From Asia Calling
Singapore is a nation of homeowners, largely thanks to a comprehensive system of government subsidised housing.
The public can either buy public housing flats directly from the government or a resale flat, which is more expensive as prices are adjusted according to market forces.
But a population explosion in the last few years and a widening income gap have resulted in public housing prices skyrocketing, and many low-income earners are unable to either meet the criteria for direct purchase or afford resale.
Even renting at market price is increasingly unaffordable to low-income families.
As Monica Kotwani found out this is leaving more Singaporeans living on the streets.
Night falls and shrouds this small suburban park in Singapore in darkness. Slowly, people arrive and set up their tents for the night. They are homeless, and part of an increasing number of people living in open spaces.
This has been Jennifer and her three children’s home for almost two years. Jennifer is not her real name. It has been changed because she was warned by authorities her case would take longer to be assessed if she spoke to the media.
“We don’t have anywhere to stay and I don’t have the money to rent a place, and I’m not working because I couldn’t find a job.”
Read the full report and the podcast here.
‘Sally’ featured in Asia Calling’s report, was first interviewed in TOC: Do you want me to stay at the beach?
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

It’s interesting that Vivian is afraid to be interviewed by the independent media Al Jazeera. And the govt even threaten the homeless not to speak to the media.
Why are they so afraid? What do they have to hide?
have you wondered why in the recent years you see more and more dustbin karang guni rummaging through rubbish? it almost was non-existent in the past.
many societal changes happen only within the last few years.
” B/A: Al-Jazeera was dropped from SingTel’s mioTV news service this week. The government insisted it was not dropped because it had done unflattering stories about Singapore but didn’t have enough viewers. ”
early never say. i volunteer to be one of the viewers.
The problems of homeless has always been there all this years. Why no one talk about it? Well the media never report much how to talk. Last few years when the population changes. More social problems. More independent news media. Then people know more and talk more. That is why vivian feel the heat now. The old method of use by powerful lky to control information release does not work in today new media age.
There is a more insidiuous reason why PAP wants to create more homeless people. Homeless people cannot vote them out.
“It has been changed because she was warned by authorities her case would take longer to be assessed if she spoke to the media.”
I wonder how this warning was stated, during a meeting with the officer or something, would be kind of eye-opening if it was stated that explicitly.
In a so-called open society, why can’t the government be opened and allow people who need help speak their woes to the media. Why forced and threatened everyone to shut up so that PAP can look good on the outside? This leadership is so sick to the core.
It is easy to become ineligible for hdb flat, e.g., say before you met your wife, she and her sibling jointly applied for hdb flat, so this is first time.. When you got married, this becomes second time.. even though this is your first time (but your wife’s second hdb flat)..
in the eyes of leehsienloong our prince the leekuanyew’s son………
there are no beggars nor homelessness
we are one..lets walked shoulder to shoulders……….
TOC please don’t say it like that with such a PAP discriminating heading can or not? like in Zimbabwe, in Myanmar. in Korea, the former Soviet Union. the earlier China, in old Indnesia of suharto & Soekarno years, in the Marcos Philippines years and the etc & etc others… they all don’t need to EARN their credibility keep leh!
Singapore has THE HIGHEST home ownership in The whole World you know! Only that we more and more go into life long “borrowed money” existence! Which is never told nor admitted but said to be as “affordable”. A PAP cum HDB “sub-prime” is in the offing?
So out of the world paid “talented’ PAP stalwarts can’t be wrong nor at fault what! Please TOC, let’s be fair and say it with some “white lies” if there is such a thing that is. If not, let’s just proceed as we are at least being honest to goodness haw! Thanks TOC!
They need to know that WE THE NATIVES oso know how to choreograph “wayangs” of any kind! Perhaps even better in competition too.
I just cannot believe that some nose browner has the nerve to tell people to shut up, or else they the nose browner will fix them up.
Are we living in first world or are we in dictator regime.
Someone must bring this up to the whole world and let it be known, should we speak up in this country, we’ll be fix up also.
Them these scums and scumbags and thrash who fixes people in tiny singapore, who the hell they think they are !!!.
The island belongs to them and all here are slaves and animals.
Monica and her children can come to stay with me, anytime.
HOW TO EXPAIN THAT?
So just claim that Sg hjas no homeless people.
how do i reach you to get in touch with monica and homeless kids.