Leong Sze Hian

I refer to the article “Singapore envies Kiwi lifestyle” (New Zealand Herald, Feb 9).

It states that
“The bait was better working hours, cheaper cars and housing – and in three weeks thousands from Singapore have registered their interest in living in New Zealand.

An Immigration New Zealand pilot project aimed at attracting Singaporean migrants has resulted in over 1000 registrations each week since it was launched last month, with 3565 potential immigrants having registered their interest in just three weeks”.

According to another article “Survey finds that workers in Singapore put in longest hours” (The China Post, Jan 12),

“Singapore’s workers continue to lead the pack when it comes to the number of hours they put in at work, according to a report by the International Labor Organization (ILO). The report puts them at the top of 13 economies in the group’s Global Wages Report for 2008-09, surpassing even the notoriously hardworking Japanese and Taiwanese”.

Singaporeans are among the hardest workers in the world, but do not have enough, upon retirement, to live in comfort in their home country. Is there any wonder why they should choose to migrate to other places that are much more affordable?

Cars for example, are so expensive in Singapore that a car owner may end up with $2 million less in retirement. This is calculated from an estimated cost of $1,000 monthly compounded at 6 per cent over 40 years.

To explain the poverty of retired Singaporeans, we’d have to explore the possible link between the 2 largest entities that effectively ‘lock up’ the wages of Singaporeans – HDB and CPF.

Increasing flat prices decrease the amount of CPF upon retirement

In line with the government’s policy of letting Singaporeans use their flats for asset enhancement, many Singaporeans have bought their flat, using the bulk of their CPF in a typical 30-year mortgage, in hope that the continued increase in property prices would serve as a boon during retirement.

By pricing flats under ‘market subsidy’ pricing, asset ‘enhancement’ schemes such as upgrading inevitably become a burden to Singaporeans who have no choice but to use even more of the CPF for their upgraded HDB flat. In addition to that, HDB has never disclosed the cost of building flats. Thus, flat pricing, and the amount of CPF ‘locked’ in it, is really at the whim of property speculation.

With 80 per cent of the population living in public housing, and with a bulk of a typical homeowner’s CPF savings ‘locked’ by the flat, social security for the average Singaporean is contingent on HDB policies. When you can’t pay your mortgage, you may lose your home and maybe your life CPF savings too.

Consequently, with the bulk of their CPF ‘locked’ in unliquidated assets, many Singaporeans end up with very little CPF when they retire.

CPF gets transferred out of Singaporeans’ hands, into HDB’s pockets

When the HDB sends a notice of Compulsory Acquisition to flat owners, 90 per cent of the flat’s valuation is used to offset the loan arrears; HDB makes a profit of 10 per cent of the valuation. While it is understandable that HDB as a statutory board has to run on a sustainable business model, it seems counterintuitive that a public housing board should profit from the destitution of its citizens.

For example, flat owners in addition to losing 10 per cent of their flat valuation to HDB, are only given one month to vacate their flats. Why does the HDB not give them a bit more time to find alternative accommodation?

As a public housing authority with the mission to provide affordable housing for Singaporeans, is the HDB not in a sense, in breach of its fiduciary duty, in this arbitrary practice of ‘pinching’ 10 per cent of the valuation?

Are there any public housing authorities in the world that takes an additional 10 per cent profit on foreclosure?

Parliamentarians may like to raise this issue with a view to refunding the ‘pinched’ valuation to all past foreclosed flat owners.

Why it’s almost impossible to get enough cash upon retirement

Effective last year, if you sell your HDB flat after age 55 to downgrade to a smaller flat and to monetise your flat for retirement, any CPF utilised plus accrued interest has to be returned to the CPF account if the CPF Minimum Sum (MS) has not been met.

With the current MS at $117,000, what this policy change means is that this sum cannot be used to purchase the smaller flat downgrade.

Why are we making it harder for Singaporeans to downgrade to monetise their flat for retirement?

Many Singaporeans subscribed to the call for asset enhancement by purchasing HDB flats – only to be hit by the policy change now, which in effect, may result in their inability to cash out of their “enhanced” HDB asset.

The CPF Minimun Sum (MS) was raised from July 1, 2009, for those aged 55 years, to $117,000, up from $106,000. 

This is an increase of 10.4 per cent, much more than the inflation rate for the previous year, which was 6.5 per cent. How can the increase in MS be “an adjustment for inflation, is to ensure that Singaporeans set aside sufficient savings for their retirement?”

Similarly, the MS was increased by 6.4 per cent in July 2008, from $99,600 to $106,000, when inflation was only 2.1 per cent in 2007.

With the current recession, some of those reaching age 55, may have lost their jobs or failed in their businesses, and thus a large increase in the MS, may cause some financial stress to them. 

As last year’s increase is the highest in the history of the MS scheme, at its current quantum of increase, does it mean that by 2013, the MS may be about $161,000 ($117,000 now plus $11,000 increase for 4 years)?

Can anyone afford to retire in Singapore in future?

The Longevity Insurance Committee’s (LIC) CPF Life report last year only projected a MS of $134,000 in 2013 (chapter 4). 

Adding the projected Medisave Required Amount (MRA) of $36,000 in 2013, does it mean that those reaching age 55 may only be able to withdraw $5,000, if they have less than $197,000 (MS $161,000 plus MRA $36,000) in their CPF? 

How many Singaporeans will have more than $197,000 in their CPF in 2013?

The answer can be found in the LIC report: only 60 per cent are projected to have at least $67,000 in their CPF in 2013.

At the current rate of increase of $15,500 per year ($11,000 MS + $4,500 MRA), will the combined MS and MRA be $352,000 and $507,000 in 2023 and 2033 respectively?

In conclusion, is it any wonder why so many Singaporeans may be thinking about migrating to New Zealand?

Photos courtesy of Wilfed Wong

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

485 Responses to “Many Singaporeans want to migrate – Why?”

1. Piso, that is absolute BS. You might like to be in a graduate position your entire life, but not me, and, I am hoping, not the vast majority of Chinese.

However, your words of “…their system…” makes me wonder if you have actually even BEEN in the nz system.

2. Cam,
    the reason why u found it hard to survive in Auckland is because u r not educated isn’t it?

3. ccchia 23 March 2010

Instead of migrating to NZ and elsewhere, wouldn’t it be easier and less disrupting to oneself, to just vote the PAP scums out, at the next GE (the elections are coming soon, it seems)?
    Please remember to vote wisely at the next elections, assuming of course that we are given the chance to vote at all, that is.

4. Oracle 24 March 2010

@cccchia

Unless you are in a single seat vote. In a GRC, you would have voted for decades!

5. Oracle 24 March 2010

@TA Balasingam

Telling us all about your family is nice but it’s nothing impressive.

It’s sad that guys like you still don’t get it. Only the elites are worth anything in Singapore; the rest are economic digits as described by LKY, in their economic prisons, the HDB flat.

Evoking God all the time is not going to help; only a true desire to be a free and respectable person! If you cannot see it no one can assist you; you simply have to do better!  I sincerely wish your children a better future!

6. T A Balasingam 24 March 2010

@ Oracle

In my Comment, I replied to your Comment by providing evidence that you had misjudged me without evidence.

For example, your statement “You are being crowded out and yet not realising it. Soon your children would need to know mandarin to survive in an increasingly Chinese society.”

My rebuttal, “Finally, your indictment on my children which I quote here – “Soon your children would need to know mandarin to survive in an increasingly Chinese society.” is absolutely wrong! My two children, a girl who was enrolled in Primary 1 and studied in Nanyang Primary School and my son who was enrolled in Primary 1 and studied in Catholic High School studied Chinese right through their schooling from Primary 1 up to Junior College. They have fitted well as young Singaporeans and are succeeding today with excellence “in an increasingly Chinese society” of Singapore. They speak fluent Mandarin!”

Instead of rebutting again my rebuttal you choose to continue with your rantings, for example, “Telling us all about your family is nice but it’s nothing impressive.”

Your new comment – “the rest are economic digits as described by LKY, in their economic prisons, the HDB flat.” stirs my curiosity. I am not aware of this remark made by LKY. Educate me by giving the primary source (ie reference) of this remark.

I am a Singaporean, not an elite.  So like you, I need to be educated.  So I am waiting for you to cite your primary source of your remark on LKY.  

7. For those single and young, its easier to migrate than vote the PAP out
    Voting the PAP is not possible one lah. >50% of singaporeans are employed directly by PAP. Do you think they will smash their rice bowls?

8. neutral 24 March 2010

I think many in private sector are also doing business with them and need not be employees.

9. Oracle 25 March 2010

@TA Balagingam

“I am not aware ”of this remark made by LKY. Educate me by giving the primary source (ie reference) of this remark.”

This is the crux; YOU ARE NOT AWARE of many things. It’s also the reason you write the things the way you do. I know you are well-meaning and quick to reveal your hand and would argue that you have nothing to hide. LKY has a lot to hide including what he and his daughter-in-law aredoing with Singapore’s money. He thinks as a citizen of Singapore you do not have a right to know even though this money belongs to all Singaporeans; only the LEE family need to know. You are happy with this off course because you are unaware of what a citizen’s rights are. In fact, I believe you are also not aware that LKY once said that Singapore citizens have no rights; they have only privileges accorded only by the government, meaning him. Are you also aware that LKY recently in an interview with National Geographic told Singaporeans to lump it if they cannot compete with the new immigrants or words to the effect that Singaporeans are soft and undeserving? I guess you think it’s alright that your children will accept lower starting wages and live a lower standard of living owing to the incessant influx of migrants ever willing to accept lower pay.

I wish your children well because we know. Our children are the ones living in the private housing and driving the Mers and Beamers and having the private club. If your children can compete as well then you have no worries; otherwise be prepared for a life of mediocrity and desperate struggle. We are the ones who struggled with this government to make Singapore the world it is. You do not know us and never would. However, we worked for all Singaporeans and LKY and his family have stole it for his family, friends and cronies. You are however blissfully unaware. Others who do and have the means take themselves somewhere where they find personal freedom and a better way of life.

Saying that your children’s story is nice is not a ranting. It’s a sincere congratulation and a hope that they would do as well because things are not going to get better; not with the Lee dynasty continuing. There are more and more people becoming conscious of their disadvantages and oppression as citizens and an explosion is awaiting. LKY’s pending passage to the next world is causing real concern and the continuing disregard for Singaporeans’ rights and freedom cannot be sustained.

We are all concern for Singapore and wish it well but invoking God’s help is not going to work. Singaporeans have to be aware of really what’s happening in the country and work together to have their rights restored and the authoritarian Lee family removed. Otherwise they would always be a lesser people and a lesser country and not the first world nation LKY boast about. A first world nation is one where every citizen have the same rights whether he be a LKY or Balasingam and the people can throw out the government if they are unhappy with it.  This is what is happening in the countries surrounding Singapore. The citizens now have a right to choose the government they want. In Singapore, LKY and his son choose the citizens they want to keep them in perpetual power. I hope for your childrens’ sakes that you wake up to the reality that is Singapore! It’s what caring fathers do; to be aware of the future for their children. My proposition is that unless they equip themselves better than most they won’t have much of a future!

10. Thelight 25 March 2010

To Oracle,
    I fully agreed to what you said. That why I am in Auckland…. Thanks again.

11. @TA Balagingam

What is the point of quoting ur example, while the rest of the Singaporeans are suffering? Why not use Old Man and his family as an example of a successful family then?

The question is, why many people wants to migrant and not why u r so happy to migrant that you do not see the point of migranting? If urs is a good case, why then, are so many people that wants to migrate?

Better start a another topic, why people do not want to migrant in another thread or people will think you are being paid to write a flaming post and take joy.

12. T A Balasingam 25 March 2010

@ Oracle

You have failed totally to answer my request which is what is the primary source of your assertive statement “the rest are economic digits as described by LKY, in their economic prisons, the HDB flat.”

Just disclose the primary source.

There is no need to pillory me and my family. 

I am waiting……….

13. Oracle 25 March 2010

@TA Balasingam

Go to
    http://en.wikiquote.org/wiki/Lee_Kuan_Yew

“At the end of the day, we are so many digits in the machine. The point is – are these digits stronger than the competitors’ digits?” – MM Lee Kuan Yew on Singapore workers, History of Singapore, 2005″

And perhaps with your recalcitrance, this should apply to you:

“Mine is a very matter-of-fact approach to the problem. If you can select a population and they’re educated and they’re properly brought up, then you don’t have to use too much of the stick because they would already have been trained. It’s like with dogs. You train it in a proper way from small. It will know that it’s got to leave, go outside to pee and to defecate. No, we are not that kind of society. We had to train adult dogs who even today deliberately urinate in the lifts.” – Lee Kuan Yew on Singapore society, The Man & His Ideas, 1997

No one is pillorying your family; your exposure of them in your boast about them makes you and them vulnerable to ridicule!

14. Oracle 25 March 2010

@ TA Balasingam

You may like to read this too
    http://singaporedissident.blogspot.com/2010/02/fooling-singaporean-digits.html

regarding LKY’s reference to Singapore workers as ‘economic digits’.

If you simply believe in the PAP’s propaganda through its  controlled press you are not going to be aware of things.  Not being aware does not mean that others are not speaking the truth when things are mentioned. Burying your head in the sand is not going to help your children whom you are rather proud of, as one gathers from your posts.

15. T A Balasingam 25 March 2010

@ Oracle
    His Comment on Mar 25, 2010 14:05

I visited and read the content of your quoted website:
    http://singaporedissident.blogspot.com/2010/02/fooling-singaporean-digits.html
    Gopalan Nair, the author and editorof this website has even been rejected and chided by the Editor of this blog, TOC, which you and I are using to hold this conversation.

Can Gopalan Nair be held again to speak the TRUTH on this subject?

Believe him at your own peril!  Or will you continue to be “Burying your head in the sand” (Using your words). 

16. No lawyers in Singapore has the balls to speak out against PAP.. Reason is they will lose their jobs. HAHA

17. Oracle 26 March 2010

@TA Balasingam

It’s sad you do not see the context of my post. I quoted LKY directly in a speech he gave on Singapore workers being economic digits. You asked for the source of my quote and I gave you your master. You chose to ignore that and instead dwell on G.Nair! It’s a first sign of dishonesty.

I do not necessarily agree with Nair nor do I care that he has been chided by the editor of TOC. Each has his way of looking at things but I stick to facts and comment on them.

I gave the sources of LKY’s quotations and you have not acknowledged whether you understood them in the context of citizens like yourself who I gather is dependent on his largesse for your existence. As for the company we keep, LKY is only relevant in only as his government’s policies affect our enterprises. If we are not happy his administrators would be told; he generally favours those who can make money as it is good for Singapore. We may not agree with the way he does things but as far as we are concerned it’s only relevant how the economic future of Singapore would be affected by his passing.

For those with money it’s a matter of staying or going elsewhere. For those dependent on employment for a living the consideration is more serious. There’s a question of whether the enterprises would stay. Also those highly professional, moving to another developed country is never a problem. If you feel safe following your master it’s no concern of ours.

Here, we are only engage in debate about the future of Singapore and it’s pending scenario with LKY’s devise. As it is, Singaporeans, wise and capable are leaving, not because where they go is neccesarily better but to enjoy a life free of intrusion from the PAP regime. You should perhaps read more of the insights of LKY from the website I gave you. You may learn more about his attitude about his subjects and his virtual contempt for either their sycophancies or their oppositions.

I gave you his quotation about how he thinks that Singaporeans are alike to adult dogs, hard to train; thus he has to use harsh means. From your post you appear to admire everything he says or does; so you shouldn’t have a problem. Just do not forget he doesn’t suffer fools easily, and get in his way; even sycophantically!

18. Oracle 26 March 2010

Correction; my latest posting. para 5, first sentence.

The word ‘devise’ should be read as ‘demise’.

19. mic o mic 26 March 2010

All I can say is that, if you see the old uncles and aunties pushing carts and washing toilets at the airport and it dosen’t bother you, then there is no hope for this country. For some strange reason, after being screwed in the ass for so many years, the people have developed a taste for anal sex.

20. objectivee 26 March 2010

So what is the solution to these uncles and aunties?

21. My Views 26 March 2010

“3565 potential immigrants having registered their interest in just three weeks”

Note the words “registered their interest”.  Not to worry, less than 10% of the 3,565 will migrate over there.

New Zealand is a beautiful and cooling country.  I love it – but only as a tourist resort.  Living there?  Forget about it!

22. FaceTheFact 26 March 2010

@My Views, why not migrate over there? I think NZ is a nice place that help you mentally. NZ is a bore place where you could cheer them up with your joke.

23. born a singaporean 26 March 2010

migrating  is the best way out of dying from depression.

24. @ mic o mic

Well said it is really true what u say there hehehehee….
    thats is one of the reason why i WANT to migrate to other country :)

cheers!

All I can say is that, if you see the old uncles and aunties pushing carts and washing toilets at the airport and it dosen’t bother you, then there is no hope for this country. For some strange reason, after being screwed in the ass for so many years, the people have developed a taste for anal sex.

25. A twenty-years old plan came to light atlasts!  a formidable paradise for immigrants.

Twenty yearrs ago then;
    1] Typical singaporean who served NS, paid taxes and fight hard to raise standards of our 
          economy, day and night 24/7 —-gets nothing twenty-years later!
    2] Salary can’t be adjusted, chinese towkay says Bo-Tannh leii!—- so we resigned and look
         for better paid-jobs.
    3] Unknown to us, a scheme well-cooked by chinese towkays collaborated with authorities
         to mass-import PRCsss to punish singaporean, in exchange of 1 with 3prcs.
    4] Typical singaporean virtually losts bargaining power and so this is how, our authorities
         thanks everyone of us.
    5] Why won’t any typical singaporean would look elsewhere like our forefathers had done?
    6] If anyone would be paid above handsomely like any other MPs or ministers, wouldn’t
         anyone will speak like them? I too would do the same so long my bank account fattens
         while I talk only and away on my jobs.
    7]All GRC bosses would sukah-sukah initiated increaments, just to show thie bossses  that
         they are working ——–just to score-points to be no:1. 
    8] Any oppositions would be crushed before blossom, who could say no or could
         successfully opposed price increase?——- boh-pien! 
    9] Blangalahs and Indians alright which had proven 25-years of nation building.

If that secret twenty-years formula was not the truths to punish typical singaporeans, what’s there for them  to look elsewhere? Again is boh-pienh lah and must move to make way for those new kwang-shit migrants light up our economy.   

26. @ T.A. Balasingam

Forgive me if I get it wrong - Are you the retired MOE principal now in Australia?  All those Centrelink statistics and handouts etc mean nothing if anyone thinks he/she can leach onto system in Oz.  You really need to start from a blank slate and let go of all the SG baggage if you want to make it in Oz.  So for those who are big shot managers in SG, I say, forget about being one if you don’t have Aussie experience.  but hey, your life may be more enriched if you adopt a different outlook and game to try new things. For me, I have tried my hand at servicing my car (for 1st time) and realised AC/DC is the ONE.

27. T A Balasingam 26 March 2010

@ Lisk Mar 26, 2010 10:06

NO! I am not “the retired MOE principal now in Australia?

I was born in Singapore and has never migrated to any other country on Planet Earth.

I am a die-hard Singaporean come what may to Motherland Singapore in my lifetime.

I am like Lech Walesa, the Polish shipyard-worker union leader, who was the architect of the overthrow of the Russian iron-grip of Poland in 1980. Lech Walesa was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 1983.  See URL:

http://nobelprize.org/nobel_prizes/peace/laureates/1983/walesa-bio.html

When Lech Walesa was interviewed by an American journalist, he was asked “Why don’t you leave Poland (a land of hopelessness in the 1980s) and migrate to America?”

Lech Walesa replied quietly ”I am Polish”.

The same with me – “Why I will not leave Singapore?”
    My answer: “I am Singaporean.” 

God bless Singapore and my fellow brother and sister Sngaoreans!

28. ohmysingapore 26 March 2010

Mr Balasingam
    I am Singaporean too and my sentimental ties to Singapore are still strong after all these years away.  But I was naive to think that the Singapore now is the same Singapore I left behind.  And when I came back, I nearly wept with sadness at what Singapore had become.

29. Oracle 26 March 2010

@TA balasingam

Neither flatter yourself nor insult Lech Walesa. The latter fought hard to destroy a dictatorship whereas you are fighting hard to retain one.

Lech and his mates sacrificed everything to free the Poles from repression by their authoritarian government whilst you are apple-polishing the regime that has taken away the citizenship rights of Singaporeans. 

Everyone would realise by now, from what you said here, that you have no clue as to  what’s happening to Singapore or to Singaporeans.

And in case you are unaware again God do not support oppressors; it’s best to pray that He helps to free Singaporeans from their governing oppressors!

30. To : NO.1

U almost made me cry with your words very very true and sad
    well said my dear friend :)

31. To : ohmysingapore
    when u came back u sadden cause u miss here or see it become like  donno what like that?

for me after i left here i will cry of happiness that my next generation and so on escape this sad life
    been waiting for this moment ever since NS until now 19years!!!!!
    to all who can migrate out it is not too late do it now !!! think for your children PLEASE!!!

32. To : Oracle
    Well said bro u are my favorite!!!!!

i love the way u answer!!!!
    u the man!!!

33. T A Balasingam 27 March 2010

@ PeterC
    Mar 26, 2010 20:13
    Be courageous.  Believe in yourself!   We make the future!
    I belong, like you, to the pre 65 generation.
    My 2 children also studied overseas.  They were earning good money and had a great lifestyle overseas. But they returned to Singapore. Why? They said that they are Singaporeans and. if they, the native-born Singaporeans, do not continue to build the Singapore Story, who will?
    Do not worry.  There are countless young native-born Singaporeans who have come back and in their quiet ways they are building a new, different and enterprising Singapore.
    I know two of them who were working in the World Bank in New York earning very big bucks! They returned and took jobs that paid them one-quarter of what they were earning in New York. They are not afraid of the “foreign talents”. And they are beating them. In their work places they “boss” the “foreign talents”. These returnee Singaporeans came back because they want their parents, our pre-65 generation to continue living with dignity.
    What can we, the pre-65 generation, do for ourselves? We have to look after ourselves and each other. Do a little good deed daily to one of our kind. When I see a pre-65 generationer in a coffee shop, I share my meal or coffee/tea with him. When we say goodbye, I press a Singapore currency note in their palm.   I am not rich but my needs are few, so I just share whatever I have.
    Have faith in our young people.  They will not let us or Singapore down! They are not like their vocal minority peers who can only rant that “life is better overseas and I want to migrate.” but still do nothing to help themselves.
    God Bless our Singapore and our brother and sister Singaporeans!

34. T A Balasingam 27 March 2010

amran
    Mar 26, 2010 21:28

Do not call someone “Well said bro u are my favorite!!!!!” just because he is saying something nice to your ears. Read and check the truth and the facts.
    Why not stay in Singapore, join our BROTHER Oracle and other BROTHER Singaporeans and FIGHT. If you are not willing, leave peacefully.

35. tokselehon 27 March 2010

T A Balasingam, good post.
    The young shall never be the same, and at the same time they would want to stay and work-out for a BIG change this coming GE.
    YES THEY CAN. To vote the LKY PAP out.

36. To :T A Balasingam

GET A LIFE!!!!

moderated by TOC

37. mic o mic 3 April 2010

@ Mr Balasingam
    You replies appear to lead nowhere and you seem pretty ignorant about the history of your idol LKY. Maybe you should read a bit more before posting bizarre stuff like :

“When I see a pre-65 generationer in a coffee shop, I share my meal or coffee/tea with him. When we say goodbye, I press a Singapore currency note in their palm. ”

It really puts a WTF in the reader’s head.

38. SG in UK 3 April 2010

I’m not a politician, and will not be one. Nonetheless, deep in my heart, the Singaporean spirit
    in me has not faded and will not go away even though I’m away from Singapore for about 8 years.
    Personally, I think, this is the country that is worth fighting for, I’ll certainly fight for this country till the day I die! Don’t quit, fellow Singaporean, we have to show the world that our forefathers, what ever their background and originality were, had the courage to come to this tiny island and call here their home, we shall and should continue this legacy!
    Let’s excercise what we have in our hand, one man one vote! Do the right thing in this coming election, this is the reason why I did not and will not —-give up my citizenship even though I am in one of the countries that I admired the most.
    Please note that all true blue Singaporean out there that I’ll exercise this right for sure!!!
    Deep in our heart we all know that we love this country and why should we give it away to a bunch of id**** whom only thinking of GDP but nothing else; we should defend our right, the natural right when we were born and brought up;  and if the gahment is not listening to us, let’s made them listened, we can and we definitely can show them that what is the right way to govern this country, let’s do it in the Singapore way, dun give up fellow Singaporean! Let’s keep the spirit alive like what our forefathers used to have, never says die! Let’s vote for change…. and this is the way I see it!

39. SG in UK 2 3 April 2010

SG in UK
    Pls can you advise how Sporeans can participate in the Spore election over here.  I would like to vote too if I can.  Are you in London?

40. andrew leung 3 April 2010

SG in UK 2
    <!–Register as an Overseas Elector –> You can register as an overseas elector:
    http://www.elections.gov.sg/online.html
    http://www.mfa.gov.sg/london/

41. SG in UK 3 April 2010

Thanks Andrew.

42. T A Balasingam 3 April 2010

If you think that many of our PAP MPs are out of touch of reality, watch this video “Congressional Tipping Point: not an April Fool’s joke”:
    http://wattsupwiththat.com/2010/04/01/congressional-tipping-point-not-an-april-fools-joke/
    Hello fellow Singaporeans – Welcome to the real world!

43. Trash Rubbish 4 April 2010

A lot of TR readers want to leave Singapore. I hope they have one way tickets.

44. angry_one 5 April 2010

Let me share a conversation I once had with a senior civil servant, which reveals the true mindset of the ‘elite’:
    He said that ‘Singapore’ consists only of the small group of top brains who can steer the economy. Everyone else is expendable. If they have to replace all the population so that ‘Singapore’ survives, they will do it. They are NOT INTERESTED in the problems of the average citizen, because these problems are small compared to the problem of ‘Singapore’ survival.

45. ccchia 5 April 2010

@angry_one,
    “He said that ‘Singapore’ consists only of the small group of top brains who can steer the economy. Everyone else is expendable.”
    My response to this civil servant and other wannabe “leaders” is that he/they are arrogant s.o.b.’s who do not realize that they are the ones who are expendable instead.
    It is the average citizen and all the people in the country as a whole that produced the results, and who had been paying the salaries of these civil servants all along.
    If these “top brains” were so capable to have done or achieved everything single-handed, then it would have been an insult to all the effort and hard work of the average citizens. Anyway, we all know that civil servants and politicians are just all talk and no action, hot-air and take credit for the work of others; however when it comes to their mistakes or failures, they are quick to push the blame to others.

46. Truthisagreatoffender 5 April 2010

I’m in the midst of migrating to Australia. See you guys! Don’t waste so much time and your precious youth. If you are between 21- 40 years old,  dont’ waste your crucial life here as things will not change in the next 20 years as long as this ruling PAP is around. Don’t miss the boat to make a difference in your lives. I’m heading out as I want a better lifestyle. I would like to pay taxes ( also known as “the locked CPF” in our colloquial language) in another country where social responsibility and basic human rights are upheld.  This government is aiming to lock us down so that we won’t leave the migrate and it has decided to go Machiavelli on us. Make no mistake about it. Things will not get any better in Singapore as you age here. Just look around you.

47. TheOnlyWay 5 April 2010

The government is bullying us and I see no way out except that we tip foreign journalists, reporters and newspapers to cover stories that is happening in Singapore. Don’t tip off Channel News Asia, STOMP or The New Paper, they will hijack the reality of what is happening on the grounds.

Then you’ll see more effective changes taking place in Singapore. The reason why MCYS hijacked the homeless at Changi beach is because they got wind of the Al-Jazeera team coming to cover the story.

We should all tip the foreign journalists and reporters. You can expect mostly disinformation from a local media that is ranked 138th in press freedom. To think the people are still buying The States Times.

48. @ Truthisagreatoffender

Well said!!!!

yes dont MISS the boat people leave while u young!
    Truthisagreatoffender hope to see u in Australia bro!

cheers!

49. amran 6 April 2010

@ Truthisagreatoffender
    Well said!!!!
    yes dont MISS the boat people leave while u young!
    Truthisagreatoffender hope to see u in Australia bro!
    cheers!

50. Patrick Lee 6 April 2010

I’m not sure what’s up with the trashing of the spore government. When it comes to the election, you KNOW they will win.
    I think you Singaporeans only have yourselves to be blamed. You guys know how wrong some of things are here. But no one dares to do something. So you come to the Internet and vent your frustrations, telling people to vote the PAP out.
    Question is: Who is to listen to you? Honestly speaking, do you vote the PAP out yourselves? I know many Singaporeans have lots of grievances about the policies and ridiculous laws being passed down here. But all they can do is “street talk” complain, rant over the Net, write to newspaper forums. After that, you guys just meekly submit to your government’s actions. No wonder they are called People’s ACTION party. You guys are too passive and let them push you around.
    Stand up for what you believe in and offer solutions! Be brave. They can’t do anything to you if you state facts and figures. The problem with you guys is that you are all too lazy to do research and being out the solid hard facts. You just rant rant rant with proofs. This will not get you anywhere. The PAP fight with facts and they look more credible. But if you do your homework and show why the PAP is making life difficult for the common citizen, you will gain trust in your fellow men.
    Otherwise you can just dream on about bringing the PAP down by even one tenth of their strength.