I am worried about this year too. Some Chinese couples prefer not to have children during the Year of the Tiger. In each of the last three Tiger years (1998, 1986 and 1974), the number of births dipped by 7%. It is one thing to encourage ourselves with the traditional attributes of the zodiac animals. But it is another to cling on to superstitions against children born in the Year of the Tiger, who are really no different from children born under other animal signs.
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

yeah… his encouragement is not enough.. the issue here is with the underlying cost of living that has spike up over the years and with more influx of FT over our shoulder. How can we justify our means of living if we cannot substantiate the most “affordable” cost in our life. Rearing of kids is not cheap. Its a life sentence (for 20+ years) before he/she is able to sustain his own. If the gov rid thier mentality of chasing GDP after GDP with the ideal of “money”. I think that is when Singaporean will not be hardworkers and hardstrivers at work but at home too.
Belittling other’s religious and traditional belief?
My wish for the chinese new year is for
All Crouching Tigers to emerge one by one from your sheeps skin.
I also hope for donations to finance candidates so that more will emerge.
Gong Xi Fa Cai and donate now!
what is wron with bein a tiger born? my youngest bro is born in the year of the tiger..he raked in million$ yes in real dollar$…unfortunateLEE not in singapoor soil or else leehsienloong mite want to rub shoulders with him…
by the way last nite i striked 9510 (chinese sayin tiger which is 95 and 10 is the year 2010)
$26,000 nia…
huat ya…tua pui ne nee yeah!
[i]Rearing of kids is not cheap. Its a life sentence (for 20+ years) before he/she is able to sustain his own[/i]
after raisin your kids from s26 milk powder to open universities
you looked forward to your retirement @55..leehsienhloong tell you that you are still not capable of lookin after your retirement cpf funds…
so how to sustain 1 self?..i am lookin for a lifeline…any assistances?..shamugam..dr balekampon? or marborough himself..limsiasuayed pls seat..nobody asked YOU!!!
I do not want to say any comment about LHL’s speech for fear of being labeled as seditious and disrespectful and insensitive to others religious beliefs.Please, no kopi from the ISD.
http://dotseng.wordpress.com/2009/03/29/why-lky-should-play-simcity-to-find-out-about-our-baby-blues/ Whats so confounding. Didn’t they already figure it out alredi?
Using superstitious beliefs as a smoke screen to the actual underlying problem ???
http://mrwangsaysso.blogspot.com/2010/01/property-market-stays-hot.html
Amazing, paid 6-digit salary to just point out what he thinks are the problems — and must be running out of ideas to start blaming the stars & individual beliefs! For past 20+ years, Singapore TFR has been declining until now (no surprise) is the lowest ever. So we had gone thru through full cycles of the zodiac animals — every animal proven NOT to improve the situation, maybe some years are worse than others. And here our esteemed PM is atttributing it to the Tiger. Huh? Wu liao bor liao?
[i]Please, no kopi from the ISD.[/i]
you preston the ex-canadian government scholar who want to tell us/the world he is an educated liberal man..yet here he tried his grandfather 1960s scare scare tatic…typical balless man who need to carry other peoples’ balls..
Forgive my ignorance. Aren’t the animal zodiac signs a Taoist belief? What is that suddenly categorized as a superstition? What are some religious beliefs considered superstitions? OMG! close your ears and eyes, we must inform the ISD least this will lead to “western style” mass suicide!
[i] What is that suddenly categorized as a superstition? What are some religious beliefs considered superstitions? OMG! close your ears and eyes, we must inform the ISD least this will lead to “western style” mass suicide![/i]
you want to hear something? when the 1st F1 race was givin an interview with our prince the belove gundo prime minister…the angmor reporter asked him..would it rain tonight on the opennin night?
the answer from the prime minister was..instead of indians from bangala doin a raindanced round the erp gantry pole..he said rubbed some chilly powder and marinate with onion leaves throw into the air..sured won’t rain…
i was thinkin of doin what the prime minister preached when i remembered the golden rules
#1) if i do that i will be fined and made to to a community order by litterin the F1 tracks with RUBBISH…
#2) i will be fined by the ENV for not havin a permit granted to do what the prime minister is teachin me to do…
#3) south african natives would be laughin my a s s off and says..you smart a s s singaporeiums don’t know how to surf the internet @ yahoo.com.sg for an updated satelitte weather report mey?
@prestonborlamparloon
Haha, I did not know that incident about the F1. But now I know, our beloved PM is an authority on many different domains of knowledge. His father was an authority with eugenics as he knows for a fact that babies by graduates are different from those by non-graduates. Now, our holy PM knows for a fact that children born in the Year of the Tiger are no different from children born under other animals signs. I am a simple man so I can’t claim to know anything … :)
But let’s not despair. According to the same ST article, he is hopefully the year of the Dragon will be a boomer year for babies. So year of Tiger the TRF = 1.23, year of dragon should hopefully be 2.97 to make up for the lost babies this time round to average 2.1, or like 14.1 for to make up for the past 20 years (of failed policies, and the 3 dips due to Tiger years). So we can expect maybe a U, V or W recovery. (But personally, it seems like a L decline all these years).
Hey, running up national policies is quite simple after all, once the mechanisms are clearly explained to us simple folk….. in terms we can associate with. Happy CNY to all.
When things are going great, they get the credit. When things dont go so well, we get blamed.
[i]
Butters
Feb 14, 2010 14:30
[i]@prestonborlamparloon
Haha, I did not know that incident about the F1. But now I know, our beloved PM is an authority on many different domains of knowledge. His father was an authority with eugenics as he knows for a fact that babies by graduates are different from those by non-graduates.[/i]
my father is not a graduate..he a pipe fitter..my mum is not a graduate she a pipe smoker
me caught in between..i think i make both pa/ma got hitched…without a shotgun…
today? i earned more than a graduate if my luck stayed with me..ihav far more experience superiority more than a graduates couple..as a mtter of fact without me aroun..that graduates couple would be in a helpin situation..i know i helped ALOT of graduate couples..
please do take NOTE… i am NOT THE kamasutra yoga master… on the other hand without any graduates couple assistances i still can managed myself in my owned independent survivor ways…
<b>prestonborlamparloon</b>
lOl.
If all your mum did was to “smoke pipe”, I don’t think you’d be around. ROFL. I don’t even want to begin to imagine how you can find yourself “caught in between”. Doesn’t bear thinking.
Thanks for a good laugh.
If superstition is what LHL is concerned about, those China FTs he is letting flood Singapore are full of it. What’s the matter with him?
I repeat here what my two sons said to me long ago. No way are they going to get married and
procreate, they could not even afford to upkeep themselves, unless they emigrate to
places where they are not treated as second class citizens and there are incentives to
make babies.
yah last time when the people wants to make alot of babies, the father told us to stop at 2 and now the son says whats the problem with the tiger???? bloody hell think we all are what? machines? whenever any of their policies failed, they have something to say and in the end, still the people to be blamed for their mistakes, enough we people couldn’t take it anymore of all these shits throwing upon us while you MIW still enjoying your millions out of our pockets.
rubbish.
This is the job of a PM: go around telling people to have children.
And collect million dollars in salary?
This is the simplest (not to say scandelous) job of a developed world PM?
What a joke!
The cases and sadness in Singapore, this pig won’t talk about.
He only offer superficial solution or directive.
Why don’t he get to see how the poor /ordinary people live to decide what to do?
of course, he won’t. He is just an actor not a pm.
seems like they cannot succeed in making singaporeans make more babies?
correct me if i the loooooong.
Information from wikipedia:
LHL born 10-Feb-1952 => Water Dragon year
LKY born 16-Sep-1923 => Water Pig year
So this 50+ years-old Dragon still needs his 80+ years-old Piggy daddy to nanny the state for him. OK, he is personal prove that zodiac animals characteristics may not work. Ha ha!
he should shut the f… up and just concentrate on learning how to so his job
Seriously, pls someone just shoot his script writer(s); absolute rubbish coming from his mouth. His last National Day Rally speech was the worst I have seen for a head of state, his hand movements certainly didn’t help. And supposed to the the Golden Boy of Singapore too?
Maybe LSS been writing the scripts for his master. That is a damned lousy slogan screaming lackey.
BTW, we (or they) blew $250 m on an ill-conceived Baby Bonus scheme in 2008. Now, which meritocratic minister was/is responsible for such a failure? Very quiet no(?), when there is no results. Which zodiac animal was 2008 then?
[i] Very quiet no(?), when there is no results. Which zodiac animal was 2008 then? [/i]
in the year 2008..blowjob was illegal whether pipe smokin or pipe fittin incld husband and wife…since no blowjob was approved by parliament how to hav an erections? eer in 2008 viagra was still experimentin in case some1 here might asked me…
I guess LHL’s remark are late already. We all know that it takes a period of time between conception/ pregnancy and delivery!
He still doesn’t get it.
Even in good times our birth rate has also been going down.
He just need to stand in front of the mirror and he will see where the problem
lies.
As head of govt, his policies have not been conducive to bring up children. People purchasing power has gone down when pay stays stagnat and Govt
up most of its services and charges.
Heathcare are subject to mean testing , Housing are paid to market rates
every year subsidies for education are cut, increase in foreign immigration
to suppress wages and compete with citizens for jobs etc etc
We may wonder why are we paying taxes and GST for
That’s why i said our policymakers are not good leaders becos they are simply firefighting (more like sleeping on the job), just like the HDB policy (wait until all complaining and having hard time then they start to build more HDB flats)…. PM could have brought up this Tiger-baby theory 9 months ago before the start of Tiger year. There would only be less than 3 months left for Tiger Year even for Sharp Shooters to heed his speech and start making babies right way. Either our PM is slow, or it was just a speech for the occasion only lah.
And too bad there wasn’t any odds to bet on the outcome of silly baby bonus policy when it was implemented, otherwise many common-sensed-people could well made a small fortune out of it.
Anyway, they still have $millions entering their pockets lah…
I’m sorry. But I am really lost. What are the superstitions that supposedly discourage people from having babies in the year of the Tiger?
Dear prestonborlamparloon, hope you are not instigating an Anwar-type minister to our parliament. It might spice up the boring sessions but doubt can help on baby blues, pipe smokin’ or otherwise. (Cheers!)
ApApA, you are Sharp, I mean Shooting that only 3 months left now for a Tiger kid. Makes one wonder if our ministers really screen the scripts giving to them. Anyway, I am all for sharp shooting — I mean look at the the ESC recommendations; more like they are using a machine gun hoping to hit something, somehow. That could explain the influx of FW in recent years — must had been on Full Auto.
is this another reason for more imports?
One of the reasons why Singaporean Chinese are not having enough babies, or do not want to have babies at all, is the costs of bringing up the child…
Our society is very unforgiving. There is no net to catch those who have fallen behind. Once you are in trouble, you are on your own, as the famous (or perhaps infamous) saying goes “no one owes you a living”. Under such societal circumstances, perhaps Singaporeans feel that the burden of bringing up children is really too much of a risk to bear…
yeah, hakkaahbo.
if life is so good in Singapore, why don’t we want to have children to pass on the good life.
The taiwanese, south Koreans, HKers didn’t have as lousy a birth rate record.
LeeHaveLied didn’t get this and I don’t know why…
How come Singapore Police never bothered to investigte the inaugural FI kelong?
Excuse me! His father’s draconian rule specified “STOP AT TWO” and his “SISSY’S” propaganda propagate “more tiger sons/daughters” so, who is right and who is wrong?
If you just follow the “idiotic leader’s” calling and you will end up an idiot?
What a happy New Year’s calling?
Would people whose believe is that tiger year not ideal to give babies feel offended by being said that their believe is superstition?
how to explain to this idiot that people don’t want kids because he is doing a bad job? eg longest working hours in the world, high medical cost, low productivity, no welfare, reserves kept for churning purpose by GIC and Temasek staff to generate salaries and bonuses for themselves, not to help our aged poor, no free insurance for our Singapore born children, male children conscripted to army where they die to defend a nation that allows foreign workers to work here, enter casinos freely, while Singaporean pay $100….
Hi Sbt
That $100 entrance fee really bugs me as well. I can’t seem to figure that part out. It’s weird. A delightful mystery.
SD (Internet Liaison officer of the brotherhood – sponsored by the Interspacing Mercantile Guild)