He stuck to his guns, made no apology for what he said, and instead reminded gay and lesbian Singaporeans that they were criminals in the eyes of the law.
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

I am perplexed.I can understand the outrage of the multi-faith communities over Rev Rony Tan’s ‘tirade’. But please help me on this one,maybe i am naive.How has the gay community become religious community?
Who are the ones inciting ill-feelings now? He has taken down his video, yet the ones who put up at the gay community.
Any lesser mortal can just as easily become a criminal in the eyes of the law that is an exponent in kangaroo logic.
For this Rony Tan bugger it pays to pray to more than one god and he ought to be thankful kangaroo logic mysteriously worked in his favour.
Ha! When he picks on an vulnerable minority, he’s such a holy man who sticks to his convictions. When he disses the majority religion and gets a call from ISD , all those convictions suddenly fly out of the window, he apologises to the world and eats humble pie.
Typical classroom bully, only targets the unpopular kids who are not protected by teacher. I certainly hope this is not the standard of “righteousness” (i.e. what is immoral depends on what I can get in trouble for condemning) that we can expect from our religious leaders.
Rony is right this time. He is entitled to his opinion same as I am entitled to mine. And our views both converge this time.
The twilight zone? It has no place in a wholesome family as I know it.
I do not agree with Rony. To compare and say that homosexuals prey on young boys is such a perverted logic – ie, if heterosexuals rapes young girls, then how? Everybody should be converted to homosexuAlity? That is a stupid Pastor, and I am a heterosexual with 3 kids.
I’m not so much disturbed by the content of what Pastor Tan has said but more so by his approach of using mockery to deliver his messages.
By showing disrespect for others, it will be inevitable that he loses respect. It’s not even necessary to correct him or debate with him because he doesn’t deserve such attention.
C’mon people, let’s give this poor man a break. Without a random group to unleash his self-righteous fury upon, who knows what will happen to his self-esteem? It is probably safer for Singapore that he is targeting the gays than the Buddhists.
However, the gays might still get upset. So may I suggest to Pastor Rony that he looks for some distant small tribe hidden away in some rainforest and wages a hate campaign against them instead? He can make even more illogical and vicious comments and no one in Singapore will care. The tribesmen will never hear of it and Rony will still get his therapy. I think it’s a win-win situation.
Give the poor man a break? He’s only worthy of condemnation when he picks on a group like Buddhists and Taoists and you want to give him a break when he mocks a small powerless group like the gays and lesbians?
how in the world can we claim to be a mature society if we allow our minorities to be savaged in such an mindless manner?… religion cannot excuse such behaviour… i suggest that mr tan tames his bigotry and ignorance by acquainting himself with reason, logic and simple human kindness… reducing our homosexual citizens to ridiculous caricatures (and any other group whose beliefs and behaviour he disagrees with) is not the way to harmony in our little red dot… the less we hear from folks like rony tan the better we will all be… his small and very narrow hate-mongering world is not the one i want my children to grow up in
it’s sickening the way we singaporeans accept that such bullying and intolerance in the public arena is in any way acceptable… i guess it’s our third-world petticoats showing beneath our first-world skirts
does Rony Tan “love thy neigbour”? that some have demanded that he should be “showered” with love?
this Rony Tan aka Ah Boy (cos some compared his transgression to the 3 youths) is so anti-social, how can he be entrusted to preach to a large congregation is beyond me…
why does ISD treat Rony Tan with kid gloves? his hate preaching ways are not criminal?
what is our Law Minister’s opinion? or for this matter WKS’s opinion? Rony Tan is making them look really really bad.
lmao…
why does ISD treat Rony Tan with kid gloves? his hate preaching ways are not criminal?
what is our Law Minister’s opinion? or for this matter WKS’s opinion? Rony Tan is making them look really really bad.
Ha Ha Ha
The GLBT still regards themselves as a minority? Did you get what the PM said during the ugly AWARE incident…that Singapore chose and will remain as a “One Man, One Woman” mainstream family society, and GLBT should pracitce their freaky and deformed sexual behaviors and practices in their own closet? What, you freaks still day dreaming ?
I’m glad Rony stick to his guns, as homosexuality is considered illegal, and preaching against it is like preaching aginst theft, cheating, robbery etc…nothing wrong with it!
Bet to my last cent, the government will not do anything or even addressed it…as by doing so, they’ll only contravene existing law against homosexuality, and also make Singapore more rely on foreigners in future…I meant, how do you expect you freaky gays an lesbians are going to procreate?????????
Mice.
Megachurch are usually build around a personality (or person).
Not exactly your traditional church so to speak.
So cant be surprise the kind of thing like Rony Tan did, happened.
to Avast , Feb 21, 2010 15:59 – “as homosexuality is considered illegal, and preaching against it is like preaching aginst theft, cheating, robbery etc…nothing wrong with it!”
hello hello Avast, are you living in Siberia or Mars ? or have you been teleported from the 18th century victorian age ? Why are you SO ULTRA CONSERVATIVE & CLOSED MINDED in this internet age ???
hi Kenz,
yeah, its sad that religion gets “hijacked” by these personalities who sometimes deviate from what the said religion truely is. just like Katong Laksa, if another dude alters the recipe, he cannot claim to sell “The Orignal” Katong Laksa.
peace. =)
Avast,
did S’pore choose? was it done open like voting? you have the right to your own moral values & practise & you would, GLBTs own their own should be allowed to do so as long as they do not impose their moral values & believes on others.
conservatives should not view people who do not share their social mores with antagonistic leanings. if there is a hint of intolerance on the part of some people, maybe its wiser for S’pore not to open our doors so wide to attract foreigners in droves.
maybe conservatives should put more pressure on the govt to keep a closer watch on the influx of foreigners? there too is an increase influx of vice (& things not so nice) in S’porewhen S’pore threw its doors wide open.
highly unlikely the vice trade will find enough locals to fill the vacancies right? lmao…
Bigot pastor Rony Tan is dangerous to soceity. Book him !! . He should resign. How can 12,000 be fooled by him. Have they no spine ? Brain-washed to point of no return ?
What makes Rony Tan famous was because there were many helpless and hopeless people out there willing to pay to listen to him every weekend. By laughing at others through such servies, they seemed to find hope & solace in this stressful life, nothing more. Seeking god is just an excuse because all his listeners are just as human as any GLBT. Out of 12000 congregates, a single stone can easily hit one who is more sinful than any GBLT who didn’t fit the bill. No one is made perfect (known in many religious book) but laughing at other’s imperfection amplify his own imperfection. Rony Tan is one very good example in this case but a bad example of a leader.
@Atheist
Well, you have to recognise the importance of religion in our society. Just look at someone like Avast and his irrational, emotionally driven tirade the minute “homosexuality” is mentioned. Do you really want someone like that to have freedom of thought?
No! It is far better that people who lack the intellectual capability to think for themselves be kept in mental bondage by religion and concepts like “sin”, and have their every thought dictated to them by their leaders. That way, society only has to control the leaders to keep the masses behaved. It makes for efficient law and order.
It would of course be an ideal world if everyone has the mental prowess to progress beyond prejudice, groupthink and ignorance so as to make informed, autonomous decisions about morality. Unfortunately that is not the case and the second best option would be to spoon-feed them pre-packaged servings of fear, guilt and “morals”. Emotionally-dominated creatures require emotional handling.
If you have read 1984, recall the purpose of the “Two Minutes Hate”. It allows the lower mortals to vent their frustration at their own pathetic lives by ranting against “the other”. Pastor Rony’s little homophobic sermons perform the same function. It helps him retain control over his flock and in turn helps society at large keep them in check. It is only unfortunate that the homosexual community is the current punching bag.
This pastor is already siao to the exreme – let him be as deranged as he wants – even IMH ignores this screw loose pastor - so screwing him will not tighten or sane him loh.
Pastor Rony is a righteous man!
Now that we have 377A, we must go further and hang the gays! We must also outlaw immoral acts like pre-marital sex, masturbation and abortion. God’s laws are very clear.
This is the last chance for SINgapore to repent. Anointed prophets like Dr Thio have already tried to impose God’s will on organisations like AWARE. Please do not squander her heroic efforts.
What do you guys think will be the results if tomorrow the Singapore government hold a referendum for citizens to decide on whether to accord gays and lesbians a minority group status, or whether to legalize GLBT activities?
Or simply, whether they agree with Rony Tan or the group of 85 GLBT activists, which personally, I think is a stupid set-up, as the government will definitely not give in to the organized instigation of 85 GLBTs…they should have just used one or two influential people to get the job done!
Anyway, you and I know the answer is straight forward…it will be a crushing defeat for the GLBT!
Anyway, I’m glad that at least, you people can find solace here in your very own “minority site” here and brag about Christian conspiracy theories and how you’ve been victimized for your abnormal sexual preferences and practices…but the fact remains, homosexuality is illegal in Singapore (and in many many countries)!
Oh by the way, I never know that you need “intellectual capability” to understand gays or lesbians. Wow…such “intellectual capability” I must admit I don’t have and I rather not have…I only know homosexuality is indeed a deadly lifestyle and disease, and it must be stopped at all cost like any other threatening disease!
Moving in, suggest you people take the advice of the government, and just go about your sickening lifestyle in your own backyard, and stop trying to fight for more rights and recognition…and I’m sure the mainstreamers will also leave you people alone!
As for Rony Tan, I’m glad he had proved that homosexuals can be rehabilitated (sorry Repent People!, I don’t agree that they should be hang…like many others, we are against the sin, not the sinner), so for those who are still trying to lead a normal life, just go to him and he will cure you of your deadly disease…no doubt about it, and best of all, free-of-charge leh!!!
What? “Buay Song” with my thoughts and think I am discriminating? Go and report me to the police lor…
no other religion exploits(for profit) and condemns your humanity(you are born a sinner) more than Christianity.
to gain dominion over your soul, she attacks every stage of your transitional growth as a human being. take lusts for instance. surely a 90 year oldman is not going to be as lustful as a 17 year old boy? so is it right for an old fart(an old leader) who passes menopause to impose a “morality code” on a growing adolescent? should we condemn a boy first foray into adulthood as “sinful”?
if you believe christianity warped morality, you might as well not be human which is impossible because you can’t erase your humanity.
the point i am making here is, the bible does not condemn your humanity. sin has been grossly misinterpreted. your humanity is not sinful. there is nothing wrong with your natural lusts. go and LUST ALL YOU WANT but be responsible. LOL.
seriously, if you believe christianity twisted sense of morality, you will forever have to live with your hypocrisy and self condemnation which keeps you under their power and control.
the earlier you break away from its grip over your life, the earlier you regain your sanity and reconcile with your fellowmen(outside religion) and our natural world.
to Avast , Feb 21, 2010 18:08
Other than suspecting you’re a vampire who is from the conservative 18th century, I’m beginning to think that you might have also been brought up in the home of the BRAINLESS. Referendum btw straight & GLBT ?? Please, no govt in the world will have the right mind to even contemplate such a silly & politically suicide move. Straight or gay, everyone’s entitled to live on this planet whether you like it or not, so STOP IMPOSING your so called morally charged sentiments onto others.
@irony : So I presume u mean that rape, paedophility, murder, pillage, war, anger, rage, violence is ok since they are natural lusts to some.
you siao ah. you can’t differentiate between lusts and out of control ah? LOL
your lusts must work within the boundary of reasonable laws(not islamic laws). understand?
totally agree with irony.
~With or without religion good people still do good deeds, evil people still do evil deeds. But it takes Religion for good people to do evil deeds~
Suzanne, no worries whether I am a vampire or not…lesbians like you are safe from vampires, because they are wise enough not suck the blood of people with deviant sexual practices…else they can get extinct by the impurities in it!
Anyway, are you yourself able to stop imposing your freakish practices on others as well? If not, why bother with what I say?
Are you also agreeing that you are immoral and so you find my moral sentiments and rhetoric too much to bear?
Wat is reasonable law? Who defines it?
@Kenz
Which orthodox religions teaches their followers to do evil deeds? On the contrary, which instruction teaches non-religious people to do good deeds even to the expense of themselves?
as humans, we all lust. that’s why it is so easy to convict someone of sin – base on christianity twisted teachings on “purity”. the christian idea of sinfulness usually hovers around SEX. sex is such a big dirty issue with christianity that the AWARE saga clearly shows where its dirty inclination lies. it is impossible to live by christian idea of sexual purity. a single dirty thought will betray you. you are damned if you sneak a peek at a nubile undergarment. (grandma says…brush eyes brush eyes)LOL
the world in which we live is full of diversity. despite the fact that people hold so many differing views, there is a general consensus as to what WORKS for people.
best to leave private matters to individuals to sort it out. but as with any indulgences, there are CONSEQUENCES. a wise person will know to live a balance life and gain ascendancy over his/her impulses less it derail his/her purpose and usefulness in life.
you don’t need religion to tell you that or that there is some foreign invisible power you can tap to give you an extra edge over others.
that’s pure rubbish!
I don’t really get the point that “the christian idea of sinfulness usually hovers around SEX.” No that is not true. It talks about helping the poor and needy as well and that people who do not help the needy, look down on the poor are sinful themselves. “A single dirty thought” (which i presume u mean looking at upskirts as your example implies) does not betray us. In fact, christians are tempted daily. Its whether you act on your thought and focuses your energy on thinking on doing it. And even if the act is commited, if a man/woman learns from his mistake and repents, he is forgiven.
Sad to say, there are not many wise people who know how to live their lives in the 1st place. If religion gives them hope for living and teaches them to do what is right, why not? Rather than people who live without hope and purpose, it is better for them to believe something.
God do not give christians any edge in this life over others. Because, this life is not what matters to them in the 1st place. If they believe in a God who teaches them good, “To love thy neighbour”, “To give to the needy and poor”, “To not look down on lesser brothers”, “to love your wife/husband” and that gives them faith and strength to carry on in life. I don’t see any reason that you need to deride them in the 1st place.
apparently, you don’t know your own religion. repent! LOL
I m sorry. I sincerely believe I do know it better than you.
btw, a HIGHLY religious person is as prompt to pedophile as a non religious.
the pope is still wondering why his parish are so horny for children and he is having a hard time explaining the church defiant behavior to the world. for a moment, you would think that with all that divine empowerment just a prayer away, they would certainly behave better than any mere mortals, well, thousands of horny priest taste for children sure make a mockery of their religion, doesn’t it?
so in the final analysis, there is no prove religion makes a better person out of you than being humanly sensible. truth be told, there are more non religious person behaving much better(normally) than religious folks.
ditch religion i say!
GLBT should low lie low for now and don’t focus attention on themselves What is the point of a police report?For now they are not going to get sympathies from a majority of singaporeans Lhl just encouraged people to have more children and as such this matter doesn’t gel Be patient!
Avast
Actually is you who has to stop imposing your freakish morality and behaviour onto society. Since when has the LBGT criticised or condemned any other community except when they have been under attack for no reasons whatsoever.
For a group who has been oppressed and persecuted for decades here, your sentiment sounds exactly like what christian right fundies said of black people or women seeking empowerment in the past – basing their condemnations on their Holy Book.
So yes you are a vampire, sucking humanity out of anyone who is unlike you, mocking and insulting with no rationality or logical thought And when the time comes, when surely it will in the future if you look at whats happening in the US, Europe and even China, you will be one of those that history will define as an oppressor, an enemy to human rights, a shame to humanity and freedom. Just like Rony Tan
it is easy to stick to your guns when the ISD is not on your back.
@irony
Neither do Hitler, Mao Zedong, Pol Pot who made reason their basis of rule.
“truth be told, there are more non religious person behaving much better(normally) than religious folks.”
Where do u get these stats from? Prove it. On the Contrary, I can get many ppl who did not have any religion at 1st, who lived as ex drug addicts, as prostitutes, as gamblers, as wives and children abusers who became better people after having a religion. BTW, the yellow ribbion project is started by a Christian who knew that religion do transform lives and stats do prove that religion made them less likely to end up in jail again.
hey, you call those who go to mass once a year religious? pls!
probably 9 out of 10 don’t practice the faith. duh
pls, if you sent a bunch of pyschiatrist and social workers(non religious), it probably will have a lot of convert.
what changes people is LOVE. and love is not restricted to the religious or you gonna tell us only the religious know how to love? you dare? LOL
btw, do you know how many hundreds of millions of non religious that are in world? you dare to offend them? LOL
@irony
pls, if you sent a bunch of pyschiatrist and social workers(non religious), it probably will have a lot of convert.
what changes people is LOVE. and love is not restricted to the religious or you gonna tell us only the religious know how to love? you dare? LOL
Obviously, you have not worked in a prison social work before nor any counselling in this. Some people have no conception of love because they do not know what it is. Only when they came to religion then they realised they are loved and valved and that change them. Do u show your love to them?
@
btw, do you know how many hundreds of millions of non religious that are in world? you dare to offend them? LOL
I think it is the other way around. You dare to insult 1.1 billion muslims, 1.2 billion catholics, 800k protestants, many more hindus, sikhs, buddhists, zoastratians in the world and ridicule their faith?
800 million protestants*
well, you can get your millions to SUMMON YOUR GOD to APPEAR then. LOL. if there are so many millions crying out to HIM and he can’t hear, he must be DEAF. LOL
put it this way LOL I will CHALLENGE ALL YOUR ANOINTED PREACHERS PUT TOGETHER.
You name the time and the venue.
I call it the ELIJAH CHALLENGE – in the reverse!! LOL
AND I WILL WIN!! LOLOL