed here. They are paid in their home country normally. But their accommodation and other daily necessities are taken care of by their companies.

Most of the ‘Expats” here today are the cheap skate ones.

16. U have to kill me to change my mind 5 February 2010

When basically any foreigner who wants to compete with you for your job, he can come in easily as compared to elsewhere.

This is the problem. More citizens and PRs = more jobs need to be created.

With USA going down, can singapore not be affected being so reliant on usa?

Yes, many countries has immigrants. But singapore is so small. The job market is limited!

17. The Jackal,

Exactly, my point. Many Singaporeans who see an ang moh in business attire simply assume they are “expats” living around Holland V and leading a cushy life here. Such is the misnomer. Most of them are just foreign workers. Foreign “talent” ? I’m not so sure….

18. Komenos 5 February 2010

Well, we need a new government that protects its citizen more than foreigners. I suppose its time for opposition politicians to play on the nationalism card/tactic in the next election

19. The Jackal 5 February 2010

This country needs a complete overhaul

20. economic logic 5 February 2010

If you were an employer,would you give the job to a guy that require up to 40 days of extra annual leave to serve his NS obligations or a guy that has no such obligation?
    Also the second guy financial commitment may be denominated in pesos or some other weaker currency vis-a-vis SIN dollar—hence able to undercut the local competition by up to 50%..

21. There is no reason why Global Foundries should be hiring foreigners when there are many qualified Singaporean engineers available. Aren’t these the high value added jobs that the Singapore government wants to create for its citizens ? Why are they not advertising these jobs in local newspaper first? We should raise this to MOM and hear what PIggy Gan has to say.

22. Talk to my uncaring face 5 February 2010

Since many years ago, as a it consultant, i learnt eventually from job agencies that many IT jobs were not advertised on newspapers. Coincidentally, many foreigners use the internet to apply or jobs via job portals from their house overseas and when they get the interview via telephone , they fly in here already promised a job even before they land here.

I have since left the IT industry.

Is Sg creating too many jobs for locals to handle that the gates have been opened so wide? To me, I think it cannot be widened anymore. Even during that Recession? Recession = Jobs Abundant?

I hope the election is this year. I believe it will be before the end of 3rd quarter. The 1st quarter 2010 is almost finished, mind you.

I also long for the final retirement. If you are reading, yes, i long for your retirement. Absolute Complete Retirement.

23. The Jackal 5 February 2010

05 Feb 6:16 pm Assistant Director / Associate, Insurance Supervision (Ref:…

Monetary Authority of Singapore (Government / Defence)

* 2 yrs exp

Singapore, 10 Shenton Way,MAS…

24. The Jackal 5 February 2010

Position of Asst Director / Associate, Insurance offered to foreigners by Monetary Authority of Singapore

http://job-search.jobstreet.com.sg/singapore/job-opening.php?location=70000&nationality=170&job-source=1&src=22

25. Strategist 5 February 2010

I will like to hear from MOM what system they have put in place to ensure that jobs that could be filled by Singapore citizens are not given to foreigners and how well it has been implemented.

26. Strategist 5 February 2010

Kevin
    Feb 5, 2010 12:56
    What’s wrong with foreigners? I’m a Singaporean, born and raised in Singapore, and I really don’t see why there’re so many people complaining about foreigners all the time.

WE ARE A SOCIETY OF IMMIGRANTS!!

Without an inflow of expatriate workers, Singapore will be a much poorer society because of it. These people do jobs Singaporeans don’t want to do, or cannot do. Singaporeans are given access to jobs at top MNCs because these companies are able to bring in their top talent into Singapore without much red tape, which means Singaporeans are given jobs as well in supporting roles, while those with the ability and necessary talent get promoted to management positions in the future.

Com’on guys. What do you really expect? We close off our society and keep all foreigners out? Will that create a Singaporean utopia where everyone will be happy? Will that help keep prices low? By the way, deflation is one sure sign of a society that’s stagnating and an economy that’s moving backwards. Falling prices isn’t neccesarily a good thing.

Foreigners add to the cultural fabric of Singapore. A society that doesn’t change is just doomed to failure. It’s only when there’s constant change that it can thrive.

Comments: With reference to Kelvin comments above. Is he sure the real situation is what he has described.

Many of us do not advocate shutting the door to real foreign talents. It becomes an issue when the door is not there and flood gate is opened that creates problems such as stress on social fabric, infrastructure, and jobs that Singaporeans can do and willing to do but given to foreigners because of lower costs to the employers.

Though we started as a migrants society, we will never be able to build a nation if we continue to be one. The increase in the number of foreign workers should be moderated.

27. Strategist 5 February 2010

Hi Expat,

If all Singaporeans will to leave Singapore, there will be no Singapore. No one to guard you Expats.

You carry things to an extreme.

28. Santori 5 February 2010

Position of Asst Director / Associate, Insurance offered to foreigners by Monetary Authority of Singapore

http://job-search.jobstreet.com.sg/singapore/job-opening.php?location=70000&nationality=170&job-source=1&src=22

Shit. How can this be happening ? I think piggy GAN is too busy counting his million dollars salary that he has allowed his compatriot to advertise blatantly for foreigners.

29. The Jackal 5 February 2010

Santori
    Feb 5, 2010 23:16

Go ahead, visit the site. There are even more as if Singaporeans really do not have the required experiences !!!!!!!!

This is really blood boiling!

30. Even government agencies such as MAS is advertising blatantly for foreigners and for Phillipino some more! From the job description, I believe MAS can easily find a Singaporean to fill the role. Are Singaporeans so hopeless and untalented that they need to hire Phillipino? It is as if they are not aware that there are still many unemployed Singaporeans out there who need the job.

31. Hey Expat!

GO AHEAD AND MAKE MY DAY!

32. This is very sad indeed. Sigh!

33. noiseMaker 6 February 2010

Are you folks serious or not? The reason why companies are employing overseas is not because of expertise, it is because they are cheaper, better and faster. Those in the higher caliber is sort after by EDB and not so much by companies of a general nature.

When company employs foreigner, these foreign workers can share their pay packet with their company boss. After receiving salary from company they also can give back part of their salary to their boss. Of course it is better to employ a foreigner.

Some of this engineer from the third world country is so dirt cheap, they are able to almost work round the clock for no overtime pay.

Singaporean are you seriously ignorant or pretend to look away because it doesn’t involve you. Given time your job will be next to be taken over by hard working foreigners if you sit still and do nothing.

34. singapooriums are defiteniteLEE choosy on the jobs they want to work..
    they want 9-2-6 mon-2-fri workin hours..defiteniteLEE min $2k/mth…
    whereelse a foreign worker who does the same duties will required onLEE $1.5k plus willin to woked till 8pm incl weekends…
    i have been trainnin apprentices and trust me..even my apprentices also demand better perks than me the mentor meself…if i earned $80/adhoc job..they want 50% of my CUT just for TRAINNIN them on the job..plus additional perks liked eatin a $5.50 meals while i had to do with a $2.80 prata/teh tarek meal
    sometime even worst..they also demand free door gifts/goodies as part of the deal…when i was an apprentice meself in the good ole days.. i had to buy me owned tools buy teh/kopis for my mentor EVERYDAY…
    ~sigh~ hiyah..shake me head….

35. TRUEBLOOD SINGPOREAN 6 February 2010

WE NEED FOREGINERS TO TAKE OVER PAP! REDUCE THE COST OF GOV,.

WHO MOVE MY CHEESE?

36. Your Supporter 6 February 2010

Many are attacking readers here criticising them of anti-foreigners.
    These remarks by these attackers can mislead the more naive or innocent.
    I feel that most readers here are not Against the foreigners per se but the policies for foreigners.
    We hardly know all these foreigners. Why would we be not happy with them? Some may be worried about their livelihoods and ricebowl. Many are jobless or lost their career and now working in another line at a lower position and pay due to competition in a dot where jobs are scarcer than before and the future is not looking golden.

So, to these attackers, don’t play punk here. you are trouble-makers only the naive will believe you and take your words whole sale.

37. band of brothers 6 February 2010

Quote “If all expats are to leave Singapore right now,you will probably flow back into recession and sink..
    Stop being so myopic.” by EXPAT:

Please help enlighten us how exactly will Singapore will flow back into recession and sink when we are an open, export driven economy.

1) In 2008 Singapore faced with worst economic performance since independence while the mass importation of FT/FWs was implemented in 2006. Hence why still the recession?

2) Why did Singapore productivity continues to sink despite mass importing of expats liked yourself?

3) Since you are a expat (I would consider you as Talent), will you forsees another recession when the government has announced limiting the FT/FW in ESC recommendation which is counter to your argument.

Thank you

38. Yamamoto 6 February 2010

Kevin
    Feb 5, 2010 12:56

Woa, nice seeing you here for the first time, and from the way you preach, it seems to be in line with what the MIW has advocate? might you be a parrot or a White Internet Brigade? We need FW, that’s undeniable, but we don’t want them to take away jobs that locals need and want….gosh…what is it in your mind? LKY words? and straits times perhaps?

“without an inflow of expatriate workers, Singapore will be a much poorer society because of it. These people do jobs Singaporeans don’t want to do, or cannot do. ” I think Kevin is totally missing the point of this article…the job been offered ain’t one Singaporeans shun…it is something that our graduates one…so why is Kevin mindlessly parroting here?

It is easy to say that change is needed to survival….even darwin says that….but look at Singapore and try to see who are the one that ain’t changing and still stuck to their old way? you don’t need me to spell it out

and Kevin, change is a double edged sword…maybe you don’t know it….but there are good and there are bad changes..and thank you so much for copy and pasting straits times/lky words here

39. Foookinabass 6 February 2010

To Kevins and the likes,

The Fact remains you CANNOT PROVE what you claim.
    I give you the chance to prove it. But i know you cannot.
    So, what is the value of your claim when you cannot prove it?

I also can say alot of things i cannot prove.
    come on, spare this blog some disk space. Be Green. You may already are.

40. The Jackal 7 February 2010

Feb 7, 2010
    More schemes for upgrade
    By Sue-Ann Chia
    While the high-level committee focused on the issue of raising productivity levels, Mr Gan (left), who was part of the ESC, said it also paid close attention to improving the plight of low-wage earners. — ST PHOTO: ALPHONSUS CHERN

LOW-WAGE workers can look forward to help schemes that will make it easier for them to upgrade their skills for better-paying jobs.

They could also enjoy more benefits from the Workfare Income Supplement (WIS) scheme as the Government is reviewing the three-year programme, including the frequency of payments and qualifying criteria.

Manpower Minister Gan Kim Yong on Sunday elaborated on these proposals which were made last week by the Economic Strategies Committee (ESC), when he spoke at a dialogue. He promised that more will be revealed in the Budget later this month.

While the high-level committee focused on the issue of raising productivity levels, Mr Gan, who was part of the ESC, said it also paid close attention to improving the plight of low-wage earners.

‘The focus is how to make it easier for older, low-wage workers to continue to acquire new skills…to pursue higher value jobs so that their incomes can improve over time,’ explained Mr Gan.

He was responding to questions raised at an hour-long dialogue with Nee Soon Central residents that capped his three-hour visit to the single-seat constituency, helmed by MP Ong Ah Heng.

=================================

With even jobs from government agencies like the MAS being offered to foreigners, what other higher value jobs can be created for Singaporeans ?

Vote out PAP !!!!

41. Every time when the people mentioned on FT, our dearest government will say Singaporean not willing to take up these jobs – referring to cleaners, construction workers and such. If not, they will refer to the CEO, high tech area and etc that Singaporean don’t have the skill.

The problem that they have been avoiding is this! Majority of Singaporean are in the middle income group working in manufacturing as technicians, engineers, managers and such, but they have not talk about these positions being taken up by FT.

I worked in the manufacturing sector for the past 15years and I’ve seen many FT who work as middle management (department manager) and most of their subordinates (80 to 90%) are from their country. I don’t think Singapore don’t have the skill and not willing to take up these job.

Our dearest MOM does have some rules to so call to ensure Singaporean is hired 1st: ratio of FT to residents (not Singaporean) a company can hire. However, this is full of holes that do not protect Singaporean. This ratio is – FT vs residents, so many MNC will convert S-pass holder to PR as soon as they can (usually 2 years after they work in the company). Once these S-pass holders are converted to PR, the MOM ratio rule not only does not apply to them, instead they become part of the so call residents and the company can hire more FT.

42. People Arrogant Party 8 February 2010

PAP said foreigners created jobs for Singaporeans. Now we know it is a LIE!! a great lie indeed.

43. Andrew Michael Teo 8 February 2010

40s
    Feb 8, 2010 9:41

“Our dearest MOM does have some rules to so call to ensure Singaporean is hired 1st: ratio of FT to residents (not Singaporean) a company can hire. However, this is full of holes that do not protect Singaporean. ”

==================

Hi 40s’

If even jobs at government agencies are being offered to foreigners, do you really still think that they play by the rules ?

Go Jobstreet Singapore, click on JOBS IN SINGAPORE FOR FOREIGNERS

44. My Views 9 February 2010

Despite its highly discriminatory policy of according priority to Singaporeans, Genting Singapore has to recruit 150 croupiers from Taiwan. You asked the casino operator, why? Because Singaporeans do not want the jobs! S$1,800 per month with an international company, yet Singaporeans chose to throw the opportunities away! What does it tell you? The homeless demanding for a palace!

45. Ah Siao 9 February 2010

@ My Views

“Because Singaporeans do not want the jobs! S$1,800 per month with an international company, yet Singaporeans chose to throw the opportunities away! ”

Do you want the job? Please apply now

46. sar buay sek 9 February 2010

Forget about qualifications and cheat ourselves by claiming ourselves to be PMETS etc etc.
    What employers looking for are cheap and productive staff.Go to 101 tower and throw down one pingpongball and chances of it hitting a U student is higher than throwing a football from You Owe Me Plaza.As a singaporean you just have to work hard .The employer is sick of paying the Shit Times for recruitments daily and interviewing applicants who demand this and that.Employees who complain to MOM for this and that.Fragile employee with MC everytime when they quarrel with their girlfriend,got to pay their CPF in time or face fines ,must pay by E filing or got to pay admin.fees etc etc…Getting a Foreign worker is actually Pow Tharn.Getting a local employee is actually like putting a mini bomb into their pocket to some employers.
    This one not I say one.

47. buay song 7 December 2010

alo , guys come on la, I stay for 6 years as foreigners in Singapore with student pass.and now I wish to work here as fresh graduate. I want to work here and you guys just complaining. just for your information yeah , we foreigners who study and live here pay double of living cost. my landlord is benefited with my rental payment monthly. and the landlord is very happy with that. Plus I pay double price with the school + insurance + and deposit to government , it’s not fair that you guys just want to wipe us ( foreigners) out from singapore . walao ehh I even speak like singaporean liao..

48. iamwhoiam 10 March 2011

I agree to Expat. Thus, there are also some countries who prefers singaporians than their local citizens. In the Philippines, a big area is occupied mostly by chinese men as in the entire area is occupied by Filipino businessmen. American tourist can tell but Filipinos are still nice to them.

You’re also right buay song, there are foreigners everywhere and should be given equal opportunities.

49. I enjoy reading a post that will make people think. Also, thanks for allowing me to comment!