Al Jazeera reports on the homelessness issue in Singapore.

Singapore is a nation of homeowners, largely thanks to a comprehensive system of government subsidised housing.

But despite the system’s overall success, the strict rules also mean that some people fall through the cracks.

For example, anyone selling their government subsidised house is not allowed to rent one within 30 months. That policy has had unexpected repercussions for divorcees, as Laura Kyle reports.

Read also: Raiding the homeless – part two

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

53 Responses to “Singapore policies force some onto streets”

1. Great point!
    though not the only one!

How can CPF be sustainable when where CPF is invested, we don’t even know?

It could have been in a Maddoff scheme?

2. Johua Chiang 5 April 2010

Erm… I know this sounds like anal, Viv… but even if we can accept the definition of ‘roof’ as something that provides shelter, hence tents are ‘roofs’ in a sense.. the homeless can’t have food on the table.
    There’s not enough space inside the tent for a table.

3. Steve Wu 5 April 2010

Vivian Balakrishnan,
    Using the info from Al Jazeera to raid the Homeless is really a ‘class’ act.  Truly despicable!  Getting Al Jazeera off MioTV makes the People even more convinced that you have something to hide.
    Let me give you a simple advice.  If you wish others to stop reporting embarrassing things about Singapore, STOP doing the embarrassing things.  You have embarrassed yourself, Singapore and the People.   In any other developed democracies, the failure of this magnitude would have already resulted in your dismissal, the “entitlement mentality” of PAP ministers notwithstanding.
    STOP now.

4. Thanks to the Internet it is getting harder and harder to hide things from the people. I’m glad there are ways for people to see this AJ report even though the channel is not available here.

5. “For example, anyone selling their government subsidised house is not allowed to rent one within 30 months”
    And the wisdom behind this restriction is…?
    P.S: Take everything that comes out of ‘bartop dancing’ Vivi B.’s mouth with a heavy pinch of salt.

6. Paparazzi 5 April 2010

Whenever this Minister with female name infront,WKS,MBT open their mouth shit will come out.

7. anonymous 5 April 2010

dun forget to spread this video around.

put it on your facebook, tweeter, friendster, youtube, watever.

i hope Al Jazeera will continue to be a pain in the arse for the government.

8. free-to-air 5 April 2010

Hi kixes,

You can view AJ here : http://english.aljazeera.net

You can also download Livestation to play on your desktop, they have AJ and other channels, yes, FREE.

9. commentator 5 April 2010

Look at that smug cheeky grin of VB and you feel like …

10. The wisdom of this restriction is: “Don’t sell your HDB unless you are rich enought to rent or afford private property”.
    But what if you are nearing retirement age and need to cash in on your HDB because all your CPF is locked in there??? Than you are screwed! But that is your own business…
    This policy only favors the rich elite, because their kids can apply for HDB flats and sell them with a big profit while living at their parent’s landed property…

11. Human Being 5 April 2010

Let’s do Al-Jazeera  and the issue of homelessness a favour, and post this to any account you have like Facebook. Create awareness cos most Singaporeans and even people around the globe are clueless about the ‘real’ situations on our shores. I wish they could have told me about this article, I have stories to share.

12. i think VB needs to be realistic, this country is stingy, they wont help unless really neccessary.
    so there is no point  boasting on national tv or press for something they wont do and then be screwed big time on internet.

13. Johua Chiang 5 April 2010

Human Being,
    please write to us @ theonlinecitizen@gmail.com if you have stories. thanks!

14. Philip 5 April 2010

You guys sound as if you don’t mind Singapore’s reputation being collateral damage as long as you can embarass the PAP. 

As for the point that government policies are too strict – just how is that? If anything, I think it’s too lax. I know of quite a few cases where people who don’t deserve it end up living off taxpayers’ money. Certainly most of the cases that heretofore have been mentioned in these august pages have been responsible for their own misfortune. They make irresponsible and foolish decisions that impact not only themselves but also their children. 

And it is totally absurd for someone to come up with the notion that the Government should not use information from Al-Jazeera to act to round up the homeless. It doesn’t matter where the information comes from if there is cause for action. And the policy here is quite clear. They’ll round up the homeless and put them in welfare homes.

And even if the Government only did this to avoid embarassment to Singapore – well if you are not concerned about Singapore’s image, they certainly are, and I say bravo to that. I never understood the glee that some have to wish ill to our country in order to gain the slightest political advantage.  

Indeed, if there is anything scandalous in all this, the question we should be asking is if the government should be giving shelter and food to these homeless parents. Yes, take care of the children, but why throw taxpayer money at irresponsible people, people who can work to earn a living?

15. while the idea of facebook is good, we must not forget that many singaporeans are not united and that is why the situation exist.

many simply accept. they are resigned to fate.
    someone tell me they have seen singaporeans more united than India nationals or Philipino nationals.

There is a real problem. its complex as well.

16. Harry aka Tua Kee 5 April 2010

I wonder why this great channel was removed from singapore channels

17. Sadam Leesain 5 April 2010

where singaporeans have failed, we call on the internationals.

18. Jafri 5 April 2010

It seem that the video HOMELESS IN SINGAPORE
     shown THROUGH the Youtube HAD BEEN BLOCKED.

19. anonymous 5 April 2010

@ Phillip

u sound as if the image of this country is more important than lives.

what the SG government can do is to immediately review its policies on renting out HDBs, and waiving all forms of taxes for the poor (making under, say 800 per month), minimum wage, ratio of foreign to local workers, etc etc. in addition, to provide food for those desperately destitute, as what Vivian Balakhrishnan boasted.

and not lock them up in some place and make them lose their jobs.

instead, the PAP government blocks Al Jazeera and shuts out all criticisms. if the PAP government were genuinely concerned, there would not be any campers in the first place, and thus, its “image” would be perfect.

there is NOTHING wrong with reporting the truth.

20. anonymous 5 April 2010

@ Jafri

YouTube have problems with loading videos sometimes. watch from the main site and try refreshing if an error occurs.

it still works.

21. @ Phillip

We cannot just keep quiet and try to bury this issue just to save “Singapore’s image”. What is the point in trying to hide everything just to save face? At the end of the day the problem will still be there.

We are not angry that the government has used the information from Al-Jazeera to act; it is the action that they took that causes the anger. I do not believe that the homeless at Changi Beach were rounded up and put in welfare homes as you say; there aren’t many welfare homes in Singapore for the homeless, and the few that I know of are already full to the brim. The one home that MCYS seems to regularly dump people in to is more like a jail that does not allow them to leave, and so they cannot go to work and earn a living.

I don’t know who you have met but most of the homeless I have come across are not the lazy money squanderers the mainstream media would like to label them as. Yes, they might have made mistakes or unwise decisions in the past, but who hasn’t? Are we to be punished for the rest of our lives for our mistakes? All they want now is to have a little support to tide them over until they can get back on their feet. They have jobs, but these jobs are low-paying and make it impossible for them to buy their own flats, and so all they are asking is for the HDB to allow them subsidised rental housing until they are out of the rough patch they have fallen into. Not a single person I have spoken to has asked for anything like a dole where the government just hands out money to the unemployed. No, all they want is to have a roof over their heads until they can provide a home for themselves.

Lastly, do you think it is really helping the children if we only provided shelter and welfare for the children, but left their parents homeless? Do you think you would have the heart and mindset to study and live happily when you know that your parents are struggling on the streets, being ignored and despised by society?

22. Ryvyan 6 April 2010

@Philip
    Seriously, I find it more insulting/embarrassing to have a foreign press point out our flaws than us finding and solving them!
    No policies are perfect, and the government should start to reflect on failed or imperfections instead of rushing forward in the name of progress and meritocracy while leaving behind heritage and culture and everything else money can’t buy.

23. iamagreedypig 6 April 2010

Philip 5 April 2010

You guys sound as if you don’t mind Singapore’s reputation being collateral damage as long as you can embarass the PAP. 
    As for the point that government policies are too strict – just how is that? If anything, I think it’s too lax. I know of quite a few cases where people who don’t deserve it end up living off taxpayers’ money.

i also know..my lobangs are the overpaid/overfed ministers from the president offices to the guardroom post in the istana…
    lastly, do you think you are helpin the overpaid/overfed ministers when they are doin nothin for the singapooriums and expect us the poor peasants to live happiLEE ever after?

24. iambetterthanPhilip 6 April 2010

Philip 5 April 2010

As for the point that government policies are too strict – just how is that? If anything, I think it’s too lax. I know of quite a few cases where people who don’t deserve it end up living off taxpayers’ money.

i also know..my lobangs are the overpaid/overfed ministers from the president offices to the guardroom post in the istana…
    lastly, do you think you are helpin the overpaid/overfed ministers when they are doin nothin for the singapooriums and expect us the poor peasants to live happiLEE ever after?

25. iamagreedypig 6 April 2010

Philip 5 April 2010

26. Singapore has been run by Businessmen for too long… it’s about time the current administration gets replaced by a HUMANE one.

27. anonymous 6 April 2010

@cj

as long as the new administration is fiscally conservative, is democratic and allows free speech and not sue ppl to bankruptcy, im all for it.

currently, SG is quite heavily in debt, but it still pretends to be a rich country.

the new administration should cut wages of all ministers significantly, fire the MM, and SM and their cronies, and make a LAW that says that a national referendum is required before the raising of the salaries of the ministers above that of inflation rate.

i’d like to see some of them go. especially Vivian.
    now.

*sigh*

28. Taneug 6 April 2010

It is hard to understand AJ or any of the writers’ stance? Government housing is built using tax- payers’ money, that is you and me. The government subsidise houses so that familes can have homes. I gladly pay my taxes so that, aport from other things, the less well off can have a home. But when they take the opportunity to make a profit, then my taxes have been used as capital for their business. However, I can well understand why citizens shoudl want to upgrade; if they want to better themselves, that’s fine by me. But when they do so and put themselves in financial trouble, they still complain? Are we so soft? Those writers who unthinkingly support whatever is written aginst the government should wake up.

29. Death&Taxes 6 April 2010

@PHilip

You know of a few people taking advantage of the welfare system.

I know of an entire cabinet that is taking advantage of a country.

So going by your reasoning, why should we allow them to do so by voting them into power?

30. Johua Chiang 6 April 2010

Taneung, how many people you know are intentionally selling their flats to make profits and then expect the Govt to provide for them? Or was it what you read in ST?

31. anonymous 6 April 2010

@ Taneug

and to make HDB not profitable, the gov only has to sell near selling price and release the details of how much each building costs.

they make the system shitty, and now blame people.

this is very typical of the PAP.

32. anonymous 6 April 2010

***i meant cost price.

33. TALKING COCK AGAIN 6 April 2010

If government/MPs are looking after the ‘lower strata’,
    HOW DID THE BELOW HAPPENED? [and these are probably the tip of the iceberg]

SHOWS THAT THE GOVERNMENT N MPs HAS ‘WRITTEN OFF’ CERTAIN GROUP OF PEOPLE IN THE ‘LOWER STRATA’ IN SINGAPORE.

http://www.temasekreview.com/2009/09/30/town-council-took-unemployed-man-to-court-for-sc-arrears/
    http://theonlinecitizen.com/2009/09/handicapped-resident-applies-for-aid-with-mp-but-faces-difficulties/
    http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=2702099
    http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=2579980

===============
    Extracted from TODAY NEWSPAPER 6/4/2010

SOCIETY WILL LOOK AFTER ITSELF, IF MERITOCRACY WORKS
    —————————————————

Is an elitist mindset emerging in Singapore society?

One undergraduate feared this was reflected in the formulation of Government policies that she felt took less into account the needs of the lower strata.

Another wondered if the growing income disparity would result in elitism among the affluent.

But Deputy Prime Minister Teo Chee Hean dismissed the notion, saying the Government comprises people of different backgrounds.

As long as Singapore remains an open society where meritocracy works, it will “continue to have a society to look after itself”, he said, urging students who have done well to continue contributing to society. Meanwhile, with media reports of Opposition figures conducting their walkabouts over the weekend, one student asked if “election fever” was heating up. Mr Teo’s response: “You cannot watch the PAP and know if the elections are coming.” This is because “once the elections are over, we already start working the ground … It becomes so boring and so routine the media never reports on it”. By contrast, he said, the Opposition is “hardly” seen walking around. “I don’t know when the elections will be. I can only tell you that with each passing day, the elections come one day closer,” Mr Teo added, to laughter from the students.

34. Robert Schiller the man who predicted the dotcom crash and the recent financial crisis says that gd citizenship does not equal owning own home.  MM Lee is wrong
    http://atans1.wordpress.com/2010/03/26/rubbish-homeownership-encourages-gd-citizenship/

35. Taneug 6 April 2010

Joshua, I write only to repsond to the  AJ quotes and stories of ‘deprived’ folks living at the beach. Personally, I may not know any but AJ has said there are and anyway, that’s bsdies the point. You want to make a fast buck (using tax payers money), you get burned and now you want the government to help? If we do so, we undermine the concept that taxpayers money are for helping the less well-off not for gambling. Which is what will happen if we bail out everyone who has been burnt after selling their house. Did MM Lee ever said that owing a house means good citizenship? If I recall, he said that having an asset makes him more concerned about the state of the country. This is a truism.   I don’t understand what Anonymous is saying but has he taken the trouble to read HDB’s accounts each year? Or has he compared HDB prices to what he has to pay to a private developer?

36. The Sleepy Kwa Geok Lee 6 April 2010

This is RIDICULOUS!
    How can singapore, a small small country , the size of just merely 1 city that is not big, having what is perceived as huge reserves can have so many homeless?

I hope new leader in future change all these. Should not be too difficult to provide a shelter for these. cannot be so many like 100,000 right? If usa, we can understand. But we are talking about a small red dot only. 

this is outrageous! I tak boleh tahan this kind of situation liao. No face ah! siah suay to me you know!!!   

Lucky got Al Jazeera to provide this info to me ah. Why this channel got removed from eyes of singaporeans huh? I mean either already or soon lah. why huh? I itching to know leh.

37. perhaps think this reporting is biased insofar as it does not tell what happens after homeless people are evicted from their makeshift shelters. i suppose the day when no one complains about the increase in tax rates is the day that we can start moving towards increased welfarism. furthermore, there is also a category of voluntary homeless people, who voluntarily choose not to be housed in shelters and what not.

38. spirited-centred 6 April 2010

Yes its true. I have met some of them in Yishun pulling their luggage bag whenever they go and they will park somewhere in the park when evening fall on them. Very sad to see this in Singapore. The reason : they do not meet the required criteria to rent HDB flat.

39. Chloe 7 April 2010

Baby boomers will remember the time when CPF contribution was 20% from employee and 20% from employer. With 40% forced savings, how could anyone end up with not enough funds for retirement? The answer lies in the cost of “affordable” housing.  The $12,ooo 3-r00m HDB flat has gone up to $240,000, thanks to then Minister of National Development Dhanabalan’s decision to price HDB flats at “below market” prices, instead of the original subsidised prices.  So the alternative is to “cash out” and buy a pup tent. Or roam from void deck to void deck with luggage in tow. If this is not a clear example of bad governance, I don’t know what is.

40. @Taneug 6 April 2010
    >> But when they take the opportunity to make a profit, then my taxes have been used as capital for their business.
    This reminds me of TH/GIC.. These two sure uses our taxes and cpf as capital for their business, and we lesser mortals sure don’t get to enjoy whatever “profits” gained, but were made to “contribute” more to cover their losses.

41. Gilbert Goh 7 April 2010

http://www.petitiononline.com/Employed/petition.html
    Dear Fellow Singaporeans,

With your kind support, the online petition “Employ Singaporeans First!” has collected 450 signatures after about three weeks of publicity. Our target is 1000 signatures by mid April. There is only 10 days to go!

You can ask your whole family to sign up and that includes your spouses and children. We are also thankful for the many Singaporeans who sign hoping for a change in the employment scene.

Many Singaporeans continue to be displaced by foreigners at the work places despite the much improved economy as they are cheaper and younger. This petition urges employers to first provide an opportunity and a decent salary to our older local SIngaporeans before they consider employing foreigners.

We also ask the government to reconsider the idea of rejuvenating the economy by merely importing cheaper foreigner workers.

This not only dampen productivity but also creates an unfair playing field for Singaporeans seeking employment. We urge Singaporeans to firstly sign this petition and secondly to forward it to as many people as possible so that we can hit our target of 1000 signatures before we forward them to the Prime Minister Office.

We can do it if we all unite together and forward to at least ten of our friends on our email list. Do it for yourself, your children and fellow Singaporeans. Singapore for Singaporeans! Cheers.

Regds
    Gilbert Goh
    Online Petition organiser

42. spore boh pai kia 7 April 2010

Gilbert, i applied and got a job as a low wage worker working with numerous, mainly from 3rd worlds on work permit. I found several singaporeans there also usually in their 20′s and some in their 30′s and 40′s and 50′s. These certainly feel the crunch and competition. We get the same basic as foreigners. Foreigners love it here as they convert sgd to their currencies.

You can get plenty of facebook accounts from these kids in their 20′s. even O’level people are using facebook.

43. taneug 7 April 2010

@lim
    TH and GIC are companies not of the government but are of the people and for the people although overseen by government appointed boards. Profits of these 2 are part of our reserves and make the S$ strong, which contributes to low(er) inflation, and gives foreigners confidence to invest in Singapore. I am sorry, it just doesn’t make sense to equate the two investment companies with HDB flats.

44. theOrdinarySporean 7 April 2010

@philip – anyone who talks the language of collateral damages cannot see humanity beyond calculating profit and losses 

I must say, reading the postings on this issue, I have never felt closer to my fellow Singaporeans and been more proud to be one than ever – and this is no thanks to so-called leaders like Vivien, a career politician who often preach to us about identifying ourselves as Singaporeans and defending it, but often giving us no reasons to be so. I share most of your concerns. Thanks for articulating this.

45. iamagreedypig 8 April 2010

say what? betrayed myammer from leekuanyew’s governorships? what will happenned to ALL his temasek inc holdins? you know he invested billion$ of our dollar$ buildin 5 stars hotels onLEE to be used by the myammer’s generals who children get to use and celebrate liked a Xmas tree without footin 1 single singapoor $ nor 1 burmese kyat…
    in your dream my fellow peasants…

46. eugtan 8 April 2010

taneug 7 April 2010

@lim
    TH and GIC are companies not of the government but are of the people and for the people although overseen by government appointed boards. Profits of these 2 are part of our reserves and make the S$ strong, which contributes to low(er) inflation, and gives foreigners confidence to invest in Singapore.

and please free to share with us the profits raked from the myammer investments..how many kyats did we make? who appoint the temasick investments in burma? you? me? or maybe even ayu suki herself?

47. I’m a Brit, and far from your typical overpaid expat living in the lap of luxury, I rent an HDB.
    What you need to remember is that the mass population matters the most, not just  a few stories here and there about drifters being at a loose end. My advice to those two muppets is to go and get a f**king job and live with family members until they can sort yourselves out! Isn’t ironic that it’s the Western media lecturing other countries about doing wrong! So bloody what – juicy news – supporting the underdog. Of course it is, it’s what riles me about the Western media – always doom and gloom, looking for the next sorry soul.
    I left England precisely because of the crap quality of life and the fact it’s essentially going to the dogs. For instance, these days if you get burgled, the burglar sues you because he cut himself whilst trying to break into your home. Think i’m joking! Just have a look, i’m sure you’ll see countless examples of idiotic political correctness floating around the internet. The British govt is a f**king disgrace compared to Singapore’s. That goes for any prospective party, although the Tories are the most sensible of the three, but they’re now quasi-socialist at heart.
    If Singapore becomes anything like Britain, giving hand outs to every Tom, Dick and Harry, then i won’t be hanging around for long – that’s for sure. I’m sure most other guests in your country, won’t like as much either.
    This story, ah isn’t it pitiful,  is partly the reason why I like being in Singapore, there isn’t any pandering to down and outs, who most of the time don’t deserve media coverage! It’s hardly as though they’re freezing every night either – let them sleep in a tent for all i care.
    Just remember that politics can be exciting and dramatic, but it comes with baggage. I love watching Brown and Cameron battling it out but i also like having the peace of mind of being able to walk around late at night in S’pore without looking over my shoulder waiting for some chav to drive a knife into my back and rob my mobile, wallet and soul.
    Small issues are bound to happen (i.e. homelessnes) and Singapore isn’t perfect, but it’s certainly as good as near perfect as a govt could get. It’s safe (even if you’re bunking down in a tent), meritocractic and incredibly ambitious. Boring in the political sense; yes, but can’t you switch over to US politics or else, to get your fix?
    For all of the over-thoughtful (dramatic) Singaporeans  who want a bit of political drama in your life, why don’t you go and live overseas for a bit to get it out of your system.
    Just think of the hardworking (normal) Singaporeans though, who have families – are they bothered about a couple of dossers who can’t sort their lives out and have to sleep in a tent. The short answer is no.  They couldn’t give a sh*t.

I fully support what the gov has done so far, they’ve built a truly fantastic country and i’m constantly impressed with Singapore.  Britain was once as enviable as Singapore,  but now i’m embarassed  to think of  tourists landing at Heathrow – it’s a sh*t hole! I can’t stomach the day when things change, which i fear they is inevitable at some point in the near future. It’ll be a sad day when change happens for change’s sake. If you think there are problems now, then just wait and see. And yes, i am a know it all!

Don’t let Singapore go to pot like the UK! I’m really fond of Singapore and hate the idea of it getting f**ked up because of a few dim wits who don’t appreciate what they have.

48. taneug 4 May 2010

Thanks, Brit. No doubt, a few Singaporens will be riled at your message and ask you to go home, although less politely so. Although I don’t appreciate your tone, I think it is interesting to have a view of an outsider-insider. I think what you said is ground for reflection for many who post thinkingly, or otherwise, on this website.

I have been following the run-up to this week’s elections in the UK. I compare the slug fest of the 3 leaders with the interview between Charlie Rose and Lee Hsien Loong. The difference in the quality between the slug-fest and the interview summarizes for me nicely the different state of affairs between the two.