The following is an email sent to The Online Citizen and copied to various government ministries, including the Ministry of National Development, the HDB, JTC, and the local media. We publish the letter here in full without edit.

Hi,

After months of decline, and amid plans to scrap the SHiFT scheme (flats under the scheme were either being sold back to HDB or to interested tenants), the scheme is back in full force.

However, the quality of the tenants being accepted under the scheme are “polluting” Pasir Ris constituency with either their physical noise or environmental attitudes. A good example of a block under this scheme is Block 755.

I would like to implore JTC and EM Services to effectively enforce the ethnic integration quota system (if this policy is still in force) and to EDUCATE the tenants that the flats they live in are LOCATED in SINGAPORE (not in their country of citizenship). If back in their respective countries they can tolerate noise from electric drills on the JTC flats even at 12MN, pump up the volume on their surround sound systems even at 1AM, drag furniture’s everyday, slam doors, kids jumping/playing/shouting like crazy, then please/kindly insinuate in them the correct frame of mind when under the scheme.

For those who do not know what is a JTC flat under the SHiFT scheme, these are HDB units acquired by JTC to house our foreign talents (SPR, EP, S-Pass). If we are all living in HDB comfort or in the comfort of landed properties and condo’s, those who live in a JTC flat has to totally start from ZERO. This means there is no furniture at all, not even a chair for you to sit, a table to eat, or a bed to sleep on. You also have to arrange for PUB (gas, electric and water) activation and a phone line. So, when the tenant moves in to the unit, you can expect that there will be noises here and there such as moving furniture and from drilling holes (mount mirrors, electric heaters, etc). But being considerate as we are, we try to understand and feel with them their inconvenience. But at times, there are cases when we really are
dead-tired and we just want to rest and have a peace of mind from the noise in the street and the noise in the office and in the middle of your sleep, we hear this noise so loud it even wakes up the children (who usually sleeps soundly)! What is the logic behind our foreign talents’ brain that they would not consider that the unit they are making noises with has four households to consider (if the unit is a corridor unit and mid-floor)?

I am not sure whether this issue falls under whose purview and so I just keep all concerned (I think) in the loop as most of the time we all have the habits of “passing the buck around.” But, I strongly believe that this falls under JTC and EM Services, unless otherwise JTC/EMS would like to exonerate itself and pass the buck to the Pasir Ris Town Council, and here’s hoping that HDB, JTC, EM Services, and Pasir Ris Town Council would work together hand-in-hand to educate our foreign talents under the scheme.

For those who would like to suggest that I should have knocked on the unit making the noise. For your info, the concerned citizens on this block did and they were almost punched as two heavily bearded men (on their chest and face, and who appeared to be drunk) came out to confront them.

Some of these foreign talents wives and children are playing with the lift (keeps on pressing the UP/DOWN button), or worse the wives/grandmothers drag their children to the badminton court, or the exercise/playground area and serve sticky/gooey foods. Even the lifts are not spared from these food droppings and the lift floor buttons are either sticky or wet from the child’s hands. Worse is they allow their children to urinate on the lift, or on the lift level of their floor unit. The town council cleaner assigned to this block 755 seem to tolerate this as this has continued unabated. Probably, he leaves it like that as this is an opportunity for him to have a job or task to do. Otherwise, if the tenants of this block would all be tidy and clean, then he will be out of job (sic).

I would like to thank you all for giving some of your time to read on this feedback and here is hoping that this will be resolve soon, not only in Pasir Ris Block 755, but in those areas where JTC has units under the ShiFT scheme. However, this situation also happens in all of our HDB estates and I am sure that HDB is proactive on this issue, specially on the ethnic integration quota system.

BR,
HKLim

———

Headline picture from: http://teoalida.webs.com/singapore.htm

———

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

39 Responses to “Resident upset with noisy foreign neighbours”

1. iamagreedypig 6 April 2010

when i was livin in london..durin the pured british cockney breed..life was quiet..neigbours was friendly and very kapoed to the extend of tellin you that you don’t treat your dog well..well actually i am only the lon chinafaced bloke who lived in a purebreed english surburd with my noisy kawasaki bike..yes yes i am a hell rider..no i am not the pizza man..just a streetdodger courier…
    when the vietcongs landed..life was hell..noise pollutions/vietgong lingos rojaked… then comes the indians/bangalas..alamak slapped forehead..curry here curry there..curries everywhere…
    that when i get pissed off…decided to unquit meself and returned home a belated periodical son…
    and onced more.. i am facin the mainland chinese..the darken softspoken myammar..the gorgeous filipino ladies by night..and the damned highpitch vietcongs AGAIN…
    leekuanyew!!! what hav you done?

2. Ryvyan 6 April 2010

My Singaporean neighbour smokes in the lift and every hour of the day near the bedroom windows. What to do?

The concrete ground behind my block’s carpark (in Pasir Ris also) has been broken since forever, but we have had at least 4 repavements of the nearby pedestrian walkway in the last 10 years (good condition, not even a lot of dried gum). Asked Town Council/HDB, they said it’s the problem of the church which occupies the land. What to do if they don’t bother to be our middle-person?

What a waste of my tax dollars on useless renovation/construction. Asked them to consider implementing a new type of cycling paths (the ones we have now are so terrible in design) also they don’t care, told me to consult LTA. I thought MPs are supposed to consider little things like this and raise it up to the relevant parties?

Like that I also want to become MP and do nothing.

3. David 6 April 2010

Hope TOC can follow up on the reply (if any) from the various ministries.  It is a serious matter that must not be ignored by the govt otherwise foreigners will eventually be forced out of our homeland for misbehaving and for causing inconveniences to Singaporeans paying off their retirement savings just to live in expensive pigeon holes among such insconsiderate foreigners.

4. A Kaung O 6 April 2010

I really upset with this letter. I am Singapore PR staying in Singapore more than 5 years. You can say we are foreigner even though we are permanent resident. According to my experience, there are not only inconsiderate foreigners but also local people.
    This letter looks like all foreigners are very inconsiderate.
    Considerate or inconsiderate is not up to nationality or citizenship. It is up to educational level and personal mindset.
    If you can accuse and complaint like that, there are many things I need to accuse and complaint my neighbors those are local people. But we try to keep patient and understand.
    Cheers!

5. @A Kaung O
    You need not be upset with the letter as that is a local guy who is voicing his problems to the authorities. It is our own country and people speak up so that things can improve. If you are upset with locals, you can also write to the Straits Times, online citizen or other media to complain about your plight.

6. A Kaung O 6 April 2010

@Seow
    As you know, there are so much talks and complaints regarding foreigners in Singapore. Singapore government explained many times already that Singapore needs foreigners to improve and stabilize economic and aged population. It is better stop non-sense complaining and stay peaceful. It will be best for all.
    I feel that the letter is complaining foreigners instead of complaining neighbors’ problem.
    Keep patient and understanding will be good for both parties.
    FYI… As for my neighbor problems, I informed my neighbor about her dogs. And I said that will not tolerant next time and will call police next time. This way solved problem peacefully.
    Cheers!

7. Talking of noise. A few weeks ago i was at the National L ibrary at Victoria Street.
    On the 5 th floor just at the entrant a groupe of approx 8 Koreans Teen were clapping hands and singing. I brought this to the attention of the security guard but no action was taken.The Security Guard was afraid to offend them. why I don’t know

8. ToHai 6 April 2010

My Singaporean neighbors keep their dog on the balcony so it barks and cries the whole night. So inconsiderate. They also throw their rubbish on the floor instead of using the chutes. Is that OK for them to behave this way because they are local and I am not?

9. devil 6 April 2010

@A Kaung O

The Singapore government also said that foreigners must integrate with Singaporeans. The writer did not threaten his/her neighbours. You did. I wonder who is more tolerant.

10. A Kaung O 6 April 2010

@devil
    I am not threatening. I just informed that I am out of patient because of her leasing dogs. It is too disturb and dangerous. That’s all.
    The problem solved peacefully with mutual respect and understanding.
    If the writer cannot keep patient, she/he should take action properly according to law instead of writing like this article.
    Cheers!

11. Thinktok 6 April 2010

My friend in Mandarin Garden in East Coast is very upset with his Indian FT Neigbours.  They are very loud, dragging chairs and tables in the night, hold parties into the night with boisterous laughter.  At the poolside they jump into the pool fully clothed during party.
    I am sure also these type of complains are not confined to one race only.
    What can we do and what should we do?

12. Packrat 6 April 2010

The interesting thing is that we expect our FTs to integrate into Singapore culture and act affronted when they act exactly like Singaporeans do.

13. A Kaung O: you sound like you know every little bit of singapore inside out.

14. A Kaung O: you sound as if like you know every little bit of singapore inside out.

15. A Kaung O 6 April 2010

@Spy
    I don’t know every little bit of Singapore. But I am trying to learn about Singapore and stay peacefully. I have no objection what Singaporeans complain. I can understand their feelings on PRs and foreigners.
    I like to express one thing that PRs are contributing Singapore same as citizens but we got less subsidies. It is all right as long as you all think fair.
    Cheers!

16. Nisha 6 April 2010

I feel this article plays on the ill-will that many Singaporeans feel towards foreigners and that’s not a good thing. i understand that the foreigners are taking our jobs away but this is ridiculous. Please remember, guys, that noisy neighbours come in all forms, both local and foreign. It’s not going to do any good to drive home the point that the noise-makers are not local. Are you saying that if they were locals, you’d be fine with it? I ask this because that’s the idea i get from reading the title and article.

17. Nisha 6 April 2010

When i said, ” i understand that the foreigners are taking our jobs away”, i meant, that i understand the fear that foreigners are taking our jobs away.

18. A Kaung O 6 April 2010

@Nisha
    I truly understand your fear. But I really don’t think foreigners are taking away all jobs from you. It is not 100% correct. Maybe my assuming is wrong.
    Cheers!

19. @A Kaung O
    I also wonder why after our Singapore government explain many times that Singapore need foreigners to improve our economic and aged population, the Singaporeans still did not stop the non-sense complaining.

Is it because most Singaporeans do not believe the explanation?

20. enigmatic 6 April 2010

@ Kaung  O

Your angerlish is der bery frentastic  hor  – a simple letter  makes  you  the so bery angery  – like dat  how to assimilate  and be  like us  – you is the so haughty and megalomaniac  and intolerant and our chengwoo   is the want  us  to accept  you  all  wif  big open arms   but  your  extended   fatty  girth is the so bery  big  for us to embrace you hor……… 

Take  liang teh  so you  wont be  goof  goof  hor  and to kool  you  and bing the mercury  hor………..bye bye  my deer fren  and btw  which planet  are  you fron  leh .

21. Zonus El Marione 6 April 2010

The SAD fact is many singapore residents have ACCEPTED Noisy environment.

Case in point, i have seen youtube videos showing video evidence of flat residents Accepting the noise produced by mynah birds several times a day (wee hours , evenings and late nights , very early mornings) for at least half a year in a row already. As we speak this is still the case based on my 1st hand experience.

Thus, its not so much the noise is the problem BUT the problem with many flat residents. They have learnt to ACCEPT regardless if this is willingly or tak boleh tahanly, or accept unwillingly as they are weak.

22. @ A Kaung O
    Your name sounds Burmese to me.  Pls don’t complain that PRs receive less subsidies.  Rightfully so my friend.  Did you serve National Service?  I reckon you don’t, do you? 
    Accept the fact that once you received PR status in any country, sub-consciously you will still be treated as 2nd class citizen. 
    And pls don’t try to start this tactic as a ‘S’porean vs Foreigner’ kind of issue.  In no way did this article play to the tune of S’poreans vs Foreigners or PRs.  Its content is just about ‘noisy neighbors’ behaving in an uncivilised manner and the neighbors happened to be a foreigner.
    Seriously, you chose to come to our tiny red dot and received PR status.  So, pls ASSIMILATE into our culture.  If you are unhappy, you can always give up your PR status and return to your motherland. 
    Let me ask you just one question ;  IF one day, I said IF, your motherland goes into war with S’pore, who will you DEFEND???

23. I am a Singaporean and I support this letter. Why? Cos’ my next door are foreigners . They are very noisy and dirty. They like to have their hair cut at our corridor. They like to sweep their dust from the house to the corridor and etc….

Yes, I think we did have some good standard PRs few years ago but you could not be able to find the same standard recently in our city or at our working place.

24. My Views 7 April 2010

This is precisely the ugly Singaporeans the Government is worried about.  They are anti-foreigners and do not open arms to welcome foreigners.  These are those Singaporeans who give bad name and discredit to Singapore.

25. //my views
    //They are anti-foreigners and do not open arms to //welcome foreigners.
    As if when Singaporeans are loud in these foreigners’ country, they don’t make noise.
    Take a look at the thais.
    As if your spirit is any more open?
    What a joke!

26. A Kaung O 7 April 2010

@enigmatic
    There is nothing to angry for me. I just mention the best possible way.
    Cheers!

27. Fullofnonsence 7 April 2010

Too bad for us who live in packed hdb estates, while our elites live in their ivory towers and have a good nights sleep.

28. A Kaung O 7 April 2010

@AN
    Even though I am PR, my son needs to serve NS. What do you want to say about it? We don’t mind serving NS. Your government does not accept us to serve NS. You can just forget about this NS. Serving NS or not is not issue in this case.
    Instead of saying non-sense such as war between my country and Singapore, we should talk about realistic issue.
    I don’t mind 2nd or 3rd level class citizen. But I think there should not be much different subsidy especially in Education.  I don’t mind Spore government pay you GST credit, Baby Bonus, EduSave, blah blah blah… But please take note that these blah blah blah money is not coming from not only Spore citizens but also from other people such as PR and foreigners.
    Sorry! I stop following this thread already.
    Cheers!

29. Derrick Chong 7 April 2010

The first step always ‘encourage’ by gahmeh is to inform the Town Council in writing & seek your MP help. For smoking in lift,get Town Council to install
    CCTV while excessive noise after 11pm call the police. If u hv seen yr ‘neighbours’ bringing back
    trolleys from NTUC or Shop & Save parking them at
    their house units,call the respective supermarts to take action & press charges then these ppl will learn.

30. O Cunt A 7 April 2010

It seems you’re very fond of calling the police and intolerant with dogs. Well, be informed that if any of my foreign talent neighbours misbehaves, I have no qualms about doing the same too. In fact, now I have more reasons to after meeting an arrogant  foreign talent like you.

31. @My Views

>>This is precisely the ugly Singaporeans the Government is worried about.  They are anti-foreigners and do not open arms to welcome foreigners.  These are those Singaporeans who give bad name and discredit to Singapore.

So, this mean you welcome foreigners with open arms? How about open legs?
    @A Kaung O
    So what if your son will serve ns, I served ns, my son, too, will serve ns.. I, having served ns, and as citizen, my children should enjoy greater “subsidies”, while you didn’t serve ns,  it is only fair that your children shouldn’t enjoy as much subsidies., anyway what’s stopping you from taking up citizenship if you like it here so much?

32. devil 7 April 2010

@A Kaung O

Your job and entry here did not come for free. You are not paying tax just for your subsidy but for the infrastructure, safe environment, secure borders, economic stability, and our government that you are enjoying right now. So please don’t make it seem like these things are free, some of these were paid in blood. If your son is Singaporean. He’s one of us. Not you. You are here for our gain so obviously, we are supposed to be having a better life with you here.

Aside from all these, I haven’t heard of you ironing out your issues with one block of households. Just because you can solve your issues with one neighbour, does not mean the writer is incapable of doing the same. The writer is referring to a different scale of things. Furthermore, according to the writer, concerned residents did try to approach them and almost got beaten up.

33. Old Timer 8 April 2010

Singaporeans are not against migrants. Our views are:
    1. Yes, there are nasty/antisocial Singaporeans.  Does that mean we need to import more nasty/antisocial foreigners too. 
    2. Migrants have a choice to return to their country if they do not like it here. Singaporeans have nowhere to go.
    3.  Migrants must respect the local customs and the minority races.

Singaporeans are angry with how the immigration policy was implemented. We have nothing against quality migrants.   

34. Just wanted to highlight that noise pollution hits a lot of blocks not just from foreign source.
    Past 11pm (legislated time), have no hesitation to call police. When a few neighbours start calling, the police won’t tolerate it either. Waking up the police on a graveyard shift isn’t very kind to the police but it definitely gives them an understanding of how the recipients of noise polluters feel also.
    HDB can take back flats if police makes enough noise. That is already a big enough stick.

35. My Views 14 April 2010

The Singapore Government has arranged programs and activities to assist foreigners, PRs and New Citizens to integrate with local Singaporeans.  I think it is also about time that the Singapore Government commits resources and lines up programs for Singaporeans with the view to educate them on how to live with people from foreign lands, understand their cultures as well as sensitivities.

36. I am Singapore PR. we bought the hdb flat in singapore, we invest money whatever we earning here. my neighbours is singaporean. they giving lot of problems like noise when opening doors, barking dogs, dog passing urine near our doors(never clean), smoking near my doors.
    I complained to TC, the officer came to advice them. after that, they did not stop, even they increase their doings. There is no rule to put camera on the corridor without permission. when i put my door, they can see my living room using their camera. The town council officer warned them to take out the camera within camera. after one week, they still continue to put camera, again he warned them. For this case, we are very stress in this case. because me and husband are going to work. weekend only we stay in house. can anyone tell me for this case, laws and rules are only for foreigners, not for singaporeans
    we are sad to say, we cannot stay peacefully, when we are at the home, if u dont like foreigners to stay here, why HDB and government allow foreighners to buy the flat? We didnt take way your jobs, I know many singaporeans want to settle in australlia and other countries, we just like to settle in singapore, what u have the problem? we also contribute everything, like tax, gst, cc etc. If we complain against singaporean to police or officers, they never support us even i show with proof.
    So just leave it to god, we are very upset.

37. Hi IAJ
    Sorry to hear that, actually the innocent people are the one suffer from the noise pollution whether a citizen, PR or FT. The truth was Authority did not interfere or make law to protect these victim and they have to suffer in silent, which is not fair to them.