By Ng E-Jay

The Secretary-General of the National Solidarity Party (NSP), Mr Goh Meng Seng, has revealed to close associates and supporters that he intends to sell his HDB flat in Serangoon North in order to fund his upcoming election campaign.
This was announced on Mr Tan Kin Lian’s blog as well as on the Sammyboy Alfresco Coffeeshop forum. Mr Goh had helped the ex-NTUC chief deliver the mandarin versions of his speeches at Hong Lim Park in late 2008 during the Lehman minibond saga.
TOC’s Political Desk caught up with Mr Goh Meng Seng yesterday to enquire about his decision to go “all in” against the incumbent People’s Action Party (PAP).
According to Mr Goh, NSP President Sebestian Teo has himself committed personal funds to finance NSP’s election bid. As Secretary-General of the party, Mr Goh feels that he should throw in his lot as well. Thus, Mr Goh, in consultation with his wife, made the decision to sell his flat last week in order to contribute to NSP’s election war chest. He says his wife has been very supportive and understanding.
Mr Goh emphasized that he need not sell his flat if he merely intended to fund his own election battle. However, he feels that as a leader of the party, the onus is on him to personally tend to what he terms “the bigger strategic campaign” of NSP.
The amount of money that each election candidate must spend can be daunting. The election deposit alone is around $14,000 per candidate. In addition, every candidate must be prepared to spend an additional $10,000 if he is a member of a GRC team, and more if he stands in a single member ward. Mr Goh feels that leaders of NSP should be willing to assist with the finances of their candidates.
A “make or break” strategy?
Every since Mr Goh started dabbling in opposition politics, he had made it clear to all what his political stand is. In his view, he should either stay in Singapore and try to initiate change to the political system, which includes fighting against the PAP’s unfair election tactics, such as gerrymandering and pork-barrel politics via the HDB upgrading carrot, or he should leave Singapore altogether for the sake of his children.
He says that after over a decade in opposition politics, he has to be answerable to his family, having sacrificed so much time that could have been spent with his family. If his next election bid yields no results for him, he says he might have to leave politics altogether. By selling his flat, he is not only putting his money where his mouth is, but also committing himself to a final confrontation with the PAP.
He says he will leave it to voters to decide if his party and his political stand is worth voting for, and that he would have no regrets either way it turns out. He says that even if he loses, at least he can answer to his children with a clear conscience that he has done his best.
In a nutshell, what exactly is Mr Goh’s grouse against the government’s housing policies?
It is best to quote Mr Goh Meng Seng’s reply verbatim:
My main attack on HDB is its role as the monopoly in the new HDB flat market. The government is empowered by the people to acquire land at dirt cheap prices and it has acquired near to 80% of land in the past. Many small land lords have made sacrifices due to the acquisition by the government. However, it is the responsibility to redistribute this acquired land to the masses by means of providing cheap public housing via HDB.
HDB is shirking off this role and responsibility by pegging its new HDB flats with the resale market prices. This is not right and this is what I am fighting against.
When the cheapest flat in town as in new HDB flat needs a 30 years mortgage to be paid for and Singaporeans are expected to sell their flats for their retirement, it is very obvious that something is very wrong with the whole system.
Two final points by Mr Goh
Mr Goh Meng Seng said he has two final points he would like to make at this juncture. Again, I quote him verbatim:
- Freedom is NOT FREE. Singaporeans get to vote because of the sacrifices made by many people.
- Politics, be it opposition or ruling party, is a means to Public Service. Sacrifices are expected from politicians of both sides.
Mr Goh Meng Seng’s political background
Mr Goh Meng Seng stood in Aljunied GRC under a Worker’s Party (WP) ticket during the 2006 general elections. His team, led by Ms Sylvia Lim, clinched 43.9% of the valid votes, the highest percentage scorer after elected opposition MPs Low Thia Khiang in Hougang and Chiam See Tong in Potong Pasir.
Following his resignation from WP after the 2006 elections, Mr Goh joined the NSP. He was elected as Secretary-General in February 2010. Upon taking up his new leadership role, Mr Goh initiated an aggressive campaign against the PAP’s flawed housing policies that have caused prices of HDB flats to escalate out of control in recent years. He intends to make this an election issue and give disenfranchised Singaporeans a credible alternative to the PAP.
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

eh opposition can own flats ar? I thought they apply sure fail one
For quite a while, GMS has been railing against the runaway prices of HDB flats as part of his strategy to strike at MBT, ala the humorously named “minister-specific” strategy.
Currently HDB resale prices are very high, as indicated by the large quantum of COVs being offered or demanded. GMS blames the government (and MBT) for its foreigner/immigration policies that he says caused this escalation.
Since his family is overseas and he is staying with his aged mother, it makes good monetary sense to liquidate his four-room flat NOW. The house has probably been rented out or been left standing idle.
Ironically, he and his party are now BENEFICIARIES of the runaway HDB prices.
Perhaps he should be thanking MBT for inadvertently creating the conditions such that his campaign can be better funded.
Well, think of it, he is the benefiting from the runaway HDB prices, rather it is the high entry barrier PAP has set for the candidate’s nomination deposite and the high financial cost if running the election if you don’t have a rich party machinery like the one of PAP.
Goh still have to find a place to house his family.
Will anyone who doubts his determination, or any PAP candidates have the courage to do the same ?
Tea Alliances, I don’t disagree that he still has to find a place to house his family eventually, whether in HK (which is very expensive) or in Tampines (which is his hope).
Either way, he will probably be paying high prices unless the property markets reverse. Maybe he knows something about the market that most of us don’t.
Anyway, if he does become an MP, the rather high allowances (that the Opposition had also previously made noises about) would come in handy to service his new loan.
BTW, I have no doubt about his determination and even righteousness. And I commend him for those.
BryantT
Ironically, he and his party are now BENEFICIARIES of the runaway HDB prices.
More like unintended consequences.
Just like MPs salaries that made it possible for Chiam and Low to be full-time politicians.
Indeed freedom is not free. Some citizens get to vote but some also have never voted if not denied voting due to walkovers.
Apathism seems to have infected many who write to news media suggesting there is no need for Opposition in a Democracy. This is a Disease and Illogical and Dangerous Extremistic thinking.
So, if the people continue to give the mandate as they have 50 years ago, we need to seriously think , if there is no opposition voted in, could the rules be changed to have no Opposition?
silly as it may seem, the majority has always denied the Opposition not just from winning but more importantly from even getting 1 more seat out of so many seats and when the strong miniority of 33.3% have voiced dissent and lost of confidence in the system.
The majority is responsible for their actions.
Kudos to Mr. Goh, not everybody has the courage to give all for the betterment of his country and his fellow singaporeans…
Goh Meng Seng got guts! Come and run against LKY in Tangjong Pagar I vote for you.
Where will he stay after selling his flat?
I hate GMS, his very face sickens me.
GMS sells flat to fund election bid ? So ?
Does this say anything? That he is poor ? He is gutsy ? He is committed to toppling over PAP ? So what ? So what ?
He may well be thinking of emigrating if he loses the next election… maybe not
but i keep asking myself – he sold off your flat ? so? Others may have used their live savings, their CPF, their salaries, their business,.. so what ? so what ? so what ?
Singapore needs more opposition like Mr Goh. Unfortunately Singaporeans don’t deserve people like him too.
@Yong Ming
I hate LKY, his very face sickens me.
Yes I’m sure, I think the both are equally sickening.
LKY for ruling and GMS for opposition.
Those who question Mr Goh Meng Seng’s motives in selling his flat should ask themselves these questions:
1) do you have the guts to do what he is doing for something you believe in?
2) do you want to continue voting for a party which pays its members millions of dollars every year for as long as they live and berate you for being daft, unproductive, needing spurs to be stuck on your behind, etc while their members enjoy life in their luxurious ivory towers but open the flood gates to outsiders and raise the temperature in the pond to make your life a never-ending struggle?
3) or would you rather vote for someone who is willing to sacrific his home so that he could have a chance to bring about a much needed change to society here?
My best wishes to Mr Goh Meng Seng. Your success can only be good for our country. My hope is that there will not be a 3-cornered fight in Tampines which will only benefit the PAP.
TJ 21 April 2010
Goh Meng Seng got guts! Come and run against LKY in Tangjong Pagar I vote for you.
…………………………………………………………..
i believed YOU made an ^HONEST^ mistake here..
you should be directin this ^CHALLENGE^ to leekuanyew to change from his 6 man team into 1 single ward… i beleived gohmengseng would defiteniteLEE accept the challenge…
even leekuanyew himself dared NOT go to potong pasir with a meek excuse of not been ^DELEGATE^ by his son the prime minister to stand against another ole man…
The singapore opposition needs to grow. The reasons are right in front of our eyes.
They cannot grow overnight as no party has ever done that in this world.
They need to be given the chance to enter the parliament. Bad performance will be dealt with by the voters in 5 years or less. Petition can be signed to ask them to resign if they cannot deliver.
But the fact remains, many MPs were given the chance to enter parliament. That is when they started getting the experience.
As no one owes them a living, Opposition MPs can only rely on our votes to gain experience. In return the strong minority (33.3%) can have more MPs to speak up for them.
We need more Check and Balance.
no other 1st world democracies would support a 1-party dominant democracy, in my blunt opinion. Prove me wrong. We rely on the west for trade. We rely on their IQ , intelligence and systems and products and people. We learn basically most if not all things from the West, eg, our text books.
They cannot be stupid right?
TJ 21 April 2010
…………………………………………………………..
i believed YOU made an ^HONEST^ mistake here..
you should be directin this ^CHALLENGE^ to leekuanyew to change from his 6 man team into 1 single ward… i beleived gohmengseng would defiteniteLEE accept the challenge…
even leekuanyew himself dared NOT go to potong pasir with a meek excuse of not been ^DELEGATE^ by his son the prime minister to stand against another ole man…
Yong Ming 21 April 2010
I hate GwantMS, his very face sickens me.
…………………………………………………..
why? limsiasuayed face very humsup/handsome mey?
why you based your votes on goodlookin?
who you want? jackneo or liu ter wah?
joe 21 April 2010
GMS sells flat to fund election bid ? So ?
Does this say anything? That he is poor ? He is gutsy ? He is committed to toppling over PAP ? So what ? So what ?
…………………………….
would you do the same? so? so?
you are here to lick balls for your pap masterS…
you talk as though you are a can can man…
are you?
may i join in the ruckus ?
Lee Bee Wah’s face laggi cannot tahan.. can vomit one ley!!
why must opposition prove their worth first before being considered to be voted? when PAP was first voted in, were they asked to prove that they were capable of leading sg? no right? it’s the ppl that gave them a chance to prove their mettle.
in this way, we should also give the opposition a chance mah. never try, never know mah…
because of the Fact that out of the strong minority, rare few would step forward to fight for the minority, GMS must win or it means the minority will lose.
GMS Win = Minority Win!.
GMS Lose = Minority Lose.
There is no others ways about it.
Copper(Iron)ically, I like Dr Lily Neo’s face, I will vote for her in Jln Besar GRC
whatever is happening around here in TOC as long as the topic sounds anything bad to the pap name, there are always these group of pro-papies spies or whatever you call them, they will just keep pouring cold water towards anyone or any party as long as you are not papies, this is how dirty the color of white can be all these years, you just have to ignore them as though they are transparent, not even bother to interact with them, and they will just shut up and go away.
I doubt enough Singaporeans will appreciate his effort.
There are more than enough insulted, exiled, bankrupted, and dead heros of the opposition to prove that the majority of people here don’t give a shit.
Good luck GMS, even if you win, you will quickly find out the impotence of your MP membership, and if lucky, sink to mediocrity like Chaim. Don’t be deceived by the crowds you may pull with your speeches. Singaporeans may agree with you in their hearts but they will NEVER risk their personal needs like that little GST rebate. Singaporeans are cheap that way. And freedom is too expensive if it excludes the petty trinkets that the PAP has been giving away.
BryanT says,
“Ironically, he and his party are now BENEFICIARIES of the runaway HDB prices.
Perhaps he should be thanking MBT for inadvertently creating the conditions such that his campaign can be better funded.”
There nothing ironic about it. It is expected of BryanT, who is astroturfing for his political master, to put it this way.. however, I see it as “以其人之道还治其人之身”Hence, good strategy GohMengSeng.
i am not impressed. the guy has got nothing to lose because, he already(probably) stashed his wealth in hk(where his wife is). in fact, by cashing out of his hdb, he has prepared himself to “Abandon ship” in case of political liabilities from his daring accusation of our government?
in any case, i think he has the financial backing for the “war chest” without selling his hdb.
this guy is not dumb when comes to profiting from hdb because, his agenda is to drive down home prices remember?
so before he sinks your house value, he takes the money created by our government and run first?
clever.
Melo-drama. No need to sell house. Nowadays can take personal loan from places like GE Money up to 4 times income.
Can even pay back by instalment. Interest of 16.68% for 1 yr = $1,324 for $14k loan.
Having met Mr Goh before, he’s a down to earth kinda guy so I will say its just a show of his commitment to his cause.
skeptik 21 April 2010
i am not impressed. the guy has got nothing to lose because, he already(probably) stashed his wealth in hk(where his wife is). in fact, by cashing out of his hdb
…………………………………………………
what do you mean when you said he ^STASHED^ his wealth in hk? next what does his wife got to do with it? are you tryin to tell us from your point as a PAP’s dog that the pap leekuanyews’ inc will do the same to him just liked they already done to tanlianhong familLEE?…
last but not least are you confirmin this wealth stashin$ has long bein practised by ALL the PAP ministers in ca$h of abandon ship distre$$ call$ign?
thank you for updatin us the paps’ method of operation/fixin… no african style of mandai forest executions?
skeptik 21 April 2010
i am not impressed. the guy has got nothing to lose because, he already(probably) stashed his wealth in hk(where his wife is). in fact, by cashing out of his hdb
…………………………………………………
what do you mean when you said he ^STASHED^ his wealth in hk? next what does his wife got to do with it? are you tryin to tell us from your point as a PAP’s dog that the pap leekuanyews’ inc will do the same to him just liked they already done to tanlianhong familLEE?…
last but not least are you confirmin this wealth stashin$ has long bein practised by ALL the PAP ministers in ca$h of abandon ship distre$$ call$ign?
thank you for updatin us the paps’ method of operation/fixin… no african style of mandai forest executions?
i am impressed..very very impressed with YOUR real fixin THREAT….
tiredsingaporean
there are always these group of pro-papies spies or whatever you call them, not even bother to interact with them, and they will just shut up and go away.
………………………………………………
on the contray..we rebutt them with the dirty clues they left behin… this i learnt from 1 person from the earLEE days…leekuanyew esquire himself…
Singaporeans are a cynical bunch aren’t they? Let’s see.
GMS could capitalise on the runaway HDB prices and emigrate to HK with his CPF and profits from the sale of his flat. He made up his mind NOT TO.
Instead, he decides to make 1 last stand against the tyranny of the incumbent party with the proceeds—HIS OWN MONEY.
Don’t you think it’s weird to belittle a dedicated man’s sacrifice for the common good.
# myviewsarestillbetter
Wah so to the point one. I think I am in love with you.
Instead, he decides to make 1 last stand against the tyranny of the incumbent party with the proceeds—HIS OWN MONEY.
it will be his own money if he returns the capital gain portion from the sale of his hdb to the garmen. would he,since he complained about high property prices?
I Got Brain 2 21 April 2010
# myviewsarestillbetter
Wah so to the point one. I think I am in love with you.
………………………….
indeed right to the point that HURT the pap method of FIXIN the oppositions…
please do not fall in love with me…i am a poor man eatin homecook porridge 6 nights/week…
you all know what is the problemo with pap lackies?
here they sink songs how stupid the oppositions were..yet they never even realised which of the 82 pap candidates paid with their ^MONEY^ as deposits?
a big FAT ZERO..includin leekuanyew himself..all the pap party deposits come from the pap funds which we don’t even know if it the citizens’ cpf savin$… remembered temasek inc expenses accounts? 17.5 billion$ on other expenses?
cheaptalk
it will be his own money if he returns the capital gain portion from the sale of his hdb to the garmen. would he,since he complained about high property prices?
………………………
so ? so? liked joe the pap ballicker mentioned? he bought the property FIRST before it was inflated by the hdb eatricewasteseeds minister…
so don’t come aroun to tell us GMS do it out of greed or gained…
liked you said..talk is cheap..which ward are you from? asked your grc mps which 1 of them sell their hdb flat FIRST in order to pay the helfty deposit…
and who makes this helfty deposit rulin$?
lowthiakeng perhaps?
GMS has balls and put his stake on a political belief. Many of us dont have his kind of courage and even talk about taking out our own money to do this.
This election is a turning point for many of us, it only signals if the public is still happy to be continued to be screwed by the government.
I am sure things will get a lot worst if the government is in full control. If there is no breakthrough in opposition politics in this election, I suggest all oppositions shut down and let kiasi and kiasu Singaporeans suffer from absolute control.
Before anything, please note that GMS’s attack on HDB is its role as the monopoly in the NEW HDB flat market.
In other words, he is not against the high price in the resale market, but price of NEW HDB flat.
“In other words, he is not against the high price in the resale market, but price of NEW HDB flat.”
It is related. You can’t suppress new prices without affecting resale prices.
sometimes i wonder is it worth it to fight for singaporeans who basically have gotten so used to the current system that they have never voted them out nor voted 1 more opposition mp into parliament.
From GMS’ perspective, this is his calling. So it must be worth it in his view.
From an observer perpective, i feel that maybe his sacrifice is too much. Singaporeans will not change so easily. It may take them another 50 years to realise somethings.
So, i support GMS but feel apologetic to him as i feel that his sacrifice will not be appreciated by most. Certainly the 33.3% appreciates.
by the way, let me say some other things.
Even a 66.6 % win was considered landslide , i think 33.3%, 50% of that , is subtantial critical mass to be called the Strong Minority.
In other words, he is not against the high price in the resale market, but price of NEW HDB flat.
Home prices are all related. You can’t depress one segment without affecting prices of the others.
Alamak! Opposition candidate must sell hdb flat to fund for election campaign? No win then no roof over head liao! On the other hand, PAPayas ‘lui pa pa’ (lots of $$$) and can live in GCB! Any one of the ministers can easily pay for that roof of GMS with just 3 months of their pay!
So, why would anyone choose to vote for the PAPayas instead of someone who lives like us common folks? Only daft would expect MILLIONAIRES to serve the man in the street !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Korislo 21 April 2010
sometimes i wonder is it worth it to fight for singaporeans who basically have gotten so used to the current system that they have never voted them out nor voted 1 more opposition mp into parliament.
………………………….
if this ungrateFOOL singapooriums still sleepin runnin their owned miniture boutique hotels and endup in court for allowin foreign talented streetwalkers to checkin (if become strict/ngiow..hotel closed shop zero occupancy)
why don’t temasek inc assured us their overseas 4/5stars hotel hav no streetwalkers in their lobbies for a start before terkannin our local innkeepers for tryin to earn an honest $$… if boutique hotels fold shop..where would our 40s/50s employees goes? back to recycled empty cans again?
than again why would i CARED when this socalled 40s/50s still VOTE for the pap party?
In reply to cleareyed:
Those who question Mr Goh Meng Seng’s motives in selling his flat should ask themselves these questions:
yes if my wife and kids are staying well in Hong Kong and I only live with my mother and the market rate for HDB flat sales is high thanks to the very guy im criticisizing – yes, I will do what he is doing, but i dont think it takes alot of guts.
2) do you want to continue voting for a party which pays its members millions of dollars every year for?
No i don’t but i don’t want to be voting for nonsensical opposition either (actually i can only think of one who is GMS and in the 90s Harban Singh).
3) or would you rather vote for someone who is willing to sacrific his home so that he could have a chance to bring about a much needed change to society here?
Like I said, what really is the big “sacrifice” here? More like a lame stunt from an already known-to-be-lame opposition wannabe. people who interact with him will know.
With the current youngster paying HDB thru their nose without PAP batting an eyelid, I can still remember years ago we have leaders trying to buy condo at at discount in prime district area and eventually trying to do damage control. Wearing white dress doesn’t make a person pure and honest does it?
Yong Ming 22 April 2010
In reply to cleareyed:
yes if my wife and kids are staying well in Hong Kong and I only live with my mother and the market rate for HDB flat sales is high thanks to the very guy im criticisizing – yes, I will do what he is doing, but i dont think it takes alot of guts.
More like a lame stunt from an already known-to-be-lame opposition wannabe. people who interact with him will know.
………………………………….
and you would do the same if your wife and mother is in hongkong or in any 3rd world right?
lame stunts? isn’t leekuanyew your master doin a far worst stance? from holdin hands with 6 other ^MEN^ to win parliament by 1 single vote..
your ^GUTs^ very very big hor…is this how pap ministers run their systems…if in danger..placed wife/mother on board 1st…than charbor immediateLEE…
no wondered sia order a big fleet of A380 airbuses with a dozen more unmarked brand new helicopters in seletar…
wah liked that even leekuanyew and his clans can all charbot when birdflu or volcano dust hit singapoor asmosphere…
you the very gusty hor…yes yes we ALL know you still don’t liked GMS face.. he is not as good lookin as limsiasuayed hor…
GMS is a true leader of the party. He seeks fund from selling his own flats to fund the party election campaign beside his own. Do you think PM or MM will fund the 82 lame PAP candidates for the election? Fat Hope!! Do you know that all their MPs and Ministers have to contribute certain percentages of their salaries to the party fund.
We just need to be Contented, Forgiving and Kind and Compassionate and all our concerns will be over. Change your 5Cs from Cash career condo to Compassion, Contentment, Caring, Calmness and Condone.
Lets forgive and then forget . like this No more complains! yeah! Forever peaceful and smiling regardless of anything and everything.
A true Singaporean ALWAYS look a gift horse in the mouth.
And then he will check it for STDs and make sure it is not a homosexual horse. After that he will bitch about why it is a male and not female, and if it comes in Ferrari Red….