The following is Al Jazeera’s response to Dr Vivian Balakrishnan’s remarks in Parliament on 27 April 2010. The MCYS minister had accused Al Jazeera of “[failing] to ascertain the facts” in its report on the homeless issue in Singapore.

TOC understands Al Jazeera has also sent its response to the Straits Times.

TOC will respond to the minister’s remarks later today.

I write in response to criticism of Al Jazeera English’s recent story on homelessness in Singapore.

Al Jazeera stands by the report which we feel is factually correct.

The homeless couple featured in our report were locked out of the system of state support because of bureaucratic regulation.

The fact that they were previously successful and had owned and sold homes was mentioned in the report, but was not strictly relevant.

The real point of story was to illustrate how the safety net in Singapore sometimes fails to catch those who have fallen on hard times – whatever their background – because of the rules governing access to assistance.

The Ministry of Community Development, Youth and Sports was twice invited to respond to the claims made in the report, but declined Al Jazeera’s request for an interview.

Nevertheless, our reporter did include a previous statement from Dr Balakrishnan defending the Singaporean government’s approach to the problem of homelessness and we would like to renew our invitation to Dr Balakrishnan to appear on the channel to discuss this issue.

Regards,

MARCUS CHEEK | EXECUTIVE PRODUCER, NEWS| ASIA

————-

Read also: Minister Balakrishnan scolds Al Jazeera and bloggers by Singapore Mind.

————-

86 Responses to “Al Jazeera responds to Vivian Balakrishnan’s accusations”

1. Minister wee-weeian ‘was twice invited to respond to the claims made in the report, but declined.’

So little wee-wee, why blast AJ now? No guts to respond face to face but later explode crap out of your butt.

2. Hanif Norman 29 April 2010

I honestly expected more from Vivian considering his background. Even if it was just parroting the PAP’s official rhetoric I expected better.

3. IF NOT FOR TOC REPORT ON THE HOMELESS , MCYS WOULD BE CLUELESS ABOUT THE TENT PEOPLE 29 April 2010

Enough said.

4. Dumb and dumber 29 April 2010

“we would like to renew our invitation to Dr Balakrishnan to appear on the channel to discuss this issue.”

Wow, they really hit hard on the weakest spot.

5. Vivian Lee Bee Wah 29 April 2010

The Ministry of Community Development, Youth and Sports was twice invited to respond to the claims made in the report, but declined Al Jazeera’s request for an interview.

Remember the case of the lady MP and the PRC table tennis coach ??

Al Jazeera has renewed their invitation for him to appear on the channel to discuss the issue.

Vivian Balakrishnan Lee Bee Wah, the ball is in your court.

6. Baoqingqing 29 April 2010

Vivian in Parliament accused Al Jazeera of not checking their facts, but failed to reveal that he had twice declined thier request for interview..

So, was Vivian trying to mislead the Parliament and the people?

7. Vivian “the chicken” would not dare to be interviewed by Al Jazeera. Vivian and all the other MIW guys are strawberries that must be protected from the harsh reality of an open debate on TV not controlled by MIW.

8. NewFrontier 29 April 2010

The minister said: “Some irresponsible websites have also caused these falsehoods to circulate widely on the internet. Now that the facts are out, let us see whether those who have been propagating these falsehoods have the courage and the honesty to set the record straight.”

I now invite the minister to “have the courage and the honesty to set the record straight.”

I also invite MSM like The Straits Times, Today and Channelnewsasia to do likewise and refute what the minister said that “Some irresponsible websites have also caused these falsehoods to circulate widely on the internet”.

If MSM do not do this then aren’t they too spreading such falsehoods?

Minister Shanmugam you said recently that we should have more faith in our mainstream media. But how to have more faith when they present one-sided news?

9. The world will be a better place with Al Jazeera around. I want it back on MioTV!

10. Bruce W 29 April 2010

If there’s nothing to hide, why the Govt ‘cleaned up’ the beaches to get rid of the campers?

11. myviewsarerestored 29 April 2010

wah lau..dr balekampond declined TWICE? liked that can i retracted my apologies?
    be a MAN..afterall dr balekampond used to be a championed uni debater as claimed by his close unimates…

12. Citizen A 29 April 2010

Come on, $million Minister!!
    You the one who throw in the challenge!!
    The other side has responded.
    Your move! We are all waiting to see the show!!

13. Bullsitizan 29 April 2010

I noticed the words used, “spreading falsehoods”, as opposed to ‘telling lies’
    Can any legal folk here enlighten why Vivian doesn’t say outright like, “AJ told lies, or AJ lied” instead of using words spreading falsehoods, failing to ascertain facts.
    Besides, glaring fact is why PAP or Govt for that matter don’t sue AJ for spreading falsehoods, like they did in the past to various western presses?

14. MINISTER 'NO BALLS' TO BE INTERVIEWED BY AJ 29 April 2010

…………..

15. Now that Al Jazeera has spoken out against Mr Vivian, and revealed that he in fact rejected the invitation twice, let’s see how he would explain for this. No doubt his reponse would be bullocks.

16. Dumb and dumber 29 April 2010

“And if National Development Minister Mah Bow Tan is unable to defend this policy, ‘he deserves to lose’ at the next general election, he quipped, to laughter from the participants, including a chuckling Mr Mah.”

Source: http://www.pmo.gov.sg/News/Transcripts/Minister+Mentor/Fewer+foreign+workers+in+five+years+says+MM.htm

>> The same rule applies to Vivian?

17. Incredulous 29 April 2010

As I have mentioned before.

Vivian did not tell 100% truth in Parliament, and misrepresented the facts.

Sadly, there are some posters who chose to believe the MIW and even try to discredit me.

I hope this would wake up the ignorant morons who chose to be blind because they don’t believe underclass Singaporeans do exist here.

18. It is our governent’s principle to sue whoever is not speaking the truth so that they can clear their name. In this case. It is obvious that Al Jazeera is speaking the truth because we did not sue them

19. Actually vivian was correct not to attend the interview by the Aj. What if he said something wrong against the interest of the ruler?

20. Speaking 29 April 2010

This response would shut Vivian Bala’s mouth BIG time. I bet my ass that he wouldn’t dare to respond to this challenge. He will just, like all other ministers, try to lie low for a few weeks, or maybe go overseas to attend some stupid meetings. Thumbs Up to Al Jazeera!

21. CrazyBum 29 April 2010

c’mon Vivian, show us that you are man enough to take on the interview

22. Moe Gan Thai 29 April 2010

This puppet Bala why can’t let foreign newspapers or station win one time.Everytime you are right, how can ? nobody will believe you,there are no beggers in Spore, there are no homelessness in Spore.There are no hunger in Spore.We will send the food to your door step.Talking cock ! VOTE THE PAP OUT !!

23. MCYS is no YMCA 29 April 2010

For everyone person MCYS says its not a true case, AJ can easily find another off the streets to replace.

That is probably why MCYS got no balls to be interviewed….the people on the street can see it clearly but the frogs in the ivory towers are clearly blind.

24. Male ministers no "?" and female ministers no "?'.................. 29 April 2010

Crudely like them…….. they have neither ‘balls’ nor “boobs” to show for their ARTIFICIAL “shapes” in the public concourse! Let alone dare to debate in the public media arena! Good riddance to BAD rubbish fit for the GUTTERS!!!!!!!!!

25. xtrocious 29 April 2010

Aiyah, there will always be excuses…

AJ said it sent the invitation twice to his ministry, not the minister himself…

Hence they could claim that the email never reached him – in this case, they win liao lor…

26. mic o mic 29 April 2010

Dun worry guys,
    When its “us” vs “them”,
    The PAP always wins.
    Unless when it comes to stuff like this, Mas Selemat escaping, or drunk diplomat running away,
    then we “Mooooove on”.

27. prettyplace 29 April 2010

Vivian was a debater in school.
    I am sure he will take on AJ, unless
    he is chicken or he knows his ministry is doing nothing much about the problems in Singapore.
    Why be afraid, when you are doing your job, explain it and be ready to be questioned.

28. gemami 29 April 2010

I strongly believe Vivian should come forward and take up the invite of AJ – if not for anything but the support of the PAP brigade, some of whom were so quick to condemn TOC in the other thread.
    -
    I wonder what they have to say now.

29. If VB doesn’t respond, then it goes to
    show Pappies only know how handle the local compliant media
    Come on,VB the ball is in your court.

30. gemami 29 April 2010

Xtrocious – if that is the case then he is out of touch with his own ministry and this is inexcusable!

31. Can’t wait for the TOC response!

32. HaiGong 29 April 2010

When there is problem they always blame the citizens. Well, all the problems arise because of their bad policies.

If the govt encourages ever rising value of HDB hole and people can make money out of the public housing there is nothing wrong.( Hokkien says take cock bang your head).

Beach housing will be a bigger problem for years to come, when many retirees cash out their HDB hole,which is encouraged by the govt

They jolly well take a good look and review their policies and admit the mistakes they have made.

33. anonymous 29 April 2010

VB is a tad exasperated by the AJ news and expressed it after the fact?. Is it something trivial unworthy of his public lecture or he has something deadly serious to conceal?

34. Vivian… be a man…
    do the right thing…

35. leesjuan 29 April 2010

Yes! Bala dared you accept the challenge on national TV debate and we can all see for ourselves, the faithful dog who have no compassion for the poor and homeless.

The focus is on the couple’s present predicament and their making money on HDB flat in the past, was definitely of no relevance.

Al Jazeera, you reported the plight of the homeless in true light. Thank you.

36. Astarte hamster 29 April 2010

The empire strikes back…..

37. Every time some news organizations say something about this government, it will demand the right to reply and that the reply be published in the same medium that the offending material was in.

But every time this government make accusations about these news organizations through the modern day Goebbels’ mechanism, the replies by these organizations are always blocked out.

38. XiiAoGeNgEnX 29 April 2010

Finally, someone decides to speak out for our oppressed Taleban and Al-Qaeda friends. Truly worthy of a racial harmony prize.

39. xiaodingdang 29 April 2010

I believe MCYS is monitoring this website including the comments we make … so pls be careful what you say here.

40. Shake Head 29 April 2010

Vivian

The interview is your best chance to clarify the facts or clear the air for your PAPa and your people. I would have thought you would be asking for YOUR views to be broadcast. They served it up on the plate for you and you DECLINED! Speaks volumes.

You do not deserve to be remunerated even $1 for destroying lives, silencing them, and then telling lies!

41. Shake Head 29 April 2010

Vivian

The interview is your best chance to clarify the facts or clear the air for your PAPa and your people. I would have thought you would be asking for YOUR views to be broadcast. They served it up on the plate for you and you DECLINED! Speaks volumes. You won’t survive a day in first world countries’ Govt.

And for destroying lives, silencing them, and then telling lies, you do not deserve to be remunerated even $1.

42. XiiAoGeNgEnX

Have you got nothing better to say?

43. Turning down the offer to clarify the facts on air is like a suspected criminal saying “No comment” everytime the police or interrogator makes an allegation that this is what happen.

It clearly shows that Vivian only needs to appease his PAPa, not the people, thats why he chose to address it in Parliament, not on air. Why people keep voting in Ministers with no interest to serve them is mind boggling.

44. XiiAoGeNgEnX 29 April 2010

Woohoo! More than 3000 views on this topic! They must be really proud that their publicity stunt worked. Sure beats the low double-digit subscriber numbers that they enjoyed in the last 2 years.

Come on la Micky, the only reason why Al Jazeera is given any attention here at all is because “the enemy of my enemy is my friend”.

Now now, don’t get me wrong. I watched Al Jazeera on youtube faithfully during the Iraq War. I loved their show on Comical Ali, the Iraqi Information Minister that nearly went on Oprah. Enjoy! :)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s27Oq5ot0ZI

“The Americans are losing! We are roasting their stomaches in the pits of hell!”

45. myviewsarerestored 29 April 2010

xiaodingdang 29 April 2010
    I believe MCYS is monitoring this website including the comments we make … so pls be careful what you say here.
    …………………..
    and what is mcys gonna do to me?
    removed my ywca membership card?

46. masterservant 29 April 2010

Yes, singapore has homeless people living like refugees at changi.

Yes, we were told to have a stake in our country, by moving from rental homes to buying one, may it be 3-4room.

But, were we told that our stake and jobs will be there, to pay all bills, including mortgage.

So now, we have people who lost their jobs to foreigners and have no other means to survive and have errors in bills, what next, the small claims court comes in and fine the flatowners and hdb give out warnings on late payments.

Thus living under duress and in stress and not wanting to take the crap, they sold their flats and what, enjoy life like refugees at changi sounds good to you.

What happpen to the gov propaganda that we all have stakes in this place, hotair,
    are these fireworks only and after they burst, they are empty as the night sky, or just like stars in distance sky, look only and for show only.

In other words, we’ve all been conned by a whole lot of con men.

47. SG in UK 29 April 2010

We need to have a government which is more caring and empathy towards its citizens, not the one ‘you die your business’ type of government.
    I gave you an example in UK, one of my colleagues (a shop assistant) earns £1,300 a month, after paying tax, National Insurance and Pension, he has £900.00 left per month, he is married with 2 children and living in a terrace house of 3 rooms, a car and a garden, how is he going to survive with such a pathetic pay? Not in Singapore of course.
    See this, with free education and health care which all residents received and on top of this, this is essential: he has a tax credit and child benefit of £560.00 from the government return to his account every month, yes every month! Why? The reason is simple; he earns less than £30,000.00 per annum. The most important issue is here, the government is taking care of the lower income group in UK. By the time he retired at age 62, he is assured of a monthly income of £200 weekly to his account, his house is not tied to CPF, he has a free choice either to downgrade or upgrade and this is all up to him.

48. SG in UK too 29 April 2010

You forgot to mention that the house is also FREEHOLD, not 99 yr leasehold. The fully paid, fulltime education starts from 4 yrs old. Their teachers got to be qualfied with honours degree & teaching cert for 4 yr old onwards. All books are supplied by the schools. No text books to buy.

Does it make sense now why there is baby shortage in Spore whereas there is babyboom in the UK esp this year?

Does it also make any sense to those who say that we pay 50% tax in UK and nothing in Spore?

49. XiiAoGeNgEnX 29 April 2010

Feel free to approach the Opposition with this campaign slogan. “50% tax, many things for free!”

Yes it’s been implemented in other places. But I’m wondering if the Singaporean population will want to turn all these specialized needs into a general tax burden.

50. XiiAoGeNgEnX 29 April 2010

This is the phenomenon of lobbying.

Each of these needs are specialized, and only benefit a small proportion of the population, but the tax burden falls on everyone.

So what happens if I do not belong to any of the categories? I do not get any benefits?

NO! I find a category which I fit into (I’m a sugar farmer), and I lobby my representative for tax subsidies for sugar! Sure, I’ll get $10,000 of benefits a year, and the cost is only $1 a year for all the other citizens.

Don’t believe me? Check this out.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lobbying_in_the_United_States

Note: These amounts do not include campaign contributions. So you can imagine how much the Western politicians are paid, despite their “low salaries”.

Client Total
    1 Finance, Insurance & Real Estate $2,558,205,882
    2 Health $2,298,865,053
    3 Misc Business $2,257,719,539
    4 Communications/Electronics $2,092,700,759
    5 Energy & Natural Resources $1,670,116,451
    6 Transportation $1,358,911,163
    7 Other $1,252,273,819
    8 Ideological/Single-Issue $848,747,426
    9 Agribusiness $819,757,771
    10 Defense $668,009,653
    11 Labor $265,459,714