I just wonder if there is a possibility for Sg to merge with China, since so many people here are Chinese in race, and a strong hinterland of the Chinese mainland is obviously beneficial for the singapore’s economy. Why not Singapore just assume Hong Kong’s module and join China, while maintain its self-governorship?

Overheard in NUS, and HWZ

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

44 Responses to “Overheard in NUS”

1. Treason?

2. Oxford Dude 10 February 2010

The person who said that should be hanged.

3. Why didn’t the guy ask: why didn’t Singapore stick with the Brits and remained a colony. Oops, they call it “dependent territory” these days.

4. Idiot thinks Singapore is a Chinese state. We are not one, nor shall we ever be one.

5. rubbish in rubbish out 10 February 2010

Merge??? How ??? Build an mrt tunnnel all the way to shanghai from pasir ris???
    A bit of a shocker coming from a school of higher learning…NUS. (I think its missing a T between U and S.)

6. Actually, I think the statement was made with sarcasm. :P

7. tiredsingaporean 10 February 2010

possible? yes why not and that will be the day someone finally decide to sold us all to the chinese for more billions, traitor!

8. enbloc entire island 11 February 2010

Not a bad idea considering the way things are unravelling for lesser mortals.
    Singapore can be offered like an enbloc scheme to China.
    Every family gets ONE million US$ and a plot of land in China. 
    ps:   bungalow to  homeless gets equal share.  LOL

9. wall of text 11 February 2010

see la, PAP. invite so many PRCs to infest our universities and now they want your country.

@Sethie, this is not sarcasm. That guy replied many times in the same forum and implied that chinese who did not support him are “bananas” (yellow outside, white inside). This guy is quite a public enemy with a lot of other stupid posts on the IVLE forums.

@rubbish in rubbish out, please don’t associate this fellow with NUS. He is a PRC and as such is not representative of the quality of our local students. No NUS student I know, myself included, would consider him one of our own.

10. sunyetsing 11 February 2010

and where would leekuanyew sit?
    in the empress dowarger’s curtain couch or shared the mussolelium with maotzetung?
    and where woul leehsienloong placed his balls? in the grandhall of the enunchs?

11. sunyetsing 11 February 2010

by the way..leekuanyew made an offer of ^helpin^ out to govern the new hongkon to the new chinese governor of hongkon in the autumn of 1997…
    the chinese new governor tung somethin..defiteniteLEE not tonglock the sharkfin king says thanks butt no thank you..hav a nice day..please do not SLAMMED the ironcladded door on your way OUT..

12. sunyetsing 11 February 2010

opps me again…in suzhouz till today i hav yet to see a statue of leekuanyew in appreciation for his generous contribution of billion$ not 45 million$ hor

13. Not surprising. Our CNA already showing much about chinA with english subtitle instead of translating them into english verbal programme. Some chinese nationals are even involved in singapore politics too.

14. Muhamad Nur 11 February 2010

I have no problem with that as long as NS is abolish, many Singaporean Chinese migrate to China seeking for better economic opportunities and lesser people in Singapore as they consider China their motherland. This might be the real irony.

15. Totally a rubbish and ludicrous idea suggested by a deranged psychopath. This guy should labeled a traitor, be charged with high treason and thrown in prison for the rest of his dear life. Singapore is multi-racial and multi-religious nation, and nobody can ever change that! We, as the citizens of Singapore promised that we shall not sell our gifted sovereignty to foreign nations based on racial majority.

16. brainwash 11 February 2010

I doubted very much that this comment comes from a Singaporean. It could be made by a PRC student. There are so many PRC students in our local universities now.  

17. Yeah one day we will merge. As the Hokkien say “Tan koo koo” (Wait long long)

18. kana tionged 11 February 2010

Once and for all, people, this comment is not made by a Singaporean. It is made by a PRC student called Jin Xu. His name and picture is splashed all over the threads at Facebook and EDMW.

Yes, one of our dear talented PRC scholars, who come here to study for free and get $500 a month allowance, is making such comments. And we still welcome them with open arms. No wonder they call us Tiongapore.

19. Anonymous Coward; Cult of the common sense 11 February 2010

I’d say, hang up by his toes and flog the living daylights out of him. Why are foreigners here able to get away with demeaning the host country when evidently they are leeching off public resources?

20. Idiotess 11 February 2010

Unconditional annexation. 2 years’ national conscription for what???

apparently PAP has “let wolves into the room” – imagine using Singaporeans’ money to sponsor foreigners of ill-intent.
    Sack the PAP. Vote Credible Opposition!

21. i dont mind merging with china…as  long as its the Republic of China(Taiwan) and not People’s republic of China(PRC)

22. macam macam 11 February 2010

not a bad idea! singapore men can have more choices and easy access to dragon gals! i like it ;)

23. I just wonder if all countries in the world could merge, since we had a common ancestor from Africa millions of years ago.

24. And all our reserves (well, whatever is left) ends up belonging to china?

For sure can forget about taking out our cpf..

25. Collect more evidence, 999 all the way.

26. anarchicraven...(im not rly anarchic haha) 11 February 2010

Honestly, I can barely understand why we need so many foriegn ‘talents’ to work here as it is. Why do we need SCHOLARS? Do they bring salvation? Boost the economy? I don’t think so. some people in Singapore require donations just to get an education…why are resources spent on foriegners? Shouldn’t locals be taken care of first? Does the citizenship mean nothing? The people are helping the people while the government is helping foriegners. Go figure

27. anarchicraven...(im not rly anarchic haha) 11 February 2010

Foreign woops

28. Singapore  is not a chinese country, the PAP brought in more chinese to make it look like a chinese majority country. The PAP knows, with chinese majority it can always stay in power. It is simple politics.  Merging with china is asking for trouble from our neighbouring muslim countries. 

29. angry_one 12 February 2010

I ma actually afraid that it will become a reality, and that the PAP scum are already planning to sell singapore out, then moving to their overseas retreats. Think about it, everyone who is rich and powerful is milking sinkapore for all it’s worth. Soon it will run dry like a humped-out whore, and the pimps will be looking to sell it to some unwitting buyer.

30. No merge with tiong! 16 February 2010

I consider myself as a Singaporean Chinese forever, no way I wanna be China Chinese =P Even Taiwan and HK consider themselves different from mainland!

31. LOL @ CHINA MAN
    den again singapore sold christmas island. what else can we not do

32. Vaeleska 16 February 2010

I daresay I find it quite amusing that this post has received such shock and outrage.  The fact that it has garnered as much attention as it has is evidence that you acknowledge there is something to fear. Otherwise why bother pulling out the patriotic swords and engaging in this one-sided verbal duelling?

33. fisherman's friend 16 February 2010

@Vaeleska I don’t think the outrage is because there is something to fear. Any citizen will react this way to such a threat to the country’s sovereignty. You’d probably get the same reaction if you suggest to a PRC that China merges with the USA, even though that is not a possibility.
    Couple that with the generally negative impression that Singaporeans have of China as a backward country and our own unpleasant encounters with the ‘ah tiongs’ on our soil. We really do not want to be, or even be perceived to be, “one of them”. I doubt the outrage will be that great if it was suggested that we merge with USA or Japan or Korea. At least those cultures are seen as ‘cool’.

34. sweeney 38 16 February 2010

What utter rubbish!   PRCs,   give them an inch, they take a yard!

35. Buah Chiku 16 February 2010

Anyone has the right to ask questions.
    My answer will just be, “Thanks for the suggestion, but no. If this is a serious question, let us sit down and I will try to explain the numerous reasons why such a merger will not work. If this is a wind-up, please go away and don’t waste my time.”

36. So confusing, leh !

First eating fish and chips was “cool” previously !
    No ?
    Then it was eating ”potato and steak” !
    So what has happened ?
    Because of the Lehman Bros scam and the immediate visa restrictions or wat !

Or was it because of madcow beef diseases !
    So now we intend to enjoy eating chongqing steamboats and roasted peking ducks ?

What about next….. Russian caviar ?
    How come like that……

37. Cromwell 17 February 2010

Right…So what are the Malays, Indians and the other minorities? Next door neighbours?

38. Sinophobe 17 February 2010

I’m from NUS.
    Comment came from a CHINA student studying engineering at NUS. Disappointingly, the retaliation were rather weak and ran along the lines of “Can’t, cos we have malays and Indians too”. The real reason (in my opinion) should be that NO WAY BECAUSE IT IS CHINA!!

disgusting place with disgusting ppl.

39. why not, I can only hope that Great Lee get it done before he depart.

40. money and power 18 February 2010

Singappore chinese dislike their China chinese brothers? Here is a scenario: Well, given a choice between hiring a China PRC and a Singapore Indian for a technician job, the HR Manager, e.g. is a Singapore Chinese, will hire the China PRC. People here are bloody ignorant. And the reason given to the poor Singapore Indian guy by the HR Manager, “I need someone who can speak Mandarin” even though the Singapore Indian is better qualified and more experienced. True incident that happened to a friend of mine.

Never mind that. As a Singapore Indian, I have a Singapore Chinese girlfriend who is really very pretty. The kind of looks I get out there when we go out to the beachor to town by other Singapore Chinese guys are appalling. The way they look at me is like they despise me or something.   

The fact remains that there is discrimination against the minority races in Singapore by alot of Singapore Chinese. Only a handful of Singapore Chinese don’t see colour and are flexible – I love these people. I prefer the merge as a Singapore Indian because I feel the people from China treat and talk to us better than our own Singapore Chinese.

41. money and power: We have no choice because you indians always lie! (Well not all indians but most!) And some of them are very arrogant. Especially the security guards. At least the china man can bring some tea leaves from China you see. So what if you have a pretty chinese girlfriend. Do we need to know? Chinese girls smaller boobs. enjoy.

42. I rather see Singapore become a part of China than to merge with Malaysia.

43. Alpha Tango 20 February 2010

Merge with China? Great idea! Then LKY can start writing a new book entitled “From First World to Third”

44. Whack the PAP IB 20 February 2010

hoddioo Feb 20, 2010 7:57

Singapore will be Singapore AND we will not merge with any Country!