Sunday, February 7, 2010 20:28
Public housing flats – Singaporeans come first or foreigners?
In Homeless, TOC Feature • 1,421 views • 54 Comments
Andrew Loh
If you have always thought the homeless are lazy people or are unemployed on purpose, perhaps you have bought into the stereotype of these people too conveniently. Yet it is not uncommon to find such views of the homeless among Singaporeans.
However, in our visits with the homeless at various places around S’pore it was quite clear to us that these people are no lazy-bones or “beach bums”, as they’re sometimes accused of being.
Indeed, what we saw were people who have, for various reasons, fallen on hard times. But more importantly they are trying to help themselves out of the depths into which they have sunk.
Take the case of Mohamad Nor, for example. He left his job in F&B to be with his wife and two children at Sembawang Park because he was worried for their safety, particularly for his wife who is pregnant. Their repeated pleas with the HDB for a rental flat were rejected each time. When their story was eventually brought to light through The Online Citizen, they were moved to a shelter and later to a rental flat. Mohamad was relieved and with this peace of mind, he could now go back to work. He started looking for a job – and recently found one. This, hopefully, is the first step of a new beginning for him and his family. All they needed was a little common sense and a little bit of compassion from the authorities to give them a little leg-up.
Khairuddin is 50 years old. He was sleeping at Sembawang Park for seven months before TOC chanced upon him one night. He is an ex-drug addict looking to make a new life for himself. Last year, he suffered a stroke while sleeping at the park. “I could not move the right side of my body,” he says. “I would rather die than be like that.” He was warded for three days in the hospital. He was lucky and has made an almost full recovery. He now works odd jobs such as in delivery but he knows that he cannot do this much longer, given his age and his physical weakness from the stroke. Also, such jobs are ad hoc and not regular. “I hope to work as a security guard,” he says. “But you must go take the course and be certified,” he explains. The problem is that the certification course is about S$1,000 – money which he simply does not have. And so he looks for work wherever he can, which includes visiting construction sites to ask for jobs. “But when they see my age, they say they cannot hire me,” Khairuddin says, his voice trailing off into a sigh.
His next stop will be the CDC. Hopefully, he will be given some assistance to realize his dream – that of having a regular job with a regular income as a security guard and to eventually have a rental flat of his own.
Rahmat does not speak much. He prefers to devote his time thinking of ways to enhance his catch. And so, at his little corner of Changi Beach Park, he lays out the wire mesh, cuts them into appropriate pieces and later joins them to make a cage, a trap for both fish, cockerels and crabs.
When night comes, he takes his canoe (a secondhand one which he purchased cheaply from the canoeing club nearby) and ventures out to sea to lay his traps.
In the morning, he collects his harvest. Sometimes it is substantial, and fetches as much as S$100 when he sells them to the restaurants at Changi Village. At other times, he’d be lucky if it got him S$10. It’s an unpredictable way to make a living but Rahmat does not have many choices. After having been released from prison, it was hard-going looking for a job. In the end, he bought some fishing gear and headed to the beach. He’s been making a living like this for almost a year now.
And then there is Mrs B and her husband, Rahim. Mrs B works as a security guard in the daytime, a job which pays her about $1,300 a month. At night, she returns to her home – a tent in a park which she shares with her husband and her 18-year old son. Rahim, though having contracted colon cancer, works whenever his condition allows. With an ostomy bag attached to his side, to drain his stools, it is not easy for him to find a job. Indeed, he told us that he lost his last job because his employer “did not like the bag”.
Mrs B would help him empty and clean the pouch each night. At times, Rahim’s clothes would be soiled by stools which leak from it. When we met him, he was wearing one of those scrub pants which was given to him when he was warded in the hospital after an operation. “My other pants are dirty. So now I wear this,” he says.
The family is at the park because they were evicted from their rental flats by the HDB for subletting it. “Damn regret now,” Rahim says as he shakes his head. They had rented out the flat so that they could afford another one nearer their children’s school and didn’t know that it was against HDB rules to sublet a rental flat. They are now barred for five years from applying for such flats from the HDB.
In the meantime, they have nowhere else to go except the park.
It is quite clear to us that many of these families are no “free-loaders” looking for an easy way out of their predicament.
HDB’s rigidity
Perhaps one of the main problems faced by the homeless, as is obvious from some of these stories we’ve covered, is the inflexible and rigid rules of the Housing and Development Board (HDB) and its policies and practices. While the HDB would, no doubt, assure the public that each case would be compassionately dealt with, more often than not, it would seem the opposite is true.
How, for example, do you explain HDB’s rejection of Rahim’s application for a rental flat? The man is suffering from cancer. Or its rejection of Mohd Nor’s application – his wife is seven months pregnant and they have another two young children.
While the Minister for National Development has promised that the government will build 7,500 more public rental flats in the next three years, one wonders if this will be enough – given that 300 new applicants join the queue every month. That would be 3,600 more applicants this year, on top of the current 4,550 in the queue. With just 2,500 new rental flats to be built each year, clearly the supply will not meet the demand. In any case, where should the homeless stay while these flats are being built?
HDB’s dual roles
The truth is that there is no shortage of rental flats available. TOC has shown that the HDB has converted and reserved two blocks of flats in Toa Payoh, at least one block in Havelock Road, five blocks in Bedok and five more blocks in Tiong Bahru as rental flats for foreigners.
If all these were given, as a priority, to homeless Singaporeans instead, the long queue and waiting time for public rental flats would be very much alleviated.
The problem is that the HDB is not only the sole provider of public housing flats in Singapore, it is also a player in the rental market. As we have shown, the HDB acquires old flats through the SERS programme, and through its subsidiary, EM Services (the HDB owns 75 per cent of the company), refurbishes or upgrades the flats, and lets them out for rent. Perhaps this is one way the HDB circumvents its own rules which say foreigners are ineligible for rental flats offered by the HDB.
Now, the question of conflict of interest arises – would the HDB rent out these flats to those such as the homeless at rents of between S$26 and S$120 and play its role as public housing provider, or operate as a private company (via EM Services) and rents out the flats to foreigners for profit, fetching anywhere from S$450 per tenant (as in the Havelock Road hostel) to S$5,000 (as in the Global Residence case)?
So, perhaps the question we all should be asking is this: What is the HDB’s priority when it comes to public rental flats? Who should be in front of the queue – Singaporeans who have nowhere else to go but who are working hard to turn their lives around, or foreigners who’re just here for a period of time? Is it the HDB’s role to make flats specially available for foreigners by reserving these public housing flats for them? Or should foreigners, like everyone else, look to the open market for their housing needs?
And should the HDB itself be in the rental market as a player?
The homeless who camp out in public areas have been barked at, have had their rental flat applications repeatedly rejected, fined as much as S$500 for infringing certain park rules, have had their belongings confiscated and told to pay S$300 if they wanted them returned, and generally have been sneered at, ridiculed and treated as outcasts of sorts by the very authorities which could help them.
And the final slap on their faces? Readily available flats are given to foreigners.
Singaporeans come first?
With more than 30,000 homeowners in arrears of three months or more of their mortgage loans, the problem of homelessness is a serious one. How many more will have nowhere else to go and end up in our parks and beaches when their flats are compulsorily acquired by the HDB or the banks?
What is the government’s solution to this potentially widespread problem?
To many of the homeless, a roof over their heads is the start they need to get their lives back together, to have some peace of mind. Yet, many a time, it is the HDB’s strict adherence to its rules – or as in some cases, apparently contravening its own rules – which is contributing to the predicament of the homeless.
If entire blocks of flats can be reserved for foreigners, it is hard to understand or accept why the same cannot be done for homeless Singaporeans who are desperately pleading for help.
In November 2006, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong spoke about tilting the “playing field in favour of the lower income group.” “Our aim is to help the lower income groups and the elderly, not to increase their burdens,” he said.
The Prime Minister also, in his New Year Message this year, said that the government’s first responsibility is to Singaporeans.
So, with regards to public housing flats being reserved for foreigners while S’poreans have to wait for up to two years to have one, what gives?
—-
All the names in this article have been changed and are not the real names of the people mentioned.
—-
This is the last article in our Special Focus Week on the homeless. TOC, however, will continue to keep an eye on the situation on the ground and will report on it when necessary.
—–
54 Comments
RW
Zefly (aka Joshua Chiang)
Hi RW,
You can keep a lookout whenever you are out to see if there are any, and notify us at nohappycampers@gmail.com (but please be sure really homeless and not just resting leh…)
We’ll try to follow up, and see how we can best help. (not all need rations; some need shelters more urgently than others)
fpc
LHL and his pigs love to bullshit.
They are the only ones benefiting from the country’s growth.
fpc
If you compare the suits of the PM over the years, you will not fail to see the glitter in the latest round.
Of course, he can invest in these stuff. It is all about him looking good.
While you check the facial glow of ordinary Singaporeans, you will see that it has deteriorated over the years. Just look at the past drama series and you can sense the difference.
WhatTheFish
TOC, you have done a great job on this series of reports regarding housing issue in Singapore now. Such news will never ever be reported by the local msm. There is really no need to waste our money buying the shitty time anymore.
Time to vote out those pigs.
Andrew Michael Teo
WhatTheFish
Yeah…spread the news…Tell your friends, colleagues, relatives, etc…to boycott all publications from SPH and donate the money to the homeless through TOC
When i come back to Spore by this July,i’ll try to help as much as i can,TOC,have you decided on what needs to be done to help these homeless people,i dun c the govt doing anything other than talking thru their nostrils…This is John Connor,its time for the resistance to rise once again,salvation is out only hope!
Fugazzi
One must be an idiot or moron to buy into this latest publicity stunt.
The damage or the exercise in damage control is an exercise in futility.
HDB lies and lies and lies all the times. Remember, Singapre-style of governance is to giv e and take back or squeeze much as possible.
Singaporeans never came first, if it was and had been so – why LHL even bother to utter or re-assure.
What a sham of a party and a shame lar.
Good coverage by TOC. Just curious, has the stories been picked up by mainstream media yet?
Andrew Michael Teo
DK,
do you think that mainstream media have the courage to report these issues?
The mainstream media only reports those that will make Singapore appealing to the outside world as if Singaporeans are all filthy rich .
Regards.
WhatTheFish
DK,
I am very surprised that you still have faith in our msm.
mon
The pigs have been making their people to go around Singapore to check on people that sleep in parks.
Hope they sent those people to good residency.
Thank you TOC for improving the lives of our own people.
It also show that the pigs have been lazy.
We need opposition to check on their policies. Singaporeans are not taps that they can tap on as and when they want for whatever reasons.
MLC
The hypocrisy of the ST is DISGRADEFUL. Those journalists like Mui Hoong and Lee Hoong should be jailed for SEDITION
Transparent
HDB may want to reveal how many percent of its workforce are FTs?? Maybe thats one reason why compassion for poor citizens needing a roof over their heads are so lacking.
Shame of Singapore
Compassion is not found in HDB’s dictionary. Only words associated with money, profits, obscene and high-handedness.
Zola Banani
Why singaporeans can live with not knowing the answer ? For so long?
I think this calls for a Video interview to get some opinions from the man on the street.
why people accept 33.3% represented by 2 people only? should it not be 33.3% of the seats?
Whatever the reason for this, the people should still be concerned . But they are not that concerned.
Why are the 33.3% not concerned enough about this imbalance when they are the ones who voted For the opposition?
This is the Wierdest mentality i know.
I think we need foreigners with different mentality.
I am pro -foreigners.
M Suhaimi
Good article.
I dun think we need opposition in govt.
We just need more activism amongst our citizens.. show good and active citizenry, to highlight and fight for such causes.. just like what TOC had done with this article.
Morpheus
Zola, have no fear . I bring you answers.
The mentality is called Apathy. It is a Disease in disguise.
It is THE Disease plaguing the society.
It has no smell.
It has no taste.
It is invisible to the mere mortal naked eyes.
It has no form.
It has no mass.
But it is Real. Its has infiltrated into the brains of many.
You are the one of the lucky few to be immuned to this plague.
againsomeone
Drug addicts and ex-convicts, they chose the path they are on, it’s not like they had no choice in that. At least show examples of genuinely upstanding person rather than these dregs of society. I would rather have bangla workers as neighbors than any of the profiled here.
M Suhaimi
Againsomeone.. did you ever been given a second chance in life?
But then again, I dun blame you since you have been brainwashed by the mainstream media and educated right here in SG to be thinking like that..
Btw, dun worry abt them being your neighbours.. with the current situation on HDB segregation, it is highly unlikely they will be your neighbours.
brainwash
M Suhaimi
“…I dun think we need opposition in govt.
We just need more activism amongst our citizens.. show good and active citizenry, to highlight and fight for such causes.. just like what TOC had done with this article…..”
M Suhaimi,
anti-singaporeans policies by the pap can only be prevented from being force down our throat when there is enough opposition MPs in the parliament to vote against it from being pass.
NGOs or whatever interest groups can “kou bei kou bu” everyday and nothing can stop those pigs in whites. That’s the reason why it is useless to vote for those pigs in white MPs. They can “kou bei kou bu” in parliament to show that they care for singaporeans but at the end of the day these same hypocrites will not vote against the bills in parliament tabled by those self-serving fat white pigs.
smallfly
Just look at this, lhl is lky’s son, education minister neh’s uncle is Singapore’s richest man ntf, dpm and defense minister tch is related to a prominent banker’s family, and ex-dpm tt’s uncle also a pre-eminent banker, the list can go on and go, this is not nepotism than what is nepotism?
smallfly
Just look at this, lhl is lky’s son, education minister neh’s uncle is Singapore’s richest man ntf, dpm and defense minister tch is related to a prominent banker’s family, and ex-dpm tt’s uncle also a pre-eminent banker, the list can go on and go, this is not nepotism then what is nepotism?
M Suhaimi
True, if we can stop the one party govt in the near future. But we cannot do that now, thus we need instead active citizenry to come out with alternative views from the people..
This article highlights a very important issue that is affecting all of us.. HOUSING. Basic necessity if we are looking at Maslow’s theory of needs.
If this NEED cannot be provided by the GOVT, then the flaws in the system should be fixed immediately.
M Suhaimi
On the other hand, I hope the GOVT is not using this particular NEED to control us by making us kowtowing to them.
Pushed us around till the point of desperation.. Hope these people are not blamed if they end being drug addicts again.. NO SUPPORT from SOCIETY
brainwash
M Suhaimi
Feb 8, 2010 14:20
“….True, if we can stop the one party govt in the near future. But we cannot do that now, thus we need instead active citizenry to come out with alternative views from the people…..”
M Suhaimi,
my feel is that the coming election will be the last chance for us to vote in as many opposition MPs as possible. Just look at the large number of new citizens since the last election in 2006. Do you really buy the pap’s argument that it is to “top-up” the decling population?
Just image that if there are at least 1-2 thousand new citizens living in each constituency in the next election what is the chance of another landslide victory to those pigs in white? Our society now is not much different from the literature “animal farm”.
It is not only about ourselves but more importantly for our children. If not now, when?
spirited-centred
I think our mainstream media should be the one highlighting the plight of these Singaporeans in our society so as to alert the attention of the relevant ministries instead of just trumpeting the glamour and what pap mps have wayanged during RCs’ and CCs’ event and how much they hypocritically care for the needies and elderlies during these events.
Our mainstream media have failed in their moral role of upholding the wellbeings of Singaporeans.
spirited-centred
When the opposition take over the government, I would like them to implement into law that those who lost their HDB flats due to default in loan payment or any reasons should be immediately allocated alternative accommodations or rental flats. Nobody should be allowed to sleep in the streets.
Andrew Michael Teo
M Suhaimi
Feb 8, 2010 14:23
A lot of Singaporeans who “own” HDB flats are being held as political “hostage”.
Alan Wong
Shit, so that;s the reason for the long queue for rental of HDB flats.
Social welfare is a very dirty word in PAP’s vocabulary. It all boils down to money isn,t it, PAP ?
fpc
it is not always pap’s bad word.
it is just LHL’s bad word.
againsomeone
To Alan Wong ? Social welfare for drug addicts ? What,do you expect taxpayers fund their self destructive habits ? I guess you are one of those who want free morning shot up your veins.
Ah Siao
@ againsomeone
seriously, I don’t think social welfare equates to self destructive habits
ericlai
it is so shameful to have such irresponsible government. pap always try to paint a beautiful pictures of themselves, but to me, they are one of the worst government in the world.
the pap are shamelessly rewarding themselves million of dollars while its citizens are suffering in poverty. what is the difference between pap and those courupted official in the third world countries. to me, pap is totally shamelessful.
Anyone
spirited-centered ” When the opposition take over the government, I would like them to implement into law that those who lost their HDB flats due to default in loan payment or any reasons should be immediately allocated alternative accommodations or rental flats. Nobody should be allowed to sleep in the streets.”
I’m sorry, while I agree that nobody should be allowed to sleep in the streets, I would definitely not vote for anyone, regardless of which party, who would implement such a policy. That would just give all the free-loaders, gamblers, drug-abusers, freedom to default on their loans knowing that the government of the day is obliged by law to house them.
Ah Siao
@ Anyone
“I’m sorry, while I agree that nobody should be allowed to sleep in the streets, I would definitely not vote for anyone, regardless of which party, who would implement such a policy.”
Pointed noted
whoincharge
[i]Anyone
That would just give all the free-loaders, gamblers, drug-abusers, freedom to default on their loans knowing that the government of the day is obliged by law to house them.[/i]
are you talkin about leekuanyew/leehsienhloongs’ LAWs?
this two senoir ministers seem to think we owed the foreign talents a livin?
liked i said before..when i was in london on a work permit scheme
the british government do NOT provide me with subsidised housins under any circumstances
i have to work 2(TWO) jobs/per day in order to have a small bedsit for me to sleep in
so now would you be kind enough to go to parliament house and discuss your idea/supports to ALL the ministers who think any otherwise…
HDB IS RUN BY HEARTLESS ELITES
GREAT JOB TOC in highlight the plights of the homeless and forcing HDB to provide them with rental flats.
HDB IS RUN BY HEARTLESS ELITES.
HDB HAS FORGOTTEN ITS BASIC ROLE OVER THE YEARS.
NOW IT’S ALL ABOUT MAKING $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
HDB CEO HAS ZERO COMPASSION
———————————————–
Can see from HDB CEO’s REFUSAL to answer calls to help [nearly 3 months] a handicap man stuck at home due to a cock-up LUP that still requires residents to climb stairs to get to the lift.
[posted on TOC forum, REACH forum, TODAYonline forum, ST forum, TR forum, HWZ-CAL forum n afew others]
http://app.reach.gov.sg/reach/YourSay/YourDiscussionCorner/tabid/117/ptid/414/page/2147483647/threadid/2848/forumtype/posts/Default.aspx
[page 10 onwards]
http://comment.straitstimes.com/showthread.php?t=27231
Also recently highlighted again at ST forum
http://comment.straitstimes.com/showthread.php?t=29884
preston loon
You know what Andrew Loh ?You and your team could do a better job than those opp.MPs and TOC has
proven that they can get the attentions of the government to do something for the homeless.Maybe,we do
not need any opp.MPs but let you guys be a mouthpiece for them.
Anyone
whoincharge – my question is – if you were working in London and enjoying the press freedom and freedom of speech, multi-party system etc there, why did you return to Singapore? And if you have any friends/acquaintance who are PRs, I’m sure they’d tell you how PRs are treated differently than SCs. I know my colleagues who are PRs feel that they are discriminated in many ways, despite having to pay the same taxes that the rest of us pay.
Your vote a party to govern, to provide housing, jobs ..etc etc. But instead , they pay themselves millions and you have homeless people in sg. Then i would say this homeless people deserve it, would that be right.
againsomeone
To whoisincharge, well I guess you didn’t look around, here is a dormitory provided by British authorities to foreign workers, http://subtopia.blogspot.com/2009/02/floating-labor-camps-of-future-now.html
The SS
I hope the electorate will wake up to this :
If we don’t do something with our Votes this time, We will continue to be Replaced, Misplaced and Displaced.
Aren’t the signs clear enough Singapore?
No One Will Be Left Behind [ JUST LEFT ASIDE TO DIE ] ; Singaporeans Comes First For Govt [ FIRST TO BE LEFT BEHIND ]
…………………………………………..
No One Will Be Left Behind [ JUST LEFT ASIDE TO DIE ]
http://news.asiaone.com/News/NDP+Rally+2007/NDP+Rally+2007.html
Singaporeans Comes First For Govt [ FIRST TO BE LEFT BEHIND ]
http://news.asiaone.com/News/the%2BStraits%2BTimes/Story/A1Story20100101-189132.html
No One Will Be Left Behind [ JUST LEFT ASIDE TO DIE ] ; Singaporeans Comes First For Govt [ FIRST TO BE LEFT BEHIND ]
…………………………………………..
No One Will Be Left Behind [ JUST LEFT ASIDE TO DIE ]
http://news.asiaone.com/News/NDP+Rally+2007/NDP+Rally+2007.html
Singaporeans Comes First For Govt [ FIRST TO BE LEFT BEHIND ]
http://news.asiaone.com/News/the%2BStraits%2BTimes/Story/A1Story20100101-189132.html
whoincharge
[i]To whoisincharge, well I guess you didn’t look around, here is a dormitory provided by British authorities to foreign workers,[/i]
hve you ever been to kent? bside bein a bloomin bloody tourist? do you even know how is kent like?
if you are thinkin of superman clark kent who used to smoke a pack of kent cigarettes then you won’t be wrong @ all….
kent is the most BORIN province in southeast britain.. remembered the battle of britain? even the allied troops can’t wait to be airborne and killed in france than campin in kent….
now you know why it used former prison barges to house cheap foreign labour from the poorer east ex-russian migrants….
whoincharged
i]whoincharge – my question is – if you were working in London and enjoying the press freedom and freedom of speech, multi-party system etc there, why did you return to Singapore?[/i]
i came home to singapoor to be a prodical son who regretted leavin home beside i missed my grandma’s constant naggin and i was TOO late for her funeral sendoff simply because the damn britih home office(immigration department) was late in returnin my passport after stampin all the paperworks for a permanant residence status….
well beside that i was BORED in london…fightin with hongkies and vietcongs ain’t my idea of havin a good time.. the last good time i had was doin a menan a troise with annabel chong inc…before AIDs came into the picture…
you think it fun tryin to slang liked a east side cockney pretend-2-b-cho w angmor?
HDB HAS ZERO COMPASSION
Can see from HDB CEO’s REFUSAL to answer calls to help
[nearly 3 months] a handicap man stuck at home due to a cock-up LUP that still requires residents to climb stairs to get to the lift.
[despite postings on TOC forum, REACH forum, TODAYonline forum, ST forum, TR forum, HWZ-CAL forum n afew others]
http://www.todayonline.com/Voices/EDC091126-0000059/Direct-lift-access-not-always-possible%E2%80%93HDB
http://app.reach.gov.sg/reach/YourSay/YourDiscussionCorner/tabid/117/ptid/414/page/2147483647/threadid/2848/forumtype/posts/Default.aspx
[page 10 onwards]
http://comment.straitstimes.com/showthread.php?t=27231
Also recently highlighted again at ST forum
http://comment.straitstimes.com/showthread.php?t=29884
alamakwhome?
[i] despite having to pay the same taxes that the rest of us pay.[/i]
wow! now you expect foreigners to have a tax discounts as well? in britain i also pay 33% weekly taxes and i don’t even qualified for unemployment handouts…
againsomeone
To whoisincharge, the fact is there is subsidized housing that you stated wasn’t the case, that is all. When making claims it does pay to do some research beforehand as not to look like a fool later. BTW, it’s not like FW dormitories in SG are in CBD or Orchard road either and besides I would rather have FWs next to my place than any of these ex-convicts or druggies.
smallfly
“No one will be left behind” yet, hdb using Taxpayers’ money and fully funded by the state is going all out to short-change the gullible and credulous main-street-men. What a farting statement proclaim by this bunch of idiotic million-dollar nerds? It is more a farce than political proclamation!
My dear Mr. Leong and Mr. Andrew Loh, I would like to add one more point to highlight the shot-coming or simply a serious flaw in the hdb’s valuation policy as well as short-changing on the lessee in hdb’s *compulsory acquisition* of flat when calculating the compensation value, as under “existing policy” hdb based on the valuation report produced by the approved valuer under the approved valuer list solely and discreetly decided by hdb to compensate the lessee when acquiring his flat.
In valuation industry, it is an “unwritten common understanding” among the “approved cum certified valuers” that the value of the hdb flat will be marked down substantially when the “production” of valuation report is being instructed by hdb officers for the “purpose” of compulsory acquisition! As if the valuer values the flat on the higher end it will appear that the valuer is short changing hdb which is a public housing authority directly under the charge of ministry of national development! In short, how dare you to “cheat” the “state”?
Last but not least, will different certified valuers produce the **same** valuation value when valuing the same property? Since, this is the case, which valuer’s valuation report should be adopted when compensating the lessee? Is it by drawing lot to see whether the lessee is lucky or unlucky to have his flat values higher or lower in relation to the appointment of relevant approved valuer? Is the lessee over or under compensated when different valuers have different opinions on the value of the property to be valued? In short, mnd and hdb should check out what is the true meaning of compulsory acquisition and compensation amount prior to adopting the valuer’s opinion!
As I emphasis again and again, the valuation report for a property is JUST the “opinion” of the certified valuer and nothing else! So, the mnd and hdb is adopting someone’s opinions to compensate the lessee, is it fair? Is it logical? Is it scientific?
In short the blind is leading the blind for so many “donkey” years? In view of the above, do you opine that hdb needs a total re-invention in order to remain relevant in this modern and scientific society? Oh, dear, to a larger extent the whole valuation industry!
I hope I am not offending anyone in this industry! Keep my fingers cross! Be objective with no prejudice!
M Suhaimi & all,
I have been through the process of being “citizen reporter” during GE 1997 & 2001, engaged in charity organization fund raising effort and now, politics.
I would say that if you want to “NEGOTIATE” a better deal with the state (government), you will need ALL three of them: the Media, the NGOs (social workers, charities etc) and the politicians.
The idea is simple. If you want to get the real work done for the needy, you will need the NGOs or social workers to take on the front line first engagement. The Media will provide the important and necessary information for dissemination so that the citizens are informed of the social problems that exist. TOC has played a very good role here. But the government could just ignore all this or just pay lip service to the NGOs’ demands.
The only way to “put the spurs into the government’s hides” is political competition. This is because all ruling parties in the world are afraid to lose their power. Even in a “semi-democratic” Singapore, the ruling party PAP is still afraid to lose votes during the GE.
The linkages from the Media reporting, getting the NGOs to negotiate terms with the state with the support of opposition party members as a threat to their power base, is the best option for extracting the best deal out from the state.
Of course, we are reasonable people. It is only when such unreasonable things happening in our society would make our blood boil.
The balance of power in parliament is very important for the people to negotiate terms with the government. If you are in a country ruled by dictators, they won’t even blink even if the media make noise. They just thumb you down, sweep away the inconvenient truth and life still goes on as usual.
We are in a stage of social-political development that is delicate and important for the future of Singapore. We should not blindly brush off the important impact that the balance of power within the parliament could bring to our children. The impact will bring about more open and accountable governance.
Goh Meng Seng
whoincharges
[i]
againsomeone
Feb 10, 2010 11:26
To whoisincharge, the fact is there is subsidized housing that you stated wasn’t the case, that is all. When making claims it does pay to do some research beforehand as not to look like a fool later. BTW, it’s not like FW dormitories in SG are in CBD or Orchard road either [/i]
hav you check the map/distances between kent and london? and if you had READ it careFOOLEE..it was a domintory for the foreign import coalmine workers not YOUR odinary bangala/china kopitiam/karaoki waitin staff…
and you want to compare the distances between orchard road and serangoon garden choom choom?
~zhee~
talkin about stupidlity do you need to poll the audiences here? and do you know how much would british rail charged for a returned ticket from kent to charing cross? p.s. remember british rail is not part of LTA(london tube) networks/fares…
whoincharges
[i]againsomeone
Feb 10, 2010 11:26
http://www.mapcrow.info/Distance_between_London_UK_and_Kent_UK.html/i
just in case you are too stupid to find the distance…remember it not the ^capital of kent..
it the seacost(france is even nearer) where barges can be docked..

Thank you, TOC for the interesting series of articles.
It is really an eye-opener for me to the problems that some of our fellow citizen face.
And it is clear that there are problems in the system that needs fixing.
I hope the govt will take this feedback and relook at its poiicies.
I was just wondering- how many homeless families have TOC encountered while doing this series and if there are any organizations that helps such people that we can donate to or volunteer at.
-RW