Parliament debated the introduction of the “cooling-off” period. Here is Sylvia Lim’s speech on the issue.
Sir, the Bill carries several amendments. While some of the amendments are useful, the Workers’ Party opposes the Bill because of the changes it makes to entrench the NCMP system and the introduction of the `cooling off’ period.
Increasing the number of NCMPs
This is connected with the Constitutional Amendment Bill debated earlier. I have already spoken at length under that Bill on the reasons why the Workers’ Party voted against the change. I will not repeat them but will focus on the change to introduce a cooling-off period.
The ‘cooling off’ period
The Bill seeks to introduce an additional day before Polling Day where campaigning is not allowed. This has been called the cooling-off day. On this day, no symbols or badges can be displayed (Clause 27); no election advertising can be published or uploaded (Clause 30); no canvassing is allowed (Clause 34) and no rallies can be held (Clause 35).
In our view, there is no convincing reason to show that, after all these years without a cooling off period, such a change is needed in the national interest. In addition, the change is open to abuse in the ruling party’s favour.
The first supposed rationale for introducing this, given by the Prime Minister some months ago, is the PAP government’s worry about irrational voters. The Minister also referred to this fear of irrationality in his speech earlier.
In proposing this change, the Prime Minister has underestimated the intellectual strength of Singaporeans and is signalling that Singaporeans are incapable of making rational judgments through the ballot box. These assumptions reveal the distrust that the PAP has of Singaporeans.
Furthermore, this fear of irrationality is arrogant. `Irrational’ by whose criteria? Nobody has the right to tell another person what amounts to a good or bad reason to cast a vote. Person A may be very affected by one issue while Person B finds it trivial. Each citizen’s vote is a valid expression of his own satisfactions or dissatisfactions, aspirations and disappointments.
It also makes no sense at all that the ruling party is now worried that Singaporeans will be irrational when we have, in fact, become more educated and have greater access to information today.
The second reason mentioned was fear of unrest.
In the first place, our General Elections have been run smoothly with no major incidents all this while. The government has already instituted measures to reduce the risk of disorder e.g. at the end of Polling Day when poll results are announced, no longer are supporters of different parties allowed to gather side by side at the announcement centre; instead, each party gathers with its supporters at different assembly areas to hear the GE results.
The government has always said that it does not blindly follow other countries, but does what works for us. Yet it has tried to strengthen its argument for a cooling off period by using other countries, when the circumstances in those countries are clearly different. Those countries had much longer campaign periods. As for Australia, the concern was not to allow rich parties the unfair advantage of buying up excessive media time at the critical moment – hence the blackout period. These concerns do not apply to Singapore, as our campaign period only lasts 9 days, and the campaign rules do not allow us to buy air time.
Besides the lack of justification, the cooling off period is likely to be abused in the ruling party’s favour.
Under Clause 30, the 24-hour ban on election advertising will not affect the mass media reporting election-related news. This itself is a tremendous loop-hole, which can be used in a biased manner. Allegations against opposition candidates, or attacks on opposition policy proposals, can be repeated on news programmes on cooling-off day, to drum up sentiment against the opposition and to discredit the opposition.
Though allegations may also be made against the ruling party policies, policy explanations by civil servants may not be deemed to be election advertising since the connection with campaigning is more indirect. For instance, if affordability of housing becomes an election issue, the Ministry or HDB could announce a change during the cooling-off period, thus taking some heat off the ruling party. By contrast, opposition parties will not be allowed to put out new responses as these will be deemed `election advertising’ as defined under the Act.
Though party political broadcasts are allowed to be aired on the cooling-off day, these are pre-recorded a few days before, and will not be able to address any issues which arose after the recording.
In other countries, experience has shown that cooling off periods are open to abuse by incumbents. In 1999, the Council of Europe published a Handbook on Media and Elections. It was noted that cooling-off periods may be observed according to the letter of the law, but breached in spirit. An example was given of the 1996 presidential elections in Russia; the incumbent Russian president used the state-owned media to create fear of voting for the opposition candidate by airing films that depicted gloom if the opposition candidate won. Instead of being a day for voter reflection, the campaign silence instead had a `distorting effect’.
Another way in which the cooling-off period can be circumvented is by showing government officials carrying out their ‘official duties’ on TV. During the 2004 presidential elections in Indonesia, the EU’s Election Observation Commission noted that the state television company devoted disproportionate amounts of coverage to positive reviews of the incumbent president’s activities and achievements in office. Examples included showing a daily pro-government programme and advertisements for education reform.
One major problem of the cooling-off period is how to enforce the ban on canvassing, especially if done by word of mouth. In theory, Clause 34 provides that nobody is supposed to do any canvassing on the cooling off day and Polling Day, but how can conversations be effectively policed? Members of grassroots organisations can easily do house visits or organise block parties on cooling off day geared towards garnering support for PAP candidates. Even if violations are reported to police, police resources at that time will be spread very thin.
All in all, there is no convincing reason to introduce the cooling off period which will likely be abused to the ruling party’s advantage.
For these reasons, the Workers’ Party opposes the Bill.
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

Not to worry Sylvia. Even if they impose a 1 year cooling off period, most of us have decided who we are going to vote and its not the FAP
No matter what tricks they the pappies are coming up to stamp the changing tide, they are not going to succed. Change of government already happens up there, so its only going to manifest on the ground anyway, with or without cooling period. The material first pappies government is now considered belonging to the bygone era.
New government with a balance approach to everythings happening to people’s lives, economy, environment etc will be granted to govern in this new dawn.
i do not think that the average sinkee is smart enough to vote non-PAP parties.
every year is the same. vote PAP. PAP raise taxes. cry father, cry mother.
next election, vote PAP again, and repeat the cycle.
What is going to happen on the cooling off day? My guess is we are going to see lots of “national education” about how old Lee had built a first world country from a no man land.
What matters most, in my opinion, is at what price. Are we happy at letting the PAP doing what they wish when they wish to without consulting the people with life changing policies?
Are we going to quietly swallow all that they throw at us?
Don’t get influenced by what you see in the local media. It’s time to make our voice heard. We are not daft, lazy and whiny beings.
Have waited so many years, so will 1 day make a difference. Our minds were made up many moons ago. Vote for Alternative parties.
On cooling day, I told my friends to switched off local media news and tuned on to internet for more accurate reportings. Let’s do it in unity and promise to our ancestors and next generations that we will help them claim back our land – a final battle of all time for change or risked being PAP slave for the rest of our lives for many generations to come.
well, kooling or not, these are the goners by rankings:
- MBT
- WKS
- LHL
Sylvia Lim puts PAP’s women ministers and MPs (Lim Hwee Hua, Foo Yee Shoon etc etc), to shame with her true passion and articulate speech in parliament against the cooling-off period.
PAP are never short of F… ideas to their advantage.
@ anonymous
//i do not think that the average sinkee is smart enough to vote non-PAP parties.//
isn’t that condescending? those who do no share your view are automatically deemed as “not smart enough”?
it’s the same lack of respect for other voters that have led to the red-yellow divide in Thailand.
Since we are on the topic of cooling day and electoral reform, one thing that should really change is that we must lower the voting age. It is a joke that one can be called up for NS (and maybe die for the country) at 16, but can only vote at 21.
Either that or raise the age at which one can be called for NS.
J, 28 April 2010
“…one can be called up for NS (and maybe die for the country) at 16, but can only vote at 21….”
I think you meant 18. It was found that guys at 18 are at the peak of their physical development hence best dead meat for the rigors of army, yet dumb enough not to question authority. Do that for late 20′s and mid-30′s reservists and you see what choice words come out.
Back to cooling off. It would be interesting to think that in case of a “freak” election, they would use the army to restore order. Then the stand-by unit with lots of people that can’t vote will be called upon to quell those that can vote (including maybe their parents). Hmmm…. so, one day to think about that…
Can someone help to answer this question. Why does every report claim that the new laws are rasing the number of NCMP seats from “six to nine”? When was there a maximum of six? I though it was always three. If it was six, then wouldn’t there be three other NCMPs in the parliament now besides Sylvia? Anyone care to shed light on this?
Anyway, good to see Sylvia more robust now. People want to see that opposition MPs are not afraid to call a spade a spade in front of the PAP. But really, Sylvia can say all she wants, but it will still not have any effect on what the PAP has already decided to do. That’s because there are insufficient number of opposition MPs who can really send the message that “If you don’t accomodate our constituents’ concerns, then we could very well just form the next government because we are close enough to it”. (For example, if you have 35 opposition MPs.)
I have a feeling that the cooling off period will work against the PAP. Opposition supporters, being more passionate, will have one more day to garner more people to vote against the PAP.
Lets wait and see.
It’s fun to see the PAP MPs lie through their teeth and support their party’s embarassing schemes to extend their hold on power. Sometimes it’s written all over their faces when they speak.
Oh well, at least some of them squirm. Some of the old goats are so used to it that they truely believe the garbage that spews out of their mouths. I don’t need to mention names.
Cooling off day should be a holiday…so everyone can watch TV and learn ALOT of HISTORY lessons about Singapore and also their ministries wonderful work.
HDB- will give out free flats for 1st 100 callers.
MOE- will give out PSLE answer sheets, for the loudest govt(mmm aka PAP)slogan shouters.
MCYS-free chocolates from Swiss, home delivery for staying at home and watching TV.(no home too bad).
Home Ministry-Mas Selamat behind bars in JB poster.
Foriegn Ministry-Free tickets to next World Cup(held in Romania)
It is well known that money makes people free. But what to do when one has no cash? The one way is to try to get the loans and just consolidation loan.
i do not think that the average sinkee is smart enough to vote non-PAP parties.
every year is the same. vote PAP. PAP raise taxes. cry father, cry mother.
next election, vote PAP again, and repeat the cycle.
//RW
//it’s the same lack of respect for other voters that have led to the red-yellow divide in Thailand.
yeah not respecting electoral outcome was the start of the shit in Thailand.
when sylvia speaks,she shows commitment and passion.the pap team, whether they babble or they can sing– no worries friends–they self-destruct.
yet another example of whatever they decide, they will implement regardless of whatever contrary views.
and because the whip is never lifted, the PAP MPs can talk and talk, but when voting comes, it will always be along party line.
So what the F__k? they might as well be practising oratorical speeches. Time to bring in enough opposition with enough muscle to change things. Vote in the opposition – and dun rely on NCMP since they all also no power.
What the F–K !
Guys, you will understand the reason why LHL wanted the cooling off day if you get to see how haggard he looks on TV when they announced the result. He had to really fight hard in the last election due to the close race and was completely exhausted after long campaigning. If you see his face then, you will surely be wondering if he is in the right condition to lead Singapore. He has learned his lesson well in the last election and therefore comes up with this new rule. Simple as that.
No matter what tricks they the pappies are coming up to stamp the changing tide, they are not going to succed. Change of government already happens up there, so its only going to manifest on the ground anyway, with or without cooling period. The material first pappies government is now considered belonging to the bygone era.
New government with a balance approach to everythings happening to people’s lives, economy, environment etc will be granted to govern in this new dawn.
What’s the use of 1 day cooling-off period, when pap has messed up our lives for past few years? People already made up their minds which party to vote for even before the GE, so no amount of cooling-off is going to help pap..
Instead of spending time thinking of how to help singaporeans, pap had rather spend time thinking of cooling-off day measures..
If Sylvia to contest in my constituency again, I will vote for her. She is definitely better than any of the papy MPs. Hope our humble singaporean will give her a chance to serve our country.
it is indeed very encouraging to see the opposition members standing up to the onslaught of the pap ministers in promoting their policies.
this is a real test of one’s character and hence we should support them with all our hearts.
the only worry is that the electorate office comes directly under the PM office, and the PM is still the son of MM whom is the chief of the ruling party. So what do you think can possibly happen this GE when they find that the actual vote counts this time against them? think politics, its very dirty game.
Can FACEBOOK activities fell under ‘..no election advertising can be published or uploaded (Clause 30)..’ during that ‘cool off day’ ??????
If so, kindly can PAP sets guidelines to all their MPs(with facebook accounts) as well as to the opposition camps & us ????
Can we not exercising our Individual HUMAN RIGHTS to discuss about our Singapore futures via such mediums ????? or even thru emails, phones & one-to-one conversations/correspondences ???? Will MIWs do the same as US to intrude our personal privacy via technology during that DAY ???
Just makes me wonder more but anyway, my DECISION is SET!
Just my opinions!
Cooling or not many young and old citizens have decided to vote for oppositions.MBT, LSS,LBH,LKY,VIVIAN,GCT,WKS,LHL,HEN,have to go by hook or by crook .VOTE THE PAP OUT !!
@ rp,
I don’t quite fully agree with you. At least Sylvia ‘represents’ ONE of our Sentiments to the Ruling Party. Who cares if the MIWs takes her seriously.
Nothing is forever & shall pass one day, same as our physical body. So does PAP!
Just my opinions.
@ David,
Its a good idea BUT Im very reserved about it!
ALL broadband Providers may claimed internet lines traffic congestion as an EXCUSE that may caused our internet connections instability.
Just wait & see. With many IP laws are coming up & subsequently be implemented before the next GE.
Just my guess & opinions!
the last election polled 66.6% for the pappies. Let us all make it less than 66.6% to wake the pappy up that despite their underhanded strategies, we are not stupid..
agree, everyone here ? Let our voices be heard…..
Its the constituency’s loss if they don’t vote in slyvia lim…..They have to vote her
i think SC is getting better. More poised and confident. also articulate in speech.
got potential.
But she must also touch up her looks lah. Make swee abit then really got impact… , ok ? All the best, lady
Hey Joe, she is still ok to compare with most of the WIW except Lily Neo.
Ha ha Kanna Squeeze..
agree. all the more, with little competition, it will be very easy for SL to come up tops.
But seriously, she ain’t a bad looking lady and with some effort, she will be a real impact. Look at what looks did for Sarah paulin (yeah, admittedly, she cock up a few times when she spoke, but by and large, her looks help her somewhat initially).
So Mr Low, i suggest Worker’s Party set aside some funds for SL’s make-up allowance, ok ?
Sylvia,
your intelligence and eloquence is a real inspiration to many of us. Keep on doing what you are doing!!
Sylvia,
Champion of ALL Singaporeans. Hurray, you stood up for us.
I admire the way you took them on in Parliament.
that’s an awful lot of Fear emanating from a government that holds 82 out of 84 seats.
i wonder if they know why they are afraid.
sylvia lim is an NCMP right? will she be running in a constituency so that it is possible for her to receive votes?
Since 2006 election LHL has realised he is causing so much heat to average singaporeans with his mediocre policies? If FAP wants LHL to be remembered as the clown who came out with the ridiculous cooling day in history of politic, so be it.
Oh! OK !..so now I know !
So, during “Cooling Period, b4 I start asking ppl to help vote for Opposition..I must remember to start by stating..Fren ( instead of Stranger )..then ..next, we are frens rite ?…b4 you propagate ( then its considered OK ! ) Good, now I know how to protect myself .TQ.
Vote out the PAP. How cool is that?
We will cooly vote the PAP out.
Let’s cool down and vote the PAP out.
After I’ve cool down, I’ll be back to terminate PAP by voting for any opposition.
Many many moon come, PAP no die.
This time moon got come or no come, PAP sure die.
Cool Man.
WAR! WAR! WAR!
PEOPLE OF SINGAPORE THIS THE FINAL WAR!
WE HAVE LOST MANY BATTLES BUT WE MUST NEVER, I REPEAT, WE MUST NEVER LOSE THIS FINAL WAR AGAINST THE PAP OR WE WILL SURE NOT LIVE ANOTHER DAY TO FIGHT AGAIN!
UNITE AND FIGHT LIKE NEVER BEFORE TO DEFEAT THE PAP! DON’T LET THE PAP EXECUTE OUR DEATH WARRANTS!
What is there to cool off? People would have made up their minds months ago if not years.
As Sylvia’s team secured 44% of the votes in Aljunied GRC in the laast election, just watch whether this GRC is sliced off to a safer GRC by the Electoral Boundaries Committee with the excuse that this GRC is over populated.
@ joe…she always looks sweet with or without touch up.
As for the PAPies no amount of touch up will make those donkeys look like horses.