Singapore needs to better protect the human rights of low-skilled migrant workers and review policies that marginalise certain ethnic groups, a United Nations racism expert said Wednesday.

“I would strongly urged the government to act swiftly to ensure the protection of migrant workers’ human rights, as this is one area where the situation is quite dire,” UN Special Rapporteur on racism and xenophobia, Githu Muigai, told reporters after concluding an eight-day fact-finding mission here.

“While there may be no institutionalised racial discrimination in Singapore, several policies have further marginalised certain ethnic groups,” he added, highlighting various shortcomings in the government’s housing, education and employment policies.

He urged Singapore should extend and enhance the coverage of the Employment Act and introduce “a minimum wage for migrant workers particularly vulnerable to exploitation, such as construction and domestic workers.”

This would help address some difficulties faced by low-skilled migrant workers, such as a foreign labour system that leaves workers highly dependent upon employers, unilateral cancellations of work permits by employers, poor living conditions, and denial of medical insurance. The plight of many foreign domestic workers, who are excluded from the legal protections offered by the Employment Act, would also be alleviated.

While acknowledging Singapore’s efforts in fostering racial harmony and discouraging intolerance, Muigai found that some of the government’s policies may be counterproductive.

“Despite the existence of various policies and institutions seeking to provide all ethnic groups with equal opportunities, it would appear that the significance of ethnic identity has not diminished,” he said.

This has resulted in instances of ethnic marginalisation, such as the entrenchment of minority status through ethnic categorisations, the minority political representation dimension to the group representative constituency system, the academic under-performance of Malay students, and under-representation of minorities in the armed forces, police and intelligence services and judiciary.

To address these problems, he recommended the removal of ethnic indicators from identity documentation, greater flexibility in the implementation of ethnic quotas in HDB estates, special education programmes for Malay students to address historical inequalities, and the introduction of legal provisions prohibiting all forms of discrimination in employment.

He also urged the government to facilitate open public discussions on issues of ethnicity by easing laws that “aim to frame and limit any public debate or discourse on an issue considered as highly sensitive.”

“I think they stand in the way of a more robust and engaging debate in Singapore,” he said. “Singapore has a vibrant intellectual culture, and this culture should be exploited in the development of a national discourse.”

An international human rights lawyer by training, Muigai also recommended several improvements to Singapore’s legal framework, including legislation banning racial discrimination in all areas of life.

This would allow for the creation of reporting, reviewing and enforcement mechanisms on issues of racism, he said.

In addition, Singapore should sign up to international instruments, such as the International Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination, which prescribe an “irreducible minimum standard” for human rights protection.

Muigai, who is the first UN Special Rapporteur on racism to visit Singapore, had held meetings over the past week with government representatives, parliamentarians, legal professionals, academics and members of civil society and community organisations, and private individuals.

He expects to present more detailed findings to the UN Human Rights Council by June 2011. This will be the first report on Singapore by a UN Special Procedure.

Appointed by the UN Secretary General, the Special Rapporteur on racism is mandated to examine incidents of racism, racial discrimination, xenophobia and related intolerance, as well as governmental measures that are implemented to overcome them. Like all UN Special Rapporteurs, he can only visit countries upon invitation.

By Wong Chun Han

——-

Headline picture from this source.

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

119 Responses to “Certain ethnic groups marginalised by government policies, UN expert says”

1. Taklehtido 29 April 2010

Kopi Adam -
    why go back 5-6 hundreds years .. why not animistic beliefs also got what?
    we are talking about current Malay which are predominantly Muslim.
    my fren the 3 pillars of being a Malay which is now only currently practice in Brunei are MELAYU,ISLAM & BERAJA -MIB in short.
    Coming back to Singaporean Malay as u can see left with only the element of MELAYU / ISLAM and we are hanging on to just these barely –
    I believe a Malay not being a Muslim is someone who chose to disconnect with his/her roots is no longer a Malay.
    Sorry if i am a bit selfish of my race but this are the values that i uphold.
    Anyway in Singapore u can still be a Malay and hide your religion .. so where is the problem?
    U can believe what ever you want but i believes you are just confused.

2. Dr Syed Alwi 29 April 2010

Dear Taklehtido,

Please do not bring in Islam into the picture. I believe in the freedom of religion. What if we have a Malay Biologist who subscribes to Evolution and does not believe in God ? One reason why the Malay community is so attached to Islam – is precisely because the Malay community is scientifically backwards. If the Malay community is more inclined towards Science – there will be many more Malays who will become Atheists and Agnostics. Modern Science is the biggest enemy of Organised Religion.

Regards
    Dr Syed Alwi

3. Hi Folks..... 29 April 2010

First to Dear @Dr. Syed Alwi. Even the Chinese mps are “PAP MOUTHPIECE”! And Malays have a certain Malay minister in the name ‘Dr.?” who was once a PAP nay sayer who has been over recent years giving out some extra goodies to mosques and other Malay NGOs or other. This many know are for counter balancing the losing support from native Chinese after the last GE where even in AMK, 1/3 was lost to newbie opposition!

Personally I have no problems with Malays and we are friendly. Old fox just have to repeat on issues with potential severity warnings in order to look credible. has he ever gone around and hug all races in most friendly way himself to lead by example. Hasn’t always been STOMP with tongue in cheek or some campaign or other to look stronger in rule. You all know about the political game of “divide and rule” even played by despicable, cowardly and unprincipled colleagues in the work place I am sure!

4. Gun Dur 29 April 2010

@ Devil.
    How you twisted it,end of the day the global history books clearly stated and can’t be erase that who was the INDIGENIOUS Singapura.
    For now,at least still can hear the National Anthem,military command and the military insigna in Malay although there’s no Malay personell in the RSN,RSAF and a few formation of the SAF like commando,combat engineers and armour regiment.Will it be ammend?
    With that Mr.Githu Muigai findings are true of Malays being discriminate and under-representation in Military.

5. @Nazryn81

Just because our constitution recognises everyone under the Malay classification as being indigenous does not mean that it is a hard fact that all are truly indigenous. There are sub-groups that came from far away and not too long ago. Are they indigenous to this island? You have to come to terms with the fact that not everyone sees this as rightfully indigenous even though one does not begrudge the “status” accorded.

I am saying that no Singaporean should be discriminated, be it whenever their ancestors are here. If patience is wearing out because of systematic marginalization and discrimination as you have mentioned, I think it is perfectly understandable to be irked and such things need to be righted.
    But if it because of a lack of awarding even more special privileges based on birthright, I think it goes against what Singapore means to many.

6. @Gun Dur

Please explain how wondering about indigenous identity is linked to discrimination. I never advocated marginalizing anybody nor even changing National Anthem, Language, etc.

7. Equality 29 April 2010

The treatment of foreign laborers in Singapore is pretty horrendous. They are paid a paltry sum for doing long hours of labor and have no protection against bad employers.

Not to mention safety of these workers is overlooked. Do a search for number of construction related deaths in 2009. These are never even in the news because PAP/Mediacorp don’t want to tarnish their sterling reputation for fair business.

There is also a definite gap between races in Singapore. The Majority Chinese culture is oppressive to the other minority cultures here. A lot of it is just a side effect of being the majority race, but as an outsider living here, it is very apparent when you look in the job section of the paper or internet and see “Must speak mandarin” in most entries. Then you turn on the TV and see advertisement for Speak Mandarin Campaign. Then I take a cab, but Uncle claims to not understand english.

Yet I can call partner (Chinese) companies in HongKong, Taiwan, Shanghai and they all speak english to me.

8. Nazryn81 29 April 2010

Nay,

just too obvious that some posters refuse to comprehend the fact that:

1. The NUsantara issue is not up for debate. The lands here may not interlocked but the migration from java or padang to this current immigrqnt infested island is called internal migration. Just like when one moves from his native Xian to BEijng.

2. No issue on non muslim malays. Not even in contention here. Thr unique identiy of the malays is a nexus point between his ethnic belonging and islam somehow. Fact.

3. Unfortunately the postings we see here clearly spells out the denial of the majority mainstream population to recognise or even assist in this true discrimination process. Mandarin speaking, SAP and many more, a clear violation of acknowledgement and attempts to disown the native identity. Kevin Rudd said sorry, some people here are way too full of pride to even acknoledge history of his adopted land.

4. Being marginalized majority has made us stronger. While some communities whine about living in foreign land, esp western countries, and leave after temporarily residing there, eg studying, the sg minorities made a better life and are socially accptable in their host countries despite blown out attempts by local media to create an islamic phobia image of those nations. More gutful and vocal, armed with stronger academic background, be prepared for an open public debate on this issue one day. It’s growing thinner by the day.

Naz

9. Ahmad Faiz 29 April 2010

I find it childish when some Sg Malays complain on the lack of Malays in sensitive positions in SAF.Shouldn’t you be focusing yourselves on BIGGER issues like upgrading the community through education?!The KBE is here dude!Even if the government or some Sporeans don’t trust you,there are SO MANY other ways to show your loyalty,right!?

And my dear dear Taklehtido,what does religion has got to do with being an essential pillar of a race?I can assure you the next generation of Malays will espouse some voices of atheism/agnosicism and maybe buddhism,because it’s a natural hegemon process of becoming Singaporean,not to mention exposure to Internet=Western philosophy=Skepticism.

It’s useless to brag about racial discrimination in the workplace because all kinds of discrimination(age,gender etc) happen here.

I’d rather wait two generations for Malays to be on par than getting affirmative action in education and civil service for instant results.That’s the time when all Singaporeans are completely homogenised,imho.

10. Tak Boleh Tahan 29 April 2010

Some people keep saying they are marginalised because they are the minority. But the majority are the ones who are really marginalised. For instance, why are more and more food stuffs in Singapore halal? Halal food is for Muslims. Why should Muslims force halal food upon non-Muslims??? That is AGAINST our faiths and basic human rights! Will the Muslims not be angered if more and more food stuffs in Singapore become Christianised, Buddhistised, Hinduised, Jewishised, etc.?

I agree that supermarkets, food outlets etc. should always ensure there is enough supply of halal food for Muslims, but can anyone still find non-halal foods in supermarkets these days? All the fresh produce, packaged foods and even drinks! are now halal. The only thing that is not halal is pork, and even that may disappear here one day because it is not halal.

Some posters here claim that some people bring in discussion of Malaysia’s bumiputra policies because the latter refuse to face racist issues in Singapore. Where is the correlation? Aren’t those posters the ones who refuse to face the facts themselves? In fact, Singapore’s special treatment of any particular race is itself racist.

As for job criteria, if a job requires you to work with a lot of Malays in another country, you need to speak and write good Malay. If an employer states so in their job advertisement, it is not racist. But if a job requires you to work with a lot of Chinese or Indians in another country, and an employer states so in their job ad, it is suddenly racist. Isn’t such an attitude itself racist?

When all is said and done, it all boils down to one thing. If anyone is unhappy in Singapore because they feel they are marginalised, whether they are the majority or minority, they are free to leave. Migration is the in thing now if you have the means. One less person frees up more precious resources for the rest of us.

11. @Equality

If there is no Speak Mandarin Campaign, you will be worse off. The Chinese are made up of many, many dialect groups, e.g. Hokkien, Cantonese, Teochew, Hakka, etc. If the taxi driver tells you he can only speak Hakka, you die lah!

And how can you blame the poor driver for not being able to speak English when he is Chinese? Will you tell that to the Chinese when you are in China, the Indonesians when you are in Indonesia, the Thais when you are in Thailand, etc.? More importantly, will you blame the Malay driver if he tells you he cannot speak English???

As for the Hongkis and mainland Chinese, their spoken English is atrocious. I’m better off speaking to them in Chinese.

12. This is what UN Special Rapporteur on racism and xenophobia says about Singapore. Singapore should have an open mind.

There are discriminations.

Indeginious people of this region are Nusantara people..this cover malaysia,indonesia,philipines and Brunei.

Chinese and Indian as the name itself suggested are from China mainland and India subcontinent.

No muslims force Halal food on anybody..only on themselves.

No muslims force tudong on anybody…only on themselves.

Japan,Britain,Netherland,Spain,Portugal colonised this region….Suspicion on our neighbour only serve as Chinese Malayphobia…..

Meritocracy entrenching historical inequalities….Gov who wants the gap maintained is a gov who are selective of human development.

More than 80% of Singapore army are Malays when Singapore became indipendent…NS policy of not calling Malays in the first few year of its incorporation reverse the percentage…meritocratically…

13. Singapore National Language = Malay
    Malaysia National Language = Malay
    Indonesia National Language =Malay
    Brunei National Language = Malay
    Philipine National Language =Tagalog( Malay stock)

So profifiency in Malay is a regional domain.

14. 911 tell us one thing….WTC building 7 especially….so call democratic Gov create false flag to justify their aim…

If you don’t get that ….you can’t understand logic……..

15. Global top economies’ languages = Not Malay
    Global communication language = Not Malay
    Global business language = Not Malay

What are the global economic rankings of Malaysia, Indonesia, Brunei and Philippines? What are they most “well-known” for?

How many people outside those countries want to learn Malay compared to other languages?

16. Imagine 30 April 2010

How would Singapore’s economy and society be like today if it were 100% Chinese? 100% Indian? 100% Malay?

Who is funding the government’s coffers the most, i.e. paying the most taxes?

Who is receiving the most government handouts, i.e. using our hard-earned money?

Who is crying racism the most?

Who is crying marginalisation the most?

17. Fugazzi 30 April 2010

Racism is always been around since the dawn of history lar. However, to condone it obliquely or otherwise is unethical.
    A head of a family, if he/she is dysfunctional,race conscious,a religious zealot or … bigoted or prejudiced, can one expect his/her progenies to be otherwise? Excepting a few, most are likely to succumb or subscribe to the parental conditioning lah.
    Having said that, politicians are no better when it comes to the issue of discrimination or marginilizing of … The irony is that the incumbents are so alienated from the masses and having arrogated power and monopolized all channels of info, one has to scrutinize policies lah before concluding. The very fact that the Foreign Affairs Office or … has come out to vociferously defend its stance, policies suffices lah to assume that all is not so hunky dory. Sadly, the incumbents are the not-so-honest, principled or ethical type lah. The divide and rule policy is a political instrument but one has to be discerning and intelligent to see thru the bluff.

18. coffee adam 30 April 2010

Taklehtido, Nazryn81.

All over the world TODAY there a certain group of people crying racism and discrimination wherever they emigrate to when they are actually hiding behind their race for another cause.

They could even be of the same race doing that. They have their own concept of what is “”NUsantara”"

And why must Malay remain as Muslim in today Singapore?

Is there a penalty for Malays to be somebody other than Muslims in Singapore of which Singaporeans are not told of??

Do we need Malay experts in Singapore to know who and why there is such consistency in their thinking and belief system?

19. Dr Syed Alwi 30 April 2010

Dear People,

No one stops the Malays both here and in Malaysia – from acquiring technology and scientific skills. The Nusantara has a rich flora and fauna. Therefore Biotechnology comes to mind. But yet – how many Malay biologists are there ? Very few ! When I say these things – I get accused of supporting the cultural deficit theory, of being racist, of being pro-Chinese and anti-Malay etc etc etc. But the fact remains that NO ONE STOPS MALAYS FROM ACQUIRING TECHNOLOGY. So why aren’t they excelling in technology to make up for their wealth and economic deficit ? The answer lies in various aspects of Malay culture like their attachment to Religion. Is a strong attachment to Organised Religion, a hindrance to scientific and technological development ? And can the Malays ever do an honest piece of self-criticism on this issue ? Think carefully about it….And don’t make wild accusations against me. Don’t be emotional and look at this issue objectively.

20. Scumbag ed 30 April 2010

Dr. Syed Alwi,

You hit the nail on the head. Probably, that’s why you became a Doc and others a Mat Rempit.

Disengagement from religious zealotry and a focused aim at modernity is a first step to integration into the mainstream. You can do all of these in Singapore without restriction unlike in some neighbouring countries.

No two ways about it. Chinese immigrants to the US have to learn to speak English because they are the minority. Similarly, as the minority in Singapore, it would be advantageous to learn to speak Mandarin as the majority language never mind that Malay is the national language. Some Malays who are more progressive have already groomed their children to be proficient in the Chinese language because they can see that in time to come, English and Mandarin is going to be the lingua franca of the world.

You are only discriminated against or marginalized if you want to be.

21. UN Special Rapporteur on racism give some comments and the self rightist Singaporean cannot believe their ears…..

The report card is Gov’s not Malay.

If majority still need to hang on to their advantage is despicable in meritocratic Singapore…

It is despicable when Majority want to be majority in all constituancy by quota policy in estate…..

It is despicable when Majority use the system to hold back others to progress.

It is despicable that Majority have no respect for Constitution.

Meritocracy entrenching historical inequalities….Finally someone saw the reason….

This is inequalities have been maintained by current Gov since day one. I can see so many happy people out there with this policy.

22. If your child come back with a bad report card and he says blame the teacher…I think you agree..

23. Incredulous 30 April 2010

To Dr Syed Alwi

The issue in Singapore is equal rights of the minorities to access to good education and jobs that befits their educational level.

Unfortunately, you chose to ignore that there are Malays who, after facing insurmountable odds against their favour in Singapore, have succeeded not in Singapore, but overseas.

So, this begs the question why this is so?

And why the need for racial organisations like Sinda, Mendaki and CDAC. Why can’t we have an organisation that helps all Singaporeans?

Also, if you have read the posts here, we can obviously see the bigoted and hypocritical views of the Singaporeans, which chose to ignore our history and the plight of the minorities.

It is very sad, they would only fight for their own rights and not the rights of the minorities.

The majority Chinese chose to ignore the fact that they have special privileges like access to SAP schools and top posts in Govt/Stat boards. But the minorities do not have such privileges, even if the minorities learn to speak Mandarin, it does not guarantee them equal access to job opportunities.

Even more unfortunate, is that there are a portion of the Chinese who feel it is a befitting punishment for the Malays in Singapore to face such prejudices and discriminations because of how the Chinese were treated in Malaysia or Indonesia.

I will not be surprised, the racial prejudice and discrimination will one day explode into a racial riot like it did in Urumqi, China or in Batam, Indonesia.

I hope the Chinese Majority do not forget, what happened during the racial riots in the past was caused by the Chinese throwing beer bottles at a Muslim procession, or an impromptu photo taken of a veiled girl transposed in front of a cross. So all it takes is one Chinese to make an insensitive gesture, and Singapore will be in ruins.

Those are the images, the Chinese Majority will always remember and is constantly played up by the PAP and our mainstream media. But yet, the Chinese Majority and the PAP, chose to downplay or conveniently forget the Hock Lee Bus riots, the Student and Union riots, which the minorities too became the victims.

And people like LKY will forever hate the Malays because during World War 2, it was perceived the Japanese favoured the Malays.

I do understand why the Malays are treated as such due to historical baggage. But what is most baffling is why my local Indian Brother and Sisters should be marginalised too in favour of overseas Indians (ie. Indians from India) taking up the top posts in Singapore? And they too are discriminated from ‘Bilingual’ jobs.

The saddest part are the Indian-Muslims. They are not viewed as Indians or Malays, and have limited access to assistance.

Let’s face it, a racist will always be a racist and a bigot will always be a bigot. I hope the Malay/Indian posters here will finally come to realize, that the Chinese Majority here will only fight for their own rights (example, jobs taken by FTs and FWs) but will not fight for minorities’ rights.

This is what happens when you chose to remain quiet and stay compliant for so long. People see it as a sign of weakness and will take advantage of it.

24. Taklehtido 30 April 2010

Indi: – i likee i stand beside you

Dr Syed:
    why would a Malay wants to be a Biologist IF its something that is conflicting to his religion .. better be a General.. this is why maybe i pass only ‘O’levels
    Scumbag :
    Is being more progressive means leaving your language ie Malay ? why not use the English language as its a leveller of sort …. its remind me of the saying “Yang digendong keciciran,Yang di kejar Tak Dapat” .. look at how ‘proficient’ Malay are spoken today
    I believe one needs to be strong reflectively before you could conquer the world, without strong basic knowledge oneself one could know know better of others.
    Koffee Adam:
    my fren the equation is like this :
    a Malay is define a ppl from the Nusantara ie Peninsula,Riau,Borneo whom are MUSLIM.As my earlier post ,in the Singapore context (which we talking about now) a Malay could be a Non-Muslim but who dare not profess their religion openly. They chose to disconnect so the Predominantly Muslim Malay has no inclination to connect with them (to say this politely) because at the end of the day your answer to the question are to be answered only by yourself.no Malay Singaporean would want to impose something that is part of your ‘Jati Diri’ – this is being a Malay Muslim.
    btw a good Malay is a good Muslim and a good Muslim is a good citizen.

Peace!! Brothers…
    I love my country
    Merdeka!! merdekakan minda dari dibelenggu penjajah yg meragut jati diri seorang Melayu

25. Chinese, Malay, Indian , Others.

What difference does it make? Mr Muigai says remove this ethnic categorisations. But will this help prevent discriminatory hiring practices?

One look at someone’s name is enough for you to decide you are not hiring (thats if if you are racist).

Certain groups fall behind simply because of their culture.

26. Racism 30 April 2010

Ya, i agree, i think Gov should not help the malay community with free education, that’s racism. We should get rid of the HDB quota as well, that will allow more chinese to get HDB of their ideal location which is vacant due to high price and under the malay/other race quota. And of course they should allow Malay generals/Malay in the gov. etc…, but of course they need to meet the minimum criteria and is better than the rest. I seriously dun think that any other ethic group will have a problem competing on a level ground.

27. Dr Syed Alwi 30 April 2010

Dear taklehtido,

Running away from science and technology is NOT the way forward for the Malays. And whats the big deal about a Malay General ? We already HAVE a Malay General. How has this Malay General helped the Malays ?

You cannot run away from science & technology. You have to confront it and find ways to deal with its contradictions with organised religion.

To me – the way forward for the Malays lies in Science & Technology with lesser attachment to Organised Religion……

Regards

28. What hairy PAP has ACTUALLY DONE......... 30 April 2010

IS…. made foreigners into like “INSTANT 3-In-!” drinks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

And thereby in their process………….
    made US The Natives “Raw meat to be cooked Fast & Furious in their Hot Soup Pots”!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

And it is VERY MUCH DOUBTFUL that even hairy, gct, lhl and the rest of them know this Flip-Side! WHY? Simply from the way they have handling this issue and the increasing numbers of PMETs involved which they talked about much later. Then their “cleanup acts” now to stem the very “destructive tides” they have created. MANAGEMENT BY CRISIS!!!! It IS so obvious folks! AS “A string of actions always reveal the truth of cause”! Right?

hairy pap now “gIt” smarter like always after BOTCH politcies fron lack of HOLISTIC planning. THIS is call “talent” by you know who? Even it’s original talent of this new found talents also flop big time yah!!!!!!!!!

They deserve to be ‘lauded’ just because old fox craves for it??????????

29. @Nazryn81

“The NUsantara issue is not up for debate. The lands here may not interlocked but the migration from java or padang to this current immigrqnt infested island is called internal migration. Just like when one moves from his native Xian to BEijng.”

1. No, the indigenous people in the Archipelago region are not homogeneous. If you mention NUsantara, you should have an idea how far-flung it is.

2. No, internal migration within an empire does not mean they are indigenous to their destination, refer to point (1). By your logic, Mongolians are indigenous to Persia just because they conquered a large part of Asia.

3. No, the non-Malay Singaporeans are not pests, parasites, or a disease that have infested the island. Referring to them as an infestation is racism.

4. No, many of the other Singaporeans’ forefathers did not end up here in large numbers because they came to a hospitable local Sultanate. They came to a British Crown Colony to make a living in the British Straits Settlements.

5. No, non-Malay Singaporeans did not do those things that colonists in Australia did to their indigenous population. In particular, children were not torn from their parents to be brought up in a prescribed way.

6. Yes, nobody should be discriminated, it must be stamped out. Please stop referring to people as “you and your likes”, and “infestations”.

30. Listen to Dr Syed guys.

Why are we so preoccupied with having more than one malay general, or more malays in the commandos, and all these superficial wants.

Its better to lift up an entire community then to have token generals.

I think the real solution is a comprehensive look into the FAMILY PLANNING practices of the malay community. There should be disincentives for over procreation. Its irresponsible and the next generation suffers.

31. Suhaimi 30 April 2010

Malay is a word to describe a group of people belonging in the same region, ie Malay peninsula.

We should not relate a Malay man with religion. THere are Malays in this region who do not practice Islam but they are still Malays by ethnicity.

Let focus on the report and what can we do to go forward.

I share my experience. When I wanted to buy a house (first timer), I chose a flat with potential, following up with the govt insistence that HDB houses are our assets. However, I cannot buy them because of the damn ethnic quota.

WHy can’t I buy a flat with good future potential in monetary sense? Why am I limited to lower value flats?

Is this discrimination? Is this fair?

This is what I think the report is focusing on.. And not about Malays vs Others in SG.

32. UN Special Rapporteur on racism has no reason to provide this report if thing has been great like mentioned by many.

Why need to comments on Malays….they are not the one who invited Mr Githu Muigai. This just reflect immaturity of Gov supporters.

I think those who are so call superior in economics and educations have to resort to narrow racial stereotype is disgusting.

33. Nazryn81 30 April 2010

Now you know how we feel.

Period, asking one to leave from his native homeland because the mojority member thinks it frees yp space show how much the society can accept reality and disussion.

Chinese businessmen who controls much of the ecobomic pie decided the muslim market is profitable and thus chose to go halal. We did not impose.

The severe lack of knowledgr and that level of deniL people here possesa simply boils down to blatant ignorance and fear of being displaced.

For those who ceiticise and label that mat rempit sticker on us, open up, be diverse and get to know professional people in the malay community. Ask them in a heart to heart talk what they think.

The PAP has succeeded people. In breeding populants into confining thinking and rejecting diverae views yet diverse communities. Or wven believing slef created lies and make it into facts od history.

Di mana langit ku jungjung, di situ bumi ku pijak.

34. Taklehtido 30 April 2010

Nazryn : the majority’s denial is just something that we live by .. by sharing what we feel , we are even described as lazy,fast breeding , Mat Rempits …

CIMO :
    before a malay child being born ,its already being discriminated since yr logic of Malay productivity breeds inferior quality of ppl, why have more children?
    here i see your narrow stereotype mind which have been fed with negativity towards a particular group of ppl.
    If the logic of Human is the only reources Singapore has .. why don the government exploit this and nurture these resource?
    the answer : because this will imbalance the demographic status quo …. and to snook this (a problem that could be made into a solution) the govt IMPORT READY MADE resources for its short term gain while dragging the old problem.

Dr Syed: must go back to the saying about “dropping what you hold dear while running after what u could not catch”
    If in moving forward your way ending up losing your religion than its just shows how shallow forward thinking ppl are.

Peace!! MAJULAH SINGAPURA
    khutbah cakap pasal aper tadi??
    SMID – sendri mo ingat dok

35. “If in moving forward your way ending up losing your religion than its just shows how shallow forward thinking ppl are.”

How shallow can one get when one is giving up something that doesn’t even make sense to begin with (religion)?

“dropping what you hold dear(economical gain) while running after what u could not catch (religion)” I can promise you that i will never need a religion but can anyone promise u dun need money?

36. Dr Syed Alwi 30 April 2010

Dear Taklehtido,

Thats what you think ! For the rest of the developed world, they will continue to progress in science & technology. As for religion – well – many other people have a different view. Its not shallow thinking. Its just that you cannot let go of your addiction to religion….For many other people – they view religion with a lot of doubt and scepticism. They question religious dogma. But you don’t. You accept religion without questioning. Well what can I say ? Thats your choice and yours alone. But be prepared to face the consequences and implications of your own choice. There is a price to pay for everything.

37. Dr Syed Alwi 30 April 2010

Dear People,

I am quitting this debate. I see no point in arguing with people who subscribe to a value system that is so different from mine.

I leave this debate with only one very important reminder :

NO ONE STOPS THE MALAYS FROM ACQUIRING TECHNOLOGY…….

No one. The Malays are free to equip themselves with the latest technology. I put it to you that these words of mine will come to haunt the Malays 30 years from now……

38. Taklehtido 30 April 2010

OMG & Dr Syed :
    oppsss lets put religion aside – because we agree to disagree full stop
    thanks u both and
    “may the force be with u”

Going back to the question of marginalisation which is the topic of this thread – so we sweep this under the carpet ? is there any truth/half truth/lies / half lies/ smoke bomb to confious and distract us from discussing?

Peace!! MAJULAH SINGAPURA
    SMID -sendri mo ingat dok

39. Remember folks…there are some somebodies out there who like to play the divide and rule game to keep themselves in power and such….

Please rememeber the singapore state flag has 5 stars….whether of whateven ethic lines, creeds and religions…we are singaporeans….and definitely have friends and relatives across all these artificial lines created not by god…but by man himself.

And finally, we do know no matter what…we are human beings first…and everything else second…

Good day good folks.

40. Excuse me…mein apologies for intruding…

Hope good folks keep this in mind…we know there are some somebodies out there who like to play the divide and rule game to keep themselves in power and such….so do vet this is not so to proceed apace constructively for the good of all singaporeans and singapore.

We also duely note that the singapore state flag has 5 stars….representing the races of singapore…be it of whatever ethic lines, creeds and religions…we are singaporeans first….and we definitely have friends and relatives across all these artificial lines or rules created not by god…but by mortal man himself be it for good or for bad.

Finally, we do know no matter what deepest within our human soul…that we are human beings first…and everything else second…humanity at its best and at its worst.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VSqGwOmKEwU&feature=related

Good day good folks.

41. Murtad 30 April 2010

This is the concept of one people, one nation of “”Nusantara”" for “”Nusantara”" for the people of “”Nusantara”" only –

Perhaps someone, preferably a Malay – Muslim can explain this concept of ONENESS as Malay – Muslims to Singaporeans better, and of course to that UN Bureaucrat about marginalisations and discriminations.

http://www.asianews.it/news-en/West-Java,-thousands-of-Islamic-extremists-attack-a-Christian-center-18256.html

42. mic o mic 30 April 2010

In the end, any race who choose not to pull up their socks will be marginalised not because of racism but because of the perpetuation of sloppy values. This applies to everyone in all countries.

A doctor will be a doctor, regardless of whether he is a Malay or not. A lawyer will be a lawyer regardless of whether he is an Indian or not.

The only thing is whether he wants to be there or NOT.

43. No one stopping the Malays….

Just one observation…Gov don’t trust Malays in the army. Will Gov trust Malays in GIC, Temasek, Banks and other vital pillars of total defence…..we may then find more doors closed for Malays.

Why the “superior race” won’t admit
    their unwritten rule of game……

Those who feel superior don’t have to resort to this dirty tactics….

44. Some literature for non Malays and non Muslims

http://www.bibliotecapleyades.net/vatican/esp_vatican29.htm

45. foreigner 30 April 2010

mic o mic, you are saying singaporeans have sloppy values that is why they are now marginalised vis a vis the foreign ‘races’? so they are getting what they want vis a vis foreigners!! Lets close the books here then.

46. mic o mic 1 May 2010

you think the term white trash refers to asians in the US ? Like I said :

In the end, any race who choose not to pull up their socks will be marginalised not because of racism but because of the perpetuation of sloppy values. This applies to everyone in all countries

whether you are a majority or not does not matter. This applies as well to Singapore. To the minorities here who complain about discrimination, I say bullshit. Was JBJ a Chinese ? was David Marshall a chinese ? If you work hard enough for something, and become really good at it, there will always be a place for you. Being a member of the majority does not protect you from your own sloppy values.

So yes, for Singaporeans of whatever race with sloppy values, and attitudes to life, don’t complain if you are displaced. Nobody owes you a living.

47. Indi 1 May 2010

NO ONE STOPS THE MALAYS FROM ACQUIRING TECHNOLOGY…….

My obervation…we know Gov distrust Malays in the army…

But do you think Gov will allow Malays in leadership of GIC,TEMASEK,BANKS and other pillars of total defence?

I also think Gov don’t want Malays as Biologist…reason they don’t want to blame Malays for H1N1 virus that are circulating right now…how nice of them.

48. Indi 1 May 2010

Those who think only one door is closed for Malays…may think again what yard stick they use………

49. foreigner 1 May 2010

mic of mic
    Jews of Europe were sloppy that’s why they were killed by the millions. You still think in terms of races although I can see an attempt to break away from it – you are confused! Singapore is incapable when it comes to the issue of race. Sad story. But true story.

50. Murtad 1 May 2010

Indi,

i was not aware that the people of Nusantara are still living in the dark ages in the 21st century.

do you know what are the doctrines which drive and compel the inquistions as opposed to what is prescribed for the other.

do you know of any ex non-muslims ostracised by their community in singapore because of doctrines.