Andrew Loh
While the minister for MCYS was promising the moon to poorer S’poreans, officers from his ministry and Nparks were raiding the homeless at Changi Beach, clearing them away before Al Jazeera came calling.
On Saturday, 27 March 2010, Minister for Community Development, Youth and Sports (MCYS), Dr Vivian Balakrishnan, assured Singaporeans who may not be able to afford food:
“Even if you can’t afford it, we will have meals delivered to you.”
Dr Balakrishnan also said he was “confident that we have done our duty for the people who need our help.”
On Monday, 29 March, I went to Changi Beach in the morning. I had been there several times before in the past few months and have always been greeted by the sight of tents lined along the beach front. This time, however, the beach was completely empty of any tents, except for one put up by a young Chinese couple.
I wondered where the regulars were – those homeless people who had been camping out there the last few months. I had become friends with some of them and heard their stories of how officers from NParks and MCYS had threatened and fined them for “squatting” at the park.
Later I chanced upon one of the women who frequent Changi Beach. “They came and raided the place every day last week,” she told me. She was referring to officers from Nparks and MCYS. “Some of them were fined S$200,” she said. “So that is why there is nobody there now?” I asked her. “Yes, they have all disappeared. I do not even know where they have gone,” she replied.
Why did the authorities decide to conduct such raids and do so particularly during that week? One answer could be that the authorities got wind that Al-Jazeera, the news agency based in the Middle East and which has an office in Kuala Lumpur, was in Singapore to do a programme on the issue of homelessness here.
Al Jazeera had sent an email to the Ministry of Community Development, Youth and Sports (i.e. MCYS) to find out if they were willing to have a representative for the news agency to interview, to get the government’s stance on the homeless issue.
After a few phone calls and emails the ministry turned down the interview request.
It was only later that it became clear that Changi Beach had been raided by the authorities – and apparently it was because MCYS had got wind of Al-Jazeera coming to Singapore to do the story and might be planning to speak with the homeless at Changi Beach.
This is, of course, not the first time that the authorities have raided a park where the homeless are. In January this year, Sembawang Park was raided late in the night – after The Online Citizen reported the presence of homeless people there. In that instance, the police were called in, together with Nparks and MCYS officers. The campers were eventually fined and chased away. Some were later given temporary shelters.
(Picture right: Sembawang Park condoned off after the homeless were removed.)
While Nparks officers do regularly conduct spot checks on campers at public parks, these were normal daily affairs. These inspections were mostly to make sure that campers had valid camping permits. In the two instances mentioned above, however, these checks were more thorough and the authorities were more forceful in insisting that the campers left the park.
In the incident at Sembawang Park in January this year, it was because news of the homeless campers had been brought to the attention of the public.
Last week’s raid at Changi Beach seems to have been triggered by the presence of the Al Jazeera news team in Singapore.
The behavior and action of the authorities, particularly the MCYS, makes one question the motivation behind such moves. Apparently, when alerted to the presence of the Al Jazeera news team’s presence in Singapore through the email request for an interview, the MCYS declined to reply or grant the interview – but chose to use the information to conduct raids on the homeless instead.
Understandably, Kirsten Han, who was helping Al Jazeera with its reports, feels disgusted with the actions and behaviour of the authorities.
“But mostly I just feel anger and a deep, deep disappointment in my country’s government,” she says on her Facebook note. She is particularly upset about the timing of the raid which came two days after the MCYS minister had boasted that the government will deliver free meals to the poor and that he feels his ministry has done its duty “for the people who need our help.”
“To hear him sit there and lie through his teeth just makes me feel so angry and so sad for my country,” Kirsten says. “Is this really how things operate here? Sweep everything under the carpet, hidden away from the public eye, while we paint pretty pictures of a Utopian lifestyle? Boast about how wonderful life is while we ignore those who need our help most? Because if this is how it is in Singapore, then I have to say that I am utterly ashamed of being a Singaporean. If this is who we are, I want no part in this.”
The Online Citizen has reported extensively on the plight of the homeless in Singapore. While we commend some officers at MCYS for being genuinely caring and who seek to find solutions to the problem, we cannot condone such utterly despicable behavior by the ministry.
Some of these homeless people have applied for rental flats but have had their applications rejected by the Housing and Development Board for various reasons. And so, having nowhere else to go, their only recourse is to camp out at the parks. But even here, they face being fined and have their belongings confiscated and are ordered to leave these parks because, as the authorities say, “squatting in public areas is illegal.”
One wonders then where the authorities would have these people go.
The Online Citizen is trying to find out where the regulars who used to camp at Changi Beach are presently, now that they have been chased out of the area.
I do feel, rather strongly, that the minister for MCYS is unfit to take charge of a ministry which is suppose to care for those in need if his ministry is more concerned about its public image than in genuinely helping those in need.
It is thoroughly shameful that a government ministry would apparently use information to hit back at helpless homeless Singaporeans in order to save its own “face” than to sincerely render its help to the needy.
—–
Read also: Raiding the homeless – in the middle of the night
And: Al Jazeera English dropped from SingTel MioTV
—–
Vivian Balakrishnan’s remarks – 27 March 2010:
“If you were a poor person, anywhere on this planet, Singapore is the one place where you will have a roof over your head, where you will have food on the table. Even if you can’t afford it, we will have meals delivered to you. You will get healthcare.
“Do not lose sight of the fundamentals. And I am confident that we have done our duty for the people who need our help.”
——
Vivian Balakrishnan’s remarks – 02 March 2010:
“I have taken such an active stand to make sure we do not have people camping out on beaches, or parks or void decks, even though these may be safe and indeed, sometimes even pleasant areas for adults.” (CNA)
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

One thing is for sure….Al Jazeera is a fantastic News organisation….Now I consider it to be at par (if not better) with BBC…and Singapore News Network? forget it…I consider them Propaganda Machines of the PAP Govt.
I am forced to pay for TV and Radio Licence yearly…which is another disgraceful act. of a Govt. which has consistently proven to be greedy cruel and non accountable and non transparent.
And off course I am ashamed of our Govt. led by the PAP.
High time we sack V.B.
out of sight, out of mind.
problem’s magically solved.
how nice. our SPF and NParks ppl singlehandedly removed the homeless problem from SG. maybe they can write a book about it.
send this and the previous article to the al press.
Touted as Prime Ministership material before the GE, VB is becoming a liability to the PAP with his handling of his ministry.
Talk big but act contrary
I won’t be surprised if he dropped in the coming GE
Who knows, maybe V.B invited those homeless to stay at his house? And he will provided food to them?
haha
I agree with you. Vivian Balakrishnan is unfit to be the Minister for MCYS.
A new crisis shelter has popped up at the Havelock flats. It’s now being run by a VWO. So the ministry “drops” families there.
Coming from a guy that uttered shit like “what do you want? 3 meals in a hawker centre, Food court or restaurant?” or something… I’m not surprise.
I like the statement; “we’ve nothing to hide..”
using words don’t take a lot of effort.
set up a law and make homelessness unlawful is the cheapest way of getting rid of homelessness.
Doing the actual work of housing s’poreans with cheap housing like Lim Kim San is much harder.
Looks like Bala is another cheap pig.
Fingers are never evenly in length, but arse covering is the politcal tactic that SG government speciallity. I make it a fact that each time I go for a bowel movement, imagining giving birth to a SG politican!
Poor will be pooper, thats a fact, if there no poor people there will not be rich billionair.
Some may not like what I express but I give up on the Singapore politics many moons ago.
Young One there many place on earth that much better and there many down to earth being being there, treval and you will see.
Vivian is clueless about the law and knows nothing about law because he studied medicine, not law. His purpose for becoming Minister for MCYS is to draw million dollar salary, not to serve the country. Vivian balakrishnan is a hypocritical minister.
hey check it out, we have a new national hero.
Dr Vivi Indian Jones, Raiders of the Lost & Homelessness.
i read in SBF that STOMP has a photo of tents at West Coast park. wonder whether is it the homeless or regular campers?
I’ll say “VB is a liar.”
Sue me!
Attention all foreign talents:
Welcome to Singapore, cos
“If you were a poor person, anywhere on this planet, Singapore is the one place where you will have a roof over your head, where you will have food on the table. Even if you can’t afford it, we will have meals delivered to you”.
its ridiculous that a tiny country can have homeless people so many that they are seen in east coast park regularly.
i hope the new elected leaders, if any, solve this problem. Of course, if i am elected, it will be solved like snapping the fingers.
LHL, what are you waiting for? Please just call for the election now so that I know how many daft Singaporeans are there in Singapore this time round.
BRING ON THE ELECTION NOW, DAMN IT!
It was said he last time sort of anti one is it?
So, has anyone seen any of his anti’ism?
Where is it?
hey guys, singapore so small population. so many flats. Can have so many homeless?
If usa size how? can manage or not?
Sweeping things under the carpet is the lazy and irresponsible way out of a real problem.
swineflu,
Election will not be called now. there are too much at stakes for the govt (not that the stake is lower if they do it later).
The immediate worry now for the chenghu is the YOG. So far YOG is but a party for the elite and I apologise to the sports boys and girls for saying this, I know it doesn’t sound fair to you.
The risk of losing some ministers in the election is real and they cannot let this happen if not the organisation of this YOG is likely to encounters hiccups.
So far, who is so excited about YOG? I am not, and frankly, I don’t even bother. There are bread and butter issues to worry about.
vince 4 April 2010
Rather than criticising and complaining as is our culture, I prefer constructive efforts which the citizens can help our own?
what? and deprived the eatricewasteseeds overpaid/overfed ministers a pat in their backs like a lost mongrol puppy…
last but not least..would this make all the useless mcys crews redundant and unemployed as well?
Fining the homeless?
That’s low.
Vivian, Karma is true whether we like it or not. Good luck to your future generations.
This guy is the biggest hypocrite of them all, always dodging and flip-flopping on issues of importance.
So much for ministerial material and an utter disappointment in terms of purported stance(s) of serving the nattion.
Being self-serving and venal is unbecoming of a minister!
it is easy to talk cock and to restrict access media that counter conventional wisdom than to do the real work that disprove opposing voices.
Bala is a pig and a lazy and greedy one.
it is easy to just sprout words and to restrict access media that counter conventional wisdom than to do the real work that disprove opposing voices.
Bala is a pig and a lazy and greedy one.
i like his tonality or very soft style of speaking , maciam like very gentle, almost , but not yet, apologetic.
If i am a gal, i would have been swept by his gentle words and sincere looking eyes.
Homeless people just disappearing. This is disgusting.
Dear TOC,
Please don’t post information about the locations of the homeless. The heartless PAP will only make use of it to fine them to increase income.
I pity the homeless. No job already crappy and no home still get fined… no word to describe.
Andy Liew Wei Ming
The way PAP solve homelessness is to drive away the homeless.
singapore is so small already. So little population as a country compared to all major countries.
the country is so small, it should be manageable to manage the homeless and put them under a temporary shelter and not let them live in public places.
Its the biggest shame of all.
Out of sight, out of mind!
Which reminds me… My MP, too, is generally out of sight.
Oops! How did my pix appear and how do I remove it???
if the pigs have not done any wrong,just face the foreign press.
running away makes one guility.
that is what lky said about his opponents.
now his people cannot live up to his standards.
if the foreign press report wrong, just sue them.
running away only shows that one is guility.
if toc doesn’t write on the homeless, how can our suspicion that pigs have been lazing and milking us be confirmed?
if toc doesn’t write on the homeless, would not that constitute condoning what damage pap is doing to our country?
the homeless would like to speak out. trust me. and toc is a great platform for that.
Maybe this time VB will asked
” Where you want to stay, beach, under the flyover or park ? “
VB will not be the PM, he is a different color plus MM wont allow that to happen, he is reserving it for his lineage.
Meals delivered to you? When did that ever happen? Singapore is one of the most stingest state who donated $50,000 to Haiti cause but never blink an eye to pay millions to ministers and or pay $80,000 for cooking classes.
Those MCYS guys often sneer at those poor and needy, making them feel embarrassed and unwillling to go to them for help. This shows that they are not genuine but compelled to help.
I think most of the MPs and Minsters’ already out of touch with locals with the high life and high hands.
What a heartless people? Is this how you show your concern for fellow Citizens who may have been unfortunate to end up on the streets? Fellow Human beings ? What if it was you or your children or your parents ? What if you lost your health, or escaped an abusive home ? What if you were bullied out of work by some Psychopath? Shows clearly that Eastern religions are nothing but heartless filth, compare it with Judeo-Christian traditions, we look after the less unfortunate ones. No wonder Singapore has a high suicide rate. I am glad and thankful to live in New Zealand.
VB will say,
“How much do you need? A tent at the beach, a HDB flat, or a condo?”
He will also say,
“Get out of my elite uncaring face.”
@ New Zealander
This has nothing to do with Eastern religions versus Judeo-Christian traditions. (In fact, Christianity is one of the largest religions in Singapore.) To say that Eastern religions are “heartless filth” is completely untrue.
This has to do with the policies of the country, and how these policies only seem to cater to the people the government wants to recognise: highly-educated, white-collar workers with healthy bank accounts. Anyone less fortunate just falls behind and is often forgotten.
Crap,
no VB will say “Singapore is the only place in the world, even if you do not have a roof above your head we will deliver a tent for you”
When I look at his photo here, it seems clearly to me that he is a crown or magician in that suit. He should change his career more fitting to his performance as entertainer and nothing more.
If ‘they’ camped illegally means its against rules & regulations of National Park. However,
Things happen for some reasons.
Maybe MCYS officials may want to do an investigations on the ‘alleged illegal’ campers to find out the exact problems they are facing & help them within their capacity instead of just chasing them away. As such, the roots of the problems may be able to removed thoroughly.
That’s how VB can utilized his position to cater to the needs of these people. Maybe this is another form of damage control to his political career ?
VWO….enjoying life …14% to 18% increment…
MORAL FAMILY SERVICES AT BUKIT PANJANG …RESIDENTS SAY… A WASTE OF TAX PAYERS OF WELLWISHERS INCOME…DURING MY RECENT VISIT ….I WAS SHOCK TO SEE THEM LAUGHING AND ENJOYING WHILE I WAS WITH A FAMILY WHO WANTED HELP BADLY…EVENTUALLY THE FAMILY THOUGHT THAT IT WAS A WASTE OF TIME AND WE LEFT.
I work at a VWO. I enjoy life like everyone because helping others does not mean I end up being depressed. If workers are disrespectful in anyway to families then please clarify and provide direct feedback to the VWO.
I am extremely disgusted by VB’s pretense… Think twice before voting for PAP, you don’t want such hypocrites to be in power.
he’s creating jobs! Delivery riders!
I am seething mad reading this, on top of the fact that I am already so angry with HDB for their tactless instructions when my mom appealed for a HDB loan based on the grounds that she is a single parent and getting a bank loan wouldnt be possible.
HDB smartly suggested my mother use her cpf balance of abt 100+k to buy a house and pay in full. Do we have a house going for that cheap?
I don’t think VB alone is the problem here. It’s how this country places no interest in empathizing with its citizens who are in need.