“However, gains from productivity improvements may not necessarily lead to higher wages, and could be in the form of a productivity bonus.”

Gan Kim Yong, Minister for Manpower,
on how wage hikes must come with increased productivity

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

25 Responses to “Wage hikes must come with increased productivity: Gan Kim Yong”

1. How’s this for a ‘bonus’; -  get rid of the current administration.

2. theforgottongeneration 20 March 2010

Before talking more nonsense, could Mr Gan pls identify which ministry is responsible for the low productivity over past 10+ years? Which minister should be answerable for these years? You mean it takes 10+ years to realise and to acknowledge that it takes 5 FWs to dig one hole is something to be concerned with? Again, what is meritocracy? Anything to do with 6-figure salary for our ministers?

3. OB marker 20 March 2010

this is one minister i would like to get rid of,should rename as foreign manpower minister!

4. gan swee say 20 March 2010

my fear of voting cured!

5. joserfin teo kan looong 20 March 2010

the leaders productivity increased so their pay also increased right? i mean based on walk the talk?

6. gemami 20 March 2010

Tony Chew, chairman of the Singapore Business Federation, said when workers go for training to help increase their productivity, companies face manpower shortage and trained workers would demand higher wages”.

I wonder what the point is that TC is driving at. Firstly, workers go for training to increase productivity. In the process, their absence is covered by those who are left behind to do their jobs. These are expected to be twice as productive, doing their own jobs as well as covering those who are away for retraining. When those who are retrained return, they cannot expect higher wages until they prove themselves to be productive.

Does it not seem clear to TC the productivity of those left behind to help see the business through in the absence of those who had gone for retraining? They are the first group of workers who MUST have their wages increased.

Secondly, if those who were sent for training returned without positive productive contributions, then why were they sent for retraining in the first place? But if after retraining and all of them become more productive, then how many of these can expect wage increases, for certainly the company cannot increase all their wages all at once?

Sway Sway is over-dramatic. Phase one saves the company $10 million, he says? What kind of business is he talking about? For a small to medium size business, saving $1M is already and exorbitant figure, but he had to quote a $10M figure so that he can impress his point by stating that each worker can then get a $1000 productivity payout.

If he had quoted $1M, this payout would be $100, which is laughable, considering all the trouble a worker has to go through for retraining. And, for a small company to save $100,000, the productivity bonus payout is $10.

My belly is aching with too much laughter. Another one of the Sway Sway mouthing.

7. The first area where productivity can be improved is the PAP government and in particular the ministers and parliament.
    Off hand we can seriously think about getting rid of the position of Minister Mentor, Senior Minister and the President. These are parasites sucking money of the tax payers. Next when we carefully examined the fax and lazy PAP government, at least more than 60% of the PAP MPs are lazy and absent from parliament.
    Singaporeans should seriously consider voting the for the opposition to enforce changes. Those ministers and MPs are not worth being pais more then $3000 per month.

8. lol.. 1000 every 3 months.

when i was in sch, my parents give me more money than that.

want productivity? simple. sack the MM and SM.

NOW.

9. Komenos 20 March 2010

He is an idiot of some sort.
    It is generally accepted that if you pay peanuts, you get monkeys (cheap foreign labour or unwilling locals). If you get monkeys, you get low quality work.
    Instead of just focusing everything on the productivity buzzword, they should themselves try to improve their own internal bureaucracy first. I’m sure many of the readers here have contacted the various government agencies over various issues and it seems that it takes rather long for them to get back to you or if they do, they have this arrogant mentality.
    In other words, try to fix your own household first before preaching what to do to others

10. theforgottongeneration 20 March 2010

@Komenos

“….It is generally accepted that if you pay peanuts, you get monkeys (cheap foreign labour or unwilling locals). If you get monkeys, you get low quality work….”

Singapore seems to be an exception to the rule: we pay million$ salaries and get monkeys. Don’t know if there is a theory on meritocratic monkeys, though. Like the one that like to scream slogans now and then.

11. Gan Lee Lim 20 March 2010

just 2 questions for ypap , but only if they are reading.

1. who is responsible for the drop in productivity for so many years in a row?
    2. who should take credit if productivity improves?

12. Can’t help the oxymoron statement. He says not necessarily higher wages, but mentions could be in the form of productivity bonus. Productivity bonus IS PART of wages.  Looks like the Minister does not know what he is talking about.  Heck, come to think of it, which minister knows what he’s talking about?

13. damagedDNAs 21 March 2010

the onLEE productivity i see is havin sex on the goal…
    however even havin sex with the aids of viagra..we are still behin in child bearins..
    from me point of view..i blamed the DPP/Courts(not the funrniture seller) @ the useless polis in shortpants…
    why 1 may seek?..simple blowjobs is ILLEGAL..no blowjobs..no 69..no orgasm..
    no orgasm sperms how to swim?

14. Unless, of course, if you are a minister. In that instance, wage hikes comes from measuring what others earn, or alternative earnings forgone.
    Touche, Mr Gan. I lespect you ah. 

15. doctorwho 21 March 2010

can we keep on increasing productivity without side effects like:
    - increase stress
    - increase working time (less family time)
    - increase health problems (u take home more $, but spend more $ on medical, lppl)

The one that benefit are the ministers and papayas, because their productivity = number of nonsense words from their mouths.
    Long term, singapore have to make innovations, create own niche industries.

16. hum de Albinus Lizardo 21 March 2010

gan,
    did your pay hiked or going to hike as rumoured on the internet?

If so, i am sure your productivity increased?

17. organism climaxa 21 March 2010

ypap, come and debate leh.
    dun be so like dat leh. kekeke

18. Threshold 21 March 2010

Lol. Wage hikes must come when there are citizens earning barely enough to feed themselves. Wage hikes must come when there are homeless peeps camping in parks. Wage hikes must come because there is no minimum wage law. Wage hikes must come because it is the job of the government to take care of our welfare. Wage hikes need not be coupled with increased productivity because there is such a thing as inflation. Wage hikes must come when hdb flats are selling at record high priced due to the policies of your government.

19. Whenever Singapore suffered some form of sickness, workers are the one placed on surgical table.  The government and employers are always the one spared the trauma.  This is a very sick cuntry where the responsible one are not bearing responsiblity but forced the bitter medicine into the throat of those who are not responsible.  If such trend persisit, even if Singapore passed 100 years later, it will still not  get out of the fundamental problems – PAP denial.

20. PAP denial of the real problems.

21. People Arrogant Party 22 March 2010

I have this very nausea feelings that the current government is not wanting  Singaporeans to become rich.  When productivity is poor, they want us to be cheaper, better and faster. When financial crisis hit us, our CPF contributions spiral downwards, When global financial crisis hit our shore, PAP flooded our shore to depress local wages further despite all basic necessity prices sky-rocketted including our ministers undeserving salaries.  To aggravate our dwindling savings, they made every necessities in Singapore very expensive and costly to acquire.  Now, now…they even cross the line further by telling us that even if Singaporeans worked extremely hard and sacriticed their whole life slogging to improve productivity, it may not necessarily tranlsate to wage increases.  Can PAP explain to Singaporeans what is the purpose of working when the productive fellow citizens are not getting their deserved monetary reward and yet the unproductive PAP fellows are paying themselves to the extremes, out of taxpayers moniesm  like their whole generations  of  borned and unborned one needed it.   I find the motive very cruel and inhuman of our leader.

22. Shake Head 22 March 2010

Two words:  Modern Slavery.

The difference between traditional slavery & modern slavery is the latter make their own arrangements for food & shelter.

You have nothing left for anything or anyone at the end of the day, no things and no time.  You just work in order to have food & shelter.

Don’t believe?  They already work out exactly how much is enough to keep you alive, the rest they take from you in the form of licences, taxes, levies, GST, ERP,….  Wage hike? For you to keep?  Wait long long as they say.

23. Ka Chua Thong aka fireballz 22 March 2010

Does this mean i have no choice but to accept a system the majority chosen?

24. First of all, if you guys think that our economy is doing badly, you are very wrong. In fact, our economy and GDP growth (that’s gross domestic product) has soared this year. In other words, the economy is doing great. Do you understand the concept of inflation? Do you want inflation? Do you know what happens if your salary increases? You have to consider many things when asking for something, instead of just merely shooting your mouth off. Firstly, an increased salary would mean an increased standard of living and increased spending power. But do you know that this means that the general price level will increase as well? It’s not like an increased salary means that you instantly get richer. Please understand the economics of it all. Futhermore, if you want a pay increment, you should really be talking to your boss, and not pointing fingers at whoever you deem fit. Also, this site contains many nontruths, are you sure you really want to believe everything you see. Wouldn’t you rather know the truth for yourself, instead of following others blindly. Do you honestly think that the opposition would do a better job? Just because it might be a little bleak right now, doesn’t mean that a change in ministers would result in a better world. Do you know why there are taxes. Who do you think hands out the subsidies? Do you know how cheap our transportation is. Do you know that a bus ride in Europe can go up to a few Euros, and here it’s a few cents? If you are seriously unhappy with Singapore, consider if you were living in Africa. Would you like that? Count your blessings. Singapore is as good as it gets.

25. Half Truth 6 October 2010

HI Truth

Think you are the one that do not know what you are talking. The real situation now is fundamental belief that Singapore is found are no more practised. What is more important for the P&P is to improve the lot of bastards bosses & their dogs. There is no more equality for all but elitism in Singapore. Economy grow but the benefits do not filtered down to the middle & lower ranks. When GDP grow, salary should be increased. If the increased salary caused the prices to soar beyond the benefits of GDP growth; is there a GDP growth? GDP growth must take into account of inflation. You must be a idiot before you shoot your ass mouth. In Europe, bus rides are more expensive likewise is their salary compared to Singapore. Not even know your sum and come here taliking rubblish!

The real problem is where is the all the money go? If you want to bring in so many PRs & foreigners causing SIngaporeans to lose jobs or get low paid jobs, there must be a mechanism to provide unemployment benefits and real efforts to reduce basic needs cost like housing, food, tranpsort &recreation to come down relatively to the middle &lower incme group. These are the most affected group that are complaining. It is not necessary to go through hardships to understand our fellow suffering citizens. There simply too many dogs like you with no empathy!