“I have insisted that (to) anyone with children. The children must be put in a proper home; they must continue to go to school. They must continue to get access to good food, good hygiene. And if any family has difficulty providing these things to the children, then MCYS will step in, and we will step in assertively if need be, in order to protect children.”
Dr Vivian Balakrishnan, in Parliament

I dont believe a word from this MP anymore. He has no credibility.
Step in aggressively!??
This is utter rubbish!!
I think Singaporeans need to step in assertively to replace those who have zero compassion on the poor.
Correction: Step in *assertively!??
wah balekampong serious har?
proper home? when 1s get kicked out by hdb because of non-payments?
and the micracle healer MCYS will rendered assistances?
in what way and methods may 1 seek?
i remembered donkeys years ago in a country in south america..where the polis just shoot homeless street urchins…they also tell the world press the country need funds to house the homeless blah blah blah…
Please, Vivi…I still remember what you did when Dr Lily Neo tries to help the needy…remember what you say?
Just to bring up old stuff:
Dr Lily Neo:
Sir, I want to check with the Minister again when he said on the strict criteria on the entitlement for PA recipients. May I ask him what is his definition of “subsistence living”? Am I correct to say that, out of $260 per month for PA recipients, $100 goes to rental, power supply and S&C and leaving them with only $5 a day to live on? Am I correct to say that any basic meal in any hawker centre is already $2.50 to $3.00 per meal? Therefore, is it too much to ask for just three meals a day as an entitlement for the PA recipients?
Dr Vivian Balakrishnan:
How much do you want? Do you want three meals in a hawker centre, food court or restaurant?”
So VV, when you say something like this, do you think we believe you will walk the talk?
He would not be thinking of stepping in “assertively” if he truely cares for the poor.
Hope he gets voted out.
Dr Vampire Bolei-makan-anakanak, in Clowns Parliament
Dr Vivian,
When you are all alone; when no one is watching u and only a mirror mirroring u: Q & A this lar, all that is needed is a modicum of self-honesty. Were u being sincere, truthful? and are you REALLY in earnest serving the people who voted in u lah … or was it merely playing to the gallery and singing the chorus of self-praise … which abounds PAP lar.
“The children must be put in a proper home”
This is nearly an impossible task with the current high price of HDB flats.
VB is out of touch with the masses
“The children must be put in a proper home”
This is nearly an impossible task with the current high price of HDB flats.
VB is out of touch with the masses
Personally, I’d regard this bloke as just a human Tape Recorder.
Rubbish in… the same gets played back.
talk is cheap. need to see actions. children of homeless families are important, children of single parent or unwed mums are important. If babies (or maybe a more appropriate term in Singapore, Human Resource) are really so important to Singapore, we should have policies to help these disadvantaged kids and and recognised that these disadvantaged kids are as important as others. Societies changed, economic situation changed, government got to be more flexible.
In Singapore, we are so overwhelmed by GDP numbers, policies that we lost touch with the most important fundamental. That is importance of citizens as a human being. Ultimately, we want better lives and happiness for our people. Even if we did well in macro-GDP but that does not translate into dignity and happiness for our citizens, then what is the point?
Next he will say that children need access to clean water.
He has perfected his constipated look, but he spouts useless infomation.
What a waste of a minister post.
VB didn’t say MCYS will help, so make me wonder what he means by “step in assertively”? Punish the parent for fail to provide these need to the children?
To whoever is concerned:
1) Please have compassion toward all Singaporeans who are in need, those with or without children
2) If you sincerely want to help, remember to preserve the family unit. The children want, and deserve to have their parents be with them. Parents, not the state, have the right to decide what is good their young children
3) Please treat the poor with respect and dignity, not “assertively”
4) Please do not treat Singaporeans as mere objects to be sorted out
5) Please be mindful of breaking up families in the name of helping them
Thank you
singapore is a stingy nanny state, you can almost sense their reluctance to help anyone, let alone homeless. if we had read the reports, the mcys officials sounded so crude and rude towards when rounding those people from sembawang park after toc published articles.
just look at our miserable pathetic donation to haiti $50,000, while our ministers make millions.
singapore gov has no compassion, it is all about $. this is how our gov has become.
since he insisted before, did he succeeded in putting homeless kids in homes since he last insisted?
So, why say this now? has he not succeeded yet?
How many millions of homeless kids are we talking about? so difficult?
vb..hate him…talk rubbish….all the time…face always act pitiful…
Poor Dr. V. Used to be so idealistic, possibly one that can bring changes from within the system. Now just jumping for one pet subject to another, marking time, collecting pay.
Hey, still on NIC or not? How has the $10m tax-payers money been disbursed? Real-S’porean benefitted from it or not?
Say, is he in charge of our TFR? Sorry, who is in charge of our TFR?
valuing work of the poor is the way to improve their wellbeing.
It is as simple as that.
There is a drive to discredit the UBS study by the pigs.
The fact is using the same basket of goods, the Taiwanese, the Hkers, the SKoreans fare a lot better than us and that is in spite of the fact that the basket of goods in the test is as irrelevant to them as to us.
Source: http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1040964/1/.html
He said: “I have taken such an active stand to make sure we do not have people camping out on beaches, or parks or void decks, even though these may be safe and indeed, sometimes even pleasant areas for adults.
>> Embarrassment to the MCYS/PAP/Government/Country rather?
“These are not good and safe areas for children. And so I have insisted that (to) anyone with children. The children must be put in a proper home; they must continue to go to school. They must continue to get access to good food, good hygiene.
>> Like they got a choice.
“And if any family has difficulty providing these things to the children, then MCYS will step in, and we will step in assertively if need be, in order to protect children.”
>> Tot these family applied for help and was brushed away… clean your own backyard first.
To Mousy shout, Mar 4, 2010 2:45
He has perfected his constipated look, but he spouts useless infomation.
>> His constipated look is genuine. To him, he will lose his million dollars post when the poor continue to embarrass PAP by camping all over Singapore Parks, beaches, etc.
I was told, indirectly, that there’s a scheme administered by MCYS whereby low-income couples are paid $50,000 if the wife undergoes ligation. There’s no advertisement but couples who have taken up the scheme are encouraged to introduce those in a similar situation. While this scheme is voluntary and definitely not in the same league as Hitler’s ethnic cleansing, nevertheless it smacks of some sort of social cleansing in discouraging the poor from having children.
Anyone heard of this scheme or has more details?
Moderating Editor: I believe this was something introduced briefly during the ‘Stop at Two’ policy of the 70′s or 80′s.
Million dollar minister describes camping out on beaches, parks or void decks as “.. pleasant areas for adults”.
Look how he is unable to empathise with the poor.
The night is cold out there, dear minister, without proper shelter and a roof over your head.
It’s a sad sad day for PAP if anything the leaders say is coming across as distant, unsympathetic and insincere.
For those PAP goons who are reading this, perhaps it is time to do some self reflection and see this is so……
I have insisted that (to) anyone in Singapore. The CITIZENS must be put in a proper home; they must continue to go to WORK. They must continue to get access to good food, good hygiene. And if any MINISTERS has difficulty providing these things to the CITIZENS, then MCYS will step in, and we will step in assertively if need be, in order to protect CITIZENS.
Very different if you just change a few words. But of course, Vivi is no longer an idealist (was he ever?).
If he has any iota of integrity left, he should resign from PAP.
MCYS minister,other minister’s and others ’chapalan’ mp’s can talk only.Moreover more than majority in the house were born from the same PAP womb.How to total implement or to make it work without scrutinise taxpayer’s monies direct or indirectly is a big ?
in europe especiaLLEE france the government will pay for the upkeeps of ALL born frenchie(migrants’ kids is under considerations if they behaved..i.e. meanin NON-TUDANG type) kids NOT to be homeless nor schooless..each kid will be paid on a social welfare basis with FREE educations all the way till they complete O levels or high school standards
this is the real world..not just idle talks…
Dr Vivian
Use to respect you when you are not with the PAP. Now you are spinning with them.
You are holding this problem because of inefficient MBT, why dont you ministers get him out of the way and save us voters to do it for you.
They say corruption brings a country down. How absolutely true! In a way all these MIWs or ‘talents’ are bought over by the PAP with millions of dollars. Now see what is happening. Every single one of them is there for the easy money.
Where was the work done to deserve the money? Where is the result? And if there is nothing to show for but problems, then the money taken is ‘easy’ money deemed corruption money.
aiyoh, b4 insisting so assertively, y not liaise with housing or other relevant institutions first on certain potential matters which may attract “potentially assertive negative treatment” on families who may have children.
The town councils are going to hike the S&CC.
For example, at leat 6.75% will be hiked for a 3-room flat.
The hike applies to all 2,3,4,5 room flats.
I like to know how exactly they determined the need for hike.
don’t need to say so much folks, just vote him out!
send in the troops of opp to camp inside the parliament instead . not just only protecting the children, but also couples, elderly, destititue, poor and needy and also singles.
What a joke.
Where do PAP find these people? They could have had better careers as stand up comedians
Singapore is now a place of DEATH run by zombies.
Just look at the 3 giant feng shui TOMBSTONE at Marina Sands.
Dun pray pray-no souls will listen.
If a low-income family stops at 2 and the wife undergoes ligation, the family gets $10,000 in cash and more in assistance to help with courses they undertake.