Member of Parliament (MP) Zaqy Mohamad reportedly said, “People elected who are accountable to their residents think differently because at the end of the day, you know you have to answer to someone”, when responding to The Straits Times’ query in its article, “Parliament set to debate political changes”.

Mr Mohamad seems to say the exact opposite of what another People’s Action Party (PAP) MP for Tampines expressed in his column for Today.  In it, the MP said that he chose to do what is right over what was expected of him by the people who elected him.

And by saying he hopes that parliamentary debates will remain constructive (with the inclusion of more NCMPs (Non Constituency Member of Parliament) if the amendment to the constitution is passed) without just generating a lot of noise, Mr Mohamad seem to be expressing his fear of more opposing voices in parliament.

As an MP, Mr Mohamad should know that the Speaker of Parliament is appointed precisely for that; to make sure that debates remain constructive and not degenerate into ‘just a lot of noise’.

PAP MP Mdm Ho Geok Choo is another person who is worried about more opposing voices in parliament.  She thinks that those who use the ‘back door’ to enter parliament might be “disruptive”.

Mdm Ho seems to have conveniently forgotten that her West Coast Group Representation Constituency (GRC) saw walkovers in the last two General Elections – in 2001 and 2006.  Did she enter parliament via another ‘back door’?

Nominated Member of Parliament (NMP) Calvin Cheng, the other person who opposes the move to have more opposing voices in parliament, says that “if opposition MPs are to enter parliament, it should be on their own merit, through a popular mandate by the people.”

Mr Cheng has surely contradicted himself, for if one uses his reasoning, not only the opposition MPs, but all MPs, including the NMPs, should enter parliament ‘on their own merit, through a popular mandate by the people’.

Mr Cheng also says that parliament does not need ‘opposition for the sake of opposition’.  But, is that not why the NMP scheme was introduced in the early 1990s in the first place?

Whether one is for or against the NCMP and/or NMP schemes, one can easily deduce that the comments by Mr Mohamad, Mdm Ho and Mr Cheng come across not as constructive criticisms but as ‘a lot of noise’ and as self-contradicting viewpoints.

By: Ravi Philemon

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

50 Responses to “MPs’ views ahead of parliamentary debate full of hot air”

1. Cowboy 24 April 2010

It is precisely for such glib, daft and naive MPs that more spurs are needed to stick into their virgin untested hides, and elsewhere.

2. teo soh lung 24 April 2010

NMPs and NCMPs should be scrapped. Parliament is for the elected,  not selected.

3. singaporean 24 April 2010

EMPTY VESSEL MAKES THE MOST NOISE

4. myviewsarestillbetter 24 April 2010

so defined the word “member of parliament”? just wait for month startin 9th to collect $13,500 perhaps?

5. lefleche 24 April 2010

i thought what a shameless bunch when i read it. if they applied the so-called standard and arguments to themselves, all of them, zachy, ho, cheng, irene, all will not even be qualified. How stupid. cant even see that when they point one finger at ‘others’, 3 fingers point back at themselves.

6. Applelover 24 April 2010

He is full of hot air probably because he has never ever faced a real storm before.
    http://dotseng.wordpress.com/2010/04/24/the-storms-of-your-life-and-mine/
    I am not a great sailor, like this guy just spent 6 months in the Safra sailing club, but I know an empty vessel when I hear one. All noise no substance. We need people with substance. Without thinkers who are real. I dont think we will go very far.

7. fullofnonsence 24 April 2010

Increment coming must act busy, make some noise

8. Folks "Elected" Members of Parliament has become a thing of the past ensure hairy's longevity in??? 24 April 2010

Parliament of course. The word “ELECTED” lost it’s complete meaning when GRCs, last minute ELECTORAL BOUNDARIES got re-drawn, NMPs and NCMPs were “made legal”. In short, did these new bills go against the “SPIRIT of The ORIGINAL” GE law?
    Thought WP’s Sylvia Lim was seen ONLY  on U-tube hammering this out in parliament and because it NEVER the light of day in the MSM in “Repression…” by hairy as he stated in 1956! Perhaps hairy will monitor and still relate to us his ‘hair-raising’ feelings from the other ‘side’ when the time comes? You bet he doesn’t believe he can’t? He’ll like go down in history as the most ‘loved in fear” and also the most hated statesman of all modern times! Hairy fears what in this world CAN take away his fame, fortune and intimidating opportunities! He fears  who can take his body but not who CAN take his soul!
    How does one respect such a  manipulatively condescending man? Am sure he’ll argue with Almighty God of his ‘practically” here. And perhaps even blame Almighty  for the “imperfect beings” that was put under his “PERFECT” charge? You think hairy is truly wise?
    Try these..

“A wise head makes a closed mouth”.
    “Foolish tongues talk by the dozen”.

“Fools hate is no speed”.

“A man sows, so let him reap”.”

“The wise changes his mind, fools never will”.

9. And Where were all those "legal" experts of the govt? 24 April 2010

All this while none but ONLy WP Sylvia lim voice out the contradictions within the GRC Law itself. And also its contradictions with the original GE Law!
    Now more of see that see that 1956 “Repression… ” took route and sprout till natives have no voice as there’s only one ‘hairy’ voice!

10. Fugazzi 24 April 2010

A man is at the restaurant n another man walks up to him n asks him, “Are you Lee Con U?”
    The man says, ‘yes”
    The man then says, ‘Were you in China a few days ago?’
    Lee Con U says, “Just a min,” n from his bag takes out a notebook, turns some pages, and then says, “Yes, I was a few days ago.”
    The man says, “Were you in rm 5?”
    Lee Con U looks into his notebook n says, “Yes.”
    The man says, “Did you meet Mrs. Wong in rm 6?”
    Lee Con U scans  his notebook n replies, “Yes.”
    The man says, “Tell me, did you make love to Mrs Wong?”
    Lee Con U looks into notebook again, says, “Yes, I made love to Mrs. Wong.”
    The man says, “Well, I am Mrs Wong’s spouse n I don’t like it.”
    Again, Lee Con U looks in his notebook and utters, “You know, that’s funny. I didn’t like it either.”

One agrees perfectly, but one hears only what one wants to hear; one understands only what one wants to understand.  This is the state of politics in Singapore n esp that of  the incumbents and their cohorts.

11. leesjuanpat 24 April 2010

I do not support NMPs and NCMPs in parliament. Why stage a wayang show. They have no parliament power to vote on issues.  It just look good for PAP  to have a ‘pseudo’ voice in parliament.  When a true voice like Siew Kum Hung was not renewed after one term.
    All MPs should be voted in.  And to all those back door MPs of PAP who entered parliament through the GRC,  remember when  alone in a single seat  constituency, most of you will not stand a chance.  So,  Zagy Mohamad and Ho Geok Choo, you known better than utter nonsense. 

12. Dynamite 24 April 2010

NMPs and NCMPs are nothing more but backdoor boys and girls. Why let them blow hot air when they have no power to vote on important issues. Its just a ploy to appease voters that there is an alternative voice. Since they think they are mighty and supreme then scrap NMPs and NCMPs and take the opposition to a 1 2 1 fight.

13. anonymous 24 April 2010

GRC is fundamentally seditious, and in my judgment unconstitutional as well. It is not one-man one vote counts.  The aggregate conceals the divisions within it. Any party claiming a GRC win should only be entitled to take that GRC with one MP representing that GRC, not those failed one piggbacking -if it was SMC contest. For GRC MPs to cry foul of “backdoor entry”, “lack of mandate” and possible “disruptive” contribution ( when Minister was caught sleeping in Parliamentary session) is diabolical of gutter hypocrisy.
    To give dignity to Parliament, PAP MPs should initiate, move a motion and support resolutely  the complete abolition of GRC, NCMP and NMP – anyone piggyback into Parliament or inducted without being elected by majority votes are all DUDS, unmeritorious of public support and respect.   

14. MP Mdm Ho Geok Choo became an MP through a walk over and she is commenting on people who entered in Parliament through “backdoors”?
    wah lau, how hypocritical can you be ?  if you have nothing intelligent to say, just shut the hell up,woman !

15. clinteris 24 April 2010

debate? wow, singapore got debate ah? who against who? 3 opposition mps against 82+? that must be a solid debate right or not?

16. Chang Dah See 24 April 2010

“”Member of Parliament (MP) Zaqy Mohamad reportedly said, “People elected who are accountable to their residents think differently because at the end of the day, you know you have to answer to someone”, ..”"
    APPLAUSE to ZAQY!!!
    But Zaqy , you mean, things like TC investments also they answerable wan is it?
    SWF answerable too ?
    I mean, i not sure about what you said only mah. You know ? if u know, pls reply here so every body can know also lah. if they dunno lah. 

17. Chin Tu Lang 24 April 2010

Pots calling kettles black. WTF they should scrap GRC and go for SC. I believe more oppositions will be voted in. Bring It On

18. BullShits of ALL BullShits 24 April 2010

Whats there to debate when ALL PAPaya mps pay lip service and PRETEND to speak for their constituents???
    If they are to speak GENUINELY for the people they REPRESENT EVEN when its AGAINST Pap, and voice it loud in Parliament, then we can abolutely say there is a debate to talk of.
    Fcuk. Waste of time and taxpayers slogged money.
    I always say time again and again, our MPs etc, can rival the best Hollywood show on earth!!!.

19. Abolish   all GRCs  and   let  all  contest on a  single seat constituency  basis :   canvassing ,  preparing   and strategising alone  competently    enough  to win   on  ones  own  merit  rather   than  collectively  through  the back  door and be  pepetually   ridiculed as back door  MPs ;  even  winning  does  not  allow  one to  show  that  one  can  handle and run the  show  singlehandedly  and  independently.
    GRCs   breed   universal  suffrage    which   is  about the  rights   of  everyone  to vote  which  exists  only in a communist  state  whereby  there is no  GEs.
    Respect  will be earned only  when one is allowed  to prove  that one  can  handle and run the  show  alone  rather  than  collectively  hor.    

20. READ BELOW N YOU KNOW IT'S BULLSHIT 24 April 2010

READ BELOW N YOU KNOW IT’S BULLSHIT.
    MPs n senior civil servants not answering call for help.
    http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=2741988

21. Sorry –  it should  also be  that  GRCs  tend  to create  many  walkovers  and breed  universal suffrage.

22. sweeney38 24 April 2010

This bunch of imbeciles are wasting taxpayers” money!!
    In real life, they are truly “dafts”!!!

23. Epic Fail Party 24 April 2010

Mdm Ho and Mr Mohamad are obviously scared that opposition would make noise over the extravagant salary which they deserve by expressing their irrational fear for opposition entering backdoor. In my opinion, on Mr Mohamad not knowing that the Speaker of the Parliament to ensure debates remain constructive really shows the lack of competence in doing his job as a MP since he contradicts himself every so often.

24. Randy McFly 24 April 2010

Our President also was ELECTED by the people right?
    I mean, some call it the Elected President. Am i right?

25. hahah….so funny. Before oppositions enter parliament, all these MPs already start peeing in their pants.  This is what we called not ready for real battle to get tested.  Being too complacent for many years has started to get into their nerve for the slightest change and even to the extend that they contradicted themselves and opposed based on reasons that slapped on their own faces and contradicted the whole wayang they have been trying to get across to the people.   As such, we do need alternative parties to go into parliament and  strengthen this group of weak MPs and  government.  I can’t help laughing through all these hot airs!

26. coward monkeys 24 April 2010

aiyoh!!!! u papies monkeys talk big only. Dare you stand in single ward and fight like a gentleman and c what is the outcome. Bet many of u will be whack by the voters. That’s why you’ll r too coward to fight one to one!

27. Nice article Ravi.  These 3 stooges talking cock.  Zaqy, Ho, Irene & Cheng, stop spouting nonsense and seriously if you guys are man enough, fight the opposition in a SMC and see for yourself how good you really are. 
    Have a level playing field, same media coverage for all parties, debate national issues on TV, eliminate all GRCs, have independent votes counting agents.
    When all the above are met, then we can truly says ours is an open, transparent, democratic system of governance.
    Stop hiding under your master skirt when all you guys did was to get into Parliament via the ‘back doors’ too. 
    Bloody cowards…… 

28. I totally disagree that the MP are accountable to their residents. They are accountable to their party. They vote in parliament according to the party’s stand. Not what their residents wants.

29. thomas 25 April 2010

this kampong boy suddenly think he is of the right pedigree. .this czagy noggood fella… will be out by the next election.. then we  say balik kampong..

30. mic o mic 25 April 2010

The fact remains that NMPs and NCMPs have not earned any rights to be in parliament.
    It was ridiculous for the PAP to introduce it the first place, along with the GRC.
    Now we have a whole bunch of freeloaders and coat-tail hangers prancing about in parliament as if they had earned the right.
    This is how we descend to hell.

31. //YPAP
    //You people are just a bunch of clowns, can only grumble time after time but we still win in elections after elections.
    so sure then start the elections now. The old pig is dying. The earlier you start the elections the better it is for the pigs: more time to steal from the people.
    //The real show is when we wrestle back Potong Pasir this round considering the fact the incumbent is so old and fragile unlike our founding father who is still so fit despite his age, this is what I call a real statesman.

So sure, send the old pig to Potong Pasir and we will see who is fitter.

All talk no action … oooh… should be all talk no results.

//Good luck in trying to change our system; one word for you guys: Change you cannot believe in! :-P

We don’t need luck. It is certainty.

Even your people are questioning:
    Y (why) PAP?

32. I read in the news that a Korean driver knocked down a Korean girl crossing the road in Geylang Lorong 22. What are the crazy odds of that happening?? Since the odds of that happening is high (probably higher than Singaporean driver knock down Singaporean), we I know that it is high time that we need Oppositions for the sake of opposing the influx of so many foreigners in our country. If the PAP MPs want to do the right thing for the people, please oppose the party’s policy of “no fish, prawn also good foreign influx policy”.

33. TheWholeTruth 25 April 2010

Teo Soh Lung is right on the button when he/she said that “Parliament is for the elcted, not selected”
    Why are we mucking around with the fundamentals of democracy?  There are people in Parliament who got there without being elected. They go in through the back door.

34. ho geok choo is the daughter of late MP ho see beng
    there’s parentage and connections to consider before you lambaste her for entering by backdoor

35. myviewarebetter 25 April 2010

anon 25 April 2010

ho geok choo is the daughter of late MP ho see beng
    there’s parentage and connections to consider before you lambaste her for entering by backdoor
    …………………………….
    so? does this meant leekuanyew’s  1stborn albino grandson can also be the mas finance minister as well?

36. george 25 April 2010

I agree with Teo SL – parliament should aonly be fore the elected.
    In fact, lky’s motive for introducing the nmp and ncmp was never altruistic, it was self serving -so that he and his party will not look like a kangaroo court every time it sat and he doesn’t look like a king presiding over his courtiers and court jesters!
    The strategy that the opposition and people should take is to refuse to be manipulated anymore by refusing to accept any of the ncmp and nmp posts offered. Such a boycott  would be playing  lky at his own game.
    His parliament would indeed look like a foolish gathering of a king and his courtiers and jesters whenever it sits. His party would have a mightily hard time convincing the world that they indeed  have a parliament that truly  represents the people here. Those ‘chiak leow bee’ pap mps would have a mighty hard time pretending to debate any issue that they know their  bosses have already decided BEFOREHAND!  The leadership side too would have a hard time ensuring that the govt mps say sensible things without damaging their image. The MSM would also have a hard time reporting parliament siting convincingly having to make sure they do not cross the masters by ‘inappropriately’ reporting ‘too’ accurately.
    This is indeed a sure fire way of putting the pap parliament under pressure to perform without providing the pap ‘mps’ hounds an opposition target to make themselves look good.
    All opposition parties can take to Hong Lim Park for example to air their views on all issues. This would definitely increase in no small measures people’s eagerness and interest to hear their alternative viewpoints esp. they know the MSM would not be reporting them the most important and salient points of any issue. The opposition can also have the opportunities to conduct more indoors discussions/rebuttal sessions for eager citizens with the proviso that they must make pretty solid and valid criticism and alternative proposals and viewpoints about issues.

37. sgcynic 25 April 2010

If we are truly a meritocracy under PAP rule, why do we have to consider “parentage and connections”!?

38. Can't tahan citizen 25 April 2010

Parliamentary debate?
    More like clowns performing in a circus!!
    Except that the spectators are out numbered by the performers!
    At some stage, the performances are so boooooring that
    even they themselves fell asleep!!
    At some stage, they forgot to clap all together, and the supervisor had to remind them, hi! clap!
    At some stage, they forgot to say, NO! the supervisor again had to remind them, Hi! say YES!!
    Then, every body woke up and shouted, YEEESSSS SSIR!!!

39. hahaha 25 April 2010

anyone who is not elected by popular vote is not an elected MP, but an appointed MP. So we have more than enough of such appointed MPs, or nominated MPs, whichever way you like to call it.
    Anyway, since the parliament is just a staged circus with all q & a already pre-prepared in advance, there is almost no possibility the bill is not going to pass.

40. anyone who is not elected by popular vote is not an elected MP, but an appointed MP. So we have more than enough of such appointed MPs, or nominated MPs, whichever way you like to call it.
    Anyway, since the parliament is just a staged circus with all q & a already pre-prepared in advance, there is almost no possibility the bill is not going to pass.

41. By the MPs logic, there should be no walkover because walkover candidates are not elected. They simply walk into the parliament and drawing fat cheques which become the ill of this system.

42. anonymous 25 April 2010

Old Chinese wisdom saying  “Mao Ku Lau Su” . When the rats die, the cats all cry in misery! How diabolical of circus display for this nation to watch in embarassment.

43. the usually good ncmps who asked a lot of good questions are never renewed after 1 term ie Siew Kum Hong and the earlier lady lawyer.
    why would they want ncmps who just go with the flow and ask easy questions?
    we need to have some ministers kicked out of GRCs and have MORE OPPOSITIONS in.
    all depends on Singaporeans if they continue to be kiasi and kiasu and would prefer to be screwed for another 5 years.

44. lobo76 26 April 2010

interestingly, the letter on ST Forum asking for a TV debate (comparing with the debate by the 3 party leaders in Britain) was not allowed to be commented…

45. Why does everyone only talk about their pappy MILIION dollar saleries? 26 April 2010

Always remember to mention the 8-12 months bonuses too!
    And they use to get $500, then $1000 then $2000 per parliament sitting plus expenses too as their salries sky-rocket!
    Go find out and everyone post the same here for multiplier effect!
    Natives, you been “had” by hairy for breakfast, morning tea, lunch, afternoon tea, dinner and even supper. And you’ve been literally whacked front, right, left, rear, top and bottom too!
    Hope you got it and your aged parents too! Why so so sober sufferers? So much ‘loving-kindness’ to one who stripped you ‘naked’ and walloped you bloated and you still afraid to sent him on his deserving way!
    He once dismantled the British’s “City Council” and restored it as his “Town Council”! See another of hairy’s ABERRATIONS! Smart haw? But what kind hah? As any originality? Even the CPF system wasn’t his idea, or was it as claimed? But then it is now found wanting too as he didn’t know the originator never meant it to be used in such VARIED ways like he did? Smart lah! Over-smart more likely!

46. anyone who is not elected by popular vote is not an elected MP, but an appointed MP. So we have more than enough of such appointed MPs, or nominated MPs, whichever way you like to call it.

47. red_dot 27 April 2010

The bottom-line is Singapore needs a two-party political system! Do away with Red Shirts, Yellow Shirts as well as White Shirts! Let everyone chooses their color! All rules restricting political expressions and choices by the people should be scrapped!

48. The bottom-line is Singapore needs a two-party political system! Do away with Red Shirts, Yellow Shirts as well as White Shirts! Let everyone chooses their color! All rules restricting political expressions and choices by the people should be scrapped!